First goal- Dahlhaus

31-05-2013, 11:51 PM
Dogs by 34

BOG Griffen

First Goal: Jones

01-06-2013, 01:20 AM
Port by 8 PTs ( Boyd and Cooney out hurts)
BOG Griffen
1st Goal Gia

01-06-2013, 10:42 AM
Port by 8 PTs ( Boyd and Cooney out hurts)
BOG Griffen
1st Goal Gia

Don't forget it's in Darwin, will probably be an ugly game with 36 blokes trying to catch a cake of soap.

If that is the case expect Libba and Wallis to rack up disposals at stoppages.

I'll Dogs by 23
Libba to turn his form around and get best on ground.
1st goal probably Gia.

01-06-2013, 10:44 AM
Port 19 points

BOG Minson

1st Goal Griff

01-06-2013, 11:43 AM
Dogs by 21pts

BOG to Libba

First Goal Stringer

01-06-2013, 12:04 PM
Don't forget it's in Darwin, will probably be an ugly game with 36 blokes trying to catch a cake of soap.

If that is the case expect Libba and Wallis to rack up disposals at stoppages.

I'll Dogs by 23
Libba to turn his form around and get best on ground.
1st goal probably Gia.

LOL laughed at this. Does wearing gloves help at all?
Dogs by a few kicks
BOG Dahlhaus
First goal String bean.

01-06-2013, 12:14 PM
Dogs by 17 points
BOG Minson
First Goal Stringer

01-06-2013, 12:15 PM
Dogs by 23
BOG Minson
1st Goal: DFA

01-06-2013, 07:34 PM

Not long now :)

Dogs by 16
BOG - Murphy - is he captain tonight?
First Goal - Jones

01-06-2013, 08:26 PM
Dogs by14 points
BOG Griffen
1st goal Griffen

01-06-2013, 08:28 PM
Port by 7 points
BOG Griff
First goal Libba

01-06-2013, 08:33 PM
Dogs by 36
BOG Hrovat
FG Stringer

01-06-2013, 08:44 PM

Not long now :)

Dogs by 16
BOG - Murphy - is he captain tonight?
First Goal - Jones

Called it and got (1st goal). Hope the rest pans out!

01-06-2013, 09:03 PM
Gee we turn it over. And over. And over.

01-06-2013, 09:05 PM
Gee we turn it over. And over. And over.

It hurts that's for sure. Griffen has been very good as you would expect.

01-06-2013, 09:10 PM
Going to be a tough night. We haven't played too many great games up there.

We are already missing Boyd

its early but its not looking promising so far

Haven't adapted to the conditions yet. If previous games are anything to go by, not sure we will.

01-06-2013, 09:11 PM
Dahl needs to pull his finger out, he has been so disappointing this season an it continues tonight.

01-06-2013, 09:13 PM
One thing is we have a good record against Port.

01-06-2013, 09:21 PM
Goodes is having a howler

01-06-2013, 09:23 PM
Goodes is having a howler

So are the umpires, incorrect disposal is now part of the game.

Mr brittle goes off the ground

01-06-2013, 09:24 PM
Does not look good for Williams with his shoulder. He just hasn't had any luck.

poor Williams cant take a trick. But he is made of glass

Williams is made of tissue paper. Gotta feel for him but is there any point paying a guy if he can't play more than a week or two before breaking down.

01-06-2013, 09:26 PM
Time to cull Williams from the list. Can't carry such an injury prone player.

01-06-2013, 09:28 PM
Addison not offering much.

01-06-2013, 09:31 PM
Williams is trying to farm crops in the desert with that body. Unfortunately it isn't going to work.

01-06-2013, 09:33 PM
Griffen carrying us right now

01-06-2013, 09:33 PM
Good play Gia great finish Griff.

01-06-2013, 09:34 PM
Griffen is an absolute star.

01-06-2013, 09:37 PM
once again we just look a step behind all the time

how do we go from playing so well last week to this stuff again a week later

01-06-2013, 09:38 PM
Time to cull Williams from the list. Can't carry such an injury prone player.

