View Full Version : ICC double standards

Chops
29-01-2008, 10:27 PM
I’m a little confused on why Parmigan Singh suspension was reduced to 50% of match fee. As usual the ICC seem to be appeasing the subcontinent as it’s where the money is.
I recall the Darren Lehmann incident saying black c... with the Sri Lankans hearing after being run out. Immediately knew he was stupid, apologies in person and in writing. Sri Lankans understand and ask for leniency. Match ref Clive Lloyd gives a reprimand. Then Speed/ICC butt in and no 5 matches for you Mr Lehmann.
Precident set or not?
To me it says that if you’re Indian you can't be racist.

29-01-2008, 10:37 PM
I agree with the double standard claim.

Harbajan got off because he claimed he said a native word (mar key or somthing) that translates to Motherf@$%er. So instead of a racism charge he got and abuse charge.

I believe Tendulkar was suspended before (in South Africa i can't remember what for) and India used the same trick of effigies and he got off as well.

Chops
29-01-2008, 10:55 PM
India used the same trick of effigies and he got off as well.

From now on I'm burning effigies if things don't go my way. You are first Mr Demetriou.

29-01-2008, 10:56 PM
Well when you make 70% of the overall profit...

Does anyone know why the ICC actually needs money? Is there any advantage in getting China to play cricket? They'll just make India more powerful because they'll stick together and they both will make the most money.

29-01-2008, 10:57 PM
From now on I'm burning effigies if things don't go my way. You are first Mr Demetriou.

I've always wondered what would happen if we burnt effigies of Ganguly and the India flag. War?

29-01-2008, 10:57 PM

It's like they have bloody Guy Fawkes day over there 365 days a year! Would they be upset if we burned an effigy of one of their players, or their flag? You betcha!

29-01-2008, 11:03 PM
It's like they have bloody Guy Fawkes day over there 365 days a year! Would they be upset if we burned an effigy of one of their players, or their flag? You betcha!

But we have fire bans. Dammit ;)

30-01-2008, 09:37 AM
It's all bullshit. I'd love it if Australia pulls out from the Tri-nations now much like India kept threatening to do.

Seriously how a team can make a threat like that and get away with it is beyond me.

EJ Smith
30-01-2008, 09:54 AM
The administration of cricket at International level is only surpassed in its incompetence by the Australian swimming administration through the 60's to 90's

This will continue to be the case whilst the game is administered by the constituents ie the playing nations. Its like the VFL/AFL when it was run by the clubs.

Until the ICC is administered by a commission without any pecuniary interest, the status quo will remain.

Chops
30-01-2008, 01:08 PM
The administration of cricket at International level is only surpassed in its incompetence by the Australian swimming administration through the 60's to 90's

The admin of our own game in AFL football is in a much worse state than the ICC. Just thats not world wide so its on a smaller scale.

30-01-2008, 01:41 PM
It's all bullshit. I'd love it if Australia pulls out from the Tri-nations now much like India kept threatening to do.

Seriously how a team can make a threat like that and get away with it is beyond me.

Leave lonely Sri Lanka to play themselves

EJ Smith
31-01-2008, 08:36 AM
The admin of our own game in AFL football is in a much worse state than the ICC. Just thats not world wide so its on a smaller scale.

The Administration of the AFL is outstanding. Compare its audience and revenue with all other sports in this country (and indeed in any other) and it is miles ahead. And this is from virtually a one state base only 15 years ago.

It (the Administration) is the major reason why we have survived. It may be unpalatable to accept that but it is the financial reality for our club and others.

Next time you sit at Telstra Dome on a day when it rains persistently and the temperature peaks at nine degrees, remember standing in the mud and enduring the cold at suburban grounds.

31-01-2008, 09:43 AM

This will continue to be the case whilst the game is administered by the constituents ie the playing nations. Its like the VFL/AFL when it was run by the clubs.

Until the ICC is administered by a commission without any pecuniary interest, the status quo will remain.

Fantastic point EJ. I dont really blame India for pulling out all the stocks to get their man off, but I do blame the gutless/comprimised ICC for not following due process.

31-01-2008, 02:21 PM
Fantastic point EJ. I dont really blame India for pulling out all the stocks to get their man off, but I do blame the gutless/comprimised ICC for not following due process.

Not only did they not stick to their own rules, they didn't even give the Judge all the necessary information. Harbhajan had a suspended 1 match ban so he should haave been punished even with the reduced charge.

