View Full Version : Game Day - R17 Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs

18-07-2013, 09:48 PM
Dogs by 2 points
First Goal: Jones
BOG: Libba

18-07-2013, 10:14 PM
Hawks by heaps (less than with Buddy, Sewell and Burgy)
Grant 1st
Jones BOG

19-07-2013, 12:56 AM
Hawks by 45
First Goal Jones
BOG Jones

19-07-2013, 01:16 AM
Hawks by 15- I think we'll go ok this week.
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Jones

19-07-2013, 02:26 AM
Hawks by 34 PTs
BOG Minson
1st goal Dickson

19-07-2013, 09:00 AM
Dogs by a goal!
A wet weather game and them to be a bit complacent.

BOG Libba
1st goal Minson from a stoppage.

19-07-2013, 11:41 AM
Hawks by 35 points

BOG: Murphy

First Goal: Jones

19-07-2013, 12:46 PM
I too think we will go alright, assuming the weather conditions and the fact that Hawthorn have never beaten us at this venue ;)

This game has Libba written all over it.

Dogs by 13 points
BOG : Libba
First Goal : Dahlhaus

19-07-2013, 01:08 PM
Hawks 17pts

First goal: Hunter

BOG: Libba

19-07-2013, 01:14 PM
Hawks by heaps (less than with Buddy, Sewell and Burgy)
Grant 1st
Jones BOG

Hawks by 45
First Goal Jones
BOG Jones

I hope I'm wrong. But I can see Brian Lake nee Harris tearing Jones a new one this week.

19-07-2013, 01:34 PM
I hope I'm wrong. But I can see Brian Lake nee Harris tearing Jones a new one this week.
I'm hopeful. Size was they're both 195cm, and Lake is only 3kg heavier ( Jones has bulked this year somewhat) and both move well. It will be the in close work that will sort thm out and this year Jones is ahead of Lake for contested marking and contested possessions.

Looks a good match up (on paper anyway), Id like to think Jones won't be towelled up.

19-07-2013, 01:41 PM
I'm hopeful. Size was they're both 195cm, and Lake is only 3kg heavier ( Jones has bulked this year somewhat) and both move well. It will be the in close work that will sort thm out and this year Jones is ahead of Lake for contested marking and contested possessions.

Looks a good match up (on paper anyway), Id like to think Jones won't be towelled up.

Jones is 197, but hey feel free to have a go at me.;)

19-07-2013, 01:42 PM

Hopefully he will get some advantage by the previous work they have done together.

19-07-2013, 01:44 PM
Hopefully he will get some advantage by the previous work they have done together.

I hope he plays a blinder on him.

19-07-2013, 01:44 PM
BAD, do we have to go to back sporting bet again :)

19-07-2013, 01:45 PM
Not quick enough:D

I'd did enjoy the slip.:D

19-07-2013, 01:46 PM
BAD, do we have to go to back sporting bet again :)

Why not and make some more money :D

19-07-2013, 01:52 PM
Can someone please get a tape measure down to WO so we can confirm whether he's 196.8 or 197 cms.

19-07-2013, 01:55 PM
Can someone please get a tape measure down to WO so we can confirm whether he's 196.8 or 197 cms.

I actually thought he was taller but there you go.

19-07-2013, 02:32 PM
Hawks by 50pts. (The 66.5+ line looks in our favour this week)
BOG Minno
First Goal Stevens

Just don't know if we can back up a performance like last week, besides our back to back wins I don't think we have backed up.

19-07-2013, 03:31 PM
Dogs by 68 points.

19-07-2013, 03:41 PM
I actually thought he was taller but there you go.

Jones is taller than Lake in my mental image.

19-07-2013, 05:39 PM
Take the +60 points start dogs

19-07-2013, 09:32 PM
Dawks by 44
BOG Li'l Libba
First goal Dicko

Just can't see us being able to back up and push them. I think Lake will have a day out.

20-07-2013, 12:30 AM

We know how Lake plays, loves the ball coming in high and long but can be burnt by short passes on the lead or playing upfield. Jones needs to do his best Nick Riewoldt impersonation, Brian never was any good against Nick.

