View Full Version : MMA / Ultimate Fighting

16-08-2010, 11:12 PM
Is anyone a fan of the UFC (or mixed martial arts in general)?

I must admit, I've never been a fan of combat sports or attended a fight but I've recently gotten in to the UFC, so much so I've downloaded a bunch of events and bought a few dvds.

I always thought it was just a sport for savages, but the unified rules means the fighters are as protected as possible. The best fighters are superb technicians, drawing upon a number of combat disciplines to take down their opponent.

I saw one poster on here has an image of Chuck Liddell as their avatar - any other savages around? ;)

16-08-2010, 11:19 PM
I have watched it from time to time but wouldn't be bothered in going to an event.

Watched Lesnar vs Corin which was a strange battle. Lesnar spent the majority of the first round on his back getting pummeled only to win early in the 2nd with a choke.

Like most sports, the best vs the best can be good viewing but the standard and interest drops considerably. It's the biggest threat to boxing no doubt but that is because boxing continues to promote Green vs Briggs type fiasco's

16-08-2010, 11:33 PM
Have a pretty big collection of UFC dvd's from the early days through to the most recent fights. I have loved watching the concept develop almost as much as the individual matches. To see it go from Sumo v Boxer, Ninja v Muay Thai and all sorts of ridiculous methods to MMA has been fascinating. So obvious in hindsight but amazing still.

I like the big knock outs, but the more I watch and learn the more you appreciate the ground battles as well. Just the concentration to not give up a bad position, or the thinking that goes into setting up a submission is brilliant to watch unfold.

Favourite fight was when Randy came back to defeat Sylvia, the way he just picked him apart and the pace he pushed for an "old man" was awesome. A very humble man as well, strikes me a good role model.

17-08-2010, 01:30 AM
Absolutely love MMA!

The last two UFC PPV's have been fantastic. If you get a chance make sure to watch them.

Don't forget to check out Strikeforce or Dream.

If you want some more DVD's comrade just let me know I got a ton of them.

17-08-2010, 10:04 AM
Absolutely love MMA!

The last two UFC PPV's have been fantastic. If you get a chance make sure to watch them.

Don't forget to check out Strikeforce or Dream.

If you want some more DVD's comrade just let me know I got a ton of them.

I downloaded UFC 117 and really enjoyed it. The whole card had some great fights, including the heavyweight battle between Dos Santos and Big Country. That guy has a ton of heart.

I've got some Strikeforce on my hard drive, ready to watch.

Captain Groenewagon
17-08-2010, 10:10 AM
Hope you're all aware One HD have been screening old PPV's on Friday nights at 10:30pm for the past month or so.

Some of the stuff has been gold.

Love seeing guys like Machida & Brock earlier in their UFC careers, gives a great perspective on where they've come from.
Friday night had BJ Penn vs GSP which at the time was the most hyped fight in UFC history

17-08-2010, 10:14 AM
Bit like you comrade - I thought it was just savages and mindless violence - but have gotten into it a bit recently (since about UFC 100) and found it is a very legitimate sport.

Have enjoyed getting together witha few mates, few beers and watching the recent PPV's...and The Ultimate Fighter tv show is good to watch. I don't think I'd ever get into it to the extent of my interest in cricket and basketball (and certainly not footy!) - but I'll keep a passing interest in the main events.

17-08-2010, 10:28 AM
Bit like you comrade - I thought it was just savages and mindless violence - but have gotten into it a bit recently (since about UFC 100) and found it is a very legitimate sport.

Have enjoyed getting together witha few mates, few beers and watching the recent PPV's...and The Ultimate Fighter tv show is good to watch. I don't think I'd ever get into it to the extent of my interest in cricket and basketball (and certainly not footy!) - but I'll keep a passing interest in the main events.

Yeah, it's a great sport to watch with a group of mates.

Footy will always be number #1 but MMA has quickly risen up my list of sporting priorities (helped by the complete ineptitude of Cricket Australia).

17-08-2010, 12:59 PM
I was always Footy, athletics, cricket, boxing, basketball.

Now it is footy, mma, basketball, athletics. The MMA is great - not too many padded records either - everyone fights everyone.

17-08-2010, 01:15 PM
I love that Dana White gives the fans what they want to see and decides who gets a title shot, and who fights who. Appears to be far less politics with the UFC set up, and I like that he gives guys short term contracts to prove themselves - and conversely can decide when a bloke has had enough and must retire from the UFC (after a string of bad defeats for instance - when it becomes a safety concern).

17-08-2010, 01:47 PM
I was always Footy, athletics, cricket, boxing, basketball.

Now it is footy, mma, basketball, athletics. The MMA is great - not too many padded records either - everyone fights everyone.

Will you be offering any MMA style training at the gym?

17-08-2010, 02:10 PM
Will you be offering any MMA style training at the gym?

Probably not.

Too many bogan idiots who want to get involved in it.

Trying to stay fitness focused.

17-08-2010, 05:16 PM
The good news for those of you who are fans is that it won't be long before we can all join in at our local railway station.

Just like my 6yo pretending to be a backman and bumping into me whenever I least expect it, there will be dickhead's trying to emulate their heroes on the streets.

