View Full Version : Dustin Martin to leave Richmond

16-09-2013, 01:43 PM
http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2013-09-16/martin-to-pursue-other-offers

Very interesting development. Adds more spice to the upcoming trade period.

16-09-2013, 01:44 PM
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-09-16/martin-quits-tigers

More

16-09-2013, 01:50 PM
Do not want.

16-09-2013, 02:12 PM
Pass. Main players for his signature seem to be St Kilda and Collingwood. Would slot in at either club perfectly.

16-09-2013, 02:13 PM
'X'.....

16-09-2013, 02:25 PM
Gws psd :)

16-09-2013, 02:25 PM
Richmond supporters suggesting the only trade they would accept for Martin is with GWS for Cameron and pick #1. I'm not sure who's the more deluded Martin or their supporters.

I can only see him going into the PSD, not many clubs will want him (or his ridiculous salary demands), and the one that does will get him for nothing.

16-09-2013, 02:26 PM
Richmond supporters suggesting the only trade they would accept for Martin is with GWS for Cameron and pick #1. I'm not sure who's the more deluded Martin or their supporters.

I can only see him going into the PSD, not many clubs will want him (or his ridiculous salary demands), and the one that does will get him for nothing.
If I ever say something as stupid as that please shoot me!

Gun FF and Boyd when you have no bargaining power. By reports, he has walked already...

16-09-2013, 02:29 PM

So many people who support football don't have a clue how player trading and contracts work. This also includes clubs - only have to look at the Luke Ball stuff up as an example of that :D

16-09-2013, 02:30 PM

Supposedly his management team have been telling him along to expect $600 plus a year, so that is the type of expectation HE and his father have been working with.

Martin and Co already called Richmond's bluff when they spruked that GWS were into him, when apparently they were not....

GWS culture will be totally FUBAR if Franklin and Martin end up there.

16-09-2013, 02:35 PM
Actually spewing about this. Wanted Richmond to keep him but pay absolute top dollar so that they wind up in awful salary cap trouble and some of their underrated players slip through the cracks. This will free up Richmond's cap now.

GWS may as well not have a cap, so I reckon he's West Sydney bound. In pure playing terms, Melbourne would be a good fit for Martin as they are desperate for some quality midfield depth, but I suggest Roosy's no DH policy would make this a non-starter.

16-09-2013, 02:40 PM
What is the bet he stays with Richmond - say $550k

16-09-2013, 02:47 PM
Would love Dustin Martin the footballer but NO THANKS to Dustin Martin the person. Just read a tweet that Barwon Prison had already signed him !

16-09-2013, 02:53 PM
Rumour that Collingwood are floating a big offer on the assumption that Daisy leaves.
This just a fortnight after Buckley is publically talking about changing the culture of the Magpies. Crazy.

Richmond board on BF suggesting Dusty wants to go to Melbourne - sound just as crazy

16-09-2013, 03:07 PM
TWAT. Proper twat. Thinks he's hard because he has neck tattoos. Agree perfect fit for Stkilda or Collingwood

16-09-2013, 03:12 PM
Dustin Martin is not wanted by me at all.

Richmond plays its first final in 100 years.

There's over 90,000 fans there.

The MCG is pumping and Richmond are up against the old enemy Carlton.

Dustin Martin kicks a goal and what's on his mind?

His team mates? No. The cheer squad? No. The tiger army? No.

Some sub human biker mate of his dad's rotting in jail somewhere.

Wouldn't touch him with a ten foot pole.

16-09-2013, 03:18 PM
I can't see GWS wanting to add a poor influence like Martin to their young list. I would think Carlton or Filth to be very interested and possibly Wet Toast too.

16-09-2013, 03:22 PM
GWS my bet. Bet they've got a biker compound or two for Dusty and his dad.

16-09-2013, 03:23 PM
Actually spewing about this. Wanted Richmond to keep him but pay absolute top dollar so that they wind up in awful salary cap trouble and some of their underrated players slip through the cracks. This will free up Richmond's cap now.

GWS may as well not have a cap, so I reckon he's West Sydney bound. In pure playing terms, Melbourne would be a good fit for Martin as they are desperate for some quality midfield depth, but I suggest Roosy's no DH policy would make this a non-starter.

Well it won't be us, that's for sure.

