View Full Version : Game Day - R5 Western Bulldogs V Geelong

26-04-2013, 07:40 PM
Bulldogs by 2 points :) Being optimistic but realistically will most likely get thrashed
BOG: Matthew Boyd
First Goal: Jake Stringer

26-04-2013, 09:56 PM
Cats by 62 - will be ugly I fear
BOG for us Luke D
First goal Libba

26-04-2013, 11:13 PM
Cats by 96
Bog- selwood
1st goal - vez :)

26-04-2013, 11:52 PM
Them by 60 plus
Bog Selwood
First goal Dahlhaus

27-04-2013, 12:27 AM
Cat by 50 plus
BOG for us: Cooney
First goal for us: Jones

27-04-2013, 09:02 AM
Dogs by 4
BOG: Libba
First goal: Macramé weaving a bit of magic

27-04-2013, 10:21 AM
Cats by a bit
BOG- Libba
First goal- Stringer

27-04-2013, 10:26 AM
Cats by 50
BOG Stevie J, for us Libba
First goal to Jones.

27-04-2013, 10:40 AM
Cats by 80 (Although I think we will be within a kick at halftime)
BOG: Dahlhouse (Is due for a big game)
FG: Boyd

27-04-2013, 10:48 AM
Geelong by 33 pts (if we play at our best this is about as close as we can hope for I fear).
I reckon Wallis is up for a cracker tonight
Someone in the forwardline will kick our first goal.
Still looking forward to getting to the ground.

27-04-2013, 02:22 PM
Geelong by 74 points however I think we will be within touch at 1/4 time
BOG for the dogs: Cooney
First Goal: Minson

27-04-2013, 03:05 PM
Go Western BeeDees.

Winner: We'll give them a real pants down thrashing that will leave marks on their buttocks, that's for sure.

BOG: Number 1, of course.

First Goal: Number 1, of course, again.

27-04-2013, 03:22 PM
Cats by a fair bit
BOG Boyd
First goal Macrae

27-04-2013, 03:26 PM
Cats by a fair bit
BOG Boyd
First goal Macrae

Ditto for me

27-04-2013, 05:49 PM
Cats by lots
BOG: Libba
First goal: VEZ!

All I'm asking for is some fight in the middle. We can't let them make a mess of us like Richmond did or we'll lose by twice as much.

I want to see some promising performances by Stringer and JacMac, and a really solid outing from Vez that sets him up for an extended run. If this happens and we still get belted, so be it.

27-04-2013, 06:07 PM
Cats by 81 points.
BOG Minson
First goal Cooney

27-04-2013, 06:40 PM
Tommy Hawkins out with soreness.

27-04-2013, 07:30 PM
Macrae sub

27-04-2013, 07:33 PM
Macrae sub

Doesn't like that.

27-04-2013, 07:36 PM
Tommy Hawkins out with soreness.

Now we are a chance :D

Cats by plenty
BOG Bartel, but for us Boyd
First goal SSSSTRRINGERRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!

27-04-2013, 07:46 PM
Macrae sub

Disappointing, he may be sore.

27-04-2013, 08:00 PM
Not unhappy they're easing Macrae into it. Geelong is a big bodied team and they'll crunch the kids at every opportunity.

Hopefully he can come on when the heat is off and get to show that infamous side step.

27-04-2013, 08:25 PM
With Hawkins out we might be able to use Roughy in the ruck.

27-04-2013, 08:27 PM
Hawko out, probably didn't need the extra tall back and Cordy could have played

27-04-2013, 08:36 PM
"Geelong has won 9 of the last 10 against the Dogs @ an average of 44pts." - this didn't need to be heard before the match.

27-04-2013, 08:43 PM
Well the game's started and I'm still at work. Godammit.

27-04-2013, 08:51 PM
Love Boyds endeavour and ability to get the ball, but his disposal is deplorable.

27-04-2013, 09:02 PM
Frustrating mistakes. Wallis has the ball an Goodes, Libba and one other all run to him rather than spread. Turnover. Goal.

We're showing a bit but some simple errors hurting is.

27-04-2013, 09:06 PM
Jones is having a blinder early. Got a very very lucky mark early on, where it clearly hit the ground. But has taken some key contested grabs and two goals. Good stuff

27-04-2013, 09:07 PM
Some avg umpiring.

27-04-2013, 09:08 PM
Umpire has just had a brain meltdown that has cost us a shot on goal.
The ball was out on the full by Geelong. The umpire called it and said 'number 8 (Vez) your kick', and then a Geelong guy picked it up and took the free kick and the ump let play go on??

27-04-2013, 09:11 PM
Umpire has just had a brain meltdown that has cost us a shot on goal.
The ball was out on the full by Geelong. The umpire called it and said 'number 8 (Vez) your kick', and then a Geelong guy picked it up and took the free kick and the ump let play go on??
Arguably should've been a 50 and shot from directly in front.

Either way, ump is a clown. Let the cats get away with shenanigans.

27-04-2013, 09:12 PM
Poor umpiring!

Good 1st quarter.
Just a few basic errors at times.
We need to attack more
Every time we did we put pressure on them and we got a goal.
Jones on fire!!

27-04-2013, 09:12 PM
Geez that decision really hurt. As if its not hard enough!

27-04-2013, 09:14 PM
Thought Stringer showed a bit up forward.
Hopefully his fitness holds out

27-04-2013, 09:14 PM
A very Teddy Whitten thing to do. Poor play ump, ruined the momentum.

Even though this is as close as we will get, very impressed with that quarter of play, good signs from the kids. JJ is worth investing serious games in.

Picken reading the play very well too.

Jones is up and about, good signs, his presence is being felt, happy days.

Our coaching box today looks fist class, Turtle, Bobby and Gia, plus 35+ ex cats people.

27-04-2013, 09:26 PM
Getting killed on the transition.
Gee the umpires favour the Cats.

27-04-2013, 09:30 PM
This is flattering Geelong, we've been okay

27-04-2013, 09:30 PM
This will blow out to 100+. We already look stuffed. Umpires killing us

27-04-2013, 09:31 PM
Gee Stringer is going to be great

27-04-2013, 09:32 PM
Who the hell is this #19?????

27-04-2013, 09:37 PM
Umpiring is ridiculous

27-04-2013, 09:39 PM
This umpiring has cost us at least 4 goals

27-04-2013, 09:41 PM
There is no doubt that the cats are a better team, but seriously umpires........

27-04-2013, 09:43 PM
Our guys look like a different team tonight.

There's a fair gulf between the Cats and us, but I'm liking our focus.

27-04-2013, 09:47 PM
We are better than 30 behind. Umpiring has been pathetic. Jones has played the first half of a champion centre half forward, he could be subbed out now and it would be his best game for the club

27-04-2013, 09:49 PM
Geelong are far better but far out they get the better of calls. Thier whole team get Chris Judd calls. I'm worried about the second half. We look buggered

27-04-2013, 09:51 PM
Why does our fwd line look like grand central station, and theirs like outback Australia? Is it just the way we are setting up? A lot of games I've noticed that the opposition tend to kick "over" our players to allow run on goals. We just seem so conjested in our 50.

27-04-2013, 09:51 PM
Worst. Umpiring. Ever.

27-04-2013, 09:55 PM
We are better than 30 behind. Umpiring has been pathetic. Jones has played the first half of a champion centre half forward, he could be subbed out now and it would be his best game for the club

I agree with everything in this post.

