View Full Version : Game Day - R4 Adelaide V Western Bulldogs

20-04-2013, 07:55 PM
Discussion for our Round 4 clash against Adelaide at AAMI Stadium.

Dogs by 5 points (I always tip us regardless of how we are doing)
BOG: Griffen
First Goal: Dahlhaus

20-04-2013, 08:00 PM
Crows by 25, boyd bog, cooney first goal

20-04-2013, 08:36 PM
Crows by 43
BOG Willlbur ( out of left field I know!)
First goal Luke D

20-04-2013, 09:07 PM
Crows by 35 points

BOG: Boyd

First Goal: Stringer

20-04-2013, 09:55 PM
Stringer by 24 points
BOG: Stringer

20-04-2013, 09:58 PM
Stringer by 24 points
BOG: Stringer

You have a great love for Stringer F'scary.

20-04-2013, 10:03 PM
Radelaide by 40
BOG Griff
First Goal Tutt

20-04-2013, 10:06 PM
Stringer by stringer
Stringer stringer stringer
Stringer stringer

20-04-2013, 10:39 PM
Stringer stringer

EFA :D

Adelaide by 51
BOG Cooney
First goal Gia

21-04-2013, 08:26 AM
Plenty of rain here this morning, going to be difficult conditions.

Crows by 18
BOG Boyd
First goal Dahlhaus

21-04-2013, 09:18 AM
Plenty of rain here this morning, going to be difficult conditions.

Crows by 18
BOG Boyd
First goal Dahlhaus

That might help make it close :)

Crows by 26
Bog - griffen
First goal - griffen

21-04-2013, 12:11 PM
Crows by 12 points.
BOG Griffen
First Goal Stringer!

Best I can realistically expect is an honorable loss from the boys.
If we were to win, it would go down as one of the greatest against-all-odds victories.

Adelaide Crows have won 9 in a row when priced as Heavy Favourite (<$1.20).
Western Bulldogs have lost 11 in a row when priced as Heavy Underdog ($6.00+).

Will Cordy be a late change? Can't see him offering much in the wet.

21-04-2013, 12:20 PM
Adelaide by 15
BOG- Libba
First goal- Stringer

21-04-2013, 12:58 PM
Adelaide - 43 points
BOG Dogs - Libba
First Goal: Gia

21-04-2013, 01:30 PM
Crows by 67.
BOG Boyd
First Goal Jones

neddie
21-04-2013, 01:52 PM
Crows by 67.
BOG Boyd
First Goal Jones

Rain stopped,Crows by 50 plus,first goal- Libba,BOG- Boyd.

NoName
21-04-2013, 01:55 PM
First Goal: Griffen
BOG: Libba
Bulldogs by 10 points

21-04-2013, 02:02 PM
Bulldogs by 31 points.

First goal: Jones

BOG: Griffen.

21-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Them by plenty
First Goal Jones
BOG thompson

21-04-2013, 02:46 PM
Dogs by 23
First Goal Jones
BOG Griffen

21-04-2013, 03:01 PM
Flashback 97 Prelim final on now. Do I need a week off work due to depression?

21-04-2013, 03:04 PM

No way I could put myself through that again. Still hurts now.

21-04-2013, 03:11 PM
PF 98 also was bad. We went into that match so confident we would make it through to the GF and probably should of but we failed miserably.

21-04-2013, 03:16 PM
I'm getting the message Stringer is sub. Anyone confirm?

21-04-2013, 03:18 PM

Confirmed on Twitter, and no changes.

Adelaide sub is Porplyzia

21-04-2013, 03:21 PM

Confirmed on Twitter, and no changes

Also have Macrae starting on the field.

NoName
21-04-2013, 03:21 PM
No way I could put myself through that again. Still hurts now.

Agree, I can even talk about that day without getting all angry.

21-04-2013, 03:56 PM

I watched it:(.

Still hurts just as much, why did I do that:mad:.

21-04-2013, 04:22 PM
Lower too slow

21-04-2013, 04:24 PM
Oh look at that rain...

21-04-2013, 04:26 PM
Every goal today vitally important.

21-04-2013, 04:29 PM
Nice pressure from Tutt.

21-04-2013, 04:31 PM
Acid test for the sliding rule today. Already looks like its been shelved.

21-04-2013, 04:32 PM
Great play Morris.

21-04-2013, 04:36 PM
Dumb wet weather footy Will!!!!

21-04-2013, 04:37 PM
Dumb wet weather footy Will!!!!

No room for the fancy stuff in that weather.

21-04-2013, 04:39 PM
Two bad errors by Roughead. Dropped mark, poor tackle.

21-04-2013, 04:40 PM
The closed roof policy a killer on days like today.

21-04-2013, 04:42 PM
50m penalty? Did I miss something? Why?

21-04-2013, 04:43 PM
Kick long and kick off the ground on days like today please.:mad:

21-04-2013, 04:43 PM
50m penalty? Did I miss something? Why?

Described as "late contact"... I'm not sure either.

21-04-2013, 04:46 PM
Great kick and goal to Boyd.

