View Full Version : Game Day 2012 - R20 Western Bulldogs vs Richmond

10-08-2012, 01:10 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday afternoon game against Richmond at the MCG.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 12 points
BOG : Will Minson
Matthew Boyd to kick the first goal

10-08-2012, 01:55 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday afternoon game against Richmond at the MCG.

My predictions are:

The Dogs by 12 points
BOG : Will Minson
Matthew Boyd to kick the first goal

Love your optimism on all three selections:D, maybe Minson is ok.:)

Richmond by 12

BOG: Boyd

first Goal: Gia

10-08-2012, 05:25 PM
Love your optimism on all three selections:D, maybe Minson is ok.:)

I try to be optimistic at all times BAD, although, it's been a little more difficult this season. I reckon Big Will will do ok this week against Ivan Maric. :)

10-08-2012, 05:26 PM
I try to be optimistic at all times BAD, although, it's been a little more difficult this season. I reckon Will will do ok this week against Ivan Maric.

Actually that battle I am looking forward to.

10-08-2012, 07:21 PM
It's been a bloody awful season and I HATE being beaten by Richmond. I'm usually optimistic but I'm under a black and yellow cloud with respect to this game, the only silver lining upon which will be the draft picks I am dreaming of.

10-08-2012, 09:12 PM
Dogs by 5 points
BOG: Matthew Boyd
First Goal: Tory Dickson

11-08-2012, 11:25 AM
Dogs 8pts
BOG Wallis
First Goal Grant

11-08-2012, 11:30 AM
Dogs by 10 points
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Dickson

11-08-2012, 11:32 AM
Dogs by 1 pt
BOG - Boyd
First Goal - Griff

11-08-2012, 01:27 PM
Nothing but blind faith in calling this one, I'll call what I'd like to see.

Dogs by 5 pts
BOG Boyd
first goal Dicko

12-08-2012, 09:30 AM
Tigers by 23 points
BOG Wallis
First Goal Dickson

12-08-2012, 09:55 AM
Tigers by 40
BOG Delidio ( for us, Picken )
First goal: HOOPER!!! ^_^

12-08-2012, 10:20 AM
Head: Richmond by 42
Heart: Dogs by 200
BOG: Murphy
First Goal: Dicko

12-08-2012, 03:24 PM
Late change.

Pearce out, Hooper in.

DJ to start as sub.

Tigers by 30.
Dickson first goal.
Lake BOG.

12-08-2012, 04:08 PM
Did I just hear Griffen out Roberts in?

12-08-2012, 04:10 PM
Did I just hear Griffen out Roberts in?

Yes , back spasm in warm up

12-08-2012, 04:11 PM
Richmond by 50 points.
Dogs best. Murphy
First goal. Gia

12-08-2012, 04:13 PM
Even if we don't win I hope we can come close today and put in a 4 qtr effort unlike the last few weeks. Good luck to Lin.

12-08-2012, 04:17 PM
Why is Lake forward?

12-08-2012, 04:22 PM
Richmond with 2 quick goals. Not a good start for us.

12-08-2012, 04:24 PM
Why is Lake forward?

Marked one.
But it's backs play forward, forwards play back under 9s rule

12-08-2012, 04:27 PM
Slow start again not looking good.

12-08-2012, 04:27 PM
14 teenagers in the team today !!

12-08-2012, 04:28 PM
Marked one.
But it's backs play forward, forwards play back under 9s rule

So has Riewoldt.

Lake hasn't played forward all year... Why now?

12-08-2012, 04:30 PM
Smith can't kick.

12-08-2012, 04:33 PM
This is rubbish! Gee we miss more targets than we hit!

12-08-2012, 04:33 PM
This is not looking good. It is too easy for Riewoldt at the moment.

12-08-2012, 04:34 PM
100 points win to Richmond, might start drinking now.

12-08-2012, 04:34 PM
So has Riewoldt.

Lake hasn't played forward all year... Why now?
No idea.
Fast tracking Roughead on how to cop a bag full of goals.

12-08-2012, 04:36 PM
Sorry but still don't understand what is being taught here.

12-08-2012, 04:37 PM
Who said hooper would kick the first for the dogs.....

12-08-2012, 04:37 PM
Hooper goal. This Richmond side is nothing but we copping a hiding already.

12-08-2012, 04:41 PM
Let them get a lead in the first quarter. Out score them for the next three quarters and lose.

Claim the moral victory without losing draft position. All part of the plan.

12-08-2012, 04:43 PM
Let them get a lead in the first quarter. Out score them for the next three quarters and lose.

Claim the moral victory without losing draft position. All part of the plan.

Someone say tanking....hell no.

12-08-2012, 04:44 PM
Campbell looks like a good pick as rookie shows abit.

12-08-2012, 04:47 PM
6.4 to 2.3 least we aren't totally smashed yet.

12-08-2012, 04:48 PM
Campbell looks like a good pick as rookie shows abit.
Really?
Haven't seen anything yet.
Marks on the last line plays then kicks to 2 tigers.

12-08-2012, 04:48 PM
Addison has done ok down back. Great play from Gia to outmuscle Morris and mark and goal.

12-08-2012, 04:51 PM
14 teenagers in the team today !!

you mean 4 teenagers, and 10 first year players

12-08-2012, 04:51 PM
JJ looks like he has a bit of talent.

