First Goal - Stringer

24-05-2013, 12:03 PM
Dogs by 6

BOG; Macrae

First Goal Stringer

24-05-2013, 01:42 PM
Dogs by 10 (we have to beat them eventually), other than the two early season wins in 2008 under their new coach the last time we beat St Kilda was under Rohde :eek:

BOG- Griffen
First goal- Stringer

24-05-2013, 04:14 PM
I soo hope we beat these guys!

BOG - Griffen and Stringer to split the honours (as usual)

First Goal - Murphy

24-05-2013, 06:15 PM
Saints by 58

BOG Libba

First Goal Stringer

24-05-2013, 07:02 PM
Saints by 34.

24-05-2013, 07:25 PM
Aints by 22
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Stringer

24-05-2013, 07:58 PM
Dogs by 13
BOG Griffen
First Goal Stringer

24-05-2013, 11:46 PM
Them by 30 PTs
( Cooney out really hurts)
BOG Griffen
1st Goal Gia

25-05-2013, 08:22 AM
Hooray....just checked and the game is live here on ESPN.....half 7 in the morning :)

We will win by 5 points (liam Jones kicks a goal after the siren)
Williams kicks he fist goal of the game, but in doing so gets mud in his eye which contains the Ebola virus and he has to be subbed out because of the blood rule
Cross is best on ground, because even thought he's not playing he still rocks up and does laps around the boundary.....

25-05-2013, 08:28 AM
Saints by 45 points,
Mino BOB
Stringer 1st Goal

25-05-2013, 11:11 AM
Saints by 62
BOG Murphy for the dogs.
1st goal Gia

25-05-2013, 11:19 AM
We will win today. Going to put the house on it.

25-05-2013, 02:16 PM
Saints by a few goals, but I think we'll put up a good fight and continue to improve.
Bog Luke
Stringer, first 6 points

25-05-2013, 02:23 PM
Dogs by 35
BOG: Griff
First goal: Dahl

25-05-2013, 02:32 PM
Saints by at least five goals.

Rooey to slaughter us as usual.

Our best Griff, Gia the first of four goals.

25-05-2013, 02:38 PM
Dogs by 7
BOG Griff
First Goal Hrovat

25-05-2013, 04:07 PM
Gia is Sub

25-05-2013, 04:27 PM
Williams kicks he fist goal of the game, but in doing so gets mud in his eye which contains the Ebola virus and he has to be subbed out because of the blood rule
Cross is best on ground, because even thought he's not playing he still rocks up and does laps around the boundary.....

Lol :D

I think the boys will surprise us today

25-05-2013, 04:28 PM
Armitage a late withdrawal. Replaced by Clint Jones. Subs: J. Webster (St K) and D. Giansiracusa (WB)

25-05-2013, 04:56 PM
Fantastic news that Macca is finally getting tough on the old brigade. Cross to seconds, Gia the sub ...... just need Captain Turnover to be brought to attention.

25-05-2013, 05:44 PM
He shoots - he misses

25-05-2013, 05:51 PM
Fantastic news that Macca is finally getting tough on the old brigade. Cross to seconds, Gia the sub ...... just need Captain Turnover to be brought to attention.

Steady on. Everyone has weaknesses in their game.

25-05-2013, 05:53 PM
Good work Dylan. Who needs Barry hall?

25-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Hrovat! Great work little man. Moved it well. Clay smith another. Great reward for locking it in to our 50.

25-05-2013, 06:01 PM
Gee the Saints seem to be going hard at Macrae. I'm enjoying the energy that Williams is providing to the forward line. Hrovat a nice first AFL goal.

25-05-2013, 06:07 PM
Addison has fired up this forward line

25-05-2013, 06:07 PM
How good is Addison going?

25-05-2013, 06:12 PM
Williams and Addison have transformed the way our forward line functions.

25-05-2013, 06:13 PM
Love the Work of Smith, and let Ray know who is tougher :D

25-05-2013, 06:14 PM
How good is Addison going?

