View Full Version : Interview with Rick Kennedy
24-04-2008, 12:35 PM
I hope to do a few more of these in due course so if anyone can point me in the direction of a former club great that would be very much appreciated.
TCD: Rick, thanks for being the first former player to be interviewed for WOOF. How old were you when you began playing football & who with?
RK: Thanks, I was 8 years old & started playing with the Police Boys Club in Traralgon.
How did you come to play at Footscray?
Footscray's recruiting zone was from the other side of Morwell to Lakes Entrance & they would often send scouts to watch us play. I'd had 4 years away from football & was playing for the Traralgon 3rds during my HSC. John Dodd was the scout who invited me to Footscray.
Who was the coach when you first arrived?
Don McKenzie.
How did you go when you first arrived?
I was injured a bit but managed to start in the U-19's & worked my way up to the reserves where I played 6 or 7 games in 1980.
Can you remember your first game & what number did you wear?
Yes I played on Tony 'Spud' Dullard of Melbourne at the Western Oval. We lost by a point when Robbie Flower drifted down & took a mark infront of goals with virtually the last kick of the day. I wore number 54.
Correct. Did you know you hold the record for the most games for the club in both number 8 (144) & number 54 (14)?
Laughs.
In your early days you were reported frequently (6 times in 6 seasons), do any stand out?
Most were just Mickey Mouse reports but at Waverley we were playing Geelong. Mick Egan was in the back pocket on Michael Turner. Turner kept hitting Pot Head (Egan) who kept saying, 'do it again & Kennedy's gonna kill you'.
He kept doing it so I let one rip, it only travelled 6 inches but it busted Turner's jaw. The umpire didn't see it but Turner's scream alerted him. The video just shows my elbow move slightly, but it was enough. Didn't have to be Einstein to work out what had happened as his jaw was wired. I got 4 weeks for that.
Were you proud to captain the club in 1986-88?
Yes, very much so.
You were also good enough to play for Victoria too.
Yes, just the once in 1986 against WA in Perth. Brian Peake pulled my pants down.
You kicked 34 goals in your career, do any stand out?
The 5 against Richmond at Waverley do, but there was one I kicked at the Western Oval that sticks in my mind. I can't recall who we were playing but I got the ball on the half back flack & got it up on to the wing & kept running, the ball came to me on the half forward flank & let fly towards the goals at the Geelong Road end. Straight through the middle!
Which game sticks in your mind?
The Gubby Allen kick across goal at the Western Oval against Collingwood. I can still see Jock (Jim Edmond) pointing out one or two things Gubby might have got wrong. Laughs.
Not the finals in 1985?
I try to forget that one.
No, the North Melbourne one the week before.
No, I really expected to win that one.
Who were some of the better players you played with?
* The Hawk (Doug Hawkins), just fantastic skills on both sides of the body.
* Wally (Steve Wallis), worked hard & hit hard too.
* Beaser (Simon Beasley), great full forward, very focused & tough too.
* Polly (Andrew Purser), for a 3 foot 2 inch ruckman he held his own!
What about some of the better players you played on?
* Tony Lockett, a monster, he was a man mountain who was quick over the first 10 metres.
* Jason Dunstall, great lead, quick off the mark & knew where the ball was going as he read the play so well.
* Bernie Quinlan, could hurt you anywhere from 80 metres out.
* Stephen Kernahan, worked so hard & contested for everything, never gave in.
Is it true you nearly left the club to play elsewhere?
Yes, I got the sack a few weeks before my senior debut so I applied for a clearence (Carlton or Collingwood). I had to front the match committee & said I wanted to be cleared but requested the club not ask for any money out of it as they had sacked me. I said I just wanted to play VFL footy. They then invited me back.
Towards the end of 1987 I was annoyed with the club over something. Actually it was a lack of communication & I was offered alot more money by North Melbourne but decided in the end I wated to be a one club player.
After you retired you were still involved with the club.