12-08-2012, 04:52 PM
Has that Arsehole Jack Riewoldt. Picken on the ground on his knees after the Cotchin goal and he walks past and pushes him in the chest.

12-08-2012, 04:56 PM
Our Taskmaster. Put lake forward again. Tigers goal

12-08-2012, 04:59 PM
The dogs are not putting in any second efforts, how can u win or be competitive if your not back up a team mate, running on to take the ball again.....we have no run and carry players at the moment.

12-08-2012, 05:01 PM
Good goal to Wallis.

What an awful game.
Our kicking as bad as Richmond 3 years back.
Richmond now are pretty bad too.

Sherman has really gotta go...he looks lost, confused....is he friends with Libba.....lol

12-08-2012, 05:02 PM
Our Taskmaster. Put lake forward again. Tigers goal

Yep should wait for the last 15 minutes when the game is lost before moving him forward, that's the coaching of a mastermind.

12-08-2012, 05:03 PM
Yep should wait for the last 15 minutes when the game is lost before moving him forward, that's the coaching of a mastermind.

I thought that was a mistake starting Lake forward. Were coming back and showing a bit.

12-08-2012, 05:07 PM
Is Richmond the ugliest side going around? Some of roughest heads. Bogans?
Maric, Martin, King, Tuck.

12-08-2012, 05:08 PM
2nd half. Lets see if we can keep up with them. This will test our fitness.

12-08-2012, 05:09 PM

? The game changed in our favour in the first quarter when Lake moved to backline.
Only our taskmaster couldn't see that.

12-08-2012, 05:13 PM
Roughead looking good now on Riewoldt spoiling and taking some good marks.

12-08-2012, 05:16 PM
I'd sub Roberts for Campbell at half time - giving us nothing

12-08-2012, 05:20 PM
What a good player Gia is.

12-08-2012, 05:24 PM
What a good player Gia is.

You tell me.

12-08-2012, 05:24 PM
Skinner, Sherman, DJ all lost like Little Bo peeps sheep.

12-08-2012, 05:28 PM

Skinner doesn't even look like winning a contest. He's been playing in defence but I'd sub in Roberts and play him forward.

Sherman has 6 touches at 1/2 time from a guy who's played nearly 150 games. Not good enough.

12-08-2012, 05:28 PM

They certainly do, DJ is the best of the lot and that is saying something.

12-08-2012, 05:30 PM
What have you guys thought of Lin Jong's debut so far.

12-08-2012, 05:30 PM
Tory Dickson is such a clever player, seems to always have time and space.

If he was in a good team he'd kick plus 50 goals.

I like the look of JJ, has pace poise and uses the ball well enough.

12-08-2012, 05:32 PM
Skinner doesn't even look like winning a contest. He's been playing in defence but I'd sub in Roberts and play him forward.

Yes that would be a good move.

I should have added Campbell to that list, and Minson is giving us nothing around the ground.

Having said that the two Rookie upgrades in JJ and Jong are doing all right and Smith is playing well and at this rate will rack up 30 disposals by fulltime.

12-08-2012, 05:33 PM
Despite all the doom and gloom there are some promising signs. A bit of a clean out and some good drafting who knows next season may not be that bad.

We need to play the other players on the list that haven't played so we can make a decision at the end of the year.

12-08-2012, 05:33 PM
What have you guys thought of Lin Jong's debut so far.

He has made some errors but throws himself about, got a wingman type feel to him, like to see what he would do with some run and carry.

12-08-2012, 05:34 PM
Despite all the doom and gloom there are some promising signs. A bit of a clean out and some good drafting who knows next season may not be that bad.

We need to play the other players on the list that haven't played so we can make a decision at the end of the year.

Who is left to play?

Panos and Hill.

As I said in an earlier post our challenge is to stay in touch with them in the 2nd half. Last week we were quite good in the 1st half against North but faded badly. I hope this doesn't happen once again.

12-08-2012, 05:36 PM
Panos and Hill.

yes, sorry I forgot about them.

12-08-2012, 05:40 PM
Well the coach has certainly got a good look at a number of guys over the course of the last few weeks, hopefully it's so we can be unequicovally sure about any list management decisions we make come season end.

So far, Skinner, Sherman, Hooper and DJ aren't exactly playing themselves into a strong position for retaining their contracts.

I'd also go as far as to say that Grant should be thrown up in discussion for a possible trade. His sparing bits of good work are undermined by more frequent displays of laziness, disinterest and basic skill errors.

On the plus side, guys like JJ and Talia have shown some potential, and Jong certainly has not been overawed.

12-08-2012, 05:40 PM
Has that Arsehole Jack Riewoldt. Picken on the ground on his knees after the Dustin goal and he walks past and pushes him in the chest.

This is exactly the type of thing that if our players did they would be applauded for showing a bit of mongrel, flying the flag.

It goes on all around the ground, every game, everywhere, ever.

Sometimes you need to take off your red white and blue glasses.

Riewoldt may be an arse, but not for doing something that happens all the time.

12-08-2012, 05:43 PM
First goal .... A good start to third...well done Addison.

12-08-2012, 05:45 PM
Lake forward again....hmmm not sure about this. If he played forward all the time who could take his spot?

