View Full Version : Martial Arts and AFL development?

03-03-2013, 02:36 PM
The other day I went for a trial at a place in Geelong run by a guy named John B Will.
It's Jiu Jitsu and general unarmed self defence. It got me wishing I had started with a good teacher earlier.

Does anyone know if our team does martial arts training , or anything besides boxing and wrestling? I've never done any as a part of a footy program when I played. Has anyone else?
Some of the stuff he taught us was quite the opposite of boxing.

What's everyone's experience in here with martial arts?

03-03-2013, 02:41 PM
The other day I went for a trial at a place in Geelong run by a guy named John B Will.
It's Jiu Jitsu and general unarmed self defence. . It got me wishing I had started with a good teacher earlier.

The benefits in terms of self confidence are huge. Does anyone know if our team does martial arts training , or anything besides boxing and wrestling? I've never done any as a part of a footy program when I played. Has anyone else?

They use to do Pilates, but not sure this year.

03-03-2013, 02:49 PM
They use to do Pilates, but not sure this year.

Ayce Cordy Vs Luke Dahlhaus MMA style. :D

03-03-2013, 02:57 PM
Ayce Cordy Vs Luke Dahlhaus MMA style. :D

Yeah, I know its not martial arts :p, but avery different way of working out to build core strength

03-03-2013, 03:12 PM
No worries BAD I was just being random not really on the topic of Pilates, which I have never done, and heard is great.
But I'm thinking in terms of self confidence for the young blokes. I did Judo when I was younger and think it's a good tool for young people.

03-03-2013, 03:34 PM
No worries BAD I was just being random not really on the topic of Pilates, which I have never done, and heard is great.
But I'm thinking in terms of self confidence for the young blokes. I did Judo when I was younger and think it's a good tool for young people.

Not sure if any of the clubs do martial arts but I like the way you are thinking and can see many benefits. Hargrave had a black belt in one of the martial arts, but not sure if any of the other players have taken it up.

03-03-2013, 09:57 PM
I have my local club doing brazillian jiu jitsu one night a week at the moment. Amazing for fitness (sort of fitness you get from repeated contests) and very good for functional strength. Really good for leg and core strength. Cant do it during the year though as a few injuries do pop up.

Evel
03-03-2013, 10:24 PM
I have been training in Kung fu for the last 5 years combined with boot camp style group training sessions that includes boxing. While great for self defence (and perhaps for sticking a tackle) I must say I can't really see much use for AFL players in terms of fitness training. I find the boxing to be far more beneficial for fitness. Punching bags is draining but also copping hits sucks the energy.

03-03-2013, 10:41 PM
Ok Interesting Evel. Just my personal experience, I did Kung Fu for some years. I felt it did bugger all for my ability to protect myself. I remember going to a tournament with the school. All our guys, even the senior ones with years of training got smashed in an open style tournament. Just not practical enough for me. So it didn't really give me the mental confidence I wanted.

I did Jiu Jitsu in the past at 2 different places. It was really technical and I started to get bored. Didn't like the cocky crowd either.
I started at this place in Geelong and it rocks. It's really practical ( eg, what if some guy comes up and starts shoving you around ).
The emphasis is on self confidence and it gives me what I'm looking for. From a Grant, Cordy or Howard aspect, wondered if it might be beneficial too.

Really good for leg and core strength. Cant do it during the year though as a few injuries do pop up.

Injuries yeah. That would be a risk. Dog town, do the boys enjoy it? Is there any practical street defence stuff thrown in?

03-03-2013, 11:08 PM
Injuries yeah. That would be a risk. Dog town, do the boys enjoy it? Is there any practical street defence stuff thrown in? Some of them love it to the extent where it might cost me a player this year. Not all of them love it but most do. Very much BJJ only but I could see benefits of other types of martial arts etc.

IMO it has made a definite difference for some of the guys with their ability to stay up in a contest. The training they do for it is all very functional stuff. In that sense it is much more beneficial at a non professional level than going to the gym twice a week between training.

04-03-2013, 09:10 AM
Cant do it during the year though as a few injuries do pop up.

Which is why I'd hate for our club to start practicing in it. A knee or elbow popped can happen quite easily, especially if you have no to very little experience.

Didn't Shaggy have some experience in martial arts?

04-03-2013, 10:59 AM
Pretty sure carlton did this at one point. Had some guy from chadstone helping them that was a ju jitsu black belt.

04-03-2013, 11:00 AM
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/essendon-reveals-carlton-specialist-coach-john-donehues-tackling-tricks/story-fnelctok-1226426646414

04-03-2013, 08:36 PM
I trained with this guy in 2009 Lived a few streets down in Midlothian St at the time, was studying at Holmesglen. Sure has all the photos on his wall and I'm sure he's a good fighter, but not the sort of character I could respect.
Now I get the whole Judd Chicken wing thing! A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

04-03-2013, 09:44 PM
I trained with this guy in 2009 Lived a few streets down in Midlothian St at the time, was studying at Holmesglen. Sure has all the photos on his wall and I'm sure he's a good fighter, but not the sort of character I could respect.
Now I get the whole Judd Chicken wing thing! A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

And because of that the penalty should have been huge. Aren't people who are trained in any form of Martial Arts trialled differently if they commit an assault?

