View Full Version : Predict who we will draft

18-11-2012, 12:41 AM
Let's see who can get closest to the pin. We'll leave it at the first three picks since my knowledge (and others) is probably limited to the top 30 or so. Having said that, even if you have no idea about the kids, make a prediction all the same. Bragging rights in at stake. ;)

My prediction:
5: O'Rourke
6: Menzel
22: Corr

18-11-2012, 12:49 AM
6: Plowman
22: Shaw

18-11-2012, 12:50 AM
6: Plowman
22: Shaw

Keen for a big forward ?

18-11-2012, 01:11 AM
I will preface this by saying ihaventgot the faintest idea about any of the young uns coming through. However, I'll take a stab and say

5. Plowman
6. Macrae
22. Stringer

Now don't question my picks, as I said I really have no idea! :D

18-11-2012, 01:12 AM
5. O'Rourke
6. Menzel
22. Clurey

18-11-2012, 01:14 AM
I will preface this by saying ihaventgot the faintest idea about any of the young uns coming through. However, I'll take a stab and say

5. Plowman
6. Macrae
22. Stringer

Now don't question my picks, as I said I really have no idea! :D

Reckon Stringer will get to Geelong

18-11-2012, 01:35 AM
Orourke
Macramé
O'Brien

18-11-2012, 01:38 AM
5. O'Rourke
6. Stringer
22. O'Brien

18-11-2012, 01:53 AM
Wines
Stringer
Warrell.

18-11-2012, 03:17 AM
O'rourke
Mayes
O'Brien

18-11-2012, 08:04 AM
It's not that easy is it? :)

5) O'Rouke
6) Macrae
22) Membrey
50) Hunter
51) Murdoch

18-11-2012, 09:29 AM
5. O'Rourke
6. Stringer
22. O'Brien

Yep, this is mine as well !!!

18-11-2012, 09:30 AM
5) Whitten
6) Sutton
22) Collins

All reincarnated.:)

I have no idea but

5) O'Rourke
6) Macrae
22) O'Brien

18-11-2012, 10:06 AM
I'm clueless about what we may do at 5/6, it's so dependent on GWS. 22 is a stab in the dark, but like Paparone, could be the athletic tall we're after and could be developed at either end.

5. O'Rourke
6. Macrae
22. Paparone

18-11-2012, 10:21 AM

5) O'Rouke
6) Macrae
22) Membrey
50) Hunter
51) Murdoch

My pick too, 5,6 & 22 i.e.

18-11-2012, 10:42 AM
5. O'Rourke
6. Menzel
22. O'Brien
50. Hunter
51. Spencer White

18-11-2012, 10:49 AM
Toumpas
O'Rourke
Jacobs
Hunter
??????
Bate

18-11-2012, 11:09 AM
O'rourke
Macrae
Corr

No idea with 22 and 6 depends on gws. Will be menzel if available

Realistically Hoping for o'rourke menzel and o'brien

18-11-2012, 11:17 AM
GWS will pass on Grundy. He will slide ....but we won't pick him.
GWS will also go cold on Toumpas, Melb are already committed, and we snag him at 5.
O'Rourke is pick 6 and happily comes to us.
We go for some X factor, and Josh Simpson at 22.

http://www.contestedfooty.com/2012/09/josh-simpson-2012-afl-draft-prospect/

BMAC loves his hardness at the ball, and the knocks on his slight build are ignored.

18-11-2012, 11:50 AM
5. Sam Mayes
6. Jake Stringer
22. Jesse Lonergan

18-11-2012, 12:40 PM
Keen for a big forward ?

I'd like us to grab a power forward with that selection, one who can actually kick goals and demand the footy, I have a feeling O'Brien will be gone, I also like Membrey and especially the comparesments with Jack Darling.

18-11-2012, 12:44 PM
In keeping with our SA connection for low picks and probably more wishful thinking with Jimmy Toumpas falling through to 5. Hoping GWS go gambling on Menzel and / or Stringer given their abundance of talent.

5. Toumpas
6. Mayes
22. O'Brien

Redemption97
18-11-2012, 01:11 PM
My guess?...

5.* Toumpas, O'Rouke or Menzel
6. *Macrae, Stringer, Wines
22. *O'Brien, Simpson, Membrey

*In that order depending on who is there... It will be interesting to see what the club does if both Menzel and Stringer are live for 5 & 6. Personally I'd be excited if we pulled that trigger. It would be bold and make for some exciting forward line watching for the fans next year. But also I understand the speed and skill need for our midfield... It's such a hard call and so dependant on the picks before us.

18-11-2012, 01:23 PM
Orourke
Macramé
O'Brien

Lol at auto correct

McRae nut macramé

18-11-2012, 01:49 PM
Lol at auto correct

McRae nut macramé

I thought it was on purpose. Hilarious.

18-11-2012, 05:34 PM

5) O'Rouke
6) Macrae
22) Membrey
50) Hunter
51) Murdoch

I like Murdoch at 51. Gotta feeling we're going to land Mccrae as well.

18-11-2012, 06:37 PM
I'm envisioning

5. O'Rourke
6. Macrae
22. Membrey (only because that tattoo is sent to torment me by having to watch it for 10 years)

18-11-2012, 06:51 PM
I like Murdoch at 51. Gotta feeling we're going to land Mccrae as well.

Murdoch and Tim O'Brien are best mates. Has a nice ring to it.

18-11-2012, 07:05 PM
5.O'Rourke
6.Macrae
22.Membrey

Interesting to see if GWS chooses O'Rourke.

18-11-2012, 07:06 PM
5 O'rourke
6 Wines
22 Wood

I have this feeling we are going to get Wines if for say toumpas slips to Melbourne. Macca is obsessed with his type I'm just hoping he can see the fact we need a point of difference. If Menzel is there we must take the risk as he is a match winner and he is something that we crave.

22 was just a bit of a guess but i like the confidence and upside with wood, with Kennedy my first choice if available. I'd expect Obrien will be gone but if not I'd suggest the dogs would been keen as mustard.

18-11-2012, 07:31 PM
I'm envisioning

5. O'Rourke
6. Macrae
22. Membrey (only because that tattoo is sent to torment me by having to watch it for 10 years)

Make him wear long sleeves! I guess we delisted Sherman. Need a replacement tatt specialist!

18-11-2012, 07:48 PM
Everything I've read suggests that if Grundy isn't picked by GWS he will slip past 6. Why wouldn't we be interested? I thought Roughead was being turned into a defender?

Stringer is a massive talent, got votes in all 3 VFL matches he has played in, the next Pavlich. Will only get better as he recovers from his leg break and has been training with us

Clurey is our Lake replacement, has that rare ability to read the play and zone off in defence as well as being accountable for his man. Wouldn't be surprised if we had him in mind with the pick upgrade Hawthorn offered for Lake.

5 - Grundy
6 - Stringer
22 - Clurey

18-11-2012, 08:15 PM
Everything I've read suggests that if Grundy isn't picked by GWS he will slip past 6. Why wouldn't we be interested? I thought Roughead was being turned into a defender?

Stringer is a massive talent, got votes in all 3 VFL matches he has played in, the next Pavlich. Will only get better as he recovers from his leg break and has been training with us

Clurey is our Lake replacement, has that rare ability to read the play and zone off in defence as well as being accountable for his man. Wouldn't be surprised if we had him in mind with the pick upgrade Hawthorn offered for Lake.

5 - Grundy
6 - Stringer
22 - Clurey

Not concerned about our lack of pace and foot skills then?

18-11-2012, 11:22 PM
A cynic would suggest he fits in well then

19-11-2012, 12:13 AM

5 - Grundy
6 - Stringer
22 - Clurey

Between Minson and Campbell we seem pretty well served. Outside of hard inside midfielders ruck seems to be the only place we have significant depth. Very excited about this week! Going to go

5 - Toumpas
6 - Menzel
22 - Shaw

In the hope GWS try to cover needs re ruck/backline with Plowman and Grundy. Unlikely but not impossible.

Fingers crossed but will happily take O'rourke or Mayes as next choices :)

19-11-2012, 12:40 AM

It's an interesting one, I see the need there but there's that age old saying 'don't pick for needs in the 1st round'. That's really the thing that gets me with all the Grundy talk, and may be why we have run into trouble previously trying to nail talls early on, when they are the hardest to predict being that they take the longest to develop and that their performance against kids doesn't always convert to their performance against adults.

O'Rourke, Mayes or Macrae who suit our needs better may well be best available if Grundy is gone, but if he isn't then we've got a decision to make.

19-11-2012, 12:52 AM
I'm going with:

O'Rourke at five
Stringer with six

Later on it gets a bit hard for me to pick.

19-11-2012, 08:25 AM
I think we have firmed with O'Rouke"and Menzel

19-11-2012, 10:26 AM
I think we have firmed with O'Rouke"and Menzel

I hope so. I'm changing my mind every minute but taking in all the information out there I'm now convinced that GWS will take Whitfeild, Toumpas and Menzel( makes sense as he is regarded as top 3 in talent and with the AFL gifting the new teams too many picks why wouldn't you take the risk?) and hope that Plowman will slide which is possible.

