View Full Version : 2010 World Cup Qualifying Draw

20-11-2007, 09:09 PM
The draw for qualifying ties & groups will be made in Durban, South Africa on November 25.

Australia are now part of the Asia Confederation, which is extremely complicated as countries have to go through 5 rounds to qualify.

The top 5 ranked sides from the 2006 World Cup (Australia, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia, Japan & Iran) receive byes until round 3.

The remaining 38 countries play off with the 19 winners to progress, the highest ranked 11 receive a bye until round 3, whilst the lowest ranked 8 winners progress to round 2.

The 4 winners from round 2 join the other 16 teams (5 highest ranked & 11 round 1 winners) in round 3.

Round 3 will consist of 5 groups of 4 teams, with winners & runners up from each group progressing to round 4. This is what the draw in South Africa is for on 25 November.

Therefore 10 teams will progress to round 4 which will consist of 2 groups of 5. Winners & runners up from round 4 qualify for the 2010 World Cup.

The 2 teams which finish 3rd in round 4 progress to round 5 where they play each other over 2 legs. The winner then plays the winner from Oceania to qualify for the World Cup.

The 20 countries in the draw for round 3 are: Australia, Bahrain, China, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Korea DPR, Korea Republic, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Syria, Thailand, Turkmenistan, United Arab Erimates & Uzbekistan.

20-11-2007, 10:04 PM
Now I'm just confused.

Can you just tell me when we are playing, I'll chuck on my 'Hiddink 06' T-shirt, put a 6-pack in the fridge and enjoy the game, hey if we play in Melbourne I will probably go, but all these scenarios are freaking me out a little.

20-11-2007, 10:11 PM
Now I'm just confused.

Can you just tell me when we are playing, I'll chuck on my 'Hiddink 06' T-shirt, put a 6-pack in the fridge and enjoy the game.

The draw will determine who, what, where & when, so just sit back, relax, put the t-shirt on ice & all will become clear for you after the draw.

Obviously those top 5 ranked sides that had byes until round 3 would each be in different groups.

Fair dinkum, you'd reckon we'd be dead set certainties to qualify.

21-11-2007, 12:06 AM
The draw will determine who, what, where & when, so just sit back, relax, put the t-shirt on ice & all will become clear for you after the draw.

Obviously those top 5 ranked sides that had byes until round 3 would each be in different groups.

Fair dinkum, you'd reckon we'd be dead set certainties to qualify.

After our dreadful performance in the Asian Cup you can never be sure, but you'd think worst case would be playing New Zealand for the last spot.

That would have to be easier than playing Uraguay or Argintina.

26-11-2007, 07:24 AM
Australia has been handed a tough task to qualify for the 2010 World Cup. The top 2 teams in the group progress to round 4.

Group 1: Australia, China PR, Iraq, Qatar

Group 2: Japan, Bahrain, Oman, Thailand

Group 3: Korea Republic, Korea DPR, Jordan, Turkmenistan

Group 4: Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Lebanon, Singapore

Group 5: Iran, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, Syria

For those interested in Europe:

Group 1: Portugal, Sweden, Denmark, Hungary, Albania, Malta

Group 2: Greece, Israel, Switzerland, Moldova, Latvia, Luxembourg

Group 3: Czech Republic, Poland, Northern Ireland, Slovakia, Slovenia, San Marino

Group 4: Germany, Russia, Finland, Wales, Azerbaijan, Liechtenstein

Group 5: Spain, Turkey, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Armenia, Estonia

Group 6: Croatia, England, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group 7: France, Romania, Serbia, Lithuania, Austria, Faroe Islands

Group 8: Italy, Bulgaria, Republic of Ireland, Cyprus, Georgia, Montenegro

Group 9: Holland, Scotland, Norway, FYR Macedonia, Iceland

Chops
26-11-2007, 07:29 AM
Toughest Asian group which I think isn't bad thing. No excuses if we don't get there still. Should be able to be top 2 in that group.
I feel more comfortable having a proper route of 2 possibly 3 groups to the WC qualification than the uncertainty and sudden quality of previous campaigns.
Don't make it, we can't blame our route as in the past or wonder if we were good enough.

