View Full Version : What sport can't you cop?
17-02-2008, 08:50 PM
What sport, no matter how often you watch it, you just struggle to understand or enjoy it?
For whatever reason rugby is like that for me. I can watch league & often attend Melbourne Storm games, but no matter how often I watch union it just seems like guys catch the ball, the kick it out, resulting in a line out.
Play goes on then all of a sudden the ref waves his arm signifying a penalty. Just seems whoever kicks more penalty goals wins.
I also struggle understanding the rules in hockey. Too stop start for me.
Soccer.
Bunch of diving, sooking, pathetic, overpaid nancy boys.
And the supposedly best competitions in the world (England, Spain, Italy) have been destroyed by the lack of clubs with the financial resources to actually win the competition.
I did enjoy the hysteria over the most recent world cup though. 1 win, 1 draw, 2 losses. Wow - what a fantastic achievement. In no other sport could an Australian team win 25% of their games and be considered a success...
minson27
17-02-2008, 09:33 PM
Yeah gotta agree with that, cant stand the game, only really take an interest in it if the aussies are playing, i did watch the world cup( was sick at the time, so i slept during the day and watched the soccer at night) and just wanted the aussies to win every game.
I think the rules are pretty simple as well, dont touch the ball with your hands unless your the keeper, and if the balls in play and it comes near you, jsut fall to the ground and roll around on the ground like a looney and you'll get a free kick.
Sophie
17-02-2008, 09:45 PM
Golf.
Watching it is like watching paint dry.
And I can never see the ball! I think i'm the only one, but argh!
17-02-2008, 10:11 PM
Golf.
Here Here!
18-02-2008, 06:25 AM
Golf.
I'm with you as well.
18-02-2008, 07:04 AM
Horse Racing.
Aside from the ridiculous palaver that goes on around spring racing carnival. Anorexic girls in flimsy skirts, footballers dressed in suits and slip on shoes being obnoxious arseholes in nice clothes for a change, take the gambling away from it and what have you got? Tiny men riding around on horses in circles. Why not monkeys on camels or overwieght transvestites on elephants? And I just love the talk about the guts and determination and competetive instincts of the horses. Or maybe they just like running sometimes, just like they like being fed and running around in a paddock. You'd probably run fast too if someone was sitting on your back whipping the crap out of you. Not to mention what happens to the not very good horses.
And next I'll talk about motor racing especially Formula 1. Now you want a sport where the most money wins?...............
18-02-2008, 08:09 AM
Basketball. Just cant hack it.
No real skill required to play, no depth (You can kick a footy any number of ways-How many ways can you can throw a basketball) and a lot of fairly dodgy participants. Just dont like it.
Chops
18-02-2008, 09:31 AM
Most American sports. Basketball, Grid Iron, Baseball, etc.
Add golf and tennis.
I so want to reply to MJP's tirade on a game I love but will refrain.:)
18-02-2008, 09:35 AM
Basketball for me as well. It's boring.
7ft tall guys dropping a ball in a hoop they can reach while standing on the ground. AND THE CROWD GOES WILD!!!! Why?
I don't understand rugby, either. I tried to watch the world cup but just couldn't get the rules. The ref blows his whistle and everyone stops waiting for his decision, no-one knows what the decision will be and the commentators can't explain it because they don't know either!
18-02-2008, 09:49 AM
I don't understand rugby, either. I tried to watch the world cup but just couldn't get the rules. The ref blows his whistle and everyone stops waiting for his decision, no-one knows what the decision will be and the commentators can't explain it because they don't know either!
Still cant believe you willfully ignored that Wallabies test against Wales on the Canberra trip last year. One of the great sporting escapes of all time and you were watching a different screen!
18-02-2008, 09:56 AM
Still cant believe you willfully ignored that Wallabies test against Wales on the Canberra trip last year. One of the great sporting escapes of all time and you were watching a different screen!
Did we win?
18-02-2008, 10:00 AM
Did we win?
Yeah that fella in the green and gold that run over a try with the siren already gone was an Australian player. The fellas lying on the ground doing the Rohan Smith (Circa 1997) impersonations were the Welsh.
What a great game it was!
18-02-2008, 10:08 AM
Yeah that fella in the green and gold that run over a try with the siren already gone was an Australian player. The fellas lying on the ground doing the Rohan Smith (Circa 1997) impersonations were the Welsh.
What a great game it was!
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie. Oi, oi, oi.
18-02-2008, 10:16 AM
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie. Oi, oi, oi.
That should be our national anthem.
18-02-2008, 10:19 AM
Not a big fan of Baseball or Rugby Union (live, it's OK on TV)
I for one could watch golf all day (and I do) - As a keen golfer I have a lot of respect for the shots the pro's can play.
18-02-2008, 10:28 AM
I for one could watch golf all day (and I do) - As a keen golfer I have a lot of respect for the shots the pro's can play.
Great game to play but I just cant handle watching it on TV. Golf commentaters(with tennis commentaters) are comfortably the worst/most boring people commentating on sport in the world. Kevin Bartlett also has to drop the idea that anyone talking about golf for hours on end (even if it is Rohan Dummet, Australias 55th best golf coach) is part of a good sporting show. If I am listening to Jon Faine on 774ABC over Bartlett's sporting show on SEN, then Bartlett is failing spectacularly, because I love sport.
Add golf and tennis.
I so want to reply to MJP's tirade on a game I love but will refrain.:)
When you do respond, can you please make sure you type whilst rolling around on your back grabbing your leg...no need for any reason to do so...just roll around randomly and moan loudly...whilst looking around expectantly for some bloke with a whistle.
Then, just as you get up and move towards your keyboard, turn and run in the opposite direction (whilst holding your arm up to signal off-side). Of course, you need to also encourage anyone else in the office to run away from their keyboards at the same time...and if someone sneaks past and types a message on your behalf, go and remonstrate with said bloke with a whistle and make sure he understands that just because you didn't actually try to stop the goal, doesn't mean he shouldn't bring the full weight of the 'offside rule' down on the one bloke trying to make the play.
And since you are no doubt an Australian supporter, write '1-0' (some other non-specific country = 1) on a score-sheet somewhere and add some notes to your post about said countries wonderful 'history' in the game...even if that country has never won anything ever, either. (Or in the case of Uraguay haven't won anything for > 50 years - surely outside the statute of a wonderful 'football nation'.)