In which leaves us

5 O'rourke
6 Plowman/Mayes/Macrae/Stringer

19-11-2012, 10:51 AM
Would like O'Rourke and Menzel, though O'Rourke's the one I'm confident (based on media reports) that will be available to us.

5. O'Rourke
6. Macrae
22. ??

If one of Toumpas or Menzel is available, I'll predict they'll go at 5 and O'Rourke at 6.

Every pick is about who's left, but 22 could be anyone. I'd like one of Jacksh (very unlikely) or Membrey (less unlikely but still probably taken) or even O'Brien, though suggestions in the media are we'll go for a running HB.

19-11-2012, 11:09 AM
Would like O'Rourke and Menzel, though O'Rourke's the one I'm confident (based on media reports) that will be available to us.

5. O'Rourke
6. Macrae
22. ??

If one of Toumpas or Menzel is available, I'll predict they'll go at 5 and O'Rourke at 6.

Every pick is about who's left, but 22 could be anyone. I'd like one of Jacksh (very unlikely) or Membrey (less unlikely but still probably taken) or even O'Brien, though suggestions in the media are we'll go for a running HB.
I like the sound of Macrae or Grundy to pair with O'Rourke, but I assume Menzel will be there at 6.

Colquhoun seems the whisper at 22 as a rebounder, and I dare say O'Brien will be gone before our pick 22. 51 is a pure guess

19-11-2012, 11:40 AM
I hope so. I'm changing my mind every minute but taking in all the information out there I'm now convinced that GWS will take Whitfeild, Toumpas and Menzel( makes sense as he is regarded as top 3 in talent and with the AFL gifting the new teams too many picks why wouldn't you take the risk?) and hope that Plowman will slide which is possible.

In which leaves us

5 O'rourke
6 Plowman/Mayes/Macrae/Stringer

its a bit of a shame we might miss out on Menzel. GWS have been gifted way too many picks and it will show in a few years.

I agree that O'rourke will go no 5 then Stringer/Macrae/Menzel at 6

19-11-2012, 11:54 AM
I'm going with:

O'Rourke at five
Stringer with six

Later on it gets a bit hard for me to pick.

I'd agree on these two as well.

Stringer has too good an upside to pass on, and i like his attitude, i think Bmac would as well.

No way Todd Viney would pass up on Wines, his son's best mate, and Viney himself has tought him all he knows about football. It would be like selecting your son first, then getting the chance to pick your foster son and picking someone else instead.

The only change would be if Toumpas was still available at pick 5, then it would all get shuffled around.

turtle
19-11-2012, 01:38 PM
5) Toumpas
6) O'Rouke
22) Membrey

19-11-2012, 01:51 PM
I probably lean towards thinking it will play out as:
5. ORourke
6. Menzel
22. It's really, really hard to know what will be available here: OBrien, Membrey, Corr, Kennedy, Shaw, BJacobs

19-11-2012, 02:32 PM
5) Toumpas
6) O'Rouke
22) Membrey

Be happy, no delighted if that happens

19-11-2012, 03:07 PM
5) Menzel
6) Stringer
22) Jacobs

19-11-2012, 03:09 PM
5) Menzel
6) Stringer
22) Jacobs

My worst fear.

19-11-2012, 03:09 PM
My worst fear.

talent wise or injury worry?

19-11-2012, 03:27 PM
5) Toumpas
6) O'Rouke
22) Membrey

If Toumpas is there at 5 I doubt we could get his name out fast enough. Can't see GWS missing him though

19-11-2012, 03:42 PM
5) Menzel
6) Stringer
22) Jacobs

Is that who you want Doctor, or who you think we will take?

19-11-2012, 03:47 PM
5. O'Rourke
6. Menzel
22. Wood

19-11-2012, 03:49 PM
If Toumpas is there at 5 I doubt we could get his name out fast enough. Can't see GWS missing him though

GWS have the plan to recruit the best 3 talents in the draft and not draft on needs basis.

You would think the top 3 talents in the draft are definately:

1 Lachie Whitfield,

2 and 3 are a little more difficult however. Surely Toumpas falls into the top 3:

2. Toumpas,

but who is the final prospect?

3. Menzel, O'Rourke, Grundy, Plowman, Wines?

There are talks that Toumpas has slid of GWS' radar but surely then cant pass on him. But looking at who makes up the top 3 outside of Whitfiled and Toumpas really affects who we end up drafting you would think. The anticipation is killing me!

19-11-2012, 03:56 PM
talent wise or injury worry?

Injury-wise. Happy to take one of them (preferably Menzel) but would prefer a more conservative approach with the other high pick. Jacobs I simply don't rate highly and would prefer we go for another KPP.

19-11-2012, 03:58 PM
I think this draft really has a huge impact on our team (that is obviously an understatement). You would hope our first 3 picks could slot straight into the first 22. And with Hunter also in that mould that is potentially 4 changes to last years 22. So the fringe players hanging in there will either need to step up or risk being dropped. That competitiveness can only mean good things for our club so it is important to get this draft right to help with the clubs development

19-11-2012, 06:23 PM
5) Toumpas
6) O'Rouke
22) Membrey

THE Dream outcome!!!!!!

Suppose we can still dream. Can't we?

LostDog
19-11-2012, 08:55 PM
I cant tell you who I dont want, Dayle Garlett !! has trouble written all over him, sources close to me say that he was there with Murray Newman the night he got arrested

19-11-2012, 10:35 PM
Injury-wise. Happy to take one of them (preferably Menzel) but would prefer a more conservative approach with the other high pick. Jacobs I simply don't rate highly and would prefer we go for another KPP.

Agree. I don't mind taking a risk on one of the picks (either 5 or 6), and of the two Menzel seems the better choice in terms of talent. But I think that it's too big a risk taking both Menzel and Stringer.
How would we feel if Menzel reinjured his knee and Stringer had ongoing complications with his leg that curtailed their ability to reach their full potential? I think it would be a lot more palatable and easier to justify going for one of the two and choosing a less risky kid with the other pick.

19-11-2012, 10:39 PM
No idea but here goes -

5. O'Rourke
6. Stringer
22. Membrey

19-11-2012, 10:45 PM
5 Menzel
6 Mayes
22 O'Brien

19-11-2012, 10:59 PM
I am trying to analyse what thoughts are going through the brains of the coaching staff. Here is my observation:

Backmen: we are ok and have recruited for this.

Forwards: This is the critical issue. In 2012, the forwards undid all the good work done up the field. It killed our season. We have 3-4 taller marking or leading options already in the team. Cordy, Jones, Grant, Williams (it would seem). 2013 is shape up or else for 3 of them. Therefore, it is too early to devote high picks to key forwards.

Therefore 5, 6 & 22 will be used for "utility" players. Players who could be on-ballers, half-backs or half-forwards.

This is my computation.

We will go for a big forward with pick 51. There may well be a good choice there.

19-11-2012, 11:28 PM
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/2012/troy-menzel.jpg

Looks good in our colors already

19-11-2012, 11:46 PM
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/2012/troy-menzel.jpg

Looks good in our colors already

He should do something about the unruly hair. Our warriors should have a smooth, shiny appearance.

19-11-2012, 11:46 PM
Agree. I don't mind taking a risk on one of the picks (either 5 or 6), and of the two Menzel seems the better choice in terms of talent. But I think that it's too big a risk taking both Menzel and Stringer.
How would we feel if Menzel reinjured his knee and Stringer had ongoing complications with his leg that curtailed their ability to reach their full potential? I think it would be a lot more palatable and easier to justify going for one of the two and choosing a less risky kid with the other pick.

Agree in principle, but is that really the equation we are faced with?

With Stringer, his leg break was 18 months ago, and he has already recovered to the point he has been in the votes in all 3 seniors VFL matches he has played in. The issue the recruiters had with him was his running action, which Geelong reckon they could fix in 3 months.

I just think sometimes players can be categorised as safe picks and risky picks, and recruiters not wanting to lose their jobs go safe when the issue they are concerned about is a perfectably acceptable risk given the player's talent.

Let's not be the ones to pick Tambling over Buddy.

19-11-2012, 11:48 PM

Ouch!:eek:

20-11-2012, 12:11 AM

With Stringer, his leg break was 18 months ago, and he has already recovered to the point he has been in the votes in all 3 seniors VFL matches he has played in. The issue the recruiters had with him was his running action, which Geelong reckon they could fix in 3 months.

I just think sometimes players can be categorised as safe picks and risky picks, and recruiters not wanting to lose their jobs go safe when the issue they are concerned about is a perfectably acceptable risk given the player's talent.

Which brings us back to Grundy. He's going to slide isn't he? And I think if we miss him, I will feel a bit disappointed.

