View Full Version : Jake Stringer Fan Club

25-11-2012, 03:25 PM
The Western Bulldogs have just drafted the best power forward to the club since Chris Grant in 1988. This guy has recovered from a double leg break to dominate in the VFL and will only get better. He crashes packs like Mitch Hahn, takes contested marks like Travis Cloke, kicks for goal like Matthew Lloyd and can play in the middle like Matthew Pavlich.

Who's excited? :D

25-11-2012, 04:38 PM
The Western Bulldogs have just drafted the best power forward to the club since Chris Grant in 1988. This guy has recovered from a double leg break to dominate in the VFL and will only get better. He crashes packs like Mitch Hahn, takes contested marks like Travis Cloke, kicks for goal like Matthew Lloyd and can play in the middle like Matthew Pavlich.

Who's excited? :D

I'm with you gogriff. I'm excited too.

25-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Think you might find Barry Hall would be a fair power forward since Grant ;-)

25-11-2012, 05:01 PM
I'm wary of fan clubs after The Brennan Stack-A-Go-Go debacle.

I might keep my powder dry for now.

25-11-2012, 06:29 PM
Think you might find Barry Hall would be a fair power forward since Grant ;-)

Wasn't drafted in. We've got this bloke from 18 to 30+ :)

I might keep my powder dry for now.

Your loss ;)

Anyone want to have a go at a nickname?

25-11-2012, 06:34 PM
Anyone want to have a go at a nickname?

J-String:D

25-11-2012, 06:35 PM
I want this guy to be my fave, but my last lot of faves consisted of Cameron Faulkner and Callan Ward :) so ill keep a lid on it for now haha.

25-11-2012, 06:55 PM
Nickname has to be Snake. Jake the snake.

25-11-2012, 07:55 PM
J-String:D

Very clever, but not the prowling beast image I'm going for :D

Nickname has to be Snake. Jake the snake.

Not bad! Anyone else?

25-11-2012, 07:59 PM
Jake The Snake sounds Good Maddog Im In The fan Club pretty excited bout Jake and what
He can Do.

25-11-2012, 08:29 PM
Very clever, but not the prowling beast image I'm going for :D

Not bad! Anyone else?

Sounds good. The Beast!

25-11-2012, 08:56 PM
String theory

25-11-2012, 09:37 PM
Don't think Stringer needs a nickname.

One needs to be sorted out for Hrovat pronto though.

25-11-2012, 09:44 PM
J Banger

25-11-2012, 10:06 PM
My personal favourite fan club was 'Doog's Droogs'

25-11-2012, 10:41 PM
I'm excited about Jake so count me in the fan club.

25-11-2012, 11:54 PM
Jake Stringer.

No nicknames needed ;)

26-11-2012, 10:21 AM
http://www.ozmufc.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/bigkev.jpg

26-11-2012, 10:26 AM
Peg.

26-11-2012, 01:46 PM
Jake "The Beast" Stringer.

26-11-2012, 02:37 PM
I don't expect him to feature for a while. The kid has done amazing things to get himself up for the draft.,but has a few issues to be sorted out with his leg and referred issues to do with that. I hope the club takes its time really slowly, getting him ready.
Should let Dale Morris take him out for a few beers and recovery stories. What in inspiration.

26-11-2012, 04:11 PM
Hangman/Executioner.

26-11-2012, 04:12 PM
Stinger?

26-11-2012, 04:52 PM
peg.

:d:d:d

26-11-2012, 06:17 PM
Rope-A-Dope. Also, I'm getting a man crush

26-11-2012, 09:07 PM
I don't expect him to feature for a while. The kid has done amazing things to get himself up for the draft.,but has a few issues to be sorted out with his leg and referred issues to do with that. I hope the club takes its time really slowly, getting him ready.
Should let Dale Morris take him out for a few beers and recovery stories. What in inspiration.

What the club has gone through with Morris puts us in a good position to know how to handle Jake.

He strikes me as the sort of kid who won't let anything get in his way.

26-11-2012, 09:58 PM
Ned....In the name of a highly skilled horseman and gun shooter who used all his remarkable skill and courage to protect his passion for life...Just like the field of warriors that our broken legged Ned will outskill, outfox and outcourage. He will create a legend as Ned.