26-11-2007, 08:16 AM
As Ernie mentioned we have a tough draw, but there will be no excuses. We need to play well in our home games and use the big crowds that the games will attract to our advantage.

Interesting to see that England have been drawn with Croatia again. From memory only the top team get automatic entry with playoffs for the top seeded second teams so these teams look like they will battle it out again with only Ukraine offering any threat in there group.

06-12-2007, 12:11 AM
Its only going to get tougher once we do qualify so calling it the "Group of Death" is just sensationalist journalism.

06-12-2007, 02:46 PM
As Ernie mentioned we have a tough draw, but there will be no excuses. We need to play well in our home games and use the big crowds that the games will attract to our advantage.
Interesting to see that England have been drawn with Croatia again. From memory only the top team get automatic entry with playoffs for the top seeded second teams so these teams look like they will battle it out again with only Ukraine offering any threat in there group.

Not just for the sake of qualifying but for the sake of the game itself in this country. Now that we'll actually be playing at least 3 games in Australia that actually mean something and not just training run friendlies, I think it could give the game a decent kick-along in this country.

Bring on the qualifiers.

02-02-2008, 08:33 AM
Not just for the sake of qualifying but for the sake of the game itself in this country. Now that we'll actually be playing at least 3 games in Australia that actually mean something and not just training run friendlies, I think it could give the game a decent kick-along in this country.

Bring on the qualifiers.

Your wait is almost over.

Australia v Qatar on Wednesday night at Telstra Dome. A must win game in my view.

03-02-2008, 08:44 AM
Your wait is almost over.

Australia v Qatar on Wednesday night at Telstra Dome. A must win game in my view.

Absolutely a must win and the signs aren't positive so far.
The a-league players appear to be struggling to come to terms with "the dutch way".
You've got to worry about relying on the o/s players too much too. Surely a whole team of them would struggle to run out 90 minutes.
On the upside Carney has scored twice for Sheffield United this week so is in good form.
Be interested if they go with Kennedy and MacDonald upfront. I was impressed with Kennedy in the last campaign whenever he was on the pitch.
Gonna need to score early too, to make Qatar attack and not just sit with 10 men in the back half for the whole night, waiting to counter.
Wish I didn't have to work Wednesday night, I'd love to go.

03-02-2008, 12:08 PM
Absolutely a must win and the signs aren't positive so far.
The a-league players appear to be struggling to come to terms with "the dutch way".
You've got to worry about relying on the o/s players too much too. Surely a whole team of them would struggle to run out 90 minutes.
On the upside Carney has scored twice for Sheffield United this week so is in good form.
Be interested if they go with Kennedy and MacDonald upfront. I was impressed with Kennedy in the last campaign whenever he was on the pitch.
Gonna need to score early too, to make Qatar attack and not just sit with 10 men in the back half for the whole night, waiting to counter.
Wish I didn't have to work Wednesday night, I'd love to go.

A must win game for certain. This group is by far the toughest. Qatar are the lowest seeded team in our group, if we can't beat them at hime then we're going to struggle to go through, full stop.

Iraq have shown they have what it takes to be competitve at Asian level, and China will settle for nothing less than victory.

06-02-2008, 09:27 PM
Good win by the Socceroos. realistically I know people say we have a hard group but we have some very good players and honestly if we can't beat China and iraq then we don't deserve to be in the World Cup in 2010. From where I sit, this is definitely not a group of death and is still prefereable to qualifying through Sth America......heck if you handed a country like Belgium/Estonia/Ireland/Belarus etc the group we have to qualify they would jump at it!

06-02-2008, 09:41 PM
Good win by the Socceroos. realistically I know people say we have a hard group but we have some very good players and honestly if we can't beat China and iraq then we don't deserve to be in the World Cup in 2010. From where I sit, this is definitely not a group of death and is still prefereable to qualifying through Sth America......heck if you handed a country like Belgium/Estonia/Ireland/Belarus etc the group we have to qualify they would jump at it!

