View Full Version : WOOF Members

17-10-2007, 08:57 PM
Now that we have cracked the 100 contributors mark it would be a great idea to get an idea of where you are all located.

I know we have some from overseas and we have a number of people from interstate but it would be great to get an idea of roughly where everybody lives.

The areas are
Vic Metro
Vic Country
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory
Queensland
South Australia
Northern Territory
Western Australia
Tasmania
Overseas

Thanks

17-10-2007, 09:00 PM
Is there a poll?

Vic Metro here.

17-10-2007, 09:02 PM
Not visible TCD?

17-10-2007, 09:05 PM
Not when I first looked. Is now.

Yes the thread goes in slightly before the poll. You must have been quick off the mark.
You had me checking the admin settings ;)

Vic Metro for me but I'm a Vic Country boy at heart.
Now living in the Eastern suburbs after being born in Footscray.

17-10-2007, 09:15 PM
Western suburbs boy born and bred:D

17-10-2007, 09:18 PM
Geelong girl.
im on the surf coast, Barwon Heads to be more precise!

17-10-2007, 09:19 PM
There's a few of us from Werribee on here.

17-10-2007, 09:20 PM
Geelong girl.
im on the surf coast, Barwon Heads to be more precise!

Did you put yourself down as Metro or Country? :D

17-10-2007, 09:26 PM
Hahah country, because Barwon Heads isnt very metro! And i lived in Port Campbell for 7 years, country.....so Vic Country was the way to go!

17-10-2007, 09:27 PM
Well, SA is off the mark.

17-10-2007, 09:29 PM
Well, SA is off the mark.

You might need to open the batting for them then.....oh now I get what you mean. :)

17-10-2007, 09:38 PM
You might need to open the batting for them then.....oh now I get what you mean. :)

Haha, it's looking like it's going to be a long summer for me.

17-10-2007, 09:45 PM
Vic Metro for me too.

17-10-2007, 10:01 PM
I hail from the hamlet of St. Albans.
Home of Kret and Koly and Delre.
I Played for St.Albans against Bisset ( Albion) Terry Love (Spotswood) and Robbie Mcghie ( W.Foots.)
Also played with S. Macpherson and Gary Walpole ( anyone remember him?)
Anyone else played with or against Bulldogs?

17-10-2007, 10:15 PM
I hail from the hamlet of St. Albans.
Home of Kret and Koly and Delre.
I Played for St.Albans against Bisset ( Albion) Terry Love (Spotswood) and Robbie Mcghie ( W.Foots.)
Also played with S. Macpherson and Gary Walpole ( anyone remember him?)
Anyone else played with or against Bulldogs?

From Fish Creek if my memory serves me correctly, hence the nickname 'fish'. Wore #42.

17-10-2007, 11:06 PM
Correct.
Very nice bloke. Extremely quick.
As for the nickname Fish, he actually looked like a goldfish.

17-10-2007, 11:20 PM
Born in Altona, living in Ashwood.

17-10-2007, 11:39 PM
Born in Footscray - lived 6 years - Wales St then Barkley st, then West Sunshine, Maribynong, Carlton, East Doncaster, North Melbourne, Taiwan, Singapore and now Armadale (nine years)

18-10-2007, 12:14 AM
You lived in Singapore? Arguably my favorite city in the world.

18-10-2007, 12:34 AM

Arguably your favourite city in the world. Who are you arguing with? Yourself?

18-10-2007, 07:41 AM
Vic metro - just
Out in the Dandenongs. Despite my doggies affiliation, I've always kicked it Eastside.

18-10-2007, 09:24 AM

Yes worked there for two and a half years after being in Taiwan for almost 5.

18-10-2007, 10:04 AM
Arguably your favourite city in the world. Who are you arguing with? Yourself?

Yes, with myself. :D

There are a lot of cities that I've been to that I really enjoyed. Singapore is one of my favourites.

18-10-2007, 10:06 AM
Yes worked there for two and a half years after being in Taiwan for almost 5.

Might I ask what sort of work you do? Did you enjoy living there?

18-10-2007, 10:36 AM
Vic Metro

Born and bred in the country.

Been all around Melbourne now in Northern Suburbs

18-10-2007, 10:38 AM
I will click the WA button to break the duck...I am still in Vic Metro as I type, but not for too much longer.

18-10-2007, 10:55 AM
Born in South Africa, we emigrated to Melbourne in 1979, and despite living in Croydon a school-friend convinced me to go for the Dogs in the early 80s.

I've been steadily moving West-ward since and now live just the other (wrong?) side of the Maribyrnong.

