View Full Version : Game Day 2012 - R23 Western Bulldogs vs Brisbane

28-08-2012, 12:43 PM
This is the discussion thread for our Sunday twilight game against Brisbane at the Gabba.
My predictions are:

Dogs by 6 points
BOG : Matthew Boyd
Shaun Higgins to kick the first goal

02-09-2012, 10:47 AM
Dogs a dozen, Dickson to kick the first goal. Minson BOG

02-09-2012, 11:27 AM
Dogs by 8 points
BOG: Matthew Boyd
First Goal: Tory Dickson

02-09-2012, 11:35 AM
Lions by 27 points (Would love for us to get up and finish on a high)

First Goal - Grant

BOG - Boyd (Followed closely by Minson in possibly his last game for us)

02-09-2012, 11:44 AM
Lions in a thriller

First goal Dickson

BOG: Griffen

02-09-2012, 12:03 PM
Bears - 27 pts
BOG griffin( tears that hack Raines up)
First Goal- higgins

02-09-2012, 12:34 PM
Dogs by 10
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Dickson

02-09-2012, 12:35 PM
As a side note, is there any chance Dicko can kick 8 today so our club's leading goal kicker for the season at least has 30 goals?

02-09-2012, 12:43 PM
Lions by 44
BOG for us Boyd
First goal Grant

02-09-2012, 12:51 PM
As a side note, is there any chance Dicko can kick 8 today so our club's leading goal kicker for the season at least has 30 goals?

Yes it could happen... Shane Loveless kicked bags.... but I think we are more likely to establish another low point, i.e. no one in the club kicks 30 this year.
The good thing about low points is - the only way is up!

Dogs by 3 points
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Dickson

02-09-2012, 01:52 PM
Lions by 1 point from a controversial free kick.
Bog: Griffen
1st goal: Lake

02-09-2012, 01:54 PM

It could be worse. :) In the 60's Merv Hobbs won the goal kicking with 16 goals. Only played 18 games of course in those days.

02-09-2012, 04:41 PM
Actually Think We Will Win Today
Dogs By 13
Dickson 5
Wallis Best
Dicko First Goal

02-09-2012, 05:18 PM
Lions by 65
Griff BOG
Griff 1st goal

02-09-2012, 05:29 PM
Lions by 47
BOG: Griff
First goal Dickson

02-09-2012, 05:31 PM
Lions by 60 points
BOG, Boyd
First goal Cooney

02-09-2012, 05:40 PM
Lake to play forward. Hopefully he gets a couple.

02-09-2012, 05:52 PM
Brisbane's press is killing us at the moment.

02-09-2012, 06:04 PM
Brisbane's press is killing us at the moment.
Our inability to hit targets and lack of any forward structure is killing us at the moment.

02-09-2012, 06:05 PM
Our inability to hit targets and lack of any forward structure is killing us at the moment.

Absolutely. We seem too focused on possession. This game is very dull right now. We just don't look like scoring.

02-09-2012, 06:06 PM
Rare pearl of wisdom from Healy in the box.

'maintaining possession seems to be more important than goals'

02-09-2012, 06:08 PM
Might possibly be the worst quarter of football I have ever seen. Over use, slow ball movement,playing plus ones meaning forward line again is out numbered. We surely can't be trying to win this match??

02-09-2012, 06:09 PM
Perfect conditions are being wasted. Our lack of clean foot skills is noticeable.

02-09-2012, 06:09 PM
Both teams I feel don't look that interested.

02-09-2012, 06:10 PM
Nathan Djkuerra isn't up to it. Makes the wrong decisions, and fumbles to much.
Ball movement is disgraceful:(

02-09-2012, 06:11 PM
My new mobile phone is more interesting than this tripe.

02-09-2012, 06:11 PM
Both teams I feel don't look that interested.

Both teams are on the departure lounge

02-09-2012, 06:13 PM
Both teams are on the departure lounge

Headed direct to Mad Monday!

02-09-2012, 06:13 PM
Nathan Djkuerra isn't up to it. Makes the wrong decisions, and fumbles to much.
Ball movement is disgraceful:(

Has been stepped around far too easy too.
Doesn't seem to be able to tackle, surely won't be in a Western Bulldog jumper next year.

02-09-2012, 06:18 PM
My new mobile phone is more interesting than this tripe.

Did a new phone come along with the new number?

02-09-2012, 06:18 PM
Has been stepped around far too easy too.
Doesn't seem to be able to tackle, surely won't be in a Western Bulldog jumper next year.

