View Full Version : WOOF welcomes Nathan Hrovat

22-11-2012, 08:33 PM
Another great addition to the midfield

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/2012/draft/HROVAT-Nathan-2012.jpg

Dynamic small midfielder who is a prolific ball winner and great user of the footy. Averaged 25.2 disposals (10 contested) and 4.4 clearances in winning Vic Metro’s Most Valuable Player and All-Australian honours this year.

22-11-2012, 08:37 PM
175cm,
79kg,
7/6/94

There's a bit of Toby Greene about Hrovat in that he isn't the most heralded - or big - onballer in the draft, but he might just be the most effective. The clearance specialist racked up 126 possessions across five games at the national championships at an efficiency rate of 75 per cent to be named Vic Metro's MVP and All Australian. He played eight games for the Knights and was named their best player on five occasions and their second-best twice.

22-11-2012, 09:05 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150187/default.aspx

By Callum Twomey 7:00 AM Thu 01 Nov, 2012

Nathan Hrovat plays a similar style to gun GWS youngster Toby Greene

NATHAN HROVAT
DOB: 07/06/94
Height: 175cm
Weight: 76kg
Club: Northern Knights/Vic Metro

Bio: Dynamic small midfielder who is a prolific ball winner and great user of the footy. Averaged 25.2 disposals (10 contested) and 4.4 clearances in winning Vic Metro's Most Valuable Player and All Australian honours this year.

Upside: It's hard to think of a game this year where Hrovat hasn't been one of the most prolific players on the ground, such is his ability to accumulate possessions. However, he's a lot more than just a ball-winner. He hurts opponents with his disposals, and is a very clean and effective user of it. He's done a lot of work on his fitness and strength to build his upper body, making him an inside midfielder who doesn't get pushed off the ball and one who can run to contest after contest. Hrovat's also a leader, a trait that was evident throughout the national carnival. As a member of Vic Metro's leadership group, the Northern Knights onballer was more vocal, instructive and encouraging than nearly any Metro player. Teammates love him, coaches know what they're getting from him, and he is driven to be a good player at the top level. He would appear ready to play senior AFL footy next season and it wouldn't surprise to see him slot in seamlessly.

"He was our captain this year and he did a terrific job at it. He embraces everybody and I've never seen him attend a training session down in the dumps or moody. He's been preparing himself for this opportunity for two or three years." - Northern Knights region manager Peter Kennedy

Downside: Hrovat has been well aware for most of his life that some might believe his size would work against him in his AFL ambitions. But, in reality, that won't hold him back. If he's good enough, then he's big enough, and Hrovat has shown enough to suggest he's at the standard to be an early pick.

Plays like: There are some similarities to Greater Western Sydney's Toby Greene in that both are smaller types, but manage to consistently rack up large numbers of disposals. Some players are blessed with the ability to just always get the ball, and Hrovat's got it. His skills on his non-preferred left side are also impressive.

Draft range: Expect Hrovat to be placed somewhere at the back end of the first round of the draft. Fremantle (pick 17) could be an interested suitor, and Collingwood, with three of the next four picks after Freo, might also be keen to boost its midfield stocks.

In his own words: "I've had a pretty consistent year. Coming into the season I was just hoping to maybe make the Vic Metro team and hopefully get a rookie spot if I got lucky and one popped up. I've been really happy with how it's gone."

22-11-2012, 09:08 PM
Sounds alright based on that. Sounds like we are recruiting a very determined squad.

22-11-2012, 09:22 PM
Good skills, thats a plus at least. Not too quick though.

I think someone likened him to Sam Mitchell? We can only hope.

22-11-2012, 09:27 PM
I don't mind this selection. Great youngster who knows his limitations but he will settle in quickly enough.

22-11-2012, 09:33 PM
The next Sam Mitchell according to some.......

22-11-2012, 09:34 PM
Welome aboard Nathan.

Not unhappy with this selection.

Btw Emma Quayle had Nathan going at 15 to North in her latest Phantom Draft this morning, before the likes of Grundy, Kennedy and O'Brien.

22-11-2012, 09:34 PM
Not surprised if Nathan turns out the best or equal best of the bunch

22-11-2012, 09:42 PM
Good skills, thats a plus at least. Not too quick though.

I think someone likened him to Sam Mitchell? We can only hope.

The term "nippy" comes to mind. Very busy looking player with neat disposal. Might quickly become a fan favorite. Still surprised we didn't pick up at east one tall though.

22-11-2012, 09:51 PM
If he turns out half as good i'll be happy.

22-11-2012, 09:57 PM
The term "nippy" comes to mind. Very busy looking player with neat disposal. Might quickly become a fan favorite. Still surprised we didn't pick up at east one tall though.

Check Stringer out. 1.91m 91kg. Good overhead (see highlights package). FF.

22-11-2012, 10:01 PM
Check Stringer out. 1.91m 91kg. Good overhead (see highlights package). FF.

Yeah.....I should have typed KPP rather than tall. Overall I'm happy with our picks but I have a nagging feeling that we might have come up slightly short. Couldn't believe who was still available at pick 21. Just hope we got that one right......I THINK we did.

22-11-2012, 10:02 PM
Trained with Boomer Harvey, B-Mac said on SEN that he's the most likely to debut next year.
Ahead of Stringer & Macrae :eek:

22-11-2012, 10:05 PM
Our biggest steal, will be a player

22-11-2012, 10:17 PM
I'm happy with this selection, he uses the ball well. Noticed he bangs the ball on to boot a fair bit without looking in the TAC which I don't like though.

22-11-2012, 10:19 PM
Trained with Boomer Harvey, B-Mac said on SEN that he's the most likely to debut next year.
Ahead of Stringer & Macrae :eek:

There is talk he basically knocked on Boomers door and asked him to mentor him

Reportedly a super impressive young fella

22-11-2012, 10:26 PM
I'm happy with this selection, he uses the ball well. Noticed he bangs the ball on to boot a fair bit without looking in the TAC which I don't like though.

He'll have plenty of his kind at the Kennel then!

22-11-2012, 10:30 PM
Our biggest steal, will be a player

Agree. A ball magnet who works incredibly hard, clean disposal either side and strong around the stoppages. He will be a favourite of fans and coaches and should last the test of time. Don't know how he lasted to 21.

22-11-2012, 10:30 PM
Reminds me in some ways of Alan Christensen from Geelong. More in the way he moves than the style of play.

22-11-2012, 10:36 PM
Reminds me in some ways of Alan Christensen from Geelong. More in the way he moves than the style of play.

Terrific comparison DT. How do you rate him?

22-11-2012, 10:41 PM
Definitely a fan, really likeable kid.

I didn't think he'd last to our pick but given Simpson, Kennedy and Garner were gone I think Hrovat is a really solid selection.

My only question is where he plays.

22-11-2012, 11:28 PM
Definitely a fan, really likeable kid.

I didn't think he'd last to our pick but given Simpson, Kennedy and Garner were gone I think Hrovat is a really solid selection.

My only question is where he plays.
Pure mid by the sounds of it - comments are too slow for a defensive forward and not enough goal sense.

22-11-2012, 11:35 PM

Pardon the pun, but you really are putting the boots in lately?

22-11-2012, 11:55 PM

Most of the reports on him seem to say he's a good user of the ball and a good decision maker.

AFL report
"It's hard to think of a game this year where Hrovat hasn't been one of the most prolific players on the ground, such is his ability to accumulate possessions. However, he's a lot more than just a ball-winner. He hurts opponents with his disposals, and is a very clean and effective user of it."

Herald sun
"Hrovat, the Dogs' next pick, is only 175cm, but has been likened to Sam Mitchell.

''He's a real professional. Wins it in and outside and a really good kick. He's a guy that could be in our leadership program within three years, he's so full on,'' Dalrymple said"

23-11-2012, 12:02 AM
Pure mid by the sounds of it - comments are too slow for a defensive forward and not enough goal sense.

Not sure about this, certainly too early.

Besides Shannon Grant may help turn him into a Shannon Grant, they're not that dissimilar in stature and style.

23-11-2012, 12:09 AM
Pardon the pun, but you really are putting the boots in lately?

It's hardly news that we have players that throw the ball onto the boot indiscriminately.

23-11-2012, 12:16 AM
It's hardly news that we have players that throw the ball onto the boot indiscriminately.

Yes, but again, all reports seem to indicate that disposal/ball use/decions making is a key strength of his. One poster here has indicated that he throws the ball on the boot indiscriminately.
Perhaps you have seen a lot of Hrovat to make the call, but from the limited footage available and from the multiple reports written here is nothing to suggest this kid will not actually improve our team's disposal efficiency.

23-11-2012, 12:35 AM
There is talk he basically knocked on Boomers door and asked him to mentor him

Brent Harvey's father-in-law lives in the same street as him, helped to tee it up.

Poster boy for good character and work ethic, Daniel Cross without the kicking or pace issues.

23-11-2012, 12:38 AM
Yes, but again, all reports seem to indicate that disposal/ball use/decions making is a key strength of his. One poster here has indicated that he throws the ball on the boot indiscriminately.
Perhaps you have seen a lot of Hrovat to make the call, but from the limited footage available and from the multiple reports written here is nothing to suggest this kid will not actually improve our team's disposal efficiency.

It's really a minor thing as it wasn't that noticeable at the champs. I found it particularly noticeable in the TAC though, may have just had little confidence in his team mates?

23-11-2012, 02:10 AM

Hope he didn't channel Harvey's diving and cheap shot aspects.

23-11-2012, 02:50 AM
It's really a minor thing as it wasn't that noticeable at the champs. I found it particularly noticeable in the TAC though, may have just had little confidence in his team mates?

It's a funny thing quick decision making and disposal, it doesn't take a lot to be a bit ahead of those you're playing with, and quite often you end up being more effective when you're playing with elite or more talented players than you normally do as they just know where to go to be on the end of good work.

23-11-2012, 02:57 AM
From watching the wrap up vid on the Bulldogs web page I found it interesting that Dalrymple was very concerned from pick fourteen onwards that Hrovat wouldn't make it to pick twenty one.

He also stated a pick in the late 20's wouldn't have landed him, meaning we were lucky to grab him when we did.

Or maybe we weren't lucky, and the pick traded for Brian Lake landed us the player we wanted if we weren't going to use it on Dawes etc.

I suppose when posters state there was absolutely no reason to negotiate the way we did for the Lake trade, they might not have factored in that if we couldn't get a player in the trade period for that pick, we might have had another player from the draft in mind.

23-11-2012, 07:19 AM
Twitter

A big congrats to @Footyfocused boy @nathanhrovat on being drafted to the western bulldogs. #goodchoicebulldogs

23-11-2012, 08:11 AM
Terrific comparison DT. How do you rate him?

How do I rate Hrovat or Christensen? I would have put Hrovat after GWS pick 12 in my rankings. He is an inside player but gets to contests so not just a clearance machine. Still gets a bit of second possession stuff where he is a metre or two off the pack. That's where he can do some damage because he can hit people up off both sides. Fingers crossed anyway.

I rate Christensen very highly. Wells got a ripper with him.

23-11-2012, 01:49 PM
Twitter

You use Twitter? Maybe the Mayans were right...

23-11-2012, 02:11 PM
It's a funny thing quick decision making and disposal, it doesn't take a lot to be a bit ahead of those you're playing with, and quite often you end up being more effective when you're playing with elite or more talented players than you normally do as they just know where to go to be on the end of good work.

Good point, I think there was a bit more blocking/shepherding as well.

23-11-2012, 03:17 PM
Yeah.....I should have typed KPP rather than tall. Overall I'm happy with our picks but I have a nagging feeling that we might have come up slightly short. Couldn't believe who was still available at pick 21. Just hope we got that one right......I THINK we did.

Next year's draft, mate, next year's draft…

23-11-2012, 03:25 PM
I suppose when posters state there was absolutely no reason to negotiate the way we did for the Lake trade, they might not have factored in that if we couldn't get a player in the trade period for that pick, we might have had another player from the draft in mind.
Getting Lake for pick 21 alone was eminently achievable, whereby we could have then gotten Hrovat and O'Brien. Getting pick 21 was never the criticism of the Lake trade, it was the giving back of pick 27 in exchange for pick 41, and the fact that we inked the deal on day 1 of a 3-week trade period. Agree wholeheartedly with you that Hrovat would not have lasted to our original pick 27, which justifies the trade-up - I just think we gave up pick 27 far too easily.

The end result of the Lake trade for us is Stevens and Hrovat, while the Hawks pocketed Lake and O'Brien - I wish both of our boys a long a fruitful career at the kennel.

23-11-2012, 03:30 PM
Getting Lake for pick 21 alone was eminently achievable, whereby we could have then gotten Hrovat and O'Brien. Getting pick 21 was never the criticism of the Lake trade, it was the giving back of pick 27 in exchange for pick 41, and the fact that we inked the deal on day 1 of a 3-week trade period. Agree wholeheartedly with you that Hrovat would not have lasted to our original pick 27, which justifies the trade-up - I just think we gave up pick 27 far too easily.

The end result of the Lake trade for us is Stevens and Hrovat, while the Hawks pocketed Lake and O'Brien - I wish both of our boys a long a fruitful career at the kennel.

The need for players who can carry the ball and kick it > key position players, IMO.

23-11-2012, 04:19 PM
Can someone please tell me how to pronounce his name? Is it Ho-vat? Ro-vat?

23-11-2012, 04:22 PM

Ah you always clear the muddy waters of the draft Sedat.
Stevens and Hrovat for Lake and O'Brien? Throw in the age factor and I'll drink to that.

23-11-2012, 04:26 PM
Can someone please tell me how to pronounce his name? Is it Ho-vat? Ro-vat?

They seem to be saying Roe-vat.

23-11-2012, 04:56 PM

Man, we're like cats and dogs on this particular point! :o

Probably not going to go over it again, I'm not sure we'll ever see eye to eye on it........though the common ground is in your last couple of sentences, and it will be interesting to see if we end up on top.

23-11-2012, 06:35 PM

A la Luke Dahlhaus.

23-11-2012, 10:50 PM
The need for players who can carry the ball and kick it > key position players, IMO.

Its a fair point you raise and Hrovat will at least get a lot of the ball and use it smartly.
If he can lift his intensity with his defensive acts as a small forward much like Dahlhaus has added to the side then it will be a great benefit for the club.

I wasn't blown away by this selection last night but I'm warming to it now.

23-11-2012, 11:21 PM

I felt exactly the same way, but Im also warming to it

23-11-2012, 11:27 PM

Fair enough, hope that's the case.

24-11-2012, 10:44 AM
Poster boy for good character and work ethic, Daniel Cross without the kicking or pace issues.

We can only hope he turns out as well. Cross with pace and good kicking is a top 5 player in the league.

24-11-2012, 02:23 PM

Ditto here. Them I saw Emma Quayles rankings.
Best Available.
How annoying (pushing the red button) was Ol' Pelican from Stkilda( four extra times!)
Staggered they didn't take a key back

24-11-2012, 02:55 PM

Once I noticed his credentials: Captain, MVP, All-Australian, highest avg disposals, etc. I was very impressed by the selection.

24-11-2012, 03:01 PM
Nice artlice on Hrovat. David King has also had a lot to do with him. Hrovat is extremely determined and you can't help but think he will be successful.

I especially liked this part

"Over Christmas he and his family went to the Gold Coast for a holiday. Hrovat paid for a week-long membership at a local gym, and ran along the beach regularly. Kris took him to Metricon Stadium for a run, but when the gates were locked they drove to Southport's home ground instead to make sure the session happened".

"It wasn't a relaxing summer, I can assure you of that," Hrovat says

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150799/default.aspx

24-11-2012, 04:18 PM
We can only hope he turns out as well. Cross with pace and good kicking is a top 5 player in the league.

We've really backed ourselves in this draft. There were concerns over Stringer's leg, Macrae's size, Hrovat's height, and Prudden was under the radar. Dalrymple has put his stamp on this one and I like it.

24-11-2012, 08:11 PM
Nice artlice on Hrovat. David King has also had a lot to do with him. Hrovat is extremely determined and you can't help but think he will be successful.

I especially liked this part

"Over Christmas he and his family went to the Gold Coast for a holiday. Hrovat paid for a week-long membership at a local gym, and ran along the beach regularly. Kris took him to Metricon Stadium for a run, but when the gates were locked they drove to Southport's home ground instead to make sure the session happened".

"It wasn't a relaxing summer, I can assure you of that," Hrovat says

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150799/default.aspx

one less collingwood supporter in the world.

24-11-2012, 09:52 PM
Here are his stats from the Draft Combine
Certainly some areas to work on

Hrovat, Nathan

Age = 18.3 Height = 175.3 Weight = 79.2 Skinfolds = 65.6 % = 6 Handspan 20.6 % = 15

Running
5 mtr =1.16 % = 9 10 mtr = 1.89 % = 3 20 mtr = 3.08 % = 16 Agility = 8.41 % = 78 Shuttle run = 13 - 2 Repeat Sprints = 26.05 % = 40 3km = 10.54 % = 52

08-12-2012, 10:12 PM
Just heard the back end of an interview on SEN.
Very impressive, and asked about his height being a drawback he was told by Stephen Wells height isn't a drawback. Ultra impressive attitude, getting great support from the older types.

09-12-2012, 01:54 AM
I must admit his height is a concern for me, very few smaller player make it the way the game is played today.

09-12-2012, 02:24 AM
I must admit his height is a concern for me, very few smaller player make it the way the game is played today.

Luke Dahlhaus and Jarryd Blair , Brent Harvey beg to differ.
Ability and application will determine whether or not he makes it.

09-12-2012, 02:28 AM
Luke Dahlhaus and Jarryd Blair , Brent Harvey beg to differ.
Ability and application will determine whether or not he makes it.

Three players are the exception from the hundreds that are on a list, not saying Hrovat won't make it, just hoping he puts in the extra effort to give it a real crack.

09-12-2012, 03:44 AM
Three players are the exception from the hundreds that are on a list, not saying Hrovat won't make it, just hoping he puts in the extra effort to give it a real crack.

Sounds like he has desire, let's hope so.

09-12-2012, 09:24 AM

Quote from Barry Pendergast, Carlton's opposition analyst

"West Coast's 2006 premiership team contained Ben Cousins, Daniel Kerr, David Wirrpanda and Michael Braun, all under 180 centimetres. ''Kicking's always been important, but there's such a huge premium placed on it now that, if you had a choice, you'd take the bloke who's two or three centimetres shorter but had better kicking skills every day of the week."

09-12-2012, 10:25 AM
Quote from Barry Pendergast, Carlton's opposition analyst

"West Coast's 2006 premiership team contained Ben Cousins, Daniel Kerr, David Wirrpanda and Michael Braun, all under 180 centimetres. ''Kicking's always been important, but there's such a huge premium placed on it now that, if you had a choice, you'd take the bloke who's two or three centimetres shorter but had better kicking skills every day of the week."

On top of their kicking skills all of those players had other athletic qualities that more than helped them adjust to AFL.
Hrovat is only a cm short than Dahlhaus and nobody is really concerned now about his height mainly because of his pace. Hrovat will still need to develop something in his game which will allow him to play as a forward.

09-12-2012, 10:51 AM

KT, there are a couple of links to articles in this thread that suggest he will do everything possible to make it.

09-12-2012, 12:27 PM

That is the least of your worries from what I can make of the young man.

09-12-2012, 12:27 PM
KT, there are a couple of links to articles in this thread that suggest he will do everything possible to make it.
Exactly. Training with Boomer Harvey and learning what he needs to do to succeed as a smaller player was excellent initiative. He is my favourite of the new pups. Everything you read about him indicates that he will succeed. If he doesn't it won't be through a lack of skill and dedication. But I think he will be 'special'.