16-09-2013, 03:25 PM
I can't see GWS wanting to add a poor influence like Martin to their young list. I would think Carlton or Filth to be very interested and possibly Wet Toast too.

Buckley is like McCartney. My way or the highway. Very intolerant of wayward players.
I think Freo would be good for him. He can run a muck a bit more over there, and join the tattooed crew they have already.

16-09-2013, 03:44 PM
If it's GWS, PSD seems most likely.

It gets interesting if it's another club -- hard to see a deal being done.

16-09-2013, 04:06 PM
Dustin Martin is not wanted by me at all.

Richmond plays its first final in 100 years.

There's over 90,000 fans there.

The MCG is pumping and Richmond are up against the old enemy Carlton.

Dustin Martin kicks a goal and what's on his mind?

His team mates? No. The cheer squad? No. The tiger army? No.

Some sub human biker mate of his dad's rotting in jail somewhere.

Wouldn't touch him with a ten foot pole.
All the off field rumours with this guy and the way they've looked after him, and he does this!
Very Very ordinary

16-09-2013, 04:12 PM
I'd be so filthy if his ever happened to us, they have gone above and beyond for him.

I only see it getting worse when they get bent over in trade week.

Richmond fans will bring new meaning to 'feral' :)

16-09-2013, 04:48 PM
Buckley is like McCartney. My way or the highway. Very intolerant of wayward players.
I think Freo would be good for him. He can run a muck a bit more over there, and join the tattooed crew they have already.

What are you basing this comment on?

Freo have been very disciplined this year ... I cant think of any off field (or on field) misdemeanours

16-09-2013, 04:56 PM
I'll try and find out a little more about this. I've got a few friends who know Dusty quite well.

16-09-2013, 05:12 PM
Heard on Triple M today Brownless/Brayshaw show that Wayne Campbell is Martin's minder and spends all week virtually with him. Martin was going on holidays with Armitage and Fisher of St.Kilda after the footy season till the Aints stopped it.

16-09-2013, 05:17 PM
Hun reporting Melbourne considering using pick 2.

Why would Roos do that?

16-09-2013, 05:24 PM

Why would Roos do that?

Because at his best he is a gun and is exactly what their midfield needs. My hope is he does go there, continues to screw up off field and his career flames out in spectacular fashion as the Demons dwell in the bottom 2 for the next decade.

Too much to ask for?

16-09-2013, 05:49 PM
Being out of contract, which parties need to agree to a deal? Is it both club and player or can richmond deal with whichever club they want to?

16-09-2013, 06:00 PM
Being out of contract, which parties need to agree to a deal? Is it both club and player or can richmond deal with whichever club they want to?
Both. Hence Richmond might not get value if circumstances turn.

16-09-2013, 06:01 PM
Because at his best he is a gun and is exactly what their midfield needs. My hope is he does go there, continues to screw up off field and his career flames out in spectacular fashion as the Demons dwell in the bottom 2 for the next decade.

Too much to ask for?

Using pick 2 in a scenario where they hold all of the leverage for a player like Dustin Martin would be the most Melbourne thing to do.

16-09-2013, 06:14 PM

Why would Roos do that?

It costs Roos nothing to talk about using pick 2 on Martin right now. If nothing else it could be a good tactic to flush out any other offers from potential suitors. Either none emerge and the Dees can instead get him with pick 2 in the PSD (especially if GWS don't want him) or else another club offers significant overs thinking they will have to lest Melbourne trump them. Either way it costs Roos zip to sprout about offering pick 2.

It also gets Richmond thinking about a deal with the Dees to avert losing him for nothing if GWS are interested. Maybe a swap of 1st round picks with the Dees.
I'd still he surprised if he ended up at Melbourne. I think Carlton or Collingwood or maybe Hawks would be keen for his services.

16-09-2013, 06:30 PM
Happened to be at Richmond for a meeting today. They are gutted - Campbell looked like he was going to cry. Email was send around the club confirming his departure and they didn't feel there was any way they would keep him from here. No word where he is headed though.

16-09-2013, 06:56 PM
Funny, Dustin Martin says otherwise:

ABC Grandstand ‏@abcgrandstand

Dustin Martin says he has asked Richmond for time to consider his options and says claims he has walked out on the #AFL club are untrue.