12-08-2012, 05:46 PM
Having said that the two Rookie upgrades in JJ and Jong are doing all right and Smith is playing well and at this rate will rack up 30 disposals by fulltime.

I was a bit on the fence about whether to elevate jj our give him a 3rd year on the rookie list, but I think he's shown enough to suggest he could command a regular spot next year.

12-08-2012, 05:48 PM
Poor tackle effort by Jong, I can forgive him in his first game, but Grant's follow up effort was just insipid.

12-08-2012, 05:51 PM
Lake forward again....hmmm not sure about this. If he played forward all the time who could take his spot?

Looking like a good move at the moment. Roughead as fullback takes his spot.

12-08-2012, 05:51 PM
Poor tackle effort by Jong, I can forgive him in his first game, but Grant's follow up effort was just insipid.

I've tried looking at Grant with the utmost optimism but I'm conceding now that he is not going to make it. Lazy, poor kicking, poor strength and no confidence. Another wasted high pick

12-08-2012, 05:52 PM
Great start!
Good to see DJ, Sherman and Zeph all have some good moments.

12-08-2012, 05:52 PM
What are we doing?:eek:

12-08-2012, 05:53 PM
what are we doing?:eek:

haha!!!

12-08-2012, 05:55 PM
I love you Liam

12-08-2012, 05:57 PM
We have answered the challenge and we are a real chance.

12-08-2012, 06:00 PM

He gives us a genuine forward target which helps the players up the field move the ball with more purpose which is a good thing. The only issue is it leaves some very young key defenders pretty exposed, although sometimes that can be the making of them.

12-08-2012, 06:01 PM
Not going to way in to the negatives, I know they are there, but I am proud of our boys for not dropping their very young heads and having a go.

12-08-2012, 06:02 PM
We have answered the challenge and we are a real chance.

Well we were 5 minutes ago, and in the blink of an eye we're back out to 4 and a half goals down.

12-08-2012, 06:04 PM
Well we were 5 minutes ago, and in the blink of an eye we're back out to 4 and a half goals down.

Have to lift again if we are any chance.

12-08-2012, 06:08 PM
Gee I wish Sherman would back himself with carry and run....

Redemption97
12-08-2012, 06:11 PM
Kick outs have been shocking

12-08-2012, 06:12 PM
Skinner has taken some good marks in the forward area. His kicking isn't too bad either.

12-08-2012, 06:14 PM
Skinner has taking some good marks in the forward.

Been ok in the 3rd. Let's not exaggerate 1 good mark.

12-08-2012, 06:17 PM
Gee Boyd does some dodgy kicks.

12-08-2012, 06:18 PM
I think that might be it for us unless we can really apply the pressure on Richmond again in the final quarter. Cotchin for Richmond is a star player who really wants to stay in the game.

12-08-2012, 06:18 PM
Gee Boyd does some dodgy kicks.

Wasn't necessarily a bad kick but it was slow to the target and Cotchin intercepted.

12-08-2012, 06:19 PM
Kick outs have been shocking

Senior players in Murphy and Boyd have cost us 4 goals that quarter with stupid kick outs and passing in the backline. Murphy's passes this year have been woeful and we all know about Boyd. Really disppointed in those two and now Richmond scoot away again.

12-08-2012, 06:19 PM
Boyd's kicking has been poor.... again.

12-08-2012, 06:20 PM
Wasn't necessarily a bad kick but it was slow to the target and Cotchin intercepted.

No, it was a bad kick.

12-08-2012, 06:22 PM

Yep, it was a horrible kick.

12-08-2012, 06:26 PM
Hopefully Lin and get a goal.

12-08-2012, 06:30 PM
Roberts is the most promising of the first or second gamers. JJ is ok

12-08-2012, 06:35 PM
Murphy's kicking in defence is a liability.

12-08-2012, 06:41 PM
Liking Roberts so far

12-08-2012, 06:42 PM

You defending him on another forum for that ordinary kick.

12-08-2012, 06:44 PM
Edwards giving Grant a bath but he shouldn't be playing back.

12-08-2012, 06:55 PM
Grant won't be at dogs next year.

12-08-2012, 06:59 PM

Is this a guess or do you have some inside news?

12-08-2012, 07:01 PM

An extremely frustrating player to watch, I think he may have a case of the Everitts, just Doesn't have a position, and like Roughead, Cordy & Jones, very inconsistent kicks for goal when he does play forward.

12-08-2012, 07:08 PM
Some mail says he is playing for his spot.

12-08-2012, 07:09 PM
You defending him on another forum for that ordinary kick.

Im on Big footy but don't go on to it anymore. I don't remember.

Test Pilot
12-08-2012, 07:11 PM

Creditble source or just a rumor?

12-08-2012, 07:11 PM
Very dissapointing once again in the end. We have to bare in mind that our average number of games today with our list was only around 75.

12-08-2012, 07:20 PM
Very dissapointing once again in the end. We have to bare in mind that our average number of games today with our list was only around 75.

Do you make this stuff up?

Our average games was 65, theirs was 67.

We had 13 under 50 games, they had 9.

We had 2 from 51-99, they had 9.

We shouldn't be that bad.