A Ford
20-07-2013, 08:30 AM
Hawks by 44
First goal Gia
BOG Libba

20-07-2013, 01:09 PM
Hawks by 45 points.
BOG Griffen
First goal. Hrovat

20-07-2013, 01:16 PM
Mitchell Out, Sewell In.

Hunter Sub

20-07-2013, 01:29 PM
Dogs by 2 points

BOG : Libba
First goal : Dickson

20-07-2013, 01:31 PM
Mitchell Out, Sewell In.

Hunter Sub

Beat me to it.

Simpkin is the Hawks sub.

20-07-2013, 01:33 PM
Mitchell Out, Sewell In.

Hunter Sub

Damn, really want to see Hunter given a few full games, has been impressive in his limited time on field.

20-07-2013, 01:34 PM
Damn, really want to see Hunter given a few full games, has been impressive in his limited time on field.

Wonder if his fitness isn't quite where it needs to be?

20-07-2013, 01:34 PM
Hunter sub again.

Mitchell out for Sewell. Simpkin is the Hawks sub.

Kinda explains why Mitchell's family travelled with him. Must be planning a short break in Tassie.

20-07-2013, 01:39 PM
I'm told its very cold- but clear skies at this stage in Tassie. Good to hear Mitchell is out.

20-07-2013, 01:45 PM
Wonder if his fitness isn't quite where it needs to be?

Possibly, but he could always be planted deeper in the forward line during games or even subbed out if struggling with fitness, but from the limited times he's been out there, just seems to have a really good understanding of the game and to be able to put himself in the right positions, for mine he's already overtaken Howard.

20-07-2013, 02:37 PM
Dogs by 68 points.

Go dogs!:eek:

There is a danger that we may get that many in total. I'm more concerned the other way though, that hawthorn forward line is super strong.

20-07-2013, 02:40 PM
What the???? Did Brian ever look that fit for us???

20-07-2013, 02:43 PM
What the???? Did Brian ever look that fit for us???

He lost something like 7 kilos, at the request of Clarkson and the Hawthorn fitness staff.

20-07-2013, 02:52 PM
2 disappointing misses from Grant and Jones. Jarryd Roughead looks dangerous. They have a very strong forward line.

20-07-2013, 02:55 PM
Making big mistakes in the back 50.

20-07-2013, 02:55 PM
What is this rubbish with playing on straight after a mark. Got to be smarter than that. Those without the ball need to know what's around them.

20-07-2013, 02:56 PM
He lost something like 7 kilos, at the request of Clarkson and the Hawthorn fitness staff.

I wonder if we asked him the same thing. Jones is beating him at this stage.

20-07-2013, 02:58 PM
I wonder if we asked him the same thing. Jones is beating him at this stage.

That's typical Lake though, showing no respect for his opponents. It's why the lesser known forwards have had good days against us.

20-07-2013, 02:59 PM
Nice hand pass by Hale. Urge to kill rising.....

20-07-2013, 02:59 PM
Hale throw, 'all clear and above board' - bullshit!

20-07-2013, 03:04 PM
Hale throw, 'all clear and above board' - bullshit!

There's been a few already... High on Dahl earlier, free against Dahl closely followed by two dawks jumping on Dale.

20-07-2013, 03:08 PM
Good goal Addison. The score doesn't look so bad so far.

20-07-2013, 03:08 PM
We are fortunate to be 10 points down.

20-07-2013, 03:10 PM

True. They have missed quite a few and they get a goal.

20-07-2013, 03:11 PM
What a terrible free kick.

20-07-2013, 03:12 PM
Morris has been good down back and is so important for our young defenders.

20-07-2013, 03:13 PM

LOL. Which one mate.

20-07-2013, 03:16 PM
Hrovat could of got one back but want to be.

20-07-2013, 03:17 PM
I know we are biased but the Hale hand pass and the Lewis free which both lead to goals were pathetic decisions.

20-07-2013, 03:19 PM

LOL. Which one mate.

Who knows. Getting very tired of star gazing by umpires.

Hale throw, Roughead drop ball after strong tackle from Libba, soft free kick in front of goal for supposed infingement on Lewis by Libba and all within a couple of minutes.