I might be looking at this all wrong but I'm disappointed they didn't score in the second half.

06-02-2008, 10:34 PM
I might be looking at this all wrong but I'm disappointed they didn't score in the second half.

They did the job. They didn't seem to play as well but created enough chances.

Chops
06-02-2008, 11:22 PM
The Result is the most important thing. Plenty of reasons why they dropped off. Jet lag, first game under a new coach, etc. They should have really won 6 or 7 nil. What matters is we can't drop a point at home and we achieved that.

The big worry is the centre of defence. Craig Moore really made Lucas Neill the player he was at WC06. Now Moore is too slow and finished anyway. Can't play Emerton there every game. Beauchamp comes back but its time to blood Spironovic and others.

07-02-2008, 07:45 AM
In the other group game Iraq & China drew 1-1.

Probably a better point away for China than Iraq who could look at it as 2 points dropped. The return fixture could be the key to qualification for the next round.

Charmdog
07-02-2008, 11:59 AM

Yeah buddy I was the same I was hoping for few more goals to the Socceroos in the second half.

07-02-2008, 03:18 PM
What were all our Brownlow votes?

3. Emerton
2. Cahill
1. Wiltshire

07-02-2008, 03:29 PM
Carney was my best on ground

Chops
07-02-2008, 04:47 PM
About right there SS.
3 votes for me, as I got second level tickets for $25 at the end where all the goals were.
Thought of changing ends at half time but knew there would be no goals there anyway.

Lantern
07-02-2008, 08:44 PM
Timmy Cahill is always the most impressive player in a Socceroos shirt whenever he plays, for me. His work ethic is incredible, and his level of vision, nous and skill is just phenomenal. A bit like Murph in that he doesn't need many touches to be incredibly influential. He was involved in almost every goal we scored at the World Cup, the Asian Cup and here again. And he is very, very committed to the cause.

I was in Germany for our adventure, and he was acknowledged by all and sundry as by far our best player (thus getting a nomination for the top 50 players in the world in the Ballon d'Or).

He still is, in my book.

08-02-2008, 09:56 AM
I thought Verbeek made an interesting comment about the commitment to the national team. He said that it seemed to him like representing our country meant more to Australians than most other nationalities.

This would also be true for things like Davis Cup.

08-02-2008, 10:47 AM
^^^ Good point SS.

The comradarie was very evident amongst the team. They seem to enjoy playing with each other which is sometimes half the battle.

Further to the votes I thought Culina was very good. Best game I have seen him play for Australia.

08-02-2008, 10:53 AM
Timmy Cahill is always the most impressive player in a Socceroos shirt whenever he plays, for me. His work ethic is incredible, and his level of vision, nous and skill is just phenomenal. A bit like Murph in that he doesn't need many touches to be incredibly influential. He was involved in almost every goal we scored at the World Cup, the Asian Cup and here again. And he is very, very committed to the cause.

I was in Germany for our adventure, and he was acknowledged by all and sundry as by far our best player (thus getting a nomination for the top 50 players in the world in the Ballon d'Or).

He still is, in my book.

The SEN crew were waxing lyrical about him while I was on my way to work that night. He reads the game beautifully, has a fantastic work ethic, and most importantly, scores goals.

We go on about Harry Kewell (sorry mantis) and Mark Viduka, but here we are with a player in our national team who is a marquee player at a top flight Premier League club. One of the most underrated men in world football.

08-02-2008, 11:36 AM
^^^ Good point SS.

The comradarie was very evident amongst the team. They seem to enjoy playing with each other which is sometimes half the battle.

Further to the votes I thought Culina was very good. Best game I have seen him play for Australia.

I thought Culina was good as well but he didn't have an opponent for the entire first half.

Chops
08-02-2008, 12:42 PM
I thought Verbeek made an interesting comment about the commitment to the national team. He said that it seemed to him like representing our country meant more to Australians than most other nationalities.

I always thought that if Australians took to football(soccer) like they have to Aussie rules they would have won a number of world cups by now.
They is something(not skill but the desire to suceed) with Australians and sport that other countries don't have as much of.

