View Full Version : Sam Darley

25-10-2013, 08:02 AM
Looks like GWS mid Sam Darley will be joining us for a late pick before the deadline today

Thoughts?

25-10-2013, 08:18 AM
Looks like GWS mid Sam Darley will be joining us for a late pick before the deadline today

Thoughts?

Dont know too much about him BR. Is he rated highly?

25-10-2013, 08:31 AM
Dont know too much about him BR. Is he rated highly?

Don't know much about him either but from a few reports sounds like there is some potential. If we get him for a late pick I would happy with that or even a direct swap with Addison.

25-10-2013, 08:35 AM
Don't know much about him either but from a few reports sounds like there is some potential. If we get him for a late pick I would happy with that or even a direct swap with Addison.

You don't rate Addison?

25-10-2013, 08:54 AM
You don't rate Addison?

Nothing to do with not rating him (he has been serviceable) he is surplus to our requirements especially now we have Crameri and re-signed Grant. I Just don't see where he fits into our structure. Darley plays off the HBF and is the type of player that we need.

To me it just makes sense to trade Addison.

25-10-2013, 09:42 AM
GWS aren't looking for any players. If it's a trade it will be a late one we're not using or otherwise most likely pick him up as a delisted FA next month.

25-10-2013, 09:56 AM
You don't rate Addison?

I think he's always on the cusp of the best 22 so when you bring in players like Crameri and want to get more game time into Stringer, MaCrae and Hrovat it makes sense to on trade him. Trading Addison shows me that we are finally ready to rid ourselves of depth players which highlights the growing quality we are developing across all lines.

25-10-2013, 09:59 AM
Looking at his Bio he played 8 games in 2012 and only 4 in 2013.

Games: 13
Born: February 15, 1993
Height: 183cm
Weight: 80kg
Position: Defender

From GWS website:

Originally an outside player, Sam Darley has progressed into an impressive tough midfielder who won Tasmania's most valuable player award at the 2009 NAB AFL Under”16 Championships, averaging 28 disposals, 10 handball receives, six marks and 17 uncontested possessions per match ” all ranked number one at the carnival. In 2010 he played 11 matches at League level for North Hobart and was named in the best players six times. At the 2010 NAB AFL Under”18 Championships he played all five matches with his performances all elite. He averaged 25 disposals, 12 handball”receives, 18 uncontested possessions, four rebound and four inside 50s per match. He was subsequently awarded the Hunter Harrison Medal for the best player in division two and was also named in the 2010 NAB AFL U18 All Australian team.

Looks like he has been playing in defence, so may fill that small backpocket, HBF role that we need.

25-10-2013, 10:03 AM
He has been likened to Lindsay Gilbee. High praise.

25-10-2013, 10:12 AM
Young Giant set to join Bulldogs (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-10-24/giant-set-to-join-dogs)

YOUNG Greater Western Sydney midfielder Sam Darley is set to become a Western Bulldog, in a deal which could be sorted on the final day of the Gillette AFL Trade Period.

AFL.com.au understands Darley, who played only four games for the Giants this year, will either join the Bulldogs through a swap of a late draft picks (most likely the Dogs' pick 78), or in next month's NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft.

He can also join the club through the delisted free agency window, which will open on November 1.

Darley joined the Giants three years ago as one of the 17-year-olds the club had access to when building its list, but has struggled to find a consistent spot in the fledgling side over the past two seasons.

The 20-year-old, who is out of contract at the Giants, played nine games in 2012, including a career-best 20-possession effort against Adelaide.

The former Tasmanian follows Shaun Edwards and Kurt Aylett as young Giants to depart the club, with defender Josh Bruce also likely to leave.

Darley's likely acquisition will cap a strong period for the Dogs, who on Thursday finally signed forward Stewart Crameri after drawn-out negotiations with Essendon were sealed.

25-10-2013, 10:24 AM
GWS aren't looking for any players. If it's a trade it will be a late one we're not using or otherwise most likely pick him up as a delisted FA next month.

They've been so active I've lost track.

*They originally delisted 5 players.

*3 players traded out for picks. (Tyson, Aylett, Edwards)

*Brought in Mumford and Hunt

*Shaw swapped for Adams

Is that it?

If that's all they've done there is 6 spots available and possibly a place for Dylan.

25-10-2013, 10:27 AM
They've been so active I've lost track.

*They originally delisted 5 players.

*3 players traded out for picks. (Tyson, Aylett, Edwards)

*Brought in Mumford and Hunt

*Shaw swapped for Adams

Is that it?

If that's all they've done there is 6 spots available and possibly a place for Dylan.

Josh Bruce likely to go as well.

25-10-2013, 10:41 AM
They have also pre-listed a zone selection (Jake Barrett - whoever he is) and will get Lamb from the Swans as well.

Perhaps they will not necessarily go with a full compliment as they need to reduce the list size next year?

25-10-2013, 11:12 AM
I have seen a few tweets around the traps saying if the Darley deal goes through at 78 we have done very very well on it.

Outside player and ball magent.

25-10-2013, 11:19 AM
Haven't seen the kid play but it looks another pickup along the lines of Tommy Young. A lot of faith in the recruiting staff after last year so more than happy

25-10-2013, 11:21 AM
The dogs have targetted some fringe players the last 2 years, Darley, Young, Stevens, and have had pretty good success.