Highly likely to be delisted.

02-09-2012, 06:19 PM
Did a new phone come along with the new number?

New number?

02-09-2012, 06:24 PM
Absolutely shocking. No urgency whatsoever to get back in this game.

02-09-2012, 06:24 PM
Lions by 38 now.
Shows us a bit of character dogs!

02-09-2012, 06:25 PM
This is awesome

Shot of Macca in the box looking unimpressed - but silent. Ideas man

02-09-2012, 06:26 PM
Why would this week be any different to the last 1/2 of the season. I'm not even sure I want next year to start at this rate.

02-09-2012, 06:28 PM
Did Howard go hard enough then?

Can't ask the same of Jong, he's a good one

We've got about 12 players hovering around the centre square, not running offensively or defensively. Just witches hats.

100 point drubbing coming up and lucky to kick a goal could be in the record books here

Ball movement and structure is awful

Wow, were keep giving Howard games. Bizarre.

02-09-2012, 06:29 PM
Why would this week be any different to the last 1/2 of the season. I'm not even sure I want next year to start at this rate.

2014 can't come quick enough, I agree

02-09-2012, 06:29 PM
Finally Dickson as I predicted gets our first goal.

02-09-2012, 06:30 PM
For those who have thought Giansiracusa wasn't a good player over the years this is proof of how good and important he is to us

02-09-2012, 06:31 PM
Wow, were keep giving Howard games. Bizarre.

He was pathetic just then on Zorko as well. Embarrassing

02-09-2012, 06:32 PM
One would assume DJ has stamped his own papers.

02-09-2012, 06:35 PM
Good luck to the Membership Dept. trying to sell hope this coming preseason. Embarrassing once again.

2014 can't come quick enough, I agree

Yes things will change next year

Forward line? Helloooooooo
Gia may win our goal scoring with 30 or so goals. A year to forget.

02-09-2012, 06:38 PM
New number?

Don't mind me.... I'll back to sleep

02-09-2012, 06:39 PM
Don't mind me.... I'll back to sleep

Haha.... FWIW, I am keeping my number, waiting on the transfer to go through (changing providers!)

02-09-2012, 06:40 PM
Higgins gets our second. Goals are a struggle to come by that's for sure.

02-09-2012, 06:41 PM
Forward line? Helloooooooo
Gia may win our goal scoring with 30 or so goals. A year to forget.

28 :eek:

02-09-2012, 06:47 PM
Yes things will change next year

2014 Chops, not 13....though you can mount an argument improvement will be further away than that.

02-09-2012, 06:49 PM
For those who have thought Giansiracusa wasn't a good player over the years this is proof of how good and important he is to us

And I am sure those same people will shoot you down for saying it.

I love Gia and understand his worth.

02-09-2012, 06:51 PM
Haha we can win and keep picks 5 & 6 now thanks to Port (draw w/Rich)

02-09-2012, 06:57 PM
Haha we can win and keep picks 5 & 6 now thanks to Port (draw w/Rich)

On the contrary the best we can afford is a draw, a win puts us above them

02-09-2012, 06:59 PM
Wow.....last week I thought DJ gave himself a chance of staying on the list. One week later and his papers are stamped.

Lack of midfield accountability is staggering. And who the hell is on Rich?

02-09-2012, 07:00 PM
Most coaches have a defence mechanism to stop the game blowing out. I haven't seen macca apply any sort of flood to stop the bleeding in any game this year.

02-09-2012, 07:07 PM
2014 Chops, not 13....though you can mount an argument improvement will be further away than that.
Sorry my apologies.
Do you think we can be worse than we are now?

02-09-2012, 07:08 PM

No problem. We won't get close.

02-09-2012, 07:10 PM
Good luck to the Membership Dept. trying to sell hope this coming preseason. Embarrassing once again.

GWS offered me 6million for five years...................

02-09-2012, 07:12 PM
Appalling. Everything bthat was good last week is missing this week

02-09-2012, 07:14 PM
We don't look like scoring at the moment. Static ball movement with poor skills and decision making seems to be the norm.

02-09-2012, 07:18 PM
Ummmm. thats cause we have no game plan........whos fault is that.

02-09-2012, 07:23 PM

Yep my bad, silly of me:o

Wow we really stink, had to check the sunset out before, much nicer option

02-09-2012, 07:25 PM
Sorry my apologies.
Do you think we can be worse than we are now?

