01-07-2008, 11:08 PM
Doug Hawkins – Western Bulldogs 1978-1994, 329 games, 216 goals – Fitzroy 1995, 21 games, 11 goals.
Captain 1990-1994
Best & Fairest 1985
Team of the Century Vice Captain
Club games record holder (until Chris Grant broke it)
http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9417/8412mc3.jpg
TCD: G’day Hawk & thanks so much for your time.
DH: Not a problem buddy.
Now everyone knows you grew up in Braybrook & played your junior football there. Pretty successful time there.
Yes it was. Won 6 flags in 8 seasons there.
Very successful club too, given the number of very good players who went on to play VFL football.
EJ, Wally Donald, Georgie Bissett & myself, all in the Western Bulldogs ‘Team of the Century’. Not a bad effort for a suburban club, no other club in Australia even comes close. Captain & Vice Captain of the Team of the Century!
Who did you barrack for as a kid?
I used to love Keith Grieg of North Melbourne. Matter of fact I even wore the white ankle guards at Braybrook. I also loved EJ.
You were zoned to Footscray. What did it take to convince you to go there?
A yellow Gemini! Laughs. The engine was gone, conked out after 3 months so they then gave me a green ‘Sandman’ panel van.
I nearly didn’t go to Footscray you know.
No I didn’t, what happened there?
Oberon Pirek was at South Melbourne & he took me to a few functions & games at the Lake Oval. I applied for a clearance but Footscray wouldn’t have a bar of it.
I didn’t know that.
Not many people do.
Now, you got to the club in 1978. Who was the coach?
Billy Goggin was there, but he only lasted 1 game & resigned. I didn’t find out why until recently. Without his knowledge the club sold Dennis Collins to Carlton. He couldn’t work with people who wouldn’t even discuss with him matters that affected him directly.
You had a number of coaches. Don McKenzie, Royce Hart, Bluey Hampshire, Mick Malthouse, Terry Wheeler & Alan Joyce. Who stood out & why?
It’s funny, when Bluey took over from Royce he knew all my little tricks so I couldn’t get away with them anymore, but the 2 that really stood out for me were Mick & Wheels. Mick got the absolute best out of you & Wheels was always thinking of new things. I was shattered when Wheels got the arse.
You also nearly went elsewhere at the end of 1983 didn’t you?
Yes, I had some friends who were high up in the Essendonian’s & they arranged for me to meet with Kevin Sheedy. I was nearly gone but Mick Malthouse turned up, told me I’d been there through the tough times & we were going all out & recruiting some good players. He asked how I’d feel if I left & we had success. I stayed, what happens? Essendon win back to back flags in 84-85. They also won another in 93, so I could have been a triple premiership player.
Was 1985 your best season as a player?
Yes. It was the only season I won the Best & Fairest. I’d been pipped by 1 vote in 1984 by Andrew Purser. I remember Steve Wallis was leading the count as we came to the finals. I had a pretty good final series in 1985 & got over the line.
Do you remember a pass to Jim Edmond against North Melbourne at the MCG during that finals series?
Yes, I played a nice one two with my good mate Robert Groenewegen to get around Ross Glendinning & speared a pass to Jock about 35 metres out. The ball just seemed to follow me that day, I couldn’t do anything wrong.
You must have been shattered the following week losing to Hawthorn by 10 points in the Preliminary Final?
It was gut wrenching. As soon as we lost I knew Essendon would towel up Hawthorn in the Grand Final. We had the skill to match Essendon. I really believe we would have beaten them.
1986 didn’t go to plan did it?
No, our captain Jim Edmond was at loggerheads over a relatively small amount of money. Jim ended up signing for Sydney after Dr. Geoffrey Eddleston came waving his chequebook. I don’t know why the club didn’t just pay Jim what he was after.
That’s not all that went wrong in 1986, was it?
No, we were playing Collingwood at the MCG & 2 minutes in I was trying to lose my tag for the day, Darren Gayfer & chased after Darren Millane when I collided with Tony Shaw. He fell across me & I did my knee. It was a very hard time for me emotionally. I wasn’t sure I was ever going to play again & it was all I knew. I had a goretex fibre inserted. Much like Malceski at Sydney.
Do you remember your comeback game?
Yes, it was against West Coast at the Whitten Oval. Mick had made me play 4 or 5 games in the reserves. Fair dinkum I looked like ‘Haystacks Calhoun’. I’d been in a good paddock. There wasn’t the rehab in those days they have now. Anyhow I started on the bench & my great mate Super MacPherson was lining up for goal when I came out of the dug out. The crowd went wild. Super thought it was for him. Laughs.
Who were some of the better players you played with?
• Kelvin Templeton – His 1980 season was as good as you’d ever want to see. He was exceptional in a poor side.
• Brad Hardie – He just read the play so well.
• Brian Royal – Just a ripper. 10 years & he was in the top 3 in the B&F every year.
• Steve Wallis – A glaring omission from the TOC in my opinion.
• Peter Foster – Rarely beaten & had the wood on Dermott Brereton.
• Stephen MacPherson – Had lots of tricks & never took a backwards step.
What about opposition players?