17-08-2010, 05:54 PM
The good news for those of you who are fans is that it won't be long before we can all join in at our local railway station.

Just like my 6yo pretending to be a backman and bumping into me whenever I least expect it, there will be dickhead's trying to emulate their heroes on the streets.

That's why I drive.

17-08-2010, 06:04 PM
Probably not.

Too many bogan idiots who want to get involved in it.

Trying to stay fitness focused.

My Karate school has started MMA classes.

I've never seen more arm tattoos and faux hardmen in my life.

Sadly, there is a great deal of truth to this.

Is anyone a fan of the UFC (or mixed martial arts in general)?

2nd best sport in the world. The risk vs reward of every tactical movement is what I love.

If you're getting into the ground aspect, you need to see Aussie George (Sotiropoulous) fight. His Jiu Jitsu is incredible, even if he does have a weird build.

I've got UFC events 1-60 and about 80 to 115 odd on my hard drive and a few seasons of The Ultimate Fighter. PM me if you want some, happy to burn an assortment.

FWIW, my favourite fighters are Amir Sadollah and Kenny Florian.

17-08-2010, 06:20 PM
My Karate school has started MMA classes.

I've never seen more arm tattoos and faux hardmen in my life.

I was thinking of putting up a 'No TAPOUT' sign on my notice board but didn't think it would be good for business.

Glove38
17-08-2010, 07:08 PM
Have always loved Tito Ortiz, have a book here about his life & it is brilliant.

18-08-2010, 01:25 AM
Have always loved Tito Ortiz, have a book here about his life & it is brilliant.

I used to hate Tito, but after seeing him coach on a few seasons of TUF I've been impressed by his dedication to his fighters. I still can't say he's up there on my top bloke list, but I respect him for his training ethic and support.

18-08-2010, 11:19 AM
I watched the WEC: Aldo vs Faber card last night - WOW.

The lower weight classes (vs UFC) produce lightening quick fights. They obviously don't have quite the same knockout potential, but the ground game is awesome!

I enjoyed every fight on that card and was really impressed with Chad Mendes.

19-08-2010, 12:16 AM
I watched the WEC: Aldo vs Faber card last night - WOW.

The lower weight classes (vs UFC) produce lightening quick fights. They obviously don't have quite the same knockout potential, but the ground game is awesome!

I enjoyed every fight on that card and was really impressed with Chad Mendes.

An excited WOW quotation that Joe Rogan would be proud of. Need to finish it off with "serious knockout power".

19-08-2010, 09:59 AM
An excited WOW quotation that Joe Rogan would be proud of. Need to finish it off with "serious knockout power".

"This kid has some heavy hands. He really rocked him".

19-08-2010, 11:27 AM
"KNOCKOUT POWER, IN BOTH HANDS"

Everything Joe Rogan says has to be typed in capitals - because he just yells constantly!!

19-08-2010, 11:32 AM
There is an MMA event in Melbourne next Friday at the Coburg Town Hall - Brute Force 12. For those interested, it could be a good opportunity to see some live action, not that I know anything about the fighters on the card.

20-08-2010, 01:58 AM
There is an MMA event in Melbourne next Friday at the Coburg Town Hall - Brute Force 12. For those interested, it could be a good opportunity to see some live action, not that I know anything about the fighters on the card.

Thamks Comrade. I'll struggle to get there from Nha Trang, on the beach.....

A guy at my Karate dojo just had his first MMA fight. lost on a split decision. Came to class with two black eyes and scratches etc everywhere..... And LOVED it. Couldn't wait to do it again.

Mad man.

RE Joe Rogan, I used to really dislike him, but despite his excitement, I actually find him pretty good now. He picks up a lot of things I fail to notice, and his ability to name movements is first rate. I used to think he was guessing, but he's a Jiu Jitsu purple belt, so he clearly knows his stuff.

Captain Groenewagon
20-08-2010, 05:59 PM
"KNOCKOUT POWER, IN BOTH HANDS"

Everything Joe Rogan says has to be typed in capitals - because he just yells constantly!!

He is "DROPPING BOMBS" on him Mike.

This MMA will not be in an octagon / cage arrangement, presumably a boxing ring.
Cage fighting currently banned in Victoria

20-08-2010, 06:47 PM

This MMA will not be in an octagon / cage arrangement, presumably a boxing ring.

Thanks for the update Capt.

A shame we have to miss out on the cage action while other states allow it.

21-08-2010, 03:16 PM

Weird isn't it? The guy at my gym had to go to NSW to get a cage fight.

Anyone know why it's not sanctioned?

21-08-2010, 11:11 PM
After tonight's result, bring on UFC 118.

22-08-2010, 02:20 AM
After tonight's result, bring on UFC 118.

Ahh bollocks. The mere fact that you're posting on this forum my red brother is because AFL is still no. 1.

Though if UFC 118 can be half as good as UFC 116 (the best I've seen yet), then it'll be a cracker.

Oh, BTW, how unlucky was Sonnen to lose to Silva at 117?

22-08-2010, 09:06 AM
Ahh bollocks. The mere fact that you're posting on this forum my red brother is because AFL is still no. 1.

