View Full Version : Round 21 Match Preview and Match Discussion: Western Bulldogs vs Adelaide

14-08-2013, 11:30 PM
Gday Woofers, apologies it’s come in earlier without the teams, Thursday and Friday’s pretty hectic with my Uni so I had to pump it out tonight. Hope everyone’s having a good week.

Round 21 Western Bulldogs vs Adelaide Sunday August 18 4.40 E.S.

With the Crows sitting 12th on the ladder and a game out and percentage out of the perhaps prized 9th position, media in Adelaide over the last couple of weeks have started to float the idea the Crows may yet still participate in the business month of the year. Whilst this is a long shot for them they would see their run home as 3 they can win should they get games on their terms. They play us, Melbourne at home, and as it stands now pending 2 weeks of results a potential play off against West Coast in the last round to push for a finals birth. Whilst a lot still has to go their way, their most recent win against North has kept them in it and they obviously need to beat us to keep that pulse alive.
The Western Bulldogs have come off the best 5 weeks of their tenure under Coach McCartney and has the competition starting to stand up and take notice of the path that is gathering momentum out west. Surpassing last year’s total of 5 wins with a win against Carlton last week it came across as a unit that when challenged said to themselves, “we’ve been in this situation far too often in the last 5 weeks (and 18 months) to not tolerate an honorable loss”. With the last 3 weeks of the year presenting games against a crow outfit at home, a fragile off field Brisbane Lions trip, and a game to show the Melbourne football club how much things can change in 2 and a half months of football, we look to build on this form and finish off the year with optimism and spring to launch into a huge off season at the trade, draft and training track.

Form

Having seen the crows most recently live against Collingwood at the G about 5 weeks ago, fielding a really youthful line up, they have a bright future. One that in recent weeks has been rewarded with rising starts to both Rory Laird and Mitch Grigg. With a young team and proving so that night they can have lapses and they certainly got opened up after qtr time that night. Since then a really strong determined win against the Cats at home as well, a highly favourable KPI game against Freo away which saw them go down, a game against port where if Sando didn’t put the Red vest on all his blokes with 5 minutes to go would have won, and a game against the Roos last week that mirrored our game vs Carlton in a lot of ways. After getting out to a really strong start they were challenged in the 3rd, and ended up doing the basics well enough for longer in the last that ensured they come into this week with a pretty reasonable form line.

The same weekend I saw the crows vs Collingwood game, was also the last time I saw the Bulldogs live. Even though we lost, that game and the Hawthorn game you could see we were just starting to get more into the game, by that I mean hung in for longer, put more scoreboard pressure on, defended better and to me without knowing exact numbers it feels like our kicking efficiency has sky rocketed (which complementing high contested ball numbers, is a big deal). I’m not just talking dinky kicks sideways, I’ve seen us go through the corridor at times and play on a lot more after marks, which not only has brought excitement to me and the fans but also has made everyone else more predictable to each other (and opposition finding it hard to set up because we haven’t chipped in the back half for 3 minutes). It gives us more time to set up the ground better, and not leak goals on the back of not being able to set up after someone’s missed a basic 30 m pass. That along with belief and hunger to win has been the big light for me in the last 5 weeks.

Match ups

Wallis to Crouch
I don’t want this kid Crouch given any space at all, has certainly slipped under the radar of other clubs. Is exceptionally clean with hand in the contest on the ground and by foot. This is a game I want Mitch Wallis to use what he’s got from Hodge, Kennedy, and Marc Murphy and give this kid a shake up and let him know that for the next 10 years we play against each other you’re going to have your work cut out every time. It’s going to be Mitch’s relentless pressure inside and discipline that will not only curtail Crouch influence but also hurt him going to other way, something eventually Mitch should be looking to do more often. Ps really liked Mitch’s last month, credit to him and looking forward to it continuing.

Libba and Sloane
I give my Crow mates stick saying Rory is just a poor man’s Libba. Both cracking young kids and I’m optimistic Libba will continue on his clearance warehouse way this week and give Rory an education on how to play at a stoppage. Jokes aside Libba’s ability to work back has been so impressive this year and off the back of what was obviously a huge summer, his willingness to get back and help in defence has been astoundingly impressive (something that hasn’t been acknowledged enough) and this week will need to be no exception as Sloane does have the ability to push forward and create options.

Koby vs Dangerfield (When Danger is in the midfield)
Not sure this will happen but this is what I’d like. Koby is a really well built kid who off a horrible run at injury and OP at West Coast has played majority of games this year. I’d like to see him go to Dangerfield and just see how this pans out. Not only for a good education, Danger isn’t on full cylinders at the moment and after coming back from the shoulder he spent a lot of time forward last week with bursts in the mids. Koby has enough discipline from what I’ve seen to put work into an opponent , tackle hard (big strength) and work off with spread, has the ability to go through the corridor and get in dangerous space himself (thinking that stoppage that started on half back last week and ended up him kicking to Wood). Dangerfield loves to break tackles so there’s going to need to be relentless time put into him to minimize this weapon.

Morris vs Dangerfield (When Danger is forward)
Our best defender, quick, can play on tall or small. He’s there most dangerous player and scoreboard impact is huge. Morris just takes him out of the game.

Tom Lynch vs Robert Murphy
This match up in a weird way will be one of the most influential of the game for mine. Lynch at 30 goals for the year is the leading goal kicker down west lakes....”yes 10 goals against GWS is still a cringe and get’s mentioned by crows fans whenever he is spoken about over here”. However this guy is much improved, and a real strength of his is he takes a lot of marks up the ground roaming. I’m backing Murph in to not only negate this up field influence but also be super damaging the other way, something that has seen Murph play some of the best footy I’ve seen him play.

Van Berlo to Griffen
Obviously a match up I like the look of, one that Griffs output will have a significant baring on the result of the midfield battle. In what should be an All Australian year, this bloke is finally starting to get the media applause he deserves (should be more but has improved) and should also fair incredibly well on Brownlow night. Van Berlo won’t hurt too much offensively but is a battler disciplined and I liken him to the midfield version of Nick Maxwell. Providing Minson continues his good work, I’m expecting another strong output from someone who’s fast becoming a club icon.

Douglas to Cooney
Head to head, I think it’ll be fairly even. I’m hoping for our sake we get a scoreboard victory in this one. I’m backing Cooney to put in good meters gained this game. One thing playing him at times over half back this year, it has showed him defend first mentality at a premium. Douglas is a much underrated player and really tough over it and damaging by foot. I expect Coons to bring the defend first mentality and not play Russian roulette. I want Coons in the midfield though as long as possible, not half back, not half forward. MIDFIELD!

Players to watch

Adelaide
Mitch Grigg – Don’t give this bloke space to use the ball, he’ll slice us.
Lewis Johnston- Incredibly good set shot, defenders if you’re going to give him a forward 50 mark it would want to be near the boundary.
Talia- He did really well on Petrie last week up the ground in particular. Really want some front and centre forwards crumbing at his air contests.

Bulldogs
Dalhaus- Loving the increased time in the midfield, work rate is up, looking forward to him getting off the leash this Sunday.
Tom Young- His body position in both air and on ground against his opponent is seriously to be admired, I've got no doubt Matty Scarlett has had a big say in this kids improvement. His work to take the ball in hand and have a bounce has been refreshing.
Forward line- Funny how we haven't heard about not being able to kick a score in the last 4 weeks, 16 goals 21 last week, with apparently no key forwards, i'm cool with that.

Big shout out to Jarrad Grant - his form has been nothing short of what we hoped he could and wished he would, and it was just so good to hear Macca speak about him in last weeks pressa the way he did. I really hope he continues this until the end of the year, we all do, keep up the good work big fella!!