That's right, in 1982 I was the Chairman of Selectors & in 1997-98 I was on the board.
Do you still go to watch the Bulldogs?
Yes, tho not as much as I'd like due to my children's sporting commitments.
Do you still see any former team mates?
Yeah, I get along well with Murray Rance (he's now moved back to Victoria as his son is at Richmond), Simon Beasley, Steve Wallis & Michael Ford.
Where will we finish this year?
Tough one, 5th.
Do you take an intrest in who wears the number 8 jumper as it seems to have a bit of a reputation of going to players who were not necessarily the most skillful, but got the most out of themselves (Rick Kennedy, Bernard Toohey, Daniel Southern, Mitch Hahn).
Yeah, I do, tho I'm not too precious about who wears it.
Finally, what do you do thesedays?
I run a cashflow business.
Thank's Rick & I'll send you a link to WOOF.
You're welcome & I'll certainly have a look at WOOF.
http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/images/RKennedyFoot.jpg http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/images/MatthewsandKennedy.jpg
24-04-2008, 01:15 PM
How did you come to play at Footscray?
Footscray's recruiting zone was from the other side of Morwell to Lakes Entrance & they would often send scouts to watch us play. I'd had 4 years away from football & was playing for the Traralgon 3rds during my HSC. John Dodd was the scout who invited me to Footscray.
.[/B]
Very good read, thanks TCD. So that's why we got Templeton out of Traralgon....
24-04-2008, 01:16 PM
Like Rocket Science's preview, the journo work on WOOF is far superior to anything you read in the pair of rags that pass as newspapers in this town.
Good work TCD.
24-04-2008, 01:26 PM
Nice work TCD, anyone would think the sceptics on BF are right and you are working for the footy club :D. Interesting stuff about him nearly leaving, god imagine if he had of been at Collingwood....
This website thingy's turning out real professional like. Well done.
24-04-2008, 01:29 PM
Loved watching the bloke , i remember he had a muscle bulge on one of his legs, dont know if it was permanent or just an injury he sustained.
The fun was watching him and Lockett, never knew what would happen, i always wondered if they used to talk and have a laugh on the field knowing the crowd was waiting for a whack to happen.
24-04-2008, 02:54 PM
Rick Kennedy is & always will be my wife's favourite player. When we used to sit in the EJ Whitten stand Rick's children used to run up & down the steps & she thought Rick's son was gorgeous.
I remember reading an artilce by Plugger who said Rick was his toughest opponent. He said one day one of the Ballarat Saints, can't recall if it was Joffa Cunningham or Greg Burns lined Rick up & ran right through him. Plugger said he was amazed when Rick got up as he thought it was a stretcher job.
We were in the rooms after the game on Sunday & caught up with Rick, still the same as he always was, lovely bloke who always says g'day.
24-04-2008, 03:12 PM
Very interesting (even though i never saw him play)
Rick Kennedy
24-04-2008, 03:36 PM
Rick Kennedy is & always will be my wife's favourite player. When we used to sit in the EJ Whitten stand Rick's children used to run up & down the steps & she thought Rick's son was gorgeous.
I remember reading an artilce by Plugger who said Rick was his toughest opponent. He said one day one of the Ballarat Saints, can't recall if it was Joffa Cunningham or Greg Burns lined Rick up & ran right through him. Plugger said he was amazed when Rick got up as he thought it was a stretcher job.
We were in the rooms after the game on Sunday & caught up with Rick, still the same as he always was, lovely bloke who always says g'day.
Coon Dog, well done. Thanks Rick Kennedy
24-04-2008, 03:37 PM
Very interesting (even though i never saw him play)
Who could I compare him to today for you?
Um.....
No-one. If Tits played today he would be suspended for life.
Dry Rot would have loved him.
Funny he said he respected Kernahan. Whenever we played Carlton Tits would give Kernahan one in the back of the head to start the match and you wouldn't see Kernahan again until the game was over.
