View Full Version : Game Day - Bulldogs vs Demons

01-09-2013, 02:46 PM
Discussion thread for today's game

Give us your predictions for best on ground, who will win and the first goal kicker?

01-09-2013, 02:56 PM
BOG Griffen
First goal Jones
Dogs by 58 points

01-09-2013, 02:59 PM
BOG Jarred Grant
First Goal Jarred Grant
Dogs by 101 points

01-09-2013, 03:06 PM
BOG : Boyd
1st goal : Campbell
Dogs by 47 points

01-09-2013, 03:11 PM
BOG Cross
First Goal Cross
Dogs by 44 points

01-09-2013, 03:17 PM
BOG Jarred Grant
First Goal Jarred Grant
Dogs by 101 points

Love the confidence !!

01-09-2013, 03:48 PM
BOG Jarred Grant
First Goal Jarred Grant
Dogs by 101 points

Jarrad with an A, but other than that I agree! :D

01-09-2013, 04:08 PM
Dogs by 57
First goal- Jones
BOG- Libba

01-09-2013, 04:18 PM
Stevens is the sub

01-09-2013, 04:23 PM
Stevens is the sub

Good sub

01-09-2013, 05:07 PM
Dees by -100

01-09-2013, 05:09 PM
Dees by -100

You misspelt Dogs

01-09-2013, 05:19 PM
You misspelt Dogs

You missed -100

01-09-2013, 05:21 PM
Dogs by 56 points
BOG Griffen
first goal Dickson

01-09-2013, 05:36 PM
You missed -100

So I did, stupid bad eyes and little iPhone screens

01-09-2013, 05:38 PM
Dawes injured in the warm up, out of the game.

01-09-2013, 06:14 PM
Playing like we're on the end of season trip already. Dees playing like Roos is already in the box.

01-09-2013, 06:15 PM
Both teams have a bit to play for, the next quarter might tell the story

01-09-2013, 06:21 PM
Impress so keen to penalise the tackler for any minor infringement, but never reward a good one.

01-09-2013, 06:40 PM
Umpiring in this game is bizarre

01-09-2013, 06:42 PM
We are getting a good run from the umpires but we are playing the better football.

12 goals and 10 goal kickers.

01-09-2013, 06:49 PM
C'mon i want a 10 goal quarter

01-09-2013, 06:52 PM
What a quarter

01-09-2013, 06:54 PM
What are we doing 15th on the ladder? Next year Dogsters.

01-09-2013, 06:55 PM
Loving this I hope we go on and really smash them. Boyd and Libba 23 disposals each

01-09-2013, 06:58 PM
Would love to start and finish the year with 10+ goal wins.

01-09-2013, 06:58 PM
How good was Grant's goal.

01-09-2013, 07:00 PM
A bit of spirit after the half time whistle. We can't afford to do anything stupid.

I'm expecting Melbourne to bounce back strongly early in the 3rd quarter

01-09-2013, 07:01 PM
How good was Grant's goal.

They went crazy on the radio (3LO). Said he should have had an obvious free kick several times for holding but still slotted it from an impossible angle.

I can't wait to see the replay.

What about Hunter, folks?

01-09-2013, 07:02 PM
They went crazy on the radio (3LO). Said he should have had an obvious free kick several times for holding but still slotted it from an impossible angle.

I can't wait to see the replay.

What about Hunter, folks?
Rising Star this week.

01-09-2013, 07:03 PM
Rising Star this week.

What a draft!

01-09-2013, 07:35 PM
Hunter's body contact resulting in Dickson's goal showed 150 game like experience.

01-09-2013, 07:39 PM
Well, what an appalling quarter.

01-09-2013, 07:39 PM
Stevens has come on as sub and had an impact, but not in a good way.

01-09-2013, 07:40 PM
How uninspiring. They'd better finish strongly.

01-09-2013, 07:40 PM
Going through the motions which is understandable.

01-09-2013, 07:41 PM
How uninspiring. They'd better finish strongly.

Loving the positivity, first bounce of the season right to the final siren!

01-09-2013, 07:44 PM
I hope the players look at Crossy and realise what they need to do to give him the best possible send off.

We need Grant and Giansiracusa to sneak in a goal or two this quarter.

01-09-2013, 07:49 PM
Loving the positivity, first bounce of the season right to the final siren!

Sure,y you're not saying that third quarter was great watching? Crossy and Gia deserve better.

01-09-2013, 07:54 PM
Sure,y you're not saying that third quarter was great watching? Crossy and Gia deserve better.

I just think it's inspiring someone can find something to be negative about for 22 consecutive weeks, win, lose, or draw.

01-09-2013, 07:57 PM
I just think it's inspiring someone can find something to be negative about for 22 consecutive weeks, win, lose, or draw.

I think it's impressive people can be so sanctimonious for 22 consecutive weeks too.