12-08-2012, 07:20 PM
Our senior players were extremely disappointing today. It's been a long season for them I know, but none of them had the ability to impose themselves on the game in the third quarter when Richmond hit back. In fact, it was the most senior players who were the most disappointing at that time.

The rebuild has got to move a few senior players on as well as the fringe players who won't make it.

12-08-2012, 07:21 PM

I heard the 75 game comment on Channel seven or something very similar.

12-08-2012, 07:23 PM
Edwards giving Grant a bath but he shouldn't be playing back.

I don't think that we should make excuses for Grant - he is puny and lacks concentration. A waste of a career looms for him. Playing back is not the issue for him.

Redemption97
12-08-2012, 07:28 PM
I agree. Grant has had plenty of time to get himself right. I won't be sad if he's offloaded... He gets pushed out of the contest more easily than our first year players

12-08-2012, 07:33 PM
Grant was the only bad player today?

12-08-2012, 07:36 PM
Very disappointing last quarter, not even a goal.

Some good signs from some of the younger players. I thought Roberts actually looked like a footballer, Talia has some talent but can't kick, JJ very good and can kick, Jong did well for a debut game, Smith had a very good first half but died in the second half, Skinner got better as the game went on and should have had 3 goals, Hooper struggled bas did Campbell.

12-08-2012, 07:36 PM
OK just finished work and have recorded it. Worth watching?

12-08-2012, 07:38 PM

up to the 14 minute mark of the third term

12-08-2012, 07:38 PM

First half of the third quarter was pretty good.

12-08-2012, 07:44 PM
Our senior players were extremely disappointing today. It's been a long season for them I know, but none of them had the ability to impose themselves on the game in the third quarter when Richmond hit back. In fact, it was the most senior players who were the most disappointing at that time.

The rebuild has got to move a few senior players on as well as the fringe players who won't make it.

Many of our senior players are disappointing on a regular basis and if they were at other clubs they would most likely be asked to retire. But our club has a history of standing by the old favourites and I guess it shows through on why we have not won a flag since 1954.

Many of the posters on here are no different either ..... some of them squeal like pigs if it is suggested that an "old favourite" should be moved on. We have a history of hanging on to them for 1-2 years too long.

12-08-2012, 07:57 PM
Many of our senior players are disappointing on a regular basis and if they were at other clubs they would most likely be asked to retire. But our club has a history of standing by the old favourites and I guess it shows through on why we have not won a flag since 1954.

Many of the posters on here are no different either ..... some of them squeal like pigs if it is suggested that an "old favourite" should be moved on. We have a history of hanging on to them for 1-2 years too long.

Macca definitely needs to keep experience on the list going forward to help the young kids out. Who would you say should go at season's end.

Redemption97
12-08-2012, 08:02 PM

I wish that was the case but of that group he was the one that disappointed me today. He just switches off and shows no work rate around the contest. He's had so much time to get a stronger body and I can't help be annoyed that he's still so light. If he does survive our post season refresh then I hope he makes me eat my words!

Murphy played ok today but his kick outs angered me while I'm on a roll. Too many poorly directed kick outs not to advantage or straight to an outnumbered dog.

On the positive... I liked Jong and the small tease we saw of Roberts. JJ again was a good contributor and Talia showed he is a competitor but he along with Clay (who also was good) need to spend the whole preseason on their field kicking.

Hooper, Skinner and Sherman... We're as good as they were bad. I don't really know how to feel about their prospects going forward?

Commentators were right in one thing they said about our side. We don't have any game breakers or absolute gun young players. Lots of good meat and potatoes but no gravy! I pray that this draft we add some real class.

12-08-2012, 08:46 PM
JJ was good today - we finally have someone we can develop to run the ball out of defence. Possibly the highlight.

Roughy very good when not required to go with a forward on a lead - in an era of zone defence, Roughy as a defender may actually be the right call (against what I expected earlier in the year).
With Robets & Talia, we may actually be set for defensive talls.

I still don't see it with Skinner - has he the worst pair of hands on our list?
Hooper battled hard, but battled.
DJ teases - he's almost there but not quite.
Sherman has everything except ticker - runs hard whch is good. Ehen there is a contest, he runs hard to the fringe of it and stops.

Gia is the smartest footballer on our list, but I don't think Dickson is far behind him - how the hell did he only just get drafted last year?

On the Wallis bandwagon in a huge way now, and was pleased with Smith as a first year player.

12-08-2012, 08:47 PM
I heard the 75 game comment on Channel seven or something very similar.

That what they said on the ch 7 coverage but thanks Mantis for correcting me. Anyways it was a very inexperienced team and I thought they did well to hang on for as long as the could.

12-08-2012, 08:49 PM

You are being very generous.
Did Sherman get lost on the way to the'G?

12-08-2012, 08:51 PM
Did Sherman get lost on the way to the'G?
Wouldn't have surprised me if he ran past it and waited by the gate for someone to handball to him.

12-08-2012, 08:55 PM
Sherman is another who spot on the list is in trouble. He just does not show enough. We need a Cotchin type player in our team to turn it on. We just don't have that.

12-08-2012, 08:56 PM
I am not saying anything because I am very upset with the way we are playing and I don't want to pick fights because I am in a bad mood but I will satisfy myself reading other people's thoughts.

