View Full Version : Round 20 Bulldogs vs Carlton- Match Preview and Discussion

09-08-2013, 01:03 PM
Dogs by 11 points
First Goal: Jones
BOG: Griffen

09-08-2013, 02:39 PM
Cheats by 10 PTs ( gotta bad feeling about this game)
BOG Minson
1St Goal Grant

09-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Cheats by 10 PTs ( gotta bad feeling about this game)
BOG Minson
1St Goal Grant

A real test for us to follow up on last week's encouraging performance. We don't have a great history of performing in weeks where the media have been talking us up. I swear Gerard Healy is going to bust a foofer valve he's been so positive about us this week.

I'll be very disappointed if we don't put up our best effort this week.

Dogs by 10
BOG Minson
1st Goal Stevens

09-08-2013, 04:14 PM
Dogs by 15
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Campbell

09-08-2013, 04:23 PM
I'm hoping we bring the same performance to this game like we have against quality opposition over the last few weeks. Even though our season in terms of finals is over it is great seeing us running out the season really well. Lots to look forward to in 2014 and beyond.

09-08-2013, 05:14 PM
Dogs by 13pts
BOG- Griffen
First goal- Gia

09-08-2013, 07:53 PM
Blues by 31
BOG Libba
First Goal Dahlhaus

09-08-2013, 08:13 PM
Dogs by 24pts
BOG Grant
First goal Grant

09-08-2013, 10:22 PM
We were pretty banged up in the tough Swans game, but Freo really ripped into the Blues. I reckon we can beat Carlton.

10-08-2013, 01:35 AM
Dogs by 11 points
First Goal: Jones

You forgot to add your preview Eastdog.

10-08-2013, 01:35 AM
Dogs 7pts
First Goal: Campbell

10-08-2013, 03:26 AM
Dogs by 39 points
BOG-Grant
First Goal-Gia

10-08-2013, 09:09 AM
Can the young team maintain the physical intensity to play their game style late in the season against a side touted early in the season as premiership contenders?
Dogs by 21 points
first goal Dickson
BOG the man power station Griffen

10-08-2013, 10:13 AM
Dogs by 1
First Goal Jones
BOG Griffen

It would be nice to beat this mob

10-08-2013, 11:35 AM
Dogs by ten
BOG Libba
First goal Gia

Go hunt them dogs. No mercy.

10-08-2013, 12:28 PM
Dogs by 15
BOG Griff
First goal Dickson

Would be great to beat the cheats. Always love beating this mob.

10-08-2013, 12:34 PM
You forgot to add your preview Eastdog.

Sorry about that. I was thinking another poster might do it but if I do start this thread next week again Ill make sure I put in a preview.

10-08-2013, 02:24 PM
If we can bring similar style of footy to last week think we could be a sneaky chance.
Dogs by 9 points
BOG Dahl
First goal Jones

10-08-2013, 02:24 PM
We can beat this mob.

Varangian
10-08-2013, 03:00 PM
Carlton by 16 points
BOG Libba
Campbell first goal

10-08-2013, 03:52 PM
We can beat this mob.

Yes we can.

Dogs by 6
First goal Grant
BOG Griff

10-08-2013, 04:04 PM
A quick and dirty preview:

Carlton are flat track bullies this year. The only side they have beaten above them is Port.

I don't really rate most of their backs defensively, but when they play back Walker and Yarran they can counter attack well. Gibbs needs to be watched too. Not sure who they would play on Grant who could really trouble them. Jones and Campbell may mean that one of Henerson or Watson will have to play back.

Their tall forwards are serviceable with Waite back but note no Kreuzner. Morris to Waite, Roughie to Henderson? Picken to Betts to give him hell, Garlett needs to be watched.

Aside from Judd who looks cooked and Murphy, their mids look ordinary. Their relative hard nuts Robinson and Carazzo aren't playing, and Simpson got smashed last week. Wallis on Murphy? Minson should smash them in the ruck.

Conclusion: If we play like last week we can definitely beat this scum, weakened by injuries. Unlike the Swans, Carlton are an uneven side which can be closed down by targeting a handful of players.

Dogs by 26

10-08-2013, 04:09 PM
I don't really rate most of their backs defensively, but when they play back Walker and Yarran they can counter attack well.