Our round 1 2013 team will be better than this, though the outcomes will likely still be similar

02-09-2012, 07:29 PM
Our round 1 2013 team will be better than this, though the outcomes will likely still be similar
If the results are the same or worse, many at the club won't see 2014. I'll go as far to say another year like this will put our club a lot closer to extinction.

02-09-2012, 07:31 PM
If the results are the same or worse, many at the club won't see 2014. I'll go as far to say another year like this will put our club a lot closer to extinction.

Fair call, I have people I know who have had enough of the near enough attitude, people wont sign up for this rubbish again.

02-09-2012, 07:32 PM

With sensationalist statements like that you could get a job for the Herald Sun.

02-09-2012, 07:39 PM
With sensationalist statements like that you could get a job for the Herald Sun.

Truth hurts some people.....

02-09-2012, 07:40 PM

Why? Do you think it's good for us to have another year like this?

02-09-2012, 07:40 PM
ABC radio saying performance is appalling and dishonest. Reckon we are 2 years from contemplating the 8. All bar a handful are playing for a spot on the list.

02-09-2012, 07:41 PM
ABC radio saying performance is appalling and dishonest. Reckon we are 2 years from contemplating the 8. All bar a handful are playing for a spot on the list.

They're not far wrong.

02-09-2012, 07:42 PM

Tabloid journo rubbish.
Chops listens to a lot of Morrissey and Nick Cave, me thinks.

02-09-2012, 07:47 PM
Tabloid journo rubbish.

No just seen us play enough this year.
If we have the same stuff served us to us next year, will mean that's there is no improvement, something will have to give.
New president, new coach, new team?

02-09-2012, 07:48 PM
Just finished work. Don't think I'll worry about it. Hopefully there is some improvements in 2013 but not really expecting much until 2014.

02-09-2012, 07:51 PM
We could lose by 100 points tonight.

02-09-2012, 07:54 PM
One positive: Adam Cooney.

02-09-2012, 07:54 PM
Why? Do you think it's good for us to have another year like this?

No, but extinction? Seriously! I know you're the resident wet blanket (and that's fine we can't all agree). But that's seriously over the top. You're better than that.

Symptomatic of a gun shy supporter base. It's exactly what's wrong with North..

02-09-2012, 07:59 PM
Wake me up, when this season ends.....

02-09-2012, 08:00 PM
No, but extinction? Seriously! I know you're the resident wet blanket (and that's fine we can't all agree). But that's seriously over the top. You're better than that.

Symptomatic of a gun shy supporter base. It's exactly what's wrong with North..

We will have a lot less than North in members next year.
Nothing special about North as they are in gun as well.
However if continue down the same path we will get less and less members and no doubt be struggling to survive.

02-09-2012, 08:05 PM
However if continue down the same path we will get less and less members and no doubt be struggling to survive.

But we have made profits the last few years now which has to be a good sign.

02-09-2012, 08:09 PM
If we have the same stuff served us to us next year, will mean that's there is no improvement, something will have to give.

This is the crux isn't it?

We're all prepared to stay the course, but if its all the same rd 23 next year, and we're simply not any better, then we'll have trouble.

02-09-2012, 08:12 PM

Surely you can understand how stupid this sounds. At what point in the AFL era has our club not had an up period following a down period. Soft attitudes like you've displayed from the North supporters (as well as admin) is exactly why they are in Football purgatory at the moment. They are scared to weather the storm. We as a club need to move on from extinction talk.

02-09-2012, 08:14 PM
Tabloid journo rubbish.

Nick Cave once told me he was a Footscray supporter.

02-09-2012, 08:15 PM
No just seen us play enough this year.
New president, new coach, new team?

Well for a start the broadcast agreement is until 2017.
Melbourne have been shite for 5 years and they haven't turned off the lights there.
Ten to Fifteen years I see less Melb teams.
If we serve up this uncompetitive rubbish next season the coach will be in the gun .
Saying they'll turn the lights off and lock the doors is a little to over the top.

02-09-2012, 08:16 PM

Can he kick?

02-09-2012, 08:16 PM
Don't want bring it up but do you think we may eventually revert back to the Footscray Football Club.

02-09-2012, 08:18 PM
Don't want bring it up but do you think we may eventually revert back to the Footscray Football Club.

yes you shouldn't have brought it up.

You don't want to bring it up but you bring it up? :confused:

Won't make any difference.

Probably best not to bring it up Easty mate..

02-09-2012, 08:19 PM
You don't want to bring it up but you bring it up? :confused:

Won't make any difference.