20-11-2012, 12:48 AM
Which brings us back to Grundy. He's going to slide isn't he? And I think if we miss him, I will feel a bit disappointed.

That's more a needs v best available discussion, than a risk v safe discussion.

You have to remind yourself you're picking a player for the next 10 years - if they are injured one year, or not the player type you are lacking in the 2013 season, there's still 9 more years you get them for.

20-11-2012, 01:47 AM
Something keeps telling me STRINGER STRINGER STRINGER.......................

20-11-2012, 09:13 AM
I'm still hoping we get stringer....

Orourke and stringer
Or
Stringer and Mayes
And I'll turn the tv off a happy man.

I think menzal is just too risky.

20-11-2012, 10:36 AM
He should do something about the unruly hair. Our warriors should have a smooth, shiny appearance.
Luke Dahlhaus says hi

20-11-2012, 10:46 AM
Is that who you want Doctor, or who you think we will take?

That what I think Macca would like.

I'd like to see Vlaustin in the mix for us.

20-11-2012, 10:46 AM
I love anyone who pulls on the colours but please, no more inside mids. We need classy ball users who can kick goals. Also think we desperately need someone with some swagger that will in time put some bums on seats.

20-11-2012, 10:49 AM

Good post. I see what you mean and I guess that in the wash up and providing due diligence has been followed, if pur recruiting team figure the best use of our picks is a Menzel/Stronger combo then fair enough. I would still like to see one of our two top picks used however on a skilful outside mid.

20-11-2012, 10:52 AM

So you have changed your mind on him? On the weekend you were not sure about his understanding of the game?

I wouldn't be disapointed if we picked him.

20-11-2012, 10:54 AM
That what I think Macca would like.

I'd like to see Vlaustin in the mix for us.

At pick six is that stretching for him?

Article in today's age about him.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/thrill-of-the-game-helps-control-nicks-hard-edge-20121119-29m6k.html

20-11-2012, 11:15 AM
I really don't want Vlastulin - I'm not sure what he offers us that our existing list dooesn't.

20-11-2012, 11:40 AM
So you have changed your mind on him? On the weekend you were not sure about his understanding of the game?

I wouldn't be disapointed if we picked him.

Yes well noted. I talked to some local footy people who say he might struggle for a few seasons but has the capacity to be an out and out gun.
Port most likely you would think now.

20-11-2012, 12:19 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/151313/default.aspx

AFL.com.au phantom draft has us taking Wines and Menzel with 5 and 6. Interesting that the notes on 'in the mix' state opposite to who they actually have selecting the player. The have O'Rourke going at 2

20-11-2012, 01:03 PM
Yes well noted. I talked to some local footy people who say he might struggle for a few seasons but has the capacity to be an out and out gun.
Port most likely you would think now.

What I would like to know is how does he compare to Natinui at the same age. Natinui isn't great but he is improving each season.

Grundy seems to have a great desire to get the most out of himself and being his size and agility cannot be a bad thing.

20-11-2012, 01:14 PM
I really don't want Vlastulin - I'm not sure what he offers us that our existing list dooesn't.

What are you talking about? Vlastulin is an inside midfielder.

20-11-2012, 01:45 PM
And you think we don't have enough already? I don't want another inside midfielder.

20-11-2012, 02:06 PM
And you think we don't have enough already? I don't want another inside midfielder.

nor do i. Smith, Wallis, Libba, Stevens. We really need some pace and polish which is why O'Rourke, Macrae or Toumpas would be nice. I really dont want Wines as he is much of the same (inside midfielder).

20-11-2012, 02:13 PM

Ignoring the spelling, Vlastuin isn't really an inside mid. He is a utility mid who can win his own ball. If you watched the champs, he played primarily at half-back for VM. Why? Because he could and others such as Hrovat who were in their best 22 probably couldn't.

Just because everyone says a player is 'x' type of footballer, doesn't mean he is. Wines is another example...at the champs a lot of his possessions were handball receives but if you read the press he is the next coming of Greg Williams.

Man o man I wish Thursday was over.

20-11-2012, 02:17 PM
Grundy seems to have a great desire to get the most out of himself and being his size and agility cannot be a bad thing.

He is agile, but not 'freakishly' so. How agile will he be with another 12-15kg of muscle?

The real question with Grundy is can he make it as a key forward - if you believe he can then he is a top 10 pick. If not, he is another young ruckman who may or may not make it - certainly Longer from VM (2011 draft) was a far better and aware ruckman at the same age.

The worry with Grundy's forward play is he has not really shown the ability to mark on the lead consistently (like Daniher has for example). His goals have come from outmarking smaller defenders or - more often - from second effort snap shots. Now, given the numbers game AFL footy is, it is unlikely those 2nd effort snaps will be available...so...

Basically, I can understand all the questions about Grundy.

20-11-2012, 02:34 PM
So who are you hoping for in the draft mjp?

20-11-2012, 02:41 PM
The talk on Grundy reminds me of the raps on Cordy prior to us drafting. Agile, great beneath his knees etc. Drafting rucks so early is a big gamble, especially when we start talking about turning them into forwards because we have too many rucks on the list

20-11-2012, 02:56 PM
Ignoring the spelling, Vlastuin isn't really an inside mid. He is a utility mid who can win his own ball. If you watched the champs, he played primarily at half-back for VM. Why? Because he could and others such as Hrovat who were in their best 22 probably couldn't.

Just because everyone says a player is 'x' type of footballer, doesn't mean he is. Wines is another example...at the champs a lot of his possessions were handball receives but if you read the press he is the next coming of Greg Williams.

I saw the same thing with Wines.
Don't understand some people's angst with recruiting Wines

20-11-2012, 03:04 PM
So who are you hoping for in the draft mjp?

If you assume that Whitfield and Toupas are gone, I would be looking to get Vlastuin and Garlett. But 'everyone' says we wont take Garlett - even though 'everyone' also says he is the best player in it. I actually don't know who else I would pick at 5. If you trust Menzel's injury, you could take him. If you think Stringer will return to u16's form then you could take him. If you decide not to gamble, then I guess you are down to Macrae or O'Rourke with Macrae being a bit classier and O'Rourke the one who has done it for longer.

Given my 'look back' at what they have done theology I would lump for O'Rourke as he is more of a sure thing.

So after all that I guess my answer is Vlastuin and O'Rourke.

20-11-2012, 03:06 PM
I saw the same thing with Wines.
Don't understand some people's angst with recruiting Wines

I have no issue with recruiting Wines - my only point is that he doesn't really strike me as a top 10 pick. Wines at 22? Sounds about right to me!

20-11-2012, 03:39 PM
If you assume that Whitfield and Toupas are gone, I would be looking to get Vlastuin and Garlett. But 'everyone' says we wont take Garlett - even though 'everyone' also says he is the best player in it. I actually don't know who else I would pick at 5. If you trust Menzel's injury, you could take him. If you think Stringer will return to u16's form then you could take him. If you decide not to gamble, then I guess you are down to Macrae or O'Rourke with Macrae being a bit classier and O'Rourke the one who has done it for longer.

Given my 'look back' at what they have done theology I would lump for O'Rourke as he is more of a sure thing.

So after all that I guess my answer is Vlastuin and O'Rourke.

Thanks mjp....it will be interesting to see what way we go....going by the media, a lot of teams have gone cold on garlett....obviously that picture I've seen on big footy doesn't paint the best picture of a guy wanting to be professional and play afl. He alone, will make the draft and interesting watch.

I'm still hopeful for stringer at 5 or 6 as I really think we need someone who can take the game on, and he seems to have a good head on him.

Thanks for your comments.

20-11-2012, 06:40 PM

It would appear you rate the Master Vlaster above the Wino. Interesting.

20-11-2012, 08:34 PM
Just hearing "Whispers" on 3AW.
( Gerard Healy's mate Andrew Thompson)
Reckons top 3 is Whitfield O'Rourke Plowmann.
That's going to make picks 4 5 6 interesting.

20-11-2012, 08:45 PM
I have no issue with recruiting Wines - my only point is that he doesn't really strike me as a top 10 pick. Wines at 22? Sounds about right to me!

Interesting. Sounds like he has been linked to Melbourne at 4 being Viney's mate and people have moved him around from there.

20-11-2012, 08:57 PM
Just hearing "Whispers" on 3AW.
( Gerard Healy's mate Andrew Thompson)
Reckons top 3 is Whitfield O'Rourke Plowmann.
That's going to make picks 4 5 6 interesting.

That would be amazing!!

As long as Melbourne take Wines...I could not be screaming Jimmy Toumpas any faster.

20-11-2012, 09:15 PM
That would be amazing!!

As long as Melbourne take Wines...I could not be screaming Jimmy Toumpas any faster.

Melbourne surely would take Toumpas if he is available?

The Cowshed
20-11-2012, 10:05 PM
Doesn't anyone think there is a question on Toumpas' pace? It's gonna be a one paced team...

20-11-2012, 10:22 PM
Doesn't anyone think there is a question on Toumpas' pace? It's gonna be a one paced team...