16-09-2013, 07:13 PM
PR exercise I'd imagine

16-09-2013, 07:16 PM
The twitter is not what people at the club said to me off the record. Gutted, email went around, blah blah...

16-09-2013, 07:38 PM
Funny, Dustin Martin says otherwise:

ABC Grandstand ‏@abcgrandstand

Dustin Martin says he has asked Richmond for time to consider his options and says claims he has walked out on the #AFL club are untrue.

Sounds he's saying match the highest offer or I'm gone.

17-09-2013, 06:27 PM
Is this appropriate Mr. Demetriou :eek:

Andrew Demetriou says ... want-a-way Dustin Martin, should not waste his opportunity at Richmond (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/andrew-demetriou-says-want-a-way-dustin-martin-should-not-waste-his-opportunity-at-richmond/story-fni5f9jb-1226720813468)

17-09-2013, 07:47 PM

Andrew Demetriou says ... want-a-way Dustin Martin, should not waste his opportunity at Richmond (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/andrew-demetriou-says-want-a-way-dustin-martin-should-not-waste-his-opportunity-at-richmond/story-fni5f9jb-1226720813468)

Did find it humourous last night on Talking Footy A. Demetriou making specific reference to Club's 'No Dickhead Policy' when discussing the Dustin Martin topic.

For someone who has perfected the art of 'seeing nothing' when it suits his agenda e.g ground surface issues with Etihad, ANZ, tanking etc he can also be very open and blunt when it suits, particularly in the position he holds.

18-09-2013, 12:01 AM

Appropriate and Demetriou do not go together in a sentence.

18-09-2013, 12:55 AM
Did find it humourous last night on Talking Footy A. Demetriou making specific reference to Club's 'No Dickhead Policy' when discussing the Dustin Martin topic.

For someone who has perfected the art of 'seeing nothing' when it suits his agenda e.g ground surface issues with Etihad, ANZ, tanking etc he can also be very open and blunt when it suits, particularly in the position he holds.

Don't like him on the show to be honest.
The way he defended that cow paddock ice skating rink was a joke!
He also should be sticking his nose out of clubs affairs

18-09-2013, 09:06 AM
Don't like him on the show to be honest.
The way he defended that cow paddock ice skating rink was a joke!
He also should be sticking his nose out of clubs affairs

Sells the afl agenda with zero empathy for club needs. Same guy that said wouln't buddy be a great get for the GWS franchise now saying Dustin shouldn't do the same. Can't stand him.

18-09-2013, 09:34 AM
Did he actually say ' no dickhead policy?' ( those words ) in the same sentence as Dustin Martin? Incredibly unprofessional.
I realize Martin is a bit of a knob, but there's a stack of rumors around that seem to get bigger every time I hear them.

18-09-2013, 09:45 AM
Sells the afl agenda with zero empathy for club needs. Same guy that said wouln't buddy be a great get for the GWS franchise now saying Dustin shouldn't do the same. Can't stand him.

As I said, its just inappropriate that the AFL CEO would make comments on players and clubs in this way. He is there to manage the AFL on behalf of all clubs, not favour anyone.

Where_only_dogs_tread
19-09-2013, 01:07 AM
As I said, its just inappropriate that the AFL CEO would make comments on players and clubs in this way. He is there to manage the AFL on behalf of all clubs, not favour anyone.

I think he favours $$$ and not much else, hence why we'll probably get something like 16 Sunday twilight games again next season. Not hard to tell where his priorities lie, that's for sure.

19-09-2013, 10:49 AM
I don't know why Dusty gets such a bad wrap. Sure he's done a few dumb things and a few more that have been hidden quite well but not as bad as the media and public perception makes it out to be. I've cringed reading a few posts in here.

19-09-2013, 11:40 AM
I don't know why Dusty gets such a bad wrap. Sure he's done a few dumb things and a few more that have been hidden quite well but not as bad as the media and public perception makes it out to be. I've cringed reading a few posts in here.
How many other league footballers need a minder?

19-09-2013, 11:58 AM

Don't know but I'm sure there are support personal at every club. As always I'd imagine that is completely blown out of proportion, Wayne Campbell doesn't live by his side.