I hope this is a watershed moment for Jones. Now he needs to get fitter and fitter.

27-04-2013, 09:59 PM
Looking forward to the Jones and Stringer show for the next 10 years.

27-04-2013, 10:00 PM
I agree with everything in this post.

I hope this is a watershed moment for Jones. Now he needs to get fitter and fitter.

There is a lot to like about tonight, we are still 30 plus games away from solid, consistent performances but the cattle is there.

Has Will lost a hit out? Jones again another step forward. Young looks to be a solid contributor.

The same attitude tonight saw us smash the lions. We will be up and down for a while yet with these young guys.

27-04-2013, 10:03 PM
Gee Stringer is going to be great
"going to be"??? :p #unleashthebeast

Seriously though, he's put in a couple of solid efforts and attacking the ball well. He and Jones did look absolutely spent though, on the back of a lot of hard work.

27-04-2013, 10:12 PM
Love Stringer. A few times he's given it to cats boys with a bit of a shove.

Has the swagger. Going to be a gun.

27-04-2013, 10:13 PM
Stringer! Two very composed set shots.
He has no hesitation in throwing his body around and demands the ball!
Ready made footballer right there...

27-04-2013, 10:13 PM
Just started watching, why is roughy forward? Makes no sense in what we are trying to achieve with him.

27-04-2013, 10:15 PM
Just started watching, why is roughy forward? Makes no sense in what we are trying to achieve with him.

He's going everywhere with taylor, he's been at full back all night

27-04-2013, 10:15 PM
No opponent I guess. Hawkins isn't playing.

27-04-2013, 10:16 PM
That's why Cross shouldn't play foward... Will kill himself or one of our own.

27-04-2013, 10:17 PM
No opponent I guess. Hawkins isn't playing.

Taylor?

27-04-2013, 10:18 PM
Taylor?

Going forward and back, playing as a genuine swing man

27-04-2013, 10:21 PM
Veszpremi kicked smothered, zero effort to chase and the ball goes running by him. Should have been delisted last year.

27-04-2013, 10:23 PM
dominant 10 mins by the dogs but nothing much on the board. Good endeavor tonight.

I have learnt one thing, the cats sook to the umps a lot.

27-04-2013, 10:24 PM
Going forward and back, playing as a genuine swing man

As Taylor kicks another... With roughy no where to be seen.

27-04-2013, 10:27 PM
Please can we mention JJ??

27-04-2013, 10:27 PM
As Taylor kicks another... With roughy no where to be seen.

To be fair Taylor gave Roughy a bath in the first half...and he's moved onto Pods

27-04-2013, 10:29 PM
Please can we mention JJ??

You just did. :).

He's been good. Found space and used it pretty well.

27-04-2013, 10:31 PM
To be fair Taylor gave Roughy a bath in the first half

I wouldn't call it a bath, he only kicked 2 goals on him. Morris and Austin have both had 1 kicked on them.

I agree with Mantis, Roughy should be in defence.

27-04-2013, 10:35 PM
That kick from Smedts was perfect.

27-04-2013, 10:36 PM
That kick from Smedts was perfect.

Not to mention those hands, Harry could be a gun forward

27-04-2013, 10:37 PM
To be fair Taylor gave Roughy a bath in the first half...and he's moved onto Pods

From the bit I saw Austin & Morris were taking Pods & Taylor with Roughy elsewhere.

27-04-2013, 10:39 PM
Our effort can't be faulted. We are having a dip. The difference is their class on the counter and transition, they are just killing us. We are not as clean or dangerous when we get the rare chance to break.

27-04-2013, 10:40 PM
From the bit I saw Austin & Morris were taking Pods & Taylor with Roughy elsewhere.

Roughy played predominantly full back in the first half, Austin was up forward. Roughy struggled with some quality ball coming in to Taylor, Morris had Pods under raps so Austin was moved onto Taylor. I've got no problem with that

27-04-2013, 10:40 PM
Well, with that kind if delivery into the forward line, roughy doesnt stand much chance.
Personally whether roughy is forward or back is almost irellevant in the wash up.

I little bit of luck tonight and would have given it a good shake.

Poor Vez is totally lost at sea, he needs a string of games to get a good look, because his confidence looks shot to bits.

Wallis has been very quiet tonight.

27-04-2013, 10:44 PM
I really want us to fight this last quarter out. Keeping the margin to under 5 goals would be a good performance for where we are right now, and would give the guys some confidence that with more experience and fitter bodies we have something to build on.

Gees Geelong get a fantastic run from the umpires. All the 50/50's go there way, and against their opposition in similar circumstances.

27-04-2013, 10:46 PM
Did I hear the commentator right? We have 16 guys under 50 games?

Libba will win a brownlow.

27-04-2013, 10:47 PM
Smith is a bulldog.

27-04-2013, 10:49 PM
Jones second efforts are great to see.

27-04-2013, 10:50 PM
Stringer!!!!!

27-04-2013, 10:52 PM
Lace out Cooney to Jones strong hands who finishes...someone hand me a towel

27-04-2013, 10:52 PM
Am I the only one excited by this?

27-04-2013, 10:54 PM

I'm loving it. Cooney's involvement in the last 5 minutes just goes to highlight what a game changer he is for us.

Roughy big grab, to get it under 20 points if he kicks it.

27-04-2013, 10:55 PM
Lace out Cooney to Jones strong hands who finishes...someone hand me a towel

You may have gone too far.

Don't know about excited. I don't think we're a serious chance to win this game, but there have been some very, very pleasing signs.

27-04-2013, 10:55 PM
So proud of these lads tonight

27-04-2013, 10:57 PM
So so proud of our boys!!!!!

We seriously need more members, had to leave at half time, couldn't stand all the Geelong supporters around us putting us down constantly.
I just don't get it, I support my team, not bag the other out.

27-04-2013, 11:07 PM
So so proud of our boys!!!!!

We seriously need more members, had to leave at half time, couldn't stand all the Geelong supporters around us putting us down constantly.
I just don't get it, I support my team, not bag the other out.

Nah the cats are a bunch of flogs ;)

1 more more pre season, these boys get competetive, 2 pre seasons game on!

27-04-2013, 11:09 PM
Jones has looked like he's going to mark anything that goes near him tonight. He's actually looked like a genuine kpf.

27-04-2013, 11:09 PM
About as happy as can be with a 21 point loss

27-04-2013, 11:10 PM
Good effort guys!

27-04-2013, 11:10 PM
You may have gone too far.

Don't know about excited. I don't think we're a serious chance to win this game, but there have been some very, very pleasing signs.

My excitement is for the future not the result of this game.

27-04-2013, 11:14 PM
Seriously good effort whe you consider we had 16 players under 50 games. Today GC had 16 and GWS had 17.

You have to take something out of that game that we are on right path. We are are years away, but the signs are good.

27-04-2013, 11:15 PM
Losing always is always a sucky feeling. However, knowing where we are, a result like this, against a team like Geelong can really be the platform for this team going forward. We just lacked the composure and experience to play four full quarters.

What was pleasing is that the guys ran it out, and really showed a lot of heart.
This is what I expected to see in my most optimistic hopes for the season, that is, showing signs of development as a team, resilience and individual improvement. I think we saw that tonight, and given how young we are, I really hope to see more of these types of performances throughout the year.

If we do perform like this regularly we will cause some upsets and push good teams for longer.