He is unlikley to last but I dont think pace will be a issue for him

5 - ORourke
6 - Menzel
22 - McIntosh
50 - Hunter
51 - Hannath

20-11-2012, 11:36 PM
News circulating is that it will be as follows:

1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas

That's literally worst case scenario for us and on the back of missing out on Martin/Hogan, makes for depressing reading. Especially since Melbourne should be penalised.

21-11-2012, 12:00 AM

1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas

That's literally worst case scenario for us and on the back of missing out on Martin/Hogan, makes for depressing reading. Especially since Melbourne should be penalised.

in this scenario who do we get? Menzel/Wines?

21-11-2012, 12:36 AM

1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas

Bit Glass half empty isn't it? Menzel is not up there as he had an ordinary year but I'd be happy with him at 5. base skills are good. Not a Menzel fan?
His knee issues have been impact related. Level headed kid. Like him.,

21-11-2012, 12:39 AM
in this scenario who do we get? Menzel/Wines?

Not sure.

There's been suggestions we've drifted from Menzel a little, and no gauarntee that we'd take Wines either.

Bit Glass half empty isn't it? Menzel is not up there as he had an ordinary year but I'd be happy with him at 5. Not a Menzel fan?

On talent alone, Menzel is a great prospect and I would be happy to take him if we are more than confident of his body holding up.

Big risk though.

21-11-2012, 12:49 AM
I guess so. I just hope it goes well for us. We need a lucky break.

21-11-2012, 12:54 AM
Not sure.

There's been suggestions we've drifted from Menzel a little, and no gauarntee that we'd take Wines either.

On talent alone, Menzel is a great prospect and I would be happy to take him if we are more than confident of his body holding up.

Big risk though.
Menzel/Stringer and Macrae? It's getting more intriguing by the day.

21-11-2012, 03:29 AM
Melbourne surely would take Toumpas if he is available?

Correct. But I can not beleive GWS wouldn't take him in the first place. Fingers crossed he falls our way.

Ill go Toumpas at 5 (glass over flowing)
Stringer at 6

21-11-2012, 05:05 AM
Not sure.

Big risk though.

Please no "Smokey's". If it's Wines and Menzel then so be it.
Staggered GWS are taking O'Rourke and Plowmann over Toumpas to be honest

21-11-2012, 05:07 AM
Menzel/Stringer and Macrae? It's getting more intriguing by the day.

Or more annoying. Don't know if it's a more vested interest this season, but this draft has thrown up more curveballs and ducks and drakes than you could imagine.:confused:

21-11-2012, 05:13 AM

1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas

Don't think getting Wines or Menzel would be to depressing.
I think Melbourne have a right to defend the tanking claims, so it would be harsh to convict them yet. Unfortunately we finished above Melbourne and with this system you're better off finishing below these teams.

21-11-2012, 07:14 AM
There are so many options here but I'll go with Wines, Stringer and Jacobs.
That gives us a midfielder, a forward and a half back flanker. Maybe White after Hunter

21-11-2012, 08:08 AM

1. Whitfield
2. O'Rourke
3. Plowman
4. Toumpas

It also leaves Wines sitting there at 5, I'm not sure they'll be able to resist. This off season just hasn't broken the right way for us at any point.

21-11-2012, 09:17 AM
From media reports it looks like we can expect Wines and Menzel to be coming our way. Would have preferred Toumpas or O'Rourke to Wines....but meh. No-one really knows who will end up the better option. Pick 22 is the intriguing one...hope we get lucky and some KPP's slide to us.

21-11-2012, 09:26 AM
5. Wines
6. Mayes
22. Membrey

21-11-2012, 09:37 AM
Media reports top 4 almost certain to be Whitfield, O'Rourke, Plowman, Toumpas. Who we will get is a little more uncertain. Seems to be out of Wines, Macrae, Menzel and Stringer

Amazed to see reports O'Rourke was almost certainly a bulldogs at 5 and is now no 2!

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 09:54 AM
Media reports top 4 almost certain to be Whitfield, O'Rourke, Plowman, Toumpas. Who we will get is a little more uncertain. Seems to be out of Wines, Macrae, Menzel and Stringer

Amazed to see reports O'Rourke was almost certainly a bulldogs at 5 and is now no 2!

Agreed, although from all reports it sounded like we were commiting daylight robbery getting O'rourke and Menzel at 5 and 6.

would be happy with whomever is available from Toumpas/O'Rourke/Wines in that order and Menzel.

although sounds like they could be drafting by position instead and taking Menzel and Macrae as both outsides.

21-11-2012, 09:55 AM
Who would we all prefer out of Macrae and Wines? Wines is certainly more established and would fall under 'best available', however some would argue Macrae falls under 'needs basis' and would be better suited for us. I keep hearing Wines has a great inside game but his polish is not so great, so sounds a lot like the midfielders we already have.

To be honest, if we go for Menzel at 6 i would prefer Wines over Macrae but both are good prospects

21-11-2012, 10:00 AM
I thought Wines was Vic Country's stand out best player over the few games they played. A leader too.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 10:01 AM
Who would we all prefer out of Macrae and Wines? Wines is certainly more established and would fall under 'best available', however some would argue Macrae falls under 'needs basis' and would be better suited for us. I keep hearing Wines has a great inside game but his polish is not so great, so sounds a lot like the midfielders we already have.

To be honest, if we go for Menzel at 6 i would prefer Wines over Macrae but both are good prospects

Once again completely agree, beleive taking Macrae and Menzel to be more risky than taking Wines and Menzel, Wines seems the more polished Footballer, while Macrae will be anyones guess, he could be stevie J, or he could end up playing 100 games of vfl... we are already taking a risk on Menzel no need to risk 2 draft picks. in saying that Menzel seems the better project of the 2 (him and Macrae)

21-11-2012, 10:33 AM
What is Wines' pace like? His disposal is apparently good (although some have suggested he often takes the 'safe' option which is what Wallis often does as well).

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 10:51 AM
8. OLLIE WINES
(Bendigo Pioneers. 18, 188cm, 90kg)
Wines is another player who hates to lose and will do all he can to prevent it happening. There are sharper, skilled players in the draft but there are few who play as consistently well as he does. He's a favourite because even if Ollie's team isn't doing well, he's is making sure they hang on for as long as possible. He's not affacted by what's happening around him and will play a lot of games, well, for a long time.
Who will pick him? All the talk is that he'll become a Demon at No. 4. The club needs consistent, competitive, hard-working players like him. If Toumpas is available, Wines will appeal to the Bulldogs as another big, strong addition to their midfield, and be in contention for every club down to Carlton.

from Emma Qualye at the age

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/the-pick-of-the-crop-20121117-29jct.html#ixzz2Cc45OS2G

no real mention of pace, speaking to a demon mate, who thought he was locked in until all this talk of Toumpas becoming available, said he thought it was decent... not much to go on.

21-11-2012, 11:34 AM
What is Wines' pace like? His disposal is apparently good (although some have suggested he often takes the 'safe' option which is what Wallis often does as well).

3.07 seconds over 20m - so not quick

Good 3km time trial and excellent V02 max result.

21-11-2012, 11:47 AM
From media reports it looks like we can expect Wines and Menzel to be coming our way. Would have preferred Toumpas or O'Rourke to Wines....but meh. No-one really knows who will end up the better option. Pick 22 is the intriguing one...hope we get lucky and some KPP's slide to us.

I think that is the key to it. No good worrying that if we don't get player "A" the roof will cave in as player "B" who we pick up might end up a far better player. Nobody knows.

21-11-2012, 11:58 AM
3.07 seconds over 20m - so not quick

Good 3km time trial and excellent V02 max result.

If Wines was available and Toumpas, O'Rorke are already taken would you take Wines?

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 12:23 PM
If Wines was available and Toumpas, O'Rorke are already taken would you take Wines?

Definatly...

I beleive we take whom is left of Toumpas, O'Rourke, and Wines in that order...

I'm not sold on plowman if he falls through.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 12:23 PM
In saying that, word is he's locked at 3, the top 3 have been told by GWS that they're are in.

21-11-2012, 12:44 PM

I'm probably not the best person to ask, other than a few of the championship matches I haven't seen them play. Realistically I can only comment on type rather than individual player I would like, I'd prefer some outside run and skill, and a player that can play mid/forward/back. So based on reports of their skillset I'd like Menzel and Mayes.

The reality is unless you've watched a lot of the under 18s you're really only commenting on type of player, some people say "if we draft Wines I'll throw up" or "I wouldn't have drafted Clay Smith even in the 3rd round", but they have no idea, what they really mean is they don't want another player who's perceived to be an inside midfielder.

21-11-2012, 01:05 PM
In saying that, word is he's locked at 3, the top 3 have been told by GWS that they're are in.

source?