They've become quite a flashy side, haven't they. Highly skilled attacking players like Walker, Betts, Yarran & Garlett that can go missing when lacking time & space. Unfortunately, for most of this year we have afforded our opposition more space than anyone.

10-08-2013, 04:15 PM
They've become quite a flashy side, haven't they. Highly skilled attacking players like Walker, Betts, Yarran & Garlett that can go missing when lacking time & space. Unfortunately, for most of this year we have afforded our opposition more space than anyone.

But give them a hard time and they are ineffectual softies.

10-08-2013, 04:29 PM
Tutt is sub no changes

Yarran sub

10-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Great post Dry Rot, I'm pumped!

10-08-2013, 05:39 PM
Great post Dry Rot, I'm pumped!

Me too!

10-08-2013, 06:01 PM
We've missed a few easy ones

10-08-2013, 06:02 PM
4 shots at goal gone begging. Not good enough!

10-08-2013, 06:12 PM
5 behinds plus 3 out of bounds.

10-08-2013, 06:13 PM
Disappointing finishing in front of goal. We could have Carlton almost buried of we kicked well.

10-08-2013, 06:13 PM
Should be 5 goals up. Got a feeling our first quarters going to be costly.

10-08-2013, 06:19 PM
We've missed a few easy ones

4 shots at goal gone begging. Not good enough!

5 behinds plus 3 out of bounds.

Disappointing finishing in front of goal. We could have Carlton almost buried of we kicked well.

Should be 5 goals up. Got a feeling our first quarters going to be costly.

So I take it, we could have kicked straighter?! :D

10-08-2013, 06:24 PM
Ouch .

10-08-2013, 06:26 PM
Ouch .

What happened Chef?

10-08-2013, 06:27 PM
What happened Chef?

Campbell tried to bulldoze the post.

10-08-2013, 06:29 PM
What happened Chef?

Campbell ran into the goalpost trying to mark. Got up and goaled afterward.

10-08-2013, 06:30 PM
So I take it, we could have kicked straighter?! :D

5 goals 8, so, yes.

10-08-2013, 06:33 PM
Grant is in the top 5 players at this club. Influential.

10-08-2013, 06:35 PM
Grant is in the top 5 players at this club. Influential.
How good is he!

10-08-2013, 06:36 PM
Did... Did we just play beautiful football ending in Dickson's goal?

10-08-2013, 06:37 PM
That was some end to end Harlem Globetrotters shit right there

10-08-2013, 06:53 PM
We're a great side to watch at the moment. Hope it continues.

10-08-2013, 06:57 PM
We're a great side to watch at the moment. Hope it continues.

Worried the Swans game & 6 day break is going to take it out of us. Last 10 minutes we looked tired. Some great signs though.

10-08-2013, 06:59 PM
May still lose this but wow, our turn around since the Melbourne and GWS games has been incredible.

I have to say, I'm really excited for the future.

10-08-2013, 06:59 PM
c'mon

10-08-2013, 07:01 PM
Need Murphy to start hurting Betts going the other way. Young has helped pick up the slack though.

10-08-2013, 07:02 PM
We should be 40+ in front, but must applaud the effort and intent. That bouncing snap for Carlton was painfully lucky.

10-08-2013, 07:24 PM
Wow. What a godawful cock up by Carlton.

10-08-2013, 07:26 PM
Need to move Murphy, hurting us defensively and offensively.

10-08-2013, 07:31 PM
Wake up Dickson. That was stupid

10-08-2013, 07:34 PM
Go Tutty

10-08-2013, 07:41 PM
Great mark by Grant in def50.

10-08-2013, 07:43 PM
Blues bench down to one :eek: can we run over them?

10-08-2013, 07:43 PM
Go Tutty

We'll done Tutt. Got it to a good finisher and put the shepherd on.

10-08-2013, 07:45 PM
C'mon Doggies.

10-08-2013, 07:57 PM
Grant on fire!!

10-08-2013, 07:59 PM
Worried the Swans game & 6 day break is going to take it out of us. Last 10 minutes we looked tired. Some great signs though.

carlton down to a 1 man bench. we will end up winning by 6 goals

10-08-2013, 08:14 PM
We have certainly been looked after by the umpires today.

10-08-2013, 08:16 PM

Absolutely. They've been terrible, this time to our advantage.

10-08-2013, 08:21 PM

Not sure if serious... Frees are favoring Carl 23-12.