Interesting to see how he goes.

25-10-2013, 11:31 AM
I have real faith that BMac is able to identify the right players but also develop them. I think he puts a lot of emphasis on developing these guys as people too and I know that when your life is going well and you feel good about yourself, you perform better in all aspects of life.

25-10-2013, 11:32 AM
Sos from GWS just said on Trade radio that the bulldogs haven't offered pick 78 for Darley and that there is another club interested in Darley which isn't a melbourne based club.

Maybe that's just Sos trying to get something for him from the bulldogs by saying someone else is interested.

25-10-2013, 11:36 AM
A quick call to his manager sorts that out as fact of fiction.

25-10-2013, 11:48 AM
Sos from GWS just said on Trade radio that the bulldogs haven't offered pick 78 for Darley and that there is another club interested in Darley which isn't a melbourne based club.

Maybe that's just Sos trying to get something for him from the bulldogs by saying someone else is interested.

I'm calling SOS' bluff on this. He didn't sound to convincing at all.

25-10-2013, 12:17 PM
The question is how much Darley wants to come to us...

I suspect we've been chatting to him for awhile, hopefully Darley will tell GWS he only wants to go to us.

25-10-2013, 12:18 PM
I thought the online article said he may go PSD or delisted FA if no trade to us??

25-10-2013, 12:38 PM
Looking at his Bio he played 8 games in 2012 and only 4 in 2013.

Games: 13
Born: February 15, 1993
Height: 183cm
Weight: 80kg
Position: Defender

From GWS website:

Looks like he has been playing in defence, so may fill that small backpocket, HBF role that we need.

At least he's from the right end of Tassie! (South)

Maybe after football, SOS will try selling used cars.

25-10-2013, 01:01 PM
At least he's from the right end of Tassie! (South)

The best sports people from Tassie are from the north

Baldock
Alistair Lynch
Matthew Richardson
Ricky Ponting
Ben Hifenhaus
and even George Bailey.

25-10-2013, 01:27 PM

Baldock
Alistair Lynch
Matthew Richardson
Ricky Ponting
Ben Hifenhaus
and even George Bailey.

This, just better people allround, plus boags is much better beer.

25-10-2013, 02:07 PM

As a Tasmanian and Hobartian, I feel I need to go in to bat for the South here. Cascade pees all over Boags!

25-10-2013, 02:11 PM
As a place to live.....Hobart has it all over Launceston.

25-10-2013, 02:14 PM
I keep checking this thread when a new post shows, assuming there is news about Darley signing for us. Instead all I keep seeing is a North v South Tassie pissing comp.

25-10-2013, 02:16 PM
Lets stay focused people.

25-10-2013, 02:22 PM
Do we know for certain Darley is about to come out of contract?

25-10-2013, 02:22 PM
Lets stay focused people.

Yep only 40 minutes to go.

25-10-2013, 02:36 PM

Well it's closer to Victoria isn't it so it makes sense.

*edit. sorry!

25-10-2013, 02:40 PM
Nothing has happened yet, maybe it wont

25-10-2013, 02:42 PM
Nothing has happened yet, maybe it wont

The club should probably come out now and say it won't happen.

Maybe the PSD or as a delisted player.

25-10-2013, 02:47 PM
There you go 78 for Darley, done

25-10-2013, 02:47 PM
Done for pick 78

25-10-2013, 02:48 PM
Nice, so SOS does talk crap! :D

Welcome Sam Darley

25-10-2013, 02:48 PM
Yep, nice work.

Pick 78 for Darley is a solid deal. Hopefully it yields similar reward to the Young trade.

25-10-2013, 02:49 PM
So who do we look at in the PSD?

25-10-2013, 02:50 PM
Excellent result.

Fantastic trade period IMO.

25-10-2013, 02:51 PM
So who do we look at in the PSD?

Now we wait and see who gets delisted or walks looking thin for the PSD though we may not participate.

25-10-2013, 02:52 PM
Excellent speculatively trade

We havent been turning our list over quite as much as many of us would have liked, but this type of pick for a guy whose been identified as a talent, has had two years of development is a good strategy in my eyes

25-10-2013, 02:53 PM
Welcome to the Dogs Sam.

25-10-2013, 02:53 PM
Welcome Sam! By my reckoning, we won't have too many pics in the ND and possibly no involvement in the PSD??

25-10-2013, 02:55 PM
OK, great to have him on board

25-10-2013, 02:55 PM
Welcome Sam! By my reckoning, we won't have too many pics in the ND and possibly no involvement in the PSD??

See who gets delisted from now.

25-10-2013, 03:05 PM
Pretty impressive Junior career.
Wonder what happened?

25-10-2013, 03:06 PM
Wonder what happened?

GWS.

Welcome to a proper footy club Sam.

25-10-2013, 03:07 PM
Wonder what happened?

Lets hope he hated being in GWS and was just going through the motions and will now fire up.:)

25-10-2013, 03:25 PM
I like this, if a guy can kick then most times you can find a use for them.

Shrewd move by the club.

25-10-2013, 03:26 PM
Welcome to the Dogs, Sam.