At the start of last season when both Macca and Sanderson took over these clubs, I thought we were in fairly similar positions (in that we were both going to struggle first year). Living in Adelaide and they make the Prelim last year, it was a rude shock, boy did we hear about it. From the off season with the Kurt Tippet saga to about a month ago, with Walker going down and them looking just a shadow of the team they were displaying to be last year, it has bought us SA doggies some relief. This whole year for us has been an increase on last year. We have certainly learnt how to stop the damn wall from imploding and as mentioned the last 5 weeks has shown a big spike in our form. I somewhat think we have had similar 5 weeks us dogs and the crows. There are going to be times in on the weekend where we are in a position of momentum and unlike the first qtr where we torched these opportunities last week, I am looking for us to take them. There’ll be times when we are behind and challenged and it’s the lessons we’ve been getting all year and the confidence we should take from the West Coast and blues situations that we should believe we can respond. Not only that but NOT TOLERATING GETTING BEATEN.

Last time we met was round 4 at Aami, we had 2 goals on the board with 5 minutes to play, it pissed down the whole game, Crows supporters are about as easy to have a conversation with as a person who doesn’t speak english, it was my 2nd worst experience at Aami ever. A lot has changed since then however and from a selfish point of view, this is my Grand Final, but from a whole point of view, this is a chance to set another foot and building block forward. To continue this spike in progression and take some serious momentum into the off season.

Unfortunately I’m not making the trip over but I encourage all Western Bulldogs faithful to get along and support the lad.

My heart says we are winning and my head thinks we will play better for longer again.
Playing under the lid should help us immensely.

Dogs by 16 points. [/RIGHT][/LEFT]

15-08-2013, 12:12 AM
Mate! I feel your pain. If we were to win one more game this year, this would be the one. To crush their undeserved final chance would make living in Adelaide tolerable until we set up for next season. Lets smash these pelicans!

We really need to dominate the midfield and keep Rodney Dangfield, Rory the racing car and Cooch quiet to gain the ascendency. I have the feeling that they may try to work over Merlin to knock his confidence.

Super preview, I am loving the diversity of styles lately. I think some of the match ups may pan out differently but we shall see.

Pelicans!

15-08-2013, 01:50 AM
Great work on the preview mate, good read.

15-08-2013, 05:05 AM
Good write up Clay.
Walker gave us untold grief last time in the wet, and I'm tipping our backs will be relieved he's out.
Great thing about this Essendon saga is that teams just out are not putting the cue in the rack.
Thing we're a big chance in this .

15-08-2013, 08:05 AM
One of my favourite previews, good work! Easily read, grounded and just the right mix of passion.

I think Dogs by 13 points.

15-08-2013, 08:21 AM
One of my favourite previews, good work! Easily read, grounded and just the right mix of passion.

Hints of chocolate, violets and spice. Best served with lamb ;)

Great work CMM. Some obscure matchups but great outside the box thinking !

15-08-2013, 08:42 AM
Great read and thank you for your thoughts. After that effort, you better jump on a Tiger airways and get over here.

15-08-2013, 11:10 AM
What a great preview! Beautifully summed up; totally agree!

My heart says we are winning and my head thinks we will play better for longer again.
Playing under the lid should help us immensely.

15-08-2013, 01:13 PM
Excellent job sir! Well thought out with some quirky match ups that could logically eventuate. Enjoyed the read.

15-08-2013, 01:48 PM
Great read and thank you for your thoughts. After that effort, you better jump on a Tiger airways and get over here.

It would be better if he bought a ticket and got inside the airplane.

15-08-2013, 07:40 PM
Official Ins & Outs.

WESTERN BULLDOGS
In: M.Boyd, L.Hunter, J.Macrae
Out: -

ADELAIDE
In: M.Jaensch, I.Callinan, S.McKernan, S.Kerridge
Out: R.Henderson (knee)

15-08-2013, 08:01 PM
One of the best write ups I have read this year Clay. Thanks for taking the time.

15-08-2013, 09:44 PM
Round 21 Western Bulldogs vs Adelaide Sunday August 18 4.40 E.S.

FOR F#%K SAKE!
F#%KN MOTHER F%#KN BLOODY SUNDAY TWILIGHT GAMES!:mad::mad::mad:

15-08-2013, 11:36 PM
FOR F#%K SAKE!

Last three games all twilght matches ie 4.40pm, which makes it four in a row.:mad:

15-08-2013, 11:48 PM
Last three games all twilght matches ie 4.40pm, which makes it four in a row.:mad:

Any chance that if we keep playing the twilight games that we might become twilight specialists and then it's an advantage....? Then when they change the GF to a twilight game.....?

Nope... probably not.

15-08-2013, 11:59 PM
Any chance that if we keep playing the twilight games that we might become twilight specialists and then it's an advantage....? Then when they change the GF to a twilight game.....?

Nope... probably not.

8 in total this season.

16-08-2013, 12:00 AM
Great write up Clay, hoping our form continues and we get another win.

16-08-2013, 11:03 AM
FOR F#%K SAKE!

My feelings exactly. It is basically impossible to take young kids to the game with this time slot. Even trying to sit down and listen/watch at home is awkward if you have to prepare meals, chase up homework etc at this time of the evening.

HATE twilight games.

Having said all that, I'm actually going this week :D but only because my husband has volunteered to stay home.

16-08-2013, 11:59 AM
FOR F#%K SAKE!

Don't like these times at all. It certainly puts people off from going especially since we are not finals bound and the fact that it looks like it might rain.

16-08-2013, 12:29 PM
We can be the dusk specialists. Take the competition by storm. The Western Vampires.

We can make this our own, like North did with Friday night, then when it becomes cool/profitable the big clubs can be given it.

*Edit, i F****** hate Sunday twilight games

16-08-2013, 12:30 PM
Don't like these times at all. It certainly puts people off from going especially since we are not finals bound and the fact that it looks like it might rain.

Dude! Why wouldn't you go? We may not be finals bound but we are playing the best football for sometime. You were going to the games when we were playing like rubbish, and now your thinking of not going when we are actually playing well?

And the rain - well there is the "lid" as claysman so elequently put it, to stop the rain from getting you!

16-08-2013, 12:55 PM
To be fair I don't think ED was saying he wouldn't be there.

I'm really looking forward to it, regardless of timeslot to stick it up the Crows!

16-08-2013, 01:54 PM
Got an email invite to the legends bar to see the great man and the 54 cup. Where is the legends bar and can my kids come in?

16-08-2013, 02:11 PM
Thanks for the kind feedback, enjoyed putting it together. Would have loved to make it over, i just couldn't get there this weekend. Thanks for Chef for getting the extended teams in for me. 3 very handy players potentially in, not sure who makes way though. Really strong problem to have. Haha as other SA people have spoken about, I'm cool with singing the club song at 6.30 on a Sunday night as opposed to not at all, all the neighbors can enjoy their dinner listening to me and my mate hopefully belting it out.

Fingers crossed though finishing the season off well will somewhat ease our 4.30 time slots off going forward.

16-08-2013, 02:17 PM
Got an email invite to the legends bar to see the great man and the 54 cup. Where is the legends bar and can my kids come in?

Same. I think its part of Access Club? http://www.axcessone.com.au/legends-bar

16-08-2013, 06:22 PM
Final Team:

In: Hunter, Boyd

Out: Tutt, Jones both omitted,

16-08-2013, 06:24 PM
Western Bulldogs

B Liam Picken , Jordan Roughead , Dale Morris

HB Tom Young , Mark Austin , Robert Murphy

C Matthew Boyd , Tom Liberatore , Daniel Cross

HF Ryan Griffen , Jarrad Grant , Daniel Giansiracusa

F Luke Dahlhaus , Tom Campbell , Koby Stevens

Fol Will Minson , Mitch Wallis , Adam Cooney

I/C Dylan Addison , Easton Wood , Lachie Hunter , Tory Dickson

Emg Jason Tutt , Jack Macrae , Liam Jones

16-08-2013, 06:27 PM
Interesting selections, it probably shows how highly the club rates Hunter.