21-04-2013, 04:47 PM
Starting to adjust, Cordy has looked nimble and clean

Really need to simplify what we are doing. Ayces hands have been very good with the wet footy.

Yes Coons

Cordy amazingly clean.

Starting to adjust, Cordy has looked nimble and clean

Just about to post that, Cordy has looked pretty good so far.

Evel
21-04-2013, 04:48 PM
Cordy's first touches have been great, really setup that first goal. For the biggest man on the ground, he's handling the conditions well.

21-04-2013, 04:48 PM
Great goal Coooooons!

21-04-2013, 04:49 PM
Look who's back. Cooney's back. Cooney's back again. Look who's back!!!!!!!!!!!

21-04-2013, 04:50 PM
I really like Koby Stevens' attack on the ball.

21-04-2013, 04:51 PM
Very good quarter for us and despite being 1 point we are doing well. We have really put ourselves in a good position.

21-04-2013, 04:51 PM
I think we are a better chance to beat down at AAMI under these conditions than under a roof at 'home'.

21-04-2013, 04:53 PM
Geez Stringer has been good in that vest.

Hope Griffo is ok

Don't want to be scare anyone but I am paranoid about Stringer's leg in these wet conditions!

Smashed open the pack that lead to Boyd's goal. Great stuff.

Why was a 50 paid against Minson? Wasn't that just a free for high contact?

21-04-2013, 04:54 PM
Good start. Took a little while to adjust to the conditions.

21-04-2013, 04:55 PM
Don't want to be scare anyone but I am paranoid about Stringer's leg in these wet conditions!

I thought the same thing.

21-04-2013, 04:56 PM
Smashed open the pack that lead to Boyd's goal. Great stuff.

Why was a 50 paid against Minson? Wasn't that just a free for high contact?

He stopped the player from getting to the next contest.

21-04-2013, 04:57 PM

He stopped the player from getting to the next contest.

So that's automatically 50? I didn't know that.

21-04-2013, 04:59 PM
So that's automatically 50? I didn't know that.

Yeah, it has been for a couple of seasons now but you dont see it very often.

21-04-2013, 05:03 PM
Loving Morris game.

21-04-2013, 05:04 PM
Cooney and Wallis have been good.

21-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Jason Tutt's tackling has been outstanding so far. Hope he is a changed man.

21-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Could be the making of a career here for Tutt, pressure, pressure, pressure

21-04-2013, 05:07 PM
Have to man up that Adelaide spare man, Jones is being killed 2 on 1 back there

21-04-2013, 05:11 PM
FFS Goodes....just dumb!

21-04-2013, 05:12 PM
Shocking kick from Brett Goodes. It's those things that cost you.

21-04-2013, 05:12 PM
Goodes has coughed it up too much.

21-04-2013, 05:13 PM
Big fan of Brett Goodes' start to the season but that was utterly moronic.

Shocking kick from Brett Goodes. It's those things that cost you.
Been average since rd one.

Round 1 was his best game.

21-04-2013, 05:14 PM
Round 1 was his best game.
yes. Since then he's been average.

21-04-2013, 05:15 PM
Blatant holding on Jones

We have gifted them two goals with ridiculous turnovers. They have give us nothing down back. Basically the difference at the moment. We can't afford to cough up cheap goals on a day like this.

Since debut, Goodes has shown himself to be every bit a VFL player. Very ordinary.

21-04-2013, 05:18 PM
We've been kicking to one on fives for bloody years. FFS it's frustrating.

21-04-2013, 05:21 PM
Since debut, Goodes has shown himself to be every bit a VFL player. Very ordinary.

Ironic that the guy we were all pretty critical of picking up, Tom Young has been the best of those mature agers

21-04-2013, 05:28 PM
Hate the way Jones is being coached, Talia his direct opponent and a spare sitting in front of him but we tie him to the goal square? He isn't Barry Hall, get on your bike son

21-04-2013, 05:28 PM
Pretty average game to so far.
I was about to say we deserve to be close, that Goodes kick was almost a quarter of their score and we've had chance, but they should have had a shot for a clear HtB on Young on the siren.
Cross and Tutt have been good.

21-04-2013, 05:29 PM
Horrid.

21-04-2013, 05:30 PM
Ironic that the guy we were all pretty critical of picking up, Tom Young has been the best of those mature agers

Not me. Won Collingwood's VFL best player award at 17 yo. For pick 71 I thought he was a steal.

21-04-2013, 05:30 PM
Knives out on Goodes already, some hard to please. Don't know what games you guys have been watching he's been one of our better players in nearly all the games this year and easily one of our best today.

21-04-2013, 05:31 PM

He will be 21 years old next week.

21-04-2013, 05:32 PM
Knives out on Goodes already, some hard to please. Don't know what games you guys have been watching he's been one of our better players in nearly all the games this year and easily one of our best today.

I agree, he is cool calm and collected and has been very good in the backline. Remember he is playing his 4th AFL game, its a bit different than VFL.

21-04-2013, 05:32 PM
mixed bag from Goodes

21-04-2013, 05:33 PM

Wouldn't call Young a mature age player.