25-10-2013, 03:30 PM
Welcome to the Doggies to Sam.
Really happy in the last two days with the way we have gone about this drawn out trade period.
Two days ago things didn't look so great but at the end the club stuck to its guns and IMO came out well in front.
From previous posts I'm hoping we have just uncovered the next Gilbee.
The one before The Son of Lynd's anyway.:)

25-10-2013, 04:00 PM
http://i.imgur.com/6ioel0v.png?1 (http://imgur.com/6ioel0v)

25-10-2013, 04:06 PM
So correct me if i'm wrong:

We delisted four players: Cross, Markovic, Lower, Veszpremi

Added two players: Crameri, Darley

That leaves 2 spots left for the national draft with draft picks: pick 4, 42, 60, 96, 114

Need to also consider upgrading Austin and/or Goodes to the list.

I can only see Addison and maybe Pearce as possible delistings.

25-10-2013, 04:09 PM

That leaves 2 spots left for the national draft with draft picks: pick 4, 42, 60, 96, 114

By my reckoning Addison gets delisted. Austin is retained as 3rd year rookie, Goodes remains a rookie, we make 3 selections in the draft, one of whom will be one of the 4 best youngsters in the country (we're spoiled for choice here in reality), and the possibility of a quality mature ager falling through to one of our picks

I reckon that's not a bad trade period

25-10-2013, 04:10 PM
Don't forget that we left a senior spot on the list open last year by taking Goodes as a rookie.

25-10-2013, 04:12 PM
Just googled Same Darley, check out this Wiki page already updated, quite amusing.

Sam Darley (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Darley)

Sam Darley (born 15 February 1993) is a professional Australian rules football player at the Western Bulldogs Football Club in the Australian Football League (AFL). He was one of the club's underage recruits, and idolised Legendary Bulldog Lindsay Gilbee, former best kick in the AFL, when growing up. Darley made his debut in Round 8, 2012, against Brisbane Lions at The Gabba.[1]
On October 25, 2013, Darley was traded to the Western Bulldogs for a bag of chips.[2]

25-10-2013, 04:12 PM

They took Hunt.

25-10-2013, 04:14 PM
Welcome to the Doggies to Sam.
Really happy in the last two days with the way we have gone about this drawn out trade period.
Two days ago things didn't look so great but at the end the club stuck to its guns and IMO came out well in front.
From previous posts I'm hoping we have just uncovered the next Gilbee.
The one before The Son of Lynd's anyway.:)

So is Christian Howard out of the running for our Toast replacement?

25-10-2013, 04:28 PM
Money ball !!!

25-10-2013, 04:33 PM
Don't forget that we left a senior spot on the list open last year by taking Goodes as a rookie.

Correct, we currently have 3 senior spots open.

Addison is likely to go and I'm going to guess someone else could be behind the 8 ball.

Maybe we just take the 3 picks and keep Dylan?

25-10-2013, 04:37 PM
We may only use 2 picks and make no further changes if we are happy with out list. I believe the rules say you must make 3 changes per year which includes trades.

25-10-2013, 04:42 PM
Correct, we currently have 3 senior spots open.

Addison is likely to go and I'm going to guess someone else could be behind the 8 ball.

Maybe we just take the 3 picks and keep Dylan?
I'd cut Dylan, and if he's the 4th best option in the PSD, then take him back. Nothing ventured, nothing gained?

25-10-2013, 04:48 PM
I'd cut Dylan, and if he's the 4th best option in the PSD, then take him back. Nothing ventured, nothing gained?

I like this thinking but we still need to work out our rookies don't we do any of them get main listed ??

25-10-2013, 04:51 PM
I like this thinking but we still need to work out our rookies don't we do any of them get main listed ??
If I was asked, I'd give Austin the 3rd year spot, give Goodes the second year and cut the rest.

25-10-2013, 04:52 PM

You need to make at least 3 changes each year but rookie upgrades can count.

I'd still like us to keep a spot open for the PSD just in case something else happens

25-10-2013, 05:45 PM
Just googled Same Darley, check out this Wiki page already updated, quite amusing.

Sam Darley (born 15 February 1993) is a professional Australian rules football player at the Western Bulldogs Football Club in the Australian Football League (AFL). He was one of the club's underage recruits, and idolised Legendary Bulldog Lindsay Gilbee, former best kick in the AFL, when growing up. Darley made his debut in Round 8, 2012, against Brisbane Lions at The Gabba.[1]
On October 25, 2013, Darley was traded to the Western Bulldogs for a bag of chips.[2]

Just excellent!

25-10-2013, 05:59 PM

It was only an old bag Peter Rhode forgot to take with him.

25-10-2013, 07:36 PM
LOL @ Bag of chips

25-10-2013, 07:40 PM
Hahaha that's fantastic. Hopefully that sticks and this kid becomes a gun!

25-10-2013, 07:58 PM
Well his nickname is now born; Chips

25-10-2013, 08:14 PM
Chips Darley. Perfect.:D

25-10-2013, 09:31 PM
I was thinking more Bob Darley but chips is good.

25-10-2013, 09:50 PM
Chips Darley. Perfect.:D

Can feel a scarf brewing...

25-10-2013, 10:20 PM
Chips Darley it is then.

25-10-2013, 11:19 PM
Wonder what happened?

Given Melbourne gave up pick 2 for Tyson we've done pretty well here.