16-08-2013, 06:29 PM
Dude! Why wouldn't you go? We may not be finals bound but we are playing the best football for sometime. You were going to the games when we were playing like rubbish, and now your thinking of not going when we are actually playing well?

And the rain - well there is the "lid" as claysman so elequently put it, to stop the rain from getting you!

Not sure if you have young children Azabob but it is very family unfriendly to be getting home at ~9 - 9:30pm on a Sunday night to then get the kids ready for school the next day. For singles or couples it might suit but these time slots do nothing for growing our base and will only give a leg up to those Clubs that aren't fixtured into these awful slots with the frequency that we are.

16-08-2013, 08:13 PM
Not sure if you have young children Azabob but it is very family unfriendly to be getting home at ~9 - 9:30pm on a Sunday night to then get the kids ready for school the next day. For singles or couples it might suit but these time slots do nothing for growing our base and will only give a leg up to those Clubs that aren't fixtured into these awful slots with the frequency that we are.

Totally understand Doc. Time is awful. I was having a little joke with ED as I know from his posts he seems to go most weeks, and he has put in the hard yards so he shouldn't stop now!

16-08-2013, 09:17 PM
Interesting selections, it probably shows how highly the club rates Hunter.

Agreed, very interesting selections. Thought Tutt was good last week when he came on. Jones probably paid the price for not being able to take advantage of the Bootsma matchup.

Good to see Hunter back though, he's going to be a gun if he keeps improving and working as hard as he obviously has this year.

16-08-2013, 09:29 PM

Its really bad we didn't get at least one game on Friday night this season which is the showcase match in the round. I hope when we start doing well we don't get too many 4:40pm matches but that's the price we pay for live footy.

17-08-2013, 09:49 AM

Where do you live?

I'm also located in the Eastern suburbs but with the game finishing at 7:15 I'm home by 8. How does it take you nearly 2 hours?

17-08-2013, 10:24 AM

While the time doesn't concern me I agree with your points. I think a 3.30pm time slot on a Sunday would be better for most people giving them the chance to be home by 7.30 or 8pm.

What I don't mind about the 4.40pm slot is that I tend to have my cooked meal for lunch and take a couple of sandwiches along to the game.

For a 2pm game it harder for me to be bothered preparing something decent either before or after the game. I don't mind a 4.40pm game on a Saturday at all.

17-08-2013, 10:52 AM
Tutty must be a little miffed.

17-08-2013, 11:06 AM
Tutty must be a little miffed.

I think he has really made some positive steps in recent weeks and I agree he would be disappointed to be dropped.

I tend to think he is going to have some challenges holding down a permanent spot in the coming years though. Hrovat, Dahlhaus and Hunter will occupy the small forward/midfield spots and he is up against Johannisen as a small defender.

Competition is good though and he could very well be a solid player for us over the next few seasons.

17-08-2013, 12:23 PM
Where do you live?

I'm also located in the Eastern suburbs but with the game finishing at 7:15 I'm home by 8. How does it take you nearly 2 hours?

Using last week's game against Carlton. We decided to take the train in given possible parking issues plus it is a nice way to travel in and share the experience with other Bulldogs donned out in their red, white and blue.

Last week's game finished at 7.24 on the Etihad clock. After adding 5 to ~10 mins. with post game cheer and farewells, ~7:35, we make our way down from the bleaches of Level 3 to walk to Southern Cross Station. Families can be a bit slower to move and having missed the 7:39 train, the next train to depart our Lilydale line is at 8:09pm, plus a couple of minutes running late. Add a 45min+ train trip, then a car trip home, we arrived home just after 9pm.

This is not uncommon for games scheduled at 4:40pm at Etihad and there are others in Bulldog colours who are continuing their train journey before our family disembarks although of course with less and less families making such a commitment.

This is the devil in the detail that should not be lost on our administrators If they are serious in wanting to grow our core membership base.

17-08-2013, 12:28 PM
Completely forgot about trains. I usually find that you're better off driving, our games are rarely well attended enough to cause traffic issues and the cost of parking and tolls ($20) is cheaper or an equilavent to the price of a car load of train tickets. The exception to this is the underground car park, which is both overpriced and stupidly designed.

17-08-2013, 12:44 PM

Go in at gate 2 head up the escalator, it's around to the right. Kids are fine to go in there.

17-08-2013, 01:36 PM
Thanks Slim.

17-08-2013, 01:41 PM
Can anyone tell me why there have to be twilight Sunday games at all? Didn't they used to play two or three games concurrently eg 1pm MCG, 2pm Pattisons, 2:15pm Etihad?

I'm assuming its broadcast related which is just b&$$&":t if they actually want to grow supporter bases, memberships, financial sustainability for all clubs blah blah.

They seem to have a series of unintegrated strategies when they look at stadium deals, broadcast deals, game branding activity, member needs with regards game attendance and club sustainability. Broken and bizarre..???

17-08-2013, 01:46 PM
Can anyone tell me why there have to be twilight Sunday games at all? Didn't they used to play two or three games concurrently eg 1pm MCG, 2pm Pattisons, 2:15pm Etihad?

I'm assuming its broadcast related which is just b&$$&":t if they actually want to grow supporter bases, memberships, financial sustainability for all clubs blah blah.

They seem to have a series of unintegrated strategies when they look at stadium deals, broadcast deals, game branding activity, member needs with regards game attendance and club sustainability. Broken and bizarre..???

All fits in with the broadcasting I am afraid.

17-08-2013, 03:40 PM
Dogs by 25 points
First Goal: Dahlhaus
BOG: Griffen

17-08-2013, 04:27 PM
Dogs by 17
BOG Griffen
First goal Campbell

17-08-2013, 05:31 PM
Don't think I'm going this week, as many here say, these twilight games absolutely suck. I don't get home till about nine, withwork the next day iit's a pain in the derriere. Not happy AFL.

Crows by 14
BOG for us Griff
First goal Dahlhaus

17-08-2013, 05:33 PM
Dogs by 25
BOG Libba
First goal Campbell

17-08-2013, 06:18 PM
Dogs by 12
BOG Griffen
First Goal: Dickson

17-08-2013, 06:21 PM
Dogs by 63
Grant 1st
Libba BOG

17-08-2013, 06:28 PM
Dogs by 21 Points

First Goal: Campbell

BOG: Libba

17-08-2013, 07:17 PM
Don't think I'm going this week, as many here say, these twilight games absolutely suck. I don't get home till about nine, withwork the next day iit's a pain in the derriere. Not happy AFL.

Crows by 14
BOG for us Griff
First goal Dahlhaus

I'm predicting a crowd of around 20,000

17-08-2013, 11:47 PM
My Vic base is now Greensborough and home by 8 last week.
Parked on a meter in Bourke St Docklands and pretty easy get away, straight onto the Tulla from Footscray Rd and onto the the Ring Rd and 30 min to Greensborough.

Certainly a bigger problem if you park under the Stadium.

Will be there this week
Bulldogs by 27
First Goal - Dickson
BOG Griffen.