He missed an easy goal should have had three.

25-05-2013, 06:16 PM
Didn't go today, as I'm off overseas tomorrow. Perhaps I should stay away more often.

25-05-2013, 06:34 PM
Our decision making coming out of defensive 50 is so far off the mark it's scary.

Hard to see us stopping the momentum now which is pretty disappointing based on our start.

25-05-2013, 06:41 PM
Milney tried to tag team with Montagna and not for the first time it went pear shaped.

25-05-2013, 06:41 PM
i can't watch - the tv is on but i can't watch it - i can't stand the saints

25-05-2013, 06:43 PM
Stevens isn't the most polished player but he hits the ball hard.

25-05-2013, 06:44 PM
i can't watch - the tv is on but i can't watch it - i can't stand the saints

its ok I cant stand the way we kick it directly to them.

I know its stating the bleeding obvious but if we had a decent half back flanker we would be a massively different team.

Any chance we can clone a 23yr old Lindsay Gilbee?

25-05-2013, 06:45 PM
Riewoldt with a Brian Lake free kick. The umpires will never learn.

Milney tried to tag team with Montagna and not for the first time it went pear shaped.

Hahahahahahah. Nice.

"He's the only player in the game who gets that free kick"

Diver goes down again, as said by commentators, he's the only one in the comp who gets that kick. Pathetic - both player and umpire.

shades of the PF, Riewoldt falls over and gets a free kick. At least the commentators said he is the only one in the league who gets those free kicsk

25-05-2013, 06:46 PM
Stevens is putting everything into it. Great to see.

25-05-2013, 06:51 PM
Just following online, but I guess the positive after being beaten that quarter is we're only 10 points down.

25-05-2013, 06:52 PM
Love Clay Smith's endeavour. I just don't want him to get the ball.

Geez we got a rough go that quarter from the umpires but our
ball use was Russian roulette stuff.

25-05-2013, 06:52 PM

too funny, quote of the week

25-05-2013, 06:53 PM
Loose play from Stringer, Jones AWOL, and we're overpossessing it again

25-05-2013, 06:56 PM

Very good. How long have you been waiting for just that passage of play?

Stevens is putting everything into it. Great to see.

If you're not going to mark it, spoil it, and make the guy in front think twice about standing there next time.

25-05-2013, 06:59 PM
Loving Stringer's attack but his touch has abandoned him today. Disappointing games from Jones and Murphy today. We need them to lift. Like the look of Hrovat....very composed and great foot skills.

25-05-2013, 07:01 PM
Love Clay Smith's endeavour. I just don't want him to get the ball.

Geez we got a rough go that quarter from the umpires but our
ball use was Russian roulette stuff.

There was probably three pack holding the ball decisions against us in a row, and fair enough, but we couldn't buy one in that second quarter?

Some of the in the back rulings are a little inconsistent.

Our decision making was rubbish that quarter, and some of our kicking was primary school bad. Liberatore seems to be a worse kick now, than what he was when he started with us.

25-05-2013, 07:08 PM
We didn't deal with the saints pressure very well at all in that second quarter. Hopefully they can come out after half time with a level head get their disposal right.

Hrovat looks the most composed out there.

25-05-2013, 07:11 PM
Goodies forward, Williams down back

25-05-2013, 07:13 PM
Clint jones... What a pest
We need to sub jones. Now, bring on Giant.

25-05-2013, 07:16 PM
I am about to punch my TV because of these f#&$en umpires

25-05-2013, 07:17 PM
These umpires are embarrassing. It's all about them appearing to be in control.

25-05-2013, 07:18 PM
Morris saves a goal. Great contest.
not bothered about this if we lose. Competing well.

25-05-2013, 07:18 PM
Milne still has the most punchable face in football.

25-05-2013, 07:20 PM
Jones hasn't touched the ball, and Stringer gets subbed???

25-05-2013, 07:21 PM
Is macca for real. Stringer subbed and Jones is the one with only 1 possession

25-05-2013, 07:24 PM
Nah I like it. Give Liam the opportunity to stand up and impact with his fitness.
Morris wearing Roo.

25-05-2013, 07:27 PM
How good was that spoil by Morris on Riewoldt a few minutes back?

25-05-2013, 07:27 PM
Jones hasn't touched the ball, and Stringer gets subbed???

He looked like he'd blown right up to me.

Jones hasn't been near it, but I guess he's at least more conditioned.

On another note, it's early days but our top 3 picks from last year look like wins.

25-05-2013, 07:29 PM
The deer in the headlights act we're playing at and this umpiring is just too much. Feel like punching myself in the trousers.

25-05-2013, 07:34 PM
Griffen has had an outstanding game with a heavy tag

25-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Yeah we make mistakes but we are working bloody hard.

25-05-2013, 07:35 PM
The punching has worked. 3 in a row.

Punch punch punch.

25-05-2013, 07:36 PM
The punching has worked. 3 in a row.

Punch punch punch.

Have a free hit ;)

25-05-2013, 07:36 PM
Clay smith is Daniel cross mk II

25-05-2013, 07:39 PM
It would be great to get last quarter goals from both Jones and Williams.

25-05-2013, 07:42 PM
He looked like he'd blown right up to me.

Jones hasn't been near it, but I guess he's at least more conditioned.

On another note, it's early days but our top 3 picks from last year look like wins.

Fair enough.

25-05-2013, 07:43 PM
It would be great to get last quarter goals from both Jones and Williams.

Now is jones time, step up, kick 3 this quarter and win a bloody game of footy!!!

Come on boys these washed up old hacks at aint Kilda are one stop short of an old folks home.

25-05-2013, 07:43 PM
Really feel we need to win this one, as a reward for the passion and effort tonight. Would be demoralising to go down.

25-05-2013, 07:46 PM
Really feel we need to win this one, as a reward for the passion and effort tonight. Would be demoralising to go down.

I feel violated, I think Bruce Mcavaney just posted his thoughts through me.

25-05-2013, 07:47 PM
2 points down at ¾time. I struggle to see us winning this is but I am praying hard.

25-05-2013, 07:50 PM
I'd put Liam Jones on the diver so he can learn work rate.

25-05-2013, 07:51 PM
That free for diving into a players leg is absurd. Picken does what every kid is taught to do, and gets penalised a goal. Fair dinkum, the idiots who make the rules spoil the contest.

25-05-2013, 07:52 PM
First 2 goals to the Saints. Have we forgotten how to win?

25-05-2013, 07:52 PM
I'd put Liam Jones on the diver so he can learn work rate.

He'd have to learn by distance ed.

25-05-2013, 07:55 PM
Gia having a big impact.

25-05-2013, 07:55 PM
Back to 2 pts

25-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Probably lose it, but have played well. Poor turn over from Minnow.

25-05-2013, 08:02 PM
Wow! Go dogs!!!!

25-05-2013, 08:07 PM
Jooneessy! Done bugger all until now, great goal.

25-05-2013, 08:07 PM
Wow! Go dogs!!!!

C'mon GD, keep the faith ;)

25-05-2013, 08:08 PM
Focus...........dont panic.....

25-05-2013, 08:09 PM
Gia has been massive!

need i say more - DFA

Jones! GVG you got your wish. Loving this

25-05-2013, 08:13 PM
Gosh, I can hardly contain myself - GO DOGGIES!

25-05-2013, 08:13 PM
Dig in lads

25-05-2013, 08:14 PM
Sending some man love DFA's way.

25-05-2013, 08:19 PM
........yfb

25-05-2013, 08:20 PM
How great was that?

Yessssssss!

Just woahhhhhhhhhhhh. Thank you dogs. You made my day! Soooooooooooooo happy.

No passengers tonight. Bloody fantastic boys.

25-05-2013, 08:22 PM
So happy! Go Dogs!

25-05-2013, 08:22 PM
Credit to Macca, he said a win was close.

25-05-2013, 08:23 PM
Credit to Macca, he said a win was close.

I think he meant a close win ;)

25-05-2013, 08:24 PM
A great team effort that. The old guys stepped up when they needed too, and everyone gave their all.
Well done guys!!!!

Am so proud of the boys right now. Just reward for effort.

I think I might cry!! Go doggies.
We won and riewoldt gets knocked out by Picken. It doesn't get much better than this

25-05-2013, 08:25 PM
Gotta love how Picken tried to claim that mark when he knocked diver out

25-05-2013, 08:25 PM
I think he meant a close win ;)

yeah ... so close ... to a heart attack ... for me in the last quarter ...

25-05-2013, 08:26 PM
That was great - Stevens was massive. Hrovat great on debut. DFA solid in front of goal.

Great fun to watch. Thank-you fellas

25-05-2013, 08:27 PM
Thought we'd run out of steam after the 3rd quarter. Great to have a win.

25-05-2013, 08:27 PM
I thought it was all over when Mince turned it over and it cost us a goal.

25-05-2013, 08:29 PM
Tear in the eye watching the song with the future of the club in the circle - go Doggies

25-05-2013, 08:29 PM
Top 3 picks in the middle of the song - great moment

25-05-2013, 08:32 PM
Top 3 picks in the middle of the song - great moment

Total moment of the future right there, im 100% sure that one day we will look back at that footage and smile.

25-05-2013, 08:32 PM
Great fighting effort. Like others, wasn't sure we could hang on. Strange feeling, haven't had a win like hat for a long while.

25-05-2013, 08:33 PM
I think I might cry!! Go doggies.
We won and riewoldt gets knocked out by Picken. It doesn't get much better than this

This

25-05-2013, 08:35 PM
Gotta love how Picken tried to claim that mark when he knocked diver out

The highlight of the match:D

25-05-2013, 08:36 PM
Total moment of the future right there, im 100% sure that one day we will look back at that footage and smile.

Yep - might try and find a photo of that on line and frame it

25-05-2013, 08:36 PM
I will declare it now we will beat Port next week.

25-05-2013, 08:37 PM
I will declare it now we will beat Port next week.

Good one BAD.

25-05-2013, 08:37 PM
Great to see the leaders step up!

25-05-2013, 08:40 PM
That was awesome

25-05-2013, 08:43 PM
Stevens was spectacular, a young man of indigenous heritage and really lifted to the occasion.

25-05-2013, 08:45 PM
But we're still sacking the coach, right?

25-05-2013, 09:09 PM
A massive , massive win for this club. First win in Five years over an old and bitter foe. And the lads did it now, while the Saints still feature those who have broken our hearts in the past. Tip Rat, Clint Jones, and Nick Reiwoldt were able to feel the dust of our young blokes in their faces, while the brilliance of Griffen, Gia, Boydy and Murph hammered vengeful blows. Our seniors got a chance to savor a bit of the future, even if they won't be around for the final summit, when it comes.
It was poetry, it was magic, and even at the 4Qtr count down I was expecting the Aints to pull 3 X 50m pentalties out of their arses to rob us.

But the song was sung and we finally triumphed over those dasterdly, scummy Saints.

25-05-2013, 09:20 PM
Just come back from a local restaurant, before I left I saw the downfield free to Riewoldt in the second. I agree with David Kings assessment, "he's the only player in the competition who gets paid those free kicks".

25-05-2013, 09:42 PM
But we're still sacking the coach, right?

Nah, that was last week.

25-05-2013, 10:10 PM
We will win today. Going to put the house on it.

Thank your mother for the rabbits. Such a great feeling to get a win, especially against that pissant club. What a foul collective of people they are.

Carn the Scray.

Stevens and Murph throwing a bit of mayo around on the 50m arc before slotting the goals of the night, that stuff makes being at the game very satisfying.