[edit - speaking of milestones I note that this is post # 15,000 for WOOF]

18-10-2007, 12:04 PM
WOOF's Canberra outpost here - after all we need a 'reporter' for the Manuka game and possible Community Camp. I might be the only one in the poll.

Born in Footscray, lived my youf in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, a year in Norway (good colours the Norwegians) and now racked up 11 years in Canberra. (as the young people would say - OMG)

18-10-2007, 12:37 PM
WOOF's Canberra outpost here - after all we need a 'reporter' for the Manuka game and possible Community Camp. I might be the only one in the poll.

Born in Footscray, lived my youf in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, a year in Norway (good colours the Norwegians) and now racked up 11 years in Canberra. (as the young people would say - OMG)

I think 11 years in Canberra rates an OMFG :D

18-10-2007, 01:03 PM
I think 11 years in Canberra rates an OMFG :D

fair call.

18-10-2007, 01:04 PM
You must love those fireworks! ;)

when you combine them with the porn its quite a bang.

rapidshave
18-10-2007, 07:24 PM
Vic Country for me.

Lived out here all my life and enjoy the peace and quiet that is Gisborne.

19-10-2007, 03:40 AM
I guess I'm the foreign correspondent......London been here for 5 years and likely to be here for the foreseeable future. Read with interest what most of you in the know write and try to contribute with opinions etc.....am generally lucky b/c I download most of the games so get to watch them with the benefit of hindsight.......

19-10-2007, 09:36 PM
I guess I'm the foreign correspondent......London been here for 5 years and likely to be here for the foreseeable future. Read with interest what most of you in the know write and try to contribute with opinions etc.....am generally lucky b/c I download most of the games so get to watch them with the benefit of hindsight.......

I'm fairly sure MrMahatma is from overseas as well so hopefully he will vote. We have a number of people who haven't voted yet so hopefully the will over the next few days. Expecting to see a few more from Vic Country and NSW as well.

We are also missing quite a few from Geelong.

LostDog
19-10-2007, 10:29 PM
Devonport, Tasmania here

19-10-2007, 10:34 PM
Devonport, Tasmania here

I think we have a couple of others from Tassie as well.

19-10-2007, 11:54 PM
Another vote for the Vic Metro region. :)

20-10-2007, 01:01 AM
Vic Country

Lived in Bendigo for the past 10 years, no plans on moving anytime soon either.

20-10-2007, 06:22 PM
Vic Country.

Halfway between Melbourne & Geelong. It's not too bad, means I'm able to go to both sides of 'town' without it being more then 40 minutes.

20-10-2007, 07:10 PM
Vic Country.

Halfway between Melbourne & Geelong. It's not too bad, means I'm able to go to both sides of 'town' without it being more then 40 minutes.

Except you'd probably not really want to go to Geelong much, right? ;)

Crizza
21-10-2007, 12:31 AM
Another Vic Metro, Glen Iris to be precise

21-10-2007, 12:37 AM
Vic Country

Lived in Bendigo for the past 10 years, no plans on moving anytime soon either.

I lived in Bendigo for a number of years and loved it. Terrific town.

21-10-2007, 01:20 AM
Geelong for me.....

21-10-2007, 11:38 AM
Lived in Melbourne since a pup but made the move up near Daylesford way earlier this year and ain't lookin' back, so that's +1 for Vic Country.

21-10-2007, 12:00 PM
Lived in Melbourne since a pup but made the move up near Daylesford way earlier this year and ain't lookin' back, so that's +1 for Vic Country.

Didn't we once recruit a young kid from Daylesford?

21-10-2007, 01:29 PM
"Didn't we once recruit a young kid from Daylesford?"

With Pick 105? :)

Good to see ppl are from all across the board, i assumed everyone was from metro vic lol.

Western Suburbs 4 Lyfe.

21-10-2007, 01:51 PM
Devonport, Tasmania here

Launceston, Tasmania here. Glad Im not the only one LOST DOG!!

21-10-2007, 01:55 PM
Launceston, Tasmania here. Glad Im not the only one LOST DOG!!

Bet you 2 are happy that the Dogs are playing in Tassie next year! When they played St.Kilda down there a few seasons back in the rain my nephew was the mascot for the day.

21-10-2007, 01:58 PM
Bet you 2 are happy that the Dogs are playing in Tassie next year! When they played St.Kilda down there a few seasons back in the rain my nephew was the mascot for the day.

That was a SHOCKING day. Weather and performance wise haha.

Yeah will be cool to see the team down here...save on those fares to melb.