19-09-2013, 12:09 PM
Don't know but I'm sure there are support personal at every club. As always I'd imagine that is completely blown out of proportion, Wayne Campbell doesn't live by his side.
But the club president does. Literally.
Behavioural clasues in the contract are also a sticking point - it's not just about the cash

19-09-2013, 02:01 PM
Reports suggesting Melbourne, Collingwood, and Carlton have all ruled themselves out of pursuing Martin. He and his management better hope GWS throw a big offer his way or this all could go pear shaped for him.

GWS doesn't seem to give a shit about culture so I'm still expecting them to go after Martin.

19-09-2013, 02:12 PM

Sir Dougie Hawkins needed one in 1986!

Poor bloke had a hell of a time.

19-09-2013, 02:13 PM
Reports suggesting Melbourne, Collingwood, and Carlton have all ruled themselves out of pursuing Martin. He and his management better hope GWS throw a big offer his way or this all could go pear shaped for him.

GWS doesn't seem to give a shit about culture so I'm still expecting them to go after Martin.
Tiger fans putting the blame squarely on Dusty's manager - rumour is Dusty signed with him on the promise of a massive contract offer this time around, Carr can't get the dollars he promised, negotiations have turned pear shaped due to behavioural clauses Richmond wont budge on.

19-09-2013, 04:49 PM

Not to sure if he still does but I know Big Bazza did a bit of minding for our youngsters.
Know of a couple of times he has been out to handle a couple of them.

20-09-2013, 02:31 PM
Dustin Martin keen to stay at Richmond after GWS pulls out of running for his services (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dustin-martin-keen-to-stay-at-richmond-after-gws-pulls-out-of-running-for-his-services-20130920-2u42p.html)

20-09-2013, 02:36 PM
Dustin Martin keen to stay at Richmond after GWS pulls out of running for his services (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dustin-martin-keen-to-stay-at-richmond-after-gws-pulls-out-of-running-for-his-services-20130920-2u42p.html)
Talk about doing things the hard way.

20-09-2013, 03:18 PM
Coming back with his tail between his legs. If Richmond has any spine they will offer $50K less than their last offer, that's if they even want him.

20-09-2013, 03:24 PM
He needs to lose Ralph Carr... it's gotten so messy because of that grub

20-09-2013, 03:28 PM
Coming back with his tail between his legs. If Richmond has any spine they will offer $50K less than their last offer, that's if they even want him.

Conca may have got that extra 50k already.

This is quite amusing.

20-09-2013, 03:50 PM
Conca may have got that extra 50k already.

This is quite amusing.
Sounds like what has happened - Rochmond fans saying up the Conca offer, signed after Martin offer was pulled. WCE chased Conca hard by all accounts too.

20-09-2013, 07:52 PM
It's bad news for Richmond in all honesty. GWS would have been an ideal trading partner and fetched them a good return. Maybe they're bluffing to snap him up in the PSD?

He's got a couple of connections with St. Kilda from what I've heard and was confirmed earlier in this thread. I'll try and find out a little bit about this tomorrow, meeting up with a few friends who know him quite well. I'll pry and see if they know anything.

20-09-2013, 08:26 PM
It's bad news for Richmond in all honesty. GWS would have been an ideal trading partner and fetched them a good return. Maybe they're bluffing to snap him up in the PSD?

He's got a couple of connections with St. Kilda from what I've heard and was confirmed earlier in this thread. I'll try and find out a little bit about this tomorrow, meeting up with a few friends who know him quite well. I'll pry and see if they know anything.

I can't see St.Kilda chasing him considering they don't want their players socialising with him. Would be quite hypocritical, but I guess it wouldn't surprise St.Kilda to be hypocritical.

22-09-2013, 11:22 AM
Asked a few questions and got pretty much everything we knew already.

* Martin looks like he'll stay at Richmond unless another team puts down the money for his services. $$$ value unknown, could be possibly less than asking but most likely be original offer. Didn't know anything about behaviour clauses.

* He would have gone to go to St. Kilda, Saints didn't want him. I guess the culture there is so good they didn't want to hurt it. :D

* GWS were interested but $$$ are spoken for. They want to make a play at Fyfe next season. That sounded like a tall story personally.

* Surprised at the lack of interest, off field behaviour not great but hardly any worse than some players. One guy said more money, more problems.

Pretty much everything we know already.