08-02-2008, 01:54 PM
I always thought that if Australians took to football(soccer) like they have to Aussie rules they would have won a number of world cups by now.
They is something(not skill but the desire to suceed) with Australian and sport that other countries don't have as much of.

Agreed. Not sure what it is but we seem to want to be competitive in absolutely everything.

How many other countries would hld a royal commission or similar hearing because no medals were won at an Olympics?

15-02-2008, 01:26 PM

This would also be true for things like Davis Cup.

Except for the poo.

15-02-2008, 02:21 PM
Except for the poo.

The Poo won us a Davis Cup

15-02-2008, 10:49 PM
The Poo won us a Davis Cup

Agreed. People are quick to jump down the throats of The Poo and Lleyton when it comes to Davis Cup, fact remains they were wonderful Davis Cup players for their country.

26-03-2008, 03:23 PM
The next qualifying game is nearly upon us, China away at altitude.

Looks like we will have 4-6 players missing due to injury.

I think if we can salvage a draw it would be a good result.

26-03-2008, 03:32 PM
Under the circumstances I reckon Aussie Pim would take a draw right now if offered to him. Be interesting to see the mindset of the Chinese given all our injuries. If they go helter skelter, they might just cop the old sucker punch, let's hope so anyway!

26-03-2008, 07:17 PM
China 0 - Australia 0

All in all a good result.

Archie Thompson off injured after 6 minutes.

Schwarzer concedes a dodgy penalty in the 88th minute & makes a great save.

Bresciano & Carney both had great chances.

Couldn't believe a two footed tackle by the Chinese late on didn't draw a red card. Even more astounded it didn't even draw a yellow card!

26-03-2008, 07:32 PM
China 0 - Australia 0

All in all a good result.

Archie Thompson off injured after 6 minutes.

Schwarzer concedes a dodgy penalty in the 88th minute & makes a great save.

Bresciano & Carney both had great chances.

Couldn't believe a two footed tackle by the Chinese late on didn't draw a red card. Even more astounded it didn't even draw a yellow card!

DID THEY HAVE A PENALTY!:eek:

26-03-2008, 09:47 PM
Shocking game to watch.

How many passing errors were made by the Chinese, terrible effort.

That tackle on Wilkshire was a disgrace, but Sun is the Chinese hero and the ref would have been lynched if he had shown a red. Two minutes before that tackle Holman received a yellow for grabbing an opponents jumper and then Sun goes in studs showing and gets off scott free, shocker!!

Penalty was poorly taken, but probably a fair result as it was a poor decision to give it in the first place.

Chops
26-03-2008, 10:03 PM
The result is what Australia wanted but China are crap.
Carney should have scored.
I'm far from convinced Australia has what it takes to go to the WC2010.

26-03-2008, 10:21 PM
The result is what Australia wanted but China are crap.
Carney should have scored.
I'm far from convinced Australia has what it takes to go to the WC2010.

Bit harsh Ern, they played today with minimal preparation & minus some quality on the park. I still think the Asian route will be slightly easier than the South American lottery.

Chops
26-03-2008, 10:28 PM
I looked at the opposition and China were terrible. Tactically, in their skills and application.
At home needing to win, they often let Australia have the ball without pressure. Their crossing and shooting was like the amatuer league I played.
Had Australia played to win not draw they would have.

Can't afford to miss easy chances against better teams.

26-03-2008, 10:34 PM
I looked at the opposition and China were terrible. Tactically, in their skills and application.
At home needing to win, they often let Australia have the ball without pressure. Their crossing and shooting was like the amatuer league I played.

Hopefully with a legitimate striker or 2 that problem will be solved

Chops
26-03-2008, 10:39 PM
Hopefully with a legitimate striker or 2 that problem will be solved
Strikers or not strikers, they are all professionals that given those opportunities should score.
Bresciano is no mug and all he had to do was hit either side of keeper.
Carney thought he had all the time in the world.

26-03-2008, 10:48 PM
Strikers or not strikers, they are all professionals that given those opportunities should score.
Bresciano is no mug and all he had to do was hit either side of keeper.
Carney thought he had all the time in the world.