27-04-2013, 11:15 PM
My excitement is for the future not the result of this game.

Sure. We've got things that need work, but I can see what you're saying.

TBH, being two men down probably helped us get closer down the stretch, but we still had to do what we did to get close.

Geez, Stringer can really play. Looks like a natural footballer, got a bit of swagger.

27-04-2013, 11:22 PM
A lot of players ran themselves into the ground tonight. JJ and Tutt give us some outside run, they just need a bit of polish.

And like the rest the umpiring was very poor. Cats could do no wrong.

When all this comes together we will be a very good team.

27-04-2013, 11:24 PM
Very gutsy performance by the boys tonight, Jones looked awesome tonight just wish he could do that every game. How good is Stringer going to be, might just be the fwd we need. Hopefully we take the same intensity over to pater sons and give West Coke a loss at home.

27-04-2013, 11:33 PM
Good effort but we had a lot of trouble with the pressure they applied in the first half.
Good to see Jones amongst it and Stringer doing well.

27-04-2013, 11:52 PM
Sure. We've got things that need work, but I can see what you're saying.

TBH, being two men down probably helped us get closer down the stretch, but we still had to do what we did to get close.

Geez, Stringer can really play. Looks like a natural footballer, got a bit of swagger.

A lot of players ran themselves into the ground tonight. JJ and Tutt give us some outside run, they just need a bit of polish.

And like the rest the umpiring was very poor. Cats could do no wrong.

When all this comes together we will be a very good team.

Good effort but we had a lot of trouble with the pressure they applied in the first half.
Good to see Jones amongst it and Stringer doing well.

We won the last qtr against a very good side. Jones was great, Stringer will be amazing. Love where we are going but many inconsistent days to come. Best I've felt after a loss for a long time. Still a season and a half a way from pleasing most fans but the building blocks are more than obvious. Young surprises me, will never be a gun but he is best 22. Libby is elite, Will destroyed the ruck contest and Smith is an angry young bulldog. That Geelong side, on paper, should have won by 15 goals, they have class and experience.

27-04-2013, 11:54 PM
Was impressed with Jones marking, attack, goal kicking and second efforts. Great pressure! Great performance!

27-04-2013, 11:54 PM
Gee would of been nice to have had Murphy out there tonight!

28-04-2013, 12:13 AM
Deliberately avoided the forum, and this thread in particular, during the game so I could sit, watch, take in and put my thoughts together all in the one go. Few things that stuck out.

Jones. O...M...G. Best game of his career. This time last year he couldn't catch a cold. Tonight was taking marks he had no right to take. Workrate was extraordinary. Would barely move going into half time, you could see how much running he'd done. Faded a bit in the 3rd, but found a bit extra in the last. God I wish he'd held that last speccy.

Stringer. **WARNING - Parental Guidance Recommended** To borrow a line from another poster, I had movement tonight. He will be an absolute monster of a player in a couple of years time.

Tom Young just competes and competes and competes, then for something different does a bit of competing. Even against Stevie J, just would not be denied. I doff my hat, young man.

Speaking of Competing, Clay Smith is going to be a very very good footballer. Love the way he throws himself around.

There has never been a father and son win the brownlow. I firmly believe that Tom Liberatore will change that. Just a class act.

I love the way JJ goes about it. Takes the game on, makes good decisions and uses the ball well. Harbrow has officially been replaced.

From watching the Cats:

Stevie J. HAs become a compete player. As well as doing what he did with ball in hand, laid 10 tackles. Even by modern standards thats extraordinary, and not something you expect from Stevie.

Motlop will be a seriously good player.

To think that Harry Taylor may never have been drafted in Matt Egan hadn't had his career cut short by injury. Geez he's a good player.

Final thought - Another 2 preseasons and 20-30 games into the lineup that played tonight (Obviously Morris and Cross won't be there) and we're a completely different outfit. Experience equals composure equals execution equals results.

28-04-2013, 12:19 AM
I thought Young was a dud. Looked very composed and generally used it well. Also reads the play well and contested well. Well done to the recruiting team.
Loved the work of Jones tonight. He looked very dangerous in the air all night and his kicking for goal looks so much better. Good 2nd efforts too. Still looks another couple pre seasons away from his best footy.
Stringer did very well for someone with a poor fitness base, I'm surprised. I love how he takes on the responsibilty of kicking the goals. For a second gamer and kicking from outside 50 I wouldn't blame him for passing the ball off. It just shows you the confidence and the ability of the man.
JJ was pretty good too after a few lean weeks.
Loved Nick Lower giving it to Selwood.

28-04-2013, 12:34 AM
Love the efforts for all 4 quarters. Really proud of the guys. I went home not having that loosing feeling. It’s sure a win for our future. Love Stringer, Jones, Libba, Smith, Tutt, Young, JJ & Lower ...

And ... shxxxt umpiring. Seriously, they need to take off those dark blue and white OPSM glasses...

28-04-2013, 12:40 AM
Liked the balance of a couple of the older guys standing up (Boyd, Cross and Minson) and the way the youngsters applied themselves tonight.

Johannisen, Young, Jones and Stringer are getting a lot of attention in the votes but I think Smith, Liberatore and Roughead should also get a mention for their efforts tonight.

We all know we need wins, but spirited displays like tonight can make going to the footy a good experience.

28-04-2013, 12:41 AM
A lot to like about tonight. Disappointed in a few of the older blokes though.

Going to enjoy watching Stringer for the next 10 years. Second game & he looks like he belongs already. The kid not only has the talent but has the mentality to be a champion.

28-04-2013, 12:42 AM
Gee would of been nice to have had Murphy out there tonight!

Ryan Griffen goes allright too.

28-04-2013, 12:42 AM
Liked the balance of a couple of the older guys standing up (Boyd, Cross and Minson) and the way the youngsters applied themselves tonight.

Johannisen, Young, Jones and Stringer are getting a lot of attention in the votes but I think Smith, Liberatore and Roughead should also get a mention for their efforts tonight.

We all know we need wins, but spirited displays like tonight can make going to the footy a good experience.

Thought he was very disappointing tonight.

28-04-2013, 12:43 AM
Stringer played like Higgins tonight, wouldn't move unless the ball was within 5 metres, but unlike with Higgins he was probably under instruction to do that to be able to play out the full game. A good return from him in his first full match & glad he was able to get through without being subbed off and still contribute in the last quarter.

Tom Young reminds me of Dustin Fletcher, go-go-gadget arms tackling, smothering and spoiling. Great pace, composure and disposal from him tonight, even when against taller/faster/multiple opponents.

Johanissen looks much better after his rest, but still runs out of puff. Tutt & Vesz looked rusty and struggled to adjust, I would expect them to improve if they get another game

Macrae struggled to adjust to the pace and intensity of the game coming on as sub, Stringer did a better job with this last week but it is difficult to do

Cross & Boyd were at their best, Cross was huge with tackling, spoiling, tap-ons and getting the ball outside of the contest and Boyd didn't try to do as much with his kicks

Great leadership by Cooney in the last, leading the comeback and urging everyone to lift their intensity and have a crack

28-04-2013, 12:46 AM

Really? As usual he wasn't prominent around the ground but he dominated the centre clearances. I had him in our best four.

28-04-2013, 12:47 AM
It was great to fight out the game and not give in, plus we won the second half of the game and Geelong did not kick a goal in the last quarter. Jones running into an open goal and missing - wow that could have made a difference and got us within 3 goals and who knows.

