View Full Version : 2013 Membership Tally

30-11-2012, 05:10 AM
One of the moderators could sticky this thread. Our membership tally so far stands at 12,654.

30-11-2012, 07:08 AM
One of the moderators could sticky this thread. Our membership tally so far stands at 12,654.

I wonder if this figure is up on this time last year? :)

30-11-2012, 07:32 AM
I wonder if this figure is up on this time last year? :)

Not sure what the figure this time last year was but if anyone knows that would be interesting to find out. I signed up last week and the club sent me an email saying that my membership pack will come in time for Christmas.

30-11-2012, 07:55 AM
http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=10232&highlight=membership
First reported date and number in this thread:

Today on 10/12/11 our website is showing that we have a total of 16360 members.

I can't find a post on what it was for the equivalent time last year but for the 2010 season I had reported from our club's website that our total membership was 14980 as at 9/12/09. As we reached our record ever figure in 2010 we seem to be tracking well.

and the year before:

Just checked BF and it was reported there on 8/12/10 that our membership was 15068.

So in summary:
9/12/2009 14980
8/12/2010 15068
10/12/2011 16360

30-11-2012, 08:03 AM
http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=10232&highlight=membership
First reported date and number in this thread:

and the year before:

So in summary:
9/12/2009 14980
8/12/2010 15068
10/12/2011 16360

Thanks for bringing that back up meshe1969. So quite a lot more this time last year. It's understandable after our season this year.

30-11-2012, 10:01 AM
Thanks for bringing that back up meshe1969. So quite a lot more this time last year. It's understandable after our season this year.

been stuck in the 12000s for some time. If the club can promote our draftees and build some hype it will help. But knowing our club has a lot of fair weather supporters i think our tally will be very low this year

30-11-2012, 10:05 AM
been stuck in the 12000s for some time. If the club can promote our draftees and build some hype it will help. But knowing our club has a lot of fair weather supporters i think our tally will be very low this year

Do you reckon we can get over 30,000 members in 2013? Success I believe is the only way to attract supporters. We can push ourselves into a particular region but ultimately the kids will go for a team that is winning games.

30-11-2012, 10:47 AM
Good to see my old posts coming in handy. Rather nice jump today to 13229. I really doubt we can get 30k, unless we have a good start to the season. My guess is we will probably be around the 27k mark.

30-11-2012, 11:57 AM
Good to see my old posts coming in handy. Rather nice jump today to 13229. I really doubt we can get 30k, unless we have a good start to the season. My guess is we will probably be around the 27k mark.

Why not just do what Hawthorn does and sign up pet dogs & cats as full members. I have checked the Hawthorn membership list and can confirm that for the Kennett family there is Jeff Kennett, Rover Kennett & Fluff Kennett.

30-11-2012, 01:05 PM
Guess a fair few are Bulldogs for Life like myself who just get automatically renewed, would like to see how much of a % of those are new members

30-11-2012, 01:13 PM
Guess a fair few are Bulldogs for Life like myself who just get automatically renewed, would like to see how much of a % of those are new members

I'm a new member alexxx. Very happy to be on board for the first time. I wonder if you can find some sort of membership statistics from the club.

30-11-2012, 03:17 PM
On-field success is obviously the biggest driver of membership. A good showing in the NAB cup and some positive signs early in the season may provide soem hope, which might translate into more members.

01-12-2012, 06:15 PM
Maybe the Club needs to be more aggressive with the marketing of Memberships , could try a social media campaign where if you buy someone a membership for Christmas you get a discount on Tickets for the NAB Cup games and a 15% discount on Merchandise till 1st February

01-12-2012, 08:53 PM
Why not just do what Hawthorn does and sign up pet dogs & cats as full members. I have checked the Hawthorn membership list and can confirm that for the Kennett family there is Jeff Kennett, Rover Kennett & Fluff Kennett.

There is another Kennett, but I'm to much a gentlemen for a profanity.

01-12-2012, 08:58 PM
[QUOTE=West-Dog;303030]Maybe the Club needs to be more aggressive with the marketing of Memberships , could try a social media campaign where if you buy someone a membership for Christmas you get a discount on Tickets for the NAB Cup games and a 15% discount on Merchandise till 1st February

Sounds like a good idea.

01-12-2012, 09:46 PM
I have a bit of a tradition of buying a membership at the first game I attend be it nab cup or round 1.

01-12-2012, 10:18 PM
Maybe the Club needs to be more aggressive with the marketing of Memberships , could try a social media campaign where if you buy someone a membership for Christmas you get a discount on Tickets for the NAB Cup games and a 15% discount on Merchandise till 1st February

I'm pretty sure the AFL sets the NAB cup ticket prices and we or any club have no say in it.