Yes, get rid of him, it's not like he's people

01-06-2013, 09:39 PM
once again we just look a step behind all the time

how do we go from playing so well last week to this stuff again a week later

I'm asking that question as well because Port aren't that great.

01-06-2013, 09:42 PM
Our inside 50 count has not been great compared to Port and its lucky we are not down by more.

01-06-2013, 09:45 PM

We don't pay him to be a person, we pay him to be a footballer. :D

01-06-2013, 09:46 PM
Minson gets an important goal and we keep in touch coming up to HT.

01-06-2013, 09:47 PM
little bit of mongrel good to see.

we hung in there well to end the quarter.

but a big turnaround required if we are to win

01-06-2013, 09:48 PM
I hate Darwin games when we're playing well.

When we're playing bad it's akin to the football version of water boarding.

01-06-2013, 09:50 PM
Thankfully we go into half time in range.

Need a much smarter second half. Our disposal by hand and foot has been shocking, many aren't working hard enough to create the next option.

01-06-2013, 09:53 PM
Anyone going to Williamstown next week to watch Goodes have a run???

A terrible game to watch. The Darwin conditions usually make for an error laden match with the ball seeming like its coated with grease. Couple that with our poor skills and it makes it so frustrating to watch.
And what is with our ball movement out of defense? Or our addiction to chains of 10 cm handballs to a stationary target?

Goodes is reminding me of Djerrkura

There are a few players that have hardly touched the ball, Addison 4 touches , Stringer 2, Picken 4 and Stevens 6with Dahlia only 5.

Stupid handballs are killing us.

01-06-2013, 09:58 PM

If you can't stay on the park, I don't see what you're offering the club. 70 odd games in 10 years is just crap, bad luck for him but what is he offering?

01-06-2013, 09:59 PM
Stringer 0 marks, 0 kicks, 2 handballs. Needs a bigger half. At least he'll get the whole half with the sub already gone.

01-06-2013, 09:59 PM
A terrible game to watch. The Darwin conditions usually make for an error laden match with the ball seeming like its coated with grease. Couple that with our poor skills and it makes it so frustrating to watch.
And what is with our ball movement out of defense? Or our addiction to chains of 10 cm handballs to a stationary target?

Sometimes the best way is to just small it down the line with a kick, especially when it's slippery. Over possessing doesn't help us much in good conditions it won't help us tonight.

Scoreboard flatters us right now but we have a chance and need to capitalise quickly in the 3rd.

01-06-2013, 10:03 PM
Listening to the game ( sounds painful)
Is it Port v Ryan Griffen?

01-06-2013, 10:03 PM
As Much as We Love Tommy and what he could offer us up Forward he is too injury prone now
and we really have to look at the end of the year if we can afford to carry such a injury prone player.considering we already carry another injury prone player in Higgins.

01-06-2013, 10:04 PM
If you can't stay on the park, I don't see what you're offering the club. 70 odd games in 10 years is just crap, bad luck for him but what is he offering?

The stat the other day said it all: Tom Williams and Griffen was drafted in the same draft, Tom has played 70 games Griff 170.

01-06-2013, 10:07 PM

Basically. But Libba has been very good also. He's always where the ball lands at a stoppage no matter which ruckmen wins the tap.

01-06-2013, 10:07 PM

Pretty much. To be fair to Port, Griffen also has Will Minson rucking in the stoppages.

01-06-2013, 10:09 PM

I get your point but by the time we get rid of 5-6 players already in the gun/ready for retirement, do we really need to get rid of him at this point? He's fit as often as Cordy and offers us twice the output when he's on the field.

01-06-2013, 10:20 PM
Anchor: Gia missing two goals in the 3rd.

01-06-2013, 10:21 PM
We are hanging in and still a chance if we can get some momentum.
It's not pretty but I'd love to get the 6 points.