And to Tom Harley, tell me why "it's easy to forget how good Dale Morris is" you flog after so many years performing at the highest elite level.

Love the murph.

We've seen a few examples of why Wallis should be persisted with, rarely beaten inside but he just needs to improve what he does with the pill.

Addison had a good quarter, tough efforts and second efforts, seems switched on. Luke's looks like he's prepared for a big day. Griff is unstoppable.

Some very soft free kicks coming out for one side. They have a fairly solid skill, size and experience advantage, they don't need anything else thanks.

How good has Murph been off half back - 5 rebound fifties!

We are lucky to be only 15 points down but still there have been some good signs - Jones looks good; Grant did a few nice things; Morris and Griffen great as always; Wallis is having a bit more impact - poor kick into the fwd 50 though, however lead to our first goal.

I know we are biased but the Hale hand pass and the Lewis free which both lead to goals were pathetic decisions.

Evidence that the umpires definitely favour the stronger teams much more.

20-07-2013, 03:20 PM
That Lewis decision was a disgrace. We ave to tke our chances but at least Jones and Grant have looked lively.

20-07-2013, 03:21 PM

Well if Jones, Grant and the Rat nailed their shots it would have been even at 1/4 time.

Wallis looking better but any chance of him not kicking floaters?

That Lewis decision was a disgrace. We ave to tke our chances but at least Jones and Grant have looked lively.

Hawthorn will make you pay if we make mistakes.

20-07-2013, 03:23 PM
Ha! The umpires must have been told at the half, not much in the Cooney free.

20-07-2013, 03:23 PM
Wallis looking better but any chance of him not kicking floaters?

That's the big issue with him.. his disposal needs so much work.

20-07-2013, 03:25 PM
Well if Jones, Grant and the Rat nailed their shots it would have been even at 1/4 time.

They've had 5 of those too.

20-07-2013, 03:28 PM
They've had 5 of those too.

Yeah, I agree with your original comment. Just saying with how much The Hawks have out played us, we still could have gone in evens.

20-07-2013, 03:30 PM
Now is the time we need to make the most of it as they have been wasteful in front of goal.

20-07-2013, 03:33 PM
Yeah, I agree with your original comment. Just saying with how much The Hawks have out played us, we still could have gone in evens.

Absolutely, then Jarrad kicks an impossible goal like that and Stevens misses the unmissable.

Stevens having a poor one. Handballs to blokes one foot away and that missed goal.

The fear is now it could really hover out.

20-07-2013, 03:35 PM
Addison looking lively up forward now we are missing our opportunities.

20-07-2013, 03:35 PM
Great mark Addison after good work from Grant in defence........but misses the goal:(

20-07-2013, 03:36 PM
Stevens is having a clanger fest.

Understatement of the year but we need work on our set shots. Bloody hell,

Does Basil watch the game?

Must have been a drinking buddy with Koby over west.

Stevens having a poor one. Handballs to blokes one foot away and that missed goal.

Handballs to Libba who's man was so close to him he could have gone for sexual harassment!

Stevens having a shocker.

Great mark Addison after good Orkney from Grant in defence........but misses the goal:(

What the hells an Orkney? :D

20-07-2013, 03:37 PM
50 for that. Really.

Does Basil watch the game?

Must have been a drinking buddy with Koby over west.

Did he say that Koby was doing alright.

Bullshit 50 but the nuff nuff hits the post.

20-07-2013, 03:39 PM
Thought for a moment I saw Dickson out there.

20-07-2013, 03:39 PM
What the hells an Orkney? :D

Fat fingers....

20-07-2013, 03:40 PM
Love the Cyril circle jerking. He gets a hand in the way of a crap handball and it is 'brilliant'. Griffen does exactly the same thing 2 seconds later and not a word uttered.

20-07-2013, 03:41 PM
Fat fingers....

Predictive text no doubt but Orkney?

20-07-2013, 03:41 PM
our pathetic skills are really on display today

20-07-2013, 03:42 PM
C'mon Dickson.

Love the Cyril circle jerking. He gets a hand in the way of a crap handball and it is 'brilliant'. Griffen does exactly the same thing 2 seconds later and not a word uttered.