31-01-2008, 05:23 PM
Not only did they not stick to their own rules, they didn't even give the Judge all the necessary information. Harbhajan had a suspended 1 match ban so he should haave been punished even with the reduced charge.

I was flabbergasted when I heard that on the radio this morning. My dad has a saying "If you've got the choice between a $%# up and a consipricy, 9 times out of 10 it's going to be a %$^ up"

I reckon this one has conspiricy written all over it though.

Chops
31-01-2008, 06:02 PM
Next time you sit at Telstra Dome on a day when it rains persistently and the temperature peaks at nine degrees, remember standing in the mud and enduring the cold at suburban grounds.
Whats that got to do with the AFL?
They can play cricket under cover too so does that mean the ICC is good too

Chops
31-01-2008, 06:05 PM
The Administration of the AFL is outstanding.
Surely thats a piss take?

The AFL admin is a reason why the game hasn't gone far beyond Australia.

31-01-2008, 07:10 PM
The AFL has done well to spread the sport across the nation when compared to Rugby.

They have also made the competition more even.

Allot of people would say that they have screwed with the game far too many times however. The only rule that hasn't screwed something up seems to be the 50m line.

Lantern
31-01-2008, 08:36 PM
This idea of burning effigies has genius written all over it. I wonder why I have not before now set alight a home-made caricature of a hated public figure. Such an inexpensive yet impressively visual method of venting one's feelings and making them widely known.

Where to start, where to start?

31-01-2008, 10:12 PM
This idea of burning effigies has genius written all over it. I wonder why I have not before now set alight a home-made caricature of a hated public figure. Such an inexpensive yet impressively visual method of venting one's feelings and making them widely known.

Where to start, where to start?

Here! here! :D

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/2803/thgphistoryea5.jpg

31-01-2008, 10:25 PM
Here! here! :D

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/2803/thgphistoryea5.jpg

WTF :p

01-02-2008, 09:33 AM

And thank Christ they havent gone off-shore. Then we'd be whinging about how the Indians have ****ed up footy.:D

I'm in the AFL commision doing a great job camp.

EJ Smith
01-02-2008, 10:34 AM

You can't be serious.

Are you Acker in disguise?

Name one sporting body in Australia which has outperformed the AFL. You might even try the rest of the world.

I'll say it again. Look at share of audience, advertising revenue, expansion of market (Brisbane Lions get more people to the game than the Broncos, Swans get more people than Manly).

Look at the financial strength of the organisation. All this despite major competition from international sports like Soccer and Rugby Union who can only dream of the number of bums on seats scored by the AFL.

And finally ask yourself where we (WB) might be without their support.

01-02-2008, 03:35 PM
I'll say it again. Look at share of audience, advertising revenue, expansion of market (Brisbane Lions get more people to the game than the Broncos, Swans get more people than Manly).

To be fair, i don't think they can seat as much people at Rugby games.

What are the capacity crowds?

01-02-2008, 03:43 PM
And thank Christ they havent gone off-shore. Then we'd be whinging about how the Indians have ****ed up footy.:D

Yes! I am happy with the AFL being all for Australlia.

EJ Smith
01-02-2008, 03:50 PM
To be fair, i don't think they can seat as much people at Rugby games.

What are the capacity crowds?

If that is the case, and I don't think it is, get a bigger ground or follow the lead of the AFL and get them off suburban s***heaps and build a decent stadium.

01-02-2008, 04:05 PM
If that is the case, and I don't think it is, get a bigger ground or follow the lead of the AFL and get them off suburban s***heaps and build a decent stadium.

The average capacity (excluding Suncorp and ANZ) seams to be 15-25 thousand.

The Broncos get bigger crowds than the Lions.

Chops
01-02-2008, 05:27 PM
You can't be serious.
Are you Acker in disguise?

Thanks Acker isn't as bad these days.
Are you Demetriou in disguise?

Name one sporting body in Australia which has outperformed the AFL. You might even try the rest of the world.
World? Don't make me laugh. No gives a stuff about the AFL outside Australia.
How do you judge whether they over performed other Australian sports. Yes they get bigger crowds but can't be the only factor. Its the indigenous game of course its going to be popular here.
Cricket Australia has 3 time in a row World Cup side and had the best test side, I'd say thats better performed than the AFL.

Thats all good. However playing for Broncos or Manly is not the pinnacle of the sport. Even Rugby league has a 2 levels highers than the AFL. Compare that to SOO or International rules.