21-11-2012, 01:09 PM
Bottom line is Melbourne would be insane to not pick Wines.
He's exactly the type of player they need and he has ties to the club (best mate is Jack Viney and Todd Viney who is their current head of recruiting, taught him everything he knows about football and is a pseudo father figure to him).

For Melbourne to pick more of an outside runner in Toumpas over Wines who is Sam Mitchell/Jobe Watson like, doesn't make sense.

I'd take either in a hearbeat though.

21-11-2012, 01:19 PM
Bottom line is Melbourne would be insane to not pick Wines.
He's exactly the type of player they need and he has ties to the club (best mate is Jack Viney and Todd Viney who is their current head of recruiting, taught him everything he knows about football and is a pseudo father figure to him).

For Melbourne to pick more of an outside runner in Toumpas over Wines who is Sam Mitchell/Jobe Watson like, doesn't make sense.

I'd take either in a hearbeat though.

You could argue they also need Toumpas just as much. I'd say they have more inside players than outside players.

21-11-2012, 01:25 PM
Would anyone liken Wines to Luke Hodge?

I am trying to get an understanding of what he offers. I am worried that we will end up with a glut of chunkier "inside" midfielders who are not particularly noted for being anything other than adequate with their disposal.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 01:33 PM
source?

can't find it again, a journo on twitter...

21-11-2012, 01:34 PM
SOS has said they will tell their top 3 on Thrusday afternoon before the draft, not before.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 01:36 PM
Can only tell you what i read? how legit it is, is beyond me.

Also to clarify it was that the top 3 had been told, not that Plowman was definatly one of them.

21-11-2012, 01:38 PM
Can only tell you what i read? how legit it is, is beyond me.
And I'm doing the same

21-11-2012, 01:49 PM
can't find it again, a journo on twitter...

cool. That seems to be the consensus in all the media out there so i think it'd be a pretty safe bet. Pick 4 tough may not be as certain

21-11-2012, 01:54 PM
I guess so. I just hope it goes well for us. We need a lucky break.

Probably not the best choice of words if we are going to select Stringer & Menzel! :)

21-11-2012, 02:18 PM
Would anyone liken Wines to Luke Hodge?

I am trying to get an understanding of what he offers. I am worried that we will end up with a glut of chunkier "inside" midfielders who are not particularly noted for being anything other than adequate with their disposal.

Kind of when he plays midfield, but not really the same skill set and Hodge.
Oliver compares himself to Jobe Watson.

21-11-2012, 02:21 PM
News just in re Melbourne on Toumpas v Wines

Demons deny viney his friend (http://www.news.com.au/top-stories/demons-deny-jack-viney-his-dream-as-they-opt-for-late-change-to-jimmy-toumpas-in-afl-draft/story-e6frfkp9-1226520964837)

21-11-2012, 02:36 PM
I really feel Macrae suits our side really well, he would be my first pick if Whitfield, Toumpas, O'Rourke and Plowman are all gone.
I have a feeling our second pick will be between Stringer and Menzel. By all reports Wines won't get past pick 5 & 6 though, so I'm guessing he will be the other one. I would prefer Menzel personally as Wines doesn't offer anything that we don't already have. I hope we take the risk.

21-11-2012, 02:46 PM
I really feel Macrae suits our side really well, he would be my first pick if Whitfield, Toumpas, O'Rourke and Plowman are all gone.
I have a feeling our second pick will be between Stringer and Menzel. By all reports Wines won't get past pick 5 & 6 though, so I'm guessing he will be the other one. I would prefer Menzel personally as Wines doesn't offer anything that we don't already have. I hope we take a risk.

I'm also think it will be Wines and Menzel,
Pick 22 we'll see what talls are left over, doubt Stringer, O'Brien or Shaw will still be there though, if we 16-18 might have a chance at nabbing one of those.

21-11-2012, 02:46 PM
Probably not the best choice of words if we are going to select Stringer & Menzel! :)

f'scray........I like...the way...you roll :D

21-11-2012, 02:48 PM
I will be just a tiny bit disappointed if we end up with Wines.

21-11-2012, 02:49 PM
News just in re Melbourne on Toumpas v Wines

Demons deny viney his friend (http://www.news.com.au/top-stories/demons-deny-jack-viney-his-dream-as-they-opt-for-late-change-to-jimmy-toumpas-in-afl-draft/story-e6frfkp9-1226520964837)

Doesn't look like we will be getting O'Rourke if that article is to be believed. Wines will be our pick 5 then with Stringer as # 6 or possibly Menzel.

Wines sounds like blueprint of the McCartney game plan so can't see us going past him. By what I have read it is seems a pity we won't be picking up O'Rourke.

21-11-2012, 03:01 PM

Why is that?, don't rate him or too similar?

Oliver Wines bio (https://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/151310/default.aspx)

Video interview (http://bigpondvideo.com/AFL/504078/Countdown:%20Oliver%20Wines/)

21-11-2012, 03:03 PM
Certainly has some guns on him.

21-11-2012, 03:04 PM

Not me I'll be very happy.

21-11-2012, 03:07 PM
Not disappointed at all. Best available bases and he is it.

21-11-2012, 03:10 PM
Why is that?, don't rate him or too similar?

Oliver Wines bio (https://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/151310/default.aspx)

Video interview (http://bigpondvideo.com/AFL/504078/Countdown:%20Oliver%20Wines/)

Too similar. Only going on what I've read, he sounds like he's great at what he does but it doesn't seem like he'll add anything very different to our mix. I was really hoping that we could use this draft to add some skills and polish (blah blah blah)

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 03:12 PM
If we can pull off either Toumpas/O'Rourke/Wines at 5 and Menzel at 6, i think we've done very well. Based on the info we have. As with many drafts kids could be absolute stars, then for any given number of reasons never make it at AFL level. Lets hope the stars align for the doggies this season.

It's been said many times Menzel could be the best player in the Draft? I think if his knee concerns weren't there he goes top 2. I think it's worth the Punt at 6, with what else is available.

Evel
21-11-2012, 03:16 PM
I wouldn't be upset if we ended up with Wines, provided we picked up some polish with the other picks. With our other inside mids and the possibility of GWS/Gold Coast super teams, making sure we always get the ball first could be a good thing.

Just worth noting, there was an article on the AFL website regarding Koby Stevens that now he's injury free he sees himself as an outside player. I confess I don't know a lot about Stevens, but if the club thinks he can play an outside role, Wines may have a spot after all.

21-11-2012, 03:18 PM
Think it's going to be Wines/ Menzel, Mayes.

21-11-2012, 03:20 PM
If we can pull off either Toumpas/O'Rourke/Wines at 5 and Menzel at 6, i think we've done very well. Based on the info we have. As with many drafts kids could be absolute stars, then for any given number of reasons never make it at AFL level. Lets hope the stars align for the doggies this season.

It's been said many times Menzel could be the best player in the Draft? I think if his knee concerns weren't there he goes top 2. I think it's worth the Punt at 6, with what else is available.

If your looking at safe bets, i would say Wines is the obvious one.
The others all have some doubts, whether it be injury or body types.

So picking a safe bet in Wines and a risky bet in Menzel would compliment each other nicely.

21-11-2012, 03:23 PM
Good post above.

I guess if we feel that Stevens will play more of his football on a flank, then there's room for Wines. However, I still think it would be too many of the same type. Wines will be a very good player and possibly captain material, but our list is desperate for skill, creativity and pace.

Food for thought:
- How would posters feel if we picked up the following:
5: Wines
6: Stringer
22: Simpson

21-11-2012, 03:34 PM
Good post above.

I guess if we feel that Stevens will play more of his football on a flank, then there's room for Wines. However, I still think it would be too many of the same type. Wines will be a very good player and possibly captain material, but our list is desperate for skill, creativity and pace.

Food for thought:
- How would posters feel if we picked up the following:
5: Wines
6: Stringer
22: Simpson

Personally I would be happy with Wines & Stringer TBB. Don't know a lot about Simpson to give an opinion.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 03:40 PM
If your looking at safe bets, i would say Wines is the obvious one.
The others all have some doubts, whether it be injury or body types.

So picking a safe bet in Wines and a risky bet in Menzel would compliment each other nicely.

Exactly.

21-11-2012, 03:46 PM
Exactly.

Thirded - we need best available with these picks. That's probably Wines/Menzel if the Hun have their facts right.

What if it goes:

Whitfield
O'Rourke
Menzel
Toumpas

Wines, Mayes? Wines, McCrae?

Still very solid outcomes. Going to get two very good players.

21-11-2012, 04:03 PM
Thirded - we need best available with these picks. That's probably Wines/Menzel if the Hun have their facts right.

What if it goes:

Whitfield
O'Rourke
Menzel
Toumpas

I think Macrae might be more probable which i wouldnt mind. He is similar to Menzel and would be a good get. Has a basketball background which has helped his decision-making and is similar in style to Pendulbury who also had a bball background.