Nothing in bending an opponents arm behind his back either. Picken's got good shoulders so it's OK. :rolleyes:

Thought for a moment I saw Dickson out there.

Having a shot for goal now.

20-07-2013, 03:43 PM

Not great but we are certainly making it difficult for the Hawks as well,

.....fortunately so is our work rate.

And Dickson goals

20-07-2013, 03:44 PM
Nothing in bending an opponents arm behind his back either. Picken's got good shoulders so it's OK. :rolleyes:

He was doing it to Griffen.

20-07-2013, 03:44 PM
Is young Libba going to even better than his dad? Is that another son next to him?

20-07-2013, 03:45 PM
He was doing it to Griffen.

Well Grif's shoulders then.

20-07-2013, 03:45 PM
Please help... My wife wants to know why 25 gives the ball to someone in a worse position, under more pressure every time...

20-07-2013, 03:46 PM
Disappointing miss by Grant....looks to have no confidence kicking for goal.

20-07-2013, 03:47 PM
Bad miss from Grant. Certainly needs to get some confidence and hopefully that will come with more game time.

20-07-2013, 03:47 PM
Grant doing his career no favours with kicks like that.

20-07-2013, 03:49 PM
Cooney's kicking on that far wing is pretty impressive.

20-07-2013, 03:49 PM
Grant doing his career no favours with kicks like that.

Perhaps but he's doing reasonably well in general play...tick so far.

20-07-2013, 03:50 PM
Perhaps but he's doing reasonably well in general play...tick so far.

Agree - think he is going ok.

20-07-2013, 03:51 PM
We are still fairly close now we need to make sure we continue making them work in the 2nd half.

20-07-2013, 03:52 PM
Reasonably happy so far but the hawks are far from their best. We need to clean up our decision making and finish our work better.

Libba having an awesome game long with Murphy and Morris. Jones getting more involved this week.

20-07-2013, 03:53 PM
Bloody Grant and his kicking for goal.

20-07-2013, 03:58 PM

It isn't like he is missing from 25m out straight in front.

Both gettable shots, but no more than 25% chances each time.

20-07-2013, 03:58 PM

It is very frustrating but like I said in my previous post the best way for him to improve is more game time. If he doesn't then he'll be in trouble.

20-07-2013, 04:01 PM

What about the other players who have missed?

20-07-2013, 04:01 PM

Everyone who's had a shot from that distance have missed.

Look at it with a glass half full. He's presenting well and getting opportunities against very good opposition.

20-07-2013, 04:04 PM
Everyone who's had a shot from that distance have missed.

Look at it with a glass half full. He's presenting well and getting opportunities against very good opposition.
I'm keeping running stats on him, as I did last week, which are very good so far, and he's also impacting the game too.

20-07-2013, 04:06 PM

At this level he just has to nail these shots, and apart from his intensity at times it's just one aspect of his game he hasn't got right.

20-07-2013, 04:08 PM
What about the other players who have missed?

Yes but Grant has issues with his kicking for goal, just like Jones, just like Roughead, just like Cordy, they just have to get better and nail these, both misses very gettable at this level.

20-07-2013, 04:08 PM
I have Grant ahead of Jones so far Today. Still no goal between them though.

20-07-2013, 04:12 PM
That was absolutely Pathetic! Witches hats would have put up more of a contest in that last hawks run!

20-07-2013, 04:14 PM
You just feel the Hawks have the wood on us right now. We need a spark.

20-07-2013, 04:15 PM
You could show a video of that Addison mark on Gibson to teach umpires on when to pay a 50 after late contact. Goes unpaid.

20-07-2013, 04:15 PM
You just feel the Hawks have the wood on us right now. We need a spark.

Bruce, is that you?

20-07-2013, 04:17 PM
Bruce, is that you?

Not Bruce but he sure has influenced some hasn't he. I better snap out of the Bruce language :D

20-07-2013, 04:19 PM
Dickson just looks a level below to me.

20-07-2013, 04:19 PM
Kick it Dickson...kick it.