24-04-2008, 03:43 PM
Coon Dog, well done. Thanks Rick Kennedy
You're welcome, & thanks too.
By the way, how did you get the nickname Tits & who gave it to you?
24-04-2008, 04:01 PM
Who could I compare him to today for you?
Um.....
No-one. If Tits played today he would be suspended for life.
Dry Rot would have loved him.
Funny he said he respected Kernahan. Whenever we played Carlton Tits would give Kernahan one in the back of the head to start the match and you wouldn't see Kernahan again until the game was over.
Thats why he respected him , because he knew where he stood in the Kennedy-Kernaghan relationship.
24-04-2008, 05:01 PM
It sounds like Rick had some tough encounters with the Saints. That time Plugger decided enough was enough and was giving him a belting must have been scary.
24-04-2008, 05:08 PM
It sounds like Rick had some tough encounters with the Saints. That time Plugger decided enough was enough and was giving him a belting must have been scary.
Was that round 1, 1986?
I once spoke with John Russo who umpired that day. He reported Plugger for striking & at the tribunal Russo was asked, 'What did player Lockett say when told he was reported?' Russo replied, 'What about this' pointing to his nose that was bleeding.
When asked about his bloodied nose Lockett said, 'I went for a mark & fell over & hit my nose on the ground!'
The good old days!!
24-04-2008, 11:34 PM
Thats why he respected him , because he knew where he stood in the Kennedy-Kernaghan relationship.
Nearly spit my rum out laughing, at first i misread it and that it was Tits who had wrote it, still funny as though
Was that round 1, 1986?
I once spoke with John Russo who umpired that day. He reported Plugger for striking & at the tribunal Russo was asked, 'What did player Lockett say when told he was reported?' Russo replied, 'What about this' pointing to his nose that was bleeding.
When asked about his bloodied nose Lockett said, 'I went for a mark & fell over & hit my nose on the ground!'
The good old days!!
lol, god i miss the '80s :)
wonnydog
25-04-2008, 01:03 AM
Loved watchin this bloke play. Tough as nails. He was a great skipper. And a great Gippsland boy!!!!
25-04-2008, 06:00 PM
Loved watchin this bloke play. Tough as nails. He was a great skipper. And a great Gippsland boy!!!!
We sure had a few, including a couple of Brownlow Medalists.
25-04-2008, 08:26 PM
I used to love it when he would do his nana at the umpire. Think he might of got reported for this in that amazing last game of the 1987 season v Melb.
Was my favorite player of the late 80's.
HAB54
25-04-2008, 08:27 PM
god i miss the '80s :)
Dont we all.
25-04-2008, 09:17 PM
I remember in his last season he was used a lot up forward and one time at the WO he was coming off the bench and Andy Goodwin was waiting to pick him up. Goodwin was no shrinking violet himself and big Rick promptly ran onto the ground and charged at him full tilt. Bloody solid shirt front.
25-04-2008, 10:21 PM
Rick used to give Jason Dunstall a good goin' over every time we played Hawthorn. I am sure that's why Dunstall still holds a grudge against us and never has anything positive to say about the Bulldogs. My youngest sister had Number 8 on the back of her duffle coat. Dad's favourite player at the time so I think he had something to do with that decision. Champion clubman and all round great guy. Thanks for the interview Coon Dog.
Griffen#16
26-04-2008, 08:28 AM
Never remember seeing Rick play, think he was just slightly before my time. Sounds like a bloke who could be handy in our current side.
Good job on the interview, enjoyable thread.
HAB54
26-04-2008, 09:56 AM
Unfortunatley I never got to see Rick play, but I used to alwaays hear from my father what a great player he was. Great interview.
26-04-2008, 11:04 AM
Think Lockett in reverse playing full back, that is the best description I could give, if that makes any sense.
Always felt confident with Rick lining up at full back that he would at least break even with the best forwards.