I agree with all the posters on the younger players and great to see two big forwards taking marks and kicking goals. To think Jones should have had 6 goals tonight. Cooney was very disappointing to three quarter time, but he really sparked us in the last quarter with some great tap work from Minson.

Roughead struggled big time at fullback and in the end Harry Taylor was the difference.

Well, I have said it for awhile now, and thought he should have been delisted, but was prepared to give him a chance and he got it tonight and showed he isn't up to it - yes VEZ.

Loved Clay tonight, really would like to see him play the forward pocket role.

One thing Geelong showed us we are slow out of the backline and they really caught us out several times. This really needs to be addressed.

28-04-2013, 12:51 AM
One thing Geelong showed us we are slow out of the backline and they really caught us out several times. This really needs to be addressed.

Freo and Richmond had that well taken care of before Geelong came along. We'll get murdered on the rebound this year.

28-04-2013, 12:54 AM
Really? As usual he wasn't prominent around the ground but he dominated the centre clearances. I had him in our best four.

Zero marks playing against Geelongs 3rd & 4th best ruckman!!

There was a play in the last quarter when JJ had the ball in the back 50. He see's Macrae in about 20m of space & puts a 40m pass on his head. Trent West & Minson were 20m away & both players knew what was going to happen & Minson just stood there & watched West take the ball away from a 2nd gamer.

Rougheads goal in the last was a ball that went straight through Wills hands.

Did well in the ruck contests but i expect more from Will than that.

28-04-2013, 01:10 AM

I was wrapped tonight. I took a bunch of clients to see the game, was afraid it would be a blood bath, but it was a pretty even stoush.

On Will, riding the train home I heard Geelong fans lamenting the ruck battle. They were smashed.
Will also had some good clearances and other plays. If Geelong fans are whinging about you, you know you've done well.

Liam Jones was outstanding in the air. Rousing stuff.

Our back half gassed out. JJ cramped up and Goodes was stuffed. Midfield stagnant. Bound to suffer in that situation.
It was a loss, but the vibe was great, and they failed to dominate us for parts of each quarter, which was pleasing.

Austin was acceptable overall, but his poor chasing efforts playing FF, about 5m from the ball in the first quarter were noted, because I was within spitting distance.

Adam Cooney, not to be taken for granted. He still had a burst of speed, even in the fourth quarter!

Strange umpiring decisions in the first quarter!

28-04-2013, 01:12 AM
Stringer played like Higgins tonight, wouldn't move unless the ball was within 5 metres, but unlike with Higgins he was probably under instruction to do that to be able to play out the full game. A good return from him in his first full match & glad he was able to get through without being subbed off and still contribute in the last quarter.

Tom Young reminds me of Dustin Fletcher, go-go-gadget arms tackling, smothering and spoiling. Great pace, composure and disposal from him tonight, even when against taller/faster/multiple opponents.

Johanissen looks much better after his rest, but still runs out of puff. Tutt & Vesz looked rusty and struggled to adjust, I would expect them to improve if they get another game

Macrae struggled to adjust to the pace and intensity of the game coming on as sub, Stringer did a better job with this last week but it is difficult to do

Cross & Boyd were at their best, Cross was huge with tackling, spoiling, tap-ons and getting the ball outside of the contest and Boyd didn't try to do as much with his kicks

Great leadership by Cooney in the last, leading the comeback and urging everyone to lift their intensity and have a crack

Stringer made a lead on the wing, almost past the half way line. He got quite involved I thought.

28-04-2013, 01:16 AM
i can't remember the last time I enjoyed a loss as much as I did tonight.

28-04-2013, 01:26 AM
Pretty compelling evidence tonight that our structure is much more effective without Cordy in it.

28-04-2013, 01:32 AM
Pretty compelling evidence tonight that our structure is much more effective without Cordy in it.

For the time being. You could say that's true of Gia and Shaun too yes?

28-04-2013, 01:37 AM

And Murph and Griff?

28-04-2013, 01:58 AM
Our forward line looks more effective without Gia IMO. He's just too slow.

28-04-2013, 02:01 AM
And Murph and Griff?

Imagine if we had both of them in tonight.

28-04-2013, 02:13 AM
Disappointed with the result but I was a lot more upbeat walking away from that game tonight. I thought we might of got done by a lot more but we really fought the match out right to the end. Geelong always had the wood on us in this match. I give us a chance next week against West Coast despite the match being played in Perth.

28-04-2013, 02:19 AM
Does anyone else think Cooney should be played predominantly through the middle still? When he was put there in the last quarter it was massive for us. Stuff playing him off a back flank, he'd best bursting from the middle.

28-04-2013, 02:21 AM
Does anyone else think Cooney should be played predominantly through the middle still? When he was put there in the last quarter it was massive for us. Stuff playing him off a back flank, he'd best bursting from the middle.

Yeah that's where he should play. The worry is his injury concerns with his knees.

28-04-2013, 02:22 AM
What did people make of Crossy's game?

28-04-2013, 02:27 AM
What did people make of Crossy's game?

I thought Crossy showed some of his strong points really well, and some of his weak points too. In patches when the game was moving quickly, and when it required decisive ball use by foot he was left short. His effort was there, as always.

He's a champion, but the team will go on without his services after this year. He's just not dynamic enough by hand or foot anymore.

28-04-2013, 02:37 AM
I thought Crossy showed some of his strong points really well, and some of his weak points too. In patches when the game was moving quickly, and when it required decisive ball use by foot he was left short. His effort was there, as always.

He's a champion, but the team will go on without his services after this year. He's just not dynamic enough by hand or foot anymore.

Yeah Cross battles hard as always. So we should expect that his farewell game will be our last match for 2013.

On the other end of the age scale I thought Stringer did ok again tonight and show some good signs.

28-04-2013, 02:37 AM
Well, a strange feeling for me was had as I was walking out of the ground.

I was absolutely livid by the umpiring in the first half. I've only ever really attributed a game change to the umpires in a Bulldogs game once before in my life (2009 prelim), though tonight in the first half I thought we were thoroughly screwed over. It was an unmitigated disgrace.

Now that's off my chest......

I though Geelong didn't really get out of third gear for the entire night. They played like a side that wasn't regarding its opposition at all, and it showed through their inability to kick away from us like they should have.

The game on the other hand was very very pleasing to me, in that despite Geelong's lacklustre approach we hung in there and didn't ever give up at any stage. We could have easily gone into our shells tonight, after such poor umpiring and easy goals outside of that giving Geelong an scoreboard advantage, and it's full credit to the club for fighting it out.

I'm a happy Dogs supporter tonight, as with such an inexperienced side missing a number of key movers we showed we have fight and talent. I thought some excellent work was done by Roughead (who struggled early), Jones, Liberatore, Smith, Wallis, Dahlhaus, JJ, Goodes, Picken et al to keep us in the game, through keeping the ball moving. I have appreciation for Tutt as a footballer, because I know how easily he gets free and he will become a bloody dangerous player when our team becomes more decisive with the ball and finds him more often.

We accounted for ourselves well tonight, and I'm proud to be a Bulldog on the back of it.

28-04-2013, 02:38 AM

I think I disagree with that, has he ever been that dynamic? Thought he was excellent tonight and so long as he remains fit could be good for another 3-4 years I'd say. Maybe as a back pocket? If his output isn't reduced I don't see why he can't continue to play a role through the midfield actually.

28-04-2013, 03:11 AM
I think I disagree with that, has he ever been that dynamic? Thought he was excellent tonight and so long as he remains fit could be good for another 3-4 years I'd say. Maybe as a back pocket? If his output isn't reduced I don't see why he can't continue to play a role through the midfield actually.

He used to be very much a dynamic footballer, who would cut across packs and take marks and use the ball by hand quickly in and out of pack situations to bring players into the game. Couple those attributes with his courage he was a genuine match winner.

I don't judge his future on what he does now, or by what he did in the past. He's the model footballer that has made players as courageous as they are now, and the professional that sets training, conditioning and dedication standards higher than any footballer I've seen.

But if we're going to be a very good team in the coming years he has to go. His decision making is getting slower, and his ability to use the ball quickly will continue to stifle our transition as we develop into a better team.

We let go of Scott West due to physical reasons, as well as knowing that he wasn't going to take us forward in terms of output versus the structure we wanted to put in place. I see Cross being in a similar position sooner rather than later.

He'd get absolutely smashed as a back pocket against the better teams, and if we're serious as a club in terms of development he's not going to have a role within our midfield as it develops. If we want to compete with the best clubs, we need to move on and develop others.

28-04-2013, 03:13 AM
Stringer made a lead on the wing, almost past the half way line. He got quite involved I thought.

He lead up at the ball, but left the chasing and tackling to others. Typical Higgins. But like I said, I reckon that must have been the instruction as he isn't normally like that. As a result he managed 80% TOG and wasn't a liability for the bench rotations, which is why we were able to make a run at them in the last.

28-04-2013, 03:16 AM
He lead up at the ball, but left the chasing and tackling to others. Typical Higgins. But like I said, I reckon that must have been the instruction as he isn't normally like that. As a result he managed 80% TOG and wasn't a liability for the bench rotations, which is why we were able to make a run at them in the last.

In some ways I actually wasn't happy with Stringer's output tonight across many levels, though his finishing was excellent.

Having said that, a 19 year old playing against a very good team can't be judged too harshly.

28-04-2013, 03:27 AM
But if we're going to be a very good team in the coming years he has to go. His decision making is getting slower, and his ability to use the ball quickly will continue to stifle our transition as we develop into a better team.

You don't win games of footy with 22 racehorses. There is a spot for him, but in a full strength side he's competing with Boyd, Smith, Libba, Wallis and Stevens for it.

I had him BOG tonight, I thought he was exceptional in getting to contests and making a spoil, or a smother, or laying a tackle, and getting the quick fire long range handball out away from the contest to get us moving forward. Most of our mids did a reasonable job at finding someone to handpass to when under pressure, but Crossy was the one to break the chain of hospital handballs.

28-04-2013, 03:53 AM
You don't win games of footy with 22 racehorses. There is a spot for him, but in a full strength side he's competing with Boyd, Smith, Libba, Wallis and Stevens for it.

I had him BOG tonight, I thought he was exceptional in getting to contests and making a spoil, or a smother, or laying a tackle, and getting the quick fire long range handball out away from the contest to get us moving forward. Most of our mids did a reasonable job at finding someone to handpass to when under pressure, but Crossy was the one to break the chain of hospital handballs.

Never said you do win games of football with 22 race horses. And there's going to be a spot for him in our side for the remainder of this year, and potentially next year if he continues to play on. But is the latter the best thing for the club?

I saw him do the same things you did, but I also saw him hang on to the ball instead of moving it quickly, I also saw him butcher an across ground kick that exposed us badly, as well as go for a spoil (or whatever it was) that ended up with Harry kicking a goal from the goal square, when all he had to do was hold up play.

All I'm saying is there's going to be a time when our list develops to a point where Cross playing or not playing is going to be inconsequential, and certain players based on merit in performance or otherwise are going to have to take his spot for the betterment of that development.

Developing a list is a bloody tough thing to do, and it's not easy to cut players out of the side and immediately see the results of that cut translate onto the field performance wise. For mine there just has to be a time when certain players are given a tap on the shoulder, and I think Cross for all his worth is going to be a player we have to do that to.

As you've noted we are lush in stock of inside midfielders. As we build a list or team around them, we need to give players that are more specialised from a positional perspective a chance to show their worth. Unfortunately that means guys like Cross, who have been absolute masters at the club have to miss out or be moved on.

28-04-2013, 04:16 AM
He's the heartbeat if the club, probably our James McDonald .
He's very selfless, so I'm sure he'd put the club and its development in the forefront of his mind.

28-04-2013, 04:19 AM
It would be horrible if the club has to make a call on Cross.
Personally think Gia and Cross will finish up at years end.

28-04-2013, 08:08 AM
Disappointed with the result but I was a lot more upbeat walking away from that game tonight. I thought we might of got done by a lot more but we really fought the match out right to the end. Geelong always had the wood on us in this match. I give us a chance next week against West Coast despite the match being played in Perth.

Eagles are a bit ordinary at the moment aren't they. Coughed up a 41 point lead to get rolled in a thriller. They're a shadow of themselves from last season.

28-04-2013, 08:11 AM
Keep Cross. Lose Gia. Maybe Higgins. Maybe even Williams.

Loved Jones being a threat up forward. Really great to have a guy who can take a grab. Almost pulled a big one in in the last qtr. would've capped things off nicely.

28-04-2013, 08:19 AM
I was pretty proud of the performance tonight. Hardly any of our senior brigade played and we just kept fighting it out until the end. A few times there it looked to be getting out of hand so it was great they didn't throw in the towel.

I was listening to a couple of people a few rows back well before the game saying how bad Jones was and that he should have been dropped instead of Cordy. Jones puts 2 on the board and then I heard another of our fans letting this woman know about it. :D

28-04-2013, 08:32 AM
Even without Gia and Higgins, Geelong still ran it out of defensive 50 too easily last night - Stringer not fit enough yet and Vesz likewise. On a side note, well done to Dahl whose defensive work improved 100% last night from previous weeks.

Cordy out of our forward line meant we had 2 marking targets who attacked the ball with intent and were able to clunk them more oftn than not. It meant quicker delivery into forward 50 because there was confidence in both Jones and Stringer, both of whom worked very hard to provide a viable target for our kids to spot up - so basically the opposite of what Cordy provided when he's playing up forward.

28-04-2013, 08:40 AM
Just watching the replay now.

Very impressed with JJ. Gave us plenty out of the defensive 50 and was composed under pressure. The loss of Harbrow doesn't hurt so much now.

Tom Young rarely gets beaten. Many supporters (justifiably) questioned this trade but it looks like a masterstroke. Has filled in Shaggy's role very nicely.

Stringer will be beasting defenders for a long time but he's not fit enough to provide repeat defensive efforts. Our forward line is still trampoline like - perhaps leaving Clay Smith down there for extended periods may help?

Jones was immense. Very happy for him. You can tell he and Stringer are close. It'll be fun watching them develop together over the next 10 years.

28-04-2013, 08:43 AM
Just on Vez, there was a play I think in either the second or third quarter were he dodged and weaved got into space which looked very good and was streaming forward when he had to stop and kick sideways. On TV you can't tell why but I would assume the forwards must have been up the ground and he didn't have any options.
I thought he looked very good and just wish he could produce more of this but with a better end result.

I would give him Gia's spot while he's injured to see him he can up his value.

28-04-2013, 08:50 AM
Just on Vez, there was a play I think in either the second or third quarter were he dodged and weaved got into space which looked very good and was streaming forward when he had to stop and kick sideways. On TV you can't tell why but I would assume the forwards must have been up the ground and he didn't have any options.
I thought he looked very good and just wish he could produce more of this but with a better end result.

I remember that one. There was a forward option there but was outnumbered. Vez made the right decision. Some supporters need to look up the ground as well. I get tired of hearing kick it forward or don't kick it backwards.

28-04-2013, 09:17 AM

Agreed, more patience needed on Vez - harsh to rule a line through him after one senior opportunity when he didnt play the full game. He would have desperate to play well and aware that his career is on a knifes edge.

On Jones, we have to keep in mind has played 2 of his best games for the club over the past 3, but in between many called for his head after a poor showing in Adelaide

Patience isn't always easy as a supporter

28-04-2013, 09:41 AM
Well, a strange feeling for me was had as I was walking out of the ground.

I was absolutely livid by the umpiring in the first half. I've only ever really attributed a game change to the umpires in a Bulldogs game once before in my life (2009 prelim), though tonight in the first half I thought we were thoroughly screwed over. It was an unmitigated disgrace.

Now that's off my chest......

We accounted for ourselves well tonight, and I'm proud to be a Bulldog on the back of it.

Ok now I was in the corner when it went out of bounds next to our goal in the first. The boundary umpire signaled out of bounds. Then the decision must have been quickly changed. Cats were allowed to run it out, but none of our boys had been within ear shot to hear the change of decision. It was BS.
CRAP

28-04-2013, 09:43 AM
Some points I noticed

- Return to form for Picken.
- Johannisen is developing nicely.
- Roughead made some errors but he is a better footballer.
- The mature guys we traded for or rookie listed in Lower, Young, Stevens and Goodes have given us a lot more depth.

Now for some questions
- Do we need more consistent efforts from Stevens?
- How did people rate Austins game?

28-04-2013, 09:46 AM
Ok now I was in the corner when it went out of bounds next to our goal in the first. The boundary umpire signaled out of bounds. Then the decision must have been quickly changed. Cats were allowed to run it out, but none of our boys had been within ear shot to hear the change of decision. It was BS.
CRAP

They raised the audio on the TV replay so you could hear the umpire and he said number 8 your kick, Geelong didn't have a number 8 playing. Yet the umpire let Geelong go about their business.

28-04-2013, 09:49 AM
You have the out on full decision that went the other way? You ave the Joel Selwood fresh air shot that was given a goal? But I bet all week we only hear about the Geelong goal that was deemed to hit the post.

28-04-2013, 09:50 AM
Now for some questions

I really like Stevens and think in due course he'll become a consistent performer for us but at the moment he's an "almost" player for mine. He does a lot of good things, but then a rushed disposal, or poor concentration or a bad decision often let him down once he's done the harder stuff.

At present I'm not sure what the best role for him is. Could he be suited to a role off half back?

28-04-2013, 09:51 AM
Some points I noticed

- Return to form for Picken.
- Johannisen is developing nicely.
- Roughead made some errors but he is a better footballer.
- The mature guys we traded for or rookie listed in Lower, Young, Stevens and Goodes have given us a lot more depth.

Now for some questions

Stevens has some talent but he does drift in and out of games, I think when everything gels with the team he will be an asset.

I thought I saw Austin filling Cordy's role in the first quarter and had a brief bit in the ruck. But then moved into defense, I think his game was serviceable and can hold his spot.

28-04-2013, 09:54 AM
Austin - Took him a good while to fire up. There was a contest in our forward square, 1st quarter and he started walk/ jogging after the ball had gone but 5 meters from him. Was livid. Reminds me of an oversized Grant in many ways.
The good things he did were at the other end of the ground and I couldn't see them very well.

Stevens had an average to poor game for him. I'd expect a bit more.

28-04-2013, 09:59 AM
I saw the second half and only bits of the first, so thankfully I can't comment too much on the umpiring (seems I would have pulled most of my hair out going by the comments in here).

From what I saw, there was a lot to like. Cooney at the end was magnificent.
Jones took some great marks, imposed himself and showed a bit of confidence in his ability to do so.
Clay Smith front and centre goal was great, would love to see him spend more time up forward where I think he can be very effective.
Tom Young was someone I was not at all confident in (based mainly around pre-season reports) but his start to the season has been first class. He's a 10 year player and he's going to be a pretty good one too.
Roughy going forward was nice to see. I like him as a key defender, but why can't he play a few roles as match ups require? His mark was great, very strong at the ball. Still think his best spot will be on the gorilla forwards of the game, but when a Hawkins or Tippett is out, why not throw him forward.

One thing that stood out to me was just our composure with our finishing. Dahlhaus had one opportunity from close to 50 out to nail a goal but just lacked composure. Jones was the same when he was running into goal and hurriedly snapped off the left when he probably had time to take a few more steps to compose himself. I don't mind these errors from younger players to the extent they will(should) improve with time but it's the sort of thing that will hold us back from becoming a more competitive side this year. We're not good enough yet that we can afford to not make the most of it when gettable opportunities present.

Overall it was a better result than I expected and quite a few positives to take out of it. Losing sucks, but if we're to lose by 21 points to a Geelong side that is now 5-0 whilst we've got a number of our better/experienced players out, I'll take it.

28-04-2013, 10:05 AM
One thing that stood out to me was just our composure with our finishing.

Macrae had a gift. Love the side step, but wobbled it through for a point. Tutt missed one from so close I could have sconned him with my scarf.
Pick a bloke in the stands and pass it to him!!

Overall it was a better result than I expected and quite a few positives to take out of it. Losing sucks, but if we're to lose by 21 points to a Geelong side that is now 5-0 whilst we've got a number of our better/experienced players out, I'll take it.

Geelong were cruising a bit for parts of the game. Like a seasoned pugilist fighting an underdog, they got it done, but were average - dropped their left hand for large parts of the game. Their supporters were none too impressed.

What pleased me most is on siren, their blokes were as stuffed as ours. Workrate was excellent from our boys. Chris Scott described our footy as boring. As long as he's getting bored, it's fine with me.

28-04-2013, 10:11 AM
What pleased me most is on siren, their blokes were as stuffed as ours. Workrate was excellent from our boys.

Agreed, good point. They had a couple of shots of the Geelong bench on the telecast, I put a lot of it down to the fact they'd had less rotations all night due to injury, but their players were physically exhausted and we made them work hard. They might not have been at their dominant best, but it's not as if they jogged off the ground and went to the gym to sneak in an extra session afterwards to make up for an easy game as some of their supporters will claim.

28-04-2013, 10:57 AM

I thought he played well while he was in defence but was surprised to see him in the forward line. He gave us no value there. He must have played 50/50 in both

28-04-2013, 10:59 AM
You have the out on full decision that went the other way? You ave the Joel Selwood fresh air shot that was given a goal? But I bet all week we only hear about the Geelong goal that was deemed to hit the post.

I thought Joel Selwood got tiny something on it. Good decision for mine. Jason Venkat is a pretty good goal umpire.

28-04-2013, 11:33 AM
I don't like all the talk saying Geelong were only playing at 80%. We made them work hard in the 2nd half due to our pressure and attacking style of play.

Geelong to lose next week. Every team we play has lost the week after(I'm 80% sure)

28-04-2013, 11:36 AM
I don't like all the talk saying Geelong were only playing at 80%. We made them work hard in the 2nd half due to our pressure and attacking style of play.

