View Full Version : London, game one of a new Dog season

30-10-2012, 02:34 PM
link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/london-game-one-of-a-new-dog-season-20121029-28fnz.html)

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/dan-20121029190722825661-620x349.jpg

LIKE a few of their AFL peers, the Western Bulldogs yesterday got back into the business of pre-season training - with one major difference. While the bulk of the competition won't play for another four months, the Dogs will be pulling on the boots for their first hit-out of a new campaign in just four days.

Post-season exhibition games in London, the last of which was played six years ago, have traditionally been a footnote to the season just completed, a final assignment before AFL players have a well-earned break.

But for the Bulldogs and Port Adelaide - their opponent on Saturday at the Oval - the holidays are over and, effectively, their first game of 2013 arrives with all concerned if not just a little short of peak fitness, a lot shorter for touch.
"It's unusual," Bulldogs football manager James Fantasia said yesterday.

"You're a little bit compromised because of the restrictions around players' annual leave, but we just thought it was a really good opportunity because we've got such a young group that we take them away, and rather than just play the game, turn it into a pre-season camp.
''For us, the bonding is as important as getting the conditioning into them.''
While conscious of the players' eight-week leave requirements, Fantasia said the club had maintained an "open door" policy for those who wanted to train in the lead-up to this week.
"It's been completely up to them, but most have bobbed up at some stage just to do a session here and there, and that's been really pleasing."

The two newest Doggies, former West Coast midfielder Koby Stevens and former Collingwood youngster Tom Young, were acquainting themselves with their new teammates and their new Whitten Oval home as the club officially regathered for the new season yesterday.
And there's every chance they'll both be pulling on a Bulldogs jumper in a match situation before they've even got their heads around all their new teammates' names, with the club's entire list heading for London tonight for a training camp leading up to the game on Saturday night (Melbourne time).

Port left on Sunday, heading to Milan for a similar purpose.
"This was their first day, and tomorrow they go away with the boys. I don't think you could get a better way of getting to know the group," Fantasia said.

The Dogs' other "newbie", father-son pick Lachie Hunter, will be staying home, with VCE exams to focus on. But the new players aren't the only Bulldogs for whom the London camp and game will be a swift introduction to the business of season 2013.
Newly-appointed high performance manager Graham Lowe, who has most recently looked after Scottish rugby and had a long association with New Zealand's All Blacks, will not only be taking charge of the senior list, but meeting them for the first time only upon their arrival in England.

Strength and rehabilitation co-ordinator Matt Hibbert has held the fort since the departure of Lowe's predecessor, Bill Davoren, for St Kilda.
The club has also acquired, on a full-time basis, American strength and conditioning coach Andy Barnett, whose background is in the NFL, and most recently, with New Zealand's Olympic squad.

The Bulldogs will rest most of their veterans, including Adam Cooney, who left yesterday for treatment at a German clinic for his troublesome knee, but who will join the group later in the week.

But the Bulldogs have close to a full book from which to choose, with big man Tom Campbell, who has had ankle surgery, one of only a few rehabilitation cases.
Saturday's game will be a valuable learning experience for the younger Bulldogs, stresses Fantasia. Even if, nine weeks after the last game for 2012 but essentially the first of 2013, no one's expecting the slickest skills in the world.

30-10-2012, 05:12 PM
Anyone know if it's being covered by Fox?

30-10-2012, 06:05 PM
Asked the WB Twitter feed about coverage.
Reply:
Western Bulldogs ‏@westernbulldogs
As a side note, unfortunately no TV or radio coverage of Saturday's Exhibition Match. We're working on getting highlights for BulldogsTV.

31-10-2012, 12:56 PM
They should get this filmed and put up to watch and also have clips of them at the soccer clubs ect.. So we can go on this pre-season camp / experience with them.

02-11-2012, 03:43 AM
Having Fox Footy I know right now they are having replays of the 2012 season matches. There is no reason why they couldn't telecast it live as I remember the London matches in the past where live on Free to air. Anyway Bulldogs TV on the Bulldogs website will show highlights of the match.

02-11-2012, 09:53 AM
Having Fox Footy I know right now they are having replays of the 2012 season matches. There is no reason why they couldn't telecast it live as I remember the London matches in the past where live on Free to air. Anyway Bulldogs TV on the Bulldogs website will show highlights of the match.

Unless Fox Footy were instructed or contracted to by the AFL I can't see why they would spend the $$'s to telecast a game between the 2 most irrelevant teams of 2012?

02-11-2012, 10:28 AM
Squad for game.

Jarrad Grant, Mitch Wallis, Luke Dahlhaus, Shaun Higgins(C), Pat Veszpremi, Easton Wood, Clay Smith, Fletcher Roberts, Liam Jones, Daniel Pearce, Tom Liberatore, Jordan Roughead, Tory Dickson, Christian Howard, Michael Talis, Alex Greenwood, Lukas Markovic, Jason Johannisen, Liam Picken, Lin Jong, Ayce Cordy, Koby Stevens, Tom Campbell

02-11-2012, 10:35 AM
Squad for game.

Jarrad Grant, Mitch Wallis, Luke Dahlhaus, Shaun Higgins(C), Pat Veszpremi, Easton Wood, Clay Smith, Fletcher Roberts, Liam Jones, Daniel Pearce, Tom Liberatore, Jordan Roughead, Tory Dickson, Christian Howard, Michael Talis, Alex Greenwood, Lukas Markovic, Jason Johannisen, Liam Picken, Lin Jong, Ayce Cordy, Koby Stevens, Tom Campbell

Now that is a young list.

02-11-2012, 11:48 AM
Unless Fox Footy were instructed or contracted to by the AFL I can't see why they would spend the $$'s to telecast a game between the 2 most irrelevant teams of 2012?