NoName
18-08-2013, 12:03 PM
BOG - Griffen
Bulldogs by 13
First Goal - Grant

18-08-2013, 12:07 PM

The game at 1 finishes just in time for the twilight match, meaning people watch both. 3 games concurrently just means they cannabalise eachothers viewing figures. It makes sense commercially, and it would be alright if they spread the games out evenly (so everyone gets only 1-2 and the remainder went to the perth teams where 4:40 translates to 1:40 local.

18-08-2013, 12:38 PM
The game at 1 finishes just in time for the twilight match, meaning people watch both. 3 games concurrently just means they cannabalise eachothers viewing figures. It makes sense commercially, and it would be alright if they spread the games out evenly (so everyone gets only 1-2 and the remainder went to the perth teams where 4:40 translates to 1:40 local.

I wish they would bring back the 2:10pm starts. Doesn't matter if the games are at the same time. At least will all finish at a reasonable time. As I said live footy is good and all but it certainly comes at a cost.

18-08-2013, 12:42 PM
I wish they would bring back the 2:10pm starts. Doesn't matter if the games are at the same time. At least will all finish at a reasonable time. As I said live footy is good and all but it certainly comes at a cost.

The TV rights are $1 billion. If the games were on at the same time, the TV rights would be something like $100 million.

18-08-2013, 03:03 PM
I'm predicting a crowd of around 20,000

Could be lower than 20,000 actually.

18-08-2013, 03:24 PM
Dogs by 9 points
First goal: Grant

18-08-2013, 04:20 PM
Teams final. Hunter sub

18-08-2013, 04:42 PM
Dogs by 17 pts
BOG: Griff
First goal: Dahl

18-08-2013, 05:20 PM
Teams final. Hunter sub

Suspected as much.

Dogs by 15.
Grant 1st goal.
Dahlhaus BOG

18-08-2013, 05:48 PM
Campbell looking very good up forward. Great start by him.

18-08-2013, 05:57 PM
Great intensity in this game. Goal to Dahlaus.

18-08-2013, 05:58 PM
Strong hands from Coons a couple of times, good start from Campbell and Grant.

18-08-2013, 06:03 PM
Dixon not started well.

18-08-2013, 06:04 PM
You feel we need to keep at it because the Crows have a lot of run.

18-08-2013, 06:05 PM
Good quality game, poor crowd though. Addison doing well

18-08-2013, 06:08 PM
Good quality game, poor crowd though. Addison doing well

I think we can keep it up because I believe our fitness has dramatically improved. What do you reckon the crowd is?

18-08-2013, 06:08 PM
Austin made up for a poor decision with some great commitment.

18-08-2013, 06:09 PM
Loving Campbell's game so far.

18-08-2013, 06:17 PM
Jeezus we outscored our whole first game against Adelaide this year, 25 minutes into the first quarter.

18-08-2013, 06:27 PM
Lot of off the ball frees, we need to adjust to this.

18-08-2013, 06:35 PM
Would be great to fit Tom Boyd into our team up forward but the big decision is who do we trade away.

18-08-2013, 06:50 PM
Good standard game but we needed to kick more than 2 goals for the quarter.
Crows very dangerous when they get space.

18-08-2013, 06:55 PM
We've done we'll to hang in and lead at halftime. On the overall balance of play we should be 2 or 3 goals down. We'll really need to put in a big second half.

There's been some big hits.

18-08-2013, 06:56 PM
Good standard game but we needed to kick more than 2 goals for the quarter.
Crows very dangerous when they get space.

They should be a couple of goals up. They ran way harder & smarter. Winning too much of the contested ball too. Think we're in trouble if we can't start turning it back the other way.

18-08-2013, 07:12 PM
Big Tommy C!

18-08-2013, 07:13 PM
We need Grant to get going

18-08-2013, 07:14 PM
Great start to the 3rd.

18-08-2013, 07:31 PM
Looking tired now.

18-08-2013, 07:32 PM
Hunter on for Tom Young.
Would have gone with either Dixon or DFA as both have been very ordinary today.

18-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Just hope it don't get ugly...

18-08-2013, 07:34 PM
The bubble hasn't only burst, it's exploded.

18-08-2013, 07:35 PM
Looking tired now.

we have been outplayed since the start of the second quarter, hopefully we won't give up and cop a hiding.

18-08-2013, 07:39 PM
Can't recall a more over-officiated game ever. Good or bad, they are in every play ATM.

Tom Campbell > Tom Boyd

Hunter on for Tom Young.
Would have gone with either Dixon or DFA as both have been very ordinary today.

and in true Cometti style, goal to Dixon.:)

18-08-2013, 07:43 PM
We need to get off to a quick start in the 4th quarter. Grant and Gia must impose themselves on the game by kick a goal or two.

18-08-2013, 07:45 PM
We were dominated out of the centre that quarter. Need to lift there too. Also our small up forward in Dickson, Gia, Grant and to a lesser extent Dahlhaus need to get more involved.

And has anyone seen this many off the ball frees paid in a round before, let alone a match?

18-08-2013, 07:48 PM
Tom Campbell > Tom Boyd

Maybe one too many beers, but as a big, dark haired bloke with sunken cheekbones in a Dogs guernsey, clunking marks and kicking goals, I found myself throwing back to Dempsey and Templeton..! At least in my mind. Potentially the dangerous mix of alcohol and optimism! Nonetheless, the kid looks great for a 21yo ruckman!

18-08-2013, 07:50 PM
We need to get off to a quick start in the 4th quarter. Grant and Gia must impose themselves on the game by kick a goal or two.

Well Gia answered the challenge. C'mon Grant we need a goal or two

18-08-2013, 07:51 PM
We are a fighting club. Good one Cooney

18-08-2013, 07:55 PM
Pickens getting slaughtered as a FB.

18-08-2013, 08:05 PM
Dickson!

18-08-2013, 08:06 PM
Dickson!

Never doubted him.:D

18-08-2013, 08:06 PM
Dickson!!! That's the way

18-08-2013, 08:07 PM
Dickson is hopeless. Should be dropped. ;)

Hunter great vision.

3 goals ahead!!!!!

18-08-2013, 08:08 PM
For anyone who has said they weren't sure what Dickson gives us,... 6 goals!

18-08-2013, 08:09 PM
We are playing like we are finals bound. It's great to watch.

18-08-2013, 08:09 PM
Lachie Hanger!

18-08-2013, 08:17 PM
just seeing the score since halfway through the 3rd. Cant believe what i am seeing! Obviously not much defense but at least we are finding the goals!

18-08-2013, 08:18 PM
One for Cooney !!

18-08-2013, 08:23 PM
Wow, crazy game, who would've thought Big Tommy would be clunking them, and Dicko would kick 6?

18-08-2013, 08:23 PM
9 goals in the first half, 11 in the 2nd.

Gotta love this club.

18-08-2013, 08:24 PM
Absolutely stoked with the win. Wish we played at a better time but nonetheless brilliant dogs.

18-08-2013, 08:25 PM
Can't wait til next week, will be there at the gabba hoping for more of what we have done in the last month or so.Future is looking so bright

18-08-2013, 08:26 PM
Yo Rinnyyyy! :D

18-08-2013, 08:29 PM
This is going to be a good train trip home.

18-08-2013, 08:31 PM
I had to work today so haven't seen or heard any of the game. All i know is what I've read in this thread and what a roller coaster that has been. Thanks to all contributors!!

I asked my mrs to record the game and she forgot :mad:

18-08-2013, 08:35 PM
What a great last quarter

18-08-2013, 08:35 PM
Man I thought we were cooked at 3/4 time. Amazing last quarter.

18-08-2013, 08:41 PM

We kicked 7 in the first and 7 in the last. I thought they got on top from mid way in the second quarter

18-08-2013, 08:43 PM

Great sign. Our fitness has improved dramatically so kudos to our fitness staff.