20-07-2013, 04:20 PM
Polish 1/10
Everything else 9/10

Well done Gia 16 points in it,

Gia shows how it's done.

Gia gets one and its only 16 points.

20-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Polish 1/10
Everything else 9/10

Spot on

20-07-2013, 04:22 PM
Imagine if our skill level was better and we had a FF. We'd be looking very good.

20-07-2013, 04:26 PM
Lake moved onto Grant.

20-07-2013, 04:27 PM
We are throwing this away. You can just sense that the Hawks will get it uo the other end and go bang bang and kill us off.

20-07-2013, 04:27 PM
Choking them at the moment, a couple of goals will give them a scare.

20-07-2013, 04:28 PM
We are throwing this away. You can just sense that the Hawks will get it uo the other end and go bang bang and kill us off.

That's the problem. They are capable of doing that which sets us apart from them.

20-07-2013, 04:29 PM
There's one...

20-07-2013, 04:29 PM
Dogs really working hard....nice finish Griff.

20-07-2013, 04:31 PM
Damn.

Time to take Stevens off before he gives away a goal... Oh wait...

That one hurts. Need to get the next one.

20-07-2013, 04:34 PM
Polish 1/10
Everything else 9/10

So accurate

20-07-2013, 04:35 PM
Aw crap.

20-07-2013, 04:35 PM
Griffen is a freaking beast.

Puts head over ball, gets crunched, runs over to put head over ball again. Over and over again.

20-07-2013, 04:36 PM
Grant not even getting close now.

20-07-2013, 04:37 PM
Arsehole Gibson.

20-07-2013, 04:38 PM
Think Addison will be ok.

20-07-2013, 04:39 PM
Arsehole Gibson.

Twice he's done it now.

20-07-2013, 04:39 PM
Arsehole Gibson.

For contesting a mark?. I'm more concerned about another Grant shocker.

Dog54
20-07-2013, 04:40 PM
Twice he's done it now.

That's why we need an enforcer to give him one back twice as hard

20-07-2013, 04:40 PM
Cannot believe the Gia revival. I thought he was absolutely gone early last season and more more so this season but he has been great since coming back from injury.

Not only is Gia playing well but he is also carrying the form up against quality sides. If Goodes, Lower and Dickson play on next year, why not Gia?

20-07-2013, 04:41 PM
And crap again. Dogs luck. Grant misses again. Enter the fwd 50 as the siren sounds. Cop an injury 5 minutes after making the sub.

We won the quarter and are in striking distance but they could blow the game wide open. I will be pleased if we hang tough and lose by 2 or 3.

20-07-2013, 04:42 PM
That's why we need an enforcer to give him one back twice as hard

Wouldn't need to if the umpire did his job properly. Gibson should have penalised the first time.

20-07-2013, 04:43 PM
For contesting a mark?. I'm more concerned about another Grant shocker.

It was well after the siren and he made sure he landed on Addison. As for Grant...it's been disappointing. Seen nothing positive in his game?

20-07-2013, 04:43 PM
Agree with the calls about Grant's blunders but I MUCH prefer the Grant/Jones 2nd ruck combo over the Jones/Ayce 2nd ruck one.

Putting it simply, Grant stuffs up his chances, Ayce doesn't have a chance.

20-07-2013, 04:44 PM
Agree with the calls about Grant's blunders but I MUCH prefer the Grant/Jones 2nd ruck combo over the Jones/Ayce 2nd ruck one.

Putting it simply, Grant stuffs up his chances, Ayce doesn't have a chance.

Agreed, we have to stick with Grant for the balance of the season if we can and see if we can make a forward line of Jones, Grant and Stringer work.

20-07-2013, 04:49 PM
We look more dangerous and have more option with Grant in there. But kick a goal mate.

Stringer for Dicko would help too..

20-07-2013, 04:50 PM
Surprise surprise....Picken blazes out of defence.

20-07-2013, 04:50 PM
It was well after the siren and he made sure he landed on Addison. As for Grant...it's been disappointing. Seen nothing positive in his game?

We could've taken the mark and possibly gone for a score, he had to make a contest. If one of ours had done the same, no one would've said anything.

Grant has been ok but he needs to do more than "Ok" to keep his job, and he should have two or three to his name.