Look at the financial strength of the organisation. All this despite major competition from international sports like Soccer and Rugby Union who can only dream of the number of bums on seats scored by the AFL.
Yes no one watches the World Cup of Football. The AFL can only dream there.

And finally ask yourself where we (WB) might be without their support.
I support the team not the league. Without the Bulldogs, I'd watch another sport.

Obviously you've turned a blind eye to umpiring issues (worse than most sports), rules changes, suspension and tribunal inconsistencies, the uneven draw, the unbalanced game day/time allocations, unbalanced free to air tv coverage, the drugs issue and a number of other issues.

01-02-2008, 06:01 PM
I think the AFL generally does good long term jobs but almost every decision they make in current time is crap. Like in 2003 people would have said what a good job they did in Queensland but they did screw over Fitzroy supporters and wouldn't have received much praise then.

01-02-2008, 06:05 PM
I support the team not the league. Without the Bulldogs, I'd watch another sport.

Without the current AFL administration you'd be watching another sport. We'd be dead in the water without the money the Commision brings in for rights and other revenue sources they've initiated or improved.

Obviously you've turned a blind eye to umpiring issues (worse than most sports), rules changes, suspension and tribunal inconsistencies, the uneven draw, the unbalanced game day/time allocations, unbalanced free to air tv coverage, the drugs issue and a number of other issues.

If we had 16 teams playing a 30 round season then we could address most of your points. We dont so equity goes out of the window and we make do as best we can. The AFL is hamstrung by blockbusters, making sure that teams get the correct breaks between games, a fixture list that has games in every state and territory. They either make every team participate in blockbusters or try and assress the problems with cash offsets to the clubs that miss out-I think they have chosen the right path.

Obviously you've turned a blind eye to umpiring issues (worse than most sports), rules changes, suspension and tribunal inconsistencies,

Umpires are umpires-ours are too showy and want to be involved in the contest far too much but that's easily fixed. Rule changes are overrated in terms of thgeir affect on the game and most of the ones the commitee brings in are pretty common sense anyway.

And drugs? Ernie is it any suprise that, of 680+ mainly adolescent blokes that suddenly have a fair bit of money, that some of them get into drugs? Give me a break! The AFL had a policy on this long before most sporting bodies.

01-02-2008, 07:00 PM
And drugs? Ernie is it any suprise that, of 680+ mainly adolescent blokes that suddenly have a fair bit of money, that some of them get into drugs? Give me a break! The AFL had a policy on this long before most sporting bodies.

The first in Australia i believe.

Chops
03-02-2008, 09:14 AM
Without the current AFL administration you'd be watching another sport. We'd be dead in the water without the money the Commision brings in for rights and other revenue sources they've initiated or improved.
Then I'll watch another sport. Our 'savoiur' the AFL really supported us in 89 didn't they. They screwed Fitzroy and trying hard to screw North Melbourne. Do you trust them given half a chance that they won't try it with us again?

If we had 16 teams playing a 30 round season then we could address most of your points. We dont so equity goes out of the window and we make do as best we can. The AFL is hamstrung by blockbusters, making sure that teams get the correct breaks between games, a fixture list that has games in every state and territory. They either make every team participate in blockbusters or try and assress the problems with cash offsets to the clubs that miss out-I think they have chosen the right path.
I don't, I'd rather forgo the CBF and play games against all clubs home and away sharing the the good game days/times and TV coverage.
We will be better off financial.

Umpires are umpires-ours are too showy and want to be involved in the contest far too much but that's easily fixed. Rule changes are overrated in terms of thgeir affect on the game and most of the ones the commitee brings in are pretty common sense anyway.
What upsets me about umpiring and rule chances is the its so much open to interpretation and having some officials/little changes to rules/wording make it more difficult. As I said its the worse than most sports.

Never said its AFL's job to stop them taking drugs, just believe its the AFL's job to stop players and teams creating an unlevel playing field. Only have to look back to the 06 GF to think maybe it wasn't.
They had a joke of policy for a long time and even today not all are tested and at the right times.

Billy Blogger
03-02-2008, 10:38 AM
Ernie, I normally agree with you point of view but your criticism of the AFL is wrong in this case. I don't agree with everything the AFL does, the push to relocate North is wrong, but overall they have the games best interest at heart.