• Gary Ablett – Just a freak.
• Keith Greig – His balance.
• Schimma – Never gave up.
• Mick Turner & Ricky Barham – Couldn’t catch them.
• Dipper – Unpredictable
• Geoff Cunningham & Merv Neagle – Tough.
• David Glascott – Ran all day.
• Dunstall, Lockett, Blight, Carey.
So, would you ever do a parachute jump again?
No way! I had to be pushed out. I hate small planes & I hate the ocean, sharks.
Why did you end up at Fitzroy?
Alan Joyce was the coach & he wanted me to retire. I just loved playing footy & felt I could play another season. I met with John Birt & was good mates with Bernie Quinlan. Also Axe was there.
Do you remember playing against the Bulldogs?
Yes. The ball got bounced & Matthew Dent cleaned me up. He was psycho, good nickname too, psycho chicken. Matter of fact I kicked the first goal of the game, but it felt weird.
What number did you wear at Fitzroy?
Number 3, after EJ.
Was Ted glad it was you who broke his games record for the club?
No, Ted didn’t want anyone to break his record! Laughs. He said to me, someday someone will break your record too & it’s a privilege that it’s you breaking mine. We played Geelong that day & Ablett cleaned up Rohan Smith. I got a Brownlow vote that day too.
You were on The Footy Show the night word came through that Ted has passed away.
Yes, during a break Eddie got the news & told us. If it had been earlier there wouldn’t have been a show that night.
You weren’t very happy with Peter Rohde’s appointment as coach were you?
No, I felt Chocco should have got the gig. David Smorgon told me Peter Rohde had a great Power Point Presentation. What’s a Power Point Presentation?
Do you watch much of the Bulldogs these days?
No, I’m usually coaching my son’s footy team, but if I can’t go I make sure I watch it on Foxtel.
Who impresses you at the Bulldogs?
• Adam Cooney – He just goes past people like they’re standing still.
• Aker – He uses the ball well, but it’s his decision making that sets him apart.
• Ryan Griffen – He is some player!
• Daniel Cross, Matthew Boyd & Dale Morris – Gee they just work so hard.
• Ben Hudson – Been a great recruit, should have been a Bulldog from day 1.
You’ve got a lovely wife & 3 children, still live in Bacchus Marsh?
Yes, Raels, honey, darl, & my 2 daughters Leah &Toni & my son Ricky.
Do they follow the Dogs?
Yes & no, The oldest girl Leah (18) has a soft spot for Essendon, the youngest girl Toni (16) is a Bulldog who loves Shaun Higgins & Ricky (14) likes Geelong, particularly Gary Ablett Jnr.
Thanks for your time Doug, it’s been a pleasure.
No worries.
Captain 1990-1994
Best & Fairest 1985
Team of the Century Vice Captain
Club games record holder (until Chris Grant broke it)
http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/9417/8412mc3.jpg
TCD: G’day Hawk & thanks so much for your time.
DH: Not a problem buddy.
Now everyone knows you grew up in Braybrook & played your junior football there. Pretty successful time there.
Yes it was. Won 6 flags in 8 seasons there.
Very successful club too, given the number of very good players who went on to play VFL football.
EJ, Wally Donald, Georgie Bissett & myself, all in the Western Bulldogs ‘Team of the Century’. Not a bad effort for a suburban club, no other club in Australia even comes close. Captain & Vice Captain of the Team of the Century!
Who did you barrack for as a kid?
I used to love Keith Grieg of North Melbourne. Matter of fact I even wore the white ankle guards at Braybrook. I also loved EJ.
You were zoned to Footscray. What did it take to convince you to go there?
A yellow Gemini! Laughs. The engine was gone, conked out after 3 months so they then gave me a green ‘Sandman’ panel van.
I nearly didn’t go to Footscray you know.
No I didn’t, what happened there?
Oberon Pirek was at South Melbourne & he took me to a few functions & games at the Lake Oval. I applied for a clearance but Footscray wouldn’t have a bar of it.
I didn’t know that.
Not many people do.
Now, you got to the club in 1978. Who was the coach?
Billy Goggin was there, but he only lasted 1 game & resigned. I didn’t find out why until recently. Without his knowledge the club sold Dennis Collins to Carlton. He couldn’t work with people who wouldn’t even discuss with him matters that affected him directly.
You had a number of coaches. Don McKenzie, Royce Hart, Bluey Hampshire, Mick Malthouse, Terry Wheeler & Alan Joyce. Who stood out & why?
It’s funny, when Bluey took over from Royce he knew all my little tricks so I couldn’t get away with them anymore, but the 2 that really stood out for me were Mick & Wheels. Mick got the absolute best out of you & Wheels was always thinking of new things. I was shattered when Wheels got the arse.
You also nearly went elsewhere at the end of 1983 didn’t you?
Yes, I had some friends who were high up in the Essendonian’s & they arranged for me to meet with Kevin Sheedy. I was nearly gone but Mick Malthouse turned up, told me I’d been there through the tough times & we were going all out & recruiting some good players. He asked how I’d feel if I left & we had success. I stayed, what happens? Essendon win back to back flags in 84-85. They also won another in 93, so I could have been a triple premiership player.
