View Full Version : Coming to Dogs Home Game from interstate

03-01-2012, 11:44 PM
Me and the Missus will be making the trip from Sunny Qld to watch the Dogs v Blues games on the 21st Of july. This will be the first time I have been able to make the trip to see my beloved doggies play at home. I am really just looking for some advice on a few things:

1) We will be coming down for the weekend only. so is it worth making the trip out to Whitten oval, will there be anything open. and also is memorabilia on display to view anywhere.

2) Where would be the best place to sit at Etihad, want to be close but also have a good view.

3) Best places to stay moderately priced and good eats?

4) Any other advice you guys can give me?

Any help will be much appreciated, seems like along time to go, but would like to have it all planned sooner than later.Thanks

03-01-2012, 11:58 PM
1. There is not a lot of memorobillia at Whitten Oval, the Hall of Fame will have lots, but not sure where and when this is planned to be open. It may be worth a trip out there just to have a look at all of the changes, buy something from the bulldog shop and have a coffee at The Pound Cafe.

2.The best view is Level 2. As it is a bulldog home game, a seat on level 2 will cost you about $30 if you have a bulldog membership, otherwise about $50.

3. For moderate price, and good eats, I don't think you can beat Travelodge Southbank. Close to Fed Square, city shops and either a quick train or tram to Etihad, or if you're up for it, a 15 minute walk.

04-01-2012, 09:03 AM
4. Pre-Game beers? Id suggest the Nixon across the road from Gate 3. Good footy atmosphere before the game.

04-01-2012, 11:06 AM
4. Pre-Game beers? Id suggest the Nixon across the road from Gate 3. Good footy atmosphere before the game.

And plenty of WOOFers who'd be happy to join you for one.

04-01-2012, 11:38 AM
If your budget is low, the Enterprize hotel will do the job in spencer st. My parents stay there. decent but cheap.

04-01-2012, 12:16 PM
Thanks for all the help guys. One other thing what is the best way to travel from the Cbd out to Whitten oval, Metlink suggests bus?
Also I am only a Kennel club member which I have just renewed, does this entitle me to discount tickets, or secondly is there a way to upgrade after renewal?

04-01-2012, 12:54 PM
Best way to Whitten Oval is by train to West Footscray station.

04-01-2012, 12:59 PM
Best way to Whitten Oval is by train to West Footscray station.

Second this. From any of the City Loop stations — Flinders Street or Southern Cross being the best two — you can catch a Sydenham or Watergardens line train, which will stop at West Footscray.

If you have trouble, let me know, I live around the corner and would be happy to give you a lift.

04-01-2012, 02:08 PM
Second this. From any of the City Loop stations — Flinders Street or Southern Cross being the best two — you can catch a Sydenham or Watergardens line train, which will stop at West Footscray.

If you have trouble, let me know, I live around the corner and would be happy to give you a lift.

Thanks mate, will see how I go, How far is West Footscray station from the oval,can two reasonably unfit people walk it. Is there any place where non social club members or cotary groups can meet with players after games?

04-01-2012, 02:15 PM
Thanks mate, will see how I go, How far is West Footscray station from the oval,can two reasonably unfit people walk it. Is there any place where non social club members or cotary groups can meet with players after games?

West Footscray station is about a 2-3 minute walk from the Whitten Oval.

04-01-2012, 02:18 PM

It's right next to it. Up over the footbridge and you're pretty much there. I'm in a wheelchair and whilst the footbridge is steep, for walkers it'd be fine. I've done it quite a few times now.

04-01-2012, 02:46 PM
^^ ok cool. Whitten oval is def a must do. Anything else that is a must not miss? dogs related or not.

04-01-2012, 02:48 PM
^^ ok cool. Whitten oval is def a must do. Anything else that is a must not miss? dogs related or not.

Olympic Donuts at Footscray Station :D

If you want to come to the social club after the game, again, let us know and I'll arrange something. I have a few guest passes, and we gotta stick by our interstaters, I lived in Perth for 5 years and know exactly how you feel.

04-01-2012, 02:58 PM
^^Yeah am keen to go to the social club, would really appreciate it. Would be good to meet a few of the woofers. Olympic donuts sound like a goer!!!

04-01-2012, 04:27 PM
^^Yeah am keen to go to the social club, would really appreciate it. Would be good to meet a few of the woofers. Olympic donuts sound like a goer!!!

Best to go to the Ground on Saturday morning.

Depends what you want but plenty to see and do in Melbourne.

If you stay in a Spencer St hotel, you can wonder over to the docklands, plenty of restaurants and shopping as well, or over to the casino complex. Again, plenty of entertainment even if you don't gamble and some very good restaurants there as well. Most of them you don't need to book, just see what your fancy is and walk in.

