Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  20
Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Grand Final 2015 - Hawks vs Eagles

I guess what we can take from this match up is our coach is working on the game game plan and style as the two grand finalists. And once we can get some maturity, games, experiences and an extra top liner or two we can too can get to the big dance. This was after all Simpson's second year coaching the system.

All done, I think Hawthorn could replicate the blood bath from last year.

Re: Grand Final 2015 - Hawks vs Eagles

Pleased to see these two fight it out. Would have been a travesty if North and their band of merry spuds made it into the big dance.

Liked BTs call re: entertainment. Last time these 2 met in a GF it was Angry Anderson in the batmobile.

And a motorcade for people with nothing to do with footy whatsoever, including a speech by Rob De Castella channelling Borat.

Let it be so.

Angry Anderson's got a reclaim Australia rally to attend

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    In the batmobile??

Quote Originally Posted by Remi Moses View Post
    For god sake, bloody bogan. The only people that have a legitimate right to reclaim Australia are the indigenous people.

Anyone going this week?

I managed to secure 3 tickets to the Carlton Draught Front Bar at the MCG, where there is a possibility of winning tickets to the game. In my 40+ years of attending the VFL/AFL I have never been to a Grand Final. As a footy Socialist, I believe in the right for Club Members to be given every opportunity to attend and therefore have never actively sourced a ticket. However, I would love to experience the day just once before I have to go through the emotional torment of attending a GF that the Bulldogs are competing in. This year, hopefully is my last chance. Fingers crossed for the tickets.
    [CENTER][B]WOOF Member 315[/B][/CENTER]

8. Likes 1eyedog, BornInDroopSt'54, Twodogs liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by craigsahibee View Post
    Anyone going this week?

I managed to secure 3 tickets to the Carlton Draught Front Bar at the MCG, where there is a possibility of winning tickets to the game. In my 40+ years of attending the VFL/AFL I have never been to a Grand Final. As a footy Socialist, I believe in the right for Club Members to be given every opportunity to attend and therefore have never actively sourced a ticket. However, I would love to experience the day just once before I have to go through the emotional torment of attending a GF that the Bulldogs are competing in. This year, hopefully is my last chance. Fingers crossed for the tickets.
    I have been a few times over the years, but mainly through corporate invites. Even though it is the Grand Final, I just couldn't get excited on the day. However, it is a major sporting event, and good to experience as a sports lover.

10. Likes craigsahibee liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by craigsahibee View Post
    Anyone going this week?

Lucky enough to go the the 2010 GF because a family member had a spare. It was worth going to

12. Likes craigsahibee liked this post

Never been, never will till the Dogs take part.

Quote Originally Posted by PeanutsPeanuts View Post
    Never been, never will till the Dogs take part.
    Yeah I'm the same.

Quote Originally Posted by Webby View Post
    Yeah I'm the same.

Me three.

Like most, after the Prelims I was fairly bullish on the Hawks, but the more I think about the GF, the more I reckon if Eagles are within 4 goals at 1/2 time, they are a huge chance.

Hawks are pretty old and have had 3 trips to Perth in the past 6 weeks (2 of past 3).

Eagles are used to the travel, haven't left home for weeks and got the week off in week 2 of finals.

A big factor is the weather, with a warm 28 degree day currently forecast.

Also, when Hawthorn haven't dominated teams this year, they have really struggled to finish off in closer games.

If the Eagles are in touch at 1/2 time, I reckon they'll run all over Hawthorn.
    Last edited by LostDoggy; 29-09-2015 at 01:31 AM. Reason: typo

Have to say I care less about this grand final than most recently. WCE fans are a disgrace, but Hawthorn's are such smug, arrogant, bandwagoners that I can't be happy with either team being there let alone one of them winning.

It's like in the black and white days when Carlton and Essendon were competitive.
    Western Bulldogs: We exist to win premierships

Eagles are a big go! It's their time, hot day will sap whatever energy the Hawks have left after the travel they have had to do.

Kennedy at the peak of his powers will dominate and Carlton fans will struggle to keep lunch down. They were pretty flat last week so expect them to hit the Hawks from the start and if they do, could break their hearts early. If the Hawks were to get up it would have to be the hardest path ever to take and some will have won it 4 times so I just can't take them on the spoilt factor alone.

Anyway I considered us a very good side this year and won't forget how the Eagles tore us apart so any team who can smash us by a 100 has to be the winner. I would have loved a crack at the Hawks couple of weeks back we would've pushed them and because Freo were the weak link and anything could've happened had we made it.

For me the over 39.5 at $9.50 is a big go!