18-08-2013, 08:44 PM
This is going to be a good train trip home.

Do us a favor, don't go home yet, wait outside the media area for Gerard Healy and tell him to stick that one up his a#%e!
The whole telecast he kept up with the Dangerfield obsession, the "the dogs are struggling", the "just waiting for the flood gates", the "dogs are just hanging on here". F%#k off Gerard!

18-08-2013, 08:47 PM
What an enjoyable game.

18-08-2013, 08:52 PM
I thought we were gone, but it looks like we have a special group of players. Look out next year it maybe the start of things to come.

18-08-2013, 08:52 PM
Amazing performance -- real character, heart and determination.

Adelaide were playing brilliant football and were right on top, looked like they would steamroll us. It shows fantastic maturity and leadership to stem the bleeding and then counter attack like we did in the last quarter.

Love this club!

18-08-2013, 08:53 PM
Good weekend for me with Man Utd and the Dogs getting up.

18-08-2013, 08:54 PM
We kicked 7 in the first and 7 in the last. I thought they got on top from mid way in the second quarter
Yep, just stuck it out in the middle, great bookends though.

18-08-2013, 09:01 PM
Yet Another game in the last 6 or so weeks that has added to the ticks collecting in the positive column for both coach, club and individual performers.

Tested again this week and we came through with flying colours.
Really proud of the club. It is fantastic to look forward to watching the boys play once again.

What I really love, and it adds to the growing positive culture of our club, is that we have placed a very high currency in aiming to win -in spite of the ramifications it will have on our draft position. Take note tankers, the value of building a culture that places a premium on always trying to win.

I don't get as much time to post these days, with the ever expanding duties of being a Dad, but the little guy has just fallen asleep and I really wanted to jump on here and say how pleased I am at how the guys are playing and looking to finish the year full of confidence.

18-08-2013, 09:11 PM
10 goals from two players taken off the Bendigo VFL side just a couple of seasons back.

18-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Terrific win, delighted with our form line after the Melbourne game

The resolve of the group has been impressive as has been our improved ball use

18-08-2013, 09:21 PM
I had to work today so haven't seen or heard any of the game. All i know is what I've read in this thread and what a roller coaster that has been. Thanks to all contributors!!

I asked my mrs to record the game and she forgot :mad:

Missed the game as well. Caught the last quarter at the TAB but i'll be watching a replay on the AFL website.

18-08-2013, 09:34 PM
Once again I'm a little surprised to arrive him from the game and see so little activity on the forum.

It was a great win wasn't it?

18-08-2013, 09:35 PM
Once again I'm a little surprised to arrive him from the game and see so little activity on the forum.

We should really enjoy this and not take it for granted.

18-08-2013, 09:36 PM

Maybe the rest can't get Internet at their local watering holes??

Yes, sensational win!

18-08-2013, 09:37 PM
Good on Macca for keeping Dickson on. Thought he'd be subbed off and he kicked 6 beauties in second half and did a few nice things around the ground also in second half.

Also Hunter a sub was superb.

And Wallis - probably the best game I've seen him play.

Grant may not have kicked goals however still did enough hard stuff to be proud even though Talia probably took honours on the night.

Minson was better around ground tonight to complent great ruckwork in 1st qtr, last 5 to 10 mins 3rd qtr & last qtr.

Campbell's presence not only in forward line but breaking packs & creating a great target around ground making a tremendously big +ve difference.

Roughie & Morris did pretty well for most of the night.

Cooney & Griffen smooth as ever.

Picken tried his guts out as always and I think he is a bit of a heartbeat for our team.

And saving best for last, Liberatore - you little ripper !!!!

Probably worth another post - should Gia play on? I was thinking no, now I'm thinking yes.....

And Macca - I've been a true believer since part way through this year - I can see your plan coming to fruition. Winning contested ball - tick. Better spread - tick. Looking out for your mates - tick. Running with ball & taking game on - tick. Better delivery to forward line - tick. Getting ahead of myself as excited doggies supporter - tick.

And now we need a leading tall forward - the way we are playing I think we'd be an attractive team to anyone thinking twice about moving clubs. ???Jack Watts - go west young man???

18-08-2013, 09:37 PM

Missed it but I can't wait to watch a replay. I've been excited since the Essendon game. We are a hard, tough & an exciting team to watch.

What pleased you the most GVG?

18-08-2013, 09:38 PM
Maybe the rest can't get Internet at their local watering holes??

Yes, sensational win!

56 members logged on when I got home. Not that many posts to read though.

18-08-2013, 09:42 PM

I thought this was a really significant one. We looked tired in the third quarter. What followed was just real grit, courage, everyone contributing.

GVG, the forum may be quiet but it was electric at the game..it felt like many more than the disappointing official figure. People leapt around with joy. A wonderful win.

It seemed like the season was grinding on forever, now I wish it would go longer!

18-08-2013, 09:42 PM

Our most impressive win for a long time IMO.

We were seriously challenged in the second/third quarters, even early in the last, and Adelaide were playing great football. They were smashing us in the clearances/stoppages and were breaking the lines, hitting up leading targets really well. To be able to fight our way back, stop the Adelaide surge, and then attack with one of our own showed tremendous fight, courage, pride and maturity.

This has been a stunning form reversal.

18-08-2013, 09:44 PM
I thought this was a really significant one. We looked tired in the third quarter. What followed was just real grit, courage, everyone contributing.

GVG, the forum may be quiet but it was electric at the game..it felt like many more than the disappointing official figure. People leapt around with joy. A wonderful win.

It seemed like the season was grinding on forever, now I wish it would go longer!

The AFL would be happy with the quality of the game and I agree that it just seemed like there was more there.
Got to talk to some nice Bulldog fans on the train ride home. People are loving this club again and appreciating the effort of the players and coaches.

18-08-2013, 09:46 PM
Regretting a bit not going tonight but hoping to get to the game in the last round.

18-08-2013, 09:48 PM
Hmmm. Not sure then...

18-08-2013, 09:50 PM

Well in my excitement on the train trip home from the game I tried to post from my phone but it wouldn't load ... Home now and can't wait to watch that again - fantastic, a game that had everything!

Love Hunter! And there was a passage of play where Grant tried three times on his own to get possession before the cavalry arrived - terrific stuff! I'm over flowing with joy for our Club right now!

18-08-2013, 09:50 PM
What a game. So proud of the boys.

18-08-2013, 09:52 PM
10 goals from two players taken off the Bendigo VFL side just a couple of seasons back.

Very good point

18-08-2013, 09:52 PM
Regretting a bit not going tonight but hoping to get to the game in the last round.

It was a great game and the fans were noisy! As someone said earlier, seemed like a lot more people there than the official (pretty low) attendance figure.

18-08-2013, 09:56 PM
I give Boyd some credit, his disposal was very good this week. 20 handballs 7 kicks at 88.9% is what we want from him.

Well done Matthew Boyd.

18-08-2013, 09:56 PM
Have any doubts on Dickson been answered tonight?
He kicked a lot of goals in his debut season and despite this one being interrupted by injuries and form he's developed into a more versatile player this year.

18-08-2013, 09:58 PM
I give Boyd some credit, his disposal was very good this week. 20 handballs 7 kicks at 88.9% is what we want from him.

Well done Matthew Boyd.

He needs to accept that he doesn't need to be the main man in the middle now. Less touches but a better efficiency is exactly what we need from him.

18-08-2013, 10:00 PM
It was a great game and the fans were noisy! As someone said earlier, seemed like a lot more people there than the official (pretty low) attendance figure.

They said it was over 20,000. I'm a reserved seat member and watching from TV it did look a bit more fuller it certain sections.

18-08-2013, 10:02 PM

Well done Matthew Boyd.