Though if UFC 118 can be half as good as UFC 116 (the best I've seen yet), then it'll be a cracker.

Oh, BTW, how unlucky was Sonnen to lose to Silva at 117?

His wrestling and GnP was awesome for 4 and a half rounds but just got sloppy at the end. That triangle came out of nowhere, but just proves how good Silva is.

Looking forward to seeing Penn taking out Edgar in the rematch - TKO second round.

23-08-2010, 01:33 AM
His wrestling and GnP was awesome for 4 and a half rounds but just got sloppy at the end. That triangle came out of nowhere, but just proves how good Silva is.

Looking forward to seeing Penn taking out Edgar in the rematch - TKO second round.

I don't think it was the triangle that got him. It looked like he'd got his legs in the right spot to defend that, but when Anderson cranked on his arm, tap time.

I guess you gotta give credit to Silva. He took a pounding and then took his opportunity when it was there. I've never had heaps of time for Sonnen, but I was impressed that he made no excuses.

I like Edgar. I like that he's active and persistent. I think his constant movement was what won him the first fight.

And I think this time, BJ's probably going to knock nine colours of crap out of him. Looking to open a forehead cavern like he did to Diego Sanchez.

29-08-2010, 03:08 PM
What an epic fail by Toney. Did he honestly think he could train for 9 months and be competitive against a HOF'er? He was in that fight for 15 seconds before Randy took him down (with a single leg!) and pounded him.

Nice paycheck though.

29-08-2010, 05:13 PM
What an epic fail by Toney. Did he honestly think he could train for 9 months and be competitive against a HOF'er? He was in that fight for 15 seconds before Randy took him down (with a single leg!) and pounded him.

Nice paycheck though.

What a joke. He never even looked the part prior to it. I didn't see it, but I'll check it out when I get home.

TBH, the mere fact that the UFC even gave him a look in cheapened the brand a bit IMHO. I hope they don't do crap like that again.

29-08-2010, 05:44 PM
What a joke. He never even looked the part prior to it. I didn't see it, but I'll check it out when I get home.

TBH, the mere fact that the UFC even gave him a look in cheapened the brand a bit IMHO. I hope they don't do crap like that again.

Yes, I agree. Maybe it was Dana just making a point, but it did nothing to further MMA as a sport.

The whole card was on the average side, though Lauzon was awesome in destroying Ruediger and Nate Diaz was impressive in pulverising Davis' face; he opened up a huge eye cavern.

Penn looked lethargic. He has world class JJ, and Edgar is so hard to hit due to his speed, I'm not sure why he wouldn't want to take it to the ground and attempt some subs.

Maynard vs Edgar for the LW title.

29-08-2010, 07:22 PM
Yes, I agree. Maybe it was Dana just making a point, but it did nothing to further MMA as a sport.

The whole card was on the average side, though Lauzon was awesome in destroying Ruediger and Nate Diaz was impressive in pulverising Davis' face; he opened up a huge eye cavern.

Penn looked lethargic. He has world class JJ, and Edgar is so hard to hit due to his speed, I'm not sure why he wouldn't want to take it to the ground and attempt some subs.
Maynard vs Edgar for the LW title.

Completely agree. I thought BJ was going to do exactly that and ground and pound him.

Guess not.

Maynard Edgar could be good, but Maynard too will want to catch him!

Captain Groenewagon
30-08-2010, 12:10 PM

I heard an interview with Dana last week, and he basically said Toney had been talking so much smack, he figured the only way to shut him up was to give him a fight.

Amusingly, he gave it to him against one of the all time greats, rather than a middle of the road guy which is how they introduced Lesnar a couple of years ago.

Toney did a great job hyping the fight though, almost to Sonnen levels. Although Sonnen didn't need sub-titles at the bottom of the screen so the viewers could understand what he was saying. I'm sure people would have bought the PPV just to see him get his ass kicked, which is really old-school pro-wrestling style promotion. Never fails to work

30-08-2010, 12:13 PM
Toney did a great job hyping the fight though, almost to Sonnen levels. Although Sonnen didn't need sub-titles at the bottom of the screen so the viewers could understand what he was saying. I'm sure people would have bought the PPV just to see him get his ass kicked, which is really old-school pro-wrestling style promotion. Never fails to work

He couldn't even get his submission right; more of a wave than a tap.

Pretty funny.

30-08-2010, 01:35 PM
Just finish watching the event. Toney embarrassed himself out there. I really hope this is the last of the side show matches I don't want to see crap like that filling another UFC PPV again! There is far to much talent out there to leave out.

Joe Lauzon put on an MMA clinic and was relegated to a Prelim match. Fortunately he was that good that it still made it to air. I'm yet to watch the other Prelim matches but I'm sure every one of them is more deserving to get a PPV match than Toney.

30-08-2010, 02:40 PM
Just finish watching the event. Toney embarrassed himself out there. I really hope this is the last of the side show matches I don't want to see crap like that filling another UFC PPV again! There is far to much talent out there to leave out.