01-09-2013, 08:00 PM
#letsgetbackontrack

01-09-2013, 08:07 PM
Nice work Cooney to steady things.

01-09-2013, 08:07 PM
I hope what Campbell does doesn't go in noticed on this board. If he can't mark it, his little taps are devastating to the opposition.

01-09-2013, 08:10 PM
I hope what Campbell does doesn't go in noticed on this board. If he can't mark it, his little taps are devastating to the opposition.

1 goal 3 though, has to slot them.

01-09-2013, 08:14 PM
1 goal 3 though, has to slot them.

Agreed. But that will come.
At the moment I'm enjoying having a solid option up forward. And the fact a mark isn't always the #1 option on his mind, it's getting the team a goal, that impresses me the most.

01-09-2013, 08:19 PM

Absolutely. His ability to impact a contest even when he doesn't mark it is fantastic.

01-09-2013, 08:23 PM
Nice to end the season with a win. Bring on 2014.

01-09-2013, 08:24 PM
Hearing Crossy speak after the siren just confirms the class of the man. He is really hurting, he loves this club as much as any of our club champions. I wish him all the best. He will always be remembered as a Bulldog warrior.

01-09-2013, 08:34 PM
Let's be positive! We won a game by 4 goals with one quarter of footy only!

01-09-2013, 08:35 PM
Well done Cross a champion! We will miss you dearly!!

Now, months of sadness await as the season comes to an end for us :(

01-09-2013, 08:37 PM
Well done Cross a champion! We will miss you dearly!!

Now, months of sadness await as the season comes to an end for us :(

ditto. :(

Nice to get a win but considering where I see Melbourne at the moment it is disappointing that we didn't drive them into the ground. We want to make this club attractive for players in 2014 and win well to grow our member base next year.

Pathetic second half but great to finish with a win.

Hard to say goodbye to a champ in Cross but also the right thing for the club.

01-09-2013, 08:42 PM
Soooo disappointed in Jones. Stevens came in as the sub, played like a spud and still had more touches. I was really hoping this to be Liam's breakout year:(:(:(

01-09-2013, 08:44 PM
Fantastic way to finish the season when things were all doom and gloom after losing to Melbourne first time around, have to be super excited with the next few seasons watching these pups grow.

01-09-2013, 09:00 PM
Gee we are going to miss Crossy.

01-09-2013, 09:03 PM
Gee we are going to miss Crossy.

Is it too late? Say it ain't so.

01-09-2013, 09:06 PM
Some champagne football mixed with some dross but happy to finish the year with 8 wins.

The throat got a bit lumpy listening to Crossy speak after the game - "this will always be my home". Yes it will, Daniel.

Boydy was hurting for his mate, it was written all over his face.

Now we can look forward to the draft and a top 4 pick coming to the Club. And there will be regular footy at Whitten Oval next year.

Exciting times to be a Bulldogs supporter.

01-09-2013, 09:09 PM
Some champagne football mixed with some dross but happy to finish the year with 8 wins.

The throat got a bit lumpy listening to Crossy speak after the game - "this will always be my home". Yes it will, Daniel.

Boydy was hurting for his mate, it was written all over his face.

Now we can look forward to the draft and a top 4 pick coming to the Club. And there will be regular footy at Whitten Oval next year.

Exciting times to be a Bulldogs supporter.

Plenty of positives things to look forward to. 2014 could very well be another tough year losing a few more stalwarts like Boyd, Giansiracusa and maybe even Murphy.

01-09-2013, 09:11 PM
Phew. 1 quarter of awesome footy and Howe of Melbourne, he is the only reason Melbourne sell any memberships.

I'm with the posters above "soups" is awesome and his contests are great, he just needs a bit of work on his timing, but he is by far our best tall forward option. Ayce is totally superfluous to requirements, apart from backup ruck.

Griffen was smothered today but Libby is a genius, he totally is Joel Selwoods clone. I'd go so far to say for his age comparison he's maybe ahead. Great signs for the future.

Wallis destroyed Nathan Jones, who is unquestionably the Dees best player.

Gia is on one leg and struggled but crossly played exactly the same way he has for 10 years. Going to miss the courage.

01-09-2013, 09:31 PM
Phew. 1 quarter of awesome footy and Howe of Melbourne, he is the only reason Melbourne sell any memberships.

Took a ripper but kicked it straight to the opposition 30meters out directly in front.

01-09-2013, 09:58 PM
Plenty of positives things to look forward to. 2014 could very well be another tough year losing a few more stalwarts like Boyd, Giansiracusa and maybe even Murphy.
I reckon Bob could easily play for another 2-3 years. He is lithe, still has that innate agility and hasn't lost any pace off the mark at all.

Missed the game but could Libba have played himself into the AA team? His stats tonight were massive - 20 CP's, 12 clearances, 11 tackles - if he played for Collingwood he would already be a legend of the game.