Neither do I. They were buggered when the siren went which showed how hard we made them work.

28-04-2013, 12:27 PM
Neither do I. They were buggered when the siren went which showed how hard we made them work.

Lots of players were cramping up last night and with Geelong having a man down on the interchange their rotations were limited and very telling on them.

The last quarter was really tough football for both sides and Geelong had to through everything at us to stop our persistent attacking, it was great to see.

In fact, other than our lapse at the end of the second quarter (where they kicked a few and skipped away from us) we really matched them the whole game and won the second half.

28-04-2013, 12:30 PM
Lots of players were cramping up last night and with Geelong having a man down on the interchange their rotations were limited and very telling on them.

The last quarter was really tough football for both sides and Geelong had to through everything at us to stop our persistent attacking, it was great to see.

In fact, other than our lapse at the end of the second quarter (where they kicked a few and skipped away from us) we really matched them the whole game and won the second half.

At one point Harry Taylor took a mark at full back in the last and stopped to strech out a cramp. The umpire blew time on. As far as I'm concerned a cramp is not an injury. He should have been either made to kick to the same timeframe as any other player or the ball given to another player to take the kick.

Thoughts?

28-04-2013, 12:37 PM
At one point Harry Taylor took a mark at full back in the last and stopped to strech out a cramp. The umpire blew time on. As far as I'm concerned a cramp is not an injury. He should have been either made to kick to the same timeframe as any other player or the ball given to another player to take the kick.

Thoughts?

Yes agree on that. The umpiring was very strange last night, the amount of incorrect disposal was woeful. We don't want this game turning into Rugby, correct disposal is paramount in our game. I thought a swing with a foot and miss is incorrect disposal but apparently not.

28-04-2013, 12:38 PM
One of the goals of the night:

PdnFGH4tNho

28-04-2013, 12:39 PM

Geelong to lose next week. Every team we play has lost the week after(I'm 80% sure)

Richmond are a chance to beat the Geelong at the MCG next week as they I would imagine still be feeling gutted after that 1 point loss to Freo and would want to get a win after 2 defeats in a row.

28-04-2013, 02:16 PM
They raised the audio on the TV replay so you could hear the umpire and he said number 8 your kick, Geelong didn't have a number 8 playing. Yet the umpire let Geelong go about their business.

They just showed that despite their huff and puff, they don't really control the game. Shocking.

28-04-2013, 02:32 PM
Some points I noticed

Now for some questions

Stevens definitely adds depth to our list and puts pressure on other contenders like Howard, Pearce & Grant to play better to earn a game. One thing I like about him is that he is not just a ground level player and has a bit of height & weight to contest in the air. He could be an option at HB or BP as well as a midfielder. I don't think there is any need at this stage to regret the trade of pick 41 for him (compare the value to picks 5 & 15 for two of the others mentioned above).

I liked Austin's game when he went down back allowing Roughead to go forward/ruck. I was actually very impressed with this move and it has caused me to question the merit of continuing playing Roughead at fullback. I think maybe we should try and get by with honest plodders like Austin or Marcovic as key defenders and keep Roughead as forward pocket/2nd ruck. Also, we have to start playing Talia as a FB or CHB sooner or later. That will increase the opportunities to play Roughead in the forward/2nd ruck role.

28-04-2013, 03:36 PM
Will Boyd get reported for punching Sooky Selwood in the guts?

watch here (http://www.afl.com.au/video/2013-04-27/selwood-boyd-tangle-off-the-ball)

28-04-2013, 03:38 PM

watch here (http://www.afl.com.au/video/2013-04-27/selwood-boyd-tangle-off-the-ball)

Not referring to this incident, but for such a brave player he certainly likes to whinge and complain.

He always seems to act like he is hard done by...

28-04-2013, 03:56 PM

Wouldn't be surprised if he gets a week. Worth a Logie for Selwood though.

28-04-2013, 04:08 PM
One of the goals of the night:

That was pretty good.

Only heard the radio call.

How was Smith? Would you prefer him to Addison in the side?

When Roughead went forward, were Jones and Stringer still up there?

Obviously Jones clunked marks, but did he look more a instinctual forward?

28-04-2013, 04:14 PM
That was pretty good.

I thought Smith was able to finish off some hard work well, and show that he can be a clever and creative player as he develops. Needs to stay involved in the game for longer periods, though this will come with maturity I think.

All of Jones, Roughead and Stringer were forward together at different times but it didn't seem to be an issue.

Jones looked like a competent forward, and attacked the contest very well.

28-04-2013, 04:17 PM
Not sure I agree with those who say that Cordy out of the side gave us a better forward structure.

I agree that thats the most dangerous our forwardline has worked since round 1, but I doubt Cordy out was the cause. We still played the majority of the match with a third tall up forward in either Austin or Roughead, and really they each about as dangerous as Cordy would have been anyway. Ithink the better forwardline was due to Jones lifting and Stringer helping, not the omission of Cordy.

28-04-2013, 04:29 PM
Stevens definitely adds depth to our list and puts pressure on other contenders like Howard, Pearce & Grant to play better to earn a game. One thing I like about him is that he is not just a ground level player and has a bit of height & weight to contest in the air. He could be an option at HB or BP as well as a midfielder. I don't think there is any need at this stage to regret the trade of pick 41 for him (compare the value to picks 5 & 15 for two of the others mentioned above).

I liked Austin's game when he went down back allowing Roughead to go forward/ruck. I was actually very impressed with this move and it has caused me to question the merit of continuing playing Roughead at fullback. I think maybe we should try and get by with honest plodders like Austin or Marcovic as key defenders and keep Roughead as forward pocket/2nd ruck. Also, we have to start playing Talia as a FB or CHB sooner or later. That will increase the opportunities to play Roughead in the forward/2nd ruck role.

This is what I'd do.

Roughy is the perfect second ruck/forward pocket. I think we would be very dangerous with a Jones/Stringer/Roughy combo. For mine although he's done well he's too slow off the mark for a defender -- just isn't his natural position. As you said we should develop Talia as our FB and plug the holes with Austin and co.

28-04-2013, 04:54 PM
This is what I'd do.

Roughy is the perfect second ruck/forward pocket. I think we would be very dangerous with a Jones/Stringer/Roughy combo. For mine although he's done well he's too slow off the mark for a defender -- just isn't his natural position. As you said we should develop Talia as our FB and plug the holes with Austin and co.

Not sure about this. Ideally we'd have two of him. Roughead has been very impressive down back, and if Hawkins had been playing I'd still have wanted him on him. Still, his versatility is very useful for us as well.

28-04-2013, 04:59 PM
I thought Smith was able to finish off some hard work well, and show that he can be a clever and creative player as he develops. Needs to stay involved in the game for longer periods, though this will come with maturity I think.

All of Jones, Roughead and Stringer were forward together at different times but it didn't seem to be an issue.

Jones looked like a competent forward, and attacked the contest very well.

Thanks. I like the idea of Jones, Roughead and Stringer as a permanent trio up forward.

28-04-2013, 06:27 PM
I thought Joel Selwood got tiny something on it. Good decision for mine. Jason Venkat is a pretty good goal umpire.

No one can argue with you as you can't tell, even with the slow motion replay. Yet the goal umpire called it with only full motion hindsight.
It was probably a goal, however my point is out of the three shady ones (out on the full decision, Selwood tip, and Geelong poster) the goal deemed hitting the post will be the only one talked about.