Spotted up a couple of great short kicks into the space of our small leading forwards. Good return for him today and was important as always around the clearances where the Crows were very good for much of the day. He helped us out late with some strong efforts.

18-08-2013, 10:03 PM
He kicked a lot of goals in his debut season and despite this one being interrupted by injuries and form he's developed into a more versatile player this year.

Spot on. He just needs to get a bit fitter again over the pre-season so he can make some better efforts defensively. His forward line work today was very strong and he's such a reliable finisher, going to be a good player for us for quite a while I suspect.

I don't want to pick the scab and hijack the thread, but again do you think this has anything to do with the always pleasurable :rolleyes: Sunday twilight game?
Hard to post with the rat race Sunday night routine for some people.

Only heard the ABC radio call, but they were pretty impressed with Hunter when he came on. What did he do so special?

18-08-2013, 10:04 PM
Spotted up a couple of great short kicks into the space of our small leading forwards. Good return for him today and was important as always around the clearances where the Crows were very good for much of the day. He helped us out late with some strong efforts.

Easily Boyd's best game of the year IMO.

Thought he made good decisions and used the ball well -- didn't "over play" situations and played to his strengths. I noticed he started on the wing a couple of times too.

18-08-2013, 10:06 PM
Only heard the ABC radio call, but they were pretty impressed with Hunter when he came on. What did he do so special?

Hunter got involved, took a nice specky and was in the right spots at the right time.

18-08-2013, 10:07 PM
Spot on. He just needs to get a bit fitter again over the pre-season so he can make some better efforts defensively. His forward line work today was very strong and he's such a reliable finisher, going to be a good player for us for quite a while I suspect.

He is a very good dead eye dick in front of goal. I started to remember a bit of Paul Hudson today from Dickson.
......remember him? That dude never missed a shot in a Bulldogs jumper.

18-08-2013, 10:10 PM
He is a very good dead eye dick in front of goal. I started to remember a bit of Paul Hudson today from Dickson.
......remember him? That dude never missed a shot in a Bulldogs jumper.

Huddo kicked 133 behinds for us.;)

18-08-2013, 10:10 PM
They said it was over 20,000. I'm a reserved seat member and watching from TV it did look a bit more fuller it certain sections.

The figure they put up at the game was only a little over 17k ... It is a crappy time slot for many folk, especially those with school age kids.

18-08-2013, 10:11 PM

Took a speccie, and showed good vision when kicking inside 50.

18-08-2013, 10:14 PM
The figure they put up at the game was only a little over 17k ... It is a crappy time slot for many folk, especially those with school age kids.

The only disappointing with the match was the time. I'm in the eastern suburbs moving from Vermont South to Balwyn by the end of the year so fairly closer for me for next year but regardless of that I agree if you have school age kids it puts you off.

18-08-2013, 10:15 PM

Loved his tenacity (he’s not alone with that trait), looked good. And he's so young!

18-08-2013, 10:17 PM
Huddo kicked 133 behinds for us.;)

Ansett cup matches don't count:D .......and let's not forget they didn't have the score review sys back then.
How many am I down to now:o

18-08-2013, 10:17 PM
Just got home after taking the young fella to the game. Sensational win against a good team in good form. I loved our ability to win despite losing the contested possessions and getting smashed in the clearances. We would have lost that game by 15 goals last year with similar stats. Most enjoyable finish to a season since 2005.

18-08-2013, 10:19 PM
The only disappointing with the match was the time. I'm in the eastern suburbs moving from Vermont South to Balwyn by the end of the year so fairly closer for me for next year but regardless of that I agree if you have school age kids it puts you off.

An 'eastdog' myself but a bit closer to town ... Balwyn will be a much shorter trip. However, surely, surely, surely we are deserving of less twilight fixturing for next season.

Soo damn proud!

Ansett cup matches don't count:D .......and let's not forget they didn't have the score review sys back then.
How many am I down to now:o

I'll let you off 129 but it was 0 goals 4 behinds in the great round 21 Bulldogs Essendon game of 2000. Can't let that go.:D

18-08-2013, 10:25 PM
An 'eastdog' myself but a bit closer to town ... Balwyn will be a much shorter trip. However, surely, surely, surely we are deserving of less twilight fixturing for next season.

Yeah absolutely if we keep doing well then hopefully we can get better times for ours games in future. My opinion is they should scrap the twilight games but when there is money for the AFL they'll do it.

18-08-2013, 10:30 PM

He spotted up Wallis and kicked a nicely weighted kick his way which resulted in a goal.

18-08-2013, 10:34 PM
He spotted up Wallis and kicked a nicely weighted kick his way which resulted in a goal.

His footy smarts are brilliant. Great vision and skill and gives us an x-factor that we lack.

18-08-2013, 10:35 PM

I had doubts a month ago, and rightly so when his efforts were very poor laying few tackles and looking not up to AFL standard. My mantra was if he can kick two a week (average, which is 40 in a season), then keep him in. This week he showed he can be the opportunist that we want him to be. Well done.

18-08-2013, 10:36 PM
Hunter got involved, took a nice specky and was in the right spots at the right time.

and created a couple of goals from difficult situations.

18-08-2013, 10:44 PM
I take mine each week, she's 7. But then I'm happy for her to have a bit of a late one, its just so damn enjoyable having her at the game.

His footy smarts are brilliant. Great vision and skill and gives us an x-factor that we lack.

Do we? Dahlhaus, Grant, Cooney, Griffen, Murphy… we have some great, unpredictable players.

18-08-2013, 10:58 PM
How good was Wallis' gut running in the last and Hunter's clever snap to find him. I loved that he went back and kicked the goal, essentially icing the contest.

You just know he's going to do everything he can to be successful and given his family history, he'll bleed red, white and blue until the day he dies. The club is in safe hands with Wally.

18-08-2013, 11:11 PM
Hunter had ten touches in the last qtr.

18-08-2013, 11:13 PM
Reading some quotes from Macca's presser, sounds like he wasn't all that happy with how open the game was at times, and that he would have liked us to be able to shut it down a bit better:

"It seemed like a pretty good game to watch, I would have thought. Entertaining, but probably a bit open for what we'd like

"The ball was up and back [in the first quarter]. At times you need to be able to do it but just as importantly you need to be able to shut it down.

"Just to put the record straight, we don't want to be a club that just plays a brawling mass of people either. We want to be able to deal with a game like that and also be really good in other areas of the game too.

"I'm not going to get too picky because it was a good win for our club and another nice step forward."

Then, later about converting opportunities:

"For us to find 20 goals today from only 46 entries, it's sort of against the grain for us.

"We've needed 65, 68 entries to kick 20 goals so our forward line has been a point of conjecture for a while now but we're gradually getting there, bit by bit."

18-08-2013, 11:14 PM
Hunter had ten touches in the last qtr.

Now THAT is how you should come on as a sub.

Mick Malthouse should make Chris Yarran watch Lachie's last quarter.

18-08-2013, 11:15 PM
10 touches in the last quarter, I heard on the radio. Really added a spark in the last. Dickson bobbing up around goals was important too, thought his first three quarters were pretty average though.

Minson was superb, his chase down tackle on Dangerfield probably the highlight of my evening. Michael Klein from the Herald Sun tweeted a fantastic photo of it.

Wallis has come back and done everything required of him, the combo of offensive and defensive tonight almost makes him my BOG.

Thought Roughy was quite soundly beaten by Otten, but still a big fan of what he has to offer and the improvement to come.

The most pleasing thing for me was just the way we stuck in, didn't let the scoreboard overwhelm us. As macca said post-game, we want to be a team that doesn't change the way we play just because of the scoreboard. We just play our brand regardless.