Was 1985 your best season as a player?
Yes. It was the only season I won the Best & Fairest. I’d been pipped by 1 vote in 1984 by Andrew Purser. I remember Steve Wallis was leading the count as we came to the finals. I had a pretty good final series in 1985 & got over the line.
Do you remember a pass to Jim Edmond against North Melbourne at the MCG during that finals series?
Yes, I played a nice one two with my good mate Robert Groenewegen to get around Ross Glendinning & speared a pass to Jock about 35 metres out. The ball just seemed to follow me that day, I couldn’t do anything wrong.
You must have been shattered the following week losing to Hawthorn by 10 points in the Preliminary Final?
It was gut wrenching. As soon as we lost I knew Essendon would towel up Hawthorn in the Grand Final. We had the skill to match Essendon. I really believe we would have beaten them.
1986 didn’t go to plan did it?
No, our captain Jim Edmond was at loggerheads over a relatively small amount of money. Jim ended up signing for Sydney after Dr. Geoffrey Eddleston came waving his chequebook. I don’t know why the club didn’t just pay Jim what he was after.
That’s not all that went wrong in 1986, was it?
No, we were playing Collingwood at the MCG & 2 minutes in I was trying to lose my tag for the day, Darren Gayfer & chased after Darren Millane when I collided with Tony Shaw. He fell across me & I did my knee. It was a very hard time for me emotionally. I wasn’t sure I was ever going to play again & it was all I knew. I had a goretex fibre inserted. Much like Malceski at Sydney.
Do you remember your comeback game?
Yes, it was against West Coast at the Whitten Oval. Mick had made me play 4 or 5 games in the reserves. Fair dinkum I looked like ‘Haystacks Calhoun’. I’d been in a good paddock. There wasn’t the rehab in those days they have now. Anyhow I started on the bench & my great mate Super MacPherson was lining up for goal when I came out of the dug out. The crowd went wild. Super thought it was for him. Laughs.
Who were some of the better players you played with?
• Kelvin Templeton – His 1980 season was as good as you’d ever want to see. He was exceptional in a poor side.
• Brad Hardie – He just read the play so well.
• Brian Royal – Just a ripper. 10 years & he was in the top 3 in the B&F every year.
• Steve Wallis – A glaring omission from the TOC in my opinion.
• Peter Foster – Rarely beaten & had the wood on Dermott Brereton.
• Stephen MacPherson – Had lots of tricks & never took a backwards step.
What about opposition players?
• Gary Ablett – Just a freak.
• Keith Greig – His balance.
• Schimma – Never gave up.
• Mick Turner & Ricky Barham – Couldn’t catch them.
• Dipper – Unpredictable
• Geoff Cunningham & Merv Neagle – Tough.
• David Glascott – Ran all day.
• Dunstall, Lockett, Blight, Carey.
So, would you ever do a parachute jump again?
No way! I had to be pushed out. I hate small planes & I hate the ocean, sharks.
Why did you end up at Fitzroy?
Alan Joyce was the coach & he wanted me to retire. I just loved playing footy & felt I could play another season. I met with John Birt & was good mates with Bernie Quinlan. Also Axe was there.
Do you remember playing against the Bulldogs?
Yes. The ball got bounced & Matthew Dent cleaned me up. He was psycho, good nickname too, psycho chicken. Matter of fact I kicked the first goal of the game, but it felt weird.
What number did you wear at Fitzroy?
Number 3, after EJ.
Was Ted glad it was you who broke his games record for the club?
No, Ted didn’t want anyone to break his record! Laughs. He said to me, someday someone will break your record too & it’s a privilege that it’s you breaking mine. We played Geelong that day & Ablett cleaned up Rohan Smith. I got a Brownlow vote that day too.
You were on The Footy Show the night word came through that Ted has passed away.
Yes, during a break Eddie got the news & told us. If it had been earlier there wouldn’t have been a show that night.
You weren’t very happy with Peter Rohde’s appointment as coach were you?
No, I felt Chocco should have got the gig. David Smorgon told me Peter Rohde had a great Power Point Presentation. What’s a Power Point Presentation?
Do you watch much of the Bulldogs these days?
No, I’m usually coaching my son’s footy team, but if I can’t go I make sure I watch it on Foxtel.
Who impresses you at the Bulldogs?
• Adam Cooney – He just goes past people like they’re standing still.
• Aker – He uses the ball well, but it’s his decision making that sets him apart.
• Ryan Griffen – He is some player!
• Daniel Cross, Matthew Boyd & Dale Morris – Gee they just work so hard.
• Ben Hudson – Been a great recruit, should have been a Bulldog from day 1.
You’ve got a lovely wife & 3 children, still live in Bacchus Marsh?
Yes, Raels, honey, darl, & my 2 daughters Leah &Toni & my son Ricky.
Do they follow the Dogs?
Yes & no, The oldest girl Leah (18) has a soft spot for Essendon, the youngest girl Toni (16) is a Bulldog who loves Shaun Higgins & Ricky (14) likes Geelong, particularly Gary Ablett Jnr.
Thanks for your time Doug, it’s been a pleasure.
No worries.