Can vividly recall the knee to Dunstalls back after he had taken a diving mark on his stomach. "Gee, he made the opposition earn their kicks".
I would like to know whether he still has that lump the size of a golf ball on his thigh? And what was it?
26-04-2008, 12:30 PM
I remember in his last season he was used a lot up forward and one time at the WO he was coming off the bench and Andy Goodwin was waiting to pick him up. Goodwin was no shrinking violet himself and big Rick promptly ran onto the ground and charged at him full tilt. Bloody solid shirt front.
Ha, I remember that as a kid, the crowd kept yelling for Tits to get a go; think we weren't playing with much spark at the time so Rick took it upon himself to show the kids how things were done :D
Had number 8 on my jumper as a youngster, however as a toddler I got mixed up and used to call him "Rickedy Kennedy" (gimme a break, I was still learning to talk). I yelled it out at training once and everyone cracked up.
26-04-2008, 12:59 PM
Should have mentioned at the outset, particularly for those relatively new to following the Bulldogs, but Rick Kennedy was the epitome of the old fashioned full back who took it as a personal insult if the full forward got a kick. Retribution was guaranteed, issued swiftly & extracted with mind numbing brutality. As someone said earlier, Dry Rot would have loved watching Rick play.
Off the field you would never meet a nicer bloke.
26-04-2008, 02:38 PM
Thats one of my earliest memories of attending footy at the Whitten Oval - I remember being I think in the dry zone at the Barkly St end and them going at it in the goal square and being just generally scared; for Kennedy and of Lockett.
Rick Kennedy
28-04-2008, 05:33 PM
Hi Coon Dog,
A teammate by the name of Terry DeKoning gave it too me. There were a group of us that use to work out together and he believed that my chest was larger than my girlfriends, Janine whom I married. I am sure you can appreciate, it was probably a nickname that should of stayed on the football field.
Rick Kennedy
28-04-2008, 05:45 PM
Thank you for asking Desipura.
Yes, the lump is still there. This is my understanding, please remember I am just an old full back.
There are 3 sheaths of muscle down the top part of your leg. I tore the large one down the front of my thigh late in a game against Essendon at Windy Hill. I attempted to train the following Thursday against doctors & physios suggestion and ended tearing the sheath severing it from where it joined at the top of my knee. The following week, we just bandage the thigh as tightly as we good, so that I could still run (in some sort of fashion, speed was never my strength) and what ended up happening was that the sheath started to roll up my leg. I probably should of had it operated on at the time, however we thought I could cope until the end of the season. When the end of the season come around, it was agreed not to operate, for there would only be a minor benefit, but could cause a whole range of other issues. In hindsight, that was probably not a good decision, for it affected what speed I did have and my kicking power. I hope that helps. Kind regards
Rick Kennedy
Chops
28-04-2008, 08:45 PM
Hi Coon Dog,
A teammate by the name of Terry DeKoning gave it too me. There were a group of us that use to work out together and he believed that my chest was larger than my girlfriends, Janine whom I married. I am sure you can appreciate, it was probably a nickname that should of stayed on the football field.
Very funny but Jugs or Norgs would have been better!
29-04-2008, 12:38 PM
Thanks for the response Rick.
I actually shed a tear that night when Rick retired. Having a few too many drinks did not help.
29-04-2008, 05:25 PM
Yes, the lump is still there. This is my understanding, please remember I am just an old full back.
There are 3 sheaths of muscle down the top part of your leg. I tore the large one down the front of my thigh late in a game against Essendon at Windy Hill. I attempted to train the following Thursday against doctors & physios suggestion and ended tearing the sheath severing it from where it joined at the top of my knee. The following week, we just bandage the thigh as tightly as we good, so that I could still run (in some sort of fashion, speed was never my strength) and what ended up happening was that the sheath started to roll up my leg. I probably should of had it operated on at the time, however we thought I could cope until the end of the season. When the end of the season come around, it was agreed not to operate, for there would only be a minor benefit, but could cause a whole range of other issues. In hindsight, that was probably not a good decision, for it affected what speed I did have and my kicking power. I hope that helps. Kind regards
Rick Kennedy
Just wondering is it still there or did it repair itself, or did you finally have an operation?