21-04-2013, 05:34 PM
He will be 21 years old next week.

Your point? Traded from within the system, not straight out of the 18's, hence mature ager. Or should we be more pedantic?

21-04-2013, 05:34 PM
Your point? Traded from within the system, not straight out of the 18's, hence mature ager. Or should we be more pedantic?

My point is he is still very young, and agree he is a great pick up.

21-04-2013, 05:35 PM

Even after that woeful error that led to a Crows goal? That sort of shocker puts him down in my estimations.

21-04-2013, 05:37 PM

Agree. Has been one of our best today & it isn't easy to hit a target in these conditions. All round we have been going too short too often in slippery conditions.

Been surprised with Cordy. Hasn't been great but has been a one grab player on a day everyone else is struggling.

Gia has been horrible.

21-04-2013, 05:37 PM
Crows look quicker in these conditions...dogs look like they are treading water (so to speak). Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think we have taken a mark inside 50 yet? We just have to be smarter going fwd and if we aren't able to take a mark, let all our goals be like the first two...running past the 50.

I'd almost get jones up the ground and try to open up the fwd line and kick it over the pack to allow Dalhaus to run onto the ball....ie yarran last night.

21-04-2013, 05:38 PM
Endeavour has been good. 3 of 4 Crows goals have come from poor decisions/ execution by us. Dangerfield may beat us, no answer for him currently. Impressed with Tutt, Cooney, Cross & Cordy on the ball.
Not out of it but forward line needs to be much smarter. Is it possible the wet has made Gia slower than everyone else?

After a very good opening quarter Griffen picked up only 2 disposals in the 2nd. We need more from him as well as Dahl and Wallis. Stevens had a better quarter and I think Stringer will replace Jones at three quarter time.

Even after that woeful that led to a Crows goal? That sort of shocker puts him down in my estimations.

Had he made that mistake at the other end of the ground no one would have said a thing. Still one of our better players.

21-04-2013, 05:39 PM
Cooney outstanding .
Cross very good as well as Minson.
Gia, is he out there. Cordy's been okay considering the conditions.
Jones has been awful. Boyd good first up. Our contested footy is good but our spread and breaking the lines is such a glaring weakness.

21-04-2013, 05:40 PM
I can tolerate bad skills, off days etc. but one thing I cannot tolerate is stupid football and that's exactly what we are playing.

We are moving the ball at a snail's place, looking for 15-20m passes, handballing in circles, our forwards are either behind or too deep and our set-up around stoppages has been embarrassing at times. As a result, Adelaide's spread has put enormous pressure on our back half. Thank god Morris is playing so well.

Cooney, Boyd, Cross, Cordy, Minson, Morris and maybe one or two others are doing well and playing simple footy. The majority, however, are clueless to the conditions.

What's more frustrating is the fact that the coaching staff are watching this and not sending out the runners to enforce the message.

21-04-2013, 05:41 PM
After a very good opening quarter Griffen picked up only 2 disposals in the 2nd. We need more from him as well as Dahl and Wallis. Stevens had a better quarter and I think Stringer will replace Jones at three quarter time.

I'd do it halfway through the third, Jones has been absolutely awful.

21-04-2013, 05:42 PM

Can't agree with this at all. He has been hard, and skilful but is still coming to terms with the step up after a long career in the VFL. His job is to create off half back and that means he will make poor choices and skill errors at times. Happens to Murphy too.

21-04-2013, 05:42 PM
I'd imagine with Cordy rucking the majority of that qtr we'll sub him or jones for stringer midway through the third. Minson should have had ample rest to finish off the game.

21-04-2013, 05:44 PM
If we can stay close enough the Stringer sub could be game defining. My arse is wet, fingers numb and the hot drinks line is waaay too long. Driving home with a win (or even improved performance) could make it all worth it.

21-04-2013, 05:45 PM
Had he made that mistake at the other end of the ground no one would have said a thing. Still one of our better players.

But the reality is he made it in front of goal, it cost us dearly, and in a low scoring game, it's a huge hit. I'll have to watch him closely to see the good things you've noted.

21-04-2013, 05:46 PM
But the reality is he made it in front of goal, it cost us dearly, and in a low scoring game, it's a huge hit. I'll have to watch him closely to see the good things you've noted.

How about the other 14 disposals till half time, all pretty good.

21-04-2013, 05:49 PM
Gia needs to work his butt off to get in front and neutralise the contest. Not giving us enough ATM.

21-04-2013, 05:51 PM

He's made some changers no doubt but I like the way he keeps taking the game on. Doesn't look like a VFL payer to me but I'm more a glass half full kind of guy.

21-04-2013, 05:51 PM
nothing from gia or jones. they have to get involved

21-04-2013, 05:52 PM
Well put by Commetti, its a case of 'make the long mistake' with Goodes. Hasn't adjusted to the conditions which is strange considering he spent all that time at Willi

21-04-2013, 05:52 PM
Any chance of us playing in front? Or showing a bit of poise?

21-04-2013, 05:53 PM
I'Ve got a real bromance for Nick Lower.