I'm tracking scores from Fiji so I have no idea. :)

10-08-2013, 08:21 PM
Dogs by 26

Out by 2 :D

10-08-2013, 08:22 PM
Enthusiasm!!!

10-08-2013, 08:23 PM
And we beat 25 players: thank you umpires!

10-08-2013, 08:24 PM

Great call.

Gee I love this club

10-08-2013, 08:25 PM

Yeah I'm serious. All the egregious no-calls have gone our way.

So, maybe the legitimate count favours them, but the stuff that hasn't been callled has mostly been in our favour.

10-08-2013, 08:31 PM
Yeah I'm serious. All the egregious no-calls have gone our way.

So, maybe the legitimate count favours them, but the stuff that hasn't been callled has mostly been in our favour.

Funny how we look at things I thought Carlton got a great go from the Umps.

10-08-2013, 08:35 PM

They sure did

10-08-2013, 08:36 PM
Great feeling at the ground , love beating this mob

10-08-2013, 08:37 PM

So did I, I don't think they won a clearance by any method other than a free kick.

I didn't matter in the end, our style of play and intensity at the footy was always going to beat front runners like Carlton!

10-08-2013, 08:38 PM
WE wERE qUITE gOOD!!!

that is me trying to evade the all caps filter sorry

10-08-2013, 08:38 PM
So did I, I don't think they won a clearance by any method other than a free kick.

I didn't matter in the end, our style of play and intensity at the footy was always going to beat front runners like Carlton!

If we had kicked straight, it would have been a ten goal win!

10-08-2013, 08:42 PM
If we had kicked straight, it would have been a ten goal win!

I'll take 5 :D

That was great. The difference in this team in the last 5 weeks is incredible. Some great confident ball movement.

10-08-2013, 08:48 PM
I haven't been this genuinely pumped for a LONG time.

10-08-2013, 08:49 PM
A quick and dirty preview:

Carlton are flat track bullies this year. The only side they have beaten above them is Port.

I don't really rate most of their backs defensively, but when they play back Walker and Yarran they can counter attack well. Gibbs needs to be watched too. Not sure who they would play on Grant who could really trouble them. Jones and Campbell may mean that one of Henerson or Watson will have to play back.

Their tall forwards are serviceable with Waite back but note no Kreuzner. Morris to Waite, Roughie to Henderson? Picken to Betts to give him hell, Garlett needs to be watched.

Aside from Judd who looks cooked and Murphy, their mids look ordinary. Their relative hard nuts Robinson and Carazzo aren't playing, and Simpson got smashed last week. Wallis on Murphy? Minson should smash them in the ruck.

Conclusion: If we play like last week we can definitely beat this scum, weakened by injuries. Unlike the Swans, Carlton are an uneven side which can be closed down by targeting a handful of players.

Dogs by 26

Fantastic stuff DR,! So accurate it was scary.

10-08-2013, 08:58 PM
Great win today, very happy.

Based on the rapid improvement over the last 5 weeks could finals be back on the agenda sooner than most of us thought?

10-08-2013, 09:00 PM
Great win today, very happy.

Based on the rapid improvement over the last 5 weeks could finals be back on the agenda sooner than most of us thought?

Yes bring on the F word for next year.

10-08-2013, 09:01 PM
There doesn't seem to be a lot of excitement on the forum after such a great win.
I know some have doubted the quality of a couple of our previous wins because of the opposition we played and injuries etc but this win in particular was a pretty good one and one that just about puts a line through Carlton's finals ambitions.

How does this not get all of us pumped about the football again?

10-08-2013, 09:05 PM
Trust me GVGjnr, I'm excited. We are going to be good, and after worrying about having another bottom four next year, I think we are a good chance for finals in 2014.

Is this reminiscent of 2005 where the gameplay. And together in the last few rounds and our young players made strides in their development?

10-08-2013, 09:07 PM
Unreal win! We played some irresistible footy in that first half.

Really exciting to see us out tackle and out spread the blues. Bring on the crows!!!! Loving footy.

Still a lot of upside in our list. Exciting times.

10-08-2013, 09:09 PM
Beating Carlton is a wonderful excitable feeling!

10-08-2013, 09:10 PM
Im excited. Hopefully this recent form brings back a few who have fallen away.