21-11-2012, 04:38 PM
I really have no idea who the hell we will pick to be perfectly honest, but I know one thing, I'm getting so sick of waiting! Everyone has a theory or a phantom draft or supposed inside info and IT'S DOING MY HEAD IN

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 04:42 PM

What if it goes:

Whitfield
O'Rourke
Menzel
Toumpas

Wines and McCrae, still get the inside outside combo, with McCrae being a bit of a lottery much like Menzel, but more so on how he'll fair rather than injury concerns?

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 04:43 PM
I really have no idea who the hell we will pick to be perfectly honest, but I know one thing, I'm getting so sick of waiting! Everyone has a theory or a phantom draft or supposed inside info and IT'S DOING MY HEAD IN

thats the fun isn't it?

21-11-2012, 04:46 PM
Some of the journos now confidently talking about a Wines and Macrae combo for us.

21-11-2012, 04:50 PM
Crows have volunteered to give up picks 20 and 54 in tomorrow's draft!!!! Source: AFL Patrick Keane and Hun.

21-11-2012, 04:53 PM
Crows have volunteered to give up picks 20 and 54 in tomorrow's draft!!!! Source: AFL Patrick Keane and Hun.

Yep widely reported now. So 21 for us then?

21-11-2012, 04:54 PM
I don't know whether I'm excited or scared about the fact that we really have no idea who we will be picking up at 5 & 6.

Maybe a bit of both..

21-11-2012, 04:57 PM
I don't know whether I'm excited or scared about the fact that we really have no idea who we will be picking up at 5 & 6.

Maybe a bit of both..

well hopefully the club has it all worked out!

21-11-2012, 04:58 PM
If we draft Wines you'd think we'd draft Menzel with him

21-11-2012, 04:59 PM
Some of the journos now confidently talking about a Wines and Macrae combo for us.

That better be because of injury concerns because Menzel is reportedly a much better talent. I would really hate to see Menzel become a superstar knowing we passed on him as we weren't willing to take the risk...but then there is always the chance he wont make it onto the park in most seasons....DAM I JUST WANT THIS DRAFT DONE. I HATE THE UNCERTAINTY!

21-11-2012, 04:59 PM
This helps:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/151451/default.aspx

Now we have picks 21 & 50 :)

21-11-2012, 05:02 PM
Apparently Wines and Toumpas still don't know where they are headed and both said they had not spoken to clubs since the combine. Would we not have spoken to Wines since the combine if we believed he could be a good chance to be available to us?

21-11-2012, 05:13 PM
Interesting - there was a rumour that Port were speaking to a Victorian player ("star") either yesterday or today - does that mean it was Macrae and not Wines?
If so, they would expecting Wines to not be available at their pick.

21-11-2012, 05:16 PM
This helps:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/151451/default.aspx

Now we have picks 21 & 50 :)

That may even help us nail a KPF, never know.

21-11-2012, 05:17 PM
That may even help us nail a KPF, never know.
Adelaide were supposed to be interested in O'Brien by rumour, although that depends on him getting past Collingwood

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 05:26 PM
I know it will assist us this year, but i don't like this trying to dictate their punishment. It reeks

21-11-2012, 05:33 PM
Not sure.

Big risk though.

I have little doubt Geelong was also "confident" about his brother when they sent him back out after his first knee reco!!!
And what did he last? About 5 minutes.
If I hear the "high risk> high reward" #*^#* again I think I shall scream!!
How about the headline.... High risk option taken but unfortunately = total disaster...yet another draft opportunity wasted by team that could ill afford it.

Look Menzel no doubt looks a wonderful player, IF, and it is a huge IF, his knees hold up.
At our pick in the 50's he might be worth the risk, but a top 10? In my opinion [ and yes it is just that] far to big a gamble. Bit like taking out a mortgage on the family home, and betting it on a hand of poker sight unseen.

21-11-2012, 05:49 PM
I'm thinking a good chance it will go like this:

Pick 5 - Wines/Macrae
Pick 6 - Stringer/Menzel
Pick 21 - Wright/Simpson
Pick 50 - Bourke/Paparone

If they pan out like that i will be happy

21-11-2012, 05:57 PM
Just on pick 6.

Apparently it is a cursed draft number.

In the last 25 years of the draft, the best players selected at pick 6 were James Walker, Ash Sampi, Damien Cupido.

Perhaps we shouldn't pick Stringer or Menzel!!!

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 06:05 PM
I have little doubt Geelong was also "confident" about his brother when they sent him back out after his first knee reco!!!
And what did he last? About 5 minutes.
If I hear the "high risk> high reward" #*^#* again I think I shall scream!!
How about the headline.... High risk option taken but unfortunately = total disaster...yet another draft opportunity wasted by team that could ill afford it.

Look Menzel no doubt looks a wonderful player, IF, and it is a huge IF, his knees hold up.
At our pick in the 50's he might be worth the risk, but a top 10? In my opinion [ and yes it is just that] far to big a gamble. Bit like taking out a mortgage on the family home, and betting it on a hand of poker sight unseen.

I'd agree if it wasn't that i keep hearing this guy is the most talented player in the draft.

He's worth a chance, or we could end up looking foolish for not taking the player with the skill set we need most according to most.

21-11-2012, 06:15 PM
Just on pick 6.

Apparently it is a cursed draft number.

In the last 25 years of the draft, the best players selected at pick 6 were James Walker, Ash Sampi, Damien Cupido.

Perhaps we shouldn't pick Stringer or Menzel!!!

Tom Williams was pick 6:eek:

21-11-2012, 06:21 PM
I'd agree if it wasn't that i keep hearing this guy is the most talented player in the draft.

He's worth a chance, or we could end up looking foolish for not taking the player with the skill set we need most according to most.

We could just as easily end up "looking foolish" either way. Not a terribly sound reason for doing something I would not have thought.

Re this Adelaide giving up their first two draft picks thing.
Sounds like a very crafty maneuver for mine.
They drop two picks in a severely compromised draft. When they come back to drafting after serving their punishment, it will likely be in an uncompromised draft situation.

21-11-2012, 06:22 PM
Tom Williams was pick 6:eek:

I burst out laughing when I read this. That's the absolutely funny part about all this nail biting.

although....cynicism aside, the testing has come a long way, even since Tommy's days.

21-11-2012, 06:29 PM
I know it will assist us this year, but i don't like this trying to dictate their punishment. It reeks

I reckon it shows some goodwill or at least an attempt at establishing goodwill. They didn't have to give up their picks. Didn't have to proclaim their guilt with Tippett either so they're acknowledging our feeling of being cheated and doing a bit of soul sacrificing. Good to see and I guess this could be the way of the future, self imposed regulation and punishment. It does solicit goodwill from fellow stakeholders, in this case opposition clubs.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 06:29 PM
We could just as easily end up "looking foolish" either way. Not a terribly sound reason for doing something I would not have thought.

Re this Adelaide giving up their first two draft picks thing.
Sounds like a very crafty maneuver for mine.
They drop two picks in a severely compromised draft. When they come back to drafting after serving their punishment, it will likely be in an uncompromised draft situation.

It really comes down to personal preference, we'll find out tomorrow I guess

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 06:33 PM
I reckon it shows some goodwill or at least an attempt at establishing goodwill. They didn't have to give up their picks. Didn't have to proclaim their guilt with Tippett either so they're acknowledging our feeling of being cheated and doing a bit of soul sacrificing. Good to see and I guess this could be the way of the future, self imposed regulation and punishment. It does solicit goodwill from fellow stakeholders, in this case opposition clubs.

All they are trying to do is limit their exposure, they no they've got a lot of pain coming their way, so if they can take some now, when it won't hurt as much, why not... this way they know what they are giving up, pick 20, instead of what could be a top 15 or top 10 depending on A) how severe the punishment is and B) how they go in coming years. Plus i'm assuming they are hoping that by them "stepping up" they will be more lenient when it comes to sentencing.

don't be fooled there is no good will in this.

21-11-2012, 07:09 PM
All they are trying to do is limit their exposure, they no they've got a lot of pain coming their way, so if they can take some now, when it won't hurt as much, why not... this way they know what they are giving up, pick 20, instead of what could be a top 15 or top 10 depending on A) how severe the punishment is and B) how they go in coming years. Plus i'm assuming they are hoping that by them "stepping up" they will be more lenient when it comes to sentencing.

don't be fooled there is no good will in this.

Well I disagree. Goodwill is inherent in all human factions and societies. It must be or else the whole thing collapses. Stock exchange, language itself is predicated on this assumption. If we thought that the majority of transactions are without goodwill then the system collapses. It is all too easy to be cynical and to say that everyone is in it for themselves but if there is no general respect for the needs of the all and it's every bastard for themselves, there could be no AFL, no society. Don't worry there is honour even among thieves and AFL teams. We all must practise trust as much as possible. This is not mutually exclusive with nous and healthy scepticism. Its not Mad Max yet, but if I see it coming, I'm grabbing Tina Turner.