21-04-2013, 05:55 PM
JJ looks cooked. Like Macraes endeavor but he's learning what the big time is at the moment

21-04-2013, 05:56 PM
I don't know whether the heavy track has taken it out of our kids, but we look absolutely lost at the moment, and I think unless something changes, we're about to have our rear end handed to us by the Crows.

21-04-2013, 05:56 PM
where was the ruckman on the goal line?

21-04-2013, 05:57 PM
Just an incredibly frustrating game, i don't even see how they could not pay that Morris free.
Looking forward to seeing either Gia or Jones off for Stringer

edit: i forgot that both our goals were kicked from outside 50 by mids. We'd better off not even having forwards, they're giving nothing

21-04-2013, 05:58 PM
JJ is barely able to get out of a walk at the moment.

21-04-2013, 06:01 PM
I know it's a terrible day weather wise, but our disposal efficiency would have to be at least 10% less than the Crows.
We simple do not have enough guys who whether under pressure or not, cannot use the ball at an acceptable standard.

21-04-2013, 06:01 PM
Just about over I'd say.

21-04-2013, 06:02 PM
Stringer on Gia off.

21-04-2013, 06:03 PM
Shit, please not a shoulder for Griff

21-04-2013, 06:04 PM
Shit, please not a shoulder for Griff

No. He's okay, Rutten landed on his chest hard.

21-04-2013, 06:05 PM
Adelaide structure up with extra numbers on the defensive side of every stoppage and clearing it with ease every time. We are the easiest team in the AFL for opposition coaches to coach against.

21-04-2013, 06:06 PM
Why does Jones refuse to hit up at the ball carrier, so much space in front of him when Cross had the footy held up at half back

21-04-2013, 06:07 PM
Gia needs to be dropped he had been woeful for the past two weeks.

This is now getting embarressing haven't Scored for two quarters.

Let the route commence. No score since the first quarter.
Irrespective of the conditions (which are the same for the Crows) it is embarrassing.

Making Ottens look half reasonable. Real step backwards today I'm afraid. Witches hats.

21-04-2013, 06:08 PM
Any reports of our improvement would appear to be premature. This is terrible. No structure, no run.

Gia needs to be dropped he had been woeful for the past two weeks.

This is now getting embarressing haven't Scored for two quarters.

He's been subbed out.

The floodgates I'm afraid are open.

21-04-2013, 06:10 PM
Disappointing. We look like we have given up.

21-04-2013, 06:11 PM
I accepted this last year but won't this year, this is rubbish, time for someone to take responsibility for crap.

21-04-2013, 06:11 PM
Apparently that point our first score in 58 minutes.

21-04-2013, 06:12 PM
We are the easiest team in the AFL for opposition coaches to coach against.

Thare's a reason for that.

21-04-2013, 06:14 PM
Thank you umpire for not blowing the whistle on that Lower slide, wonderful contest, that is footy

21-04-2013, 06:16 PM
Disappointing. We look like we have given up.

I accepted this last year but won't this year, this is rubbish, time for someone to take responsibility for crap.

This is what really annoys me. This "she'll be right, everything will come good" attitude/message is really starting to grate on me.

Our lowest 3Qtr score in 10 years

What the *!*!*!*! is that? They all just watched Crouch run not one player ran after him he even had time to drop
It and pick it up, all because we just watched, my mum could do better than that terrible effort .

21-04-2013, 06:18 PM
In other news, McAvaney must be close to a record number of "haven't they" and "wouldn't you" and "isn't he". There is no commentator who prides himself more on asinine space filling than him. Time for the chop.

21-04-2013, 06:18 PM
What the *!*!*!*! is that? They all just watched Crouch run not one player ran after him he even had time to drop
It and pick it up, all because we just watched, my mum could do better than that terrible effort .

All three bulldogs ran at the one player leaving Crouch free to run on. Really dumb football.

21-04-2013, 06:19 PM
Our lowest 3Qtr score in 10 years

Yeah, and I was at that match in Launceston, which was just as embarrassing as this. Similar conditions as well. I was on the plane with the players and it was very very quiet - Rhode was coach - tells you something, another teacher.

21-04-2013, 06:20 PM
He's been subbed out.

I mean dropped from the team for next week. Actually, I think he needs to retire.

21-04-2013, 06:21 PM
I mean dropped from the team for next week. Actually, I think he needs to retire.

Vez should come in for him next week.

21-04-2013, 06:21 PM
Dahl didn't touch the ball that quarter.

21-04-2013, 06:22 PM
Yeah, and I was at that match in Launceston, which was just as embarrassing as this. Similar conditions as well. I was on the plane with the players and it was very very quiet - Rhode was coach - tells you something, another teacher.

So you're putting McCartney in the same boat as Rhode. Really?

21-04-2013, 06:22 PM
This is what really annoys me. This "she'll be right, everything will come good" attitude/message is really starting to grate on me.

Me to. I'm starting to sway on the side of the coach not being up to it.
I know he's got time, but if we keep getting pantsed the heat must come on.

21-04-2013, 06:23 PM

It's starting look pretty similar.