10-08-2013, 09:11 PM
Im excited. Hopefully this recent form brings back a few who have fallen away.

Onya Chef, we should all be barking loud after today's win.

10-08-2013, 09:12 PM
Onya Chef, we should all be barking loud after today's win.

I got up out of my seat and pumped the fist a fair few times today, including a thundering "YEAHHHHH!" when Grant slotted his fourth ;)

10-08-2013, 09:14 PM
I got up out of my seat and pumped the fist a fair few times today, including a thundering "YEAHHHHH!" when Grant slotted his fourth ;)

There are time to keep a lid on things but today wasn't one of them. Keep it going TBB ;)

10-08-2013, 09:19 PM
I've finally got my hands free after being Dad on duty with our 20 week old son since the start of the game!
Always fantastic to roll The Cheats. Definitely turning a corner we are. I thought we would he in trouble with some of our outs this week. I reckon we have to give the coach a big pat on the back for holding his nerve over the past 18 months and not only sticking to his beliefs, but more importantly getting buy in from the group. I don't care if we are potentially going to move up a couple of spots and miss out on a top 3 pick. We have winnable games to see out the year and it would be great to get momentum for 2014 by finishing the year with 2 or 3 more wins!
Go Doggies!!!!

10-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Consistent games from Stringer, Hrovat, Talia, McCrae & Hunter will add to the team greatly next year.

10-08-2013, 09:25 PM
Grant was amazing and kinda gazelle like - so smooth.

Griffen BOG. Dalhaus tackles terffic. Libba & Cooney v.good. Minson's hit outs were superb. Young, Tutt, Roughead all growing in confidence. Wallis and Picken great tagging games and some good disposals too.

I'm officially excited - especially about the quicker ball movement, better & quicker spread and better ability to have a player behind the ball to mop up.

I also thought Campbell, although he did not take a mark I50, looked like a good target & got to right spots as well brining ball to ground to advantage. Let's hope he improves as a forward as has some presence.

I just wish Jones would take some marks I50 - he is frustrating to watch - potential without the performance so many times. Oh for a big key forward who can reliably mark & kick straight....

10-08-2013, 09:41 PM
Grant was amazing and kinda gazelle like - so smooth.

Griffen BOG. Dalhaus tackles terffic. Libba & Cooney v.good. Minson's hit outs were superb. Young, Tutt, Roughead all growing in confidence. Wallis and Picken great tagging games and some good disposals too.

I'm officially excited - especially about the quicker ball movement, better & quicker spread and better ability to have a player behind the ball to mop up.

I also thought Campbell, although he did not take a mark I50, looked like a good target & got to right spots as well brining ball to ground to advantage. Let's hope he improves as a forward as has some presence.

I just wish Jones would take some marks I50 - he is frustrating to watch - potential without the performance so many times. Oh for a big key forward who can reliably mark & kick straight....

Agree with all of this. Jones is currently a tease but I'm still hopeful. If Grant can turn it around then the sky is the limit for the whole list!

Roughead was just outstanding today. Felt like he had taken 15 marks - the stats don't tell the story of the influence he had across that backline. Young very very good also.

Got to give some wraps to both the coach and the list management division.

10-08-2013, 09:46 PM
Judd really got them going in the third and when they drew level, I was really starting to worry. Just before the siren looked like he rolled his ankle.

Great last quarter, Griffen with 10 disposals was the difference and you could see the boys weren't going to let this one slip.

The Carlton supporters around us were whinging about free kicks and I kept yelling yeah double ours how many do you want.

10-08-2013, 10:05 PM
How good was Minson? That little handpass to Tutt but out in front so he could run onto it? I thought Will was again quite good in the center - makes up for his lack of height with effort. His work around the ground is not that flash, hack kicks, but quite good effort.

I thought Campbell was quite impressive for his quick decision making. He's very aware of what's going on around him, great involvements.

I really enjoyed watching Jarrod Grant play. See after all the goals, the guys pointing to each other, great body language and clearly enjoying working together. Nothing better than a lost player found.

Well done players, staff and supporters.

10-08-2013, 10:09 PM
The gameplan looks like it's all coming togethor right now. A big pre season for the young fellas + Jones and the sky's the limit.

10-08-2013, 10:14 PM
Pretty excited. Not even going to go into best and worst, just knew we had it in the first ten mins. Go Dogs. Two new recruits next year in Higgins and Williams. I may be wrong about Austin. Go Dogs, pretty proud.