30-04-2008, 08:27 AM
Hey Rick, my brother tells me in your younger days you used to go with a greek guy from West Sunshine named Chris. He is best mates with my cousin, do you still keep in contact with Chris? Im assuming you know who I am talking about.
03-05-2008, 11:49 PM
I loved watching Tits go around. He was really one of the only players that took it up to plugger. I'd be curious whos idea it was to have kick outs after a behind go straight to Douggy Hawkins.
If the ever did stats on that there would have been hundreds of time Tits kicked it out to the out wing to Hawk who would take a one handed mark and kick it straight to a team mate.
I have a gut feeling that Rick spent a bit of time working with Rudi Webster trying to channell his agression. Rudi Webster was a sports psychologist who worked with West Indies Cricket Team, Richmond Carlton and Essendon in their successful periods in the 80s. Rick would be a great guy to work with Will Minson to help him stop giving away silly frees, but still scare the crap out of opponents.
I have always regarded Tits as being our best full back since I started watching the dogs in 1975, but I now think that Brain Lake has just pipped him. Both very good players.
06-05-2008, 11:03 PM
Ha, I remember that as a kid, the crowd kept yelling for Tits to get a go; think we weren't playing with much spark at the time so Rick took it upon himself to show the kids how things were done :D
Had number 8 on my jumper as a youngster, however as a toddler I got mixed up and used to call him "Rickedy Kennedy" (gimme a break, I was still learning to talk). I yelled it out at training once and everyone cracked up.
I think I remember that. Was it a training session during the '85 finals?
06-05-2008, 11:32 PM
Hi Coon Dog,
Sorry Tits but I cant agree. That nickname of yours is a cherished part of Bulldog folklore and the World is a far, far better place for all of us knowing about it.
You blokes who didnt see Rick play missed a great player. Tough as teak, took thumps and coat hangers and ankle taps but always got up. Judge, jury and executioner if any violence was perpetrated to our fellas, Leigh Matthews always behaved himself when Rick was around.
Rick also had the best mad stare in VFL/AFL history based on an amazing ability to almost project his eyeballs totally out of their sockets. That stare could kill a man from 30 paces.
Desipura used Lockett in reverse as an analogy and it's a good one. Think Brian Lake then remember that there's one less umpire and about 3500 less film cameras to worry about. No video reviews. All Brian has to worry about is making sure the umpire doesnt see him see him hand it out and he's sweet. If the umpire didnt report you, you were playing next week. Think how much Brian would enjoy that.
Can I ask you a question about Peter Foster please Rick? Did he have any conception at all what the words 'danger' and 'protect yourself' meant? You and him in the key defensive posts was what we could have built a premiership around.
06-05-2008, 11:33 PM
http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/images/MatthewsandKennedy.jpg
Watch out Lethal, you're hot.
Tits!!!
The man who epitomised what the red white and blue stands for.
Tough, uncomprimising, hard as a steam train and a bloke who absolutely hated having a single goal kicked on him..
'
God it was great watching this bloke run around. Along with Steve Wallis and Chris Grant, my favourite bulldogs of all time.
The way he used to protect his team mates was something that made me so proud watching him as a young kid. Watch a fantastic footballer and an even better club man.
TCD, If you ever have a chance to interview Steve Wallis, I'll be your slave for a month!!!:D
08-05-2008, 08:55 AM
Rick Kennedy
You didn't need speed Rick, when you ran they all jumped out of the way:D
GetDimmaBack
10-05-2008, 04:38 PM
Saw a lot of Rick in the 80s, therest of the side walked pretty tall when he was around.
A lot of opposition guys seemed to like pretending they weren't out there!
Loved the anticipation when the ball came down back, you just knew something was going to happen.