21-11-2012, 07:17 PM
Too similar. Only going on what I've read, he sounds like he's great at what he does but it doesn't seem like he'll add anything very different to our mix. I was really hoping that we could use this draft to add some skills and polish (blah blah blah)

I agree that's what we need. Though, a fair argument can be made for a player with good solid disposal as Wines is purported to have if a standout in the draft (with Father Son selections included, he's probably top seven or so), should be selected over a player that brings a more narrow skill set.

I personally don't think having all of Wines, Stevens, Smith, Wallis and Liberatore is too much of an issue going forwards anyway. Sure, if Cross and Boyd were in their mid-twenties my thoughts would be different, but they're not. It would be great if all of the abovementioned turned out to be 150-200 game players, though realistically we need to be prepared for one or two of them to have average careers, injury issues or the want to move to another club over the coming years. That's just how football works.

21-11-2012, 07:40 PM
I agree that's what we need. Though, a fair argument can be made for a player with good solid disposal as Wines is purported to have if a standout in the draft (with Father Son selections included, he's probably top seven or so), should be selected over a player that brings a more narrow skill set.

I personally don't think having all of Wines, Stevens, Smith, Wallis and Liberatore is too much of an issue going forwards anyway. Sure, if Cross and Boyd were in their mid-twenties my thoughts would be different, but they're not. It would be great if all of the abovementioned turned out to be 150-200 game players, though realistically we need to be prepared for one or two of them to have average careers, injury issues or the want to move to another club over the coming years. That's just how football works.

You would think at least one or two will also play high level footy out of half back or half forward anyway as they'll all be on rotation. Yes, we need the pace and polish of O'Rourke but we are nowhere near a premiership window and plenty of time to add that type in the next 2 or 3 drafts. If Wines is next best we should absolutely grab Wines. Very low risk. I'd be happy with Wines/Mayes I think as they both come highly regarded without the injury issued. Macrea is a later bloomer I'm still not 100% sold on. If we want the risk we could take Garlett at 21.......??

21-11-2012, 07:52 PM

I'm prepared to believe that we are building a formidable midfield. Ideally O'Rourke or Toumpas would slot in as classy receivers but Wines would be a great acquisition. He is not such a one dimensional insider say as young Libba is, rather he is a strong competitor who is suited to inside work but has other attributes. From the AFL website:

"Early last year, he was a stocky 'inside' midfielder at about 182cm. But in the past year he has grown around five centimetres and is now better placed doing some other things, like marking above his head, being a leading target in attack, and having more of a presence around the ground.

He's quick enough, and makes up for any lack of breakaway speed by knowing and reading the game.

"I'm starting to pick up a fair few more handball receives, so when I'm not trying to get it out I'm being involved outside and working it down," he says."

Wines could be part of a formidable Bulldogs midfield, the engine of a successful team. If it's true, as it seems, that GWS are taking O' Rourke and Melbourne will take Toumpas then, hey we take Ollie, gun midfielder and competitor. So that nasty feeling that we have of being robbed by Cooney's injury and the theft of the skill of a sublime outside runner will not be assauged by O'Rourke or Toumpas but we will still have a great midfield.

Evel
21-11-2012, 08:00 PM
Just listened to Brett Anderson on SEN. Had us taking Macrae and Stringer. Said Menzel had a medical at the club last week and they've gone cold on him. Take of that what you will.

21-11-2012, 08:08 PM
Just listened to Brett Anderson on SEN. Had us taking Macrae and Stringer. Said Menzel had a medical at the club last week and they've gone cold on him. Take of that what you will.

Also said we were meeting tonight to finalist who we draft. So still not set yet

Also of note said next years draft will be one of the best and is meant to be stacked with KP forwards early

21-11-2012, 08:34 PM
Is anyone aware if Ben Jacobs is on our radar for pick 21/22?

21-11-2012, 08:35 PM
Also of note said next years draft will be one of the best and is meant to be stacked with KP forwards early

It's looking better then what I thought it would be mid year, not sure about one of the best yet though.

21-11-2012, 08:47 PM
reports are now us taking Macrae with 5 and Stringer with 6

I would be happy with that

Anyone prefer Wines over Macrae?

21-11-2012, 08:53 PM
It's looking better then what I thought it would be mid year, not sure about one of the best yet though.

A good time to be down the bottom. That's the system the AFL has given us.

21-11-2012, 08:54 PM
LAYOhXVLN3sPrefer MacRae myself. seems a little faster on his feet.

21-11-2012, 09:08 PM
Macrae and Stringer?......... Done.

Pedro Sanchez
21-11-2012, 09:21 PM
Is Macrae the one who is mates with Talia?

Regardless, I think we're set for 2 young exciting and talented players to join the club tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing who we take and getting them into the fold...

21-11-2012, 09:22 PM
Hell, I like Stringer better than Whitfield and O'Rourke. Just looks ready to play.

21-11-2012, 09:25 PM
Hell, I like Stringer better than Whitfield and O'Rourke. Just looks ready to play.

God I hope we grab Stringer :)

21-11-2012, 09:31 PM
Me too!
Shades of Sam Mitchell the way he moves.
He doesn't want to move interstate either so win win.

21-11-2012, 09:44 PM

There should be some quality where we're picking:)

21-11-2012, 09:46 PM
reports are now us taking Macrae with 5 and Stringer with 6

I would be happy with that

Anyone prefer Wines over Macrae?

The footage I've seen of Macrae looked like he tried to balk every player in the comp, so yes I prefer him over everyone.

21-11-2012, 10:02 PM
Is Macrae the one who is mates with Talia?

Regardless, I think we're set for 2 young exciting and talented players to join the club tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing who we take and getting them into the fold...

no that was O'Rourke

21-11-2012, 10:03 PM
The footage I've seen of Macrae looked like he tried to balk every player in the comp, so yes I prefer him over everyone.

I agree. He was arguably as good as O'Rourke in the U18s.

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 11:17 PM
Well I disagree. Goodwill is inherent in all human factions and societies. It must be or else the whole thing collapses. Stock exchange, language itself is predicated on this assumption. If we thought that the majority of transactions are without goodwill then the system collapses. It is all too easy to be cynical and to say that everyone is in it for themselves but if there is no general respect for the needs of the all and it's every bastard for themselves, there could be no AFL, no society. Don't worry there is honour even among thieves and AFL teams. We all must practise trust as much as possible. This is not mutually exclusive with nous and healthy scepticism. Its not Mad Max yet, but if I see it coming, I'm grabbing Tina Turner.

These being the same people that paid under the table and put in secretive clauses to a contract to gain an unfair advantage in the first place, hmmmm?

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 11:17 PM
We're side tracking, late mail Stringer and McCrae, thoughts???

21-11-2012, 11:27 PM
We're side tracking, late mail Stringer and McCrae, thoughts???

I'm happy with that. I would have preferred Menzel to Stringer (in terms of risk) but I trust we have done the research and considered him too risky. I mean Menzel would be in better nick atm than Stringer who can barely run a time trial so surely we have determined Stringer is a better bet long term

WB4Life
21-11-2012, 11:35 PM
Yes from the report the Menzel medical did not go well, not sure why we're passing on Wines though?

21-11-2012, 11:41 PM
Yes from the report the Menzel medical did not go well, not sure why we're passing on Wines though?

Maybe we realise we need some outside pace and xfactor? But then we could have also gone Wines over Stringer. I've no idea what we are thinking! Hopefully they can tell us what their plans were all along post-draft

21-11-2012, 11:53 PM
Personally prefer Wines and Macrae.
Not unhappy with Stringer though,Macrae seems like he's tracked Similar to Money Bags Of GWS. I think they're looking at a forward mid with Stringer, and as long as we don't see that horrid photo again of him breaking his leg!

22-11-2012, 12:39 AM
I'm happy with that. I would have preferred Menzel to Stringer (in terms of risk) but I trust we have done the research and considered him too risky. I mean Menzel would be in better nick atm than Stringer who can barely run a time trial so surely we have determined Stringer is a better bet long term
If you are only looking at the injury/fitness risk associated with them, Menzel is a much higher risk.

I would feel vastly more confident choosing Stringer who has a united and recovered fracture in his leg, than choosing Menzel who has an artificial ligament in his knee which is currently unproven long term and unlikely to last his entire career.

Menzel may be the more talented, but he's also the greater risk.

Stringer and Macrae/Wines/Mayes would be fine with me.

22-11-2012, 12:51 AM
Is anyone aware if Ben Jacobs is on our radar for pick 21/22?

Doesn't sound like it. Wants North and scaring away other clubs who are interested. Best let him go there.

22-11-2012, 01:14 AM
I like the idea of Wines over McCrae, though I wouldn't be unhappy if we took the latter. My comments surrounding the focus on his strengths being more outside oriented notwithstanding, if the club feels he covers a need and is adequate in all of the areas Wines is more proficient then that's good enough for me.

As for Stringer, I've been convinced we need a utility that can play back, middle and forward as a priority equal to any need for outside quality that we have. Once again, I can only go on the brief clips I've seen of him, and what I've read, though I really feel he is the most likely player in the draft that can fill that need for us.