20-07-2013, 04:51 PM
....and then Rioli makes Picken panic.

20-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Getting smashed now. Wallis had a couple of chances to influence the play but missed tackles.

20-07-2013, 04:52 PM
S**t. Really dissapointing now. All of sudden 41 points.

20-07-2013, 04:56 PM
C'mon Grant. Must get it.

20-07-2013, 04:57 PM
Well done Grant. Keeps his job? Amazing pass by Griff.

Our Roughhead has had a good day.

Hunter looks good, smart and clean.

Grant? Yay. As Rocco said, the fact that he has had a number of shots is an improvement.

I see three gettable shots on goal as a positive. Yes he missed them, but getting shots on goal is a fairly important step in the process of scoring. Plus he has linked up in the middle and just kicked one :D

20-07-2013, 04:59 PM
Will's looked slower than usual today. Long season when you ruck 98%.

20-07-2013, 04:59 PM
Grant? Yay. As Rocco said, the fact that he has had a number of shots is an improvement.

He has done today what Ayce would do in two games.

20-07-2013, 05:03 PM
Will's looked lower than usual today. Long season when you ruck 98%.

Yep, his last month has been poor.. showing the signs of a long season... Might need a spell if we are going to continue to play with just 1 ruck.

20-07-2013, 05:05 PM
We bust our rings for zero return. Most exhaustive style of footy for so little reward.

20-07-2013, 05:06 PM
Yep, his last month has been poor.. showing the signs of a long season... Might need a spell if we are going to continue to play with just 1 ruck.

"Poor" is over the top but he's certainly been less effective.

20-07-2013, 05:06 PM

** Excluding games against GWS.... You actually need to get a kick to kick a goal.. or point.

20-07-2013, 05:07 PM

He seems to run and lead to the right spots on many occasions. On that stat Ayce would need 10 games to match today's effort.

I still hope that it all falls in to place for the big fella sometime.

20-07-2013, 05:08 PM
We bust our rings for zero return. Most exhaustive style of footy for so little reward.

That's the real shame.

20-07-2013, 05:08 PM
"Poor" is over the top but he's certainly been less effective.

Yep, poor compared to his stellar form early on, but he has been beaten a number of times over the last month compared to when he was spanking opposition early on.

20-07-2013, 05:09 PM
How do you pay advantage without ever calling advantage?

20-07-2013, 05:09 PM

Twin towers next week. I've got no problem sitting him for a week at some stage. Wouldn't hurt to see how Campbell goes as #1 ruck for a week or two.

20-07-2013, 05:11 PM
One of the all-time great 7 possession games from Cyril :rolleyes:

20-07-2013, 05:12 PM
Worked hard for that one, but well deserved.

20-07-2013, 05:13 PM
Wow...how hard did we work for that goal?

Repeat efforts for that goal pretty amazing for junk time.

Griff to Grant to Jones.

Ryan 35 touches and Cooney 33. They had about fifteen in that last play....

20-07-2013, 05:14 PM
One of the all-time great 7 possession games from Cyril :rolleyes:

But every one of them was simply amazing.

20-07-2013, 05:17 PM
But every one of them was simply amazing.

Yep and when he was pulling Griffen's arm behind his back it wasn't a chicken wing, it was Cyril trying to shake his hand. Gosh he is a classy boy!

20-07-2013, 05:18 PM
Felt more like a six goal loss but plenty of positives. Good to see them play the game out.

20-07-2013, 05:19 PM
Terrific endeavour in most facets but gee we have to work twice as hard for half the return of the opposition.

Grant and Jones up forward is 100% more dangerous than any other combination involving Campbell, Cordy and Markovic. I'd like to see Stringer added to the mix for next week.

20-07-2013, 05:21 PM
Grant and Jones up forward is 100% more dangerous than any other combination involving Campbell, Cordy and Markovic. I'd like to see Stringer added to the mix for next week.

Agree on both points.

20-07-2013, 05:21 PM

17 disposals, 8 marks, 5 tackles, 1 goal 4 behinds for Grant.

A good game which could have been very good with improved accuracy.