I had footy training so i only saw the 1st 25 minutes and can't really say much about Carney.
Bresciano probably should have scored but I think he struggled to reach the the ball at all.

No doubt they should be able to score given the chance

27-03-2008, 05:51 AM
Overnight Qatar defeated Iraq 2-0.

Table:

Pts - Country
4 - Australia
3 - Qatar
2 - China
1 - Iraq

Interestingly, in another group Japan was beaten 1-0 by Bahrain, just shows you shouldn't take anyone for granted.

27-03-2008, 08:59 AM
Gee it was an ordinary game skills wise. I do not think I have seen a foul throw since my junior days at George Cross! We lacked a quality striker however a nil all draw is the next best thing.

27-03-2008, 09:43 AM

Easy to sit back and criticise. When you look at the number of injuries, limited preparation and playing at altitude I think that this was a fair result.

Chops
27-03-2008, 09:59 AM
Easy to sit back and criticise. When you look at the number of injuries, limited preparation and playing at altitude I think that this was a fair result.
? I'm looking at the overall picture.
On the day the result they were looking for was what they got.
No disguising the fact that China were crap. An all A-league side would have won that game with a positive mind set.
Injuries, we haved talented enough players to be able to compete against that sort of opposition, Limited prep - thats normally the case and the altitude was there for both sides. No Chinese side plays at that ground.
Too many excuses.

Praise to Schwarzer seems a bit silly to me too. He hestitated on the long ball, caught in two minds which caused the China chance at goal. The penalty was very soft but he should know that given half a chance the opposition would dive and ref was vulnerable. The save too was more to do with the one worst penalty kicks I've seen for a while rather than being a great save.

27-03-2008, 03:17 PM
Overnight Qatar defeated Iraq 2-0.

That's big. I thought Iraq would be the main danger. Was it home or away?

01-06-2008, 08:15 PM
Australia 1- Iraq 0

Harry Kewell scored a header in the 46th minute to put Australia a step closer to the next round.

Chops
01-06-2008, 08:29 PM
A win is a win but there is no way Australia should have won that match.
The defence is a shambles. Midfield slightly better.

The phenomenon is how that defence has gone now 18 hours without conceding.

02-06-2008, 12:58 PM

Agreed. Our defence was horrendous at times last night. Iraq missed 4 or 5 sitters and hit the bar. Need Neill back and I am not sure the guys in at the moment are the answer against quality teams.

Not sure that pumping crosses into Kewell and McDonald is ideal either. Desperately missing guys like Kennedy, Cahill and co. Viduka as well although I think he is finished with Australia.

02-06-2008, 01:30 PM

How many of that side are going to be in the 11 at the World Cup finals?

Chops
02-06-2008, 01:42 PM
All will be the squad. Maybe 3 or 4 will not be in the starting team.

Neill is not the answer, he is way overated after the WC06. His performance at the Asia Cup last season reeked of arrogance and lethargy. Craig Moore retiring has left a huge hole.

Lack of dominate midfield meant getting in around the back was the answer. They hardly put a good cross in all night(except for the goal).

Verbeek's approach worried me last night. McDonald is a penalty box specialist and needs a strong tall strike partner to feed off. Playing him alone up front was never going to work. Then when it was time to shut up shop, he goes with 2 strikers instead of an extra defender or midfielder.

02-06-2008, 02:53 PM
Neill is captain of a premier league club, he must have something going for him.

Certainly good enough to get a game for a country ranked 45 in the world.

Chops
02-06-2008, 04:14 PM
Neill is captain of a premier league club, he must have something going for him.

Certainly good enough to get a game for a country ranked 45 in the world.

Neill is a captain of Premier league struggler because he chose them over Liverpool. He went there on top of a WC 06 performance (Moore was the real star) cos they gave heaps of money. He had the chance of going to a better club where he would have challenged himself more and been a better player for it.

45 team doesn't mean he is in the top 100 best defenders.