01-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Nice goal to Giansiracusa

01-06-2013, 10:28 PM
What a great sub Gia is:D

01-06-2013, 10:29 PM
Momentum really with us now. Need to have a strong last qtr.

01-06-2013, 10:32 PM
Things have switched back our way but with Williams off and Stevens struggling the last 10 minutes of the 4th quarter might be a struggle for us. Need a good buffer

01-06-2013, 10:35 PM
Is it the camera or has Jason Johannisen really put on some size and muscle since round one?

01-06-2013, 10:36 PM
Seriously. J Macrae. 21 possies in three quarters. Huge future.

01-06-2013, 10:37 PM
What a quarter.

01-06-2013, 10:38 PM
Amazing effort from Stevens just staying out there.

01-06-2013, 10:39 PM
Now need to have a strong final quarter.

01-06-2013, 10:41 PM
Is it the camera or has Jason Johannisen really put on some size and muscle since round one?

Had the same thought. And will get bigger by the looks.

Amazing effort from Stevens just staying out there.

I'll say, it's critical for us for him to stay on as long as he can. Going down to 2 on the IC bench could see another change of momentum.

We need the first goal of the 4th quarter.

Excellent response that quarter. Fantastic effort to wrest control of the game after being completely outplayed in the first half. Special mention goes to the heart Stevens has shown. He's completely lame with a quad , but has not stopped going hard and competing.

Stringer really struggling

01-06-2013, 10:42 PM
Stringer really struggling

I wanted him to have a spell this week.

We are going to limp around in the last quarter.

01-06-2013, 10:43 PM
Griffen a stand out tonight no argument that quarter by Libba though was outstanding. I've felt he's been down for a few weeks but this is the Libba who became my love child.

01-06-2013, 10:53 PM
I'm calling it. I don't think either team has the tank to trouble the scoreboard from here. 1 - 2 goals from here maybe? Not enough for Port.

01-06-2013, 10:54 PM
Gia has been good tonight and Goodes hasn't gotten into the game.

01-06-2013, 10:59 PM
Gia has been good tonight and Goodes hasn't gotten into the game.

Gia I agree
Goodes?...been one of our best!

01-06-2013, 11:01 PM
What a great sub Gia is:D

Outstanding tonight!

01-06-2013, 11:04 PM
Are we gonna win this?!

01-06-2013, 11:06 PM
Are we gonna win this?!

Does the pope sh@t in the woods?

01-06-2013, 11:14 PM
hooo raaay

Woof!! - 2 in a row!!!
The break has come at the wrong time.
Though think we may need to recover after this one

We can't be stopped!!!!

01-06-2013, 11:15 PM
You bloody ripper!!!!

01-06-2013, 11:17 PM
Bloody great win

01-06-2013, 11:19 PM
Sooons off the WEST!

01-06-2013, 11:22 PM
That was awesome.

01-06-2013, 11:24 PM
Was packing it a bit when Monfries was shooting for goal with two minutes to go. Phew.

01-06-2013, 11:25 PM
Effectively two players down for most of the night, and as expected we tired towards the end but still held on. Great effort.
I guess we will see in two weeks whether we've made measurable improvement, when we take on the Filth.
Two wins in a row feels good right now, considering only two weeks ago we looked as far away from getting a win as you can get.

01-06-2013, 11:25 PM
Ryan griffen...*!*!*!*!yeah

01-06-2013, 11:26 PM
Awful game but interesting contest. The momentum switch got us over the line.

01-06-2013, 11:28 PM
Very satisfied going into the break. Go Dogs!

01-06-2013, 11:30 PM
"Momentum switch"? Do you mean Gia coming on?

01-06-2013, 11:37 PM
Was packing it a bit when Monfries was shooting for goal with two minutes to go. Phew.

If he got that I think we may have lost, they had the momentum. After that we bottled the game up and the minutes just ticked away.

01-06-2013, 11:38 PM
"Momentum switch"? Do you mean Gia coming on?