20-07-2013, 05:23 PM
17 disposals, 8 marks, 5 tackles, 1 goal 4 behinds for Grant.

A good game which could have been very good with improved accuracy.

Agreed. Do people seriously think Grant was bad today or do people just hate him?

20-07-2013, 05:26 PM
I thought that was a really good effort today apart from that 10-12 minutes in that final quarter. We won the disposals and were decent in the tackle count but our efficiency hurt us.

20-07-2013, 05:27 PM
Agreed. Do people seriously think Grant was bad today or do people just hate him?

I don't think hate is the right word just judge to harshly. He was fine today, one of our better players.

20-07-2013, 05:27 PM

I don't hate him, I just don't think he's a part of our future. Just doesn't have what it takes to be an AFL player in my opinion.

20-07-2013, 05:29 PM
Great effort today, patches when we were average but we kept at it. Could have blown out to 10 goals plus in the last quarter. Reasonably happy with the performance. Last 2 weeks have shown a bit of promise.

20-07-2013, 05:30 PM
I don't hate him, I just don't think he's a part of our future. Just doesn't have what it takes to be an AFL player in my opinion.

Attitude or ability?

20-07-2013, 05:31 PM
9 involvements in scoring out of 21 shots. He's in my votes today.

20-07-2013, 05:38 PM

No votes but has earned his place the last two weeks. Worth keeping IMO.

20-07-2013, 05:40 PM
We actually missed Clay Smith today. Wallis was a non-factor and Stevens had a shocker.

20-07-2013, 05:54 PM
We actually missed Clay Smith today. Wallis was a non-factor and Stevens had a shocker.

Thought Wallis was ok in the first qtr and a half but certainly faded. Agree we missed Clay.

20-07-2013, 05:58 PM
To be fair Wallis was played on Hodge for much of the game to curb his influence and did well early. His kicking is a major concern though.

20-07-2013, 06:16 PM
What I don't like about Wallis's game is he is always rushing too much when he gets the ball. He doesn't draw the opposition players before handball the ball out and with that he put the receiving player in too much pressure.

Also, he doesn't keep his feet and going to the ground too quickly. Hopefully he can improve his game otherwise other young players will overtake him and taking his spot in the team.

20-07-2013, 06:21 PM
Disappointing players today for mine were Addison, Dickson (two weeks in a row), Stevens and Wallis.

I know Wallis followed Hodge around and will learn alot from that. Stevens gets the ball and then gives its straight back or puts his team mates under pressure. He did have 8 tackles today, just needs to be more damaging with the ball.

As for Addison and Dickson, back to VFL for mine.

20-07-2013, 06:27 PM
Disappointing players today for mine were Addison, Dickson (two weeks in a row), Stevens and Wallis.

I've counted 3. :)

I think this was Dickson's best game which is not saying much as I think he's been very ordinary. Still I think he done enough today to keep his place unless someone is breaking down the door. I'm waiting for the Willy report but not expecting much when only kicked 2 goals were kicked. There were worse players than Dickson.

20-07-2013, 06:30 PM
I've counted 3. :)

I think this was Dickson's best game which is not saying much as I think he's been very ordinary. Still I think he done enough today to keep his place unless someone is breaking down the door. I'm waiting for the Willy report but not expecting much when only kicked 2 goals were kicked. There were worse players than Dickson.

Yes three, you are right. I would replace him with Stringer.

20-07-2013, 06:31 PM
Dickson for mine isn't the type of player you have in a development side.

He is Okish, probably just in the best 22 overall but he doesn't really bring any leadership and I think his role can be filled by playing another youngster.

20-07-2013, 06:31 PM
In a heart beat.

20-07-2013, 06:32 PM

If he was to go out then yeah, that'd be my choice. One of Addison/Dickson will be safe IMO and I guess who goes out will depend on who comes in. If that makes any sense.

20-07-2013, 06:38 PM

Would have gotten votes from me if he had kicked straight. That is something he must improve on. Hopefully he can. Forwards who are iffy in front of goal are just so frustrating.

20-07-2013, 06:38 PM
If he was to go out then yeah, that'd be my choice. One of Addison/Dickson will be safe IMO and I guess who goes out will depend on who comes in. If that makes any sense.