02-06-2008, 04:18 PM
All will be the squad. Maybe 3 or 4 will not be in the starting team.

Neill is not the answer, he is way overated after the WC06. His performance at the Asia Cup last season reeked of arrogance and lethargy. Craig Moore retiring has left a huge hole.

Lack of dominate midfield meant getting in around the back was the answer. They hardly put a good cross in all night(except for the goal).

Verbeek's approach worried me last night. McDonald is a penalty box specialist and needs a strong tall strike partner to feed off. Playing him alone up front was never going to work. Then when it was time to shut up shop, he goes with 2 strikers instead of an extra defender or midfielder. Neill might be overrated but he is going to help. Maybe not in the centre but having him back helps imo. Moore would be immensely handy but realistically we have to move on and find a new Craig Moore. How we do that I am not sure.

Totally agree regarding McDonald. He is a classic poacher. He needs knock downs and spillages to feed off. You cant play him up on his own with minimal support from guys like Kewell pushing forward. I know we are missing our two best taller strikers in Kennedy and Viduka but surely even Djite/Allsopp would have given McDonald more opportunities. Even if those guys probably are not up to it at this stage atleast we would have had a better set up.

Chops
02-06-2008, 04:34 PM
Spironovic (defender) is playing at Nurenberg with Beauchamp. They just got relegated.(Figures).
He just got capped last week, but looks Robert Murphy slim to be a central defender at the moment.
We are paying the price for not blooding defenders years back.

08-06-2008, 03:58 AM
Iraq 1 - Australia 0
China 0 - Qatar 1

Table:
Australia 7 +3
Qatar 7 0
Iraq 4 -2
China 3 -1

Chops
08-06-2008, 09:09 AM
I saw none of this game. Goal I hear was a freakish strike from distance from the left side. Knowing Australia started with Kewell as the only front man, the result was no surprise to me.

We don't have the material to able to defend for 90 minutes for a draw. You need a winning midfield and we couldn't hold the ball in a home game last week.

08-06-2008, 08:31 PM
I watched the match.

The goal was centimeter perfect to go over Schwarzer.

I think it was Holland who had a chance to score one on one with the keeper on the left side and he went the far post but didn't get past the keeper.

Kewell had a great run in the 1st half and crossed it to someone (forgot who) and the commentators were certain it was a clear penalty.

09-06-2008, 10:49 AM
Culine was the one who should have had a penalty awarded. Not real pleased with us playing Harry on his own up front. As soon as we gave him some help we controlled the game. A mistake by Verbeek IMO. I have a horrible feeling we could be in strife. Kennedy is unavailable again in the next game and if we dont come away with some points against Qatar then all of a sudden we are in a knock out game against China. We should beat China but a knock out game is something we need to avoid.

Holman is an absolute spud when it comes to finishing. The only goal he has scored from us was a missed kick tap in with an open net. Should have scored from that Kewell back heel. Has to in his position.

Chops
09-06-2008, 04:24 PM
I have a horrible feeling we could be in strife. Kennedy is unavailable again in the next game and if we dont come away with some points against Qatar then all of a sudden we are in a knock out game against China. We should beat China but a knock out game is something we need to avoid.

I totally agree though I think you mean Neill not Kennedy.

09-06-2008, 04:52 PM
I totally agree though I think you mean Neill not Kennedy. No Kennedy is going back to be with his wife. Reported in the paper today. Makes it hard with so many front line striking options not available. Not helping is the fact that Bresciano sat on the bench. He might not be world class with a dead ball but he has to give better service than Wilkshire.

09-06-2008, 05:42 PM
Grella suspended too for the Qatar clash as he picked up another yellow card v Iraq.

Chops
10-06-2008, 08:22 AM
No Kennedy is going back to be with his wife. Reported in the paper today. Makes it hard with so many front line striking options not available. Not helping is the fact that Bresciano sat on the bench. He might not be world class with a dead ball but he has to give better service than Wilkshire.
Its both actually.
http://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/socceroos/neill-to-miss-qatar-game-120451/#article1

If we adopt a defensive approach again in Qatar with no strikers we will lose.