10-08-2013, 10:36 PM
Dogs by 26

Great call DR, I was pumped for this game and we delivered.

10-08-2013, 10:43 PM
It's times like these I love being a Bulldog supporter. Stood at the cheer squad end in various places and when I was walking to the players race there were high fives and hugs from people I'd never seen before and probably will never see again. It's a great feeling and memories I'll keep for a long time.

10-08-2013, 10:49 PM
May still lose this but wow, our turn around since the Melbourne and GWS games has been incredible.

I have to say, I'm really excited for the future.

Maybe we should thank Melbourne for sticking the proverbial rocket up there.

Lucky bugger.

Consistent games from Stringer, Hrovat, Talia, McCrae & Hunter will add to the team greatly next year.

And Prudden, and Williams, and Higgins… and whomever we draft this year. GETTING EXCITED!

I love this part, these lean years where you watch a team come together. Those who jump on when we're playing finals have missed all the magic.

Judd really got them going in the third and when they drew level, I was really starting to worry. Just before the siren looked like he rolled his ankle.

Great last quarter, Griffen with 10 disposals was the difference and you could see the boys weren't going to let this one slip.

The Carlton supporters around us were whinging about free kicks and I kept yelling yeah double ours how many do you want.

Every free Wallis gave away was fair dinkum. Reckon Murphy might fall pregnant with the next Wallis father-son recruit.

The rest was give and take.

The fans near me, except for my Carlton mate who is actually quite good, the others were atrocious. Spent the entire game ripping into their team, then when they drew level were calling them champions, one bloke called out “Let's show these pretenders!” :eek: Then when they fell away again because they didn't have the drive or hunger, or the men on the pine, they blamed the umpires.

Made Richmond look civilised.

Anyway, very excited about another scalp, the confidence in our group is sky high at the moment, we can match it with any team out there in terms of moxy.

10-08-2013, 11:20 PM
Not sure who they would play on Grant who could really trouble them.

Dogs by 26

Ok, Im only doing some highlights of your overall post, but this is a post that shows DR you are in great touch - doing the match report last week obviously agrees with you

11-08-2013, 12:14 AM
I've been a harsh judge in the past (and a doubter), but Wallis' form has been supreme the last few weeks. Love that he's not only shutting out quality players AND finding the ball himself, but he's becoming a mongrel -- annoying the opposition, hitting them hard, niggling etc.

His 'transformation' has been fantastic.

11-08-2013, 12:40 AM
I've been a harsh judge in the past (and a doubter), but Wallis' form has been supreme the last few weeks. Love that he's not only shutting out quality players AND finding the ball himself, but he's becoming a mongrel -- annoying the opposition, hitting them hard, niggling etc.

His 'transformation' has been fantastic.

Last year against the Hawks, Macca had him follow Mitchell around as part of his learning.

At one stage he annoyed Mitchell so much, at the bounce of a ball, Mitchell turned around and punched Wallis in the face. Umpires missed it as did the cameras, so no reports. I think he is becoming that annoying player and upsetting a few - love it.

11-08-2013, 01:51 AM
Fantastic stuff DR,! So accurate it was scary.

Ok, Im only doing some highlights of your overall post, but this is a post that shows DR you are in great touch - doing the match report last week obviously agrees with you

Thanks guys. I'm really chuffed that my quick preview off the top my head was bang on the mark. Will post next week's Lotto numbers tomorrow....

And for those who haven't done one and may feel a bit insecure or lack confidence about doing one - give it a go. It's good fun and makes you think.

11-08-2013, 01:55 AM
Great call DR, I was pumped for this game and we delivered.

I was shouting at the radio call on my iMac as we scored each goal. It's great to beat that filth, and it's even better to wander onto Carlton forums - they are not happy little vegemites.

One prick said how could we (Carlton) be beaten by bums (us) like them.

Well sonny, you not going to enjoy playing us next year, and the year after, and the year after....

11-08-2013, 07:51 AM
Maybe we should thank Melbourne for sticking the proverbial rocket up there.
Made Richmond look civilised.

Anyway, very excited about another scalp, the confidence in our group is sky high at the moment, we can match it with any team out there in terms of moxy.

