PDA

View Full Version : A Bulldog who left the kennel adjusts to life on the Gold Coast Read more: http://ww

bornadog
25-06-2011, 11:41 AM
Emma Quayle
June 25, 2011 (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a-bulldog-who-left-the-kennel-adjusts-to-life-on-the-gold-coast-20110624-1gjnp.html)

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/art-harbrow-420x0.jpg

JARROD Harbrow didn't feel old, wise or experienced when he moved to the Gold Coast late last year. When his new coaches told him to concentrate simply on shutting his opponents down, before bringing his crazy dash back, he needed them to tell him exactly what to do and reinforce that he was doing things properly.

''I'd only played a year-and-a-half down back before I got here. People talk about coming in with experience, but I still had a lot to learn about being a defender and I'm still learning,'' he said. ''I had to really get some good indications from the coaches about all of it. It took me a while to find my feet.''

His habits are starting to change. As a Western Bulldog, Harbrow liked to see space, take off and get the ball through it. At his second side he's had to settle down, and that hasn't been the only adjustment. Wherever he was on the ground, and whatever was happening in a game, the 22-year-old knew exactly where Dale Morris, Brian Lake, Ryan Hargrave and others were, and what they wanted him to be doing.