04-01-2012, 04:28 PM
Olympic Donuts at Footscray Station :D

If you want to come to the social club after the game, again, let us know and I'll arrange something. I have a few guest passes, and we gotta stick by our interstaters, I lived in Perth for 5 years and know exactly how you feel.

I also have some guest passes so if you're running short give me a buzz. :)

04-01-2012, 05:05 PM
You guys rule, you have all been so helpful. Would love to have a beer with you all in july.

04-01-2012, 05:07 PM
You guys rule, you have all been so helpful. Would love to have a beer with you all in july.

Only if your name is Duncan.

Look forward to catching up in the Social Club after a big win:D

04-01-2012, 05:12 PM
Only if your name is Duncan.

Look forward to catching up in the Social Club after a big win:D

Lol, yep look forward to it.

04-01-2012, 08:29 PM
Ive stayed at the Enterprize in Spencer St when ive come over from Tassie, and it is a pretty decent hotel for the price, and u cant go past the location to docklands.

23-03-2012, 04:06 PM
Just wondering what the process for reserving Afl membership tickets at etihad is, I have just upgraded to the 3 game membership package. Do you just turn up at the game on the day, or can you reserve a ticket beforehand?. Wife isnt a member so will by her ticket after they are released.

On the accomodation front we managed to book a mystery hotel via wotif which turned out to be the Sofitel, so fairly chuffed.

Also can anyone recommend the best restaurants to eat at in the cbd area, not looking for 5 star but good food at average prices?

23-03-2012, 04:16 PM
Also can anyone recommend the best restaurants to eat at in the cbd area, not looking for 5 star but good food at average prices?

Depends what sort of food your looking for? CBD has plenty of great restaurants as does the Crown Complex within an easy walk from the Sofitel.

23-03-2012, 04:42 PM
Just wondering what the process for reserving Afl membership tickets at etihad is, I have just upgraded to the 3 game membership package. Do you just turn up at the game on the day, or can you reserve a ticket beforehand?. Wife isnt a member so will by her ticket after they are released.

On the accomodation front we managed to book a mystery hotel via wotif which turned out to be the Sofitel, so fairly chuffed.

With ticketing id recommend you do it before as Carlton fill the AFL members up pretty quickly. You can do it online through ticketmaster or go through any ticketmaster agency. Not sure with your membership if you can buy a guest pass otherwise you can just by a ticket for you and your missus in another area. Your membership will give you the price of admission off but you'll still pay for a reserved seat, your wife will pay the full amount.

23-03-2012, 04:56 PM

I love Wagamama. There's one on Southbank (the nicer one) and one on Exhibition. The one on Southbank is in the Southgate complex on level 2. In fact I am going tomorrow night! It's nice food and reasonably priced.

23-03-2012, 06:51 PM
Depends what sort of food your looking for? CBD has plenty of great restaurants as does the Crown Complex within an easy walk from the Sofitel.

Love Japanese food, I see Melbourne has a lot of Izakaya's, which we dont seem to have up here. Anyone had any experience with these, if so best option?.

Again I apprecaite all the help you guys are giving, I have only been to melb a couple of times, so am a bit of a newb when it comes on what to do and where to eat.

23-03-2012, 06:57 PM
With ticketing id recommend you do it before as Carlton fill the AFL members up pretty quickly. You can do it online through ticketmaster or go through any ticketmaster agency. Not sure with your membership if you can buy a guest pass otherwise you can just by a ticket for you and your missus in another area. Your membership will give you the price of admission off but you'll still pay for a reserved seat, your wife will pay the full amount.

When do the tickets usually go onsale, and how much would I be looking paying for tickets. My membership includes access to General admission seating on level 3, is there a reasonable view from up there or am I better off paying for better seats.

23-03-2012, 08:23 PM
Love Japanese food, I see Melbourne has a lot of Izakaya's, which we dont seem to have up here. Anyone had any experience with these, if so best option?.

Again I apprecaite all the help you guys are giving, I have only been to melb a couple of times, so am a bit of a newb when it comes on what to do and where to eat.

For Japanese you can't go past:

Shoya - 25 Market Lane, or if you like Izakaya then

Yu-u at 137 Flinders Lane, Melbourne 03 9639 7073 - Next block from Sofitel

of course the long standing Kenzan will be in the basement of the building you are staying in.

Lots of choices.

24-03-2012, 02:04 PM
When do the tickets usually go onsale, and how much would I be looking paying for tickets. My membership includes access to General admission seating on level 3, is there a reasonable view from up there or am I better off paying for better seats.

Level 3 is fine if you're in the first 5-6 rows. If you're an AFL member tickets go onsale the first Saturday the month prior generally but you may want to look the up.
As the game is against Carlton the first few rows of level 3 will be premium and more of a cost. If its a one off for the year i suggest level 2 as its the best place to watch football in the country (IMO).

PM if you need to know anything else or need assistance.

24-03-2012, 02:20 PM
Level 3 is fine if you're in the first 5-6 rows. If you're an AFL member tickets go onsale the first Saturday the month prior generally but you may want to look the up.
As the game is against Carlton the first few rows of level 3 will be premium and more of a cost. If its a one off for the year i suggest level 2 as its the best place to watch football in the country (IMO).

PM if you need to know anything else or need assistance.

Thanks for ther help, just sent you a pm. Level 2 might be the go.

27-03-2012, 11:37 PM
So got my membership card today, looking at the ticket options, available at the moment seem to be tickets in two areas. Jut wondering which would the better pick out of SECTION L2 43, ROW L, SEATS 61 TO 60 or SECTION L1 42, ROW C, SEATS 26 TO 25. There is about $30 differnece in price but am willing to pay the extra if the seats are that much better. Sorry to keep bugging you guys but really want this wknd in Mels to be memorable.

27-03-2012, 11:43 PM
So got my membership card today, looking at the ticket options, available at the moment seem to be tickets in two areas. Jut wondering which would the better pick out of SECTION L2 43, ROW L, SEATS 61 TO 60 or SECTION L1 42, ROW C, SEATS 26 TO 25. There is about $30 differnece in price but am willing to pay the extra if the seats are that much better. Sorry to keep bugging you guys but really want this wknd in Mels to be memorable.

Level two is the best seating in my opinion.

27-03-2012, 11:47 PM
Level two is the best seating in my opinion.

Was a bit worried that it is in row l, sounds a fair way back.

27-03-2012, 11:53 PM
Was a bit worried that it is in row l, sounds a fair way back.

Depends on preferences, but level two from row A right back is still pretty close to the action. Even the last row of L2 is still pretty good. Some people enjoy watching the match from the ground level, and if you don't mind, you will still get a good view. Eithad is a great place to watch the footy.

28-03-2012, 12:37 PM
L2, no contest

15-07-2012, 01:41 PM
Have finally bought my tickets, ended up with row a level 3 aisle 33, seem like reasonable seats. Just wondering if the offer for the access to the social club is still on offer?

16-07-2012, 01:21 PM
Have finally bought my tickets, ended up with row a level 3 aisle 33, seem like reasonable seats. Just wondering if the offer for the access to the social club is still on offer?

Happy to give you a couple of passes to the social club. PM me your address and I will post them.

16-07-2012, 09:33 PM
Thanks Bornadog, much appreciated, can you let me know if the pm doesnt come through.

19-07-2012, 10:58 PM
Is anyone going to the victory room before the game? Would be good to see Bornadog, Coondog and some I have not met like Twodogs, greystache and Gvgjr.
And off course the one and only Chops.

19-07-2012, 11:07 PM
Is anyone going to the victory room before the game? Would be good to see Bornadog, Coondog and some I have not met like Twodogs, greystache and Gvgjr.

I'm not any of those people, but if I'm there early enough, I will claim to be :)

20-07-2012, 10:57 AM
I'm not any of those people, but if I'm there early enough, I will claim to be :)

You do not need a formal invitation. ;)
Is that the best place to meet or the past players?

20-07-2012, 11:40 AM

What time will you be there, I can make sure I drop in.

20-07-2012, 02:06 PM
Say 7.00pm

20-07-2012, 02:09 PM
Say 7.00pm

ok, I will be there.

20-07-2012, 04:22 PM

I'll be going to the game but not sure what time I'll get there as I have a few things on. If I get there early enough I'll drop in.

20-07-2012, 09:09 PM

I've got some guests going with me to the footy so I won't be visiting the Victory Room.
Can't remember the last time I went there to be honest.
Chops will most likely be watching the game in front of his tele :)

20-07-2012, 10:23 PM
ok, I will be there.

Good stuff, I should have a free seat at level 1 aisle 10 row M if anyone cannot get a seat down below.

22-07-2012, 01:05 PM
Was great to meet you lads last night- thanks so much Bornadog for the guest passes, shame about the result

22-07-2012, 01:20 PM
Good stuff, I should have a free seat at level 1 aisle 10 row M if anyone cannot get a seat down below.

Where were you? Met up with a few guys including Snoop Dog, Aker39, Greystache, Slimpickens, Craigsahibee.

22-07-2012, 02:05 PM
Where were you? Met up with a few guys including Snoop Dog, Aker39, Greystache, Slimpickens, Craigsahibee.

My apologies, I tried to send you a pm, but my Internet was down. I thought I could get a social club ticket hence why I tried to pm you and Greystache.

22-07-2012, 09:08 PM
My apologies, I tried to send you a pm, but my Internet was down. I thought I could get a social club ticket hence why I tried to pm you and Greystache.

Next time.

22-07-2012, 09:12 PM
Next time.

Yes that would be good, I was at the Willi game today (although I was on the phone for half the game)