Sorry. Just asked the question that's all. No more.

02-09-2012, 08:19 PM

FFS....take it to another thread. It hurts enough to watch this rubbish without dredging this up again.

02-09-2012, 08:20 PM

If we do it will probably mean the end. You can't go backwards we just fought off extinction last time.

02-09-2012, 08:21 PM
I think we are all angry which is obvious with our team right now.

02-09-2012, 08:25 PM

Seriously? There's going to be enough arguments and depressing conclusions in te next month without having to bring up this done to death topic again.

02-09-2012, 08:28 PM
I think we are all angry which is obvious with our team right now.

I don't think were angry, just disappointed that we couldn't drag something out of the bag for the last game. I wonder if the cue was in the rack on the plane up.
My anger was over 10 rounds ago.

02-09-2012, 08:32 PM
Sorry guys. Big mistake bringing that topic up again.

02-09-2012, 08:34 PM
My anger is since 1954, fired one shot in the 60's and haven't seen a GF since. I mean people go on about rebuilding....blah ..blah.... What about some brains in the footy department, that's where we have been lacking for a very very long time.

02-09-2012, 08:35 PM
Well that certainly was fitting that we see out the year with a performance and result that was indicative of our season.
Only caught bits and pieces of the game in between working on the house today, but the moments I did see look like a highlight reel of our worse moments through out the year. Poor kicking, low intensity, poor positioning and lack of purposeful movement when we didn't have the ball, and no attacking plan.
Let's hope next season we show at least some improvement, not necessarily results, but in game style, and plan, and closer margins.

02-09-2012, 08:40 PM
Well that certainly was fitting that we see out the year with a performance and result that was indicative of our season.
Only caught bits and pieces of the game in between working on the house today, but the moments I did see look like a highlight reel of our worse moments through out the year. Poor kicking, low intensity, poor positioning and lack of purposeful movement when we didn't have the ball, and no attacking plan.
Let's hope next season we show at least some improvement, not necessarily results, but in game style, and plan, and closer margins.

Let's just pray we have a gameplan next season.

02-09-2012, 08:42 PM

You have spoken to Nick Cave?

02-09-2012, 08:44 PM
You have spoken to Nick Cave?

I've worked it out.
Chops is Nick Cave

02-09-2012, 08:45 PM
Let's just pray we have a gameplan next season.

Gameplan and competitiveness.
Struggle st next season but I want to see competiveness and workrate!!

02-09-2012, 08:46 PM
I have worked out our problem. Ever since Julia Gillard became prime minister and number one ticket holder we have been on the decline. I urge everyone to vote liberal, that way we can rid the curse and win again.

02-09-2012, 08:48 PM
I have worked out our problem. Ever since Julia Gillard became prime minister and number one ticket holder we have been on the decline. I urge everyone to vote liberal, that way we can rid the curse and win again.

Good luck with that:rolleyes:

02-09-2012, 08:49 PM

Can I somehow send Savage's posts to my trash folder without having to read them?

02-09-2012, 08:52 PM
Can I somehow send Savage's posts to my trash folder without having to read them?

Surprised he didn't blame the carbon Tax.:eek:
Agree there

Tosh tosh...... U folk really have no funny bone.

Don't like me delete me

02-09-2012, 09:01 PM
We suffered from an extreme lack of intensity and decision making ability across the first half.

Our innnability to lower our eyes and select a reasonable short option to maintain possession killed us. Some of our players need to understand that it you can't kick the ball well the short and safe option is the way to go.

02-09-2012, 09:05 PM
They didn't appear interested in making space, playing for each other. Most likely they switched off as the weather in QLD was to good and nothing to play for. Very very disappointing end to the season, not the finish any of us wanted. Can the playing group take anything from it, I only hope doubt does not set in similar to that of Melbourne. Could be in for a very long haul.

02-09-2012, 09:08 PM
Lions by 65
l

yay I won:(

02-09-2012, 09:12 PM
All I can say is, capped off a brilliant day ( not). This season has seen some of the worst performances since I became a supporter. I have to admit I watched a bare minimum today. Just couldn't stand to watch it out. Just not in the mood today.

02-09-2012, 09:14 PM
How many wins would you say would you consider a pass mark for us in 2013?

02-09-2012, 09:16 PM

I just want competiveness.

02-09-2012, 09:16 PM
All I can say is, capped off a brilliant day ( not). This season has seen some of the worst performances since I became a supporter. I have to admit I watched a bare minimum today. Just couldn't stand to watch it out. Just not in the mood today.