25-05-2013, 10:22 PM
Dragged the kids kicking and moaning to the game tonight, 'what's the point, you know we're going to lose...'

By the last five minutes they were on their seats screaming and waving their scarves, Bulldogs through and through. That felt mighty fine.

Thanks for that, boys. Had almost forgotten how good it feels to get a win and ESPECIALLY against the stinking rotten Saints!

25-05-2013, 11:18 PM
Thank your mother for the rabbits.

I think the boys will surprise us today

Claiming it :D

25-05-2013, 11:59 PM
A massive , massive win for this club. First win in Five years over an old and bitter foe. And the lads did it now, while the Saints still feature those who have broken our hearts in the past. Tip Rat, Clint Jones, and Nick Reiwoldt were able to feel the dust of our young blokes in their faces, while the brilliance of Griffen, Gia, Boydy and Murph hammered vengeful blows. Our seniors got a chance to savor a bit of the future, even if they won't be around for the final summit, when it comes.
It was poetry, it was magic, and even at the 4Qtr count down I was expecting the Aints to pull 3 X 50m pentalties out of their arses to rob us.

But the song was sung and we finally triumphed over those dasterdly, scummy Saints.

Beautifully said. I might have got a bit of dust in my eye.

26-05-2013, 12:31 AM
Thought it was ordinary that St Kilda didn't remain out on the field for the presentation post game.

26-05-2013, 12:32 AM
Thought it was ordinary that St Kilda didn't remain out on the field for the presentation post game.

Why? I didn't want them out there? :D
Nah good call SonofScray. Typifies them.

26-05-2013, 12:39 AM
How good was Murphy to seal the game with this:

6CR85eIh2TQ

26-05-2013, 12:41 AM

TOkpAYPMRgc

26-05-2013, 01:28 AM
Great win from the boys tonight. We wanted it much more than the Saints. I think we can win again next week against Port who are really declining now.

26-05-2013, 11:15 AM
Had a look at the replay this morning.

Impressed by the way we answered the challenge.
Giansiracusa certainly accepted his role as a sub. Did a fair bit when he came on.
Stevens probably had his best game of football in his career.
Griffen performed very well and managed the hard tag.
Minson was terrific even allowing for a clanger or two. 46 hit outs was impressive as was his stamina.
Clay Smith provides a lot.
Jones had a howler but we have to stick with him.
Williams was good and adds a bit to the side.
Boyd was strong throughout the game.
Picken got back into a bit of form.
Young was probably down on previous weeks but was steady.
Roughead was average but took his chance up forward.
Morris was sensational, some spoils, blocks and tackles probably fly under the radar.
Johannisen is now a vital player for us. His run, carry and skills are just what we need.
Liberatore was strong all game. Very impressed young Libba.
Hrovat had a very nice debut. He is not out of place in the seniors and will get better.
Macrae was excellent all day and his skills and decision making stood out. Tackles well.
Lower didn't have a great game but laid 8 tackles and was a solid performer.
Murphy was classy and damaging.
Dahlhaus is just off the pace at the moment. Perhaps a hair cut might be in order :)
Stinger looks like he needs a break but he is a quality youngster.
Addison lacks some class and poise but was a solid performer on the night and 4 goals was a great return.
Goodes was patchy on the night but got a bit of the ball.

26-05-2013, 11:29 AM
Jones had a howler but we have to stick with him.

I was talking about Jones going into the last quarter. I think he had one kick. My comment was as long as he delivers when he gets a possession that is all that matters. There would have been tons of pressure when he kicked that goal and that was a great sign that he went back and slotted it IMO.

26-05-2013, 11:31 AM
Thanks for the report GVGjr, great read.

26-05-2013, 12:00 PM
I was talking about Jones going into the last quarter. I think he had one kick. My comment was as long as he delivers when he gets a possession that is all that matters. There would have been tons of pressure when he kicked that goal and that was a great sign that he went back and slotted it IMO.

He was important in the 1st with a few contests created in the air where it was 3 v 1, and on the deck with some hard chasing. So, while he did not get a kick, when you play deep like that sometimes that will happen, the measure has to be is he still working? I thought he did.

When the chances opened up, he took them. Still a dirty day, but not a sign of his ability or a reflection on his form, IMO.

26-05-2013, 12:44 PM
Lower didn't have a great game but laid 8 tackles and was a solid performer.

I actually thought lower was pretty good. He kept Dal Santo down to 18 touches and importantly wasn't damaging as he has been to us in the past.

26-05-2013, 12:45 PM

I agree with Dermie though, he does need to work harder and not get lazy. I wouldn't drop him, he has to stay in the team and keep at it.

26-05-2013, 01:01 PM
He was important in the 1st with a few contests created in the air where it was 3 v 1, and on the deck with some hard chasing. So, while he did not get a kick, when you play deep like that sometimes that will happen, the measure has to be is he still working? I thought he did.

When the chances opened up, he took them. Still a dirty day, but not a sign of his ability or a reflection on his form, IMO.

We need a stat on the number of marking contests he attended, your point is valid but I still don't think he did that enough. We kicked more goals and had more inside 50's, but I would suggest Riewoldt attended more than double the marking contests Jones did.

Jones is getting quite good at crashing packs and bringing the ball to ground when outnumbered, but he needs to do it more often.

26-05-2013, 01:10 PM
The thing that pleased me most about Jones' performance was that despite not having a pronounced impact for 3 and a half quarters, when his moment arrived he took the critical grab and then nailed the goal. I would've thought the pressure of not impacting the game to that point might've seen him either spill the mark or fluff the goal. The fact he delivered on both should do his confidence no end of good.
Typifies the old cliche that 'it might not be your day but it can be your moment.

26-05-2013, 01:32 PM

His 2 knock ons to Gia in the last were worth as much as any possession.

26-05-2013, 01:38 PM
The thing that pleased me most about Jones' performance was that despite not having a pronounced impact for 3 and a half quarters, when his moment arrived he took the critical grab and then nailed the goal. I would've thought the pressure of not impacting the game to that point might've seen him either spill the mark or fluff the goal. The fact he delivered on both should do his confidence no end of good.
Typifies the old cliche that 'it might not be your day but it can be your moment.

As the old saying goes, the tall players don't get any shorter as the game goes on.

Not quite the right use of it, but you get the meaning. We left him out there when we could have subbed him out, and a rather difficult contested mark was taken by our big forward.

26-05-2013, 01:58 PM
As the old saying goes, the tall players don't get any shorter as the game goes on.

Not quite the right use of it, but you get the meaning. We left him out there when we could have subbed him out, and a rather difficult contested mark was taken by our big forward.

It was a good call by the coaching team to sub Stringer instead of Jones. The mark and goal plus a few taps really contributed to us finishing over the top of St Kilda.

26-05-2013, 07:44 PM
Dogs by 9 points
BOG: Griffen
First Goal: Gia

Got the tip and margin exactly right :)

26-05-2013, 08:10 PM
Watching the replay now. Taking notes as I go:

Hrovat seems a very smart footballer. Runs to the right spots.
Smith's goal sense is uncanny. Doesn't know the words 'backward step' either.
Addison is a wrecking ball at full speed. Just rams through anything and everything in his path.
If we could iron out our turnovers we could become a very dangerous team to play against. I'd be interested to see the overall stats for goals from stoppages for the league.
Jones - not a lot of the ball but competes when he doesn't have it.
Does anyone know how much Minno can bench press? Just a mountain of a man.
Griff sucked the umpire in something fierce with that 50:)

Internet connection playing up. Might have to watch the second half later...

26-05-2013, 08:11 PM

Good work Eastdog!!

26-05-2013, 08:45 PM

Shame about the other two;)

26-05-2013, 08:48 PM
Shame about the other two;)

Reckon though I would have gone close with Griffen for BOG.