04-12-2012, 12:39 PM
Now gone up to 14140

05-12-2012, 12:34 AM
There is another Kennett, but I'm to much a gentlemen for a profanity.

I Saw a great t-shirt today it had a pic of Jeff on it and it said"I have had a Kennett of a day"

05-12-2012, 02:38 PM
I Saw a great t-shirt today it had a pic of Jeff on it and it said"I have had a Kennett of a day"

Like the Hawks did on GF day?

05-12-2012, 04:07 PM
Latest Western Bulldogs Membership Update: 14,227

10-12-2012, 02:39 PM
Now up to 14,707. Only another 300 more to get to 15,000.

12-12-2012, 06:05 PM

14-12-2012, 06:15 PM

Can we double that or get even more than double. That's our challenge.

14-12-2012, 06:44 PM

Hopefully all Woofers are members.
Maybe we can have a icon on our avatar to symbolise our membership.

14-12-2012, 06:56 PM

I like that. Although we might have a few not posting if we do.:)

14-12-2012, 11:19 PM

At night, I also guard the cryogenically preserved cyberman outside the entrance to the battle preparation stadium.

15-12-2012, 07:26 PM

We need to double it

17-12-2012, 08:31 PM
We need to double it

That's the challenge. We haven't come off a good season last and that will hurt membership but that needs to be our aim. If we have a good start to 2013 then membership might pick up a bit more.

18-12-2012, 03:28 PM
One look at the pile of caps and scarves in my wardrobe gives a good indication of my commitment to the club as a member!

30-12-2012, 08:43 PM

01-01-2013, 12:49 AM
Slowly getting better.

01-01-2013, 09:37 AM
Is there are a specific targeted plan to get to 40,000 and even 50,000? Have we had a conference on how to significantly grow our membership? Are objectives being met? Are strategies being evaluated? Have what we we have done in the past been evaluated as to their success or otherwise? Are we using updated techniques from here and abroad to garner members more efficiently? Are we setting up systems for exponential growth?

Or are we just hoping for more? 30,000 or fewer just won't cut it in the future.

01-01-2013, 11:28 AM
All good points Metal. I'm confident the club is doing just about everything it can to increase the membership base. The communication is terrific, all our supporters know the importance of what memberships mean to the club and the payment option really helps a lot of supporters get a membership each.

Unfortunately those options still doesn't appear to be enough and so many of our supporters won't buy memberships unless they know we will make the finals. I get that point but I'd like to think more people who have the financial capacity to join will do so without the potential ladder position being a consideration.

We need to try and tap into our heartland areas more to see if we can convert some of them into genuine Bulldog supporters.

01-01-2013, 02:54 PM
All good points Metal. I'm confident the club is doing just about everything it can to increase the membership base. The communication is terrific, all our supporters know the importance of what memberships mean to the club and the payment option really helps a lot of supporters get a membership each.

Unfortunately those options still doesn't appear to be enough and so many of our supporters won't buy memberships unless they know we will make the finals. I get that point but I'd like to think more people who have the financial capacity to join will do so without the potential ladder position being a consideration.

We need to try and tap into our heartland areas more to see if we can convert some of them into genuine Bulldog supporters.

Tapping into our heartland areas is easier said than done. It all depends on the on field success we have that will get the supporters in. These people in our heartland areas will support other clubs if we don't have that on field success. We have to become good and try and draw in new supporters from everywhere and eventually have a good spread of Dogs fans across the city.

01-01-2013, 04:55 PM
The lets see how they go Brigade that will ensure the membership is low.

02-01-2013, 01:45 PM
The lets see how they go Brigade that will ensure the membership is low.

There will always be supporters that jump on the bandwagon but let's not turn into another Richmond :s

China Dog
04-01-2013, 01:30 PM

I'm a member even though I live overseas. Even if you can't get to games it is worth being a member. You can't be critical of the club, if you are not prepared to be a member.

10-01-2013, 02:53 PM
Havent bought my 3 memberships and 2 seats yet as Im still waiting a reply .... bloody hopeless

10-01-2013, 04:33 PM
Havent bought my 3 memberships and 2 seats yet as Im still waiting a reply .... bloody hopeless

That's very frustrating hughy31.

Total Members: 17,038

10-01-2013, 06:34 PM

The communication from the club and the media profile in this preseason is high enough for me to have mates who support other clubs complaining that they are seeing too much in the press about the Bulldogs whether it be recruits, draft, coaching panel, fitness, NAB cup preparatio etc (particularly print media). I encouraged them to go to our website for even greater insight in the club, referencing our meet the draftees, preseason updates and Roughie's video insight into the London trip.

11-01-2013, 02:30 PM

Even with 3 recent Pre-lim finals, around 30,000 would seem to be our benchmark unfortunately. Would there be enough financially endowed potential supporters to tap into our Heartland? Both North Melbourne and the WB continue to struggle and perhaps it comes down to a lack of Premierships. The Club has done a great job in its adopting a strong Community emphasis but using it as a catalyst for increased membership remains a problem.

11-01-2013, 02:56 PM
I'm back in as of today, got the email from the club.

Charlie the Wonder Dog
11-01-2013, 03:28 PM
I'm back in as Social Club Member, joined the three youngsters as well. OUCH.

Not telling Sybil about that one.

29-01-2013, 05:35 PM

29-01-2013, 06:28 PM

Any idea Easty how that would compare to say the last three seasons at a comparable stage of the year ?

30-01-2013, 07:22 PM
30-01-2012, 07:47 PM Website is today showing 19878.

At 31/1/11 the comparable figure was 20951.

The increase since just before Christmas is very poor and if this rate continues we will finish way below last year's figure.
http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=10232&highlight=membership&page=2

04-02-2013, 06:36 PM

04-02-2013, 10:16 PM
Anyone worked out a comparison?

05-02-2013, 11:07 AM
Couple thousand down on previous years.

05-02-2013, 11:53 PM
Website is today showing 19878. (30/11/12)

At 31/1/11 the comparable figure was 20951.

The increase since just before Christmas is very poor and if this rate continues we will finish way below last year's figure.

Trend is pretty bad.

06-02-2013, 12:17 AM
Trend is pretty bad.

I think we may be the lowest out of the Victorian clubs with us only being ahead of Brisbane, Gold Coast and GWS. Poor season in 2012 Id say is a factor. Hopefully we can get of to a positive start and draw a bit more in.

08-02-2013, 08:35 PM

08-02-2013, 09:59 PM

You would have to think that this latest tally is simply the renewing of existing members. The big challenge will be to how to find new members. Our inability to build the membership base is a major concern.Hawthorn overcame a small membership base by becoming a power house in the '70's and '80's. It would seem that only prolonged success on the field over a number of years will be the catalyst for the rising population in the West to make us an attractive membership option. The Hawks managed to penetrate the Eastern region through sustained success. Our best hope IMO is to create an environment that moves us out of the drip feed mentality reliance on the AFL to keep us afloat.

08-02-2013, 11:39 PM
And that period of Hawthorn success coincided with the population growth of the eastern suburbs. It seems to me that with the unprecedented growth happening through our western suburbs at the moment, it is imperative that we get that premiership within the next 5 years. The 'big' clubs are getting restless and aren't going to subsidise the other clubs forever. Noticed in the paper this week that half a dozen of them met up to discuss the situation. There is a bit of history when this occurs; the same happened in the mid 1890's which resulted in the formation of the VFL. Sorry, bit off topic. I'm off to bed...

15-02-2013, 01:37 AM

Looks like we are just going to miss 20,000 members by the NAB Cup.

15-02-2013, 05:16 PM

Looks like we are just going to miss 20,000 members by the NAB Cup.

Hopefuly we put a bit of a show tonight and get some fence sitters to dip their hands into their pockets.

16-02-2013, 04:37 AM
Hopefuly we put a bit of a show tonight and get some fence sitters to dip their hands into their pockets.

The Hawthorn match in 2 weeks now will be our first full match and we need to show something there and try and get a win.

Being really optimistic you would just love to get 35,000 members but it won't happen this year. 35,000 would be out highest ever if we did get that.

19-02-2013, 07:24 PM
20, 000

As of today

20-02-2013, 03:00 AM
20, 000

As of today

Great to get to 20,000 members.

Exact membership number from the Western Bulldogs website: 20,105

22-02-2013, 05:46 PM
Recieved a recorded phone call by Dale Morris yesterday to see why I had not renewed our memberships.
As I am a Bulldogs for Life I transfered to the membership department to see what the go is.
They are going to get back to me.
Its issues like these that don't help our membership drive.

25-02-2013, 02:11 PM

This number slowly increasing. Can we get over 30,000 members? Im being a little optimistic.

25-02-2013, 04:23 PM

This number slowly increasing. Can we get over 30,000 members? Im being a little optimistic.

The Club is hoping to get to 30,000 but it will be a struggle. A lot will depend on whether we can secure a couple of early wins to recapture some enthusiasm for supporters to get behind the club. The big drop off in performances last year doesn't help.

25-02-2013, 08:42 PM
I wonder if someone has information on our spread of membership amongst those 20,587 (Western, Northern, Eastern, Southern suburbs of Melbourne, Country Victoria, Interstate).

27-02-2013, 09:21 PM
One more member... Ozza's new daughter and Hughy31 grandaughter Lucy born yesterday... You beauty

27-02-2013, 09:23 PM
One more member... Ozza's new daughter and Hughy31 grandaughter Lucy born yesterday... You beauty

Congratulations!

27-02-2013, 09:28 PM

Congrats. We are approaching 21,000 members.

27-02-2013, 10:11 PM

Congrats!! Wonderful news for you.:)

06-03-2013, 03:05 PM

06-03-2013, 05:32 PM
Membership total on website today (9/3/12) is 23698.

On the same date in 2011 it was 25143.

Encouragingly though, daily increases have picked up as they seemed pretty slow in January/February.

The trend shows we are still dropping year on year.

06-03-2013, 08:40 PM
Monday I signed up the new grandaughter and also signed up my partner who is a carlton fan but who now a bulldog girl

06-03-2013, 09:58 PM
Monday I signed up the new grandaughter and also signed up my partner who is a carlton fan but who now a bulldog girl

Well done Hughy31

06-03-2013, 10:31 PM
The trend shows we are still dropping year on year.

We are effectively 4,000 down on last year which isn't surprising given our woeful second half fade out in 2012. Early wins becomes critical in restoring some hope and enthusiasm back among our supporter base.

06-03-2013, 11:48 PM
We are effectively 4,000 down on last year which isn't surprising given our woeful second half fade out in 2012. Early wins becomes critical in restoring some hope and enthusiasm back among our supporter base.

Agree about early wins tovrestord hope, but the issue will be whether we can win.

06-03-2013, 11:50 PM
Round 1 always throws up unpredictable results. Hopefully we can beat Brisbane but they according to pundits are in for a good year so it will be a difficult match.

07-03-2013, 09:38 AM
Got a promotion so will be in Vic more this year. Upgraded to home and away for the season and talked a colleague into getting one also.

07-03-2013, 11:27 AM
Got a promotion so will be in Vic more this year. Upgraded to home and away for the season and talked a colleague into getting one also.

Hope the boys can win a few for you and congratulations on the promotion

07-03-2013, 06:33 PM
Hope the boys can win a few for you and congratulations on the promotion
Was at the game last weekend. Maybe I'm a lucky charm?

07-03-2013, 09:21 PM

Congrats on the promotion. Must be good to be back in Vic to watch the Doggies.

13-03-2013, 06:45 PM
Got my membership confirmation email today.
In it they thanked me for my 2 consecutive years as a member.
I've actually been a member since 1998 and that would make 15 years.
I rang the club and they have fixed it up for me.

I was speaking to a saints supporter and he informed me that their years of membership is printed on their cards.

13-03-2013, 09:49 PM

I was speaking to a saints supporter and he informed me that their years of membership is printed on their cards.

Essendon has 60 years members who once reaching this milestone gain free membership for life. Now that is something special to maintain faith with its supporters over such along period.

14-03-2013, 12:19 AM
Essendon has 60 years members who once reaching this milestone gain free membership for life. Now that is something special to maintain faith with its supporters over such along period.

Sounds good, but unless you have been a member from a very early age then you may not get much use of it. :)

14-03-2013, 11:54 AM

Our years of membership will be printed on our cards as from 2014

14-03-2013, 12:47 PM
Sounds good, but unless you have been a member from a very early age then you may not get much use of it. :)

Mine would kick in when I turn 101...

14-03-2013, 04:31 PM

We have a family friend that is one of them. You would be surprised how many there are, many of him must have been attending with their parents at a very early age. It does speak volumes for Essendon that their administration would maintain such an excellent register of members.

14-03-2013, 06:29 PM
We have a family friend that is one of them. You would be surprised how many there are, many of him must have been attending with their parents at a very early age. It does speak volumes for Essendon that their administration would maintain such an excellent register of members.

If they could only have done the same with their supplements.:)

18-03-2013, 03:46 PM

18-03-2013, 07:14 PM

I hope we do that! A free membership when I turn 65.....bit of a retirement present!

26-03-2013, 12:20 PM
Coming up to our first match for the 2013 season:

Total Members: 23,616

Can we get to 30,000 members still this season?

26-03-2013, 02:04 PM

Total Members: 23,616

A lot will depend on how we perform in the first 3-4 rounds of the season. There will be a number who haven't renewed that will be waiting to see how competitive we might be in 2013. Last year's second half fade out was very disappointing and wouldn't inspire an early take up with a lot of our members.

26-03-2013, 04:29 PM

Total Members 23,616

Same time in 2012: 25,379

and 2011: 26, 989

We have dropped over 3000 members in two years.

26-03-2013, 04:42 PM
So we are probably tracking around the 28.5k member mark for this year?

To be honest i was worried it would be less, if that is our rock bottom figure then the club has done pretty well to avoid a huge drop in numbers.

26-03-2013, 04:46 PM
So we are probably tracking around the 28.5k member mark for this year?

To be honest i was worried it would be less, if that is our rock bottom figure then the club has done pretty well to avoid a huge drop in numbers.

I guess it also depends on types of memberships, like Gold reserved, social club etc. Those numbers can be big as there are more dollars involved.

27-03-2013, 02:04 AM
I guess it also depends on types of memberships, like Gold reserved, social club etc. Those numbers can be big as there are more dollars involved.

Money/ Income. That is what I would like to see the "membership ladder" based on. Just basing it on "number of members" can be misleading.

27-03-2013, 02:10 AM
Need to get my arse into gear and re-sign tomorrow. Lazy.

27-03-2013, 12:01 PM
Need to get my arse into gear and re-sign tomorrow. Lazy.

I did it last week over the counter at the club. It only took five minutes.

30-03-2013, 08:18 PM
It will be interesting to see the tally late Tuesday arvo ... I reckon today might add a few.

30-03-2013, 09:22 PM
It will be interesting to see the tally late Tuesday arvo ... I reckon today might add a few.

Should. I was talking with a guy today on this topic. If the scores were reversed it would have been horrible for the membership department. Winning emphatically like that makes it a little easier.

31-03-2013, 01:38 AM
The Pack is gathering.

31-03-2013, 01:43 AM
From the Bulldogs membership website we have currently 24,112 members. Hopefully this number can get close to 30,000.

31-03-2013, 08:42 AM
From a membership perspective if we can nail 2 in a row with a similar performance I think the 30,000 is a real possibility.

31-03-2013, 08:59 AM
Turn up the pressure membership. Team, this is the week to call people.

31-03-2013, 12:46 PM
From a membership perspective if we can nail 2 in a row with a similar performance I think the 30,000 is a real possibility.

For sure. Performances like that make people want to come to the footy and sign up as members thinking this may be ok after all.

31-03-2013, 01:08 PM
For sure. Performances like that make people want to come to the footy and sign up as members thinking this may be ok after all.

The interesting thing I have heard through the media is that we played a exciting brand of football that was quick and tenacious, quite the contrast from last season. Let's hope it can continue for a whole season and I think supporters from the Dogs and the opposition won't leave a game disappointed.

31-03-2013, 05:36 PM
Read in the newspaper today that Peter Gordon said we would have 60,000 members if all the lapsed members over the last 3 years rejoined. :eek:

31-03-2013, 05:54 PM
Read in the newspaper today that Peter Gordon said we would have 60,000 members if all the lapsed members over the last 3 years rejoined. :eek:

I'd take that number with a grain of salt. The database and record keeping isn't exactly what I'd call exemplary. I regularly received calls asking why I hadn't renewed my membership because I had numerous profiles and my membership each year was allocated to a different one creating the appearance I was a lapsed member. I have several friends who've had the same situation.

31-03-2013, 07:40 PM
I'd take that number with a grain of salt. The database and record keeping isn't exactly what I'd call exemplary. I regularly received calls asking why I hadn't renewed my membership because I had numerous profiles and my membership each year was allocated to a different one creating the appearance I was a lapsed member. I have several friends who've had the same situation.

Hopefully Peter reads your post Greystache and offers a comment.

Peter Gordon
01-04-2013, 01:23 PM

Response by mutiple choice. Pick the one you like.......

1.) If it's not enough to have been completely overlooked by the recent conclave of Cardinals, now I'm having my infallibility questioned by you lot......

2.) And anyway, who says I was relying on the the club's data-base! Maybe I just have an intuition for these things......

3.) And anyway, even if I was relying on the club's database (which we like to call HAL,) ...who says it's wrong, just because it might think of some of you more than once. Maybe this is the club's data-base's way of saying to some of you....'take out three or four memberships each.'

4.) We invested $1.2m extra in footy this year. We backed our fans to back us in and back us up....by buying memberships, renewing social club memberships and renewing their reserved seats. To those of you who have...a big thank you. To those who are yet to, let's lift like our team is doing.

01-04-2013, 01:39 PM
Response by mutiple choice. Pick the one you like.......

1.) If it's not enough to have been completely overlooked by the recent conclave of Cardinals, now I'm having my infallibility questioned by you lot......

2.) And anyway, who says I was relying on the the club's data-base! Maybe I just have an intuition for these things......

3.) And anyway, even if I was relying on the club's database (which we like to call HAL,) ...who says it's wrong, just because it might think of some of you more than once. Maybe this is the club's data-base's way of saying to some of you....'take out three or four memberships each.'

4.) We invested $1.2m extra in footy this year. We backed our fans to back us in and back us up....by buying memberships, renewing social club memberships and renewing their reserved seats. To those of you who have...a big thank you. To those who are yet to, let's lift like our team is doing.

This forum really needs a 'like' button ala Facebook!

It really warms my heart to see you getting involved here, Peter. I'm a big fan of the enthusiasm which you've already brought to the club.