12-08-2012, 08:57 PM
Murphy's kicking in defence is a liability.

Really? In a team full of poor kickers, Murphy has his share of bad'uns....but there iis still no-one else I want to see with the ball in his hands. Gets us out of trouble time and again with his run and disposal when we are under pressure.

12-08-2012, 08:58 PM
I am not saying anything because I am very upset with the way we are playing and I don't want to pick fights because I am in a bad mood but I will satisfy myself reading other people's thoughts.

Sometimes that is the best way. I can tell that we are all very frustrated with our team at the moment.

12-08-2012, 09:02 PM
Sometimes that is the best way. I can tell that we are all very frustrated with our team at the moment.

I'm not religious but bless you

12-08-2012, 09:04 PM
I'm not religious but bless you

I actually not really religious either.

12-08-2012, 09:05 PM

We shouldn't be that bad.

Did you forget that Griffen Williams Wood Dahlhaus Cross Cooney Higgins and Morris are all missing from our best team?
It doesn't leave much left in terms of experience.

12-08-2012, 09:27 PM
Did you forget that Griffen Williams Wood Dahlhaus Cross Cooney Higgins and Morris are all missing from our best team?
It doesn't leave much left in terms of experience.

Boyd, Gia, Murf, Lake, Minson & Sherman offer no experience?

12-08-2012, 09:32 PM

Which is what makes it a bad kick.

12-08-2012, 09:33 PM
Which is what makes it a bad kick.

Fair enough. In that passage of play what should have Boyd done.

12-08-2012, 09:50 PM
Boyd, Gia, Murf, Lake, Minson & Sherman offer no experience?

You are being generous to Sherman, who would be lucky to survive beyond this year. He went missing again today.

12-08-2012, 09:51 PM
You are being generous to Sherman, who would be lucky to survive beyond this year. He went missing again today.

He has another year to go with his contract as well.

12-08-2012, 09:52 PM
Fair enough. In that passage of play what should have Boyd done.

His skill execution just wasn't (isn't) good enough.

12-08-2012, 09:58 PM
Sherman, seriously, how is he even on a list?

12-08-2012, 10:02 PM
His skill execution just wasn't (isn't) good enough.

Even though he racks up the posses which is obvious his efficiency is really down.

12-08-2012, 10:07 PM
Really? In a team full of poor kickers, Murphy has his share of bad'uns....but there iis still no-one else I want to see with the ball in his hands. Gets us out of trouble time and again with his run and disposal when we are under pressure.

Murphy's kicking this year has been shocking. He cost us the Collingwood match and today coughed it up with ill directed kicks resulting in several goals.

12-08-2012, 10:20 PM
I managed to sit through it all. I knew the result so I guess I wasn't as disappointed as those that went to the game.

Some very brief notes.

Liked what I saw from our backline youth.
Fletcher Roberts was really good when he came on. Looked pretty comfortable out there at the highest level. Talia was pretty good in his second game, some real howlers by foot though. His kicking has got to improve. Roughy looking more comfortable in a defensive role as well. While those 3 kids were quite good I have no idea why they're persisting with Grant down back.

Jong was OK on debut. Seems like a player we have a lot of already though.

I thought Johannisen struggled a little in his second game. Like his run and carry though. I'm confident he'll improve.

Sherman {censored}

Gia's our best by foot. I'm feel pretty confident he'll hit a target when he gets it.

Loved Wally and Dickson's games today.

Minson probably played his worst game of the year.

Clay Smith by foot is scary and not in a good way.

12-08-2012, 10:24 PM

But he has experience which most here feel is important.

12-08-2012, 10:26 PM
But he has experience which most here feel is important.

I'd rather the empty spot on our list.

12-08-2012, 10:26 PM

Do you know this or is it a BF statement ?

13-08-2012, 12:32 AM

Me too. I hate the way certain players escape scruitiny. Senior, experienced players, well loved, but let us down terribly today with some shocking skill errors.

13-08-2012, 11:45 AM
I'm very very worried by how many of our players simply can't kick a football properly.

13-08-2012, 12:32 PM
Let's make a list of footballers who need kicking assistance.

13-08-2012, 12:51 PM

To save time make a list of players who don't.

13-08-2012, 01:07 PM
Well, I guess I'll watch the record later today.

But why are we trying to make Roughead into a KPD? I thought he was quite good against North, and it sounds like he showed some OK signs yesterday considering, but let's be honest -- Roughead is not a key defender.

Perhaps he can pinch hit there if needed, in which case this 'stint' might be good for his development, but I really hope that's all it is.

Roughead is a ruck who can rest forward. He needs to improve his goal kicking -- why isn't he doing this?

13-08-2012, 01:31 PM
Well, I guess I'll watch the record later today.

But why are we trying to make Roughead into a KPD? I thought he was quite good against North, and it sounds like he showed some OK signs yesterday considering, but let's be honest -- Roughead is not a key defender.

Perhaps he can pinch hit there if needed, in which case this 'stint' might be good for his development, but I really hope that's all it is.

Roughead is a ruck who can rest forward. He needs to improve his goal kicking -- why isn't he doing this?

What have we got to lose by playing Williams and Lake up forward and Roughead and Talia/Roberts down back for the remainder of the year?

