Likes Likes:  10

Poor Sportsmanship

Okay ... Long story, but I have just returned home after travelling from Perth to Melbourne to Sydney to watch the game. I annually go with mates and we try and fit in 4 games plus training sessions of multiple clubs over a six day trip.

I have been to a lot of interstate games, including all games our Dogs play here in Perth, but I have never seen such bad sportsmanship as displayed by the SCG.

1. The before game commentators saying Sydney were in such good form as they had come back against the Dockers but lost, whereas the Bulldogs were going okay and should be competitive in a few seasons time ... They even continued to say that the Bulldogs were everyone's second team (a direct shot at our new CEO or coincidence) ... Banter ... I can handle that.
    2. Bulldog theme song comes on as the Dogs enter the ground, you can hardly hear it ... Didn't think I was in the cheap seats 10 rows back right in the middle of the wing ... Maybe I'm sitting near s faulty speaker ... BLAM ... No I'm not the Swans theme song comes on and nearly blows an eardrum.
    3. Our sub never announced. Not before the game not as the sub was changed ... Not even mentioned. Whereas every Swans player introduced and the Swan sub changed announced. We are the away team ... I get it
    4. We win one of the best games I've seen us play live in all my 46 years on this earth and it sounds like the theme song is the announcer playing it through his iPhone next to the microphone. It could not be heard. We missed singing it after the game it was played so low. The reworded Up There Cazaly (Up There For Sydney) was played louder than that.

Poor sports / Bad losers ... You decide !!

What I know, DAMN that was good ... Well worth the trip
    WOOF Member 422

Re: Poor Sportsmanship

Bad sports and bad losers. The most important thing is we left a bad taste in all their mouths because we left with the four points. I assume you've been to Football Park. Forget the volume of the team song et al. try getting a win there and even so much as make a peep. Lucky to get away with your life and I'm not joking that place was scary 15-20 years ago.

I noticed the theme song was quiet on TV. Must be a huge bandwagon following if they can't handle losing

Bad sports and bad losers. The most important thing is we left a bad taste in all their mouths because we left with the four points. I assume you've been to Football Park. Forget the volume of the team song et al. try getting a win there and even so much as make a peep. Lucky to get away with your life and I'm not joking that place was scary 15-20 years ago.
    Yup ... Been to Football Park a number of times. First time I was ever there we were given a police escort out of the place after the game.
    WOOF Member 422

5. Likes Dry Rot liked this post

God awful sporting fans .
    My neighbour originally from Sydney offered me his Melbourne Storm membership last year when they lost a few games.
    Shamed him into keeping it. They're the biggest front running, celebrity fan, sports watchers in the world.

Quote Originally Posted by Scraggers View Post
    Yup ... Been to Football Park a number of times. First time I was ever there we were given a police escort out of the place after the game.
    I'll vouch for that also .
    Footy park the most hostile place I've been . ( 1991 and 93)
    Saw the dogs v West coast in 1993 and they were pretty happy with themselves after winning the flag.

Okay ... Long story, but I have just returned home after travelling from Perth to Melbourne to Sydney to watch the game. I annually go with mates and we try and fit in 4 games plus training sessions of multiple clubs over a six day trip.

I have been to a lot of interstate games, including all games our Dogs play here in Perth, but I have never seen such bad sportsmanship as displayed by the SCG.

1. The before game commentators saying Sydney were in such good form as they had come back against the Dockers but lost, whereas the Bulldogs were going okay and should be competitive in a few seasons time ... They even continued to say that the Bulldogs were everyone's second team (a direct shot at our new CEO or coincidence) ... Banter ... I can handle that.
    2. Bulldog theme song comes on as the Dogs enter the ground, you can hardly hear it ... Didn't think I was in the cheap seats 10 rows back right in the middle of the wing ... Maybe I'm sitting near s faulty speaker ... BLAM ... No I'm not the Swans theme song comes on and nearly blows an eardrum.
    3. Our sub never announced. Not before the game not as the sub was changed ... Not even mentioned. Whereas every Swans player introduced and the Swan sub changed announced. We are the away team ... I get it
    4. We win one of the best games I've seen us play live in all my 46 years on this earth and it sounds like the theme song is the announcer playing it through his iPhone next to the microphone. It could not be heard. We missed singing it after the game it was played so low. The reworded Up There Cazaly (Up There For Sydney) was played louder than that.

Love footy trips like that, must have a few great stories! Typical of Sydney and their supporters they certainly are spoilt and booing us at the end just cemented that. They should've applauded both sides for the fight they showed but no they will just boo. They didn't deserve to win anyway yet they expected it!

Is it any wonder the AFL has sacrificed its integrity to ensure Sydney are always at the top of the ladder? If they dropped out of flag contention they'd be playing in front of 8,000 supporters every week.
    Western Bulldogs: We exist to win premierships

10. Likes Drunken Bum liked this post

I love it when this happens. I love playing Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon, North Melbourne, Geelong, West Coast and Sydney for this very reason: they all sook when they lose. And there is nothing better than being abused and threatened as you leave the ground because they have nothing and nowhere to direct their rage. Their clubs (with the exception of North) are so big that nobody at the club will care that they're unhappy, the fans around them are just as devastated and there is no outlet for all that angst.

I love to be that outlet. It just confirms in my mind that I'm better than they are. That our club is better than theirs. That they have all the money, flags, sponsorship and silver-spoon treatment from the AFL and still, they lost; they're angry at me and I'm grinning my bloody head off right back at them.

#PassiveAggressiveScragger

Quote Originally Posted by boydogs View Post
    I noticed the theme song was quiet on TV. Must be a huge bandwagon following if they can't handle losing
    Our song is always played at a lower volume at all venues, it really irritates me.

My mate made a mistake of driving to Footy Park from Melbourne, many years ago. Came back to the car to find a screwdriver embedded in the bonnet.

Need to unscrew the number plates if you park in the car park.

Really they were just unhappy that the refs didn't award them more penalties.

(Edit: I stole this comment.)

16. Likes Scraggers, ratsmac liked this post

Our song is always played at a lower volume at all venues, it really irritates me.
    In the early days they used to have crowd noises coming from the PA. That was irritating. That and playing the Swans song after every goal.

I travelled along too. Was fairly standard bias shown towards the Swans in most aspects of the game. Booing at end was in my opinion directed towards the umpires for not calling Pike's mark. A few times throughout the match I was on my feet cheering a goal etc. Plenty of rubbish talk coming from behind me ie. "Get back in ya seat d**khead we'll come over the top, you wait and see". Was a great feeling at the end standing up in the stand surrounded by mopping Swans giving the big fist pump! I loved it. They are a very fair weather bunch up here and don't have the grit nor thick skin of a Bulldogs supporter.

19. Likes N/A, ratsmac, azabob liked this post