15-06-2008, 06:43 AM
Socceroos advance to final stage (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23866511-5014539,00.html)

AUSTRALIA have won through to the final stage of Asian World Cup qualifying, with two Brett Emerton goals and one to Harry Kewell sealing a gutsy 3-1 victory over Qatar.

Emerton scored once in each half to bury the Qataris, while Kewell iced the result on 74 minutes to put Pim Verbeek's side a step closer to the 2010 World Cup finals in South Africa.

Qatar scored a late consolation goal through Khalfan Ibrahim in the 89th minute.

The Socceroos are now three points clear of both Qatar and Iraq, who beat China 2-1 in Tianjin to join Qatar on seven points, with one match remaining.

But with the top two advancing to the next qualifying stage and Qatar and Iraq to play each other next week, Australia will go through regardless of their final match against China next Sunday in Sydney.

For the third match in four outings, the Socceroos owed plenty to goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer, who made three important first-half saves to keep his side a goal to the good.

It was Emerton, despatched forward by Verbeek from his customary right-back position, who finished off a nifty move on the edge of the box in the 17th minute, started by Brett Holman, to give his side the lead.

Holman found Mark Bresciano, whose centre across goal was missed by Kewell but finished neatly by Emerton.

The Socceroos were then put under heavy pressure late in the half by Qatar, with striker Sebastian Soria Quintana causing plenty of headaches.

He forced Schwarzer to tip over on 29 minutes, then nearly netted an outrageous goal five minutes before half-time when with his back to goal, swung a delicate shot just wide.

In between Schwarzer denied Fabio Cesar's free-kick - adding to his effort to stop a set-piece from Wezam Rizik early in the match.

Qatar should have equalised just after the break when Talal Al-Bloushi headed over when he should have done better, before Emerton finished off the Qataris with a second on 56 minutes.

Then Kewell smacked home a left-foot volley after a defensive error 16 minutes from time to make Qatar's task impossible, though Khalfan salvaged some respectability for the home side with his late goal.

Verbeek said Iraq's win in China earlier had raised the stakes for his side to chase victory themselves.

"Three teams starting from seven points before this game, we knew we had to win this game," Verbeek said.

"We started very well, then we started to come a little bit under pressure.

"But second half we did very well. The goal was at the perfect time and we played very well until the last second."

Australia will now advance to the next stage of Asian qualifying - two groups of five teams starting in September.

The top two teams in each group will advance to the World Cup finals, while the two third-placed teams play off with the winner to take on the Oceania winner for another spot in South Africa in 2010.

Iraq's win in Tianjin ensured China's elimination but sets up a sudden-death match between Qatar and Iraq in Dubai next week to decide the other qualifier from Group 1.

15-06-2008, 06:45 AM
Australia now progress to round 4.

Round 4 will consist of 10 teams comprising winners & runners up from round 3.

There will be 2 groups, consisting of 5 countries in each group. Winners & runners up qualify for the World Cup.

15-06-2008, 04:28 PM
The first goal was a bit lucky.

Kewell should have got it but missed the ball. Luckily Emerton was there to fix it up.

Bresciano was dangerous in he 1st half

15-06-2008, 08:44 PM
The first goal was a bit lucky.

Kewell should have got it but missed the ball. Luckily Emerton was there to fix it up.

Has a habit of doing this.... Mr Bresciano scored a pretty famous goal some 3 years ago in similiar circumstances.

Chops
15-06-2008, 08:48 PM
How he didn't get a run v Iraq still puzzles me.

Good to see start at least one striker in Holman. Was involved in 2 of the goals.

Chops
15-06-2008, 08:51 PM
Australia now progress to round 4.

Round 4 will consist of 10 teams comprising winners & runners up from round 3.

There will be 2 groups, consisting of 5 countries in each group. Winners & runners up qualify for the World Cup.

Also the two 3rd place teams play off for a chance to play the top Oceania side over 2 legs.

If Australia can't make it to at least 5th best Asian side then there are no excuses.