Also, re: lack of posts, I certainly have been less inclined to visit the site recently because of the negativity that was taking over. I think the mood has certainly changed now and that's a great thing.

What a win. Go Dogs!

18-08-2013, 11:19 PM
I take mine each week, she's 7. But then I'm happy for her to have a bit of a late one, its just so damn enjoyable having her at the game. ...

That's great - an especially enjoyable one tonight :)

18-08-2013, 11:20 PM
Thanks all for the Hunter reports.

Could he end up being the best of that batch of draft picks?

18-08-2013, 11:22 PM

Big call but only time will tell.

18-08-2013, 11:26 PM
Oh, and lovely to see Cooney chaired off at the end and get a resounding Cooooooon from the fans. A great game to enjoy for your 200th (still can't believe he's been around that long).

18-08-2013, 11:26 PM

Way too early to call it but he's certainly the best value.

Hard to believe we only had to use our 3rd rounder.

19-08-2013, 12:06 AM

Two more fine products from the Bendigo football factory. They know how to make bloody good footballers.

Is Tom a Castlemaine boy? You know how important that distinction is up there!

19-08-2013, 12:06 AM
Dogs by 17
BOG Griffen
First goal Campbell

Dogs by 21 Points

First Goal: Campbell

Pretty close

19-08-2013, 12:17 AM
Pretty close

We're becoming a predictable side, certain to win, certain Griff and Libba will be in the bests, and Campell is developing a knack for impacting the scoreboard early :D

19-08-2013, 12:17 AM
Two more fine products from the Bendigo football factory. They know how to make bloody good footballers.

Is Tom a Castlemaine boy? You know how important that distinction is up there!

No, he's not a Castlemaine boy.

19-08-2013, 09:51 AM

Well done Matthew Boyd.

Yep. Have to agree. Some good passes into the forward line to leading forwards as well.
Hope he can maintain that standard.

19-08-2013, 09:57 AM

Did you go?

Good turnout, free pies and sausage roles, Brett Goodes spoke then the great man Chris Grant.

Turned out a pretty good evening:)

19-08-2013, 11:09 AM

I didn't have access to the game except 3LO and I can't stand listening to radio call. The feeling of this victory is more serious than a let's yahoo and party. It is about the future and a profound shift in our culture and an unfolding of our prospects. That we can achieve what we have lately with the youngsters that we have and the seniors contributing with their all is so exciting. How good is it that Crossy was able to be a critical part of the game?
At sixty years of age I temper my spirit and think this game is another significant deposit in the bank and I wish I had been there but when I get off the breadline I will be there .

19-08-2013, 12:40 PM
Having been o/s for a little while it was good to attend the game and see an improved outfit to the one I witnessed prior to departure.

Ball movement was the most pleasing aspect... very good in parts, especially 1st & 4th quarters... Tackling too was excellent.

Great to kick 20 goals, but not sure we can rely in the main contributors all that often, but Campbell looks to be improving.

Pace in defence was (is) a concern, caught behind too often.

Looked cooked in the 3rd, but good use of the sub (who certainly played his part) and a couple of handy decisions by the umps late in 3rd got us within striking distance... Cooney's start to the last qtr gave us great momentum and once we got a sniff we played some attractive footy.

Not getting carried away with expectations just yet, as we still hae a long way to go, but the signs that we are on the right track which couldn't be said 6 weeks ago.

19-08-2013, 12:53 PM
Having been o/s for a little while it was good to attend the game and see an improved outfit to the one I witnessed prior to departure.

Ball movement was the most pleasing aspect... very good in parts, especially 1st & 4th quarters... Tackling too was excellent.

Great to kick 20 goals, but not sure we can rely in the main contributors all that often, but Campbell looks to be improving.

Looked cooked in the 3rd, but good use of the sub (who certainly played his part) and a couple of handy decisions by the umps late in 3rd got us within striking distance... Cooney's start to the last qtr gave us great momentum and once we got a sniff we played some attractive footy.

Not getting carried away with expectations just yet, as we still hae a long way to go, but the signs that we are on the right track which couldn't be said 6 weeks ago.

The difference you must have seen in six weeks must have been stark Mantis. At least the rest of us have had the benefit of seeing progressive improvement.

19-08-2013, 12:59 PM

This had me a little bit worried — thought we'd shrunk back into the shell a little bit in the second and third, but glad we finally popped back out.

19-08-2013, 01:17 PM
The difference you must have seen in six weeks must have been stark Mantis. At least the rest of us have had the benefit of seeing progressive improvement.

I was only away for 3 games and we were improving then... the 6 weeks comments was more to do with the performances against Melb & GWS at that time which had me worried about the direction we were heading in.

Long way to go, but signs are good... One thing I did hear on the radio yesterday which curbed my enthusiasm a little was the respective experience within the 2 teams... I think we had 2200 games of experience against Adelaide's 1600 which probably showed through in the end, but good that a few of our less experienced players played key roles.

19-08-2013, 01:20 PM
I was only away for 3 games and we were improving then... the 6 weeks comments was more to do with the performances against Melb & GWS at that time which had me worried about the direction we were heading in.

Long way to go, but signs are good... One thing I did hear on the radio yesterday which curbed my enthusiasm a little was the respective experience within the 2 teams... I think we had 2200 games of experience against Adelaide's 1600 which probably showed through in the end, but good that a few of our less experienced players played key roles.

Correct they had a younger team than us as well as less experience, by an average of 20 games per player.

19-08-2013, 01:25 PM
This had me a little bit worried — thought we'd shrunk back into the shell a little bit in the second and third, but glad we finally popped back out.
Despite their ladder position, Adelaide are a decent team and they have been in good form recently - I just think their structures and work rate pinned us on the back foot for a good 45 minutes in the middle stages of yesterday's match. They absolutely smashed us in the clearances during this period, which forced our defenders to be isolated down back one-out on their opponents. It was very satisfying to see us regain control of the contest and start to smash Adelaide on the spread - in the last 18 months if we lost clearances and CP's we would lose by 100 points, so the attacking elements of our game have improved in leaps and bounds over the last 6 weeks.

19-08-2013, 01:27 PM
Correct they had a younger team than us as well as less experience, by an average of 20 games per player.

Cross, Boyd, and Gia skew that stat considerably considering they are just role players of which two are probably going to retire in 2 weeks. We could leave those 3 out and our profile would drop dramatically.

Really Morris and Murphy are the over 30's who still play a key role in the team.

19-08-2013, 01:47 PM
Only use those excuses against a win that you'd accept against a loss.

19-08-2013, 01:54 PM
Cross, Boyd, and Gia skew that stat considerably considering they are just role players of which two are probably going to retire in 2 weeks. We could leave those 3 out and our profile would drop dramatically.

Would our performance also take a hit?

Doubt we would have won yesterday if those 3 weren't playing.

19-08-2013, 02:03 PM
Would our performance also take a hit?

Doubt we would have won yesterday if those 3 weren't playing.

No, I don't think so. But I'm looking at it going forward not just on one game.

Smith had been playing the role Cross played to great effect and I expect him to do it again when he returns. That takes 180 games and 10 years off that stat.

Higgins can play the same role as Gia. That's 140 less games and 6 years

McCrae can play the same role as Boyd yesterday. That's 200 less games and 11 years.

Replace those 3 with the 3 I've listed and we still win. I don't buy that being more experienced and older on average was why we won. Our best players were our 27 and under's with a huge input from our 22 and under's.

19-08-2013, 03:40 PM

Really Morris and Murphy are the over 30's who still play a key role in the team.

They had 12 with less than 50, we had 11, they had 5 in the 50 to 99, we had 3.