The AFL is also a very strong and well run business when compared to most of the other top line sport codes.
Rugby League struggles with crowds and dollars but it does remain strong because of its TV following.
Rugby Union has just lost a lot of money and it's support is faltering.
Soccer is just getting it's act together but still has a long way to go.
Cricket is very strong but poorly administered
Netball is brilliant but cannot attract sponsors or get big attendances at games.
Basketball failed to capitalise on its strong following from 10 years or more ago

I'm not sure what all the right answers are but it's not easy to run a big business like the AFL

Chops
03-02-2008, 11:00 AM
Ernie, I normally agree with you point of view but your criticism of the AFL is wrong in this case. I don't agree with everything the AFL does, the push to relocate North is wrong, but overall they have the games best interest at heart.

The AFL is also a very strong and well run business when compared to most of the other top line sport codes.
Rugby League struggles with crowds and dollars but it does remain strong because of its TV following.
Rugby Union has just lost a lot of money and it's support is faltering.
Soccer is just getting it's act together but still has a long way to go.
Cricket is very strong but poorly administered
Netball is brilliant but cannot attract sponsors or get big attendances at games.
Basketball failed to capitalise on its strong following from 10 years or more ago

I'm not sure what all the right answers are but it's not easy to run a big business like the AFL

Sorry I just don't believe the AFL is as well run as people think.
As a sporting business on world scale it can't even compete.
It does not have a real competitor as its the just about the only solely Australian sport in its market.

I understand they are there for the best interests of the game but just not sure some of thier decisions are.

03-02-2008, 01:34 PM
Then I'll watch another sport. Our 'savoiur' the AFL really supported us in 89 didn't they. They screwed Fitzroy and trying hard to screw North Melbourne. Do you trust them given half a chance that they won't try it with us again?

How do we get a choice about who administers the game? Show me and I'll sign up David Smorgan and myself to the two top jobs. Until then we play with the hand dealt to us, and I dont reckon you'd find an AFL administration more sympathetic to us. Anyway in '89 and in '96 it was a different commission with a different agenda. There's always going to be someone in charge.

I don't, I'd rather forgo the CBF and play games against all clubs home and away sharing the the good game days/times and TV coverage.
We will be better off financial.

How do you figure that? The big clubs would share all the moneymaking opportunities between themselves and we would become a basketcase.

What upsets me about umpiring and rule chances is the its so much open to interpretation and having some officials/little changes to rules/wording make it more difficult. As I said its the worse than most sports.

Name some rules that have made the game worse that have lasted more than one season, and we can argue them on a case by case basis. The limitation on I/C is the only one I personally disagree with but I'm wiling to see how it goes.

Never said its AFL's job to stop them taking drugs, just believe its the AFL's job to stop players and teams creating an unlevel playing field. Only have to look back to the 06 GF to think maybe it wasn't.
They had a joke of policy for a long time and even today not all are tested and at the right times.

You're arguing apples and oranges here, but.

Yeah I remember the previous fed government banging on and on about it. They were asked to come up with a better one and the two ministers wrote something down on the back of an envelope while they were in transit. The policy isnt a joke, it's a huge problem that athletes can take masking agents to test negative when they are under the influence but I cant see how that would be any different if the policy was one, two or three strikes.

Chops
03-02-2008, 06:14 PM
How do you figure that? The big clubs would share all the moneymaking opportunities between themselves and we would become a basketcase. .
Incorrect.
The math has been done by Richmond and an accounting firm. SS has mentioned it here and on BF. We miss out on way more that the CBF is worth.

Name some rules that have made the game worse that have lasted more than one season, and we can argue them on a case by case basis. The limitation on I/C is the only one I personally disagree with but I'm wiling to see how it goes.
I talked about interpretation more that rule changes. This changes like the wind. This focus week they will focus on this next it changes and its that.
eg Head high is out, but no consistency on who is reported and what players end up suspended and how much they get
The I/C is one of many they had and will continue to experiment with.
Why they need a separate rules commitee and an umpiring commitee in the first place is makes me wonder.

03-02-2008, 07:55 PM
Incorrect.
The math has been done by Richmond and an accounting firm. SS has mentioned it here and on BF. We miss out on way more that the CBF is worth.

I take findings like that with a grain of salt. You can manipulate financial numbers to suit any argument whoever commisioned the report wants to make.

I'd rather belive the evidence of my own eyes. This is about the most pro-Victorian commission as there could ever be short of Bill Lawry taking over as chairman. They've been patient with our club and have done a lot to provide a position where we can now feasibly begin to stand on our own feet and maybe, just maybe, start to have some on-field success and tap into that huge catchment area of supporters in the Western region.

