PDA

View Full Version : Redpath: No steps back

bornadog
12-06-2012, 11:19 AM
Link (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/westernbulldogsnewsfeatures/newsarticle/tabid/4112/newsid/138217/default.aspx)

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/IntroJackRedpath_246e.jpg

Jack Redpath received a sound piece of advice when he arrived at Whitten Oval - it doesn’t matter if you're a rookie or the captain, you're still a part of the Western Bulldogs.

This sentiment has stuck with the 21 year-old as he begins his AFL career on the rookie list. With both skipper Matthew Boyd and tenacious midfielder Liam Picken having risen through the rookie ranks, Redpath is in good company.

Showing glimpses of things to come with a four goal haul for VFL affiliate Williamstown against Bendigo last weekend, you could almost forgot that his journey to the Bulldogs was not so smooth.

A labourer by profession, life was very different just twelve months ago for Redpath.

“A year ago I would have been working building houses back home - living at mum’s with mum doing my washing, my cooking, making my bed, doing everything for me,” Redpath told westernbulldogs.com.au.

“But I think I always held onto that dream and imagined playing AFL footy - I never lost faith in being able to do it.

“Even though I had a few injuries - I knew that once I got my body right and started playing footy I was always a pretty good chance.”

Rehabilitating two knee reconstructions, Redpath's aspirations for an AFL career have been put to the test.

While he doesn’t like to dwell on it, he recalls those injury hampered years as some of his toughest.

“After the second one it was pretty hard - you do your knee once and I didn’t understand what it was to do a knee,” he said.

“The second time I knew exactly what I had to do and that was probably the hardest thing because I knew what I had to go through.”

Even in his darkest days Redpath was determined to return to the field and play once more.