21-04-2013, 06:23 PM
Griff comng off with the trainers. His shoulder or sternum looks in trouble. Maybe delayed onset from the crunch he got from Rutten.

21-04-2013, 06:25 PM
Feeling next week could be a rout

21-04-2013, 06:27 PM
Need to add to that scoreboard looking embarrassing.

Dahlhaus misses the unmissable and Douglas waltzes through our defence.

Against Geelong. Yep. Training drill for the Cats judging by the insipid performance today from us.

21-04-2013, 06:28 PM
Disgracefull, horrible and not acceptable. I refuse to go next week and watch us get humiliated again, twice as bad.

Not looking forward to next week. The way we are playing Geelong will pounce us.

I thought Dahl would have been in his element today. 6 possessions.

21-04-2013, 06:29 PM
Griff comng off with the trainers. His shoulder or sternum looks in trouble. Maybe delayed onset from the crunch he got from Rutten.

I'm willing to bet he sub luxed his sc joint. Yeah I know that sounds pretentious but it's the easiest way to say it.

21-04-2013, 06:29 PM
Wonder what excuses will be trotted out for the insipid, pathetic display today.

21-04-2013, 06:30 PM
Not looking forward to next week. The way we are playing Geelong will pounce us.

This keeps up, Im not looking forward to the Melbourne game.:eek:

21-04-2013, 06:31 PM

McCartney has more in common with Royce Hart in a coaching sense than Rhode I reckon. Long stretches of consecutive losses, little improvement in performance, the same mistakes being made over and over again, the same excuses being trotted out, etc, etc.

21-04-2013, 06:32 PM
This keeps up, Im not looking forward to the Melbourne game.:eek:

If we played Melbourne right now at the MCG it would be 50/50. At Etihad I think we would still go in favourites.

21-04-2013, 06:34 PM
I'm willing to bet he sub luxed his sc joint. Yeah I know that sounds pretentious but it's the easiest way to say it.

What does that mean for next week?

21-04-2013, 06:35 PM
So now Melbourne have won their first game, we will be the ones under the microscope by the football world. Poor performance bar a couple. Not looking forward to my North & Dees supporting housemates to come home :(

21-04-2013, 06:36 PM
We are fast becoming a team of grafting triers, who as a team don't even always try.
Look at the disposal efficiency of ours and Adelaides midfield. Our midfield leaders Boyd and Grif, going at 13% and 39% efficiency respectively. Cooney & Stevens going at 60% are our best. Libba and Wallis at about 50%.

Adelaide have Douglas going at 78%, Crouch 78% & Thompson and Dangerfield at 60% and Sloane at 50%.

21-04-2013, 06:37 PM
McCartney has more in common with Royce Hart in a coaching sense than Rhode I reckon. Long stretches of consecutive losses, little improvement in performance, the same mistakes being made over and over again, the same excuses being trotted out, etc, etc.
I tell you who shares your view - Dan Lonergan from the ABC commentary team. He has been a fierce critic of BMac almost from day one.

21-04-2013, 06:38 PM

The footage in the room had him grabbing at the centre of his chest.

21-04-2013, 06:38 PM
McCartney has been out coached today. Forward set-up has been horrible for the entire game as he seems to only have one or two players there when the all comes in and we are outnumbered, resulting in the ball rebounding immediately. Players should have been told to kick the ball long in the first half, but they persevered will silly short kicks and handballs.

If these issues had been addressed, the game may not have got away.

Maybe we need a game day coach while Macca is the people and skills teacher.

21-04-2013, 06:39 PM
The thing I'm worried about the lack of any system or plan.

21-04-2013, 06:40 PM
I knew we were not that good. But I didn't think we were this bad. You can take nothing out of this game. Nothing to hang your hat on. Performances like this just kill the club.

To be honest..this is like watching an under 11 side in terms of game style. Grab the ball...scrap a kick forward. Disheartening.

Ayce Cordy's looked worse as the weather's got dry.

21-04-2013, 06:41 PM
What does that mean for next week?

Hard to say.

It's a difficult joint to dislocate or sub-lux because there isn't much movement in, so it's pretty bloody painful when it happens.

I'd say unlikely to play, but if it's not "injured" injured, then it'll be a matter of pain tolerance.

I've had visitors so I've been watching out of the corner of my eye. I wish my eyes were shut completely.

Confidence can be a fleeting partner. Cordy started the day off looking quite agile and confident. Now in the space of 2 minutes he's had a free kick smothered by the man on the mark & has dropped the easiest of marks inside 50 under zero pressure.
And has just snapped a shot at goal out on the full from 20 out- on a tough angle mind you.

21-04-2013, 06:42 PM
You did appoint the bloke Tom

That's pretty much where the joint is. Plus raising the arm was giving him grief, which is another possible indicator.

Maybe we need a game day coach while Macca is the people and skills teacher.

Yep. That has been obvious for ages now.

21-04-2013, 06:44 PM
I've had visitors so I've been watching out of the corner of my eye. I wish my eyes were shut completely.

Concentrate on your visitors:D

Well played Stringer, footy nous. Mark and quick kick to Cooney for our first goal since the first quarter.