Joe Lauzon put on an MMA clinic and was relegated to a Prelim match. Fortunately he was that good that it still made it to air. I'm yet to watch the other Prelim matches but I'm sure every one of them is more deserving to get a PPV match than Toney.

Lentz vs Winner was the worst 'fight' I've seen.

How a guy can just hug his opponent into the cage for 3 rounds without inflicting one iota of damage and still be declared the winner is beyond me.

30-08-2010, 09:13 PM
I heard an interview with Dana last week, and he basically said Toney had been talking so much smack, he figured the only way to shut him up was to give him a fight.

Amusingly, he gave it to him against one of the all time greats, rather than a middle of the road guy which is how they introduced Lesnar a couple of years ago.

At least Sonnen backed up his talk and worked Silva over. But I hear what you're saying.

Captain Groenewagon
02-09-2010, 10:12 AM
Scanning thru my TiVo last night and I think our Friday night treats of old UFC PPV's on One HD seems to have come to a close.

Fun while it lasted.

BTW, UFC 125, which may be headlined by the rematch of Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, will be on New Year's Day (credit Wrestling Observer Newsletter). BRING IT ON!!!

02-09-2010, 10:29 AM
Scanning thru my TiVo last night and I think our Friday night treats of old UFC PPV's on One HD seems to have come to a close.

Fun while it lasted.

BTW, UFC 125, which may be headlined by the rematch of Anderson Silva vs. Chael Sonnen, will be on New Year's Day (credit Wrestling Observer Newsletter). BRING IT ON!!!

I thought Silva was out of action until well in to the new year. Awesome if true!

02-09-2010, 01:44 PM

Fun while it lasted.

Bad news :(

Good news ;)

18-09-2010, 01:36 PM
Anyone watch Ultimate Fight Night?

Even though he thought Marquardt was greased, Palhares was nuts to stop mid way through an exchange.

Charles Oliveira will be a beast in a few years. Great jitz and his stand up is dynamic; I loved his flying knees against Escudero. Not bad for a 20 year old.

Tossing up whether to fork our for UFC 119. I wouldn't mind seeing Cro Cop take down Mir with a liver kick.

20-09-2010, 12:49 PM
Anyone watch Ultimate Fight Night?

Even though he thought Marquardt was greased, Palhares was nuts to stop mid way through an exchange.

Charles Oliveira will be a beast in a few years. Great jitz and his stand up is dynamic; I loved his flying knees against Escudero. Not bad for a 20 year old.

Tossing up whether to fork our for UFC 119. I wouldn't mind seeing Cro Cop take down Mir with a liver kick.

What do you watch it on?

20-09-2010, 12:55 PM
What do you watch it on?

Fuel TV on Foxtel show it live. I've got an invite to a really good MMA torrent site if you're interested - heaps of good stuff (Pride, MFC, Strikeforce, Bellator etc).

20-09-2010, 03:35 PM
Fuel TV on Foxtel show it live. I've got an invite to a really good MMA torrent site if you're interested - heaps of good stuff (Pride, MFC, Strikeforce, Bellator etc).

I don't have Foxtel :mad:.

Torrent = hit me.

03-10-2010, 01:44 PM
This isn't strictly MMA but I just had to post the following vid of Overeem destroying Australia's own Ben Edwards in yesterday's K-1 World Grand Prix.

FxB2N_xZNMg

Overeem is currently a StrikeForce heavyweight but no doubt the UFC will try and bring him over at some point. Joe Rogan would explode over his 'knockout power'.

Props to Edwards for getting up after that second knockdown.

03-10-2010, 04:54 PM
Overeem continues to grow as a fighter. I was really impressed with his KO on Rogers in Strikeforce. Rogers is pretty highly rated and he disposed of him like he was a lightweight.

I've always been a fan.

03-10-2010, 09:12 PM
By the way has anyone been watching The Ultimate Fighter 12? The first 2 matches have been great. So far it's been a great series!

Captain Groenewagon
15-10-2010, 04:35 PM
The return of UFC to One HD comes tonight in the form of Countdown to Lesnar vs Velasquez.
They are gonna promote the hell out of this one.

It's been a long month.

alexxx
15-10-2010, 07:01 PM
It's next week yeah? Cant wait to watch!

16-10-2010, 07:50 AM
It's next week yeah? Cant wait to watch!

There's UFC120 to get through first, with Bisping vs Akiyama headlining early Saturday morning (Aus time) live from the UK.

It doesn't have a title fight but it's full of good match ups.

24-10-2010, 04:23 PM
Whoa!

Huge victory for Velasquez; Lesnar had no answer to some brutal G&P and was opened up pretty badly. The main event was over in Round 1 but it was great.

Sanchez/Thiago almost a FOTY contender. A great display of offensive grappling that was full of sub attempts and big slams. Real fun to watch.

Jake Shields was fairly unimpressive in his UFC debut, eeking out a split decision win. It looked like cutting weight took a lot out of him, and he was gassed in the 2nd. Kampmann should have kept it standing in the 3rd and would have got a decision but got caught in the clinch and Shields' superior grappling was enough to get over the line.

Nice to see Hammill get a win over Tito. Tito is finished, IMO. He has pillows for hands and his ground game is no where near the elite guys in the LHW division.