We had 7 with over 150 to 3 Adelaide, so yes they were much younger than us.

19-08-2013, 03:44 PM
Watching the replay, seems Sanderson strategy was to take Picken to the goal square. Which worked against us. Picken is a better than averge player, but not as a defender.

19-08-2013, 04:29 PM
Enjoy

PsyjkgREgfI

19-08-2013, 04:41 PM
Enjoy

PsyjkgREgfI

Dead eye. Split the middle with every shot.

19-08-2013, 07:22 PM
Watched a good chunk of the replay.

Was very impressed with our disposal, decision making and ball movement.

Also seemed that a lot of our players worked harder to provide options around and ahead of the ball.

19-08-2013, 09:54 PM
I didn't have access to the game except 3LO and I can't stand listening to radio call. The feeling of this victory is more serious than a let's yahoo and party. It is about the future and a profound shift in our culture and an unfolding of our prospects. That we can achieve what we have lately with the youngsters that we have and the seniors contributing with their all is so exciting. How good is it that Crossy was able to be a critical part of the game?
At sixty years of age I temper my spirit and think this game is another significant deposit in the bank and I wish I had been there but when I get off the breadline I will be there .

Mate, I doubt I will be getting over for the last game, if you pm me your address I will send you my membership card. Everyone wins.

19-08-2013, 10:08 PM
Did you go?

Good turnout, free pies and sausage roles, Brett Goodes spoke then the great man Chris Grant.

I went with my old man and son. Was really impressed with the spread, speakers and the cup photo op. Well done to the club and its marketing team. It seems like all football departments at the dogs are on the right track!

19-08-2013, 10:20 PM
Did you go?

Yes BAD, I did go and enjoyed it thoroughly. Made me feel like part of a club rather than just a supporter.

Thought Goodesy looked very lean.

19-08-2013, 10:37 PM
Our disposal is ranked 1 in the last six weeks!
That was probably the most experienced side we've had in all year.
It's usually been 14 or even 15 players under 60 games.
It illustrates that we have to phase out Gia and Crossy at years end.

19-08-2013, 10:40 PM
Yes BAD, I did go and enjoyed it thoroughly. Made me feel like part of a club rather than just a supporter.

I got a text message from the club about that event as a 1st year member. Shame I didn't go to the match last night because I most likely would have gone.

19-08-2013, 11:59 PM

I thought it was a great idea.

20-08-2013, 11:32 AM
Mate, I doubt I will be getting over for the last game, if you pm me your address I will send you my membership card. Everyone wins.
Thanks Bulldogs brother, I've emailed you. I'll barrack for both of us, ask my two sons to come along and hopefully have memories fill in the gap before next season.

20-08-2013, 11:58 AM
Do us a favor, don't go home yet, wait outside the media area for Gerard Healy and tell him to stick that one up his a#%e!
The whole telecast he kept up with the Dangerfield obsession, the "the dogs are struggling", the "just waiting for the flood gates", the "dogs are just hanging on here". F%#k off Gerard!

:eek: He loves us. Said On the Couch we are his favourite team to watch. Been on our bandwagon for weeks.

20-08-2013, 12:00 PM
:eek: He loves us. Said On the Couch we are his favourite team to watch. Been on our bandwagon for weeks.

Too bad there have been 21 rounds and if my memory serves me right, not one Bulldog Guest - pretty poor:mad:

20-08-2013, 12:12 PM

He really does.

I think his love is starting to grow on two levels. He watched us quite a bit and was impressed so spoke about it when no one else did, but now that our recent improvement is off the charts, he is also being recognised as the only person who saw it coming and is a bit of a visionary.

20-08-2013, 12:15 PM
He really does.

I think his love is starting to grow on two levels. He watched us quite a bit and was impressed so spoke about it when no one else did, but now that our recent improvement is off the charts, he is also being recognised as the only person who saw it coming and is a bit of a visionary.

Ha ha. Yes last night he was telling people that if they want to see a great game of footy they should go to a match and watch us.

20-08-2013, 12:16 PM

Sounds as if Gerard may have been getting a little emotionally invested! I know I was saying similar things myself during the match, especially in the third quarter...

20-08-2013, 12:17 PM
He really does.

The other person who saw it coming was David King. I remember earlier this year he was saying that we are a team that when we hit our straps will shoot up the ladder...or words to that effect.

20-08-2013, 12:20 PM
He really does.

The other Gerard (Wheatly) to his credit also was a believer. I recall him writing an article the day or the Saints game. It was to effect of St.Kilda may win the battle, but Bulldogs will win the war.

20-08-2013, 12:36 PM
Our disposal is ranked 1 in the last six weeks!
That was probably the most experienced side we've had in all year.
It's usually been 14 or even 15 players under 60 games.
It illustrates that we have to phase out Gia and Crossy at years end.

So you're telling me that there is a direct correlation between having an experienced team and an improved performance yet you want to phase out 2 experience players... perhaps prematurely.

Please explain.

20-08-2013, 02:00 PM
Did you go?

Was it for all members or social club members?

20-08-2013, 02:22 PM
Was it for all members or social club members?

Invited by text. I think it was gold members, plus some new first time members. To tell you the truth, you could have just walked in.

20-08-2013, 03:59 PM
This thread is like being at a party; everyone is talking about different things. Hey Ms Bulldogs, what are you doing later on?

20-08-2013, 04:43 PM
This thread is like being at a party; everyone is talking about different things. Hey Ms Bulldogs, what are you doing later on?

I like helicopters.

20-08-2013, 05:32 PM
I like helicopters.

Ha:D

20-08-2013, 05:43 PM
So you're telling me that there is a direct correlation between having an experienced team and an improved performance yet you want to phase out 2 experience players... perhaps prematurely.

Please explain.

At the half way mark of the season, you probably would have delisted both Gia and Cross. Gia has played his best football for 3-4 years, which has no doubt been assisted by the decision to use him as a sub during the season. Crossy last two games has been terrific and being a fan of Daniel's, I would love to see his services retained. The team has benefited recently by playing a more experienced line up. We were expecting too much IMO to be playing 3-4 first year players together. The good form of Cooney has also been a major factor.

20-08-2013, 05:45 PM
At the half way mark of the season, you probably would have delisted both Gia and Cross. Gia has played his best football for 3-4 years, which has no doubt been assisted by the decision to use him as a sub during the season. Crossy last two games has been terrific and being a fan of Daniel's, I would love to see his services retained. The team has benefited recently by playing a more experienced line up. We were expecting too much IMO to be playing 3-4 first year players together. The good form of Cooney has also been a major factor.

But you're calling for Gia and Crossy to be phased out at year's end.:confused:

20-08-2013, 05:53 PM

I like helicopters.

Did someone mention Matty Boyd?

20-08-2013, 05:58 PM
Did someone mention Matty Boyd?
Sorry it's noisy in here. I said Matty Lloyd.

Lloyd.

20-08-2013, 06:00 PM
Sorry it's noisy in here. I said Matty Lloyd.

Lloyd.

Yeah, Tom Boyd should be a good forward for whoever gets him.

21-08-2013, 09:49 PM
Yeah, Tom Boyd should be a good forward for whoever gets him.

Who's taken steroids?

22-08-2013, 03:13 PM
Thanks Bulldogs brother, I've emailed you. I'll barrack for both of us, ask my two sons to come along and hopefully have memories fill in the gap before next season.

My pleasure mate, I placed it in the post today! Thanks for representing me at the game.

22-08-2013, 07:34 PM
Ins: Jason Tutt, Jack Macrae, Liam Jones

no outs

22-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Ins: Jason Tutt, Jack Macrae, Liam Jones

no outs

Wrong thread Doc