Many sides are playing very tall players, and ruckmen in particular, up forward for some or all of the game and Roughy is well suited to play on those guys. May also help his development as a forward.

We have struggled to score at all this year and Roughy has not looked like impacting the scoreboard, whereas Lake and Williams have both looked dangerous up forward. I have long been an advocate for Lake being trialled as a Alistair Lynch-type forward in the twilight years of his career, which would take the pressure off the younger key forwards.

13-08-2012, 01:31 PM
Zeph Skinner I mentioned in an earlier post did good in the 3rd quarter taking some good marks and kicking well at goal in the forward line. I think we have to hit the ground running early this pre season because clearly we can't keep up with the opposition in games.

13-08-2012, 02:02 PM
Skinner looks like he may be gaining a bit of fitness which showed today, think he may have something to offer in the future.

I saw Jong lay a number of tackles today and just did not stop trying to pressure the ball carrier. Think he done well and is a very nice build.

Roberts, for what we could see looked confortable out there which is a good sign but we need to see more of him (obviously)

Same goes Talia

Im happy with the amount of youth we have in the side atm and think we may see some very good signs sooner rather then later.

Wallis is going to be very important for us over the coming years, reminds me of Lenny Hayes!

13-08-2012, 02:02 PM
Zeph Skinner I mentioned in an earlier post did good in the 3rd quarter taking some good marks and kicking well at goal in the forward line. I think we have to hit the ground running early this pre season because clearly we can't keep up with the opposition in games.

That we are playing Zeph Skinner is an embarrassment to our club.

Is not VFL standard.

13-08-2012, 02:08 PM

Is not VFL standard.

Who are some players on our lost right now that are in danger of being delisted.

13-08-2012, 02:22 PM
Who are some players on our lost right now that are in danger of being delisted.

My order of delistability

1. Mulligan
2. Skinner
3. Hooper
4. Gilbee
5. Hargrave
6. Panos
7. Djerrkura
8. Moles (I'm sure McCartney has him higher up the list than this)
9. Hill
10. Sherman

Veszpremi is also in the mix, we just have so many of them!

13-08-2012, 02:30 PM

1. Mulligan
2. Skinner
3. Hooper
4. Gilbee
5. Hargrave
6. Panos
7. Djerrkura
9. Hill
10. Sherman

Panos and Hill over the next few weeks hopefully will get a call up to see how the go at senior level. Gilbee and Hargrave obviously will most likely retire.

13-08-2012, 02:38 PM

1. Mulligan
2. Skinner
3. Hooper
4. Gilbee
5. Hargrave
6. Panos
7. Djerrkura
9. Hill
10. Sherman

Replace Sherman with Vespa. Replace Hill with Gia who should retire.

13-08-2012, 03:06 PM

1. Mulligan
2. Skinner
3. Hooper
4. Gilbee
5. Hargrave
6. Panos
7. Djerrkura
9. Hill
10. Sherman

Number 1 has already left the building.

13-08-2012, 03:06 PM

We should keep Veszpremi.

Gia is an interesting one, he is kicking goals and will win our goal kicking. Father time has caught him, but he is our most damaging forward.

13-08-2012, 03:40 PM

Gia is an interesting one, he is kicking goals and will win our goal kicking. Father time has caught him, but he is our most damaging forward.
Not sold on Vez - Gia is rumoured to be on base salary next year so costs us next to nothing anyway.
Would be surprised if Gia kicks more goals than Dickson next year.

13-08-2012, 03:43 PM

People have written Zephi off but I actually think that as the team develops and the ball use inside 50 improves, he will be dangerous player for us. He does need to get fitter for this to occur though.

13-08-2012, 03:44 PM
People have written Zephi off but I actually think that as the team develops and the ball use inside 50 improves, he will be dangerous player for us. He does need to get fitter for this to occur though.

I definitely see some positives in him. Hopefully he has a good pre season.

13-08-2012, 03:51 PM

Is not VFL standard.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion but I'd say you're being pretty harsh there. When indigenous boys are drafted from very remote places they basically spend the first season (if not more) just trying to get their head around the fact that the're in a big city and all that comes with that. They come from a long way back and I'm sure the club did not set expectations for Zephi that are unrealistic. They play football on instinct and need a lot of coaching with regard to defensive aspects of the game. I'm involved with a famous club here in Darwin and I know how hard it is even for some of the boys who live on the Islands to come to darwin and play let alone uprooting down to Melbourne and trying to make a career in the highest standard competition.

13-08-2012, 04:39 PM
Everyone is entitled to an opinion but I'd say you're being pretty harsh there. When indigenous boys are drafted from very remote places they basically spend the first season (if not more) just trying to get their head around the fact that the're in a big city and all that comes with that. They come from a long way back and I'm sure the club did not set expectations for Zephi that are unrealistic. They play football on instinct and need a lot of coaching with regard to defensive aspects of the game. I'm involved with a famous club here in Darwin and I know how hard it is even for some of the boys who live on the Islands to come to darwin and play let alone uprooting down to Melbourne and trying to make a career in the highest standard competition.

You're just making excuses for him.

Does everyone here realise that Skinner is older than Grant and only 9 months younger than Higgins?

His effort when he dropped that uncontested mark in D50 was cringeworthy.