23-06-2008, 02:53 PM
The teams from Asia that qualified are:

Group 1
Australia & Qatar

Group 2
Japan & Bahrain

Group 3
North Korea & South Korea

Group 4
Saudi Arabia & Uzbekistan

Group 5
Iran & United Arab Emirates

The 10 teams will be split into two round-robin groups of 5, home & away.

Winner & runner up in both groups qualify for the World Cup.

Both 3rd placed teams clash, home & away with the winner then playing the winner of Oceania to see who qualifies for the World Cup.

23-06-2008, 06:30 PM
For gods sake lets qualify top 2 and avoid a home and away play off. We will likely cop one of South Korea or Iran in our group. Need to be close to full strength for this section of it.

Chops
23-06-2008, 10:07 PM
No chance we'll get South Korea

Pot 1
Australia
Korea Republic

Pot 2
Iran
Japan/ Saudi Arabia

Pot 3
Saudi Arabia/ Japan
Bahrain

Pot 4
Uzbekistan
Korea DPR
UAE
Qatar

Each group will have one team from Pots 1, 2 and 3 and two from Pot 4.

Drawn Friday I think

Chops
23-06-2008, 10:10 PM
Home games on
October 15
April 1
June 10
June 17

24-06-2008, 06:24 PM
No chance we'll get South Korea

Pot 1
Australia
Korea Republic

Pot 2
Iran
Japan/ Saudi Arabia

Pot 3
Saudi Arabia/ Japan
Bahrain

Pot 4
Uzbekistan
Korea DPR
UAE
Qatar

Each group will have one team from Pots 1, 2 and 3 and two from Pot 4.

Drawn Friday I think Yeah sorry for some reason I thought Japan was the team we couldn't get. I would probably prefer it the way it is. We have shown we can hold Japan out and they struggle with our taller strikers (as do most Asian countries). South Korea have always struck me as being quite dangerous. I hope Viduka, Cahill and Kennedy are all available.

Lantern
24-06-2008, 07:45 PM
Jeepers who would have picked Qatar to qualify ahead of Iraq and China.

24-06-2008, 07:47 PM
Jeepers who would have picked Qatar to qualify ahead of Iraq and China.
Just shows that you shouldn't ever assume is sport. Qualification is not a foregone conclusion.

24-06-2008, 08:05 PM
All games will be tough for the lads. Wonder if we will have full strength squads available for each of the games? I am assuming the matches would coincide with other WC qualifiers throughout the world.

I hope we don't get in the same side as Uzbekistan. Didn't they go through their group stage undefeated and beating the Saudis in the process.

What happens when teams play Nth Korea - Do they play them at home or on neutral territory?

24-06-2008, 08:12 PM
What happens when teams play Nth Korea - Do they play them at home or on neutral territory?

In Pyongyang, tho they didn't play South Korea there as they either wouldn't fly the South Korean flag or play the National Anthem. That game was played in Shanghai.

Lantern
25-06-2008, 09:59 AM
So, Rody never got a game in the first round of qualifiers, although he was named on the bench and the squad the whole time. It's funny, because he's basically telling me (not complaining, just musing) that he's missing out on Victory's end of season holiday and his downtime between seasons because he's in full training, but without the reward of actually getting on the park. I hope he gets some rest before pre-season starts up again. Victory needs a fresh Rody.

Chops
25-06-2008, 12:57 PM
So, Rody never got a game in the first round of qualifiers, although he was named on the bench and the squad the whole time. It's funny, because he's basically telling me (not complaining, just musing) that he's missing out on Victory's end of season holiday and his downtime between seasons because he's in full training, but without the reward of actually getting on the park. I hope he gets some rest before pre-season starts up again. Victory needs a fresh Rody.

They played some duds in the game against China and obviously lost.
2 from Perth Glory the worst Aussie side in the A-league.
I understand the reasoning behind playing Olyroos guys but the keeper was a 31yo and not highly rated.
Topor Stanley and Zadovich should not be near a national team.

I'm really worried we will miss out on WC2010.

07-06-2009, 04:00 AM
A point for the draw tonight against Qatar has assured our spot in the World Cup 2010 :cool: