View Full Version : Game Day 2012 - R10 Western Bulldogs vs Sydney

01-06-2012, 07:32 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday afternoon game against Sydney at the SCG.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 12 points
BOG : Matty Boyd
Daniel Giansiracusa to kick the first goal.

01-06-2012, 11:42 PM
Dogs by 17 points
BOG Picken
1st Goal "The Ace"

01-06-2012, 11:42 PM
Dogs by 5 points
BOG Lake
First goal Roald Dahlhaus.

01-06-2012, 11:55 PM
Dogs by 15
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Higgins

02-06-2012, 12:42 AM
Dogs by 8 points

BOG: Griffen

First Goal: Gia

02-06-2012, 12:57 AM
I like the confidence. Is anyone going to put their money where their mouth is?

There's some good value to be had if you're confident we'll get up.

02-06-2012, 01:01 AM

Nah, not me. I only picked us so I'm not seen as a pessimist (which I actually am!) :)

02-06-2012, 01:07 AM

I'm not a betting man, but if I was $4 would be worth a $50 wager.

02-06-2012, 01:21 AM
Dogs by 5 points

BOG: Boyd

First Goal: Gia

02-06-2012, 01:29 PM
Doggies by 7
Bog - Boyd
First Goal Dahl

02-06-2012, 06:51 PM
I have got us in a multibet at the line of 21.5 which I think its pretty big for what should be a close contest.

Dogs by 5pts
BOG Griff
First Goal Dicko

02-06-2012, 06:58 PM

Ive got money on us to win with a cool $506 return if west coast also wins by over 15 points ;)

Dogs by 11

Bog Boyd

First goal Higgins

03-06-2012, 09:54 AM
Dogs by 3pts
BOG - Libba
1st Goal - Dahl

03-06-2012, 10:40 AM
Dogs by 17
BOG Dahlhaus
First Goal Gia

03-06-2012, 10:55 AM
Dogs by 2 goals
BOG Lake
First Goal Higgins

03-06-2012, 01:31 PM
DOGS by 18
BOG : Liberatore
First Goal : Cooney

Its definitely wet

http://www.snarl.com.au/cams/single/101

03-06-2012, 02:14 PM
Dogs by 20
BOG: Boyd
First goal: Cooney

03-06-2012, 02:41 PM
Dogs by 12 points
BOG = Boyd
First goal = Dahlhous

03-06-2012, 03:02 PM
Pearce in for Skinner. He is also the sub.

03-06-2012, 03:14 PM
Dogs by 20
BOG Griff
First Goal Gia

03-06-2012, 03:50 PM
Them by 17
BOG Boyd
First Goal O'keefe

Just think our inability to convert with their hard tough backline is going to make it hard
Hope I'm wrong

03-06-2012, 03:57 PM
Them by 17
BOG Boyd
First Goal O'keefe

Just think our inability to convert with their hard tough backline is going to make it hard
Hope I'm wrong

First Goal is meant to be for us? I think O'Keefe's grandfather played for the dogs. :)

03-06-2012, 04:15 PM
Bulldogs by 2 pts
BOG - Wallis
First Goal - Gia

Looking forward to an afternoon of stupendous hyrperbole from Bruuuuuuce as well.

03-06-2012, 04:16 PM
Dogs by 11
First Goal: Higgins
BOG: Cross

03-06-2012, 04:22 PM
Just can't get any clean ball. Rubbish free kick and advantage for the Swans second goal.

03-06-2012, 04:23 PM
First Goal is meant to be for us? I think O'Keefe's grandfather played for the dogs. :)

Oops sorry! I'll go cooney

03-06-2012, 04:25 PM
Bulldogs by 2 pts
BOG - Wallis
First Goal - Gia

Looking forward to an afternoon of stupendous hyrperbole from Bruuuuuuce as well.

Beginning at the 00:45 mark, scores at 0-0, he says "Well you feel like this is a low scoring game"......

03-06-2012, 04:27 PM
Higgins has started poorly.

03-06-2012, 04:29 PM
A poor start by the team, 3 goals to zip. We're not a very good starting team. In these conditions we would not want to give much more of a headstart or it will be very hard to get back in the contest.

Do we have something against switching on early in games?

Underwhelming start.

Three silly out on the fulls.

03-06-2012, 04:32 PM
Underwhelming start.

Three silly out on the fulls.

Understatement of the day... "Pathetic start" is how I'd phrase it.

Bad start especially in this weather. Lake should of probably marked that but was unlucky due to the conditions.

oh dear

03-06-2012, 04:33 PM
Oh, Brian.

All we'll do today is grab it and snap it as far as we can, just like the GC game, except the Swans aren't crap and we'll kill us on the rebound.

03-06-2012, 04:33 PM
Wallis gifted one for our first goal.

03-06-2012, 04:34 PM
One side is actually looking where they are kicking it. The other just throwing it on the boot every single time

03-06-2012, 04:37 PM
Cordy struggling to have an impact in the marking contests, he just doesn't have the body strength to be a factor.

Higgins is having a shocker.

Swans get another. I'm calling it early. Game over.

Cross & Higgins sum up our 1st quarter in 3 seconds just then - painful to see it punished less than a minute later. Really poor from Shaun

03-06-2012, 04:38 PM
This is pathetic. Our blind panicked kicking is nothing short of embarrassing.

03-06-2012, 04:39 PM
Cordy struggling to have an impact in the marking contests, he just doesn't have the body strength to be a factor.

Higgins is having a shocker.

The more I've thought about Jones' ommission this weekend, the more confused and almost angry I get - what's the MC playing at?

03-06-2012, 04:39 PM
Story of our season. Work very hard to get the ball inside 50, only to butcher the entry -kicking it out on the full, Sydney go coast to coast for a goal.

03-06-2012, 04:41 PM
We're getting smashed. I wonder how long the MC will continue picking Higgins.

03-06-2012, 04:41 PM
It's pretty much game over.... Terrible start.

03-06-2012, 04:43 PM
A lot of our guys slipping over while the Swans are keeping their feet so much better, looks like we're wearing the wrong stops.

Pathetic. 6 of the easiest goals you will see. Cordy playing ahead of Sherman in this conditions is beyond ridiculous

Where winning in the contested ball yet we are down by 5 goals.

Too easy for the Swans. We're playing dumb, dumb footy.

No spread so we're always looking away from the forward 50 when we try and kick it forward. Swans are streaming forward and cutting us up.

03-06-2012, 04:45 PM
Anyone reading the threads on Membership numbers should look at games like this.

Killing Sydney in contested ball and clearances.
So we're winning lots of the ball, and then butchering it. Again highlighting both our strengths and our glaring weakness.

Ridiculous, 42-7, game almost over at Qtr time. Getting no value from our midfield at all.

I hope this doesn't get ugly for us because at the moment its heading that way unless we get our acts together.

03-06-2012, 04:46 PM
I hope this doesn't get ugly for us because at the moment its heading that way unless we get our acts together.

Too late, it's already ugly.

03-06-2012, 04:47 PM
wow. This is disgraceful.

03-06-2012, 04:47 PM
Macca is getting bitch slapped. Our structure is woeful.

Who cares if we win the hard ball if there is no spread or system moving forward?

03-06-2012, 04:48 PM
I know B-Mac has really got a great buy in when it comes to our attack on the ball but we play like an under 9's side. Everyone just goes to the ball like seagulls to a chip.

03-06-2012, 04:49 PM
I'm not sure if we bothered to look at the radar or at the sky today. We've gone in to the game tall, and we're not smart enough to know the ball is going to be skidding over the pack. For some reason we're allowing them to be goal side of us.

I'm absolutely staggered by the way we've started the game.

8 goals straight on a day like this, shows how little pressure the Swans have had in scoring.

Well this is currently a pants down spanking isn't it?
Anyone going to get near Jude Bolton?

03-06-2012, 04:50 PM
I know B-Mac has really got a great buy in when it comes to our attack on the ball but we play like an under 9's side. Everyone just goes to the ball like seagulls to a chip.

Thank you, I've said it for 9 weeks prior to today.

03-06-2012, 04:50 PM
Game over within 10 minutes of the first bounce. Terrible effort so far, set up is dumb - so many Swans players standing off the contest to pick off our hard work. We're letting the ball spill to their advantage. No forward line at all.

03-06-2012, 04:51 PM

Surely he is not so tactically limited that he can't see the dilemma this creates?

Well now we're just allowing Sydney to create records. 9 straight goals without missing is a new Swans record.
Embarrassing.

03-06-2012, 04:52 PM
Macca is getting bitch slapped. Our structure is woeful.

Who cares if we win the hard ball if there is no spread or system moving forward?

When your forward line contains 2 immobile talls who aren't very good and 2 dreadfully slow smalls what chance do you have?

But the kicking in their is poor.

Embarassing.

Evel
Great sydneys highest first quarter score record reached. Speechless, surely we're not this terrible.

03-06-2012, 04:53 PM
Wow. Just when you think we are a competitive team they serve this up. Confused, frustrated, disappointed. Gee whiz we are bad. Absolutely no composure when we get our hands on the pill.

03-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Great sydneys highest first quarter score record reached. Speechless, surely we're not this terrible.

I reckon we are.

03-06-2012, 04:54 PM
One of the worst first quarters from us. Macca needs to give them a spray at quarter time and come out a different for the rest of the match. Going to the forward area we are all over the shop.

03-06-2012, 04:55 PM
On a weekend of massive upsets, with Dee's, Port, and now Brisbane all winning, we pull out this crap.

03-06-2012, 04:56 PM
Having a shit forward line doesn't mean we should give up 9 goals in shocking conditions. Macca's set up is getting blown to bits every where.

Picken on Jetta our only winner so far. Yay.

03-06-2012, 04:57 PM
Do any of the backman actually stay down instead of flying for the ball when the Swans pump it in to the forward line?. They must have got 4 goals with the ball going over the back and not a Bulldog in sight.

03-06-2012, 04:57 PM
Having a shit forward line doesn't mean we should give up 9 goals in shocking conditions. Macca's set up is getting blown to bits every where.

Picken on Jetta our only winner so far. Yay.

This isnot a forward line problem

03-06-2012, 04:58 PM
Can't think of a worse qtr in last decade . Nine goals in the wet against an out of form side shocking. Players getting sucked into the contest and not staying defensive side. Can only improve !

03-06-2012, 04:59 PM
You really can,t give the opposition a 40+ point start in the wet

Some bad turnovers , and the ineffective hook kick around the corner

Swans have been much better when spreading the ball , we just can,t keep using the boundary the Swans can break too easily through the corridor

03-06-2012, 04:59 PM
B-Mac is looking like a wonderful developer of people and a very poor tactican. They are very different roles, no reason why someone can't be great in one and poor in another. I really believe that's our case. I do believe getting a buy in for a system > having a good system, which B-Mac has but today, well...

03-06-2012, 05:00 PM
Lots of upsets this weekend, pretty sure we are not going to be another one.

03-06-2012, 05:01 PM
We must be in world record pace for blind hurried snaps to no one.

03-06-2012, 05:03 PM
You have to love Picko.

Massive man crush.

Better start. 2 goals to Picken in the first couple of minutes.

Picken with 2 quick goals. Intensity up a little.

03-06-2012, 05:05 PM
Our midfielder's only focus is to try and win clearances, yet they are worthless blind scrubs forward which get turned around and our midfielders refuse to put appropriate defensive effort into their far more dangerous opponents.

This is a midfield massacre.

03-06-2012, 05:06 PM
Our midfielder's only focus is to try and win clearances, yet they are worthless blind scrubs forward which get turned around and our midfielders refuse to put appropriate defensive effort into their far more dangerous opponents.

This is a midfield massacre.

Yep. Our disposal efficiency 50%. Sydney 68%

03-06-2012, 05:07 PM
How rusty is Wood?

Picken gets no credit as opposed to a Rob Murphy but i value him more highly in the team. Love him! I can see a Jude Bolton article coming up in the age this week.

We're not serious. If we can leave Dennis Lane by himself in the forward 50 then we're kidding ourselves.

Yep. Our disposal efficiency 50%. Sydney 68%

Boyd only 7 touches?

03-06-2012, 05:09 PM
This is turning into a great week as far as the draft table is concerned.

03-06-2012, 05:10 PM
How rusty is Wood?

I was suprised he came straight back in. A week in the 2's to get some run back might've been better.

Boyd, Wallis, Libba and Griffen better have got a bollocking at quarter time, no effect from any of their possessions and getting killed by their direct opponents.

What is Lake thinking?

We're not serious. If we can leave Dennis Lane by himself in the forward 50 then we're kidding ourselves.

I think Wood is notionally on him, but unfortunately it seems as if Wood is not switched on after his break.

Evel
03-06-2012, 05:11 PM
Lake getting lots of torpedo practise in.

03-06-2012, 05:11 PM
We have only taken 7 marks so far, conditions aren't great, but shows we are bombing blindly and have no spread.

03-06-2012, 05:13 PM
Well after a promising opening 3 minutes, the game and the Bulldogs has returned to type and we are only being spared by Sydney's poor kicking for goal this quarter.

03-06-2012, 05:13 PM
We have only taken 7 marks so far, conditions aren't great, but shows we are bombing blindly and have no spread.

That's a woeful stat.

03-06-2012, 05:15 PM
We really have no composure with the ball in hand. Quick kicks forward, hand pass to blokes under pressure.

It's frustrating to watch.

03-06-2012, 05:16 PM
Get a taxi Gia... And some new boots.

03-06-2012, 05:16 PM
Boy Lake is having a stinker, getting beaten by LRT.

03-06-2012, 05:17 PM
This is so frustrating.

03-06-2012, 05:17 PM
I hope we have the bye next week. Do we?

03-06-2012, 05:19 PM
We're playing like it's the wettest game in history, slipping over, fumbling, dropping marks, blindly snapping the ball forward, yet Sydney aren't having any trouble.

03-06-2012, 05:20 PM
Swap Roughead and Lake

03-06-2012, 05:21 PM
*!*!*!*! me Roughead, you've got an hour to kick it yet you blindly snap it without looking. That was Boydesque!!

03-06-2012, 05:21 PM
I hope we have the bye next week. Do we?

Yes we have our bye next week. We play after that Port Adelaide and Brisbane both at home.

03-06-2012, 05:22 PM
Great courage by Wood backing back for a mark, copping a knee for his trouble in his back.

Does a performance like this give the coach a licence to play more kids?

Higgins is a liability (again) today.

03-06-2012, 05:23 PM
Every one other than Picko is having their worst game of the year.

Who's got Shaw?

03-06-2012, 05:23 PM
Does a performance like this give the coach a licence to play more kids?

We already are.

03-06-2012, 05:25 PM
Can anyone remeber Higgins being dropped to Willy over the last few seasons??

03-06-2012, 05:26 PM
3 passes in a row!

03-06-2012, 05:26 PM
We already are.

Guys like Hill, Panos and Roberts/Talia. Smith and maybe even Hooper if they haven't already made their mind up about him.

03-06-2012, 05:27 PM
No accountability at all over the ground.... Depressing stuff.

Great courage by Wood backing back for a mark, copping a knee for his trouble in his back.

LRT is a turd.

Half time sub off Roughhead for Pearce move Murphy to forward line. Too tall up forward

Evel
03-06-2012, 05:28 PM
Is it just delivery going forward or are our forwards just playing from behind. They always seek second to the ball when kicked forward.

Are we playing in thongs? I can't think of one Bulldog player who's been able to keep their feet, just embarrassing.

Guys like Hill, Panos and Roberts/Talia. Smith and maybe even Hooper if they haven't already made their mind up about him.

If or when they deserve a game then ok, but it's no use playing them just for the sake of it.

03-06-2012, 05:30 PM
Is it just delivery going forward or are our forwards just playing from behind. They always seek second to the ball when kicked forward.

We're second to the ball all over the ground.

03-06-2012, 05:31 PM
Are we playing in thongs? I can't think of one Bulldog player who's been able to keep their feet, just embarrassing.
A lot of our guys like going to ground. Gia, Cross, Higgins... they dive first. Problem today is that if you fumble (which we are) you're then out of the contest.

03-06-2012, 05:32 PM
How rusty is Wood?

He has played like that the whole season except one game.

03-06-2012, 05:33 PM
Our skills just don't hold up away from the pristine conditions at Etihad. The Melbourne at the MCG, the GC game in Darwin, the GWS game in Canberra and now today have exposed our lack of composure. The difference is today we're playing a team that is of above average quality.

We won't even get near Sydney's qtr time score.

03-06-2012, 05:34 PM
Wow.... just deplorable. 46 point margin at half time.
Intensity has dropped off and not only are we gifting them the ball when we win the clearance, but now Sydney are winning an even share of the clearances themselves.

Libba, Murph and Dahl having no influence., Griffen, Cooney and Dahl going at 36%, 30% and 30% disposal efficiency respectively.
So far only Picken really playing with any sort of influence.

03-06-2012, 05:34 PM
Yes we have our bye next week. We play after that Port Adelaide and Brisbane both at home.

and we will lose those games as well.

03-06-2012, 05:35 PM
A lot of our guys like going to ground. Gia, Cross, Higgins... they dive first. Problem today is that if you fumble (which we are) you're then out of the contest.

When you're slow as treacle, you go to ground.

Macca needs to make some changes. Get one of Cordy or Roughead off and Pearce on. Maybe move Gia further up the ground and create more space in the forward line.

Moving deck chairs on the Titanic though.

03-06-2012, 05:36 PM
We managed to slow them down but its not much point when you don,t score yourself

The game is starting to open up and its going to very difficult to come back from 46 points down

Just have to commit to using the corridor and hit targets inside 50

03-06-2012, 05:36 PM
Wow.... just deplorable. 46 point margin at half time.
Intensity has dropped off and not only are we gifting them the ball when we win the clearance, but now Sydney are winning an even share of the clearances themselves.

Libba, Murph and Dahl having no influence., Griffen, Cooney and Dahl going at 36%, 30% and 30% disposal efficiency respectively.
So far only Picken really playing with any sort of influence.

How can you use the ball efficiently when you're not looking where you're kicking it.

We're playing the equivalent of football lottery.

03-06-2012, 05:37 PM
Disgusting.

I think the coaching has contributed in many respects too. Playing 3 talls (Minson, Cordy, Roughead) in wet weather footy, having no forward structure and allowing Richards to mop up and then create overlap run out of our back half.

03-06-2012, 05:38 PM
Disgusting.

I think the coaching has contributed in many respects too. Playing 3 talls (Minson, Cordy, Roughead) in wet weather footy, having no forward structure and allowing Richards to mop up and then create overlap run out of our back half.

When the likes of Higgins and Gia are responsible for stopping the run of Shaw and Mattner etc, you know you're in trouble.

03-06-2012, 05:40 PM
There are loads of reasons - we aren't spreading, we're panicing, selections...

No excuses for continually being playing from behind in our fwd 50 though.

03-06-2012, 05:41 PM
Libba has had only 4 touches (5 Tackles), Dahl 6, Murphy 6, Gia 5 and I can go on and on.

We are getting nothing out of the midfield and no run off the backline.

Macca needs to throw them around a bit, it won't hurt. Murphy forward, Higgins back, as someone said, Roughead back, Lake forward. Swans have us covered no matter how you look at it.

03-06-2012, 05:41 PM
That was a truly horrible half of football.

Our leaders were nowhere to be seen, and we lacked common sense and composure across the whole ground.

Aside from Picken and Minson I can't find any positives out of today so far. I'd be putting Higgins on the ball and telling him he has a half to justify his position in the side.

03-06-2012, 05:42 PM
How can you use the ball efficiently when you're not looking where you're kicking it.

We're playing the equivalent of football lottery.

I agree, but I also think alot of it is the guy wins possession, and there is no runners outside in a less pressured position to give it to. Why? Because all of those guys have -using our coaches fave term- -cracking in at the contest and are in no position to receive the ball, whilst the Swans players are able to swarm the guy winning the pill. End result, panicky, round the corner, blind kicks.

03-06-2012, 05:43 PM
I'm not normally a Gia/Higgins basher but..........Gia's failure to even make the effort to chase and Higgins refusal to play in front were noticeable in the second quarter.

03-06-2012, 05:43 PM
I agree, but I also think alot of it is the guy wins possession, and there is no runners outside in a less pressured position to give it to. Why? Because all of those guys have -using our coaches fave term- -cracking in at the contest and are in no position to receive the ball, whilst the Swans players are able to swarm the guy winning the pill. End result, panicky, round the corner, blind kicks.

Apparently he doesn't like outside runners, well a MEMO to Macca, you need both inside and outside.

03-06-2012, 05:44 PM
Higgins is playing from behind again this week. Twice in second quarter (late) we kicked the ball into our forward line and a Swans player marched the ball on his chest ...... and Higgins was behind him.

FFS, one of the most basic rules in football is to play in front ..... especially if you are a forward and not tall!!!

Gia did last week too but I can t bag him for it today as haven't really seen him.

03-06-2012, 05:44 PM
So far our ability to cleanly get the footy has been deplorable. Every possession seems to be a scrappy snap out of a pack to nobody or a handball as we go to ground. We are winning the contested possession count but thats because Sydney re playing smarter than us. We love winning the contested ball so they just surround the contest, let us win the ball and try and force it out to where their numbers are. We need to start manning up the Sydney bloke that sits that short kick behind the contest and actually start trying to hit targets by hand and foot instead of blinding bombing it. We have shown in previous rounds that we can link up by handball under pressure.

03-06-2012, 05:46 PM
That was a truly horrible half of football.

Our leaders were nowhere to be seen, and we lacked common sense and composure across the whole ground.

Aside from Picken and Minson I can't find any positives out of today so far. I'd be putting Higgins on the ball and telling him he has a half to justify his position in the side.

You could say the same to Murphy, Dickson and Vez.

03-06-2012, 05:46 PM
Disgusting.

Sydney are also playing tall - Mumford, Pyke and LRT and going along fine.

We are not doing the basics, keeping our feet, keeping our composure when we have the ball.

03-06-2012, 05:50 PM
Boo to the SCG redevelopment... our players having to walk a country mile just to get to and from their change rooms. Perhaps they're exhausted? ;)

03-06-2012, 05:51 PM
Here we go again.

03-06-2012, 05:52 PM
Dickson's effort on Shaw was poor.

03-06-2012, 05:54 PM
Boo to the SCG redevelopment... our players having to walk a country mile just to get to and from their change rooms. Perhaps they're exhausted? ;)

They probably should've kept walking at half time, back to the airport.

03-06-2012, 05:56 PM
What sort of kick is that Boydy?

03-06-2012, 05:57 PM
Standard

03-06-2012, 05:57 PM

How can a professional footballer under no pressure look up, see no team mate and still make the decision to kick it to the opposition?

03-06-2012, 05:58 PM
Has 100 point loss written all over it . How many times can it go over the back for goals ?

Where is our cheersquad. Obviously not on the other side as they are developing there.

Higgins just let Shaw waltz away through the corridor to set up an easy goal.

He needs a massive wake up call.

03-06-2012, 05:59 PM
18 shots on goal to 4.
If Macca cannot start to incorporate a need to spread amongst our midfield, then these sort of results will keep coming.

03-06-2012, 06:00 PM
Our blokes are slow to get back up off the ground. They don't want it.

03-06-2012, 06:01 PM
How can a professional footballer under no pressure look up, see no team mate and still make the decision to kick it to the opposition?
Made worse by the fact he's our captain. The coaches simply cannot continue to abide that sort of dumb football.
Both Eade and Macca don't seem to want to accept that our skipper needs to make some changes to the way they want him to play.

03-06-2012, 06:01 PM
18 shots on goal to 4.
If Macca cannot start to incorporate a need to spread amongst our midfield, then these sort of results will keep coming.

It's just not good enough. We are though on top with the clearances and contested possessions but the scoreboard matters the most.

03-06-2012, 06:02 PM

Heh heh.

Addison is doing ok.

Little things?

03-06-2012, 06:04 PM
Is our style so taxing as we look we need the bye?

When we play shit, we really, really play shit.

No one is prepared to work hard to provide an easy marking option so we just keep bombing away to contests.

The game's gotten so bad the commentators have resorted to detailing Craig Parry's career.

03-06-2012, 06:08 PM
The sting has well and truly gone out of this one. We now must avoid the 100 points.

03-06-2012, 06:09 PM
It's just not good enough. We are though on top with the clearances and contested possessions but the scoreboard matters the most.

No we are not even on top in those categories now. Effort has dropped considerably.
So not only are they killing us on the spread, but now they are winning more contested ball and getting first use at stoppages. Hence why the scoreboard has blown out from 46 points at half time to 68 points.
100 point belting on the cards here.

03-06-2012, 06:11 PM
Our experienced players have been so disappointing.

03-06-2012, 06:11 PM
5 Boyd clearances is worth less than one of Sydney's, why do we continue to allow him to be our one way focused ball hunter? Its beyond ridiculous

03-06-2012, 06:12 PM
No we are not even on top in those categories now. Effort has dropped considerably.
So not only are they killing us on the spread, but now they are winning more contested ball and getting first use at stoppages. Hence why the scoreboard has blown out from 46 points at half time to 68 points.
100 point belting on the cards here.

Reminds me a bit of the West Coast game in Perth last year. We just completed dropped way and there was no effort whatsoever in the last quarter when we were relatively close to them.

03-06-2012, 06:13 PM
This is embarrassing. COME ON !

03-06-2012, 06:13 PM
5 Boyd clearances is worth less than one of Sydney's, why do we continue to allow him to be our one way focused ball hunter? Its beyond ridiculous

He cracks in, so Macca is happy no doubt.

03-06-2012, 06:15 PM
Vez kicks our first goal in 50 minutes.....break out the champagne!

03-06-2012, 06:17 PM
Sydney's 3rd coast to coast goal.

Why would Addison, not blessed with any pace, and playing on a quicker opponent in Trent-Lance,play so far in front of him with Sydney ball carrier coming forward? That was always going to be a recipe for a ball coming over the top and ending with Trent-Lane running onto the ball into an open goal.

03-06-2012, 06:18 PM
Vez up forward looks at least like he'll compete, that'll be a first from a small forward for us today.

His skill level is shocking.... And in tough conditions poorly skilled players stand out even more.

I've seen very few signs of football intelligence on this field today from our players. Not to mention the complete lack of interest from many. After all of the whingeing about 6 day breaks I'd like to see our record off of long breaks. It feels like we struggle every time we have a break longer than 7 days.

Quite embarrassing now. How many goals do teams against us get goals over the back, or just running into open goal.

Cordy, roughed, higgins and Gia would have to be the slowest fwd line in the history of the afl surely :)

Another one over the back.... At least Boyd has a crack and throws his weight around . Murph 6 disposals even less leadership.

03-06-2012, 06:19 PM
If we continue to let the corridor go undefended, we're going to get sliced up. Last week it cost us the game, this week the Swans have waltzed through all game long.

Sydney's 3rd coast to coast goal.

We would've slipped over 6 times running that far.

Brett Kirk just said the Bulldogs haven't kicked it long enough today. Then Tom Harley agreed with him.

03-06-2012, 06:20 PM
I miss Adam Cooney.

03-06-2012, 06:21 PM
Far out. Every time we have a set shot on goal, I just assume we will miss it now.

03-06-2012, 06:21 PM
Brett Kirk just said the Bulldogs haven't kicked it long enough today. Then Tom Harley agreed with him.

They're both nuffies.

Haven't they been watching us bombing it in all day?

03-06-2012, 06:22 PM
I miss Adam Cooney.

It's kinda sad watching him play now.

03-06-2012, 06:23 PM
Murphy hasn't had a good year.

Think it might be worth playing Vesz up forward. I just don't think he's defensive enough to play a role as a backman, and he isn't desperate enough. He does, however, offer something up forward.

Higgins should be dropped. A lot of posters can Sherman, but I rate Justin a much better footballer than Shaun.

03-06-2012, 06:23 PM
I know it's not normally the most meaningful stat, but on today's effort I think it says a bit. Sydney have 5 players with less than 10 possessions, we have 10.

03-06-2012, 06:24 PM
The aim for the final quarter is to keep the margin under 100 points and win the quarter at least.

03-06-2012, 06:24 PM

Disagree. Great handball over the head in traffic to Vezpremi for a goal. Did you catch that?
God, if I was there I'd be bursting all the blood vessels in my throat.

03-06-2012, 06:25 PM
Roughead has to be the worst set shot in the AFL, his kicks don't swing or spin badly, they're just never ever on line. I'd prefer Jones from a set shot.

A career record of 8-17

03-06-2012, 06:25 PM

He's a shadow of the player he was.

03-06-2012, 06:26 PM

His knees are the concern for him.

03-06-2012, 06:26 PM
Roughead has to be three worst set shot in the AFL, his kicked don't swing or spin badly, they're just never ever on line. I'd prefer Jones from a set shot.

A career record of 8-17

I reckon Cordy would be worse if he could hold enough marks to have 25 shots at goal.

03-06-2012, 06:27 PM

Unfortunately, he offers nothing anymore.

His knee are the concern for him.

Yeah I heard something about that.

Disagree. Great handball over the head in traffic to Vezpremi for a goal. Did you catch that?
God, if I was there I'd be bursting all the blood vessels in my throat.

It doesn't change the fact that he is but a shadow of the player he was at his peak.
A team like Collingwood, or Geelong might be able to afford the luxury of incorporating a half lame Cooney as role player in their side, but we can't.

03-06-2012, 06:28 PM

Unfortunately, he offers nothing anymore.

Nothing. Zero? Bollocks. If he offered nothing, he wouldn't be in the team. He's not the only one who has been poor today.

03-06-2012, 06:30 PM
Bollocks. If he offered nothing, he wouldn't be in the team. He's not the only one who has been poor today.

What has Cooney do all year?

In fact, the only game he's offered anything in for the last 2 years was against Carlton in the middle of 2011.

Face facts: Cooney doesn't give us anything, and don't use the "he wouldn't be in the team" line. He's in the team because of what he used to be able to do.

03-06-2012, 06:30 PM
Murphy hasn't had a good year.

Think it might be worth playing Vesz up forward. I just don't think he's defensive enough to play a role as a backman, and he isn't desperate enough. He does, however, offer something up forward.

Higgins should be dropped. A lot of posters can Sherman, but I rate Justin a much better footballer than Shaun.

Murphy's had a very poor year, he'll never get called on it, but teams are exposing him badly defensively. It's time to move him back to the forward line.

Vez hasn't converted but you see how much difference it makes when your small forwards compete not just have a go when the situation advantages them.

03-06-2012, 06:31 PM
On the upside, Vez looks like a better option for Higgins role than Higgins.

03-06-2012, 06:32 PM
Wow. Cordy and Roughead , they'll kick a bag one day..... of points.
Sheesh they are terrible kicks on goal

03-06-2012, 06:33 PM
Face facts: Cooney doesn't give us anything, and don't use the "he wouldn't be in the team" line. He's in the team because of what he used to be able to do.

He's probably not the only one.

03-06-2012, 06:35 PM
Those that potted the North supporters yesterday; which is the worse loss ??

03-06-2012, 06:35 PM
Roughead should be instructed not to leave the Goal square, at least he's a 50-50 chance to kick a goal from there.

03-06-2012, 06:36 PM
On the upside, Vez looks like a better option for Higgins role than Higgins.

What's the Higgins role?

03-06-2012, 06:37 PM
Those that potted the North supporters yesterday; which is the worse loss ??

This is on par with North's I'd say.

03-06-2012, 06:39 PM
Well done Minson. Give it back.

03-06-2012, 06:39 PM

In fact, the only game he's offered anything in for the last 2 years was against Carlton in the middle of 2011.

Dont want to start Cooney bashing but he does seemed to have a privileged position in the side. Plays bad , never gets dropped , just rested. If I was a teammate busting my arse for a game i would be none too pleased. Time to make a statement and have Higgins, Gia, Murphy and Cooney playing at Willy if their form warrants. Builds trust in the selection system. Cooney not the worst today.

03-06-2012, 06:40 PM
Our unwillingness/inability to chase today has been a disgrace. Our leaders have set the standard too.

03-06-2012, 06:41 PM
Just imagine if Goodes was playing.

03-06-2012, 06:42 PM
Picken by far our best today. Kept Jetta out and snagged a few himself. Switched onto Bolton (who was killing us) at the half, and shut him out.

Other than that, I struggle to think of anything else remotely positive.

A poor game we need to put behind us.

03-06-2012, 06:43 PM
Boyd coming up to 30 disposals but hasn't had much of an impact. The Swans midfield has dominated.

Just imagine if Goodes was playing.

We'd be even more submissive...

Dont want to start Cooney bashing but he does seemed to have a privileged position in the side. Plays bad , never gets dropped , just rested. If I was a teammate busting my arse for a game i would be none too pleased. Time to make a statement and have Higgins, Gia, Murphy and Cooney playing at Willy if their form warrants. Builds trust in the selection system. Cooney not the worst today.

Cooney is never the worst, but it's because he actually doesn't do anything -- as bad as it sounds.

Higgins is absolutely deplorable in any kind of contest. He's not desperate enough or he loses his feet every time, and I think he's actually slower than Cross.

03-06-2012, 06:44 PM
Goal to Cordy.

03-06-2012, 06:46 PM
Picken by far our best today. Kept Jetta out and snagged a few himself. Switched onto Bolton (who was killing us) at the half, and shut him out.

Vez and Austin have been just OK, I think. Picko our best by the Flemington straight.

03-06-2012, 06:46 PM
Boy Lake is having a stinker, getting beaten by LRT.

Multiple times, how ridiculous.

03-06-2012, 06:48 PM
Vez and Austin have been just OK, I think. Picko our best by the Flemington straight.

I think Minson has been ok, Griff not at his best but very little support.

03-06-2012, 06:48 PM

? Jetta has kicked 3 and Bolton well over 40 possession.

03-06-2012, 06:49 PM

And just after I post that ch 7 says that Bolton's had 41.

03-06-2012, 06:50 PM
Jetta has kicked 3!

All 3 after Picken went off him though. I think he'd had one touch up till then.

Edit: I can't verify the one touch thing. The commentator said it after Picken's first goal.

Adam is able to play a role in this team and as I watch, is running it out of the backline. Denis Cometti says ' Cooney has worked hard all day and the longer he has played, the better he has looked."
To say he offers nothing is just wrong. Obviously.

Its that bad that it's almost funny.

03-06-2012, 06:51 PM
Has Boyd ever put a ball to a team mates advantage? he must spend hours admiring how possessions he gets each week, where they go is someone else's problem.

What rubbish. Adam is able to play a role in this team and as I watch, is running it out of the backline. Denis Cometti says ' Cooney has worked hard all day and the longer he has played, the better he has looked."

And then turned backwards and handballed.

You are absolutely KIDDING yourself if you think Cooney is a good player.

He's finished; accept it.

Jetta kicked them after Picko moved onto Bolton, who's influence has been curbed since half time.

Add Picko's 2 opportunist goals and he's easily our best, which is a sad reflection on our performance.

I thought we would be competitive today. Did anyone see such a weak performance today? We are totally non-competitive. We can't take anything from today's match.

03-06-2012, 06:52 PM
It doesn't change the fact that he is but a shadow of the player he was at his peak.
A team like Collingwood, or Geelong might be able to afford the luxury of incorporating a half lame Cooney as role player in their side, but we can't.

He is working hard today. Swans are just better across the board. Can't hang 100 extra possessions around one player's neck. Woeful footy Dogs.

03-06-2012, 06:57 PM
Its that bad that it's almost funny.

I had to laugh at Roughead's OOTF on the wing before - seriously depressing

03-06-2012, 07:00 PM
92 points ... 11 percentage points for the Swans. Will the powers that be now admitt that we need a rebuild ??
We had a lot of bad losses last year, this is the most embarrassing !!

03-06-2012, 07:00 PM

You'll note in response to your comment that Jetta kicked all his goals (4 now) after Picken went off him.

And I'd be interested to see the breakup of Bolton's stats pre and post halftime. The stats say Bolton has had 41, not sure that's well over 40. In my opinion his influence has been greatly lessened since the half.

Still, I'm not arguing the facts as you've posted them. Even with Picken being our best, those figures don't lie.

03-06-2012, 07:01 PM
AFL footy is such a crap game. What are we all thinking spending so much of our valuable time watching grown men chase around a bit of pigs skin? We all need to find another passion. I'm over it ... for at least a couple of weeks this time ;)

03-06-2012, 07:02 PM
He is working hard today. Swans are just better across the board. Can't hang 100 extra possessions around one player's neck.

I'm not saying he's not working hard, and he certainly isn't to blame for our predicament today. But that does not change the fact that he is no longer an important player for us. Yes he can play a bit part, but we have enough bit parters, we need Cooney circa 2008.
Can he get back to that? I think his knee says not.
3 years ago, the opposition had to decide whether to tag Cooney or Griffen. When they tagged one, the other was able to have an influence. No without Cooney having the fitness to play a large role in the midfield, the opposition only have to worry about negating Griffen because they are prepared to gamble that Cooney ain't going to hurt them much these days, and they don't have to worry about tagging Boyd because more often than not he'll give them the ball anyway.

03-06-2012, 07:05 PM
Pathetic display today. Some other words to describe it are thoughtless and irresponsible.

We got smashed by a team that set up better than we did all day, used the ball better, ran harder and cared for eachother.

03-06-2012, 07:07 PM

You'll note in response to your comment that Jetta kicked all his goals (4 now) after Picken went off him.

And I'd be interested to see the breakup of Bolton's stats pre and post halftime. The stats say Bolton has had 41, not sure that's well over 40. In my opinion his influence has been greatly lessened since the half.

Still, I'm not arguing the facts as you've posted them. Even with Picken being our best, those figures don't lie.

Bolton had 24 at half time according to the stats.

03-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Bolton had 24 at half time according to the stats.

Hmm so pretty good in the second half too, though I reckon he was less damaging then. Thanks Stache.

03-06-2012, 07:11 PM

Standard

Even Brett Kirk had a shot at lack of team benefit from Boyd disposals whereby Sydney were benefiting from far better use of the ball from their mid-fielders into the forward line.

Do our coaches not see this ..... or is it just everyone else notice he just boots the ball anywhere when he gets it.

03-06-2012, 07:13 PM

Some of the most extreme post loss rhetoric I've seen here in a while.

03-06-2012, 07:21 PM
The Swans worked it out very early that they had us for leg speed and just ran at every opportunity.

Shaw is a good example that he knew he could run out of the back line with no pressure what so ever.

Either Grommet is being sat on or he is having a case of the second year blues, hasn't done as much as last year and he used to run players down which I don't think I've seen much of the season.

Overall a very disappointing performance, maybe we shouldn't have long breaks between games as it didn't work this week.

03-06-2012, 07:22 PM
The Swans worked it out very early that they had us for leg speed and just ran at every opportunity.

Shaw is a good example that he knew he could run out of the back line with no pressure what so ever.

Either Grommet is being sat on or he is having a case of the second year blues, hasn't done as much as last year and he used to run players down which I don't think I've seen much of the season.

Overall a very disappointing performance, maybe we shouldn't have long breaks between games as it didn't work this week.

Shouldn't have long breaks, can't manage short breaks :eek: No wonder we can't win! ;)

03-06-2012, 07:40 PM
I'm not saying he's not working hard, and he certainly isn't to blame for our predicament today. But that does not change the fact that he is no longer an important player for us. Yes he can play a bit part, but we have enough bit parters, we need Cooney circa 2008.
Can he get back to that? I think his knee says not.
3 years ago, the opposition had to decide whether to tag Cooney or Griffen. When they tagged one, the other was able to have an influence. No without Cooney having the fitness to play a large role in the midfield, the opposition only have to worry about negating Griffen because they are prepared to gamble that Cooney ain't going to hurt them much these days, and they don't have to worry about tagging Boyd because more often than not he'll give them the ball anyway.

