View Full Version : Round 11 - Other Matches

06-06-2013, 10:41 PM
Round 11 Fixture

Friday, June 7 Venue AEST Local TV (Vic)

Essendon v Carlton MCG 7.50pm 7.50pm SEVEN

Saturday, June 8 Venue AEST Local TV (Vic)

GWS Giants v Geelong Skoda Stadium 1.40pm 1.40pm FOX

Adelaide v Sydney AAMI Stadium 4.40pm 4.10pm FOX

Gold Coast v North Melbourne Metricon Stadium 7.40pm 7.40pm SEVEN

Sunday, June 9 Venue AEST Local TV (Vic)

St Kilda v West Coast Etihad Stadium 4.40pm 4.40pm FOX

Monday, June 10 Venue AEST Local TV (Vic)

Melbourne v Collingwood MCG 3.15pm 3.15pm SEVEN

Byes: Brisbane, Fremantle, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, Richmond, Western Bulldogs

06-06-2013, 10:47 PM
C'mon Suns.

07-06-2013, 09:25 AM
Essendon V Carlton will be the match of the round. Tipped Carlton by 8 points.

07-06-2013, 09:43 AM
C'mon Suns.

God I hope they can roll them in the last quarter.

07-06-2013, 10:17 AM
God I hope they can roll them in the last quarter.

by one point :D

07-06-2013, 08:57 PM
How does everyone see tonight's match going?

07-06-2013, 11:20 PM
Essendon come back after being down by 5 goals at one stage to get up by 5 points. I would of preferred the draw :D

07-06-2013, 11:46 PM
Observations
Lucas miss crucial
Awful awful loss
Carlton should have been 8 goals up on the balance of play.
Jake Carlisle is a star
Eddie Betts not getting near it was crucial( murders them)

07-06-2013, 11:51 PM
One more observation
Please remove this farcical goal revue law.
The technology is insufficient
The least free kicks in a game since 05.
Good to see

08-06-2013, 12:29 AM
Took 5 minutes to review a point/out of bounds decision but didn't look at the Garlett goal. Blues fans would be spewing....and I love it.

08-06-2013, 01:13 AM
What about Yarrans weak effort. He wanted it over the top, but Hendrrson kicked it in front.
He wanted no body contact, then gawked at Henderson.
Wouldn't have been missed in the coaches box that effort.

08-06-2013, 06:46 PM
Watching one mighty performance from Sydney in the first half.
Everitt playing his best game if footy.
The pressure and work rate of the Swans is first class
Hannebery on target for 50 possessions

08-06-2013, 10:20 PM
C'mon Suns.
I will say it again. Go suns :)

08-06-2013, 10:35 PM
Watching one mighty performance from Sydney in the first half.
Everitt playing his best game if footy.
The pressure and work rate of the Swans is first class
Hannebery on target for 50 possessions

Everyone already knows how I feel about the fruit loops but just in case... I sure loved watching Sydney smash the cows at home today, Adelaide media will be bearable this week, it'll be hard to blame the umpires for this one. Even Rucciuto seemed to enjoy it....

08-06-2013, 10:40 PM
Abbbbbbbblllllllleeeeeeeeeettttttttt

08-06-2013, 11:00 PM
Norfolk just got done by the umpires :)

Think it was McInerney just for something different.

08-06-2013, 11:03 PM
I am probably behind the times but how good does Tom Lynch for GCS look?

Why on earth did north let GCS have a lose man in defence for most of the night?

08-06-2013, 11:07 PM
by one point :D
15 points just feels as good BAD.

31 points up and stop again. Poor Norf. :) :) :)

08-06-2013, 11:09 PM
We should run a sweep for what Brad Scott's excuse will be this week.

I'm going for- There was no roof on the stadium so we had to play in the wet.

08-06-2013, 11:11 PM
Man that was a disciplined, composed effort by the Suns. Scary how they basically just handled North. They're almost a lock for top 8 next year.

08-06-2013, 11:12 PM
We should run a sweep for what Brad Scott's excuse will be this week.