They average the same stats virtually.

25-10-2013, 11:46 PM
Looks a pretty tidy player from the highlights. Certainly worth the punt for pick 78 in a shallow draft.

25-10-2013, 11:48 PM
Neither us nor GWS are going to use pic 78. Its was a gift.

26-10-2013, 01:47 AM

Tyson still unproven so yes a steel

26-10-2013, 01:49 AM
Neither us nor GWS are going to use pic 78. Its was a gift.

From Leon.

26-10-2013, 02:10 AM
From Leon.

With love.

26-10-2013, 03:34 AM
Kids like Darley will hurt them if they come good.
Not so much Tyson or Adams who they were well compensated for.

26-10-2013, 08:10 AM

Yep the Darley selection, in years to come, could well prove to be an absolute bargain.

Great work by the club in identifying this lad as potential trade and even more so in using one our of later picks in nabbing him.

wb_age
26-10-2013, 08:29 AM
Does anybody think he may not have been offered a contract by GWS? Or perhaps he simply did not want to stay and was not going to sign a contract & willing to take his chances in the draft.

While I'm extremely happy to have picked him up, I am a little curious.

On a different note, love this from his twitter account.

@Sdarley14: Could not be happier to continue my playing career with @westernbulldogs tremendous club with a proud history! #blesses #godogs

26-10-2013, 08:53 AM
Does anyone agree that apart from being right footed Sam moves and looks like Nick del santo?

26-10-2013, 09:56 AM
Does anyone agree that apart from being right footed Sam moves and looks like Nick del santo?

my thoughts exactly.

26-10-2013, 11:04 AM
Agreed. Chips does look like Nic D.

26-10-2013, 11:31 AM
Does anybody think he may not have been offered a contract by GWS? Or perhaps he simply did not want to stay and was not going to sign a contract & willing to take his chances in the draft.

While I'm extremely happy to have picked him up, I am a little curious.

On a different note, love this from his twitter account.

@Sdarley14: Could not be happier to continue my playing career with @westernbulldogs tremendous club with a proud history! #blesses #godogs

That is why we got him

26-10-2013, 12:21 PM

Baldock
Alistair Lynch
Matthew Richardson
Ricky Ponting
Ben Hifenhaus
and even George Bailey.

pffftt

Try these

Shane Williams
Darren Davies
Simon Minton Connell
Paul Williams
Liam Jones
Sam Darley

All from the South, & all from North Hobart FC & all part of the Bulldogs past, present & future,

Also best beer in Australia from the South. Moo Broo!!!

26-10-2013, 12:24 PM
pffftt

Try these

Shane Williams
Darren Davies
Simon Minton Connell
Paul Williams
Liam Jones
Sam Darley

All from the South, & all from North Hobart FC & all part of the Bulldogs past, present & future,

Don't forget Alan Rait.

26-10-2013, 12:29 PM
I love the parochial divide between north and south in Tassie. How can a state so small be so parochial? In fact there s a north, south and north-west divide!

26-10-2013, 01:27 PM
I love the parochial divide between north and south in Tassie. How can a state so small be so parochial? In fact there s a north, south and north-west divide!

can't we all just agree that the best part about Tassie is Flinders Island ?

26-10-2013, 01:38 PM

I thought it was because it wasn't attached to the main land.:p

26-10-2013, 04:49 PM

I work with a business that is Tasmania focused, and the only thing they hate more than Melbournians getting up in their grill is someone from the other end of their state getting up in their grill.

It actually caught me off guard when I first experienced it.

26-10-2013, 06:08 PM
Agreed. Chips does look like Nic D.

Let's hope he has not picked up all of Nicky Dels little attributes.;)
Maybe his nickname should be little Nick.

26-10-2013, 07:04 PM
For years players coming through the draft were compared to Nick Dal Santo given even the slightest hint of good foot skills or ball control because he was perceived as the model modern midfielder. Now here comes a player who actually does appear to move like Nicky Dal, long after these comparisons were fashionable!

26-10-2013, 07:39 PM
pffftt

Try these

Shane Williams
Darren Davies
Simon Minton Connell
Paul Williams
Liam Jones
Sam Darley

We are forgetting other champions from the North which includes:
David Boon
Brent Crosswell
Gary Lyon
Verdin Howell
Colin Robertson
Scratcher Neal

26-10-2013, 08:24 PM
Let's hope he has not picked up all of Nicky Dels little attributes.;)
Maybe his nickname should be little Nick.

Perhaps he could be called Little Nicky Chips. Makes sense to me.

26-10-2013, 08:36 PM
Perhaps he could be called Little Nicky Chips. Makes sense to me.

Like it.

26-10-2013, 08:55 PM
This is the most excited I've been about a Sam, since Power!

26-10-2013, 09:10 PM
All those Tasmanians should bow at the alter of Royce Hart. Except Baldock.

And no-one has mentioned Laurie Nash.

26-10-2013, 10:26 PM
We should all bow to Royce's great coaching exploits
Doc was a better coach as well

26-10-2013, 10:51 PM
pffftt

Try these

Shane Williams
Darren Davies
Simon Minton Connell
Paul Williams
Liam Jones
Sam Darley

Not correct Doctor. Darren Davies is a Launceston boy and played with Launceston and his brother Craig played with North Launceston.