The Bronx cheering of players is, I'm proud to say, something I have not heard our supporters do. I think it's an absolute disgrace, given that most of us could not give 5% of what these blokes give for the sport. Belongs at other's clubs, thanks.

11-08-2013, 12:36 PM
Such a great win yesterday. Really enjoyed it. I don't want to get too ahead of myself but in 2-3 years time will be finals bound.

11-08-2013, 12:36 PM
The Bronx cheering of players is, I'm proud to say, something I have not heard our supporters do. I think it's an absolute disgrace, given that most of us could not give 5% of what these blokes give for the sport. Belongs at other's clubs, thanks.

Jones has copped it a fair bit over his young career. Not to a massive extent, but relative to crowd size etc its there. Shameful behaviour from fans.

11-08-2013, 01:39 PM
Dogs by 24pts
BOG Grant
First goal Grant

That's the closest prediction I've ever seen on woof I think. Four points away from being bang on! Bravo!

11-08-2013, 01:50 PM
Jones has copped it a fair bit over his young career. Not to a massive extent, but relative to crowd size etc its there. Shameful behaviour from fans.

Same with Cordy and even Grant last year.

11-08-2013, 03:28 PM
I have watched some of the replay today and I just loved watching Malthouse fuming:D

Interesting discussion on 774 today about how the panel think Malthouse has got it wrong with the players and the positions he is trying to play them in. Stan Alves said if you look at the two clubs over the past 12 months, there are big improvements in lots of the Doggies players whereas, there are only maybe two or three Carlton players that have improved under Mick.

11-08-2013, 03:39 PM
Same with Cordy and even Grant last year.

Same with Gia for most of his career

11-08-2013, 05:49 PM
That's the closest prediction I've ever seen on woof I think. Four points away from being bang on! Bravo!

Ta! Earlier in the year I had a dream where EJ told me the result of the St Kilda game Made a few $ on the back of it. FWIW, he also said we'd win a flag from a Will Minson goal on the siren in a game where J Grant would kick 6.

11-08-2013, 05:52 PM

A few years back one of the members here correctly predicted a draw against the Tigers.

11-08-2013, 05:55 PM
Ta! Earlier in the year I had a dream where EJ told me the result of the St Kilda game Made a few $ on the back of it. FWIW, he also said we'd win a flag from a Will Minson goal on the siren in a game where J Grant would kick 6.

Now that is some sort of dream. The sheer unlikelihood of Minson kicking the winning goal.. Must mean it is going to happen !

11-08-2013, 05:57 PM
I have watched some of the replay today and I just loved watching Malthouse fuming:D

Interesting discussion on 774 today about how the panel think Malthouse has got it wrong with the players and the positions he is trying to play them in. Stan Alves said if you look at the two clubs over the past 12 months, there are big improvements in lots of the Doggies players whereas, there are only maybe two or three Carlton players that have improved under Mick.

What about sticking with the torpedo kick ins? I don't think that worked once, yet they kept it going to the end.

11-08-2013, 06:24 PM
I have watched some of the replay today and I just loved watching Malthouse fuming:D ...

Replay where BAD? Recorded? Some secret replay source somewhere? I went to watch the Smart Replay on-line but it's the only match that won't play! The other Saturday matches are all viewable. Very frustrating. I've emailed support and will get a reply in two business days. But I want to watch it NOW.

Listened to the game on radio from my hospital bed yesterday (cue violins) and despite the commentators clearly wanting Carlton to win (3AW) it sounded such a good win. And to overcome the errant kicking for goal in the first quarter ... Phew. So I'm home recuperating now and was really looking forward to watching the replay.

Things are looking good in Bulldog Land and beating the Cheats is as satisfying as beating St Kilda. Maybe more so.

11-08-2013, 07:20 PM

They same Stan Alves who said Melbourne were ahead of us in their rebuild and their players were improving faster than ours? These blokes just make it up based on the result of that week.

I'm looking forward to on the couch this week, Gerard Healy may blow a gasket in his praise for us!

11-08-2013, 08:51 PM

And you didn't share this premonition with your mates here? Selfish, selfish ;).

11-08-2013, 09:15 PM
Replay where BAD? Recorded? Some secret replay source somewhere? I went to watch the Smart Replay on-line but it's the only match that won't play! The other Saturday matches are all viewable. Very frustrating. I've emailed support and will get a reply in two business days. But I want to watch it NOW.