UFC 121 was very enjoyable.

24-10-2010, 04:50 PM
Whoa!

Huge victory for Velasquez; Lesnar had no answer to some brutal G&P and was opened up pretty badly. The main event was over in Round 1 but it was great.

Lesnar almost got beaten by Carwin in the first round as well. To have Lesnar stopped before the end of the first round is a huge result given the size difference between him and Velasquez.

Junior Dos Santos next for the new champion?

24-10-2010, 05:27 PM
Lesnar almost got beaten by Carwin in the first round as well. To have Lesnar stopped before the end of the first round is a huge result given the size difference between him and Velasquez.

Technique > size.

It's easy to forget that Lesnar has only been training MMA for 2 years and has just 7 pro fights to his name.

Velasquez has almost a decade of training behind him and is easily the most well rounded HW in the UFC.

Junior Dos Santos next for the new champion?

Yep, and it should be a great match up. JDS has great stand up but his ground game hasn't been tested yet. Of course, being Brazilian, he has a brown belt in BJJ so he SHOULD be able to hold his own.

25-10-2010, 09:43 AM

Even though it went for a round it was still a pretty exciting fight. You can tell how hard a guy hits when a shot looks like it barely gets into their opponent and staggers them. Brock couldn't recover after that. I hope Brock sticks with it. He's still a baby in teh sport and has a lot to learn.

Sanchez/Thiago almost a FOTY contender. A great display of offensive grappling that was full of sub attempts and big slams. Real fun to watch.

What a fantastic match to watch. Sanchez dominated after the first round and it was like Thiago gave up either. I don't think I've seen Sanchez look that good in the Octagon.

Jake Shields was fairly unimpressive in his UFC debut, eeking out a split decision win. It looked like cutting weight took a lot out of him, and he was gassed in the 2nd. Kampmann should have kept it standing in the 3rd and would have got a decision but got caught in the clinch and Shields' superior grappling was enough to get over the line.

Shields lay on him for 2 rounds. Didn't do a thing while he was down there and he's going to get the next title shot? :rolleyes:

Dana should change his mind after that ordinary performance and make him go through Fitch first like he should.

Nice to see Hammill get a win over Tito. Tito is finished, IMO. He has pillows for hands and his ground game is no where near the elite guys in the LHW division.

It's always good to see Tito get his ass handed to him.

25-10-2010, 11:01 AM
Whoa!

UFC 121 was very enjoyable.

Can't wait to watch it.

I really like Cain, happy to see him win. I like Lesnar too. I think he came out of the Carwin fight a better fighter and a better man also.

Regardless of what weight category you prefer, it's impossible to ignore that the heavyweights are the big fish (pardon the pun).

For me, I'm just happy that four legitimate, big, fit tough guys that can really fight are spearheading the division (Velasquez, Dos Santos, Lesnar and Carwin). I can't stand when heavyweights carry heaps of fat on them and look more like they win fights by being massive rather than ability.

25-10-2010, 11:25 AM
Just watched the fight. The cut to Lesnar was massive and the sight of him stumbling after the first real exchange just underlined that he had been hit with a bit of power.
Towards the end when he stood up but went down again so easy it was just a matter of time.

I doubt he could have answered the 2nd round. Comprehensive victory.

Glove38
25-10-2010, 10:49 PM
This has been talked about around the traps, no one knows if it was all serious or not.

I think it was put on.

zjHtxPew5Os

25-10-2010, 11:13 PM
This has been talked about around the traps, no one knows if it was all serious or not.

I think it was put on.

zjHtxPew5Os

I've got no proof, but I think it's (as they say in the business), a 'work'...or as you say G38, it's put on.

Glove38
25-10-2010, 11:20 PM
I've got no proof, but I think it's (as they say in the business), a 'work'...or as you say G38, it's put on.

There has been rumors of Wrestlemania.

Disappointing to see Tito lose again, i fear he might be cut by Dana soon.

26-10-2010, 10:54 AM
Why the hell is a fake wrestler even being interviewed at an MMA event?

I hope it was just the WWE trying to steal some heat and this isn't some master plan thought up by Dana White to hype a wrestler vs MMArtist type co promotion. James Toney was bad enough. Another gimmick match and the UFC is nearing jump the shark territory.

26-10-2010, 10:59 AM

There is a cross over. A few "professional Wrestlers" are looking to move to MMA.
They interview them to actually get another sport saying how much they respect MMA. Retired footballers get interviewed as well.

Isn't there another ex Pro wrestler doing OK at MMA?

26-10-2010, 11:36 AM
There is a cross over. A few "professional Wrestlers" are looking to move to MMA.
They interview them to actually get another sport saying how much they respect MMA. Retired footballers get interviewed as well.

Isn't there another ex Pro wrestler doing OK at MMA?

Bobby Lashley is a pro wrestler turned Strikforce fighter but was recently beaten.

Captain Groenewagon
26-10-2010, 04:47 PM

I hope it was just the WWE trying to steal some heat and this isn't some master plan thought up by Dana White to hype a wrestler vs MMArtist type co promotion. James Toney was bad enough. Another gimmick match and the UFC is nearing jump the shark territory.