27-10-2013, 12:00 AM
Not correct Doctor. Darren Davies is a Launceston boy and played with Launceston and his brother Craig played with North Launceston.

Darren made his name at North and thats all that matters. starred in the 87 GF THE MIGHTY DEMONS WON!!!!

27-10-2013, 12:14 AM
All those Tasmanians should bow at the alter of Royce Hart. Except Baldock.

And no-one has mentioned Laurie Nash.

Or Peter Hudson

27-10-2013, 12:36 AM
Don't forget Alan Rait.

He wasn't that good and he was a northerner. He warmed up with a 100 goal season and peaked at 154 the next season before he went to Footscray. Did he do any good for us Twodogs, who speaks with tongued fork?

27-10-2013, 01:00 AM

No way. The best part of Tassie is the TRC Hotel in Launceston. Stayed there for 2 nights in 2008 on the weekend we beat the Hawks down there, and apart from the footy at York Park, there wasn't a reason to leave the place. $40 per room per night and the best Boags beer on tap anywhere.

27-10-2013, 01:04 AM
We are forgetting other champions from the North which includes:
David Boon
Brent Crosswell
Gary Lyon
Verdin Howell
Colin Robertson
Scratcher Neal

Simon Atkins ? (or his brother Paul, but mostly Simon)

Absolute GUN

27-10-2013, 04:38 AM
Jesse Wells ?

27-10-2013, 05:54 AM
Lets get back on track?

27-10-2013, 08:54 AM
Lets get back on track?

Sorry G last one.

Anyone know if this can be had in Victoria? Always interested to try new beers.

PS. Boony is the best thing from Tassie.

27-10-2013, 09:09 AM
Sorry G last one.

Anyone know if this can be had in Victoria? Always interested to try new beers.

PS. Boony is the best thing from Tassie.

it's available at Cellarbrations in Elwood

27-10-2013, 11:34 AM
So another young kid with a lot of upside joins us.
Seems to have escaped any sort of media attention this kid as far as career is concerned.
Not many people even knew of him including me, I thought it was a mistype about Docherty at first

27-10-2013, 12:01 PM
Going by his limited highlights reel, looks like a neat player who looks to be able to read the play pretty well, may be a chance to sneak in a few games in 2014 given he's 20 and played a dozen or so games, perhaps he and Pearce could be fighting for the same spot down back.

27-10-2013, 12:18 PM
I think after a strong preseason he might be more likely to be fighting it out with JJ for a spot in the 22.

Don't know enough about GWS's list to this point to know how stiff the competition was for spots in the defensive six, so can't comment on why he may not have played more games.

27-10-2013, 01:35 PM
I think after a strong preseason he might be more likely to be fighting it out with JJ for a spot in the 22.

Don't know enough about GWS's list to this point to know how stiff the competition was for spots in the defensive six, so can't comment on why he may not have played more games.

I think at least part of it was due to the Dubs needing to play really defensively out of their back 6, meaning Sam wasn't afforded the opportunity to play to his strengths. When their initial 22 was being established the talk was that he was overlooked for Tom Bugg for this reason.

28-10-2013, 11:56 AM
I think he looks promising from his highlights reel. Moves well and uses the ball quite well. Think he's renowned as a good kick so we may have something to work with here.

Seems like a level headed guy from his tweets too. There's a real feel that BMac just won't go near dickheads so I'm confident we've unearthed another good player for next to nothing.

28-10-2013, 12:42 PM
GWS has amassed so much elite talent, and so much of it outside the actual draft.
(makes you wonder how diluted all recent drafts have REALLY been)

Zone access, 17yo access etc etc.

There must be so many talented kids in that squad who are 3rd or 4th in line for their spot, and just ripe for the picking for someone with a good eye (Bmac for example).

Reading Darley's junior bio, it sounds like we've just stolen the next Haydn Bunton!

It's not beyond the realms of possibility that some of the fruit falling out of the GWS tree, may actually be sweeter than the fruit 'bought from the shop'.

And he sure reminds me of Nick Dal Santo. ALOT.........

28-10-2013, 01:13 PM
Sam Darley Santo

28-10-2013, 01:26 PM
The way he moves and drops the ball onto boot is certainly very Dal Santo like.

28-10-2013, 03:48 PM
The way he moves and drops the ball onto boot is certainly very Dal Santo like.

Looks to be a one touch player which is a good start and very Dal Santo-like.

28-10-2013, 04:49 PM
pffftt

Try these

Shane Williams
Darren Davies
Simon Minton Connell
Paul Williams
Liam Jones
Sam Darley

Paul Williams was actually from Wynyard.
The same town as
Alistair Lynch
Simon Atkins
Chris Bond
current Melbourne player Colin Garland
plus

Robert Neal (Geel)
Colin Robertson (Hawthorn 1983 Norm Smith Medallist)

A couple of fair Shield cficketers as well
Jamie Cox
Dene Hills

28-10-2013, 06:58 PM
Paul Williams was actually from Wynyard.

Don't matter, learnt everything he knows from the Demons!! and we taught Chris Bond everything as well.