Finally we get a goal. Cooney has 2 today.

Goooooooooaaaaaalllllll!!!!!!!!

21-04-2013, 06:45 PM
Concentrate on your visitors:D

They're gone now.

21-04-2013, 06:47 PM
Very nice goal Macrae. Okay our two best highlights today have come in the last quarter from Stringer and Macrae

Three blokes have won their positions today....Cooney, Minson and Roughhead.

Very nice goal from Macrae

21-04-2013, 06:49 PM
Three blokes have won their positions today....Cooney, Minson and Roughhead.

Agree, would throw Morris in as our best back as well, broke even with Walker for mine

21-04-2013, 06:51 PM
What the fricking hell was that Stevens????!!!!

21-04-2013, 06:54 PM

Thank god the Tool concert is on at the same time.

21-04-2013, 06:55 PM
Agree, would throw Morris in as our best back as well, broke even with Walker for mine

Yes Morris was particularly good early.

Really hope we don't get the wise, patient, nurturing routine from Macca in the press conference. Sometimes you need to show a shitty liver.

I am beginning to lose the faith......

That must be close to our lowest score ever. I can remember us kicking 3.15-33 at Vic Park in 1979 but I can't remember a lower score than that.

21-04-2013, 06:56 PM

Tool concert? I thought that was a description of the way we play.

21-04-2013, 06:57 PM

Didn't even know they were here, take me with you!

What can you say about this game. Wet conditions I thought would suit us but didn't look even near it after quarter time.

That must be close to our lowest score ever. I can remember us kicking 3.15-33 at Vic Park in 1979 but I can't remember a lower score than that.

They said our lowest was in '65... Today was 2nd lowest for a while.

Awesome, we won the contested possessions

21-04-2013, 06:58 PM
What can you say about this game. Wet conditions I thought would suit us but didn't look even near it after quarter time.

I was a bit annoyed it was on the same time as the Geelong game, not now:D

21-04-2013, 06:59 PM

The wetter the conditions the more exposed your flaws are.

21-04-2013, 07:04 PM
The wetter the conditions the more exposed your flaws are.

Skill level drops in the wet and we are suppose to have some good ball winners so I thought it would have suited us. We came out and played a dry weather game.

21-04-2013, 07:08 PM
Skill level drops in the wet and we are suppose to have some good ball winners so I thought it would have suited us. We came out and played a dry weather game.

Agree to some extent. Funy how the better players stand out even more in poor conditions.

21-04-2013, 07:11 PM
Our midfielders had a lot of the ball but the kicks were basically just slammed on the foot and went to no one or straight to the opposition.

McCartney deserves some serious heat now.

I still think he's a man with good vision and principles, but in terms of match day duties, he's continually put to the sword.

Griff or BMac ?;)

21-04-2013, 07:13 PM
Awesome, we won the contested possessions
Shows we have no system and poor skills.

21-04-2013, 07:13 PM

I still think he's a man with good vision and principles, but in terms of match day duties, he's continually put to the sword.

In his second season, he still does not seem to have a game plan, nor the capability to react to change crucial match ups on game day.

21-04-2013, 07:15 PM
The thing I'm worried about the lack of any system or plan.

And that comes from the top.

21-04-2013, 07:16 PM
In other news, McAvaney must be close to a record number of "haven't they" and "wouldn't you" and "isn't he". There is no commentator who prides himself more on asinine space filling than him. Time for the chop.

He might've retired from TV by the time we qualify for FTA coverage again.

That was horrible to watch

21-04-2013, 07:16 PM

When you are out-coached on match day by Brett Ratten coaching a virtual Preston Bullants team, safe to say match-day is not your strong suit.

He's obviously a good football person but the cut and thrust of match day appears well beyond him at this early stage of his senior coaching career

21-04-2013, 07:17 PM
Griff or BMac ?;)

ROFL. ROFL. Still ROFLing:):):)

21-04-2013, 07:20 PM
Agree to some extent. Funy how the better players stand out even more in poor conditions.

True and it shows we don't have a player of that caliber.

21-04-2013, 07:22 PM

I'm not anti McCartney, and I hope the media don't just circle because the heat is somewhat off Neeld and they need a new target.
However, I really want to be convinced that the 'cracking in' mantra isn't his only football idea, and that he has some cogent strategies to play football that hang off that.
Because, yet again we clearly cracked in, and won contested footy, broke about even in tackles, and clearances, yet we were once again comprehensively belted, embarrassingly slow.
My point is if 'cracking in' is the preeminent tenet of his football gameplan, then we are in some serious trouble.

21-04-2013, 07:23 PM
griff or bmac ?;)

haha!!!!:D:D

21-04-2013, 07:23 PM
When you are out-coached on match day by Brett Ratten coaching a virtual Preston Bullants team, safe to say match-day is not your strong suit.

He's obviously a good football person but the cut and thrust of match day appears well beyond him at this early stage of his senior coaching career

He's done the right thing for any potential career longevity by setting expectations reallllly low. Was very surprised to hear Peter Gordon concede he expects us to lose some games by large margins (was it at the season launch? Footage seen on AFL 360)...so weeks like this can get filed under that measurement/target

21-04-2013, 07:26 PM
Adelaide by 51
BOG Cooney
First goal Gia

Pretty bloody close, unfortunately.