Rick, what went wrong in the 85 Prelim - and why didn't you put Matthews away early in the last quarter?
I reckon we had Essendon on toast that year...
JimmySewell
18-06-2008, 10:22 PM
does anyone remember in ricks later years how he had that bulge on his knee? - like fluid on the knee or something :D
i still remember that as a kid !
Jim Sewell
19-06-2008, 11:13 AM
does anyone remember in ricks later years how he had that bulge on his knee? - like fluid on the knee or something :D
i still remember that as a kid !
Jim Sewell
Jimmy, I have already asked Rick about this, refer to previous posts
JimmySewell
19-06-2008, 11:13 PM
sorry ! didnt read all the posts
i have now
thanks for that !
Jim
20-06-2008, 04:22 PM
http://www.fullpointsfooty.net/images/MatthewsandKennedy.jpg
Watch out Lethal, you're hot.
damn straight you little wimp:D
The Dogs Bollocks
03-07-2008, 11:21 PM
Great read
Dog Pound
05-07-2008, 08:21 PM
His speech in 'the year of the Dogs' is pure David Brent comedy! inspiring but makes u cringe a bit
Pembleton
08-07-2008, 05:51 PM
I was pretty young when Rick was finishing up, and that incident is my only clear memory of him as a player. I was in the Whitten Stand and as he came on there was a palpable surge of excitement as he went charging down the ground like a big bull. It was great.
Despite having almost no memory of him as a player, i do remember that he was one of my favourites as a kid. I suspect i was attracted by the esteem all the other Footscray supporters held him in, which was something like a powerful warrior who would destroy anyone who threatened one of our boys.
I liked the question about number 8 TCD. I enjoy the tradition that has developed for giving it to the...how to put it...robust types. It's the only number i have gone out of my way to get on the back of any of my Footscray jumpers.
My other memory from Rick's career is an off field one. It must have been during his last year or two, and he was out through injury or suspension. I always sat in the Whitten Stand and this day Rick was sitting in the next bay along and a few rows behind. At the end of the game, we would always wait for the crowd to diminish before leaving because my Nan was a bit frail and had a bung leg. Rick also stayed in his spot for a fair while after the siren. He was with what i assumed to be his family, having a bit of afternoon tea (i distinctly remember a thermos). At the urging of my Dad i approached him for an autograph. I'm not sure how Dad managed to get me to go over to Rick, because i was a meek little fella, and Rick has an intimidating presence. Anyway, Rick was very friendly to me and happily signed my record, giving me my first ever autograph. If you happen to read this Rick, thanks for that. :)
NoseBleed
23-05-2010, 01:06 AM
In (about) 1982, Mark "Jacko" Jackson ran onto the Western Oval with his team (Melbourne?), and pranced down to the Geelong Road End goalsquare, where he proceeded to stand beside the goal umpire and let the Bulldog cheer squad know how awesome he was going to be today.
He then trotted backward to the top of the square, turned, and was met straight up the middle by Rick Kennedey's hip, shoulder, and elbow, all at full steam.
Jackson flew backwards, and landed on his back in the mud puddle in the middle of the square.
Kennedy then trotted slowly over him (long nylon stops and all) taking at least four steps on his prone form, and ambled up to introduce him self to the goal umpire, who'd watched it all unfold, and decided that as his official part in the game didn't start until the whistle blew, all he could do was shake RK's hand.
As a pimply faced 90 pound cheer squad member, I'll always remember the moment Rick Kennedy became an immortal in my eye's.
One of Jacko's few quiet days against us back then, regardless of the jumper he wore..
Cheers Rick.
NB
Magic Griffen
29-05-2010, 08:50 PM
Yep, my memories of Rick are of one tough customer, who never really took a step backward. If he played today, he would be rubbed out constantly, but gee, he was great to watch!
Certainly played it tough and played in an era where the forwards were just as tough but I think he was a better footballer than you give him credit for.
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.