1983 was the last time we won less games. In 1996 we had 5 wins and a draw, but at least the last game that year was close against Essendon who were in the finals.

Glad the season is over and I look forward to see what happens in the trading period as well as the draft. Lets hope we have some good picks.

02-09-2012, 09:17 PM
Realistic 8, hopeful GF.

02-09-2012, 09:20 PM

You'd say we'd want to beat Melbourne. Port, and the expansions so 4 to 5 and hopefully be more competetive with the rest and maybe steal a couple of upsets. All goes well 8-10. not so well 3-5. Pass mark is 7 or 8 with improved performances across the board from me.

02-09-2012, 09:21 PM
Realistic 8, hopeful GF.

Me too. Hopefully around 8-9 wins. This will at least prove that we are becoming more competitive.

02-09-2012, 09:22 PM
1983 was the last time we won less games. In 1996 we had 5 wins and a draw, but at least the last game that year was close against Essendon who were in the finals.

Glad the season is over and I look forward to see what happens in the trading period as well as the draft. Lets hope we have some good picks.

I think we won only 3 1/2 games under "our mastermind" in 03.
I think the last time we lost 11 games in a row was under the Richmond plant
Royce.

02-09-2012, 09:25 PM
Royce.

Yes you are right, 2003 and 2004 I have blocked out of my mind:D

02-09-2012, 09:26 PM
Royce.

Quite right. Just checked though our percentage was 75 and there were no expansion teams. So, arguably worse than 03.

02-09-2012, 09:27 PM
Quite right. Just checked though our percentage was 75 and there were no expansion teams. So, arguably worse than 03.

Thats another thing. Our percentage is woeful only about 68.20 I believe. We have really been belted up this year.

02-09-2012, 09:28 PM
They didn't appear interested in making space, playing for each other. Most likely they switched off as the weather in QLD was to good and nothing to play for. Very very disappointing end to the season, not the finish any of us wanted. Can the playing group take anything from it, I only hope doubt does not set in similar to that of Melbourne. Could be in for a very long haul.

That is now my concern that doubt will set in more than it already has.

02-09-2012, 09:34 PM
That is now my concern that doubt will set in more than it already has.

That's a good point. Confidence at all time low.
I'm glad the season is over.
I think the stats matched up ok at half time, but the ability to score is just not there.

02-09-2012, 09:37 PM
I've worked it out.
Chops is Nick Cave:)
Thanks but my partner is from Warracknabeal not me.

02-09-2012, 09:46 PM
We played like we were tired.

Very reactive footy.

02-09-2012, 10:37 PM
Yes you are right, 2003 and 2004 I have blocked out of my mind:D
As bad as we were under Rhode (and we did stink it up), we were far more competitive in many matches during those seasons than we have been from Round 10-23 this season. We regularly lost the unloseable game under Rhode but at least we were competitive in games - God we even drew at Subiaco. By contrast, our last 3 months of football have been the worst I have witnessed since 1980-82. Those of us old enough to remember the Royce Hart days can only wince at the complete non-competitiveness and woeful lack of skill of those teams - I never thought I'd see a Dogs team peform as consistently disgracefully on the paddock as the Hart teams but we have achieved that dubious honour this season.

Our playing group (those that survive anyway) have a mountain of work ahead of them in the pre-season, and to be perfectly honest so do our coaching staff. BMac has obviously seen a lot in the coaches box in the last 15 years but IMO he has been underwhelming as the man steering the ship this season. I have yet to see a system of play that has put pressure on the opposition for any sustainable length of time, nor have I seen BMac show any ability to reverse the flow of momentum against us in games either. Our playing list has holes everywhere but there is still a decent chunk of elite talent that, to date, has not been harnessed in a positive way by the coaching group. His reputation as a great teacher needs to start bearing fruit in the heat of battle next season.

02-09-2012, 11:11 PM
Well for a start the broadcast agreement is until 2017.
Melbourne have been shite for 5 years and they haven't turned off the lights there.
Ten to Fifteen years I see less Melb teams.
If we serve up this uncompetitive rubbish next season the coach will be in the gun .
Saying they'll turn the lights off and lock the doors is a little to over the top.

Melbourne have more members than us

03-09-2012, 12:46 AM
Melbourne have more members than us

And have debt demolition campaign that's seems to be working.

03-09-2012, 10:10 AM
And have debt demolition campaign that's seems to be working.

I think the demographics of their main supporter base is different than ours.