If it's deemed Stringer can keep his recovery rate up from the horrible injury he suffered, then for me it's a must that we draft him.

22-11-2012, 01:43 AM
Emma Quayle's Phantom Draft says Macrae and Stringer with Kennedy at 22, although that's far enough down to be less certain. Seems pretty close to locked in with everyone covering the draft that we'll go with Macrae and Stringer.

22-11-2012, 02:00 AM
Emma Quayle's Phantom Draft says Macrae and Stringer with Kennedy at 22, although that's far enough down to be less certain. Seems pretty close to locked in with everyone covering the draft that we'll go with Macrae and Stringer.

Kennedy at 21 would be fantastic. I still have a query over Macraes awkward kicking style not handling the added pressure of AFL footy. As I have said before reminds me of Sam Power in that way I just hope I'm wrong as many judges rate him.

Spencer White is being talked up as the big smokey. The doggies are suckers for athletic project talls and the one bonus about this kid is that he can actually kick straight! I wonder if we would have a crack at 22?

Pedro Sanchez
22-11-2012, 02:32 AM
no that was O'Rourke

Cheers mate - see Emma Quayle has us picking

5 - Macrae
6 - Stringer
21 - Kennedy

Tidy threesome

22-11-2012, 06:56 AM

5 - Macrae
6 - Stringer
21 - Kennedy

Tidy threesome

There'd be dancing in the streets out west wouldn't there?

I still don't get the idea of passing on Wines but you'd have to be delighted with this.

22-11-2012, 08:00 AM

Some interesting predictions from Emma. I'd be over the moon with that outcome. Found it interesting she had Grundy going to the Pies at pick 20, and not being selected before pick 14.

22-11-2012, 08:09 AM

5 - Macrae
6 - Stringer
21 - Kennedy

Tidy threesome

Would be happy with this. That's 2 phantom drafts going with this

22-11-2012, 08:56 AM
Found it interesting she had Grundy going to the Pies at pick 20, and not being selected before pick 14.

She also had Corr going before Jaksch, which I just dont see. I am not sure Jacksch will get past 11.

22-11-2012, 09:56 AM

5 - Macrae
6 - Stringer
21 - Kennedy

Tidy threesome

Has anyone got a link to this article that works? None of the Fairfax websites show any text under the headline.

22-11-2012, 09:59 AM
Has anyone got a link to this article that works? None of the Fairfax websites show any text under the headline.

It's "interactive" for some stupid reason, which means you have to go to the team logos and click on them to get the name at each pick.

22-11-2012, 10:01 AM
Who has Emma selected as the top 4?

22-11-2012, 10:03 AM
She also had Corr going before Jaksch, which I just dont see. I am not sure Jacksch will get past 11.

The thinking is that Carlton want Menzel and that GC are interested in Corr so GWS with 12 and 14 might take Corr first and then allows them to take Jaksch after GC.

Jaksch may well go to Richmond at nine and if Menzel and Macrae aren't available at 11, Jaksch is likely to go to Carlton.

This all assumes teams have been reasonably honest about their intentions.

22-11-2012, 10:03 AM

Top 4 is Whitfield, O'Rourke, Plowman and Toumpas

WB4Life
22-11-2012, 10:06 AM
Jake Stringer
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150967/default.aspx

Jackson Macrae
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150501/default.aspx

Ben Kennedy
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150132/default.aspx

22-11-2012, 10:21 AM
I'm hearing that our pick 22 (or 21 effectively) will be left field. Not sure what that means yet - other than it may surprise.

22-11-2012, 10:29 AM

Are you using IE explorer? If so it wont work

22-11-2012, 10:32 AM

It works on Firefox. You double click the team logo.

22-11-2012, 10:35 AM
What time is the draft?

22-11-2012, 10:39 AM
What time is the draft?

Starts on Fox Footy at 7pm, I think first pick might be closer to 7:30pm.

22-11-2012, 10:44 AM
I'm hearing that our pick 22 (or 21 effectively) will be left field. Not sure what that means yet - other than it may surprise.
Spencer White?
Plenty of BF buzz about him, 30 goals in his last 10 TAC games after they fixed his asthma.
Reminds me a little of Brian Harris having his sleep apnea fixed.

22-11-2012, 10:46 AM

Thanks.

22-11-2012, 10:53 AM

Will also be broadcast on SEN and 3AW

22-11-2012, 10:58 AM
How am I going to secretly listen to this without my partner finding out how tragic I am?

22-11-2012, 11:04 AM

Whitfield, O'Rourke, Plowman, Toumpas.
Seems to be consensus.

22-11-2012, 11:05 AM
How am I going to secretly listen to this without my partner finding out how tragic I am?

My thoughts exactly, but some things a man or women :) just has to do!

22-11-2012, 11:16 AM

How am I going to get 3 kids to bed before pick 1? (My wife knows how tragic I am, she'll just be at work)

22-11-2012, 11:18 AM
Spencer White?
Plenty of BF buzz about him, 30 goals in his last 10 TAC games after they fixed his asthma.
Reminds me a little of Brian Harris having his sleep apnea fixed.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/149782/default.aspx

Interesting that Kretiuk is the coach of Spencer, I'm sure the dogs would know his story well.

22-11-2012, 11:36 AM
According to todays Hun we are choosing the Three "M"'s. Macrae, Menzel & Membrey. Who knows!

22-11-2012, 11:44 AM

Dayle Garlett? Do we back ourselves in to turn the kid around?

We may consider him with pick 51.

22-11-2012, 11:48 AM
Emma Quayle has us picking Ben Kennedy with pick 21, with Nathan Hrovat also in the mix.

22-11-2012, 11:50 AM
Emma Quayle has us picking Ben Kennedy with pick 21, with Nathan Hrovat also in the mix.

Spencer White is another bolter option at #21 - has come on since his asthma has been properly managed.

EDIT: Sorry - I see that Mofra has beaten me to the punch with this.

22-11-2012, 11:51 AM
Spencer White at #21 looks like a good option.
I have a feeling that with the history of Buddy & Jack Darling that both Stringer & Spencer are going to go early. Everyone seems to want a big forward and as it has been mentioned here, no club wants to be lumped with the tag that Richmond did as the team that overlooked a Buddy type for Richard Tambling type.
However, I dont know if we should risk one of our earlier picks on either Stringer or Menzel, pick #21 doesnt bother me as much, but #5 & #6 need to be used wisely. Probably Spencer will be the one available at #21.
I hope we get someone with speed and a good kick at 5 & 6. I used to think that the Eagle was overrated. Now he's gone I understand how important he was to our structure.

22-11-2012, 12:26 PM
Dayle Garlett? Do we back ourselves in to turn the kid around?

We may consider him with pick 51.

Can't see us picking him up with his issues.

Should fit in well at St Kilda.

22-11-2012, 01:17 PM
Spencer White at #21 looks like a good option.
I have a feeling that with the history of Buddy & Jack Darling that both Stringer & Spencer are going to go early. Everyone seems to want a big forward and as it has been mentioned here, no club wants to be lumped with the tag that Richmond did as the team that overlooked a Buddy type for Richard Tambling type.
However, I dont know if we should risk one of our earlier picks on either Stringer or Menzel, pick #21 doesnt bother me as much, but #5 & #6 need to be used wisely. Probably Spencer will be the one available at #21.
I hope we get someone with speed and a good kick at 5 & 6. I used to think that the Eagle was overrated. Now he's gone I understand how important he was to our structure.

Good point, that often gets missed by our supporters. Certain defficiencies are often exaggerated while certain qualities are severely underrated.

22-11-2012, 01:31 PM
Just looking at last year's draft, the first pick was actually about 7:10pm so my initial thought of 7:30pm might be misguided and people should be ready for picks to start just a bit after 7pm.

22-11-2012, 01:40 PM

Pretend you are having an affair with another woman-or man.

22-11-2012, 01:43 PM
Hopefully none of the kids we pick today will end up the coodabeen champions thread!

22-11-2012, 01:44 PM
Just looking at last year's draft, the first pick was actually about 7:10pm so my initial thought of 7:30pm might be misguided and people should be ready for picks to start just a bit after 7pm.

Do you know though divvydan that they are not counting down from pick 10 to pick 1 in this year's draft.

22-11-2012, 01:52 PM

Nooooooooooooooooooooooo.:eek: No "smokies" with high picks. Pick 84, ok. But not pick 21.

Also, I was not until now aware that Howard's nickname is "Smokey."

22-11-2012, 01:53 PM
Can't see us picking him up with his issues.

Should fit in well at St Kilda.

ROFLMTBO*

*Roll on floor laughing my tin bum off.

22-11-2012, 01:55 PM
Re Kennedy as pick 21 (per Emma Quayle's article today).

I think this is completely wrong as from what I can google about Kennedy is is not the physical type that Macca prefers (witness Geelong). Too small and light weight.