The lack of a half forward line kills you, just becomes a springboard for opposition attacks.

21-04-2013, 07:26 PM
True and it shows we don't have a player of that caliber.

Cooney was the only one. Looked class

21-04-2013, 07:29 PM
Pretty bloody close, unfortunately.

The lack of a half forward line kills you, just becomes a springboard for opposition attacks.

Great point, and it just pisses me off when Jones could hit up and give a target but he sits inside fifty and gets double teamed. Seriously you're meant to be a key forward, the easiest ones to play on are the guys who sit there and call for it on their head. The forward structure is shocking, does that come down to Macca or Shannon Grant?

21-04-2013, 07:39 PM
Cooney was the only one. Looked class

Yes, apologies to Coons. Was fantastic today.

21-04-2013, 07:40 PM
Great point, and it just pisses me off when Jones could hit up and give a target but he sits inside fifty and gets double teamed. Seriously you're meant to be a key forward, the easiest ones to play on are the guys who sit there and call for it on their head. The forward structure is shocking, does that come down to Macca or Shannon Grant?

I don't know if I would be blaming the coaches, you can't take Higgins, Dickson and Murphy out of the side in a week and not expect some pain. Plus Gia was terrible and had to be subbed off.

We really needed Veszpremi and Grant to come in instead of adding more midfielders.

21-04-2013, 07:41 PM
I'm not anti McCartney, and I hope the media don't just circle because the heat is somewhat off Neeld and they need a new target.
However, I really want to be convinced that the 'cracking in' mantra isn't his only football idea, and that he has some cogent strategies to play football that hang off that.
Because, yet again we clearly cracked in, and won contested footy, broke about even in tackles, and clearances, yet we were once again comprehensively belted, embarrassingly slow.
My point is if 'cracking in' is the preeminent tenet of his football gameplan, then we are in some serious trouble.

Yes, our Stickle Bricks game plan does not go very far.

Now for the good news Southampton drew and look like staying up.

Was Gia subbed due to performance or injury?

Dog54
21-04-2013, 07:47 PM
Cooney great!! Hopefully he doesn't leave at seasons end as a free agent!

21-04-2013, 07:53 PM
In his second season, he still does not seem to have a game plan, nor the capability to react to change crucial match ups on game day.

So that's how you educate players? Make moves as soon as they struggle or lose a contest?

21-04-2013, 07:56 PM
Was Gia subbed due to performance or injury?

Performance. Looked slow and had no influence. He's pretty close to playing some VFL

21-04-2013, 07:56 PM
Been on board with Macca so far but starting to get concerned. The Brisbane game made me think we had improved as expected and we might jag a few wins this year, but importantly that we had some sort of game plan. Not the case. We're still doing what we did last year. Crack in. Get it. Give it back. Concede goal. Repeat.

21-04-2013, 07:59 PM
So that's how you educate players? Make moves as soon as they struggle or lose a contest?
What are the consequences for being rubbish, not following team rules or not trying hard enough? Let it all slide cause they're "young".

It's rubbish. 4 goals in a game isn't near good enough.

21-04-2013, 08:02 PM

Not 'as soon as', but at some point you need to concede that it's not working, and try to effect some change.

21-04-2013, 08:14 PM

Taken out of context.
Should have started Stringer in the Ruck then, he would have really learnt a leason.

21-04-2013, 08:22 PM
All my enthusiasm and joy for this season is already on the wane, if not shot.

I'm normally a very optimistic person and love (not a word I use lightly) the Dogs. We are only four rounds into the season, it's going to be long, cold and bleak winter for us.

Maybe I should toughen up, but surely footy has to give you a little more back than what we have given in the last two weeks.

21-04-2013, 08:23 PM
He looks a very nice player. He has time and likes to take the game on. He needs to be a little bit careful though, there's going to be much more video footage of him in the future and can't just do the same baulking move every time he gets the ball like he was able to in junior footy.
Something Greystache posted during Macrae's Willy v Coburg game.

Was thinking about this when he made two Crows players look stupid with his "step". The one at the end before his delivery to Stringer was awesome.

21-04-2013, 08:28 PM
Don't want beat on him but Gia simply looks finished.

21-04-2013, 08:30 PM
As soon as the opposition breaks even we get murdered on the spread .

21-04-2013, 08:40 PM
Very nice goal Macrae. Okay our two best highlights today have come in the last quarter from Stringer and Macrae

It's great to see young players show some flair and use their natural instincts. I wonder though how long before this is educated out of them.

21-04-2013, 08:47 PM
Anyone else reasonably happy with Tutt's game? Worked hard to put pressure on, one of the few to try & break lines. Not saying he was great but showed enough improvement in the areas he needed to, to get another shot next week.

21-04-2013, 08:56 PM
Anyone else reasonably happy with Tutt's game? Worked hard to put pressure on, one of the few to try & break lines. Not saying he was great but showed enough improvement in the areas he needed to, to get another shot next week.