I wasn't going to bring out the big guns but now you've forced me

Leigh McConnon - Blues
Dennis Scanlon - Ess
James Manson - pies
Romano Negri - Crows
John McCarthey - north
Bob Jones - Saints
Jodi Arnol - Saints
Brad Plain - Ess
Billy Morrison - Pies

and the grand daddy of them all Percy Jones

Media personalities Max Walker and Mike Sheahan can commentate.

Once again, all from the mighty North Hobart Demons!

28-10-2013, 07:09 PM
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/Buttons%20icons/dad5cf39-08b7-4928-abab-8c30828c32e9_zpsfdb1dbf4.jpg (http://s202.photobucket.com/user/mmsalih/media/Buttons%20icons/dad5cf39-08b7-4928-abab-8c30828c32e9_zpsfdb1dbf4.jpg.html)

28-10-2013, 10:35 PM
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa198/mmsalih/Buttons%20icons/dad5cf39-08b7-4928-abab-8c30828c32e9_zpsfdb1dbf4.jpg (http://s202.photobucket.com/user/mmsalih/media/Buttons%20icons/dad5cf39-08b7-4928-abab-8c30828c32e9_zpsfdb1dbf4.jpg.html)

Yeah, for all you Tassie people this North vs South dialogue might be good fun but for the rest of us it's just annoying - I want to read about Sam Darley when I click on this thread! Maybe you could start another thread to have a good chinwag about everything Tasmanian..

29-10-2013, 10:36 AM
Yeah, for all you Tassie people this North vs South dialogue might be good fun but for the rest of us it's just annoying - I want to read about Sam Darley when I click on this thread! Maybe you could start another thread to have a good chinwag about everything Tasmanian..

Or alternately talk about Sam Darely on the tassie thread.... :rolleyes:

29-10-2013, 10:50 AM
leave us alone you mainland bullies :p

Back to topic tho' This could be a very shrewd pick up for us and good to see us cherry picking some of the talented kids the expansion clubs are over supplied with.

29-10-2013, 12:24 PM
Will he play the first game? That is the big question.

29-10-2013, 04:17 PM

We'll get a look at him in the pre-season comp, together wilth our #4 pick, JJ and a fitter Stringer.

29-10-2013, 04:48 PM

Why is it the big question? I wouldn't have thought anyone expects him to be a walk up start.

29-10-2013, 04:52 PM
Why is it the big question? I wouldn't have thought anyone expects him to be a walk up start.

I think BAD was using it as a segue to stop the north versus south Tas chitty chat.

Having said that, it is an interesting question. I think his acquisition adds for some competition down back that we may have had to draft for to create otherwise. JJ was looking likely to have a pretty clear run at a HBF or BP spot, and at least he'll now know he has to really fight for it, providing Darley has a good preseason.

29-10-2013, 04:52 PM
Adam White was very complimentary of Darley - he tweeted last week about trade period being a place where the occasional gems are unearthed for a pittance and specifically made mention of Darley.

29-10-2013, 05:01 PM
I think BAD was using it as a segue to stop the north versus south Tas chitty chat.

Okay...my bad;)

29-10-2013, 05:19 PM
Adam White was very complimentary of Darley - he tweeted last week about trade period being a place where the occasional gems are unearthed for a pittance and specifically made mention of Darley.

Who's Adam White Sedat?

29-10-2013, 05:38 PM
Who's Adam White Sedat?

Part of ABC Grandstand team?

29-10-2013, 05:42 PM
There's an interview with Sam up on the website.

He speaks extremely well, very impressive.

29-10-2013, 06:12 PM
There's an interview with Sam up on the website.

He speaks extremely well, very impressive.

In summary he says:

Sam Darley officially became a Western Bulldogs in the final hour of the 2013 Gillette AFL Trade Period but this isn’t the first time he has worn Club colours at Victoria University Whitten Oval.

As an AIS Academy player in 2010, Darley was given his first insight into the professional world of AFL and its demands at the Bulldogs and was immediately impressed.

“I did my week as an AIS student back about four years ago now here and loved the Club then,” Darley said.

Now 20, with three years in the AFL system, he will make the kennel home after being traded from the GWS Giants for pick 78.

“[I] Had a little bit of wind that it (trade) might have happened and then towards the end [and]was starting to get a little bit anxious,” he said.

“I was pretty glad when it went through and got a call from Jase (List Manager Jason McCartney) and the boys.

“I am obviously part of the Western Bulldogs football club now and I was really excited.”

Darley’s connections don’t end there with the Tasmanian recruit having also played junior football at the same club as new teammate Liam Jones.

Plying his trade as a midfielder at North Hobart, the 20-year-old added defensive skills to his arsenal, after shifting to half-back at the Giants.

“[Senior Coach Brendan McCartney] said that hopefully this year [I will] be an outside midfielder or play at half-back and hopefully add something to the group,” he said.

“In all my juniors I was a midfielder and then come to the Giants and we had a great abundance of the young midfielders so they put me at half-back and tried to utilise my kick.

“That is where I have played the last couple of years, I’ve really enjoyed it down there and hopefully can do a little bit here and hopefully show the coaches exactly what I can do.”

30-10-2013, 12:56 PM
Had the pleasure of meeting Sam yesterday ... what a delightful young man he is. Asked him what # he would wear, he said he didn't know, I told him # 4 was available to which he said " CROSSY...DON'T HAVE SHOES BIG ENOUGH TO FILL CROSSY'S NUMBER"

I'm guessing the #4 will go to our 1st pick, maybe same can wear Dylan's number 22

30-10-2013, 01:14 PM
Was interested to hear him say that he's heading off to Colorado with the big fellas in a week.