I'm going for- There was no roof on the stadium so we had to play in the wet.

He got a bath tonight. His team didn't react at all once the Suns adjusted at quarter time.

08-06-2013, 11:15 PM
Man that was a disciplined, composed effort by the Suns. Scary how they basically just handled North. They're almost a lock for top 8 next year.
Only one game out of the top eight tonight. They will give the Brisbane three peat a hake I think. Really scary considering we should be improving while the suns will be dominating.

08-06-2013, 11:20 PM
All that fluffy rubbish before the game.
Why wouldn't you tag Ablett? Harbrow loose of half back!
All froth and no bubble Norf.
Frightening the suns, and with no Bennell, Matera or Smith.

08-06-2013, 11:22 PM
All that fluffy rubbish before the game.
Why wouldn't you tag Ablett? Harbrow loose of half back!
All froth and no bubble Norf.
Frightening the suns, and with no Bennell, Matera or Smith.
And Bock and Dixon to return as KPPs. Bligh me.

08-06-2013, 11:36 PM
When we lost to GC there was a lot of noise to get rid of the coach however, upon reflection they are a better side than most gave them credit for.

08-06-2013, 11:38 PM
When we lost to GC there was a lot of noise to get rid of the coach however, upon reflection they are a better side than most gave them credit for.

Yes, there was a slight overreaction I thought.
They've gone past a few now.

08-06-2013, 11:50 PM
Yes, there was a slight overreaction I thought.
They've gone past a few now.

GC have a number of quality youngsters but how they are performing now is what McCartney talked about with our list. It takes a bit of time but once you have a core of youngsters getting to 50 games plus they start to belong in the AFL and start to play like it.

30 more games in to the likes of Smith, Johannisen, Stringer, Macrae and Hrovat and 20 more in to Roughead, Young, Wallis, Liberatore and Stevens will give us a stronger edge

09-06-2013, 07:20 AM
Why on earth did north let GCS have a lose man in defence for most of the night?

Because that's not.ATTACKING and you never win the inside 50 count that way

09-06-2013, 10:49 AM
Ward, Harbrow and Everitt all play great games, that sucks.

09-06-2013, 11:55 AM

The first two suck more than the last one.

But chef, reality is who would you prefer Ward or MaCrae?

09-06-2013, 12:04 PM

Ward in a heart beat.

09-06-2013, 02:03 PM
Too eary to tell yet.

09-06-2013, 02:16 PM
Ward in a heart beat.
Absolutely Ward

09-06-2013, 02:18 PM
Ward in a heart beat.

Absolutely Ward

Agree, would love to still have Ward.

Here is hoping MaCrae turns out to be a 200 game player also.

09-06-2013, 02:25 PM
Absolutely Ward

You'd have Ward now definitely.
But let's please give Macrae some time .

09-06-2013, 02:26 PM

Lets see Everitt play consistently first.

09-06-2013, 02:29 PM
You'd have Ward now definitely.
But let's please give Macrae some time .
No slight against Jack. It's like Judd or Ablett. Jack will be very good I think, but Ward is an out and out superstar.

09-06-2013, 02:41 PM
Better to ask that question in 5 years

09-06-2013, 02:48 PM
Better to ask that question in 5 years

Agree, it's stupidity to even draw any sort of idea after 5 games!
Don't start any of us on the pittance compensation we received :mad:

09-06-2013, 02:57 PM
Was great seeing North lose, have a wee little soft spot for the Suns [prefer them over the Lions] and a great ground with a very relaxed atmosphere to watch footy, the bands before, during and after the game, the jumping castles, all the bells & whistles, and North suck. :)

09-06-2013, 02:59 PM
Maybe Norths coach is next to cOme under scrutiny by the media

09-06-2013, 03:13 PM
Should be, but hasn't Scott got years on his contract?

09-06-2013, 03:23 PM

And he and the Pres seem pretty matey

09-06-2013, 04:23 PM

He is contracted until the end of 2016. Unbelievable!