Allegedly Vince McMahon is trying to get Brock to do a one-off match at Wrestlemania next year with The Undertaker.
I have no idea what his UFC contract says about such things, but if Vince is asking I suspect he has an out clause.
In saying that, I find it hard to imagine Dana White letting Brock take a loss to, as you described, a "Fake wrestler", but Brock is a loose cannon.

Ken Shamrock is probably the most successful transition going the other way. He was a semi-main eventer in the late 90's with a couple of Intercontinental Title reigns from memory and he was billed as being the baddest man on the planet or something like that, playing off his UFC success

Captain Groenewagon
26-10-2010, 04:59 PM
Allegedly Vince McMahon is trying to get Brock to do a one-off match at Wrestlemania next year with The Undertaker.
I have no idea what his UFC contract says about such things, but if Vince is asking I suspect he has an out clause.
In saying that, I find it hard to imagine Dana White letting Brock take a loss to, as you described, a "Fake wrestler", but Brock is a loose cannon.

Speak of the devil, just reading the following on the Wrestling Observer Newsletter website

Dana White told TMZ.com that he would not approve of a Brock Lesnar vs. Undertaker match at WrestleMania, noting Lesnar is under an exclusive contract with UFC. "He is not going to wrestle in the WWE. He cannot wrestle, box or fight anywhere else."

Glove38
27-10-2010, 09:26 PM
Found this funny image, put together from the Lesnar fight the other day.

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9296/brockh.gif

27-10-2010, 10:52 PM
Geez that needs a seizure warning G! Funny but.

13-11-2010, 12:24 PM
I attended AFC1 last night at the State Netball & Hockey Centre.

First thing; MMA must take place in a cage. I know Pride held all their events in a ring, but seeing fighters fall through the ropes (dangerously close to landing on the floor) and placed in the middle of the ring for a re-start over and again is just wrong.

If James Merlino gets voted back in, he needs to approve cage fighting and stop spouting rubbish about the 'aesthetic of combat sports'. He's got no idea.

Ok, onto the fights.

The night was broken into two; the first couple of fights were purely prelims and weren't recorded for Fox Sports. The action was good from the start with Rusty McBride (a mean looking mofo) pounded out Matt Prince for a 1st round TKO.

KO of the night was definitely Leigh Allwood's. Based in Melbourne, he went to war with Supi Lanumata. Lanumata opened strongly, forcing Allwood back with some big shots but Allwood recovered by clinching. Lanumata stalked Allwood, ready to let his hands go, and BANG! Huge overhand right from nowhere by Allwood which lands on the button and crumples Lanumata. He then follows up with some strikes on the ground and the referee stops it. It got me out of my seat.

Masaya Doi vs Richie 'Hellboy' Whitman was just a fun stand up brawl. No takedown attempts, just to guys trading and seeing who can stay standing. Masaya showed heart and took some big shots before Whitman unleashed a big hook, dropping the Japanese fighter and finishing him with some ground strikes. Whitman's post-fight interview was entertaining, admitting he loves standing up and punching "What can I say, I'm a brawler".

The main event was headlined by Jesse Taylor (from season 9 TUF) and Dylan Andrews, based on the GC. Taylor is a beast and trains at Team Quest. The difference in body shape and size was quite noticeable and it was no suprise that Taylor immediately took the fight to the ground and dominated from top position. Based on what I saw last night (and other Australian cards) wrestlers from America are on different level to Aussie fighters, which makes sense considering the college wrestling programs they have in the states. With wrestlers taking over MMA right now, we need to improve that aspect in this country if we're going to produce truly world class fighters.

Back to the fight; Taylor mounted and Andrews fought hard to get back to half mount, but Taylor transitioned to side control. He slapped on a one arm guillotine and choked out Andrews before he could tap. It happened pretty quickly and my old man was puzzled because the guillotine didn't look as tight as others we'd seen during the night which hadn't caused a stoppage. I guess the best submission attempts aren't always the nastiest looking.

The AFC are obviously trying to replicate the production values of the UFC with lasers, fire, DJing etc and it was a fairly well run event but there were some awkward moments. Waiting for the live cross to start for 20 minutes with nothing happening wasn't great and neither was the rap stylings of Phrase (who?) mid way through the night.

The venue wasn't close to being full, though the announcer proudly told us we were part of a record smashing crowd for an MMA event in Melbourne.

Some kinks need to be ironed out, and some of the fighters weren't very good. They could possibly cut down the amount of fights (the event went for 4 1/2 hours) and invest in bigger names and better fighters - it's the only way they'll sell out a venue and gain traction in a pretty competitive market.

There were a few footballers ringside, including our own Roughy and Easton Wood. Ayce was also there but was sitting away from them. Gaz Jr was also there hanging with some GC mates. Geez, his head is shiny.

All in all, each of the 10 fights were entertaining in their own right and I enjoyed myself.

NOTE: GVG, is it possible to change the thread title to Mixed Martial Arts (rather than Ultimate Fighting Championships).

21-11-2010, 05:16 PM
Anyone see UFC 123? Thankfully, it was return to form after last week's German snorefest.