26-11-2012, 10:51 PM
Stringer seems to be made of the right stuff in which I love hearing that he wants to be involved in the contest but lets not turn him into the next Liam Jones just yet.....

WB4Life
27-11-2012, 09:44 AM
Jake "BigRig" Stringer!!!

and yes i'm excited... far too much for aguy yet to have played a game in our colours... any one see the pics of him lined up next to Boydy... he's a man child!

27-11-2012, 11:05 AM

!

That is my favourite so far.

27-11-2012, 03:21 PM

and yes i'm excited... far too much for aguy yet to have played a game in our colours... any one see the pics of him lined up next to Boydy... he's a man child!

Looks like he is already giving Talia a hard time

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/Bulldogs_Photo_gallery_images/2013_Training_26Nov12/IMG_6964.jpg

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/Bulldogs_Photo_gallery_images/2013_Training_26Nov12/IMG_6967.jpg

27-11-2012, 03:25 PM
Looks like he is already giving Talia a hard time

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/Bulldogs_Photo_gallery_images/2013_Training_26Nov12/IMG_6964.jpg

Clear hands in the back in the first picture :)

WB4Life
27-11-2012, 03:38 PM

Rubbin's Racing

27-11-2012, 03:47 PM

That rule needs to be interpretted not as fingers or hands touching the back rather as hands in the bakc that affect the contest or compromise the opponents chance to mark: IN the back not TOUCHING the back. Clear and often obvious distinction umpire.

27-11-2012, 03:54 PM
I'm going with Animal Mother.

http://resources3.news.com.au/images/2012/10/04/1226488/199971-jake-stringer.jpghttp://unrealitymag.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/fmj3.jpg

Ya seen much combat?

29-11-2012, 09:48 PM
Just listening to Aussie Jones, coach of Bendigo Gold, talk very glowingly of Jake. He spun any perceived risk of taking Jake completely around by saying how it was a big risk for Clubs NOT to have taken Jake in the ND if the opportunity presented. No doubt can add Austin to the Fan Club. He also was very confident that within the AFL system, with all the specialised resources available, that getting his leg right would be of little risk, that with his approach he had already come so far with it. Aussie stated how he just loves the contest and for crashing in body on body and that this style did not at all take away from his level of talent.

29-11-2012, 10:16 PM
Just listening to Aussie Jones, coach of Bendigo Gold, talk very glowingly of Jake. He spun any perceived risk of taking Jake completely around by saying how it was a big risk for Clubs NOT to have taken Jake in the ND if the opportunity presented. No doubt can add Austin to the Fan Club. He also was very confident that within the AFL system, with all the specialised resources available, that getting his leg right would be of little risk, that with his approach he had already come so far with it. Aussie stated how he just loves the contest and for crashing in body on body and that this style did not at all take away from his level of talent.

Thanks for sharing Doc.

Good to hear.

29-11-2012, 11:54 PM
Just listening to Aussie Jones, coach of Bendigo Gold, talk very glowingly of Jake. He spun any perceived risk of taking Jake completely around by saying how it was a big risk for Clubs NOT to have taken Jake in the ND if the opportunity presented.

Yeah exactly. Taking an Ollie Wines man child as yet another inside mid and passing on the next Pavlich, bound for GWS in the mini draft until he broke his leg, leaves you with a lot to lose if he comes good somewhere else.

I'm glad we have the environment where our recruiters feel they can make these calls in the best interests of the club without feeling like they will be hung out to dry for wasting a first round pick if he never gets back to his best.

30-11-2012, 02:57 PM

Heard it to. Very glowing loved the part of clubs "Not picking Jake" as taking a risk.

30-11-2012, 03:25 PM
Doing a lot of media so far is our Jake. I can really see this kid becoming a marquee player and eventually putting bums on seats and number 9's on doogies jumpers. Obviously nothing is guaranteed but I just have a feeling about this guy. Read somewhere that he is already impressing on the track and the broken leg would seem to much less of a factor than we've been lead to believe.

30-11-2012, 03:30 PM
I've heard according to Fox Sports News that Jake may need to take some weight off as compared to other kids his age weighs quite a bit. He should become a real asset to our side as a tall forward which we really need.

30-11-2012, 09:50 PM
I've heard according to Fox Sports News that Jake may need to take some weight off as compared to other kids his age weighs quite a bit. He should become a real asset to our side as a tall forward which we really need.

He's a good old country fella, strong build. But yeah, I'm sure he will drop a few kilos this pre-season as he hasn't been able to do much training due to his leg until now. Seems to have spent that time in the gym to get to where he is at the moment.

30-11-2012, 09:57 PM
He's a good old country fella, strong build. But yeah, I'm sure he will drop a few kilos this pre-season as he hasn't been able to do much training due to his leg until now. Seems to have spent that time in the gym to get to where he is at the moment.

Love the signature gogriff.

01-12-2012, 12:10 AM

Haha, me too!

Stringer just has that confidence and character to make him a larger than life cult figure. Add in his stature and skills, and I think he'll be a favourite for a long time!

01-12-2012, 12:18 AM
Lets hope he can handle the pressure

01-12-2012, 12:37 AM
Haha, me too!

Stringer just has that confidence and character to make him a larger than life cult figure. Add in his stature and skills, and I think he'll be a favourite for a long time!

Ryan Griffen did say he is feeling a bit lonely with your new man crush....

01-12-2012, 10:28 AM

Yea :) it's right up there with the Chuck Norris tells Daniel Cross jokes.

Ball on a Stringer
03-12-2012, 03:17 PM
All over this.

19-04-2013, 08:59 PM
Get on board, the ship is leaving the dock :D

19-04-2013, 09:00 PM
Unleash the Beast. Tempted to cancel a date just so I can watch the game.

19-04-2013, 09:01 PM
I'm keeping a firm lid on it. Being realistic as I can and expecting little. That way, even if he has an average day, I'll come out ahead! Very proud day for his family and friends - hope he has a grand day.

19-04-2013, 09:26 PM
Unleash the Beast. Tempted to cancel a date just so I can watch the game.

Better yet, take the date to a pub and watch the game. They say watching Stringer is a powerful aphrodisiac.

Just be careful she doesn't fall in love with Stringer and break things off with you. A mate of mine was served with divorce papers after last week's Willy game.

19-04-2013, 09:37 PM
Better yet, take the date to a pub and watch the game. They say watching Stringer is a powerful aphrodisiac.

Just be careful she doesn't fall in love with Stringer and break things off with you. A mate of mine was served with divorce papers after last week's Willy game.
Watching Stringer has been a powerful personal aphrodisiac.

19-04-2013, 10:21 PM
Chuck Norris tells Daniel Cross jokes. Daniel Cross tells Jake Stringer jokes.

19-04-2013, 11:20 PM
Watching Stringer has been a powerful personal aphrodisiac.

Some naturopath's are recommending Jake Stringer as a natural alternative to viagra.

20-04-2013, 12:33 AM
Getting a bit creepy now.

20-04-2013, 09:35 AM
Very excited about his debut. This kid oozes self confidence. He will be a star in the future, no doubt. I think it is fitting that Stringer and Macrae debut together, seeing that they could both hopefully be 200+ game players for the bulldogs.
I hope he kicks 8 and puts the footy world in a spin:eek:

20-04-2013, 10:31 AM
I hope he kicks 8 and puts the footy world in a spin:eek:

Could he still win the Coleman?

20-04-2013, 11:01 AM
Getting a bit creepy now.
That's what the policeman said too...

20-04-2013, 11:04 AM
Seriously though, all the best to Jake and Jackson. Both have the potential to be absolute stars of the competition, and I can't wait to see it all happen.

10 goals for Stringer, 30 touches for Macrae is a reasonable expectation yeh?

20-04-2013, 11:14 AM
The success of these players has to come with solid offerings from those fringe players we have tried to develop, but are yet to show their true worth. Tutt, Grant, Vezpremi and the like. Bit suss on the mentality created by the whole priority pick thing. In the last 5-6 years it's become unfashionable to bottom out and build a side around kids.

20-04-2013, 06:15 PM
Seriously though, all the best to Jake and Jackson. Both have the potential to be absolute stars of the competition, and I can't wait to see it all happen.

10 goals for Stringer, 30 touches for Macrae is a reasonable expectation yeh?

If you're going to set your sights so low, why not just say you want them playing Willi reserves? Sheesh ;).

27-04-2013, 02:32 PM
LJ_a2MMGPAc

28-04-2013, 12:03 AM
Did well tonight again. I'll never get sick of watching him off the ball throw & push grown men around like rag dolls. To do it @ 19 years old in his first season, I can't wait till he gets some preseasons with some professional strength training under his belt.

28-04-2013, 01:27 AM
When he gets a tank and some experience he will be a handful.
What a wonderful kick for goal

28-04-2013, 01:35 AM
Developed the man crush tonight. He's already a ripper, here's to 200+ games in the stripes for us.

28-04-2013, 01:54 AM
You sense when he goes for the ball, there's a plan. He doesn't just look like he belongs....he looks like the go-to man.

28-04-2013, 01:59 AM
When he kicked it tonight, his eyes not once looked for a pass off.
He prepared himself, not too much, not too little.
He kicked and the ball did not deviate from it's line. Perfectly straight.
We have a winner.

Joel Selwood was passed over by many clubs for fear of his injuries. Let's hope we have the same luck.

28-04-2013, 02:09 AM
When he kicked it tonight, his eyes not once looked for a pass off.
He prepared himself, not too much, not too little.
He kicked and the ball did not deviate from it's line. Perfectly straight.
We have a winner.

Joel Selwood was passed over by many clubs for fear of his injuries. Let's hope we have the same luck.

Cross was wide open and still he wanted the responsibility. Love that in a forward and love the he wants the ball in his hands. Jones finally tonight actually wanted the pill, but for this kid its natural.

There was a guy on Big Footy who was talking up Stringer for a year and I now understand what he has been on about. lets hope the club continue to manage his leg and look long term with him.

28-04-2013, 03:33 AM
He's a beast of a 19 year old, but he is still small and wasn't able to crash the packs or win a wrestle like he could in the juniors and the VFL. He did well to get on his bike and take marks on the lead up the ground and convert from long range, and I was impressed that he managed 80% TOG after all the concerns over his fitness

28-04-2013, 08:15 AM
He's a beast of a 19 year old, but he is still small and wasn't able to crash the packs or win a wrestle like he could in the juniors and the VFL. He did well to get on his bike and take marks on the lead up the ground and convert from long range, and I was impressed that he managed 80% TOG after all the concerns over his fitness

Fantastic points you have raised.

28-04-2013, 08:27 AM
O...M...G.

Not since C. Grant and L. Cameron wowed me as a wide eyed 7 year old have I seen such a natural footballer do his thing so early in his career.

If he can stay injury free I believe he'll go close to playing 300 games with us.

28-04-2013, 08:37 AM
Some players command the ball and look completely at ease out on the ground. Stringer shouldn't even be playing with his terrible fitness base but he is such a natural that he gets dangerous for the opposition.

He looks and plays like the most talented player in his age group who is recovering from a serious injury. I can see why we got him and I applaud the decision to draft a genuine talent as opposed to an athlete with 'upside'

28-04-2013, 09:15 AM
The distance with his kicking is impressive for someone so young.
The others forwards also seem to appreciate his presence around them.

28-04-2013, 09:25 AM
The distance with his kicking is impressive for someone so young.
The others forwards also seem to appreciate his presence around them.

Super impressed with his goal kicking last night

When playing VFL level its been noticeable he is a real presence, leader, and organiser in the forward line, pumping up Vez, JGrant etc.

Looks a great young player

28-04-2013, 09:29 AM
Super impressed with his goal kicking last night

When playing VFL level its been noticeable he is a real presence, leader, and organiser in the forward line, pumping up Vez, JGrant etc.

Looks a great young player

Noticed he wasn't afraid to go the jumper scrag with a few Geelong players as well. Shows pep, but has the skills to back it.

28-04-2013, 09:32 AM
Noticed he wasn't afraid to go the jumper scrag with a few Geelong players as well. Shows pep, but has the skills to back it.

He has so much scope for improvement once his fitness levels improve. Good skills and already reads the player like a vastly more experienced player.

28-04-2013, 10:07 AM
He has so much scope for improvement once his fitness levels improve. Good skills and already reads the player like a vastly more experienced player.

Agreed, he's a beauty. Has adjusted so well already off a limited base and just has the right stuff (mentally and physically) that he's going to develop into a genuine elite player soon enough. He's good enough to still impact a game before he reaches the required conditioning levels.

To think I had some concerns about picking him at 5 and what role he might play back in September/October, please forgive me Jake :o

28-04-2013, 10:19 AM
Agreed, he's a beauty. Has adjusted so well already off a limited base and just has the right stuff (mentally and physically) that he's going to develop into a genuine elite player soon enough. He's good enough to still impact a game before he reaches the required conditioning levels.

To think I had some concerns about picking him at 5 and what role he might play back in September/October, please forgive me Jake :o

Say 10 Hail Stringers and go in peace, my son.

28-04-2013, 11:26 AM
Some players command the ball and look completely at ease out on the ground. Stringer shouldn't even be playing with his terrible fitness base but he is such a natural that he gets dangerous for the opposition.
Very noticeable - when he builds his tank up he will be a monster in the forward-line, might be the third year in recent memory that pick 5 becomes the best player in the draft :cool:

28-04-2013, 01:09 PM

Yeah I too had some concerns, I saw a lot of him at Vic Country playing and training. His skills were poor and he looked down on confidence (could barely get the ball). I wondered whether he would fully recover from his broken leg.
I thought in the end we had to take him given his talent/upside and the players available. I'm glad we did. He's certainly turned it around from where he was last year. I still think his best position is in the midfield, but he does look very good up forward too.

28-04-2013, 01:52 PM
No doubt Stringer is going to be a beauty but the fact he kicked goals shouldn't blind us to the fact that he couldn't keep pace with Geelong later in the game when they ran the ball out of the forward line. At one stage he chased an opponent to between half forward and centre, then just stopped. The Geelong player increased separation and clearly then became an option for marking the ball. I don't expect Jake to be a superstar over night but he really is going to have to up his fitness over the next few years if he is to achieve half of what people expect of him already. For now, I'm happy for him to just provide intelligent movement on the forward line. Bigger bodies down there, as the coach noted, made a difference.

28-04-2013, 01:52 PM
He has beautiful hands.

28-04-2013, 02:29 PM
No doubt Stringer is going to be a beauty but the fact he kicked goals shouldn't blind us to the fact that he couldn't keep pace with Geelong later in the game when they ran the ball out of the forward line. At one stage he chased an opponent to between half forward and centre, then just stopped. The Geelong player increased separation and clearly then became an option for marking the ball. I don't expect Jake to be a superstar over night but he really is going to have to up his fitness over the next few years if he is to achieve half of what people expect of him already. For now, I'm happy for him to just provide intelligent movement on the forward line. Bigger bodies down there, as the coach noted, made a difference.

To paraphrase of the Redgum hit song, he is "Only Nineteen". There's no reason to think he won't continue to develop his fitness,

28-04-2013, 02:35 PM
Someone told me he shops at Highpoint on Thursdays.

28-04-2013, 02:37 PM

With players his age you're not necessarily looking for the fitness side of things. You're looking for smarts, skills, nous, intensity. Fitness doesn't happen overnight for any footballer. What he showed me last night was that once he has that solid fitness base he will be virtually unstoppable.

28-04-2013, 03:25 PM
I could be wrong but if it wasn't for his horrific injury, chances are he would have been selected by GWS as a 17 year old.

28-04-2013, 03:33 PM
Just reading a few of the Big footy draft talk, and Stringer was rated highly.

28-04-2013, 03:40 PM
I could be wrong but if it wasn't for his horrific injury, chances are he would have been selected by GWS as a 17 year old.

I seem to remember he was considered as No 1 pick in the mini draft the year he broke his leg.

28-04-2013, 03:43 PM
I seem to remember he was considered as No 1 pick in the mini draft the year he broke his leg.

Either way luck (cruel fate) seems to have favoured us. Can't wait for him to lose some body fat and get some muscle definition.

28-04-2013, 04:23 PM
Best junior talent I've seen for us since one Chris Grant.

28-04-2013, 05:14 PM

Gee that's a massive comparison. I think I agree though.

28-04-2013, 05:21 PM

Adam Cooney was pretty good, though if you reckon Stringer's not quite fit enough to play spare a thought for Cooney's fitness in 2004!

Not sure if I can split the two.

28-04-2013, 05:27 PM
Adam Cooney was pretty good, though if you reckon Stringer's not quite fit enough to play spare a thought for Cooney's fitness in 2004!

Cooney and Griffen aren't too far behind for sure, but there's something extra special about Stringer, and I think it probably comes back to the "a good tall is better than a good mid" argument.

I really think he has the ability to be one of the game's best. Big call/wrap I know, but I'm very confident in his ability both physically and mentally.

28-04-2013, 05:41 PM
Cooney and Griffen aren't too far behind for sure, but there's something extra special about Stringer, and I think it probably comes back to the "a good tall is better than a good mid" argument.

I really think he has the ability to be one of the game's best. Big call/wrap I know, but I'm very confident in his ability both physically and mentally.

I put Cooney ahead of Griffen. Such a bloody shame he couldn't get the most out of himself after 2008.

Agree that Stringer has something special about him, that's probably more apparent immediately than what it was for Cooney.

28-04-2013, 05:57 PM
Say 10 Hail Stringers and go in peace, my son.

I hereby nominate you the S-Train Vice President :D

More than likely. His injury is a real story of making the best of a bad situation - a kid who was such a natural and known to have tickets on himself suddenly had to work just to get out there, I think he has learnt a lot from that and it has made him hungrier for success

29-04-2013, 09:09 AM
After his 2nd (?) long goal on the weekend, proceeded with the run past and bump on a cats opponent, with the expression of "didn't see you there, but how good am I?"

Reminded me of Carey.

Yes. I've somewhat lost rational thought.

29-04-2013, 12:03 PM
Even running the ball out of bounds in the 2st quarter, he pushed a Geelong player out of the way. Just has a physical presence that will be massive for us after a pre-season or two to get his cardio up

29-04-2013, 12:12 PM
Someone told me he shops at Highpoint on Thursdays.

Stay away from him, nothing much can stop him on field but a perverse robot at High Point is not worth the risk.

29-04-2013, 12:23 PM

I don't reckon Cooney had an impact in his first year. He was always on the outside of contests as an observer and didn't get possession much.
Stringers start does remind me of Chris Grants coming out, also Kelvin Templeton's and of course Shane Loveless:o.
Not only is he a talent but he is an ENZYME. I reckon there's a chance that Liam Jones played his arse off v Geelong because of Stringer and Stringer will lift not only WOOFERS, as he clearly has, but most of our youngsters and oldies, the team, the club, the sponsors.

29-04-2013, 12:27 PM
He didn't, though his talent was evident and since that point he proved to be one of the most talented players to play for the club (in the years I've been following it).

29-04-2013, 04:05 PM
He didn't, though his talent was evident and since that point he proved to be one of the most talented players to play for the club (in the years I've been following it).

Agreed and 1 most exciting 2.

30-04-2013, 12:40 PM
After his 2nd (?) long goal on the weekend, proceeded with the run past and bump on a cats opponent, with the expression of "didn't see you there, but how good am I?"

Reminded me of Carey.

Yes. I've somewhat lost rational thought.

I was calling him carey junior at the game to my mate. A tad tongue in cheek but there is something similar about him.

30-04-2013, 01:17 PM
Stay away from him, nothing much can stop him on field but a perverse robot at High Point is not worth the risk.

I am not a perverse. Although I have heard they hang around shopping centres.

30-04-2013, 01:19 PM
6B0cmQa2l4Q

20-05-2013, 01:49 PM
SNL0fvMeAIc

20-05-2013, 07:55 PM
Leading the AFL Rising Stars for goals & marks inside 50 from just 4 games :)

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2013&rt=RT&st=GO
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2013&rt=RT&st=M5

21-05-2013, 12:49 PM
Leading the AFL Rising Stars for goals & marks inside 50 from just 4 games :)

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2013&rt=RT&st=GO
http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2013&rt=RT&st=M5

And our second most influential player against the Gold Coast according to the Player Ratings:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-20/mitchell-on-the-move

22-05-2013, 12:03 AM
And our second most influential player against the Gold Coast according to the Player Ratings:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-20/mitchell-on-the-move

Do you think he will be our leading goalkicker this year?

22-05-2013, 12:26 AM
Do you think he will be our leading goalkicker this year?

I think it will depend on how well his body holds up. He seems very underdone fitness wise and I wouldn't be surprised if he were to fade later in the season and/or be rested regularly to prevent this. Certainly he is the most natural goal kicker on our list.

23-05-2013, 09:04 AM
That's now 7 goals from 4 games, one of which he only played a quarter as the sub.

Can anyone remember a draftee having such an immediate impact in red white and blue in their first year?

23-05-2013, 09:49 AM
That's now 7 goals from 4 games, one of which he only played a quarter as the sub.

Can anyone remember a draftee having such an immediate impact in red white and blue in their first year?

John Georgiadis :D

23-05-2013, 07:08 PM
Reckon if he slotted that one in the last v GC we'd have had the momentum and won.

24-05-2013, 12:33 AM

Well, Dahlhaus only played 11 games, was a rookie but still a draftee, had a pretty fair impact, inspiring some of his older team mates with his actions.

24-05-2013, 01:18 AM
Anyone concerned with his burst of speed need not worry. That burst on the wing half way into the vid that made the commentators pipe up saw him cover a lot of ground very very quickly.

Once he tones up and gets stronger he'll be a weapon.

24-05-2013, 12:51 PM
Reckon if he slotted that one in the last v GC we'd have had the momentum and won.

I was just shocked that he had a miss.............. SHOCKED!

24-05-2013, 02:54 PM
Anyone concerned with his burst of speed need not worry. That burst on the wing half way into the vid that made the commentators pipe up saw him cover a lot of ground very very quickly.

Seeing that speed nearly made forget about the rest of the horrible match we played.......nearly.

Hope we can hold onto him long term.

24-05-2013, 04:13 PM
We need a link of that.. Anybody?

Was a fan from Day 1 as with Macrae aswell.. Is very important for us. Love this kid

24-05-2013, 04:21 PM

It was definitely a concern after his injury but it seems to be continually improving. What an impression he's made in 6 months.

24-05-2013, 08:04 PM
We need a link of that.. Anybody?

0:52

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SNL0fvMeAIc

25-05-2013, 03:17 PM
Enjoy.

NRmXO1qGi28

26-05-2013, 06:54 AM
Enjoy.

NRmXO1qGi28

Only a matter of time until it surpasses Gangnam Style as the most watched video of all time.

03-08-2013, 12:26 AM
Enjoy this. Check out his core strength, agility, and hunger for the pill. Fitting hard rock soundtrack to go with it. Get excited people.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2013-07-31/vfl-stringers-bag-against-frankston

In the first and third marks, he's about the smallest bloke in the pack. You've got big Tommy Campbell coming in from behind who's at least a head taller. In the second you've got Markovic, again taller. And yet he reads it that well and wants it that badly and gets it.

03-08-2013, 09:47 AM
Enjoy this. Check out his core strength, agility, and hunger for the pill. Fitting hard rock soundtrack to go with it. Get excited people.

GD there is certainly a lot to get excited about. Imagine how good he will be next year with another preseason behind him.

03-08-2013, 01:06 PM
Amazed at how strong at the contest he is, very powerful physique matched with his attitude = dangerous prospect for the opposition. The kid has big league swagger.

03-08-2013, 02:51 PM
Love the way this boy plays.

Anyone know if he has actually lined up for Willie today?

Really want to see him put the hurt on some league teams!

03-08-2013, 04:22 PM
Love the kid. I am actually glad to see him have a bit of a spell at Willi. I think due to his physical limitations at the moment there is a massive temptation to do the wrong things at the higher level (lack of defensive pressure, trying to get 'cheap' goals etc). Hopefully he can have another good game and develop good habits.

03-08-2013, 09:30 PM
Love the way this boy plays.

Anyone know if he has actually lined up for Willie today?

Really want to see him put the hurt on some league teams!

Willi Seniors playing tomorrow at 1pm

03-08-2013, 10:54 PM
A lot more substance to the Jake Stringer Fan Club than Brennan Stack a Go Go.

05-08-2013, 04:30 PM
Is The Man ok?

05-08-2013, 04:37 PM
Is The Man ok?
He's not OK. He is Jake Stringer. :)

Club updating this in the next hour or so according to twitter.

06-08-2013, 01:41 PM
He's not OK. He is Jake Stringer. :)

Club updating this in the next hour or so according to twitter.

Surely, he is Jake Stringer. :)

No break but no diagnosis provided at this stage.

06-08-2013, 01:59 PM
Surely, he is Jake Stringer. :)

No break but no diagnosis provided at this stage.

read this (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=11649&page=9)