09-06-2013, 05:16 PM
How good is Sydney's midfield?

Hannerbery, Mitchell and Parker are babies and Jack and Kennedy are just hitting their physical peaks. McVeigh is also a pretty handy guy to have slotting in.

Plenty more Premiership tilts ahead of them.

09-06-2013, 05:18 PM
How good is Sydney's midfield?

Hannerbery, Mitchell and Parker are babies and Jack and Kennedy are just hitting their physical peaks. McVeigh is also a pretty handy guy to have slotting in.

Plenty more Premiership tilts ahead of them.

The run hard to both ends of the ground and really make an influence.
WE need midfielders prepared to push back into defense as much as they want to run forward.

09-06-2013, 06:14 PM

All that fluff pre- game in the rooms b/s shouldn't stop the media putting Norf under the hammer.

09-06-2013, 06:33 PM
C'mon Eagles, I want to see Scotty Watters cry again :)

09-06-2013, 07:49 PM

At the moment you'd take Ward but I think when all's said and done Macrae will end up the better player. I really don't see superstar written all over Ward, will always be a rung below the games best in a similar way to Matty Boyd, very good player, great leader, but nowhere near as good as Ablett, Griffen, Kennedy, or Pendles hell on stats he's nowhere near an injured Boyd.

I was watching him pretty closely yesterday (because I'm a freaking masochist) and he still does stuff that used to frustrate the hell out of me when he played for us, fumbled rushed handballs and kicks to nobody. I'm not sure he'll ever grow out of these habits, but maybe being in a different jumper has made me view him with a harsh eye.

09-06-2013, 08:10 PM
Good that's almost as good as a dogs win. West Cokers!

09-06-2013, 08:21 PM
Good that's almost as good as a dogs win. West Cokers!

Bad in tipping terms as I tipped the Saints. I have only have got 2 tips so far. As Dogs fans its always good to see the Saints lose.

09-06-2013, 08:23 PM
Bad in tipping terms as I tipped the Saints. I have only have got 2 tips so far. As Dogs fans its always good to see the Saints lose.
Yep. We were only one Scott brother short of Rooey tearing up. His bottom lip was going.

09-06-2013, 08:35 PM
Gee not sure where The Eagles are at.
Got out of jail and are a million miles away from it.
Their leaders stood up in the last term and you'd have to say where were Stkildas?
Watters again before the game says after grooming Stanley to play back, they're now grooming him to play forward!

09-06-2013, 08:36 PM
Yep. We were only one Scott brother short of Rooey tearing up. His bottom lip was going.

I think the Saints havent liked us ever since the Gia-Kosi incident.

10-06-2013, 01:14 AM
Interesting to see Hill go up the batting order and Struggle this week.
Not quite as easy without Kennedy and Le Cras.

10-06-2013, 12:13 PM
Good weekend of results thus far with the Roos and Saints losing and the Crows being belted. :)

Now we only need Melbourne to pull one out of the hat and knock off the Pies today to round it off. (Highly unlikely I know)

10-06-2013, 05:19 PM
Typical garbage Queens Birthday clash. Absolute fizzer on the cards already.

10-06-2013, 05:21 PM

They should have different teams play each year for this QB's clash.

10-06-2013, 05:36 PM
How desensitised is everyone to Melbournes crap...

One goal in a half of footy is a good effort....

10-06-2013, 05:43 PM
How desensitised is everyone to Melbournes crap...

One goal in a half of footy is a good effort....

It's pathetic. At least the last 2 weeks we have shown fight and have won. They haven't shown anything. Even against GWS they could of lost if it wasn't for that final quarter.

10-06-2013, 06:15 PM
It's pathetic. At least the last 2 weeks we have shown fight and have won. They haven't shown anything. Even against GWS they could of lost if it wasn't for that final quarter.
Where is the melbourne members light at the end of the tunnel?

Toumpas and Vineys potential. Pretty slim hope. My head would have exploded by now.

10-06-2013, 06:17 PM

Toumpas and Vineys potential. Pretty slim hope. My head would have exploded by now.