04-03-2013, 09:50 PM
And because of that the penalty should have been huge. Aren't people who are trained in any form of Martial Arts trialled differently if they commit an assault?

Never heard that one; wouldn't surprise me. But Judd is a protected species isn't he?

04-03-2013, 10:41 PM
It's Jiu Jitsu and general unarmed self defence. It got me wishing I had started with a good teacher earlier.

Does anyone know if our team does martial arts training , or anything besides boxing and wrestling? I've never done any as a part of a footy program when I played. Has anyone else?

GD, like any other field, the teacher, as an individual, in martial arts is the key to its value to anyone. I did karate for 5 years [ up to a serious back injury], and my Sensei was Tino Ceberano.
For mine martial arts training of any form would be more good than bad for footballers, if for no other reason than the self discipline aspects.
But in truth more important would be the basic principle of using an opponent's own weight/momentum against them.

A decade or so back, a mate of mine was a trainer with the Doggies, and he is a Tai Chi instructor. He apparently took the players through some TC training.
From my understanding, since then boxing is the only martial training they do... I stand to be corrected on that point.

For mine the whole concept of limited/redirected resistance is very applicable to footy, and could be of significant benefit to our players.

04-03-2013, 11:24 PM
GD, like any other field, the teacher, as an individual, in martial arts is the key to its value to anyone. I did karate for 5 years [ up to a serious back injury], and my Sensei was Tino Ceberano.
For mine martial arts training of any form would be more good than bad for footballers, if for no other reason than the self discipline aspects.
But in truth more important would be the basic principle of using an opponent's own weight/momentum against them.

A decade or so back, a mate of mine was a trainer with the Doggies, and he is a Tai Chi instructor. He apparently took the players through some TC training.
From my understanding, since then boxing is the only martial training they do... I stand to be corrected on that point.

For mine the whole concept of limited/redirected resistance is very applicable to footy, and could be of significant benefit to our players.

Sorry to hear about the back Paul. I never heard of your teacher I googled him and he sounds pretty awesome.
I'm really getting a lot of confidence from my classes. As you say, the self discipline is good, but also, learning to take your place in the world without fear.
Alot of the stuff they do, as you say Paul, is balance and weight displacement stuff.
I think Gia for example would be a great Martial artist. The way he out contests guys much bigger than him is one thing I always enjoy watching.

05-03-2013, 12:01 AM
Sorry to hear about the back Paul. I never heard of your teacher I googled him and he sounds pretty awesome.
I'm really getting a lot of confidence from my classes. As you say, the self discipline is good, but also, learning to take your place in the world without fear.
Alot of the stuff they do, as you say Paul, is balance and weight displacement stuff.
I think Gia for example would be a great Martial artist. The way he out contests guys much bigger than him is one thing I always enjoy watching.

Ahh GD, the back is an old story, even if it has reared its ugly head again in recent weeks.

But as Ned said..."such is life".

Yeah Tino is pretty awesome.

You are right, body on body is Gia's best parlour trick at this stage of his career...old fox.
Petty he no longer has the pace he did 8-10 years ago.
But then, if we all knew what we do now, 10 years ago, we might all have been champions. Ha, ha.

05-03-2013, 12:18 AM
He's still a champ. In for a ripper year I reckon.

05-03-2013, 02:07 AM
He's still a champ. In for a ripper year I reckon.

I wouldn't be surprised if he had a good year either.

He's one of the smartest players I've ever seen play for us. Sure he has his limitations with his defenisve play and pace, but with those along with his clear lack of physical stature he's still required quality defenders rather than average ones to keep him quiet. Class act.

I like the idea of varying the training the players do, and I thnk the AFL sanctioned off season would be a very good time for players to be encouraged to try other sports disciplines, including MA. Having specialist coaches at training to assist with body work would be a great way to mix up training principals that contribute to a final message, but I'm not sure there's enough time for teams to get into it too seriously once the players are on deck after their breaks.

06-03-2013, 10:57 PM
HW88P9kV9gE

Have a look at the guys sparring in this vid. Get a decent boxing coach and get them to do it properly or it's a bit of a waste of time IMO. Firstly, they know they can't whack each other hard. So it doesn't help with intensity. Better of shaping up against pads.
Secondly they are not protecting their head so it makes for poor habit forming.
( Although Austin has a nice bit of form, better than the others )
Even olympic wrestling would be better, so you get the repeat constest and body on body work.

Ah well, they look like they're having fun.

PS Daniel Cross has a a fine kicking action doesn't he? Keeps his leg dead straight.