Wasn't a great game but I think he deserves another week

21-04-2013, 09:07 PM
Ironic game from Tutt. Defensively great but offered next to nothing going the other way.

21-04-2013, 09:12 PM

We are better than what has been shown in the past two weeks. Losing Murphy and Dickson were savage losses today. There has been some positives so far with the return of Cooney and Morris, the good drafting of Goodes Young and Lower together with Macrae and Stringer. We need to find one or two good small crumbing forwards which has now become a feature of the better teams. The experiment of Cordy as a key forward hasn't worked and our forward structure needs a rework. This is going to be a tough year. I do have faith in BMcC but can understand your frustrations.

21-04-2013, 09:15 PM

If we had a half decent forward line that could convert the opportunities, everyone would be singing his praises.

21-04-2013, 09:50 PM
Ironic game from Tutt. Defensively great but offered next to nothing going the other way.

So he was Tory Dickson

21-04-2013, 11:22 PM
We are better than what has been shown in the past two weeks. Losing Murphy and Dickson were savage losses today. There has been some positives so far with the return of Cooney and Morris, the good drafting of Goodes Young and Lower together with Macrae and Stringer. We need to find one or two good small crumbing forwards which has now become a feature of the better teams. The experiment of Cordy as a key forward hasn't worked and our forward structure needs a rework. This is going to be a tough year. I do have faith in BMcC but can understand your frustrations.

Dickson has been woeful the last two weeks and if it wasn't for his injury (mind you it was towards the end of the game anyway), he should have been dropped, so no loss today.

22-04-2013, 10:13 PM
In an effort to cheer everyone else up I will simply say this. It could be worse:

You could have been there (apologies to those that were also there).
It could be your only "home" game of the year.
Your wife could be a Crows supporter.
You could have been the only one in the ground that forgot their poncho.

23-04-2013, 12:15 AM
Don't miss many Bulldogs games, though it seems I should be glad I didn't have an opportunity to watch this one!

Will probably choose to do homework over watching the replay, as I trust the common themes among various opinions on this board to reach some conclusions that will keep me doing other things.

23-04-2013, 12:20 AM
In an effort to cheer everyone else up I will simply say this. It could be worse:

I feel better. :D

23-04-2013, 04:55 PM

Mission Accomplished. Thanks for being a team player !

23-04-2013, 06:24 PM

Dare I Say it. This^^^

23-04-2013, 11:31 PM
Scott Thompson challenged his charge and lost.

Doesn't miss a game but out of Brownlow contention.

23-04-2013, 11:44 PM
Thanks BAD

Not many have mentioned Mitch Wallis. Much like his Dad. You know what you're going to get from him.
Got 14 kicks - a career high. It's really pleasing to watch him grow.

24-04-2013, 01:58 AM
Mission Accomplished. Thanks for being a team player !

Haha, anytime.

24-04-2013, 01:59 AM
Dare I Say it. This^^^

Jesus Christ. Does anyone really think 'cracking in' is all the guy thinks about, and all the guy thinks is going to make us successful?

Going in committed, hard, or whatever is something every team needs to do as a non-negotiable. Every coach should teach it first up, as it's the easiest thing to get right consistently. All the other stuff is hard, and takes a few years to get spot on.

24-04-2013, 03:01 AM
Of course not, just hoping we develop a bit more of a plan.
We're getting flogged on the outside.

24-04-2013, 04:11 AM
Of course not, just hoping we develop a bit more of a plan.
We're getting flogged on the outside.

Yeah, fair enough.

24-04-2013, 09:45 AM
Jesus Christ. Does anyone really think 'cracking in' is all the guy thinks about, and all the guy thinks is going to make us successful?

Going in committed, hard, or whatever is something every team needs to do as a non-negotiable. Every coach should teach it first up, as it's the easiest thing to get right consistently. All the other stuff is hard, and takes a few years to get spot on.

In the pre-match discussion on Sunday ex Geelong Captain Harley was saying both coaches (Macca and Sanderson) pretty much have the same game plan, ie a contested footy style. If you read Macca's letter this week he talks about some basics that premiership teams have played for decades, which is what we are trying to do. BUT - we have not been executing the basics for 4 quarters, so how do we expect to win

24-04-2013, 09:57 AM
In the pre-match discussion on Sunday ex Geelong Captain Harley was saying both coaches (Macca and Sanderson) pretty much have the same game plan, ie a contested footy style. If you read Macca's letter this week he talks about some basics that premiership teams have played for decades, which is what we are trying to do. BUT - we have not been executing the basics for 4 quarters, so how do we expect to win
This is consitent with his message - you build a club from the inside out.

Contrast this to the Demons that hardly have a midfield, yet threw buckets of $$$ at Mitch Clark & Chris Dawes.

24-04-2013, 10:00 AM
This is consitent with his message - you build a club from the inside out.

Contrast this to the Demons that hardly have a midfield, yet threw buckets of $$$ at Mitch Clark & Chris Dawes.

We have to just keep at it, lets face it we are a very young team.