View Full Version : The number 6.

08-11-2011, 06:53 PM
What's everyone's thoughts on who should get it.

Me, I would love for it to end up on the back of Libba.

08-11-2011, 07:08 PM
It should be on the back of an A Grader.

08-11-2011, 07:09 PM
None that jump out at me to be honest. I reckon if Libba didn't want his old man's number, he won't want Johnno's.

Leave it in mothballs another year.

08-11-2011, 08:10 PM
None that jump out at me to be honest. I reckon if Libba didn't want his old man's number, he won't want Johnno's.

Leave it in mothballs another year.

Libba wanted the lowest number possible last year which is why he got number 21.

This year he can 'drop' down to 6 (if allocated), 8, 11, 14, 15, 18 or 20.

08-11-2011, 08:15 PM

So who's back should it be on?

And to be fair Johnno was no 'A' grader when he took over the number.

08-11-2011, 08:17 PM
I want to see Dahlhaus get it.

08-11-2011, 08:18 PM
So who's back should it be on?

And to be fair Johnno was no 'A' grader when he took over the number.

Will have to wait and see. Johnno was a potential gun from day one.

08-11-2011, 08:20 PM
Libba wanted the lowest number possible last year which is why he got number 21.

Fair enough, thought he'd just not wanted Senior's number.

Still would leave it in mothballs.

08-11-2011, 08:22 PM
I want to see Dahlhaus get it.

Didn't Dahlhaus recently say that he wants to "... make 40 his own"? Think this was in a tv interview on 7.

08-11-2011, 08:41 PM

I disagree, he was an fast outside wngman who had a awkward kick on him.

08-11-2011, 08:43 PM
Happy to see a new draftee wear it. Not a big fan of inheriting famous guernsey numbers based on talent.

08-11-2011, 08:45 PM

He certainly was. His first game was a ripper and it didn't take him long to settle in.

08-11-2011, 08:48 PM
He certainly was. His first game was a ripper and it didn't take him long to settle in.

How long did he have the number 33? I was in Asia for the first 7 years of the 1990's so didn't see many games.

08-11-2011, 08:51 PM
How long did he have the number 33? I was in Asia for the first 7 years of the 1990's so didn't see many games.

TCD's spreadsheet would have that but we can't overlook how good Johnson was because he was moved forward when ideally he was better suited to the midfield purely on team needs.

08-11-2011, 08:55 PM
TCD's spreadsheet would have that but we can't overlook how good Johnson was because he was moved forward when ideally he was better suited to the midfield purely on team needs.

Good point, just looked it up. He had 33 for the 9 games in 1994 and then switched in 1995 to the number 6

08-11-2011, 09:27 PM
Happy to see a new draftee wear it. Not a big fan of inheriting famous guernsey numbers based on talent.

Neither am I after Everitt.

08-11-2011, 10:26 PM

Don't think Tom really cared to be honest. For me I'd love to see Luke Dahl get it.

08-11-2011, 10:42 PM

I really disagree with this.

I think once a player becomes an A Grader they should keep their number as they have made it their own. I think numbers like 3 and 6 should be given to players in their first couple of years who have a great attitude and potential to be A graders.

Lukey Dahl for mine but I'd be more than happy with Libba as well.

08-11-2011, 10:46 PM
Panos? 48 is a fairly high number, wouldn't necessarily be on talent or potential. Just a kid with a high number who would like a lower one. Can't see too many of the other 'young guns' wanting to change numbers. Maybe Picken?

08-11-2011, 10:57 PM
Don't think Tom really cared to be honest.

He did care, he wanted the lowest possible number available. Wallis had already been given the number 3, so Libba got the next lowest number that was available.

09-11-2011, 12:02 AM
T-Bone should stay in 21. We need to erase the memory of its former owner with the number of a good, true Bulldog.

09-11-2011, 07:34 AM
T-Bone should stay in 21. We need to erase the memory of its former owner with the number of a good, true Bulldog.

I had to sit there and have a big think on who was 21 before.:p

Then I remembered, I think I've already forgotten.

09-11-2011, 07:38 AM

Against Collingwood at the western oval, Tony Shaws milestone game.

09-11-2011, 07:41 AM
He did care, he wanted the lowest possible number available. Wallis had already been given the number 3, so Libba got the next lowest number that was available.

They are very good mates so I would not be surprised if Libba asked for 6 given it's only 3 lockers away from Wallis.

09-11-2011, 08:04 AM
They are very good mates so I would not be surprised if Libba asked for 6 given it's only 3 lockers away from Wallis.

It's not like the locker room is the size of Buckingham Palace.

09-11-2011, 08:19 AM

Hope you are not having a go with my user name there Gus

09-11-2011, 09:18 AM
Neither am I after Everitt.

Or Adrian Campbell and Mark Kellett

09-11-2011, 09:23 AM
Easton Wood would be my pick for No. 6

09-11-2011, 10:11 AM
Johnson was never dropped in his entire career*

(He actually did get dropped once and someone pulled out so he came back in, but only ever played reserves/VFL when coming back from injury, which hardly ever happened).

09-11-2011, 10:29 AM
I asked Luke D yesterday about changing to lower number & he said, "Nope, I'm keeping number 40, want to make it my own":)

09-11-2011, 10:39 AM
For purely selfish reasons, as I still have the number 6 on my guernsey - I'd be happy for Easton Wood or Liam Picken to take it over as they're my favourite players. :D

09-11-2011, 11:24 AM
Hope you are not having a go with my user name there Gus

Not at all.

Bob Murphy once said that "T-Bone" is Libba jnr's nickname at the club. It is a Seinfeld reference I think.

09-11-2011, 11:25 AM
For purely selfish reasons, as I still have the number 6 on my guernsey - I'd be happy for Easton Wood or Liam Picken to take it over as they're my favourite players. :D

And alternately selfishly I have a signed #29. Wood better stay in that.

But we all have to get new guernseys anyway. Hoops are back and all I have is robodog.

09-11-2011, 11:28 AM
For my money I would give number 6 to Easton Wood with Panos to get the number 18 as for the number 8 and 14 I am not so sure, Maybe big Marko to get the 8.

09-11-2011, 11:38 AM
Panos wore 18 as a junior at Rostrevor College I think. He might want to jump on that.

09-11-2011, 11:46 AM
Panos had 18 for Norwood and i think for school footy, and 33 for S.A. before joining the bulldogs.

Perhaps he'll go for 18 next year?

09-11-2011, 12:03 PM

Surprised to hear that. When I asked him he said he didn't care obviously conflicting answers.

09-11-2011, 12:04 PM
Looking back, yes he did. Panos was #18 for Rostrevor's first 22.

09-11-2011, 12:45 PM
Looking back, yes he did. Panos was #18 for Rostrevor's first 22.

Matthew Lloyd was his hero growing up, and he tried to model his game on the way Lloyd played. Hence wearing 18 his whole junior life, I'd expect him to ask for it.

09-11-2011, 01:00 PM
Matthew Lloyd was his hero growing up, and he tried to model his game on the way Lloyd played. Hence wearing 18 his whole junior life, I'd expect him to ask for it.

That's fairly compelling evidence.

He would have to really like #48 otherwise

09-11-2011, 01:01 PM

I spoke with Matthew last year at the East Meets West Day & he liked the idea of wearing number 48. I mentioned that a mate of mine growing up had also worn number 48 at the club. He knew I was talking about a fellow Greek in Zeno.

09-11-2011, 01:55 PM
I asked Luke D yesterday about changing to lower number & he said, "Nope, I'm keeping number 40, want to make it my own":)

Brian Royal made 33 his own. Who wears it now? Oh yea 33 Nathan Djerrkura. Apparently his family are like aboriginal royalty. I really hope he can cut out a sustained career with us. Brian Cordy sort of made 49 his own. No. 3 still means Ted Whitten. No. 6 is a dead heat b/w Georgie Bisset and Johnson as is no. 2 b/w Quinlan and Murphy...

09-11-2011, 01:57 PM
Brian Royal made 33 his own. Who wears it now?

Djerrkura

09-11-2011, 02:39 PM
Brian Royal made 33 his own. Who wears it now? Oh yea 33 Nathan Djerrkura. Apparently his family are like aboriginal royalty. I really hope he can cut out a sustained career with us. Brian Cordy sort of made 49 his own. No. 3 still means Ted Whitten. No. 6 is a dead heat b/w Georgie Bisset and Johnson as is no. 2 b/w Quinlan and Murphy...
and made famous by the great Charlie Sutton

09-11-2011, 04:42 PM
33 Nathan Djerrkura. Apparently his family are like aboriginal royalty.

His late father Gatjil Djerrkura was a very prominent Aboriginal elder, spokesperson, and former chairman of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission. Also has an Order Of Australia Medal.

09-11-2011, 06:40 PM
24 Gary Dempsey 31 Kelvin Templeton 7 Doug Hawkins, the numbers will relate to those names forever with me.

10-11-2011, 10:29 AM
And don't forget 51 - Michael McLean!! :)

Out of interest, does anyone know if that is that the highest number a Bulldog player has worn?

10-11-2011, 10:34 AM

Out of interest, does anyone know if that is that the highest number a Bulldog player has worn?

Libba wore 60 in his first 4 games.

10-11-2011, 03:33 PM

Mark Hunter wore 64 for a half one day at Waverly, his 44 got ripped in the second quarter and he didn't have a second jumper to change into at half time, so he wore 64 :eek:

Obviously that wasn't permanent of course.

10-11-2011, 05:52 PM
Libba wore 60 in his first 4 games.

Mark Hunter wore 64 for a half one day at Waverly, his 44 got ripped in the second quarter and he didn't have a second jumper to change into at half time, so he wore 64 :eek:

Obviously that wasn't permanent of course.

Thanks guys!! :)

11-11-2011, 11:54 AM

51 never seemed like a big number on him. It seemed light and easy to carry. The "1" helped, not to mention his nimbleness.

11-11-2011, 02:48 PM
51 never seemed like a big number on him. It seemed light and easy to carry. The "1" helped, not to mention his nimbleness.

He did wear it well didn't he? It looked ok on the back of my duffel coat too!! :D

14-11-2011, 12:22 PM
Didn't Dahlhaus recently say that he wants to "... make 40 his own"? Think this was in a tv interview on 7.

Missed it. I like the concept though. Make a number your own, rather than piggy-backing onto a former champion's number.

Easton Wood would be my pick for No. 6

Would be happy with that.

24 Gary Dempsey 31 Kelvin Templeton 7 Doug Hawkins, the numbers will relate to those names forever with me.

I took the number 7 off my guernsey when Dougie left to Fitzroy. Have never worn another number since.

14-11-2011, 12:29 PM
As a younger bloke (started following footy in the mid 90's) I always picture the #7 as West.

15-11-2011, 04:23 PM
I know it's probably not the right thread but just saw the guys doing their promo video for next year and noticed a couple of number changes. Looked as if the rest were wearing their numbers from last year.

Easton Wood- 10
Justin Sherman-11
Jason Tutt- 15

15-11-2011, 10:29 PM
As a younger bloke (started following footy in the mid 90's) I always picture the #7 as West.

My Pup's would agree, but it was always the Hawks number for mine.

Same for me with the 3 jumper, my Oldman it was EJ's and to me was Grants.