30-10-2013, 06:50 PM
Looks to be a one touch player which is a good start and very Dal Santo-like.

Yes, he moves a bit like Dal Santo. I wouldn't read too much into it though.
I remember Stuart Anderson used to move like Wayne Carey. Played a few games but was delisted and never heard of again.

30-10-2013, 07:07 PM
I remember Stuart Anderson used to move like Wayne Carey. Played a few games but was delisted and never heard of again.
He did quite a few other things just like Wayne Carey as well ;)

06-11-2013, 05:14 PM
He did quite a few other things just like Wayne Carey as well ;)

Rhymes with duck? :eek:

06-11-2013, 06:13 PM
Rhymes with duck? :eek:

no LUCK:D

06-11-2013, 07:51 PM
He looks like a baby still

06-11-2013, 10:28 PM
He looks like a baby still

He dies doesn't he?

06-11-2013, 11:12 PM
He dies doesn't he?

Everyone dies.

06-11-2013, 11:16 PM
Everyone dies.

Now I've given the end of the film away.

Anyway blame autocorrect.

07-11-2013, 07:30 AM
Now I've given the end of the film away.

Anyway blame autocorrect.

Does he at least die a multiple priemership hero?

07-11-2013, 08:30 AM
Does he at least die a multiple priemership hero?

Multiple World Cup winning hero after the Bulldogs decide to form their own country and play soccer instead off footy after the AFL piss us off one too many times.

29-11-2013, 03:18 PM
I feel like this thread went way of track - probably because it was a bag of chips trade pick 78 and so got kind of stuck up behind the excitment of Crameri.

I'm bored and googling and have really only just registered...

- Sam was a member of the 2010 All Australian Under 18 Team
- Sam won the Hunter Harrison Medal (the Div 2 equivalent of the Morrish) which has prevously
been won by the likes of Michael Voss, Grant Birchall, Craig Bird amoungst others, (yes I've been
pretty selective but there are some good names there...)
- We know he fits the mould as a cracking in, works hard, solid young man or we wouldn't have taken\
him.

In hindsight; this just seems like a far bigger coup at pick 78 than I for one gave credit for. Great pick up and he could easily be a later bloomer who fires up for us.

Another fantastic value trade it would appear to me as an outsider looking on.

Welcome Sam again - hope you have a great career with us!

29-11-2013, 03:33 PM
If he is servicable in his first year here, then one of these every year or two (to go with Bluey Young last year for lose change) and we'll be doubling up on the draft essentially :)

Avoid the rush
01-12-2013, 11:13 PM
Sam Darley will play more games in 2014 than most of the other 2013 draftees . Just sayin! Have faith!

01-12-2013, 11:19 PM
Sam Darley will play more games in 2014 than most of the other 2013 draftees . Just sayin! Have faith!

Can I ask why you are so confident?

02-12-2013, 01:22 AM
I feel like this thread went way of track - probably because it was a bag of chips trade pick 78 and so got kind of stuck up behind the excitment of Crameri.

I'm bored and googling and have really only just registered...

- Sam was a member of the 2010 All Australian Under 18 Team
- Sam won the Hunter Harrison Medal (the Div 2 equivalent of the Morrish) which has prevously
been won by the likes of Michael Voss, Grant Birchall, Craig Bird amoungst others, (yes I've been
pretty selective but there are some good names there...)
- We know he fits the mould as a cracking in, works hard, solid young man or we wouldn't have taken\
him.

In hindsight; this just seems like a far bigger coup at pick 78 than I for one gave credit for. Great pick up and he could easily be a later bloomer who fires up for us.

Another fantastic value trade it would appear to me as an outsider looking on.

Welcome Sam again - hope you have a great career with us!

That's an impressive CV already. He's fairly young still isn't he?

I like that we are furthering the trading relationship with GWS too.

02-12-2013, 08:36 AM
That's an impressive CV already. He's fairly young still isn't he?

I like that we are furthering the trading relationship with GWS too.

Draft year of Wallis, Libba and Dahl so only 20 or 21. Looks like he needs to bulk up abit more.

18-08-2014, 12:10 PM
So... what do we think?

Having played a few games now, I have to admit I have seen a few signs from him that he could make the grade - in particular, he seems to kick the ball very low and hard and tends to hit a target with the low kicks more often than not.

Will be a work in progress as he finds the right balance between attacking and defending (obviously in his first few games his focus is on his opponent).

Seems to be the kind of player that will benefit from some continuity

18-08-2014, 12:12 PM
I too have liked what i've seen. With more time and development, he could be a great little get for us.

18-08-2014, 12:13 PM
I think he looks decent. Nice kick, but not a particularly physical player or accumulator.

I thought his first half was good on Sunday because he looked to find much more of the ball than previous games; if he is going to make it he needs to really make himself an outlet as much as possible because he won't be picked for lock down jobs.

I'm looking forward to him growing in confidence because atm he plays like he doubts himself and I think he has the tools to be really damaging if he just backs himself in.

18-08-2014, 12:16 PM
So... what do we think?