The three free kicks he got were buy-a-tattslotto-ticket stuff, some players would not get three soft ones like that in a 200 game career. Other than that, his contribution was a couple of chest marks and a few scruffy handballs.

Even at VFL level he's managed just 6 goals all year.

13-08-2012, 04:44 PM
I was really disappointed in Murphys game on Sunday. Some of he's decision making/execution was just horrid.

When we made our run in the third quarter he's disposal cost us atleast 2 goals which lost all our momentum.

Or maybe he was just doing what's best for the club!!

13-08-2012, 04:53 PM

Agree

13-08-2012, 04:53 PM

Vez can't play and Gia's body isnot letting him do what he wants it to.

13-08-2012, 05:30 PM
Replace Sherman with Vespa.

Agree

Vez can't play and Gia's body isnot letting him do what he wants it to.

BD, I'm a bit confused by this. You're saying you agree that we should replace Sherman with Vezpremi but believe Vez. can't play.

I've seen enough now of Justin to believe we should do our best to move him on. He too often reminds me of a dolphin bobbing up and down alongside a boat, just there for the act. I also agree with you that Patrick wont make it on grounds that he just hasn't got a required level of endurance and pace and not enough tricks to compensate.

13-08-2012, 05:34 PM
BD, I'm a bit confused by this. You're saying you agree that we should replace Sherman with Vezpremi but believe Vez. can't play.

I've seen enough now of Justin to believe we should do our best to move him on. He too often reminds me of a dolphin bobbing up and down alongside a boat. I also agree with you that Patrick wont make it on grounds that he just hasn't got a required level of endurance and pace.

I think Sherman can play, but I believe the way he is being coached this year is wrong. He is not a "crack in" type, he is an outside runner but the coach insists he should get his own ball.

Besides, he has a contract for next year.

13-08-2012, 05:46 PM
Not sold on Vez - Gia is rumoured to be on base salary next year so costs us next to nothing anyway.
Would be surprised if Gia kicks more goals than Dickson next year.

Dickson has been our find of the year and reality is if S.Grant didn't come across we wouldn't have got him.

Dickson in a good team could kick fifty plus goals.

13-08-2012, 05:47 PM

Does everyone here realise that Skinner is older than Grant and only 9 months younger than Higgins?

The three free kicks he got were buy-a-tattslotto-ticket stuff, some players would not get three soft ones like that in a 200 game career. Other than that, his contribution was a couple of chest marks and a few scruffy handballs.

And you haven't even touched on his fitness.

13-08-2012, 06:04 PM
Dickson has been our find of the year and reality is if S.Grant didn't come across we wouldn't have got him.

Yup, one of our (few) real good news stories from the year - FWIW I'm calling JJ a good news story too. Really like what he's shown at senior level thus far.

13-08-2012, 06:09 PM
Yup, one of our (few) real good news stories from the year - FWIW I'm calling JJ a good news story too. Really like what he's shown at senior level thus far.

Good call, would be interested to hear from Williamstown watchers has JJ shown more of his run and carry at AFL level than at VFL level?

13-08-2012, 06:14 PM
Agree on Skinner.

I'd like him to develop into a dangerous player with serious x-factor qualities, but the reality is, he struggles to impact games at VFL level. His hands aren't great, he still lacks football IQ and he hasn't got the fitness. Perhaps 2/3 of those can be improved, but he's coming from a LONG way back. Longer than most draftees.

How much time can we afford to give him?

13-08-2012, 07:27 PM

Agree, considering the base he was coming off he has been outstanding. In two years time he could be a really top player.

I'd put Roberts in there too. He hasn't done anything at AFL level yet, but the way he's built up his body, been able to match it with the biggest forwards in the VFL, and show some nice composure in his first senior game is a great return from a kid who was overlooked in the draft.

Good call, would be interested to hear from Williamstown watchers has JJ shown more of his run and carry at AFL level than at VFL level?

Pretty much the same at both levels. His instinct is to take the game on but he's not a one dimensional play on at costs type that gets into trouble as often as he actually creates anything. He's bulked up considerably since he first arrived at the club and he seems this year to be using that extra strength to his advantage.

13-08-2012, 07:53 PM
Agree, considering the base he was coming off he has been outstanding. In two years time he could be a really top player.

I'd put Roberts in there too. He hasn't done anything at AFL level yet, but the way he's built up his body, been able to match it with the biggest forwards in the VFL, and show some nice composure in his first senior game is a great return from a kid who was overlooked in the draft.

Pretty much the same at both levels. His instinct is to take the game on but he's not a one dimensional play on at costs type that gets into trouble as often as he actually creates anything. He's bulked up considerably since he first arrived at the club and he seems this year to be using that extra strength to his advantage.

Murphy was jealous of Roberts' disposal against Richmond! :eek:

13-08-2012, 08:11 PM
Loved Dickson - has a forward's instincts which Jones and Cordy don't have.

First time I've seen JJ - looked impressive. Jong showed intent.

Roberts looked good while he was on the field - but I thought he was drafted as a forward?

Boyd continues to show he is not elite with his lack of foot skills.

13-08-2012, 08:54 PM
I think Sherman can play, but I believe the way he is being coached this year is wrong. He is not a "crack in" type, he is an outside runner but the coach insists he should get his own ball.