It is dim. Hogan is another light.

You would seriously have to wonder.

10-06-2013, 07:07 PM
Would like to get Garland off them.

10-06-2013, 07:11 PM
5 goals scored. 83 point loss.

AFL do something ASAP.

10-06-2013, 08:35 PM

AFL do something ASAP.

Why?
They're terrible. It's their fault. Tough.

10-06-2013, 08:54 PM
There's a sadistic side of me enjoying it. Massive difference in what happens when you put a kid into a good team v a struggling one, Ben Kennedy really outplayed Toumpas which you cant blame him for.

10-06-2013, 09:10 PM

AFL do something ASAP.

We scored 4.4 in Round 4. They're terrible, the worm will turn.

10-06-2013, 09:11 PM

Saw Trengrove trying to rev up his troops as captain. Massive ask / mistake to pick a kid. Another thing we have done differently.

10-06-2013, 09:17 PM
We scored 4.4 in Round 4. They're terrible, the worm will turn.
They've been 1 win from 10 starts, four out of the last six years.... The worm is dead.

Either prop them up, or relocate them to Tassie. Status quo is not working and there must be new thinking.

10-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Saw Trengrove trying to rev up his troops as captain. Massive ask / mistake to pick a kid. Another thing we have done differently.
It was an appointment smacking of desperation to keep a kid after Scully bolted. Always was going to be risky.

10-06-2013, 09:53 PM
They've been 1 win from 10 starts, four out of the last six years.... The worm is dead.

Either prop them up, or relocate them to Tassie. Status quo is not working and there must be new thinking.

AFL will prop them up financially if required, they can sort the rest out themselves. If their supporters have to wait 5 years for them to be competitive then they have to wait 5 years. We aren't that far ahead of them, let's not get too histrionic. Only 13 years since they made a GF, 39 years more recently than us.
Plus we need to keep Tassie free to move GWS to in 5 years.

10-06-2013, 10:24 PM

Why the attack? Let them be. Discussion about their plight is fine but you are sounding like Jeff Kennett. The wheel will turn.

10-06-2013, 10:27 PM
Did anyone see Sylvia spray young Fitzpatrick unmercifully?
Dees looked up for a fight early on, then Collingwood woke up.
Luke Ball was the standout for me

10-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Why the attack? Let them be. Discussion about their plight is fine but you are sounding like Jeff Kennett. The wheel will turn.
No attack here. I just think the she'll be right thinking hasn't worked and its time for a discussion on what more needs to be done. I'd hate to see them suffer needlessly or fold etc because of inaction.

10-06-2013, 10:31 PM
Why?

Agree. We shouldn't be lecturing on finances or success to be honest.

11-06-2013, 12:41 AM
Why?
Could not agree more. They have cynically exploited the draft rules with their tanking, they colluded with GC and GWS to ensure Viney slipped to pick 26, they received outlandish compensation for losing Scully. I have no sympathy for them whatsoever.

I don't rate Dawes but they'll have Dawes, Hogan and Clark in their forward line for the next few years. They have good key defenders with Frawley, Garland and Tom McNamara - when their young midfield develops they should improve quicker than most are suggesting, so I find it unfathomable that even more support via draft picks might be coming their way.

I still hate them for Round 22 1987

11-06-2013, 01:01 AM
No attack here. I just think the she'll be right thinking hasn't worked and its time for a discussion on what more needs to be done. I'd hate to see them suffer needlessly or fold etc because of inaction.

They've got Jackson in there to kick some heads in.
They'll start from top to bottom, but for mine no draft picks as this would make a mockery of that sham tanking fine situation.

11-06-2013, 10:02 AM
I still hate them for Round 22 1987

Don't forget 2005 dodgy free against Skipper in the dying minutes and we missed the finals that year.

11-06-2013, 11:35 AM
Don't forget 2005 dodgy free against Skipper in the dying minutes and we missed the finals that year.
Dodgy, doesn't begin. Apparently I'm still annoyed about that.