Our man Sots continued his win streak with a kimura sub in the 2nd round. Any other time, he'd easily be the number 1 contender but with the WEC merge it complicates things. He just needs to keep winning and he'll get his shot. Hopefully we see him in action next year in Sydney.

Nice to see Rampage take home a W. Machida didn't wake up until the third round and caught Page with some solid shots. It was a close fight but Machida just didn't press the action enough in the first 2 rounds and paid for it.

GSP vs Koschek is the next main event. Say what you will about The Ultimate Fighter, it does it's job in hyping a fight. Looking forward to seeing Koscheck get whipped.

Captain Groenewagon
22-11-2010, 12:09 PM
Anyone see UFC 123? Thankfully, it was return to form after last week's German snorefest.

Our man Sots continued his win streak with a kimura sub in the 2nd round. Any other time, he'd easily be the number 1 contender but with the WEC merge it complicates things. He just needs to keep winning and he'll get his shot. Hopefully we see him in action next year in Sydney.

Nice to see Rampage take home a W. Machida didn't wake up until the third round and caught Page with some solid shots. It was a close fight but Machida just didn't press the action enough in the first 2 rounds and paid for it.

GSP vs Koschek is the next main event. Say what you will about The Ultimate Fighter, it does it's job in hyping a fight. Looking forward to seeing Koscheck get whipped.

Aussie George must be close to a title shot. Just read he is fighting a guy named Dennis Siver in Sydney. Never heard of him. Just gott keep winning

BJ Penn appears to be settling into the Welterweight division with a stunning knockout of Matt Hughes. Add him to Chuck Liddell and Tito Ortiz as legends who are now officially past their prime

22-11-2010, 12:16 PM
Aussie George must be close to a title shot. Just read he is fighting a guy named Dennis Siver in Sydney. Never heard of him. Just gott keep winning

He fought at UFC 122 and beat Andre Winner in a pretty impressive performance. He's short but a solid 155 pounder. George got over Lauzon pretty easily in the end, I think he'll get over Siver but it won't be easy.

22-11-2010, 05:33 PM
He fought at UFC 122 and beat Andre Winner in a pretty impressive performance. He's short but a solid 155 pounder. George got over Lauzon pretty easily in the end, I think he'll get over Siver but it won't be easy.

I think Lauzon is a very good fighter as well so it was a great effort by George.

22-11-2010, 07:38 PM
I think Lauzon is a very good fighter as well so it was a great effort by George.

His cardio sucks though. He knew he had to finish George early so came out like a hurricane and gassed once Sots weathered the storm.

14-12-2010, 03:56 PM
Tickets for UFC 127 on sale now at Ticketek if you're a fight club member. If not they go on sale Thursday I believe.

I have the fight club code to buy now so PM me if you don't wish to wait.

14-12-2010, 06:58 PM
Tickets for UFC 127 on sale now at Ticketek if you're a fight club member. If not they go on sale Thursday I believe.

I have the fight club code to buy now so PM me if you don't wish to wait.

The Fight Club code is unique so is only good for one purchase (I think?).

I got 2 seats in Section 18 / Row A so pretty happy.

way out west
14-12-2010, 11:55 PM
Is it in Sydney again?

15-12-2010, 01:51 AM
The Fight Club code is unique so is only good for one purchase (I think?).

I got 2 seats in Section 18 / Row A so pretty happy.

Well I think others used it as it was posted in a public forum. I had no problems with it. It may not be teh actual Fight Club code then, either was I got tickets with it!

Glove38
16-12-2010, 11:11 PM
Couldn't get to a computer this morning, me & my mate missed out on a ticket each.

Tossing up whether we want to pay $200 for bronze seats, off ebay.

17-12-2010, 09:07 AM
Couldn't get to a computer this morning, me & my mate missed out on a ticket each.

Tossing up whether we want to pay $200 for bronze seats, off ebay.

Missed out too. There's no way I'm buying off eBay. They'll be back again.

Strikeforce is being shown at random times on 73 for anyone that's interested too.

17-12-2010, 04:59 PM
The last ever WEC event went down today and it featured the greatest MMA move ever!

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_zz3p63WSXZE/TQrst99qWTI/AAAAAAAAA-4/pduzoiHqZww/s1600/12.gif

Yes, that really happened. God, I love MMA.

Captain Groenewagon
17-12-2010, 05:30 PM
Incredible. Who is that guy?
Assume Dana will be all over him

17-12-2010, 05:52 PM
Incredible. Who is that guy?
Assume Dana will be all over him

Anthony Pettis.

He beat Henderson for the WEC Lightweight title so now that the UFC has merged with the WEC, he's the automatic number #1 contender to the winner of Edgar/Maynard.

17-12-2010, 07:13 PM
The last ever WEC event went down today and it featured the greatest MMA move ever!

Yes, that really happened. God, I love MMA.

I gotta admit, I prefer to watch a master Jiu Jitsu artist at work than a striker/kicker, but that has to be the best kick ever.

It even takes a second for the crowd to react, as if they can't believe what they just saw.

Glove38
06-02-2011, 04:14 PM
Jon Jones looks so promising.