28-04-2013, 07:47 PM
No one can argue with you as you can't tell, even with the slow motion replay. Yet the goal umpire called it with only full motion hindsight.
It was probably a goal, however my point is out of the three shady ones (out on the full decision, Selwood tip, and Geelong poster) the goal deemed hitting the post will be the only one talked about.

You are right. Turned on to one of the sunday footy shows this morning and it was the key talking point that came out of our game along with Goodes' bump and Boyd hit on Selwood.

How did those things overshadow one of the bizzarest umpiring errors (and non-corrections) of all time when Mackie kicked it out on the full? Seems like perhaps the boundary umpire and field umpire were waiting for each other to correct it.

28-04-2013, 08:48 PM
Richmond are a chance to beat the Geelong at the MCG next week as they I would imagine still be feeling gutted after that 1 point loss to Freo and would want to get a win after 2 defeats in a row.
No team has won the week after playing the Bulldogs in 2013.
Geelong are doomed I tells ya!

28-04-2013, 09:02 PM

We should be on top of the ladder for that stat.

28-04-2013, 09:10 PM

IIRC of our prelim final opponents since 85 only Adelaide has won the next week.

28-04-2013, 09:24 PM
Thanks. I like the idea of Jones, Roughead and Stringer as a permanent trio up forward.

And who is going to play on the momster forwards for other teams
Franklin
Cloke
Tippett
Hawkins
Clarke and others
We have found a great talent in Roughead at full back.. Crazy to suggest we move him and weaken the backline

28-04-2013, 09:31 PM
Franklin
Cloke
Tippett
Hawkins
Clarke and others
We have found a great talent in Roughead at full back.. Crazy to suggest we move him and weaken the backline

Lake would have still been handy but the reality is - his gone and we have to go on without him. Where did Roughy play mainly back at his local club before we recruited.

28-04-2013, 09:39 PM

In 12 months time I think that Cordy would be more effective with Stringer and Jones working next to him.

28-04-2013, 09:39 PM
Franklin
Cloke
Tippett
Hawkins
Clarke and others

Agree with this, why move a potential quality full back which are rare as hens teeth, so that we potentially have a second ruck and sometime forward (which Cordy may still be). Its nice that he can be moved around when he doesn't have a match up but he should still be a full back first and foremost

28-04-2013, 09:46 PM
Agree with this, why move a potential quality full back which are rare as hens teeth, so that we potentially have a second ruck and sometime forward (which Cordy may still be). Its nice that he can be moved around when he doesn't have a match up but he should still be a full back first and foremost
I agree with this. Give Cordy a few games playing as the 2nd ruck/FP with Stringer in the side, and see how he goes.

Roughy can be a younger and less experienced version of H Taylor for us, going down forward when there isn't a match up. But primarily, he needs to be our FB.

28-04-2013, 10:06 PM

Bring in Talia. I mean, come on. We will need him, and the experience will be good for him. Imagine the headaches of a Taylor, Pod, Hawkins. Franklin, Roughead and whoever else. Going to need another tall defender.

28-04-2013, 11:45 PM

Isn't the real issue, :eek:what the hell was Picken doing trying to kick it off the ground.

29-04-2013, 12:00 AM
Isn't the real issue, :eek:what the hell was Picken doing trying to kick it off the ground.

Real issue, as Bmac pointed out, how did it get in the square in the first place.
No entries, no need to sweat the small stuff.

29-04-2013, 08:33 AM
Franklin
Cloke
Tippett
Hawkins
Clarke and others

Absolutely spot on Hughy, and great to see you getting good support here from other posters.

We should always go in with a second ruckman, and he should not be expected to fill a key position.
For mine given our current list Cordy is pretty clearly our best option as No2 ruck, but should play as FP, not as a FF. We need some one to play the role of a lead out marking [ and goal kicking] full forward. Hopefully we can add someone in either the trade period or the draft.
I am not sure I can see an option on our list right now, though just to chuck in one from left field, what might happen if we threw Micka Talia in there for a quick try?

Stringer might be our best option for a while, but once he gets fitter and builds his tank,I think he will be more effective with more of a license to roam further and wider.

29-04-2013, 01:06 PM
Lake would have still been handy but the reality is - his gone and we have to go on without him. Where did Roughy play mainly back at his local club before we recruited.

A trainer told me at training a few weeks ago that Roughy played most of his junior footy at fullback. He was turned into a ruckman after one of his junior coaches decided that he was too tall not to be playing in the ruck.

29-04-2013, 10:01 PM
Bring in Talia. I mean, come on. We will need him, and the experience will be good for him. Imagine the headaches of a Taylor, Pod, Hawkins. Franklin, Roughead and whoever else. Going to need another tall defender.

You will have to wait a bit longer, Talia is out for 4-6 with a fractured jaw.

29-04-2013, 10:06 PM
You will have to wait a bit longer, Talia is out for 4-6 with a fractured jaw.

Heard him in the social club talking about it. Didn't realise till breakfast the next day that something was wrong :)

29-04-2013, 10:08 PM
Heard him in the social club talking about it. Didn't realise till breakfast the next day that something was wrong :)

Wonder what he couldn't eat?!

29-04-2013, 10:18 PM
Wonder what he couldn't eat?!

Hard bit of toast? Hahaha

30-04-2013, 12:05 AM
That was pretty good.

He looked like a young Carey at times, hunted the high ball, got into good positions and hungered for the contest, very impressive. The Medallion Club was calling him 'Showtime' whenever it went near him, is that his nickname? I don't think the way he played on Saturday night is sustainable, he'll need to learn how to lead properly if he wants to kick goals and be a real target, jumping over full backs only works on mediocre full backs and Lonergan is just that.

30-04-2013, 01:09 AM
He looked like a young Carey at times, hunted the high ball, got into good positions and hungered for the contest, very impressive. The Medallion Club was calling him 'Showtime' whenever it went near him, is that his nickname? I don't think the way he played on Saturday night is sustainable, he'll need to learn how to lead properly if he wants to kick goals and be a real target, jumping over full backs only works on mediocre full backs and Lonergan is just that.

Thanks for that, and you've answered a key part of my question in bold

30-04-2013, 01:36 AM

Thanks for that, and you've answered a key part of my question in bold

I think he needs to try and do both. I couldn't think of anything worse than pulling his thirst for taking a high mark out of his game, as long as doing that doesn't stop him from playing to percentages.

With fitness gained over a couple more preseasons he'll become a more rounded footballer, and with learning coupled with that he'll have the mental capacity to maintain a balanced game.

What I saw from him on Saturday night, I was very pleased with his work rate and the way he attacked the high ball.

30-04-2013, 09:03 AM
I think he needs to try and do both. I couldn't think of anything worse than pulling his thirst for taking a high mark out of his game, as long as doing that doesn't stop him from playing to percentages.

With fitness gained over a couple more preseasons he'll become a more rounded footballer, and with learning coupled with that he'll have the mental capacity to maintain a balanced game.

What I saw from him on Saturday night, I was very pleased with his work rate and the way he attacked the high ball.
He took a few grabs on the lead.

His game had a bit of everything. High marks, marks on leads, ok kicking, defensive pressure.

30-04-2013, 11:22 AM
He took a few grabs on the lead.

Yep there was the daisy cutter he took almost perpendicular to the ground when he lost Lonergan on the lead in the second quarter.