01-09-2013, 10:20 PM
Not long back from the game. Aside from the second quarter, not a great game to watch. Think the boys were ahead to Monday already - sore and tired too. Still, some nice sparks throughout and they did enough to post another win. Loved how the crowd stayed for Crossy - very emotional.

01-09-2013, 10:27 PM
For 3 quarters we were average but that 2nd quarter was brilliant. If only we brought that for the whole match but the positive is we won and gave Crossy a great farewell.

01-09-2013, 10:31 PM
Loved it when he went back with the flight, took the mark and scooted into the open goal.

Vintage Crossy.

01-09-2013, 10:32 PM
Never been to a game with such lack of tension for an entire half, just going through the motions. Second quarter made it worth showing up.

01-09-2013, 10:56 PM
Loved it when he went back with the flight, took the mark and scooted into the open goal.

Vintage Crossy.

And was close enough to goal that he couldn't miss :D

01-09-2013, 11:51 PM
I reckon Bob could easily play for another 2-3 years. He is lithe, still has that innate agility and hasn't lost any pace off the mark at all.

Missed the game but could Libba have played himself into the AA team? His stats tonight were massive - 20 CP's, 12 clearances, 11 tackles - if he played for Collingwood he would already be a legend of the game.

His grandmother and father sat across from me and his old man is very impressed with what Tom has achieved so far. Mrs. Liberatore was tenacious!! Cheered all game, lovely lady!

A good Father's Day at the footy for both of us.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/1157524_10152158765279112_616469607_n.jpg?dl=1

01-09-2013, 11:56 PM
His grandmother and father sat across from me and his old man is very impressed with what Tom has achieved so far. Mrs. Liberatore was tenacious!! Cheered all game, lovely lady!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/1157524_10152158765279112_616469607_n.jpg?dl=1

Wow. Mrs L. She stood near me and my dad at Windy Hill back in the '80s when Tony was playing in the reserves and stayed on to watch Anglo Petraglia play his first game. She said her husband couldn't come to watch Tony play because it made him too nervous.

BTW if you like Tom you will love Oliver. He's just a pup but he has all the tricks, the kid is a natural, instinctive footballer. I can't wait to see him wearing the tricolour.

It must have been ex footballer day. We had Matthew Croft sit a row in front of us.

02-09-2013, 12:07 AM
Libba ducked in front of me while in the line for a Cherry Ripe at half time, my first instinct was to give him a hug. But I just said "Good on you Libba!" instead.

The last round is usually a bummer for me, but this year I enjoyed watching the team, rather than endured. Probably the most satisfying season of footy since 2009. Which seems ludicrous given we're 15th but a lot of things started to emerge this year which appeal to my love for the Club. A lot of Macca's promises were kept.

02-09-2013, 12:33 AM
Libba ducked in front of me while in the line for a Cherry Ripe at half time, my first instinct was to give him a hug. But I just said "Good on you Libba!" instead.

The last round is usually a bummer for me, but this year I enjoyed watching the team, rather than endured. Probably the most satisfying season of footy since 2009. Which seems ludicrous given we're 15th but a lot of things started to emerge this year which appeal to my love for the Club. A lot of Macca's promises were kept.

Agree, I feel the same way.

02-09-2013, 12:38 AM

Nice photo BAS.

02-09-2013, 09:13 AM
It must have been ex footballer day. We had Matthew Croft sit a row in front of us.

We had Garlick behind us for the first half.

02-09-2013, 11:02 AM
We had Garlick behind us for the first half.

Chris Grant was sitting about ten rows in front of us (front row) on level three. My sister, my cousin, a friend and I all simultaneously lost our sh*t when he turned around! We thought he would have had a permenant seat somewhere on level two rather than up sitting up with the plebs :D

02-09-2013, 05:07 PM
Watching the replay. 2nd quarter so far, 29 disposals for 4 goals. That's offensive!

02-09-2013, 06:49 PM
Wow it's funny how you perceive what posters may look like and then you see a photo of them and it's not what you built up in your head. I remember 4-5 years ago meeting a mob of Woofers in the social club and I remember thinking how much an avatar can influence the perspective.
Nice pic BAS.

02-09-2013, 08:05 PM
Wow it's funny how you perceive what posters may look like and then you see a photo of them and it's not what you built up in your head. I remember 4-5 years ago meeting a mob of Woofers in the social club and I remember thinking how much an avatar can influence the perspective.
Nice pic BAS.

Hehe, you mean I'm not a toddler?

02-09-2013, 08:27 PM
Chris Grant was sitting about ten rows in front of us (front row) on level three. My sister, my cousin, a friend and I all simultaneously lost our sh*t when he turned around! We thought he would have had a permenant seat somewhere on level two rather than up sitting up with the plebs :D

Wow - that is insane!!