Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  6

Bankers And Anchors - Round 5, 2017 vs Brisbane Lions

This is the round 5, 2017 edition of the Weekly Bankers and Anchors Thread. Once the game against Brisbane Lions is concluded post your nominations for:

The Bankers = 3 guys/aspects of the game that we banked on to do the right thing during the game
    The Anchors = 3 guys/aspects of the game that weighed us down by their errors or poor play

Optional: New addition to the Bankers and Anchors Banchors 3 players we thought who were in the middle in how they went in the game neither a Banker or Anchor.

Please limit it to no more than three of each player or aspect of the game, but feel free to make honourable/dishonourable mentions. As usual try to make it constructive criticism.

Try and restrict it to individual players rather than aspects of the overall match - I will allow more freedom now as the thread seems to be going down more of the aspects of the game path so you can have 3 for each made up of aspects of the game and individual players.

The thread is named in honour of a popular WOOF Contributor, The Banker, who passed away on 22/04/2012 after a six month battle with cancer.

Re: Bankers And Anchors - Round 5, 2017 vs Brisbane Lions

B
    Matthew Boyd - most wouldn't have returned after the severe knock he suffered, he did and was important in the 3rd 1/4, epitomises the Bulldog spirit.
    Marcus Adams - strong performance.
    Clay Smith - for the courage and passion that he plays with for this Club.
    Josh Dunkley - no problem with pressure for him and will become very good.

A
    Inaccuracy, cost us valuable % and Lin Jong's kicking for goal in the 1st 1/4 was lamentable.
    Biggs and Libba, away from their best at this early stage.
    Anyone who didn't have faith at halftime

4. Likes GVGjr liked this post

Marcus Adams getting it down at both ends when needed
    Macrae looks quicker, and was dangerous up forward
    Cordy's aggressive spoils helped turn things in the 3rd

Goalkicking
    Jong's decision making and ball use
    Conceding easy goals in the first half

1. The second half of footy, was brilliant

2. Bob Murphy - 35 years old and still runs around like a 2 year old.

3. Adams for steadying the ship in the backline and taking some good grabs in the forward line.

1. AFL app and Etihad wifi - never works.

2. Etihad management - for calling security on the guy with the drum on the second level - What a pack of douche bags. The crowd was having fun, but oh no, sit down, shut up and watch the game.

3. Goal kicking - 20 behinds, not good football.

Banchor - coaching staff and defensive structure.

1st half was so laughably poor - we were sliced open with ease by the youngest team in the comp. Defensive wall was far too aggressive and the mids/forwards were not working anywhere near hard enough to pressure Brisbane's mids. It was a shambles.

2nd half was fantastic - we had Wood and Boyd covering goal side which completrly dried up the space in Brisbane's forward 50. The pressure we applied to them when delivering into forward 50 was up about 10 notches from the 1st half.

8. Thanks GVGjr thanked for this post
    Likes Happy Days, Raw Toast, 1eyedog liked this post

Banchor - coaching staff and defensive structure.

1st half was so laughably poor - we were sliced open with ease by the youngest team in the comp. Defensive wall was far too aggressive and the mids/forwards were not working anywhere near hard enough to pressure Brisbane's mids. It was a shambles.

2nd half was fantastic - we had Wood and Boyd covering goal side which completrly dried up the space in Brisbane's forward 50. The pressure we applied to them when delivering into forward 50 was up about 10 notches from the 1st half.
    Agreed. Hipwood's first three goals came from sitting on a wing and walking in behind the zone of over-committed half backs. Full credit to the staff for picking this up; it seemed as if Wood was never further than the 2nd furthest from goal at any time after halfway through the second. Switching Bob and Adams was a masterstroke as well (not that Adams should ever have been up there in the first place).

Dahlhaus - others can look at him and take note. This is the guy that absolute brings his 100% effort and commitment every single week. He would fair dinkum get his head knocked off for the club.

Macrae - disposal isn't always spot on - but he just works so hard for his team mates. One of the most unselfish footballers that has played for us. Turns up every week, and as courageous as any.

Zaine Cordy - Thought he was absolutely superb. His reading of the play, and decision making to peel off his opponent to help a team mate at the right time was top notch. There was a lot of Dale Morris about his game today. His best game for the club.

Attitude - the arrogant attitude we seem to bring to games against the bottom sides. We just never seem to knuckle down early and give ourselves an easy result against an ordinary side. To give up 13 scores from 16 entries at one point - is terrible. Simply, we are playing poorly and are fortunate to be 4-1 - but if we don't knuckle down to the task soon, we will be on the end of some poor results.

Biggs - He's going poorly. Wasn't clean and confident. Pivotal player last year, but not finding his best at the moment.

Tom Boyd - He must have gotten a rocket at half time. He was absolutely insipid in the first half, but in the first 10 minutes after half time actually competed like an AFL footballer. Fortunately for Tom, injuries to tall player mean he is a walk up start at the moment - but we can't keep carrying him.

B

32,000 to a H&A game against an interstate team
    Zaine - People are starting to see more and more of what I've been talking about for 5 years
    Winning in a 63 point turnaround playing one half of footy

A

Umpiring. Bevo mustn't have rang the umpires department yet.
    The guy walked towards our race at half time, decked in RW&B, calling out '*!*!*!*!wits. You're all *!*!*!*!wits dogs.' I was a angry too, but come on...
    Jong. Mate, you could've had a game for the ages! Three easy shots in the first. Good signs so far, but you missed an opportunity to go big.

JJ - his run so important

Roberts - took a great mark in the final quarter down back very important in the context of the game.

Picken - one of the toughest in the game and cracked in again

Our inaccuracy in front of goal - needs to improve as this in the other cases can lose you games

Deliberate out of bounds rule - difficult to implement and can lead to some controversial decisions
    Last edited by Eastdog; 23-04-2017 at 12:46 PM.

13. Thanks GVGjr thanked for this post

Have to give a banker to Bont's genius kick while on the ground to help set up Clay's goal at the end. The man is a maestro.

Banker
    Marcus Adams - kicked a goal up front, but then went back and played a solid game.
    Zaine Cordy - was his most dependable game at the level. Seemed to be in the right spot at the right time on a few occasions and was sure of himself in the air and by foot.

Anchor
    Our first half, a continuing theme
    Defence getting sucked too high up the ground, this happened a lot in 2015 and we got opened up in transition against Brisbane. Quick sides like GWS will have a field day if we get this wrong.

Banker
    Cordy- looked like a 100 game player yesterday. Really liked his aggression at the contest and the opposition.

Josh Dunkley- love the way he steps it up a notch when his team really needs it. 3 goals was great reward yesterday.

4-1- I'll take it, hasn't been pretty but gives as a very good starting point to get our teeth into the season.

Jong- 12m out directly in front and you missed. As the kid behind my said, "my nan could of kicked that and she's dead"- actually got quite a laugh out of that, should give that kid a banker.

Toyd- not nearly getting enough up forward from you at the moment.

Giving a very young and ordinary side the momentum to kick 6-7 unanswered goals. Need to be better at stopping the bleeding.
    "Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"

17. Likes N/A liked this post

Quote Originally Posted by westbulldog View Post
    B
    Matthew Boyd - most wouldn't have returned after the severe knock he suffered, he did and was important in the 3rd 1/4, epitomises the Bulldog spirit.
    Marcus Adams - strong performance.
    Clay Smith - for the courage and passion that he plays with for this Club.
    Josh Dunkley - no problem with pressure for him and will become very good.

A
    Inaccuracy, cost us valuable % and Lin Jong's kicking for goal in the 1st 1/4 was lamentable.
    Biggs and Libba, away from their best at this early stage.
    Anyone who didn't have faith at halftime
    All of Boyd's touches in the 3rd quarter were clean and crucial, great effort indeed.

B

32,000 to a H&A game against an interstate team
    Zaine - People are starting to see more and more of what I've been talking about for 5 years
    Winning in a 63 point turnaround playing one half of footy

A

Umpiring. Bevo mustn't have rang the umpires department yet.
    The guy walked towards our race at half time, decked in RW&B, calling out '*!*!*!*!wits. You're all *!*!*!*!wits dogs.' I was a angry too, but come on...
    Jong. Mate, you could've had a game for the ages! Three easy shots in the first. Good signs so far, but you missed an opportunity to go big.
    Fortunately this bloke one hopes wouldn't be typical of a Bulldog supporter, the 2 teams here in the West have them in abundance.......Fickle frontrunning fatuous flogs

20. Likes Danny the snakeman liked this post