The run of goals against the tide. We should have been 4 goals down but hang in there until it opened up for us. Giansiracusa was terrific again though and gave us a spark.

01-06-2013, 11:43 PM
The run of goals against the tide. We should have been 4 goals down but hang in there until it opened up for us. Giansiracusa was terrific again though and gave us a spark.

It mirrors closely Macca's repeated statement about the guys needing to ensure that when the game isn't going there way, to hang in. He said good teams may only allow one or two goals against them in these times, whereas we had been letting teams score heavily in these periods.
In the past two weeks we've been able to not allow teams to get match winning leads in small down periods, and then have been able to capitalise when the conditions change in our favour.
Smalls steps but good to see some actual tangible evidence of the team improving as a group.

01-06-2013, 11:53 PM
Pretty much what macca has said will happen has happened.

01-06-2013, 11:57 PM
Pretty much what macca has said will happen has happened.

Lets wait till we play a good team.

02-06-2013, 12:00 AM

We are very unlikely to beat a good team.

Lets enjoy beating an equally average team:)

02-06-2013, 12:04 AM
I actually love Griff.

What a horrible game to watch! Was so relieved when the siren went. Gia was great. Also thank god for Minson and Libba.

How did people think Dahlhaus went tonight?

02-06-2013, 12:07 AM
I actually love Griff.

What a horrible game to watch! Was so relieved when the siren went. Gia was great. Also thank god for Minson and Libba.

How did people think Dahlhaus went tonight?

Nothing wrong with his work rate but he has really struggled to influence matches this year. Opposition putting in a lot more work on him. Not even close to being dropped but he isn't having the same impact.

02-06-2013, 12:09 AM
In our best 22 by miles. One of the leaders in the comp for pressure acts. Can't kick goals every week. Not fussed.
Is Gia the best wet weather player in our team? He was great tonight. Gutted for Tommy Williams, but he wasn't the right man to be up there tonight.

Hey I said 10 wins at the start of the year! May just get there!

02-06-2013, 12:12 AM
In our best 22 by miles. Leading the comp for pressure acts. Can't kick goals every week. Not fussed.
Is Gia the best wet weather player in our team? He was great tonight. Gutted for Tommy Williams, but he wasn't the right man to be up there tonight.

Gia haters must be squirming. Smartest player on our list.

02-06-2013, 12:16 AM
Interesting stats on the most hit outs in a game.

63 - Gary Dempsey 1982 v Haw
61 - Sam Jacobs 2012 v Port
58 - Gary Dempsey 1982 v Fitz
57 - Will Minson 2013 v Port

02-06-2013, 12:23 AM

Every team we have beaten has been above us on the ladder. :D (apart from Brisbane of course)

02-06-2013, 12:27 AM
I'm super happy with the fight we saw tonight.

Early on I had a line through Goodes name but he really turned it around, and unfortunately I'm probably finding it a bit tough not to do that with Williams now - especially if he has surgery.

Griffen, Minson, Giansiracusa, Liberatore and a few others were just fantastic.

I still get very frustrated with our inability to zone off and anticipate the next possession which catches us out continually, and some of our handball is madness ATM. However, when you keep fighting and execute when you have opportunities you can hang in there.

Bring on the Filth.

02-06-2013, 12:39 AM
The Fight. It is a side of the game I really enjoy and something you hang onto outside of Grand Final glory. I can see the value the group places on it growing and a real respect for it, it is a real joy after close to three seasons of very little fight at all.

Up to half time I was frustrated with our work, simply over doing things for those conditions. At half time I was relieved that through a host of reasons we were still in the thick of it. The little push and shove at the siren was terrific.

Then we put on a real masterclass in doggedness with excellent value from a fading star in Gia and some of the most manful efforts in RW&B I can recall from Stevens and Wilbur. I'm a content fan tonight.

02-06-2013, 12:46 AM
some of the most manful efforts in RW&B I can recall from Stevens and Wilbur.

Great call. How Stevens persisted in obvious discomfort and continued to make a contest was a real testament to how tough this kid is and how much he will be prepared to do for our club.