06-02-2011, 04:16 PM
Jon Jones looks so promising.

He does, but I think its too early for a title shot. The kid could be anything and is the next superstar of the UFC, so I'm not sure why they're pushing him so hard right now. A loss to Shogun won't kill his career but it could slow him down.

However, Dana knows what he's doing and Jones is likely to come out with some tricky spinning elbow and knock Shogun out.

Captain Groenewagon
07-02-2011, 05:13 PM
He does, but I think its too early for a title shot. The kid could be anything and is the next superstar of the UFC, so I'm not sure why they're pushing him so hard right now. A loss to Shogun won't kill his career but it could slow him down.

However, Dana knows what he's doing and Jones is likely to come out with some tricky spinning elbow and knock Shogun out.

Clearly, they were booking on the fly, but doing it in the ring after the match was very cool. Would have been way cooler if Rashad snuck in behind Shogun and hit him with a chair shot WWE style!!

I guess the Vince McMahon comparisons only extend so far with Dana.

07-02-2011, 05:36 PM

I think their hands were tied. Evans is injured so Jones is next in line. He's got the momentum behind him so it makes sense from a booking stand point to make this fight happen now rather than later.

Thiago Silva is one that comes to mind that could have been put into the title fight, he's booked for UFC 130 against Rampage so it would be pretty hard to change that now. You would expect the winner of that to get a title shot.

I'm looking forward to it and I expect for Bones to come out on top at 128.

Glove38
27-02-2011, 12:38 PM
Preliminaries start at 1:00.

27-02-2011, 03:24 PM
*****SPOILERS*****

Well. And Nam Phan thought he was robbed. Such was the depth of the theft, Fukuda still thinks the judges are playing around.

Huge, huge result in Ebersole/Lytle.

01-03-2011, 06:46 PM
I went and had a good time, except for George losing. And Bisping winning. And Fitch laying on BJ the whole fight.

The main card was a bit of a snooze fest, with the Ebersole/Lytle fight the highlight. A guy in my section was ripping into Ebersole because of his unorthadox style so it was nice to see him shut up when Ebersole's hand was raised.

If Dana wants the sport to continue to grow strongly here, he needs to give us better fights. Fitch in a main event is horrible, and Jorge Rivera as a co-main just highlights how un-stacked this card was. To rub it in, the next event will feature Shogun vs Jones which could well be fight of the year.

The under card was fun with Mark Hunt's walk away KO the highlight. Seeing Arianny in the flesh was also nice.

A note on the crowd; what the hell is with everyone wanting a fight stood up and booing if the ref lets the fighters grapple? If you want to watch stand up fighting, stick to boxing you uneducated bogans ;)

Glove38
20-03-2011, 03:49 PM
Jones, just too good.

20-03-2011, 03:52 PM
Jones, just too good.

Way too big and strong. Hard to think of anyone who can physically match Jones at LHW.

Dana has his next superstar.

20-03-2011, 10:41 PM
Just watched the fight again.

Damn, Shogun ate some huge shots before finally succumbing. A true warrior.

The scary thing is, Jones hasn't even scratched the surface of his true potential. The guy has only been training MMA for 3 years and is throwing Muay Thai elbows like a Lumpinee Stadium champion.

Forget a GSP/Silva superfight - we'd see a similar result as Jones/Rua with the bigger fighter dominating. I want Jones vs Silva for the LHW belt.

21-03-2011, 12:25 PM
Outstanding is all I can say on Jones' performance. Rua is a legit world class fighter and Jones made him look second rate. :eek:

Glove38
01-05-2011, 02:25 PM
Great fight between Aldo & Hominick.

Captain Groenewagon
02-05-2011, 11:43 AM
Great fight between Aldo & Hominick.

What about "Daniel-San" Machida kicking poor old Randy Couture's teeth into retirement.
Sad end for the legend.

Steven Seagal's front kicks taking over MMA

03-05-2011, 02:51 PM
It's a flashy kick but he didn't really get hold of him. It seemed to get him on the end of his foot rather than the hard bony upper section, more a take down than a knock out blow and for that it's not the best I've seen. Have alook at some of Alexio's old footage.

Nice takedown though to give Pettis the ascendency.

16-05-2011, 03:57 PM
Anyone watching this season of TUF? Thoughts?

Captain Groenewagon
17-05-2011, 05:13 PM
Anyone watching this season of TUF? Thoughts?

Goddam TiVo failed me this week, only saw the first half hour.
Don't even know who won the wildcard match.

First time I'd seen the show this season on GO! channel, but now that One HD is also showing the heavyweight series from last year, that one is vastly superior in terms of entertainment.

Watching Rashad and Rampage go at each other is fantastic.
Brock and Junior are just too plain nice to each other.

18-06-2011, 01:11 PM
Anyone else as excited as me for the Strikeforce Heavyweight Tourney?

18-06-2011, 04:02 PM
Anyone else as excited as me for the Strikeforce Heavyweight Tourney?

Any time Overeem fights, I wet my pants.

18-06-2011, 10:26 PM
Any time Overeem fights, I wet my pants.

You should really get that looked at.