Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  10
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Re: All The Small Things, Round 5, Vs Brisbane

It's a Don't Argue. Mark Kellet may not have invented it but he was the first player I saw who perfected it enough to turn it into a part of his game.
    Mickey Conlon invented the don't argue but Mark Kellett was certainly an early adopter. I remember Conlon once using his head for a don't argue and kicked a goal straight after it.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozza View Post
    I'm not sure what the story is with Brisbane and their trainers for interstate games - but I understand (form a mate who works with him) that the trainer that gave away the 50m lives/works in Melbourne. Feel sorry for him.

I think that, a bit like the interchange, you can look at it and go "one off, one on - how hard could it be"....but its a pretty chaotic game, and a lapse in concentration get very very severe penalties.
    Pretty sure it's standard for the non-Vic teams to have Melbourne based non-core staff.

Ie. I know Port Adelaide's matchday trainers and bench officials for their Victorian games are all Melbourne based. Not sure how it works for other away games where you only play once a season (Sydney, Brisbane etc.) although I believe Port would fly their Melbourne crew down for the Tassie matches.

Mickey Conlon invented the don't argue but Mark Kellett was certainly an early adopter. I remember Conlon once using his head for a don't argue and kicked a goal straight after it.
    Oh yeah I remember that. He was quite a player with that combination of speed and power he could change a game with ten minutes of footy.

I'm not sure what the story is with Brisbane and their trainers for interstate games - but I understand (form a mate who works with him) that the trainer that gave away the 50m lives/works in Melbourne. Feel sorry for him.

I think that, a bit like the interchange, you can look at it and go "one off, one on - how hard could it be"....but its a pretty chaotic game, and a lapse in concentration get very very severe penalties.
    Fagan said on Sunday's footy show that the trainers are Melbourne based. I don't really see what where he lived had to do with him running through the mark like that though.

The point is, that they don't do it every week - rather, a handful of times per year - so are probably more likely to make a blue.

Oh yeah I remember that. He was quite a player with that combination of speed and power he could change a game with ten minutes of footy.

Alright I will admit it, I'm actually that trainer being discussed. I just really wanted Bob to kick it, so I took the opportunity.

6. Likes Mofra liked this post

Alright I will admit it, I'm actually that trainer being discussed. I just really wanted Bob to kick it, so I took the opportunity.
    You don't look Chinese?

How was that fool who racially abused the trainer - there are some real dicks in this world.

The point is, that they don't do it every week - rather, a handful of times per year - so are probably more likely to make a blue.

Can't remember the exact quote but one of the panel said something like "so they aren't your usual trainers so there's some excuse because those trainers wouldn't be doing that job very often" and Fagan shot back "i thought it was often enough but obviously it wasn't" with a rueful smile.

You don't look Chinese?.
    Don't you oppress me.

Come and see the violence inherited in the system...

That was Jack Dyer.