Fair enough. Agree to disagree.

03-06-2012, 07:46 PM
Very disappointed with today's performance especially after coming of some ok form the last couple of weeks. Our competitiveness/effort was non existent today. Picken I thought was good and Cordy and Roughead are going to be good for us down the track especially with their height but Roughead needs to improve his kicking along with Jones. Lake battled today - most of our defence is injuried so that sets us back.

03-06-2012, 07:53 PM

That's unfair. Most of it came before the game had ended.

03-06-2012, 08:03 PM

Enlighten us then :rolleyes:

Stevie Wonder can see that Adam Cooney is not even half the player he once was, nor will he ever be.

03-06-2012, 08:14 PM
Just got home from the Brisbane game and looked at the scores. WTF happened?

03-06-2012, 08:21 PM
Just got home from the Brisbane game and looked at the scores. WTF happened?

I was a bit surprised also HairyMidget. Didn't think we would lose by that much. I actually thought today we had a chance too win. You must have enjoyed the Lions-Eagles match a close one in the end.

03-06-2012, 08:41 PM
The funny thing about today was the fact that the conditions were supposed to be perfect for a contested ball side. The reality is that we are NOT a contested ball side. Winning the clearance and contested stats because you overload the contest at the expense of every other part of football is a cheap way to look like you're "getting back to basics" when you're actually going backwards.

You know, much like our captain.

03-06-2012, 08:43 PM
The funny thing about today was the fact that the conditions were supposed to be perfect for a contested ball side. The reality is that we are NOT a contested ball side. Winning the clearance and contested stats because you overload the contest at the expense of every other part of football is a cheap way to look like you're "getting back to basics" when you're actually going backwards.

You know, much like our captain.

How about the last couple of weeks? Our forward line has been the huge worry this year for us. We have been a very good contested ball side this year. We don't play too well in wet weather which we have to fix. This was like the St Kilda game this year but a lot worse. I bet after the bye will come out a different team.

03-06-2012, 09:56 PM
Disappointed is all I can really say. All the respect that has been gained just vanished in 25 minutes. I wish I turned it off after the first quarter.

03-06-2012, 10:27 PM

He's a forward who's being asked to play as a mid because our mids are predominately slow and have &^%* disposal. I'm concerned we will create second year blues by asking too much of this kid. Our captain (amoungs others) refuses to be accountable with his disposal. Poor grommet then has to chase and chase and chase because no one else has any pace. Only one thing will turn this around and that's the draft.

03-06-2012, 10:30 PM
92 points ... 11 percentage points for the Swans. Will the powers that be now admitt that we need a rebuild ??
We had a lot of bad losses last year, this is the most embarrassing !!

This post sums up my response to the loss, and is the attitude I went into the season with.

We need to rebuild.

We beat GWS, Gold Coast and the Demons and all of a sudden "our season is back on track".

Then we beat North, and we're "the big improvers" and finals aren't out of the question!!

But today the truth was delivered, cold on a plastic serving tray, with no cutlery.

We need to rebuild. We need pace and class to complement the grunt.

I've had a gut full of grunt, embellished with grunt and lightly seasoned with grunt, served with a farce of slowly roasted grunt, ( and a complementary side salad of skilled, but slow, one way runners).

Okay, that's a good old fashioned purge.

03-06-2012, 10:36 PM
This post sums up my response to the loss, and is the attitude I went into the season with.

We need to rebuild.

We beat GWS, Gold Coast and the Demons and all of a sudden "our season is back on track".

Then we beat North, and we're "the big improvers" and finals aren't out of the question!!

But today the truth was delivered, cold on a plastic serving tray, with no cutlery.

We need to rebuild. We need pace and class to complement the grunt.

I've had a gut full of grunt, embellished with grunt and lightly seasoned with grunt, served with a farce of slowly roasted grunt, ( and a complementary side salad of skilled, but slow, one way runners).

Okay, that's a good old fashioned purge.

Very true there Dancin' Dougy. Our 4 wins have come against teams that are really bad. Today's match against Sydney is a good indicator of where we are at. That first quarter killed it for us.

03-06-2012, 10:37 PM
Well what can be said.
I genuinely believed we could win this but collectively we were just not there and never in the game.
The defensive set ups were non existent and we got killed for run.

I can't believe we are that bad. Is it possible that the accumulation of the successive short breaks with the Darwin game has just taken too much out of players.

It was reminiscent of the West Coast game last year when we had been subjected to short breaks and travel through the previous month.

Hopefully the bye will allow them to rejuvenate and be ready to get a result against Port Adelaide.

Redemption97
03-06-2012, 11:11 PM
Two things from today that stood out above the other not so positive things. 1 our skill level out of the clearance was very poor. 2 our ability to apply defensive pressure in our forward line was terrible, too big too slow! Sydney were great though credit to them, they played great footy and have some wonderful skill on the inside and some really dangerous outside players... Something we really don't have enough of at the doggies. I'm putting this one in the same dark place in the back of my mind where I've hid the saints game! On to Port next week!

04-06-2012, 06:02 AM
Enlighten us then :rolleyes:

Stevie Wonder can see that Adam Cooney is not even half the player he once was, nor will he ever be.

I'm not saying he is. To say he offers nothing, however, I can't agree with. He gets as much of the ball as any other mid apart from Boyd and a bit under a goal a game.

Which players at Williamstown offer more?

04-06-2012, 09:38 AM
I actually thought Cooney showed some of his old pace at times during the game. In a team as slow as us, it really stood out for mine.
We are too one paced and need to address this in the draft.

04-06-2012, 10:24 AM
Really it is a rehash of what we all know and disacussed earlier in the year and last year. We have poor skills and we are slow.

Until we address those issues we will not improve. I do not know where this fits into Bmacs overall plan but it really is time to trim the fat and find some speed .