Listened to the game on radio from my hospital bed yesterday (cue violins) and despite the commentators clearly wanting Carlton to win (3AW) it sounded such a good win. And to overcome the errant kicking for goal in the first quarter ... Phew. So I'm home recuperating now and was really looking forward to watching the replay.
Each g
Things are looking good in Bulldog Land and beating the Cheats is as satisfying as beating St Kilda. Maybe more so.

Go to afl.com.au. Along the top of the screen there are boxesp with the scores for each game. Underneath it says Watch Replay. Click on that link and you're watching the game.

11-08-2013, 09:17 PM
Replay where BAD? Recorded? Some secret replay source somewhere?

I recorded it on Foxtel this morning. They had the replay at 7.30am.

11-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Go to afl.com.au. Along the top of the screen there are boxesp with the scores for each game. Underneath it says Watch Replay. Click on that link and you're watching the game.

Tried that but our game wasn't working hence my whinging (is now though). Scorlibo got me sorted - happy little vegemite.

11-08-2013, 09:22 PM

Moments like that I miss my Fox subscription. But only for a moment ... all sorted now.

11-08-2013, 09:25 PM
Moments like that I miss my Fox subscription. But only for a moment ... all sorted now.

Hope you are feeling better as well.

11-08-2013, 09:27 PM

This is how it will happen. At some stage we are all going to be sitting at the MCG. a couple of points down in a GF. But we won't be panicking because we know that Big Wil is coming to the rescue.

What if Wil is playing for GWS though? And we are playing them in the GF? Is Wil going to sink us?

11-08-2013, 09:27 PM
Hope you are feeling better as well.

Thanks BAD - recuperating nicely.

11-08-2013, 09:38 PM
This is how it will happen. At some stage we are all going to be sitting at the MCG. a couple of points down in a GF. But we won't be panicking because we know that Big Wil is coming to the rescue.

What if Wil is playing for GWS though? And we are playing them in the GF? Is Wil going to sink us?

Was I sitting with you the night Will was kicking for goal on the boundary and I boldly declared I'd bear his children if he kicked it?

He obliged, naturally enough.

11-08-2013, 09:44 PM

:p It won't be from a free kick, that is certain. The rest, time will tell.

12-08-2013, 01:07 AM

Malthouse simply realises he doesn't have the right cattle. Expect a big axe to swing.

Hehe, I recorded it and spent this afternoon watching it. Had a few frothies, lovely afternoon on the couch.

In that case, it'll be because they were 2 points down and he sprays it.

12-08-2013, 11:12 AM
Was I sitting with you the night Will was kicking for goal on the boundary and I boldly declared I'd bear his children if he kicked it?

You sure were.

He obliged, naturally enough.

How's that going BTW? Have you contacted Wil about it yet? :cool:

02-12-2013, 09:25 PM
For those with fox footy, replay 2.30pm this Sunday. (Surprised it's not a twilight replay :) )

A 2 hour window into next year. And Jarrad Grant special. FYI.

03-12-2013, 11:44 AM
This was a good day.

03-12-2013, 01:40 PM
For those with fox footy, replay 2.30pm this Sunday. (Surprised it's not a twilight replay :) )

A 2 hour window into next year. And Jarrad Grant special. FYI.

I don't think I'll ever get tired of watching Grant slot his fourth goal, not sure I've ever been more excited :D

03-12-2013, 01:50 PM
I don't think I'll ever get tired of watching Grant slot his fourth goal, not sure I've ever been more excited :D
His game had everything that day. Marking, goals, goal assists, end to end running, look away handballs and saving marks in defence. Boy did he repay the faith that day, if the penny has dropped, he gets the third or 4th string defenders next year with Stew here now. I more excited about his 2014 than any other year. I just hope he stays clear of sting ray barbs.

03-12-2013, 03:06 PM
6QDsanfcdxg

03-12-2013, 05:59 PM

I was sitting with my mate and his two kids in the middle of the Carlton Cheer Squad.

Me and 2 other random dogs surounded by 500 Carlton muppets.

The three of us owned them - including the low mouthed trollop who yelled at the only women there in a dogs jersey.

Said trollop was shot down after some truely sparkling repartee on behalf of my good self...with some help, I might add, from one Jarrad "o yes, I'm having a day out" Grant

A very good day :D