The recruitment of Sherman was wrong. If the Brisbane Lions thought highly enough of him they would have retained his services. Dahlhaus and Dickson playing in a similar position have been far more effective. Sherman has far more experience than both of them but has failed miserably. His efforts against Richmond was embarrassing.The club should cut its losses and see if a trade is possible which now appears highly unlikely.

13-08-2012, 09:31 PM

Could be traded though. I reckon he would still have a smidgen of currency. GWS has activated the crows compo pick for davis which is likely to be pick 20. I wonder if they would swap it for our second round pick 27 or so and sherman?

13-08-2012, 09:37 PM
Could be traded though. I reckon he would still have a smidgen of currency. GWS has activated the crows compo pick for davis which is likely to be pick 20. I wonder if they would swap it for our second round pick 27 or so and sherman?

Trade please. Has done bugger all for us. List clogger. Can only succeed in a team of bright lights. Struggles when things are not going his way.

14-08-2012, 12:28 AM
The recruitment of Sherman was wrong. If the Brisbane Lions thought highly enough of him they would have retained his services. Dahlhaus and Dickson playing in a similar position have been far more effective. Sherman has far more experience than both of them but has failed miserably. His efforts against Richmond was embarrassing.The club should cut its losses and see if a trade is possible which now appears highly unlikely.

Brisbane did want to keep him, he walked out on them.

14-08-2012, 01:55 AM

The only time I saw Roberts play was very early in the season. He has bulked up significantly since then.

14-08-2012, 10:39 AM
TBH I was surprised at how good his disposal was - or maybe it's just adequate and it stands out in comparison to the rest of the side.

Plenty of players with more experience don't sub on and find the ball and deliver like he did - certainly one of the good news stories from the weekend. 8 disposals from a tall in less than a half of football in his first game, couldn't have expected anything more.

14-08-2012, 10:41 AM
I liked the way he came on - a first gamer and we were being belted - and he started giving shit and elbows to his opponent and riewolt. Cahones!

14-08-2012, 11:24 AM
TBH I was surprised at how good his disposal was - or maybe it's just adequate and it stands out in comparison to the rest of the side.

Plenty of players with more experience don't sub on and find the ball and deliver like he did - certainly one of the good news stories from the weekend. 8 disposals from a tall in less than a half of football in his first game, couldn't have expected anything more.

Roberts had 22 minutes TOG.

He has been taking the kick-ins at Willi most of the year.

I've been calling for him to get a go since about round 10!

14-08-2012, 11:28 AM
Roberts had 22 minutes TOG.

He has been taking the kick-ins at Willi most of the year.

I've been calling for him to get a go since about round 10!

You were also saying how he was too skinning for AFL. He has done a mountain of work to bulk up as well as still perform on the field.

14-08-2012, 11:47 AM
You were also saying how he was too skinning for AFL. He has done a mountain of work to bulk up as well as still perform on the field.

I thought he was Ayce Cordy skinny when we drafted him. He's put on a heap of bulk since then.

14-08-2012, 12:04 PM
I thought he was Ayce Cordy skinny when we drafted him. He's put on a heap of bulk since then.

9kg's this year. Another 10 in the next 2 years is realistic and would put him in the low 100kg's range which would be about ideal.

14-08-2012, 07:51 PM

Clay Smith. I don't think I'm exaggerating when I say he's the worst kick I've ever seen at AFL/VFL level. I know he's got a lot going for him, and I don't dislike him but...........wow.

Talia
Wallis
Jong
Wood
Addison
Djerkurra
Sherman

-------------------------------------
Grant
Jones
Cordy..

All of these guys are just cringeworthy set shots. And they're all supposed to be forwards.
----------------------------------------
Cross Picken and Boyd, maybe passable but you wouldn't say kicking was a major weapon in their arsenal.

Feel free to add or subtract from this list

14-08-2012, 08:44 PM
James Manson?

14-08-2012, 10:30 PM

Agree. My suggestion is that he is delisted and redrafted as a rookie. Another year in the magoos and let's see if he gets it together on the skills side. Physically speaking, he certainly offers something. It's a bit like the game is too fast for him in the seniors at the moment. Only time will tell if he adapts to it. He can do this as a rookie.

14-08-2012, 10:43 PM

Spot on. The fact that he is our equal most effective forward (with Dickson) should not stop him retiring gracefully at the end of this season.

14-08-2012, 10:56 PM
Spot on. The fact that he is our equal most effective forward (with Dickson) should not stop him retiring gracefully at the end of this season.

Would you retire and give up your last season of football income?

15-08-2012, 12:58 AM
Clay Smith. I don't think I'm exaggerating when I say he's the worst kick I've ever seen at AFL/VFL level. I know he's got a lot going for him, and I don't dislike him but...........wow.

Talia
Wallis
Jong
Wood
Addison
Djerkurra
Sherman

-------------------------------------
Grant
Jones
Cordy..

All of these guys are just cringeworthy set shots. And they're all supposed to be forwards.
----------------------------------------
Cross Picken and Boyd, maybe passable but you wouldn't say kicking was a major weapon in their arsenal.

Feel free to add or subtract from this list

Murphy! based on the last game. :eek: