View Full Version : Congrats to First Dog

03-12-2012, 11:29 PM
A Woof poster, First Dog on the Moon, won a Walkley award for a cartoon. Congratulations.
That is a brilliant achievement !

http://www.crikey.com.au/2012/06/25/…then-where-will-we-be/

03-12-2012, 11:39 PM
Congratulations FD. But if it was GWS or GC in the water I would elect to let them drown.

04-12-2012, 12:05 AM
Well done Andrew and well deserved.

04-12-2012, 12:06 AM
Well done FDOTM!

04-12-2012, 12:23 AM
Outstanding cartoon and an outstanding effort. Congratulations FDOTM! Excellent stuff.

04-12-2012, 12:27 AM
Wonderful achievement and such a prestigious award. Congratulations.

04-12-2012, 12:46 AM
Congrats FDOTM, love your work and well deserved.

04-12-2012, 01:12 AM
thanks team - i appreciate it. I know i mainly do cartoons about politics now but i got my start because of cartoons about the footy (richo mainly) so I'm keen to get back to it. Just need the dogs to be a tiny bit less awful... maybe 2015?

anyway thanks very much

04-12-2012, 01:16 AM
Well done FDOTM

04-12-2012, 01:47 AM
Well done mate

04-12-2012, 08:08 AM
Great cartoon, nice one

04-12-2012, 08:16 AM
Well done First Dog.

04-12-2012, 08:29 AM
Congratulations.

04-12-2012, 08:42 AM
Well done! Loved the cartoon, too.

04-12-2012, 09:03 AM
Well done first dog!!!

04-12-2012, 10:15 AM
A fantastic achievement, well done.

04-12-2012, 10:20 AM
Well done FDOTM

04-12-2012, 10:42 AM
thanks team - i appreciate it. I know i mainly do cartoons about politics now but i got my start because of cartoons about the footy (richo mainly) so I'm keen to get back to it. Just need the dogs to be a tiny bit less awful... maybe 2015?

anyway thanks very much

I dunno FD, your work clearly displays quality can come from heartbreakng situations.

Seriously, congratulations on the award - a wonderful, if terribly sad cartoon, joining a back catalogue of great FD work

04-12-2012, 10:47 AM
Great job FDOTM. Well deserved and loved the cartoon.

04-12-2012, 11:39 AM
Well done First Dog, congratulations!

04-12-2012, 12:11 PM
Funny cartoon. Congrats FDOM for the prestigious award.

04-12-2012, 01:33 PM
I've said it before and I'll say it again.

Well done mate.;)

04-12-2012, 05:36 PM

anyway thanks very much

When you accepted the award I hope you acknowledged how you could not have (not 'of') done it without the Western Bulldogs experience and WOOF:)

04-12-2012, 06:27 PM
Fantastic news and a fantastic cartoon.

Well done, FD, very proud.

04-12-2012, 07:24 PM
Good stuff First Dog!!
Are you a member of the ACA by the way?
go to their meetings sometimes...when in smellbourne.

04-12-2012, 07:30 PM
Well done First Dog, congrats!

04-12-2012, 08:12 PM
Congrats and well done FDOTM.

04-12-2012, 08:42 PM

anyway thanks very much

Come on, it builds character. Life isnt all champagne and awards you know!

04-12-2012, 09:02 PM
Congrats and Well Done FDOTM

04-12-2012, 10:10 PM
Andrew, as someone who's known you before you were famous I can honestly say with genuine sincerity it won't change you one bit, you'll still be the same person who genuinely cares about people, but hopefully a richer one. Well done mate, really thrilled for you.

05-12-2012, 12:15 AM
Congratulations FDOTM. Who'd have thought that one of us would amount to something? Of course now that you're a winner I'm not sure you'll fit in anymore.

05-12-2012, 10:58 AM
Well done FDOTM. I actually thought about one of your Bulldogs cartoons the other day, the one with the players in princess hats & Will Minson getting distracted by the flower ("Ooh look, a flower") My cat BJ wasn't eating, was getting distracted by one of his toys whilst the greedier cat Billy was waiting to pounce on his food. :D

05-12-2012, 11:53 AM
Well deserved FirstDog, you are a true gentleman an a scholar.

05-12-2012, 05:13 PM
Congrats First Dog. Well deserved.

06-12-2012, 01:54 PM
First Dog on the Moon you and Julia are the illustrious amongst us. You are right up there with Dame Edna and Leunig but closer to our hearts because of your WOOF allegiance.

06-12-2012, 07:56 PM
Andrew, as someone who's known you before you were famous I can honestly say with genuine sincerity it won't change you one bit, you'll still be the same person who genuinely cares about people, but hopefully a richer one. Well done mate, really thrilled for you.

You obviously havent seen FDOTM lately. The vestal virgins walking ahead of him throwing rose petals for him to walk on is a nice touch but the tooled up gangsta posse wearing snapbacks and calling everyone 'Mofo' that follows him everywhere and calls him "Dawg' is a bit over the top I reckon.

06-12-2012, 11:32 PM
Congrats again Dog. In honour of your fine walkley I went and looked at your early work on my notice board of Peter Street going out for nandos at docklands and being locked out of the ground. Still laugh regularly at the Aka cartoon on my fridge. You've come a long way!

07-12-2012, 07:42 PM
Congartulations - I loved Bazza's Hello Kitty tattoo

11-12-2012, 12:19 PM
goodness me is this thread still going?

thanks very much everyone

*blushes while accidentally bumping thread*

11-12-2012, 12:29 PM
I see what you did there.

11-12-2012, 12:53 PM
Congratulations First Dog - well deserved! Your cartoons bring a smile to my face often, whilst others have my emotions running the other way! Either way, you nail the issues! :D