If it was one of the two, I guess Addison would be first choice.

We still have Boyd to come back, as well as Wood and maybe even try Howard before the year is out. I would like to see Roberts at some stage as well.

20-07-2013, 06:46 PM

Apart from his goal kicking, thought he was very good again today backing up after last weeks performance, he is at the age now where he just has to take that next step which is consistency and improved intensity, like others have stated really want to see him alongside Stringer & Jones and just play together for an extended period.

20-07-2013, 07:30 PM
Yep, poor compared to his stellar form early on, but he has been beaten a number of times over the last month compared to when he was spanking opposition early on.

He's gone from being dominate to just effective in the last 3 weeks. Lacking a bit of spark.

20-07-2013, 07:41 PM

This week told me that we need a second ruckman more than a key forward right now. Will was absolutely knackered by the last.

Was ready to smack Tom Harley talking about how Hale had been able to push forward and leave will Minson behind. Never mind the fact that Will was probably matched up on Bailey when Hale went forward:rolleyes:

On a sidenote i think Talia battled ably when the resting ruckman went forward.

20-07-2013, 07:47 PM
This week told me that we need a second ruckman more than a key forward right now. Will was absolutely knackered by the last.

Was ready to smack Tom Harley talking about how Hale had been able to push forward and leave will Minson behind. Never mind the fact that Will was probably matched up on Bailey when Hale went forward:rolleyes:

On a sidenote i think Talia battled ably when the resting ruckman went forward.
Good point. Makes for an interesting off season.

Our options include moving Roughie fwd/ruck - then recruiting key backman
Backing Cordy & Campbell to stand up next year
Trading for a ruckman
Recruiting a ruckman (who won't see senior footy for 5 years)

Looking at this in isolation, moving Roughie might be the best bet depending on he availability of rucks or KPB's.

20-07-2013, 10:09 PM
Attitude or ability?

Attitude, and his inability to produce for any length of time. I'm interested to see how he can sustain form this time round.

20-07-2013, 10:24 PM

Addison was OK (just) this week after a shocker v Essendope. His kicking for goal let him down but like he has on a handful of occasions now, there was an opportunity to really hit the scoreboard. He has a real hot/cold type of player, the effort is consistent but the results are everywhere. Assuming he is fit, keep him in and drop Dicko who just isn't quite up to scratch this season (due to injury I'd think)

20-07-2013, 11:38 PM
Addison was OK (just) this week after a shocker v Essendope. His kicking for goal let him down but like he has on a handful of occasions now, there was an opportunity to really hit the scoreboard. He has a real hot/cold type of player, the effort is consistent but the results are everywhere. Assuming he is fit, keep him in and drop Dicko who just isn't quite up to scratch this season (due to injury I'd think)

He touched the ball 8 times and had 3 tackles, he is not doing his job.

21-07-2013, 01:05 AM
Good point. Makes for an interesting off season.

Our options include
Recruiting a ruckman (who won't see senior footy for 5 years.)

Not Necessariliiily. There are ruck man playing in the VFL and other leagues. Find one and put him on the rookie list. Promote him mid season and he can give Wil a chop out

21-07-2013, 11:49 AM
Not Necessariliiily. There are ruck man playing in the VFL and other leagues. Find one and put him on the rookie list. Promote him mid season and he can give Wil a chop out

I think we have one. Tom Campbell.

21-07-2013, 05:23 PM

He played in the forward line and we got hammered on the inside 50s, he took a couple of great marks and from my view did what he could, far from our worst player.

Dickson and Wallis go out before Addison, and Wallis had an ok first half, as a negating player. I think a tagging role is the best thing for Wallis right now.

22-07-2013, 10:06 PM
I think we have one. Tom Campbell.

He's been a real shrewd pick. Remembering he was picked as a rookie and is only 21. Thumbs up for the choice as he's shown some promise.

22-07-2013, 11:11 PM

Well in that case it was the best game ever for 8 and 3. Thought he was real good and competed incredibly well for us. Some serious inside 50 marks taken. Carrying a knee obviously, I think he's doing a great job.