Minson was another who played monster minutes and whilst Port tried their best to run him ragged, they couldn't. His ability to clear the congestion from the hitout late was very important as Port looked to try and take the ascendency from the centre clearance.

02-06-2013, 12:55 AM
Thought our first half was really avg but 3rd was very mature response.. like above has said Koby's effort incredible!! Minson looking All Aus at the half way mark. Liked Dal in the midfield more tonight just added zip away. Libba phenomenal and a really underrated kick. Thought Dale Morris was outstanding, just a star 1 on 1. One of the better games I've seen JJ play. Clay's attack through the contest is scary, he will really hurt someone one day, (that port bloke in the first i can't re call did well to get up). Every time Jake Stringer touches it, something happens. Ryan Griffen you were on another planet tonight, that much better!!

02-06-2013, 01:07 AM
Was Crossy's dropping a wake up call to the other senior players? They have been excellent since

02-06-2013, 02:11 AM
Was Crossy's dropping a wake up call to the other senior players? They have been excellent since

I reckon it was, Murph & Gia mentioned it last Sunday & you could tell they knew the changing of the guard was on and they needed to fight for their spots. Credit to them though, they really seem to have bought into the whole lead the way for the kids aspect.

Through the week Picken made mention of this as well, as did Talia when referring to the guidance he has received from Morris, and Murph in his weekly article.

02-06-2013, 02:20 AM
Gee it's good to come home on a Saturday night for a win.

Thoughts on how our youngest players went please?

02-06-2013, 02:23 AM

We've still got a long way to go.
Signs are positive

02-06-2013, 03:58 AM
I just want to congratulate the club and the boys for their effort tonight, it was one of the best
wins as a club in a long time. To go up there light on for Senior Runners in Boyd, Cooney and Cross and lose Williams and Stevens early and fight out a win was nothing short of Brilliant.

There was nothing flashy or highly skilled about it, just a dead set scrap where every inch was a battle. We had played C grade footy in the first half and were out on our feet at half time and I do admit I'd just about gave up.

To come out after half time and see the kids lift and fight and some of the more seasoned blokes hold strong. Then completely turn the game and fight out a win was a joy to watch.

Riding every bump with the boys for a win like that just reminded me of why I love the club so much. We are not the most skilled or the quickest team going around but we are Bulldogs and that's just fine with me!

02-06-2013, 08:32 AM

Not so sure. Giansiracusa looks totally relaxed and has embraced his role as the sub.

02-06-2013, 08:59 AM
Not so sure. Giansiracusa looks totally relaxed and has embraced his role as the sub.

Maccas press conference when asked if Gia was always going to be sub replied that, "not always but he will be a bit, you can't play forever."

I think it will be Gia last year and will play some part in our VFL side.

02-06-2013, 02:43 PM
Just watching the replay and am up to Clay Smiths hit on Heath, the guy smacks into people like Aaron Hamill used to. Bulk him up and he's going to have a fair old hit reel by the time his careers out

02-06-2013, 03:03 PM
Just watching the replay and am up to Clay Smiths hit on Heath, the guy smacks into people like Aaron Hamill used to. Bulk him up and he's going to have a fair old hit reel by the time his careers out

He's a ferocious animal. I'd hate to play against him.

02-06-2013, 05:28 PM
He seems to be thick enough. Surely they wont bulk him up anymore?

02-06-2013, 06:07 PM
He seems to be thick enough. Surely they wont bulk him up anymore?

I think just naturally he will end up bigger and harder, he isn't 20 till September. Has a frame that will pick up weight pretty naturally....and I am partially having dreams about our own Byron Pickett :p

02-06-2013, 06:09 PM
I think just naturally he will end up bigger and harder, he isn't 20 till September. Has a frame that will pick up weight pretty naturally

He can't afford to build up at the expense of his pace. I'm sure he will refine his build over the years but his aerobic capacity needs the most work at the moment.