Exactly. Now if one of the teams was Collingwood......

02-11-2012, 12:21 PM
Now that is a young list.

With only Campbell and Roughead to ruck. Interesting.

02-11-2012, 12:30 PM
With only Campbell and Roughead to ruck. Interesting.

Why? Cordy is also listed.

02-11-2012, 12:48 PM

I bet if it was Collingwood and Carlton playing then the game would be telecast.

02-11-2012, 12:55 PM
Why? Cordy is also listed.

Sorry. Must've missed him.

As it is though, I thought Cordy and Campbell were earmarked as future forwards and Roughead a key back. Part time ruck also of course.

02-11-2012, 01:09 PM
Sorry. Must've missed him.

As it is though, I thought Cordy and Campbell were earmarked as future forwards and Roughead a key back. Part time ruck also of course.

I think Campbell has been earmarked as number one ruck sooner rather than later. Cordy will have to eventually provide ruck relief I'd imagine.

If Roughead works out as a key defender that limits his ability to provide ruck relief.

02-11-2012, 01:34 PM
There doesnt have to be a commentary team present. If no one is going to watch except for die hard fans, we only need the pictures!! 1 camera would be enough :D

Seriously though, I reckon with the continued coverage the sport been getting since the GF that a large number of people would like to see any live game on the telly, no matter who it is between & where. We know its going to be two & half to 3 month before the next pre-season game, & thats a long time to hang out, especially when you cant stand the cricket !!

02-11-2012, 02:13 PM
http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/20121101202843603

AFL Teams Arrive in London

The players from the Western Bulldogs and Port Adelaide arrived in London today ahead of Saturday’s AFL European Challenge exhibition game. AFL Europe reported that the players also got their first look round Kia Oval, the venue for the game, for some pre match training runs.

Meanwhile Port Adelaide’s new coach Ken Hinkley and Bulldogs’ coach Brendan McCartney were at the pre-match press conference.

Both clubs have fielded young teams for the tournament and are expected to use the opportunity to debut new recruits.

Despite this, Port Adelaide coach Hinkley said he told his players, “Just go out and play the game of footy. You’ve got to go after the game in a fair dinkum way, because it’s a contact game. If you’re not prepared to play footy, you’ll end up in real trouble. Hopefully they get through the game okay.”

On the opposite side, Bulldogs coach McCartney added, “With young players, the more you see them, the more you learn about them. To see them go away for eight weeks and then to come back and their body shape changes; they’re a bit bigger in the leg and a bit stronger in the hips – you can see their progression and that’s really important.” McCartney also described the exhibition game as a “unique experience” for his young team. “It’s brilliant to have the opportunity to come away with your club, experience the world and showcase the great game,” he said.

“When you get here and you see this place and you breathe it, you see how special it is and you want to be an active part of it. When we got off the bus this morning it was a reminder that this is a special place and we’re lucky to be here.”

He also had one final message for the European players taking part in the All-Stars curtain raiser: “We don’t have our recruiters here, so I might watch it-just in case!”

The Elastoplast AFL European Challenge match will consist of 4 x 25 minute quarters with no time added on. Teams will field teams of 16-a-side, with up to seven players on the interchange bench. No substitutes will be used.

Tickets are still available and can be purchased at the gate or online at http://www.kiaoval.com

There will be no live broadcast of the game, but a replay of the game will be available to watch on BulldogsTV on-demand by Monday the 5th of November.

02-11-2012, 05:06 PM
Any Woofers over there perchance to have a look?

02-11-2012, 05:09 PM
Any Woofers over there perchance to have a look?

Freddie is over there maybe he can do a report for us.

Got a video camera Freddie?

02-11-2012, 06:32 PM
It should be a good experience for them and good for team bonding.

02-11-2012, 08:58 PM
Squad for game.

A good hit out for the youngsters and to see how they go. Dont expect high skill level from us and Port Adelaide. From the Bulldogs Facebook the team is visiting a few ground of the EPL teams. There was a photo of Boyd outside Arsenal's ground.

04-11-2012, 06:12 AM
2 late goals to Port meant we lost by 1 point.

WB 13.9
Port 14.4

Higgins & Vez 3 goals

Best- Higgins, Vez, Picken

(From Bulldogs FB page)

04-11-2012, 08:29 AM
2 late goals to Port meant we lost by 1 point.

WB 13.9
Port 14.4

Higgins & Vez 3 goals

Best- Higgins, Vez, Picken

(From Bulldogs FB page)

Sack the coach :)

04-11-2012, 08:34 AM
Forty points up and lost by a point to a late goal? Hmmm seems suss, send in Brett Clothier and Abraham Haddad.

04-11-2012, 08:41 AM
Forty points up and lost by a point to a late goal? Hmmm seems suss, send in Brett Clothier and Abraham Haddad.

It would be suss, but if teams collude in a foreign country and nobody is able to see it, did it really happen?

04-11-2012, 08:49 AM
It would be suss, but if teams collude in a foreign country and nobody is able to see it, did it really happen?

If they had their meeting in Churchill's bunker rather than "the vault" (a portable at the junction oval) they may just get away with it.

04-11-2012, 11:02 AM
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/port-adelaide-wins-afl-exhibition-game-against-western-bulldogs-in-london/story-fndv7pj3-1226509926163

04-11-2012, 11:39 AM
No injuries mentioned. All that matters.

04-11-2012, 11:48 AM
Anyone here in London to see it?
Acting captain will be a good experience for Shaun. Liam Picken sounds like he did a few good things.

04-11-2012, 11:50 AM
Anyone here in London to see it?

Were you there?

04-11-2012, 12:04 PM
Sorry, anyone in here, in London to see it?

04-11-2012, 12:30 PM
No injuries mentioned. All that matters.

That's good to hear.