C'mon. Respond. Respond.
At lunch time, I am going out to the carpark to let down the tyres of any car with an English soccer club sticker on the back window...you have got to have goals.
18-02-2008, 10:32 AM
That should be our national anthem.
Then we could shoot anyone who sings it.
18-02-2008, 10:55 AM
When you do respond, can you please make sure you type whilst rolling around on your back grabbing your leg...no need for any reason to do so...just roll around randomly and moan loudly...whilst looking around expectantly for some bloke with a whistle.
Then, just as you get up and move towards your keyboard, turn and run in the opposite direction (whilst holding your arm up to signal off-side). Of course, you need to also encourage anyone else in the office to run away from their keyboards at the same time...and if someone sneaks past and types a message on your behalf, go and remonstrate with said bloke with a whistle and make sure he understands that just because you didn't actually try to stop the goal, doesn't mean he shouldn't bring the full weight of the 'offside rule' down on the one bloke trying to make the play.
And since you are no doubt an Australian supporter, write '1-0' (some other non-specific country = 1) on a score-sheet somewhere and add some notes to your post about said countries wonderful 'history' in the game...even if that country has never won anything ever, either. (Or in the case of Uraguay haven't won anything for > 50 years - surely outside the statute of a wonderful 'football nation'.)
C'mon. Respond. Respond.
At lunch time, I am going out to the carpark to let down the tyres of any car with an English soccer club sticker on the back window...you have got to have goals.
From this morning's Herald Sun:
"Veteran goalkeeper Zeljko Kalac is enjoying a good run in the AC Milan first team in Serie A.
Kalac kept a clean sheet in the 0-0 draw at Parma as legendary defender Paolo Maldini, 39, played his 1000th game for the Rossoneri.
Kalac's rival, displaced No. 1 keeper Dida, was carried away on a stretcher after suffering a back problem while sitting on the bench. "
Made me laugh. That's worse than Brad Hodge throwing out his back putting on his pants.
Chops
18-02-2008, 11:04 AM
C'mon. Respond. Respond.
You know I love that bait but not on this thread.
18-02-2008, 12:39 PM
.:)
Agree, American sports are so boring to watch.
One thing thou, I think playing a sport is different than watching.
18-02-2008, 03:37 PM
Agree, American sports are so boring to watch.
One thing thou, I think playing a sport is different than watching.
Not !!!!NFL!!!! Love it. Easier to follow after playing Madden NFL.
18-02-2008, 03:39 PM
Not !!!!NFL!!!! Love it. Easier to follow after playing Madden NFL.
Simon or Justin?
18-02-2008, 03:44 PM
Simon or Justin?
Their cousin John
18-02-2008, 03:46 PM
Their cousin John
Dont remember him.
Which club did he play for?
18-02-2008, 04:05 PM
Dont remember him.
Which club did he play for?
Philadelphia Eagles
18-02-2008, 04:28 PM
Philadelphia Eagles
Is that where West Coast got their team from?
18-02-2008, 04:40 PM
Is that where West Coast got their team from?
Well Kerr might have a spiritual link with T.O.
TO? How so?
Kerr has done some ordinary things, but has never been accused of being the cancer that Owens has (particularly during season 2 in Philly - mind you, what have they done since he left?). Likewise, Owens has some issues, but seem to be more related to some kind of bipolar disorder than anything Daniel Kerr has done.
If Kerr has an NFL equivalent, it might be someone like Shawne Merriman from the Chargers - prescription drugs, bar brawls and (in Merrimans case) suspension for steroid use. Oh yeah - and both are close to the best players at their position in the game.
By the way 2D's, in defense of West Coast, the Wedge-tailed Eagle is the bird emblem of WA and there are 1000's of the things on the Nullarbor. I will rarely defend them, but on this point I will.
18-02-2008, 04:59 PM
TO? How so?
Kerr has done some ordinary things, but has never been accused of being the cancer that Owens has (particularly during season 2 in Philly - mind you, what have they done since he left?). Likewise, Owens has some issues, but seem to be more related to some kind of bipolar disorder than anything Daniel Kerr has done.
If Kerr has an NFL equivalent, it might be someone like Shawne Merriman from the Chargers - prescription drugs, bar brawls and (in Merrimans case) suspension for steroid use. Oh yeah - and both are close to the best players at their position in the game.
By the way 2D's, in defense of West Coast, the Wedge-tailed Eagle is the bird emblem of WA and there are 1000's of the things on the Nullarbor. I will rarely defend them, but on this point I will.
Calm down. Just 2 players widely considered to be dickheads.
Who's upset? I just didn't understand the similarity between them and I still don't, hence I tried to give you a better example.
18-02-2008, 07:00 PM
Who's upset? I just didn't understand the similarity between them and I still don't, hence I tried to give you a better example.
Hey, ok fair enough (i always think people are angry on the internet). Just controversial characters. It wasn't serious and not really though about too hard.
23-02-2008, 01:18 PM
What sport, no matter how often you watch it, you just struggle to understand or enjoy it?
For whatever reason rugby is like that for me. I can watch league & often attend Melbourne Storm games, but no matter how often I watch union it just seems like guys catch the ball, the kick it out, resulting in a line out.
Play goes on then all of a sudden the ref waves his arm signifying a penalty. Just seems whoever kicks more penalty goals wins.
I also struggle understanding the rules in hockey. Too stop start for me.
7ft tall guys dropping a ball in a hoop they can reach while standing on the ground. AND THE CROWD GOES WILD!!!! Why?
I'll have to sit down with you boys for a Super 12 match and do my best to explain it.
Some rugby commentators are out and out tools. The clowns that did the 7's at the Comm Games had absolutely no knowledge of the game whatsoever. The ref blew his whistle at one point, the commentator said "oh, what's he on about now?". He was signalling a substitution.:rolleyes: WATCH THE BLOODY GAME YOU FLOG!!
Horse Racing.
Aside from the ridiculous palaver that goes on around spring racing carnival. Anorexic girls in flimsy skirts, footballers dressed in suits and slip on shoes being obnoxious arseholes in nice clothes for a change, take the gambling away from it and what have you got? Tiny men riding around on horses in circles. Why not monkeys on camels or overwieght transvestites on elephants? And I just love the talk about the guts and determination and competetive instincts of the horses. Or maybe they just like running sometimes, just like they like being fed and running around in a paddock. You'd probably run fast too if someone was sitting on your back whipping the crap out of you. Not to mention what happens to the not very good horses.
And next I'll talk about motor racing especially Formula 1. Now you want a sport where the most money wins?...............
For me its Harness racing. Its slow, predictable, mired by corruption, and mind-numbingly boring.
23-02-2008, 01:56 PM
I'll have to sit down with you boys for a Super 12 match and do my best to explain it.
Some rugby commentators are out and out tools. The clowns that did the 7's at the Comm Games had absolutely no knowledge of the game whatsoever. The ref blew his whistle at one point, the commentator said "oh, what's he on about now?". He was signalling a substitution.:rolleyes: WATCH THE BLOODY GAME YOU FLOG!!
In that tournament one of the commentaters got Lote Tuqiri and Lourdi Toukey(the female diver mixed up and had Lourdi playing for the Wallabies.:rolleyes:
23-02-2008, 03:44 PM
In that tournament one of the commentaters got Lote Tuqiri and Lourdi Toukey(the female diver mixed up and had Lourdi playing for the Wallabies.:rolleyes:
You mean Lourdie Wiggins. ;) She is married to Simon Wiggins (brother of Pat)
24-02-2008, 01:02 AM
Oh dear God say it isn't so.:(
That's downright pitiful.
Its a shame because I went and watched the 7s and it was a fantastic night out.
I think people new to rugby would really enjoy 7's. Not only is it fast paced and over in a matter of minutes, there's less kicking, less lineouts, less rucks and mauls (those are when the forwards pile on top of or around the ball in order to try and get the game going again) and less penalties. And when there are penalties, rather than a shot on goal its generally a tap-and-go.
EDIT: GVGjr, at the time she was still Loudy Tourkey.
24-02-2008, 09:46 AM
Oh dear God say it isn't so.:(
That's downright pitiful.
Its a shame because I went and watched the 7s and it was a fantastic night out.
I think people new to rugby would really enjoy 7's. Not only is it fast paced and over in a matter of minutes, there's less kicking, less lineouts, less rucks and mauls (those are when the forwards pile on top of or around the ball in order to try and get the game going again) and less penalties. And when there are penalties, rather than a shot on goal its generally a tap-and-go.
EDIT: GVGjr, at the time she was still Loudy Tourkey.
Yep. 7s is a great form of the game.
24-02-2008, 11:20 AM
Yep. 7s is a great form of the game.
Glad you agree.
I'm filthy that Adelaide hosts the Australian leg of the World 7s. I'd take the weekend off work if it was in Melbourne.
Dog Pound
24-02-2008, 11:43 AM
Waterpolo.
Griffen#16
24-02-2008, 11:51 AM
Rugby, although when it's an exciting game I can get into it. Soccer for the most part, but again, it can be exciting.
I was never really a big NFL fan, but the latest Super Bowl was great. Basketball I used to play, and hence don't mind it as a viewing sport. I used to love watching the NBA when I was younger.
Yatch racing?
24-02-2008, 12:08 PM
Rugby, although when it's an exciting game I can get into it. Soccer for the most part, but again, it can be exciting.
I was never really a big NFL fan, but the latest Super Bowl was great. Basketball I used to play, and hence don't mind it as a viewing sport. I used to love watching the NBA when I was younger.
Yatch racing?
Sydney to Hobart is boring as bat droppings, but I used to enjoy it when they showed the 18' skiffs during lunch at the cricket.
Griffen#16
24-02-2008, 02:36 PM
Sydney to Hobart is boring as bat droppings, but I used to enjoy it when they showed the 18' skiffs during lunch at the cricket.
Agreed, was always worth a look back when they were doing that.
24-02-2008, 02:57 PM
Golf is a sport i cant stand to watch. I can appreciate the skill of all sportspeople, but could never watch golf.
25-02-2008, 05:09 AM
Golf.
No....golf is a great game to watch when ur hungover and lying on the couch!
26-02-2008, 01:21 PM
Waterpolo.
I liken waterpolo to rugby at times, in that you never know what a person has been penalised for. The amount of pushing, shoving and grabbing that goes on under the water, how the officials pick infringements out is beyond me.
My dad used to play waterpolo when he lived in Malta. It is one of the most physically demanding games on the planet.
26-02-2008, 01:31 PM
Waterpolo.
You've never watched women playing waterpolo have you?
http://cache.viewimages.com/xc/1049745.jpg?v=1&c=ViewImages&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CC300C081D9F47003A9EA0888802746D FDC92A4F4A55379CE30A760B0D811297
Not the best picture but that's Joanne Fox, mega-babe, gold medal winner at Sydney and Footscray girl.
26-02-2008, 03:14 PM
You've never watched women playing waterpolo have you?
http://cache.viewimages.com/xc/1049745.jpg?v=1&c=ViewImages&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193CC300C081D9F47003A9EA0888802746D FDC92A4F4A55379CE30A760B0D811297
Not the best picture but that's Joanne Fox, mega-babe, gold medal winner at Sydney and Footscray girl.
IIRC former Australian Goalkeeper Liz Weekes was named sexiest sportswoman of the year in 2000.
H3rmit
17-03-2008, 04:34 PM
Not a big fan of Baseball or Rugby Union (live, it's OK on TV)
Whatever praise you come up with about golf,I still argue that GOLF IS NON-COMPETITIVE SPORT. only you touch your ball so there is no one to compete against.
my description of Golf is,a good walk spoilt.
H3rmit
17-03-2008, 04:44 PM
Sports that I have seen to be uninteresting and,generally boring,for various reasons are,
Horse Racing:
Wrestling:
Synchronised Swimming:
Curling:
Baseball:
Basketball::
American Football
Ice Hockey:
Synchronised Diving:
17-03-2008, 04:45 PM
Whatever praise you come up with about golf,I still argue that GOLF IS NON-COMPETITIVE SPORT. only you touch your ball so there is no one to compete against.
Do you not compete with other players?
It's a non-contact sport but it's certainly competitive. You do have to fight a fair bit with yourself to hold your nerve but ultimately it's about beating someone else.
Match play is fantastic to watch but doesn't suit TV very well.
17-03-2008, 10:04 PM
The most mentally challenging sport on the planet.
Is it any wonder that this sports most mentally tough individual is also the world's best sportsperson.
18-03-2008, 12:35 PM
Do you not compete with other players?
It's a non-contact sport but it's certainly competitive. You do have to fight a fair bit with yourself to hold your nerve but ultimately it's about beating someone else.
Match play is fantastic to watch but doesn't suit TV very well.
Not only that, but you're making contact with a ball about an inch in diameter, with a club head that's about 1.5inch X 3Inch, around a 14 foot swing circumference, all at high speed.
Fair bit of skill required in my book.
18-03-2008, 12:46 PM
The most mentally challenging sport on the planet.
Is it any wonder that this sports most most mentally tough individual is also the world's best sportsperson.
Yes I watched the last few holes yesterday, where Tiger was neck and neck with Bryant. The last hole was a ripper and your right the mental toughness shown was unbelievable.
Tigers second shot at the green was almost perfect, givenj the fact where the pin was placed and the narrow green surronded by bunkers and water to the right. Then he putted a long long put to take the match. His concentration was so good, he must just block out everything.
18-03-2008, 01:20 PM
Yes I watched the last few holes yesterday, where Tiger was neck and neck with Bryant. The last hole was a ripper and your right the mental toughness shown was unbelievable.
Tigers second shot at the green was almost perfect, givenj the fact where the pin was placed and the narrow green surronded by bunkers and water to the right. Then he putted a long long put to take the match. His concentration was so good, he must just block out everything.
Watched the replay last night. Tiger is a freak, his ability to execute under pressure is amazing.
It came down an almost matchplay situation, although the 2 leaders were playing in seperate groups. As SS posted match play golf is the purest form of golf, and also the best. I am lucky enough to represent my club in pennant and pressure you feel is extreme. Having to deal with this pressure in tense situations is bloody hard and something you never really get used to.
18-03-2008, 01:38 PM
At the risk of acknowledging this as a sport (which it most clearly isn't): Curling.
FFS you can win an Olympic Gold medal for this! And what do you do? Sweep!
I know it is "big" in canada. Did these crazy Canucks cop a dose of dodgy maple syrup at some stage? I fully appreciate the efforts of people who clean for a living, but an Olympic sport? Only Mary Poppins and her chim-chimminy friends could possibly agree to this farce.
18-03-2008, 01:39 PM
Horse Racing.
Quality post :)
katemeehan
18-03-2008, 07:17 PM
GOLF
My whole family is obsessed and says its actually a really exciting game to watch...I just cant see it.
Most unenjoybale sport to watch
muttley3028
18-03-2008, 07:56 PM
Chess how it is classified as a sport I will never know.
18-03-2008, 08:00 PM
Chess how it is classified as a sport I will never know.
Is it? I thought more board game
26-12-2008, 08:33 AM
Sydney to Hobart is boring as bat droppings
Seeing as it's Boxing Day & this is on, probably a good time to agree with you on this WD54.
26-12-2008, 08:51 AM
Isn't it a bit like watching Bathurst?
The start and finish can be interesting but the stuff in between very boring
I can't stand any of the motor sports and the Sydney to Hobart is about on par with that.
26-12-2008, 11:01 AM
Seeing as it's Boxing Day & this is on, probably a good time to agree with you on this WD54.
Having said that though, its probably not so boring for the blokes out on the water, especially the privateers. I've seen video of a Navy Frigate being tossed around in Bass Strait, so god help a 20ft Fibreglass Yacht.
Coverage wise, boring, but geez I'd love to be a crew member one day, just to say that I did it.
26-12-2008, 11:09 AM
Soccer - so boring, the fans chant & carry on during the game having to play with flairs, they have to do that to get excited with maybe 1 goal per game, players fall over and roll around like 7 year old girls, pathetic crap! - SOFT! [at least Rugby isn't soft!!!]
Rugby - a sport that players get their noses up other players behinds isn't something i particulary interested in, seems like a sport for dumb people, bash & crash & bash & crash & bash & crash...repeat to fade, required to have a neck the size of King Kong Bundy's waist line, no thinking required.
Golf - Whilst it's a game that would be fun to play, just can't cop it on tv, plus its a sport that your not required to be an elite athlete - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Daly_(golfer)
Motor racing - you might as well sit on the curb and watch traffic go past, would be fun to participate in, but again, can't cop it on the box.
The bait has been thrown out, now waiting for a few bites! :p
jaxson42
28-12-2008, 02:55 PM
Any form of Motor Racing. :mad: It's not a sport. It's a hobby or a past time. :)
Agreed. Absolute fodder.
HAB54
29-12-2008, 11:55 AM
Basketball: I have never been able to find it interesting
Soccer: low scoring, boring and filled with people pretending to be hurt.
Rugby: Just a bunch of guys tackling each other for 90 minutes and somtimes running over a line.
Golf: I love playing it but, watching it feels like cruel and unusual punishment.
29-12-2008, 08:19 PM
Union takes a little getting used to and honestly its about the only game I've been to where they hand out a receiver so the crown can tune into the Ref's frequency to understand what decision has been paid......
I like it though as a game, much better than League mainly because line-outs and kicking to touch aside it is a constantly moving game. The best games are where teams run the ball and try to score tries rather than draw a foul and win on penalties. Unlike League where you have to turn theball over after 5 attempts, in union you can have any number of phases and until you foul or turnover the ball you are in possession.
Sports I detest.......grid iron (though the grid iron movies are pretty good), baseball, ice hockey (aside from the fights).
30-12-2008, 10:07 AM
Union takes a little getting used to and honestly its about the only game I've been to where they hand out a receiver so the crown can tune into the Ref's frequency to understand what decision has been paid......
I like it though as a game, much better than League mainly because line-outs and kicking to touch aside it is a constantly moving game. The best games are where teams run the ball and try to score tries rather than draw a foul and win on penalties. Unlike League where you have to turn theball over after 5 attempts, in union you can have any number of phases and until you foul or turnover the ball you are in possession.
Only Yorkshiemen and other shifty Northeners do that sort of thing.
The Hill Show
18-06-2009, 06:42 PM
Soccer is incredibly boring. Last night reaffirmed that for me. I can't see what the hype's about. It's too low scoring/attacking for my tastes. From what I've seen they kick it around for a few minutes trying to maintain possession (in many ways similar to where AFL is heading in some aspects). The opposition then either then kicks it out of bounds so the process can be repeated or a player takes some shot that either gets easily stopped by the goalkeeper or is nowhere near the goals. Frustrates me. Does that sound about right or do I just watch the bad games?
Magic Griffen
19-06-2009, 01:42 PM
Golf.
I so agree with this - golf and also tennis for me. Boring, boring, boring! Don't understand American gridiron, so that is boring too :D I found that once I understood some of the rules with rugby, both league and union, I enjoyed the game more. I think it is a great game - no resting on the forward line for those guys - there is nowhere to hide on a rugby union pitch!
19-06-2009, 03:10 PM
Golf - Whilst it's a game that would be fun to play, just can't cop it on tv, plus its a sport that your not required to be an elite athlete - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Daly_(golfer)
How do you measure if someone is an elite athlete?
Just by their body shape?
19-06-2009, 03:20 PM
You get very defensive when golf is criticised, don't you? :D
19-06-2009, 04:25 PM
I once saw a skins game involving Craig "The Walrus" Stadler.
Walking down the fairway with a cigar in one hand and a stubby (seriously!) in the other, he faced the camera (with his big, fat guts about a foot closer to it than his nose) and said "I'm a pro-fessional athlete, I am".
I doubt anyone would accuse Tiger of being anything other than an elite athlete.
19-06-2009, 11:54 PM
Can't stand soccer... 80 minutes of running around NOT kicking goals? And they get paid zillions to do it! Never been able to see the appeal. Had a 'debate' with a fella at work yesterday about this, he asked about that World Cup match (I didn't watch it) Just struggle to see what is so exciting about blokes repeatedly failing to score - the only one I see with any skill is the keeper.
Not a big fan of cricket either....any sport that takes a day or more to complete is far too long IMO...
Golf... curling...any 'sport' involving horses... which is only a sport for the horse...
On Facebook I have a group "Silly Sports of The World"....join me in my quest to alert the world to the dangers of silly sports!
20-06-2009, 01:27 AM
Can't stand soccer... 80 minutes of running around NOT kicking goals? And they get paid zillions to do it! Never been able to see the appeal. Had a 'debate' with a fella at work yesterday about this, he asked about that World Cup match (I didn't watch it) Just struggle to see what is so exciting about blokes repeatedly failing to score - the only one I see with any skill is the keeper.
Not a big fan of cricket either....any sport that takes a day or more to complete is far too long IMO...
Golf... curling...any 'sport' involving horses... which is only a sport for the horse...
On Facebook I have a group "Silly Sports of The World"....join me in my quest to alert the world to the dangers of silly sports!
D you like anything. serious dose of gen Y here folks
20-06-2009, 07:55 AM
Rugby league for me. I can just never get into it. I actually dont mind Union, I find it more free flowing and with more scope for variety.
Baskeball is really hard to watch until the last 5 minutes. I have played for most of my life and really enjoy playing it but I dont enjoy watching it as much anymore. Twodogs I have to disagree regarding the skill involved in basketball. I had a 3 year break from sport with injury and when I came back I could kick a footy fine, cut and drive a cricket ball fine but 5 years on I still cant shoot as well as I used to. Basketball takes more practice than any other sport I have played, to be really good at it anyway.
20/20 cricket is just awful
20-06-2009, 12:31 PM
I think elite is when someone is playing in first class for their sport. So in golf, if you can play at say Australian open level, you are elite. for example, in Cricket, state level, or even district level etc etc
20-06-2009, 06:44 PM
D you like anything. serious dose of gen Y here folks
Basketball... AFL (obviously)... used to like a bit of tennis. Strangely, I like to watch weightlifting (the heavy and super-heavyweights - big blokes lifting heavy objects!)...don't watch all that often, but ice hockey is exciting...
Sorry, but I have to dispel your "Gen-Y" theory... bit old for that I suspect... did a bit of research, and it seems Gen-Y describes people younger than 30... not me, I'm afraid... just don't like every sport that I see... nothing wrong with that...
Glove38
20-06-2009, 08:40 PM
Soccer.
Bunch of diving, sooking, pathetic, overpaid nancy boys.
And the supposedly best competitions in the world (England, Spain, Italy) have been destroyed by the lack of clubs with the financial resources to actually win the competition.
I did enjoy the hysteria over the most recent world cup though. 1 win, 1 draw, 2 losses. Wow - what a fantastic achievement. In no other sport could an Australian team win 25% of their games and be considered a success...
Johno does this every week.
Basketball: I have never been able to find it interesting
Soccer: low scoring, boring and filled with people pretending to be hurt.
Rugby: Just a bunch of guys tackling each other for 90 minutes and somtimes running over a line.
Golf: I love playing it but, watching it feels like cruel and unusual punishment.
Yeah, you never see that in AFL :rolleyes:
20-06-2009, 08:44 PM
Yeah, you never see that in AFL :rolleyes:
Not halfway through the match you don't.
Glove38
20-06-2009, 08:56 PM
Not halfway through the match you don't.
I remember either Wells or Thomas (not 100% who it was) dive and play for a free kick this year, at Telstra Dome against Hawthorn.
There was an attempted elbow to the face, and the player lay lying on the ground covering his face. He was waiting for a free kick, but advantage was paid & they kicked a goal.
And what happened after that, the North player bounced up onto his feet and ran off.
It happens every week in AFL, peoples criticism of soccer in this department is a joke.
20-06-2009, 08:58 PM
I remember either Wells or Thomas (not 100% who it was) dive and play for a free kick this year, at Telstra Dome against Hawthorn.
There was an attempted elbow to the face, and the player lay lying on the ground covering his face. He was waiting for a free kick, but advantage was paid & they kicked a goal.
And what happened after that, the North player bounced up onto his feet and ran off.
It happens every week in AFL, peoples criticism of soccer in this department is a joke.
Every sport sees players trying to get a free. Only in soccer do you see players pretending to be injured 20 minutes into a match to soak up time
Glove38
20-06-2009, 09:03 PM
Every sport sees players trying to get a free. Only in soccer do you see players pretending to be injured 20 minutes into a match to soak up time
20 minutes in or 70 minutes, doesn't matter.
It happens in AFL to, not just soccer.
Johno & Crossy are both divers, but some how people don't see it.
Funny that.
20-06-2009, 09:09 PM
Funny that.
Buh?
The fact of the matter is that diving in the AFL is insignificant, which is why little or no attention is paid to it.
In soccer, diving can have a huge impact on the game, seeing as it can result in a penalty, which usually means a score, something which seems to happen once or twice a season - ergo, the real reason why soccer is trash :)
Glove38
20-06-2009, 09:16 PM
Buh?
Crossy dives forward a lot, especially when trying to get clearances. He is by no means the only person in the AFL who does it, but he does do it.
The fact of the matter is that diving in the AFL is insignificant, which is why little or no attention is paid to it.
In soccer, diving can have a huge impact on the game, seeing as it can result in a penalty, which usually means a score, something which seems to happen once or twice a season - ergo, the real reason why soccer is trash :)
Ok, a game on level scores and deep into a GF 4th quarter, player is at ground level in his F50 for a disputed ball. He bends down to pick the ball up, feels someone behind them & dives forward for a free & gets it.
That isn't a huge impact?
20-06-2009, 09:19 PM
Crossy dives forward a lot, especially when trying to get clearances. He is by no means the only person in the AFL who does it, but he does do it.
I believe you that he does, I just haven't taken notice of it.
Ok, a game on level scores and deep into a GF 4th quarter, player is at ground level in his F50 for a disputed ball. He bends down to pick the ball up, feels someone behind them & dives forward for a free & gets it.
That isn't a huge impact?
Yes it would be a huge impact, but
a) that is an extremely unlikely set of circumstances
and
b) my main contention was not the diving that makes soccer awful, it was the boring nature of the game and lack of scoring.
20-06-2009, 09:20 PM
My least favourite sport is pissing contests. They're really boring.
Glove38
20-06-2009, 09:23 PM
I believe you that he does, I just haven't taken notice of it.
I think Lloyd was the first to bring in regular diving, from what i can remember anyway.
Yes it would be a huge impact, but
a) that is an extremely unlikely set of circumstances
and
b) my main contention was not the diving that makes soccer awful, it was the boring nature of the game and lack of scoring.
It probably is extreme, but i just can't accept the argument. It's just an easy way to slander soccer, without having to think a lot.
If someone doesn't like the sport for the low scoring & it being boring to them, then that's fair enough.
20-06-2009, 09:29 PM
Just a bit of debate... isn't that partly what these forums are for?
20-06-2009, 09:36 PM
Funny that.
No, you don't get my point.
As I said every sport has players try to get frees/penalties.
Only in soccer do you see teams fake injuries to waste time 20 minutes in.
The comparison of Crossy diving onto the ball in a positive attempt to win clearances and a soccer of AFL players searching for frees is laughable though. The only thread that links them is the word diving. The actions and intentions are completely different.
20-06-2009, 09:50 PM
Just a bit of debate... isn't that partly what these forums are for?
Absolutely but it wasn't exactly being argued at a debating school level. The whole soccer is crap, there's not enough scoring, they're all divers thing is as dull as a Powderfinger album.
There's superficial arguments can be made about the bad aspects of any sport (don't get me started on horse racing) but chances are if you're not interested in it you don't really understand it.
20-06-2009, 09:51 PM
Absolutely but it wasn't exactly being argued at a debating school level. The whole soccer is crap, there's not enough scoring, they're all divers thing is as dull as a Powderfinger album.
The thread is titled "What sport can't you cop?"
Glove38
20-06-2009, 09:54 PM
No, you don't get my point.
As I said every sport has players try to get frees/penalties.
Only in soccer do you see teams fake injuries to waste time 20 minutes in.
It's not an argument about time wasting though.
It's about people pretending to be hurt, re read the post i quoted. Doesn't matter what intentions they have, it is still acting hurt when you are not.
The comparison of Crossy diving onto the ball in a positive attempt to win clearances and a soccer of AFL players searching for frees is laughable though. The only thread that links them is the word diving. The actions and intentions are completely different.
Crossy dives in an attempt to win a free, players in the AFL now do it all the time. As soon as they feel presence behind them, they dive forward.
I was not saying he dives onto the ball to get a clearance.
20-06-2009, 09:55 PM
There's superficial arguments can be made about the bad aspects of any sport (don't get me started on horse racing) but chances are if you're not interested in it you don't really understand it.
I was just trying to show the understanding of why I'm not interested ;).
20-06-2009, 10:19 PM
It's not an argument about time wasting though.
It's about people pretending to be hurt, re read the post i quoted. Doesn't matter what intentions they have, it is still acting hurt when you are not.
It is because that's when AFL players act hurt. When there's 2 minutes left and they need to waste time. They may dive a bit to get a free but they get up again straight away
How often have you seen AFL players rolling on the ground, get stretchered off and come back on 20 seconds later? Because it's all I saw during some parts of the Asian Cup.
Crossy dives in an attempt to win a free, players in the AFL now do it all the time. As soon as they feel presence behind them, they dive forward.
I was not saying he dives onto the ball to get a clearance.
That's how I interpreted it.
I think we're on two completely different wavelengths.
Glove38
20-06-2009, 10:30 PM
It is because that's when AFL players act hurt. When there's 2 minutes left and they need to waste time. They may dive a bit to get a free but they get up again straight away
The example i gave, with the North Melbourne v Hawthorn game. Happened half way through the 2nd quarter, if i am not mistaken.
Diving is diving, you can sugar coat it to suit your argument all you like.
How often have you seen AFL players rolling on the ground, get stretchered off and come back on 20 seconds later? Because it's all I saw during some parts of the Asian Cup.
I still don't see the difference, a player is faking about being hurt. Whether he is stretched off or not, he is still on the ground trying to con a decision from refs & trying to delay the game.
The Asian Cup was very bad for it, i agree.
That's how I interpreted it.
I think we're on two completely different wavelengths.
What i meant was when he goes down for a clearance & he feels someone behind him, he will dive forward looking for a free kick.
Chops
21-06-2009, 09:39 AM
Soggy Biscuit?
NoName
21-06-2009, 09:52 AM
Boring as hell is how I describe Golf and Cricket, enough to put anyone to sleep.
21-06-2009, 01:12 PM
A very "relieving" sport though, drop a butt in a toilet bowl and everyone will be aiming for it.
21-06-2009, 02:49 PM
From this morning's Herald Sun:
"Veteran goalkeeper Zeljko Kalac is enjoying a good run in the AC Milan first team in Serie A.
Kalac kept a clean sheet in the 0-0 draw at Parma as legendary defender Paolo Maldini, 39, played his 1000th game for the Rossoneri.
Kalac's rival, displaced No. 1 keeper Dida, was carried away on a stretcher after suffering a back problem while sitting on the bench. "
Made me laugh. That's worse than Brad Hodge throwing out his back putting on his pants.
Didnt Jakovich do his back getting out of his car once? At least Dida made it to the bench!:D
21-06-2009, 03:01 PM
Flemming injured himself in bed while sleeping one night i believe.
21-06-2009, 03:07 PM
Any racing is boring, golf because you go out to relax but come back more frustrated than before you went.
Cricket as in the sense i have played it all my life and hate the fact i have missed so many Saturdays at the beach perving, and now would just look like an old perv.
Basketball what the .... is that? Only reason that sport gets any encouragement from me is using it to get my kids to throw their washing in the washing basket.
21-06-2009, 03:08 PM
Flemming injured himself in bed while sleeping one night i believe.
Ha ha groin injury was it?
Glove38
21-06-2009, 06:17 PM
I always laugh when thinking of the Doco 'Year of the Dogs', with Southo talking about his injuries and how he got them.
21-06-2009, 06:30 PM
Basketball what the .... is that? Only reason that sport gets any encouragement from me is using it to get my kids to throw their washing in the washing basket.
Basketball is fast paced, high action,high scoring, athletic...what more could you want?
21-06-2009, 08:55 PM
Basketball is fast paced, high action,high scoring, athletic...what more could you want?
Yet you have a laugh on the bench, you get ejected!!!! :eek:
21-06-2009, 09:06 PM
Balls (and not basketballs) and some decent hip and shoulders made legal.
21-06-2009, 09:11 PM
Something about 100x less boring.
I see no skill in a bloke 8 ft tall dropping a ball through a hoop 9 ft off the ground.
21-06-2009, 09:47 PM
Something about 100x less boring.
I see no skill in a bloke 8 ft tall dropping a ball through a hoop 9 ft off the ground.
Speaking as a little bloke, I can confirm it's not just a game for giants... and there are rules preventing them from just camping under the basket (which, by the way is ten feet from the floor)...surely you've seen blokes shooting 3 point baskets?
and the version I play (wheelchair basketball) has no such high-flying exploits, yet is one of the most popular spectator sports...
21-06-2009, 09:49 PM
Balls (and not basketballs) and some decent hip and shoulders made legal.
so every sport should have the same rules as footy?
21-06-2009, 09:51 PM
Yet you have a laugh on the bench, you get ejected!!!! :eek:
I've played since I was 11, at various levels (domestic, state, national) and never seen that happen... and if it did, well, as we all know, every sport has it's dubious officiating...
21-06-2009, 10:44 PM
I've played since I was 11, at various levels (domestic, state, national) and never seen that happen... and if it did, well, as we all know, every sport has it's dubious officiating...
It was one of the most bizarre calls from a ref i have ever seen, just mind boggling, the whole team should have just walked off court and protested, clearly the ref had a massive sook.
21-06-2009, 11:19 PM
It was one of the most bizarre calls from a ref i have ever seen, just mind boggling, the whole team should have just walked off court and protested, clearly the ref had a massive sook.
Yeah that's ordinary...I once heard a ref give a technical foul to a player for an "extreme reaction" - and yes, they were his exact words...
21-06-2009, 11:55 PM
so every sport should have the same rules as footy?
YEAHHHH! but i do like soccer:D
22-06-2009, 08:12 PM
Not a fan of basketball either, heaps of my mates love it but I cant get into it. I couldnt sit down and watch and entire game.
22-06-2009, 08:53 PM
Not a fan of basketball either, heaps of my mates love it but I cant get into it. I couldnt sit down and watch and entire game.
I can't stand it when 60 seconds of game time can take an hour to get through. Time outs are for wimps!
23-06-2009, 11:25 AM
I probably feel the same way, although i don't mind Basketball.
I used to goto South East Melb Magic games all those years ago when the NBL was rocking, the clashes between them & the Tigers who i absolutely can't stand [even now], i see them as the Collingwood of the NBL, but those clashes were just amazing, full houses at Rod Laver, 10,000 - 15,000 strong crowds.
HOWEVER, when the Magic went under, so did my real passion, i was also starting to take a keen interest in the NBA, i tried to get into the Vic Titans and the Dragons who have also just gone under!!!!
Now, i couldn't watch a full game.
Basketball in this country is a complete joke!
NoName
27-06-2009, 11:03 AM
Cricket and Golf - boring!
27-06-2009, 12:25 PM
Drama, variation, ball skills, interest, a point to it?
27-06-2009, 12:54 PM
Drama, variation, ball skills, interest, a point to it?
Drama - Scores tied, seconds on the clock, the ball in the defensive half and you need a score to win. Or, you're on the free throw line, down by a point and you have two shots.
variation - you get blokes who are 7 feet tall playing with blokes who are barely 6 feet, everyone has a different role to play.
ball skills - have you actually watched any top-level game?
interest - in the U.S they get more people to some college games than we get to some AFL games.
a point to it - um, not sure of your point here - but I'll humour you: the point is to score more points than the other team by full time (or overtime). Isn't that the point in all ball sports? I'd ask what's the point of playing for 90 minutes only to draw, and therefore have no result? No winner - And no point.
17-07-2009, 02:15 PM
All the more reason why i can't cop Thugby, the State Of Origin the other night, players going toe to toe [which is the most interesting part of the game btw:D], but to punch in the head and knock a player out cold, and cop ZERO WEEKS, plus a player kicking another player whilst onthe ground in the face, and cop ONE WEEK...laughable.
Lantern
17-07-2009, 02:44 PM
Drama - Scores tied, seconds on the clock, the ball in the defensive half and you need a score to win. Or, you're on the free throw line, down by a point and you have two shots.
variation - you get blokes who are 7 feet tall playing with blokes who are barely 6 feet, everyone has a different role to play.
ball skills - have you actually watched any top-level game?
interest - in the U.S they get more people to some college games than we get to some AFL games.
a point to it - um, not sure of your point here - but I'll humour you: the point is to score more points than the other team by full time (or overtime). Isn't that the point in all ball sports? I'd ask what's the point of playing for 90 minutes only to draw, and therefore have no result? No winner - And no point.
Let me play devils advocate. (I actually like basketball -- but this is fun..)
Drama - all the drama in basketball happens in the last 2 minutes. Why not just have 2 minute games?
Variation - look, variation in the NBA is like five white guys, one eight-foot chinese guy, twenty europeans, and four thousand and sixty three 6' 7" black guys.
Interest - sure they do, but there are 250 million people there, and only 20 million of us here. They get more people to a clambake than some AFL games (especially ones featuring Freo). Anyway, if attendance is the yardstick, then WWF Wrestling is one of the greatest sports in the world.
A point to it - winning isn't everything; in life, often stalemates or compromises are more compelling than a win-lose paradigm, and provides more colour and context to a situation than simple binary/black-and-white scenarios, and this also can be the case in sport. For example, some of the greatest games in sporting history have been draws in cricket. What could be more reflective of real life than toiling for 5 days like a madman and feeling strangely empty/flat at the end of it?
--
Look, while I thoroughly enjoy it, I do think that the NBA is quite monotonous in tone, which is why it is built on the back of a sprinkling of individual superstars -- you cannot have an NBA conversation for more than 5 minutes without the names Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Magic, Kareem, MJ etc. coming up, and I believe that this is because the overall sameness of everything (the other 20,000 players to have played in the NBA) provide the ideal backdrop to highlight that one crazy, standout talent, the artist amongst artisans, the genius amongst professionals. That's why the NBA's popularity rises and falls with the emergence of these hyper-stars, regardless of the overall quality of the rest of the league.
17-07-2009, 03:25 PM
--
Look, while I thoroughly enjoy it, I do think that the NBA is quite monotonous in tone, which is why it is built on the back of a sprinkling of individual superstars -- you cannot have an NBA conversation for more than 5 minutes without the names Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Magic, Kareem, MJ etc. coming up, and I believe that this is because the overall sameness of everything (the other 20,000 players to have played in the NBA) provide the ideal backdrop to highlight that one crazy, standout talent, the artist amongst artisans, the genius amongst professionals. That's why the NBA's popularity rises and falls with the emergence of these hyper-stars, regardless of the overall quality of the rest of the league.
That sums it up for me - monotonous.
I don't spend enough time watching it to know who this weeks superstar is, so I even miss that part of it.
To me it's just a bunch of big, black guys all doing the same thing over and over again.
EJ Smith
17-07-2009, 04:10 PM
It would be a much better game if they allowd the shirt-front especially when the guy is shooting.
Up he jumps and BANG!
17-07-2009, 05:15 PM
It would be a much better game if they allowd the shirt-front especially when the guy is shooting.
Up he jumps and BANG!
I got tech fouled for that once...
18-07-2009, 01:59 AM
I got tech fouled for that once...
On Tuesday night in a game, I whacked a bloke in the face (was going for his arm, but I'm a little bloke, and missed! He then threw the ball at the wall in anger, and HE got the tech!!!
18-07-2009, 02:01 AM
That sums it up for me - monotonous.
I don't spend enough time watching it to know who this weeks superstar is, so I even miss that part of it.
To me it's just a bunch of big, black guys all doing the same thing over and over again.
We could make that argument for any sport... soccer is hours and hours of nobody scoring.. tennis is hours and hours of "who can serve the most aces"... what on earth is golf all about? :)
18-07-2009, 02:31 AM
Let me play devils advocate. (I actually like basketball -- but this is fun..)
Drama - all the drama in basketball happens in the last 2 minutes. Why not just have 2 minute games?
Variation - look, variation in the NBA is like five white guys, one eight-foot chinese guy, twenty europeans, and four thousand and sixty three 6' 7" black guys.
Interest - sure they do, but there are 250 million people there, and only 20 million of us here. They get more people to a clambake than some AFL games (especially ones featuring Freo). Anyway, if attendance is the yardstick, then WWF Wrestling is one of the greatest sports in the world.
A point to it - winning isn't everything; in life, often stalemates or compromises are more compelling than a win-lose paradigm, and provides more colour and context to a situation than simple binary/black-and-white scenarios, and this also can be the case in sport. For example, some of the greatest games in sporting history have been draws in cricket. What could be more reflective of real life than toiling for 5 days like a madman and feeling strangely empty/flat at the end of it?
--
Here I was thinking this thread was dead! It was just hibernating... OK here goes...(nothing like a good sporting debate! :)
Any sport with a time clock could be said to contain all the drama in the last two minutes. A sport like soccer has 79 minutes of blokes kicking a ball everywhere except into the goals... and in a good game, someone might chance one.
Sure the NBA may feature a lot of players who are similar in physical appearance, but there are definite differences/variances... Shaquille O'Neal and LeBron James are both black, but VASTLY different players. Larry Bird and John Stockton are both white, but no way were they the same... and b'ball isn't just about the NBA, anyway (although here in Oz, the sport at the elite level is in a dodgy state!)
Attendance and participation rates surely are a good indicator of people's interest in the sport...in Australia, at the 'grass roots' level, b'ball is extremely popular...oh, and WWE is "sports-entertainment" (their own term!) and yes, very popular the world over...
Winning isn't everything?...No, it's the only thing. This one I just don't get. Having been involved in competitive sports since the age of 11, I really don't get the appeal of throwing oneself into a competition, only for the buzzer/siren/whistle to go, and there's no result. Has always left me flat, and wishing for extra time. In higher level competitions, this is what happens - you play overtime, and a winner is determined. And the thrill of actually having to earn a win in overtime makes the whole effort worthwhile. I just don't find a draw "compelling"- just disappointing. I want to see the better team on the day. The game starts with the scores tied, it should finish with one team the victor, and one the loser. I would hate to take part in any sport for 5 days, and have no result at the end. Would seem a waste of time, to me. Similarly, in life, when I work on a task (paid or otherwise), if at the "conclusion" of the task, there is no result, I'm disappointed. The result doesn't always go my way (as in sport) but there should at least be some result.
Not sure the NBA's popularity has fallen that much... sure, with the latest superstars, it goes through the roof... as it does in any sport. And of course there are a select few who become the fan favourites, and merchandise-movers... as in any sport. Kids go around wearing Adam Cooney's and Ryan Griffen's numbers on their back - I've not yet seen Wayde Skipper's guernsey worn by the masses :) (The poor bloke doesn't even get to wear it himself!)
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.