A great win on Saturday, I will be signing my Essendon supporting girlfriend up as a Doggies member, whether she likes it or not. Gather the pack!

01-04-2013, 01:40 PM
An example situation would be: My wife was a member with her maiden name a couple of years ago, she had a year off the football when our child was born and in the process changed her name. I signed her up again this year and they sent her an email saying congratulations on your first year of being a bulldogs member.

01-04-2013, 01:43 PM

This^^^

I hate supporters who just wait to see how we are going on field before they commit.

A membership is not just a ticket to the game, its a sense of belonging to a CLUB and supporting that club.

Anyone on this forum that's not a member (no one I believe;), I don't want to discuss the football with you till you get a membership.

01-04-2013, 01:48 PM
The database is clearly in great shape: after my membership was summarily cancelled due to a credit card issue, I continued to receive "members only" emails, and congratulations on my support of the club.

Good work, HAL. :D

PS - I always am offered extra chips with my meal in the Social Club, so thats a win.

02-04-2013, 12:05 AM
The database is clearly in great shape: after my membership was summarily cancelled due to a credit card issue, I continued to receive "members

Maybe they have been reading your posts on WOOF Andrew.:D

02-04-2013, 12:11 AM
Maybe they have been reading your posts on WOOF Andrew.:D

I'm going to be offered a spot on the board because of those posts. ;)

02-04-2013, 12:31 AM
I'm going to be offered a spot on the board because of those posts. ;)

You never know.:)

02-04-2013, 06:06 PM
My two kids have been signed up since birth (2 and a half, and 4 weeks old).....I'm doing my best to grow the membership base - but I need help!

Hughy31 just signed up his partner. She is a Carlton supporter...so I find this reasonably amusing.

Its all about signing people up without giving them a choice!!

02-04-2013, 06:21 PM
My two kids have been signed up since birth (2 and a half, and 4 weeks old).....I'm doing my best to grow the membership base - but I need help!

I've got one on the way and is due in November. He/she will be a member in 2014. There is an empty seat beside me so I hope I can just grab that seat as I don't want to move.

02-04-2013, 06:45 PM
When I have a family of my own hopefully there will be more Bulldogs members signed up but no guarantee :)

02-04-2013, 10:19 PM
The year I first signed up, I got 5 mates along with me. 3 of them have jumped off this year, but I am bringing them to this weekends game and will be making them stop by the membership tent (if its there)

02-04-2013, 11:49 PM
Will be buying the misses a membership as well! She is collingwood, but I am working very hard at changing that ;)

03-04-2013, 10:38 AM
Just signed up my 7 week old Nephew!

03-04-2013, 01:39 PM
When I have a family of my own hopefully there will be more Bulldogs members signed up but no guarantee :)

Easily done. Make sure the first question you ask any prospective partner is "What team do you barrack for?" If the answer is anything but Western Bulldogs just walk away.

Nick Lower earned us another member on Saturday. After I saw him flying the flag when Gia was knocked over I decided that I'd buy a three game membership.

03-04-2013, 04:24 PM

04-04-2013, 02:15 AM
Will be buying the misses a membership as well! She is collingwood, but I am working very hard at changing that ;)

My girlfriend is also a member and a pie unfortunately that won't change.I use her seat to invite friends who I am trying to get to sign as members think I got at least one on board again last week .

05-04-2013, 11:46 AM
We are approaching 25,000 members. The current figure stands at 24,948.

05-04-2013, 12:51 PM
Well we would certainly expect to tip over the 25K mark at the game this weekend. Hopefully plenty of supporters were intending to renew at the first game they attended - and missed last week due to Easter.

A good performance tomorrow would obviously help things along also.

06-04-2013, 02:40 PM
Officially ticked over 25,000 at today's game.

06-04-2013, 03:00 PM
Officially ticked over 25,000 at today's game.

Right now looks like only 10000 here

06-04-2013, 03:09 PM
Koby the sub

06-04-2013, 03:44 PM
Right now looks like only 10000 here

25,000 Members, not attendees! :P

06-04-2013, 06:04 PM

Ok thanks

06-04-2013, 08:34 PM

Official Crowd today was 19,210 only because we were playing an interstate side. Next week against Richmond the crowd will be a lot bigger especially as they are undefeated.

08-04-2013, 10:09 AM
Official Crowd today was 19,210 only because we were playing an interstate side. Next week against Richmond the crowd will be a lot bigger especially as they are undefeated.

And because its a Tigers home game.

08-04-2013, 12:21 PM

It was a disapponting crowd given our very good rd1 performance... Freo do have one of the smaller supporter groups in Melb compared to the other interstate teams, but I thought were would have been about 25k there.

Perhaps the start to local footy comps kept numbers down?

08-04-2013, 12:38 PM
It was a disapponting crowd given our very good rd1 performance... Freo do have one of the smaller supporter groups in Melb compared to the other interstate teams, but I thought were would have been about 25k there.

I was thinking around the 23 - 25K mark so walked away pretty disappointed with the official crowd numbers.

It looked like the members areas had more people than last week though. Well at least the areas in my line of site.

08-04-2013, 12:39 PM

The trouble with our supporters there is always an excuse not to attend.

08-04-2013, 03:40 PM
And because its a Tigers home game.

As Belle has posted on another thread, it is a substitute game for members.
So there should be plenty of Doogie fans there.

08-04-2013, 07:50 PM
The trouble with our supporters there is always an excuse not to attend.

I think playing local footy's a good enough excuse when you're playing on a Saturday arvo.

09-04-2013, 01:10 AM
Warning Rant.
I was there every weekend from "80" on.
But I as of now I live a fair distance away.
This is in NO Way directed at anyony in particulary, but there does to be a stigma developing on this sight that if you do not attend games you are not worth your membership.
I may mention many who post do not have memberships.
I would love to clear up , we, who do not attend games are just as passionat, if not even more than those that attend every week.
How many Woofers would have a membership if they could not attend a game or lived in Chicago for instance ?

09-04-2013, 01:58 AM
Warning Rant.
I was there every weekend from "80" on.
But I as of now I live a fair distance away.
This is in NO Way directed at anyony in particulary, but there does to be a stigma developing on this sight that if you do not attend games you are not worth your membership.
I may mention many who post do not have memberships.
I would love to clear up , we, who do not attend games are just as passionat, if not even more than those that attend every week.
How many Woofers would have a membership if they could not attend a game or lived in Chicago for instance ?

I understand what you are saying KT ... but I have been a member since 1985 ... Since 1993 I have lived in Perth; still a member. I choose to be a member to support the club financially because I can't get to games to support them by cheering.

In saying this, I totally understand supporters who choose not to as there is not a lot of return for your $$$ support.

12-04-2013, 12:45 AM
I understand what you are saying KT ... but I have been a member since 1985 ... Since 1993 I have lived in Perth; still a member. I choose to be a member to support the club financially because I can't get to games to support them by cheering.

In saying this, I totally understand supporters who choose not to as there is not a lot of return for your $$$ support.

Yeah don't get a heck of a lot of use out of the two Social Club memberships I purchase for me and my Dad. I do get over three or four times a year but, by some annoying quirk, the games I am able to fly over for tend to mostly be "Away" Melbourne games.

I keep meaning to contact the club about offering up some of my games for others to use. I know they used to have a ticketing program for kids, but I wonder if they would be interested in providing paper tickets against my memberships for some in the community (new arrivals, less fortunate, etc)

12-04-2013, 01:05 AM
I think playing local footy's a good enough excuse when you're playing on a Saturday arvo.

I missed a lot of games between 1997 and 2010 because of this. Also missed seeing a lot of my favourite DJ's belt out tunes as they had a tendency to start at 1-2am on Saturday mornings!

12-04-2013, 08:57 AM

My fault Scraggers, i didn't explain myself very clearly.
But it was not meant to be about posters not having membership.
It was meant to be a critisism for, what seems to be a little harsh, those of us who are still members and for understandable reason's we cannot attend games.

14-04-2013, 09:54 AM
Total Members: 25,564

19-04-2013, 11:52 PM

Crept above 26,000 members. The trend will start tapering off a bit now but still a chance for 30,000.

21-04-2013, 06:27 PM

Crept above 26,000 members. The trend will start tapering off a bit now but still a chance for 30,000.

Not the way we are playing football.

21-04-2013, 07:07 PM
Here's a question. Are we so interested in the number of members because it benefits the club financially?

If so, why should we pay hard earned dollars for membership when the AFL just comes along and takes $5000 due to a ridiculous fine. I pay membership as a virtual donation to the club because I don't get to games because I live interstate, but I will be stuffed if I am going to give away my money in future to fill the AFL's coffers. My intention for paying membership has been to support the club financially ........ not help pay for Andrew Demetiou's salary.

A ridiculous action by the AFL and the reason why I will question any future membership.

21-04-2013, 07:09 PM
Here's a question. Are we so interested in the number of members because it benefits the club financially?

If so, why should we pay hard earned dollars for membership when the AFL just comes along and takes $5000 due to a ridiculous fine. I pay membership as a virtual donation to the club because I don't get to games because I live interstate, but I will be stuffed if I am going to give away my money in future to fill the AFL's coffers. My intention for paying membership has been to support the club financially ........ not help pay for Andrew Demetiou's salary.

A ridiculous action by the AFL and the reason why I will question any future membership.

The rules regarding match selection are clear, we knowingly broke the rule.

21-04-2013, 07:13 PM
The rules regarding match selection are clear, we knowingly broke the rule.
Like I said Andrew, I paid an Interstate and Social Club Membership this year to financially support the Western Bulldogs ...... not for the AFL to take away hard earned with frivolous fines. There must be a better deterrent than taking money from financially struggling clubs.

If not, I am sure my own family would like the money spent on their interests.

21-04-2013, 07:19 PM
Like I said Andrew, I paid an Interstate and Social Club Membership this year to financially support the Western Bulldogs ...... not for the AFL to take away hard earned with frivolous fines. There must be a better deterrent than taking money from financially struggling clubs.

If not, I am sure my own family would like the money spent on their interests.

I get what you're saying, but IMO your ire should be directed at the one who gave Campbell the nod to play (and who didn't plan better, having no other tall in the emergencies). The fine was entirely avoidable, and we chose to risk it. A poor choice from the coaches box.

01-05-2013, 05:15 PM
26,979. 21 more members until we reach 27,000.

01-05-2013, 06:52 PM
Signing up my Dad and 2 year old nephew this evening!

30-05-2013, 03:36 PM

02-07-2013, 12:05 PM
Well 30 June has come, I wonder what the final tally is?

02-07-2013, 12:45 PM

02-07-2013, 12:53 PM

Not too bad considering how we have gone this season.

02-07-2013, 01:12 PM

Not too bad considering how we have gone this season.
Not too bad considering what?

We are just over double GCS and GWS.

I think it's utterly horrific. I don't care what the expectations were/are, this club is not sustainable with membership figures like this.

02-07-2013, 01:18 PM
Not too bad considering what?

We are just over double GCS and GWS.

I think it's utterly horrific. I don't care what the expectations were/are, this club is not sustainable with membership figures like this.

Yeah true BT. It is pretty poor comparing it to other clubs but some said reading the big footy forum thread on this that it is not too bad considering this is really a rebuilding year for us if you know what I mean.

02-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Yeah true BT. It is pretty poor comparing it to other clubs but some said reading the big footy forum thread on this that it is not too bad considering this is really a rebuilding year for us if you know what I mean.
That's the problem right there ED, you are forming opinions from reading BF :)

02-07-2013, 01:59 PM
That's the problem right there ED, you are forming opinions from reading BF :)

I don't really use BF anymore but only very occasionally go on it. What do you think would have been a good membership figure BT. 35,000?

02-07-2013, 02:13 PM
I'm actually surprised we got to 29,000
Didn't think we would get passed 27,000 to be honest.

02-07-2013, 02:17 PM
I don't really use BF anymore but only very occasionally go on it. What do you think would have been a good membership figure BT. 35,000?
Not sure really.

St Kilda and Melbourne are 10% higher, and Norf is 20% higher.

This is bad news for the club. Very bad result.

02-07-2013, 02:32 PM

We didn't even get this playing in three consecutive Prelims.

02-07-2013, 02:39 PM
We didn't even get this playing in three consecutive Prelims.
I'm so bitterly disappointed. How can we not seriously look at all options including Tassie when this is apparently the best the WBFC following can muster. We all would die for this club, problem is it is the number of members, not the staunchness of the members that count.

02-07-2013, 03:11 PM
I don't think it's that bad all things considered. We had 2 consecutive years of 28K when we finished 3rd and we've surpassed that in an expected rebuild season with just under 30K. It's not a figure you can brag about but at least it's something we can work with when the team starts to develop.

Glass half full tastes better than a half empty one.

02-07-2013, 03:31 PM
I don't think it's that bad all things considered. We had 2 consecutive years of 28K when we finished 3rd and we've surpassed that in an expected rebuild season with just under 30K. It's not a figure you can brag about but at least it's something we can work with when the team starts to develop.

Glass half full tastes better than a half empty one.

That's the way I see it too. Our membership peaked at around 34K while playing consecutive prelim finals, and has only dropped 5K while we're rock bottom. That's only 15% which is actually excellent.

Richmond look like playing finals this year and they're about to hit 60,000 and estimate with regular finals appearances can hit 70K, yet 4-5 years ago they just cracked 30K. If our membership fluctuated by 50-60% dependent on our on field results like theirs we'd be long out of business.

12-07-2013, 04:06 PM
We have cracked 30,000 members for 2013.

Exact figure according to the Bulldogs website: 30,037

12-07-2013, 04:12 PM
We have cracked 30,000 members for 2013.

Exact figure according to the Bulldogs website: 30,037
Smorgo buying memberships for his workforce again :)

Top bloke our Smorgs.

12-07-2013, 05:35 PM
We speculated it was Peter buying for his Great, Great, Great Grandchildren!!! (Who, obviously, haven't been born yet.)