I talked about interpretation more that rule changes. This changes like the wind. This focus week they will focus on this next it changes and its that.
eg Head high is out, but no consistency on who is reported and what players end up suspended and how much they get
The I/C is one of many they had and will continue to experiment with.
Why they need a separate rules commitee and an umpiring commitee in the first place is makes me wonder.

I thought you were just talking about the rules commitee. You're preaching to the choir with your frustation at the early season crackdowns that disappear by round 6. The truly stupid thing is most of them suit the game well-a couple of years ago they cracked down on players throwing the ball back and knocking the ball out of the hands after a mark with 50m penalties. It was great almost at once the players fell in to line. Eight rounds in, it was gone and it was business as usual. I couldn't understand it.

Chops
03-02-2008, 09:32 PM
I take findings like that with a grain of salt. You can manipulate financial numbers to suit any argument whoever commisioned the report wants to make.

Fair enough, your view. I'll rather take a 30 round no blockbuster equal tv alloocation season and a chance to stand on our own 2 feet over letting others believe including the AFL(North example here) think that they are propping us up every season.

I'd rather belive the evidence of my own eyes. This is about the most pro-Victorian commission as there could ever be short of Bill Lawry taking over as chairman. They've been patient with our club and have done a lot to provide a position where we can now feasibly begin to stand on our own feet and maybe, just maybe, start to have some on-field success and tap into that huge catchment area of supporters in the Western region.
Don't care if he is Pro Vic, again I barrack for the Bulldogs not Victoria. Wayne Jackson didn't do any worse than Demetriou.

I thought you were just talking about the rules commitee. You're preaching to the choir with your frustation at the early season crackdowns that disappear by round 6.
To me things didn't seem right by round 6 maybe 1 aspect was but there are plenty of other problems. For example was there any consistency in the tribunal? The consistency there is the lucky dip style decisions and the confusing penalty system.

The truly stupid thing is most of them suit the game well-a couple of years ago they cracked down on players throwing the ball back and knocking the ball out of the hands after a mark with 50m penalties. It was great almost at once the players fell in to line. Eight rounds in, it was gone and it was business as usual. I couldn't understand it.
As I said one of many.

03-02-2008, 10:49 PM
Fair enough, your view. I'll rather take a 30 round no blockbuster equal tv alloocation season and a chance to stand on our own 2 feet over letting others believe including the AFL(North example here) think that they are propping us up every season.

I really dont care what others think/say about us being propped up. I'm confident enough in my understanding of the situation to know better.

Don't care if he is Pro Vic, again I barrack for the Bulldogs not Victoria. Wayne Jackson didn't do any worse than Demetriou.

It matters that the admin sees Victoria as the most important part of the competition, and it's even more important that they see us as part of Victorian footy. That's the important thing. I couldnt care whether I like Demetriou as a bloke or not. I'm not relying on him to be an important member of my social circle, I'm just want him to broadly share my football values and to give us a chance to get our head above water and a little bit ahead for once.

Jackson was a destuctive dillentante who didnt care one bit for Victorian football and had nothing but contempt for smaller Victorian clubs(that included/s us BTW) and did everything in his power to get rid of us. I dont see any comparison at all.

Chops
04-02-2008, 07:34 AM
I really dont care what others think/say about us being propped up. I'm confident enough in my understanding of the situation to know better.
When those others include the AFL themselves (line used by Demetriou on North during the Gold Coast saga) its not a great thing.

04-02-2008, 09:34 AM
When those others include the AFL themselves (line used by Demetriou on North during the Gold Coast saga) its not a great thing.

That was bullshit politics and it should have been and was dealt with well at the time.

04-02-2008, 03:05 PM
I’m a little confused on why Parmigan Singh suspension was reduced to 50% of match fee. As usual the ICC seem to be appeasing the subcontinent as it’s where the money is.
I recall the Darren Lehmann incident saying black c... with the Sri Lankans hearing after being run out. Immediately knew he was stupid, apologies in person and in writing. Sri Lankans understand and ask for leniency. Match ref Clive Lloyd gives a reprimand. Then Speed/ICC butt in and no 5 matches for you Mr Lehmann.
Precident set or not?
To me it says that if you’re Indian you can't be racist.

FWIW I'm still not convinced Harbhajan called Symonds a Monkey.

However this simply isn't the issue at hand anymore. The ICC fouled up their handling of this from the minute Mike Procter's hearing concluded.