02-06-2013, 06:12 PM

Does the value of Cross in the VFL outweigh his worth in the seniors? If the future are our kids, can't think of anyone better to mentor them. Perhaps they had a chat to him and said, look mate, this is where you will really have an impact in the future and leave a legacy.
To be honest, I thought he hadn't been playing too badly in the firsts.

02-06-2013, 06:23 PM
Does the value of Cross in the VFL outweigh his worth in the seniors? If the future are our kids, can't think of anyone better to mentor them. Perhaps they had a chat to him and said, look mate, this is where you will really have an impact in the future and leave a legacy.
To be honest, I thought he hadn't been playing too badly in the firsts.

Terrific question. Personally I think if he is on the senior list then he needs to be in the mix to be selected. Perhaps next year he would be invaluable in the VFL. All players can see the way he continues to set the standard of his training attitude and preparation to play anyway.

We shouldn't have a line through his name at the selection table.

02-06-2013, 06:50 PM

I saw him at a function and he is bulkier than you think. His muscles on his arms are something to look at.

02-06-2013, 08:24 PM
Anyone else think there's a correlation between Boyd being out and Libba's output ramping up again?

02-06-2013, 08:26 PM
Anyone else think there's a correlation between Boyd being out and Libba's output ramping up again?

Interesting observation, not sure I know the answer.

02-06-2013, 09:05 PM
He can't afford to build up at the expense of his pace. I'm sure he will refine his build over the years but his aerobic capacity needs the most work at the moment.

Yeah. I'm with you on this one. If he wants to add more muscle he'll have to drop fat, which is hard to do. Even 3-5kg of weight can really effect your run times. He seems to have a solid frame as is and it can't be easy to carry around a footy field. If you look at someone like Judd in the last few years he almost has the body of a middle distance runner, rather than the traditional muscle frame that the AFL lads use to build.

02-06-2013, 09:12 PM
Interesting observation, not sure I know the answer.

Just looking at his stats and his disposal average for the year is 25.25 without Boyd and drops to an average of 21 with Boyd in the side, his clearances also fall from 9.5 in games without Boyd to 6.5 in games with. It doesn't really correlate with a change in game time, he only really drops about 3% of game time when Boyd is in the middle. Clearances is probably the big stat, a 33% fall is significant in my book, does everyone just shuffle to slightly more outside when Boyd comes in?

03-06-2013, 09:26 AM
Just looking at his stats and his disposal average for the year is 25.25 without Boyd and drops to an average of 21 with Boyd in the side, his clearances also fall from 9.5 in games without Boyd to 6.5 in games with. It doesn't really correlate with a change in game time, he only really drops about 3% of game time when Boyd is in the middle. Clearances is probably the big stat, a 33% fall is significant in my book, does everyone just shuffle to slightly more outside when Boyd comes in?
What's his efficiency rate?

Not a lot of data to go on though.

03-06-2013, 01:38 PM
We are hanging in and still a chance if we can get some momentum.
It's not pretty but I'd love to get the 6 points.

I think you might have been a bit distracted at this stage mate!

03-06-2013, 02:11 PM
Tom Liberatore is the youngest player (21yo) to have at least 35 disp, 20 cont poss & 12 clearances in a game since Simon Black in R4, 2000.

03-06-2013, 02:46 PM
Tom Liberatore is the youngest player (21yo) to have at least 35 disp, 20 cont poss & 12 clearances in a game since Simon Black in R4, 2000.

I read that one earlier somewhere, can't remember where though? Nice little stat comparison.

03-06-2013, 04:53 PM

I read that one earlier somewhere, can't remember where though? Nice little stat comparison.

Twitter - Fox footy Analyst, Retweeted by Mark Stevens.

03-06-2013, 04:55 PM

I thought the same thing. Libba had been labouring in previous matches but really lifted against Port as did Wallis who was a good inclusion. Liberatore's confidence would have lifted alongside an outstanding game by Griffen and the 57 hitouts ruck dominance by Minson.