Having played a few games now, I have to admit I have seen a few signs from him that he could make the grade - in particular, he seems to kick the ball very low and hard and tends to hit a target with the low kicks more often than not.

Will be a work in progress as he finds the right balance between attacking and defending (obviously in his first few games his focus is on his opponent).

Strikes me as a kind of B grade Bob Murphy, which isn't a criticism at all. Not as smooth as Bob but can use the ball beautifully on the right. I've liked what I've seen, obviously still a work in progress but seems to be working hard on his defensive side with a view to being a strong defender with the ability to rebound. Considering the low cost he seems a decent find.

18-08-2014, 12:37 PM
I think he looks decent. Nice kick, but not a particularly physical player or accumulator.

They're the two things I've noticed as well.

His kicking looks quite good, but he seems like a kid playing against men. I think he's some chance to make it but he needs to develop dramatically physically. He needs to add considerable size and aggression over the summer to be a possible regular next year.

18-08-2014, 01:29 PM
He's played and trained with a bunch of kids until he came to us, so I'm not overly concerned about his lack of physicality yet. Another pre-season should do him wonders.

His short bullet pass kicking is elite. He's like the anti-Matty Boyd.

18-08-2014, 01:45 PM
A pre-season of weights and boxing is required. I think he's got a reasonable frame, and once he adds some bulk to it he's going to have more confidence in his attack.

18-08-2014, 01:59 PM
He's played and trained with a bunch of kids until he came to us, so I'm not overly concerned about his lack of physicality yet. Another pre-season should do him wonders.

Hehe true he's what Boyd tries to be.

He does seem to think twice about taking the game on a bit as a lot of young kids with a lack of confidence do.
I want to see how clever and creative he can be. So far we can see how his skills are good but I want to see more with his vision and being able to set plays up, attacking the game to work out if he will hold down that medium HBF role.

18-08-2014, 02:27 PM

There's been a few times this year I have sighed as Darley has kicked short, as it looks like it has just grubbered along the deck, only for it to actually reach the target on the full.

18-08-2014, 02:34 PM
A pre-season of weights and boxing is required. I think he's got a reasonable frame, and once he adds some bulk to it he's going to have more confidence in his attack.

This coming preseason will actually be his 5th in the AFL system. He needs to make big gain this time.

18-08-2014, 02:49 PM
He's not doing a lot wrong, but he isn't giving us enough either. How far can he kick? Always seems to go short, I wonder whether he would be an option to handpass off to when marking outside 50 Gilbee/Eagleton style

18-08-2014, 03:56 PM
This coming preseason will actually be his 5th in the AFL system. He needs to make big gain this time.

Agree with this.

The positive is that he's improved a fair bit from the beginning of the season, when he was struggling to have an impact at AFL level.

Physicality and adding some strength to his frame will be pivotal.

18-08-2014, 04:07 PM

11-12, 12-13, and 13-14 probably count as proper pre-seasons to date. Can his development year as a 17 year old really be considered a pre-season? What would they do differently in that system compared to those in the U/18 programs across the country from a strength building and weight gaining perspective?

Anyway, I agree that at his age and stage in development he is reaching a point where he is stronger and able to hold his own more often than not in a physical contest.

18-08-2014, 04:25 PM
Certainly needs further development in contests/ground ball.

At this point, he is good when he gets a clean ball, and is a good kick and decision maker. But the rest of his game are a fair way off - and to some degree this can be expected of a young player.

Some continuity in his footy, growing some confidence, and development physically and in his skills in the contest - and we could have a player. Needs to learn how to defend if he is going to be a half back.

He has improved considerably since his early VFL games - so has probably been a positive year for him overall.

18-08-2014, 06:57 PM
He's not doing a lot wrong, but he isn't giving us enough either. How far can he kick? Always seems to go short, I wonder whether he would be an option to handpass off to when marking outside 50 Gilbee/Eagleton style

He looks to be a Gilbee replacement and maybe we should look to him more often. He needs to find space as a go to man so he can deliver.

18-08-2014, 06:59 PM
I've liked his work to date, once he gets to 23 he'll be mature and better able to handle the physicality. His kicking, being fast moving daisy cutters, are a real asset in the modern game. If he doesn't end up a defender I wouldn't mind him off a wing kicking pin point passes to leading medium and small forwards.

18-08-2014, 08:11 PM
I've liked his work to date, once he gets to 23 he'll be mature and better able to handle the physicality. His kicking, being fast moving daisy cutters, are a real asset in the modern game. If he doesn't end up a defender I wouldn't mind him off a wing kicking pin point passes to leading medium and small forwards.

Was thinking the same thing. Worth persevering with and I too think he has touch of the Bob Murphy aka Mr Smoothy (to be sure, to be sure).

18-08-2014, 08:11 PM
So... what do we think?

He is around the mark. It's a bit of a shame he wasn't available more earlier in the season but he is certainly worth another year. Not every player on our list either needs to be very young or in our best 22. Darley can fill a few spots as well.

As others have pointed out, he needs to make next season a good one.

18-08-2014, 08:20 PM
Darley may well make it, although I would like to see him stronger in the contest. Good in space but doesn't appear to have anything like Murph's ability to create space.

One of the issues for the list is the number of borderline maybe players that could play at half back. We really need one to step up and become a presence.