They should've told India to go and jump when they wanted Steve Bucknor removed.

They should've informed the appeal judge that Harbhajan was serving a suspended sentence.

They should have applauded Australia and Sri Lanka, and the manner in which they handled the Lehmann situation, rather than overruling and hanging Lehmann out to dry.

The ICC is a basketcase. It either needs to be completely overhauled or replaced completely. They are gutless and inept.

04-02-2008, 03:43 PM
FWIW I'm still not convinced Harbhajan called Symonds a Monkey.

First he said he didn't say it, then he said that he said a similar word in his native tongue. Why wouldn't he didn't say that before the original hearing.

04-02-2008, 04:22 PM
First he said he didn't say it, then he said that he said a similar word in his native tongue. Why wouldn't he didn't say that before the original hearing.
Michael Clarke's evidence was that he'd heard "something, something, something ... big monkey". You tell me he was speaking English.

04-02-2008, 04:26 PM
Michael Clarke's evidence was that he'd heard "something, something, something ... big monkey". You tell me he was speaking English.

I'm saying something is wrong when he can't say what he said before they threaten to pull out of the tour. It doesn't surprise me if he didn't really hear the words before big monkey as (understandably) their English is crap.

04-02-2008, 04:28 PM
I'm saying something is wrong when he can't say what he said before they threaten to pull out of the tour. It doesn't surprise me if he didn't really hear the words before big monkey as (understandably) their English is crap.

Its also their second language.

Our players don't sledge in Hindi, Afrikaaner, Arabic, Tamil, or Maori, why should it be assumed he was speaking English?

04-02-2008, 05:24 PM
Its also their second language.

Our players don't sledge in Hindi, Afrikaaner, Arabic, Tamil, or Maori, why should it be assumed he was speaking English?

I suspected as much but that doesn't mean you can hear them that well. Did you see Channel 9 struggle with Sehwag in the 20/20.

Once again if he wasn't speaking English he had plenty of time to state that at the first hearing.

04-02-2008, 05:28 PM
I suspected as much but that doesn't mean you can hear them that well. Did you see Channel 9 struggle with Sehwag in the 20/20.

Once again if he wasn't speaking English he had plenty of time to state that at the first hearing.

But is the story really that implausible. It seems to be a case of "the Aussie players said that he said it, so he must have said it."

This reminds me of a story in Allan Border's autobiography, where after receiving a particularly nasty bounce from a West Indian quick (Joel Garner IIRC) he looked down the pitch and said "Oh you big bastard"

The next morning while Border was warming up, Garner tapped him on the shoulder and asked why he'd called him a Black Bastard the night before. They cleared up the situation, shook hands at the end of the innings, and that was it.

This is when both men were speaking english, and still there was confusion.

04-02-2008, 05:46 PM
But is the story really that implausible. It seems to be a case of "the Aussie players said that he said it, so he must have said it."

This reminds me of a story in Allan Border's autobiography, where after receiving a particularly nasty bounce from a West Indian quick (Joel Garner IIRC) he looked down the pitch and said "Oh you big bastard"

The next morning while Border was warming up, Garner tapped him on the shoulder and asked why he'd called him a Black Bastard the night before. They cleared up the situation, shook hands at the end of the innings, and that was it.

This is when both men were speaking english, and still there was confusion.

I just don't understand why he would wait so long to say it was a misunderstanding. While it is possible, his original defense was how we would all lie, cheat, ect, ect to incriminate him

04-02-2008, 05:52 PM
I am a strong believer that Harby called Symonds exactly what Symonds thought he did.
When Hayden challenged him Harby's first response was to say that Symonds has started it and provoked me. As far as I am concerned that was an admission because Harby would never have responded if he had just sworn at Symonds. He knew he crossed the line and initially was trying to justify it.

They got away with by playing a game of brinkmanship but won't be as lucky if it happens again.

04-02-2008, 07:03 PM
They got away with by playing a game of brinkmanship but won't be as lucky if it happens again.

They will. A similar thing happened when Tendulkar was involved in ball tampering. There is no justice. This is where Soccer is lucky. So many countries that need FIFA more than FIFA needs them

05-02-2008, 01:12 PM
They will. A similar thing happened when Tendulkar was involved in ball tampering. There is no justice. This is where Soccer is lucky. So many countries that need FIFA more than FIFA needs them

When you have such a small number of countries playing that's always going to happen.

The ICC needs to start acting like the organisation that runs cricket, rather than the one that facilitates it.