21-10-2007, 06:05 PM
Vic metro here. Originally country NSW, Deniliquin. Been some handy sportsmen from there.
Been in Melb since about 84, mainly East Keilor and Essendon area, Been in Southbank for about a year now which is great for bein able to walk to and from the footy, especially as i tend to enjoy the occasional beverage while at the footy or cricket

21-10-2007, 06:07 PM
I've ticked off Vic Metro, because thats where i currently call home. But i'm born and breed Vic country. (Geelong)

21-10-2007, 06:43 PM
The capital city of Gippsland.

21-10-2007, 07:34 PM
Vic country here, originally from NZ until moved to Oz 27 years ago, lived in the Eastern suburbs but started barracking for the doggies way back then. Later lived in Newport and Yarraville for several years and started becoming more serious about the doggies (early 90's) Now living just outside Seymour.

21-10-2007, 08:24 PM
Vic country here, originally from NZ until moved to Oz 27 years ago, lived in the Eastern suburbs but started barracking for the doggies way back then. Later lived in Newport and Yarraville for several years and started becoming more serious about the doggies (early 90's) Now living just outside Seymour.

Are you sure you don't have a bit of gypsy blood? That's a lot of moves ;)

21-10-2007, 09:00 PM
Another one from Melbourne metro here.

LardDog
21-10-2007, 11:17 PM
I was born and bred in Bendigo, moved to the big smoke for uni, now living in Glen Waverley.

21-10-2007, 11:19 PM
I was born and bred in Bendigo, moved to the big smoke for uni, now living in Glen Waverley.

The first home that I purchased was in Glencoe st Kennington. I now live pretty close to Glen Waverley as well.
By the way, welcome to WOOF

easybeat
22-10-2007, 10:21 AM
Vic Metro-West side pride

22-10-2007, 12:38 PM
The capital city of Gippsland.

Me too Fossie. Mighty Wonthaggi!!!:D

22-10-2007, 12:40 PM

Welcome wonnydog. Looking forward to seeing more of you on here!

22-10-2007, 12:42 PM
Thanks TCD. I thought everyone had run away! Felt a bit like the kid that no-one looks for when they play 'hide and seek'!!

22-10-2007, 12:44 PM
Thanks TCD. I thought everyone had run away! Felt a bit like the kid that no-one looks for when they play 'hide and seek'!!

What's with the 'Hudson Police' avatar?

22-10-2007, 12:47 PM
I'll be watching our new Adelaide recruit very closely TCD.

22-10-2007, 12:48 PM

Nice ;)

22-10-2007, 12:58 PM

Are you happy we have picked him up? I am. I'm quite impressed with what I saw of him at Adelaide & also believe we really need a better ruckman than we have had in the past few seasons.

22-10-2007, 01:06 PM
Just looking at the progressive results of this vote and one thing seems very obvious to me. The Club must immediately cease the NT experiment and reward the large slice of Country Victoria that is Bulldog heartland. I propose a move to South Gippsland for 4 home games a year, playing out of Rec. Reserve #1, Wonthaggi.

22-10-2007, 01:07 PM
Are you happy we have picked him up? I am. I'm quite impressed with what I saw of him at Adelaide & also believe we really need a better ruckman than we have had in the past few seasons.

You could describe my attitude as cautiously reservedly happyish, kind of.

22-10-2007, 04:02 PM
There's a few of us from Werribee on here.

Slot me into that category.

22-10-2007, 10:17 PM
Born Western General.

Grew up in Altona.

Now call Werribee home. Just around the corner from Coon Dog.

22-10-2007, 10:20 PM
We might even start up the Werribee Chapter of WOOF.

I think there's TDB, easybeat, Westdog54, dales.girl.38 & me. Anyone else?

23-10-2007, 12:45 AM

How are things in the suburbs these days?

23-10-2007, 12:48 AM

We used to live in Elphin Street.
I played for Newport FC.......

........reserves.:o

23-10-2007, 12:52 AM

I play U18's Football for a Werribee based club, if that counts.

23-10-2007, 06:52 AM
I play U18's Football for a Werribee based club, if that counts.
Close enough. Which club?

23-10-2007, 09:29 AM
How are things in the suburbs these days?

Good mate, good. Just counting down the days to desalination! Life off-shore well?

23-10-2007, 06:23 PM
In Yemen for 08 season it looks like.:mad:

mackem
23-10-2007, 07:45 PM
Since arriving from England in 1969 I've lived in Brunswick, Thornton, West Footscray and now Braybrook.

23-10-2007, 09:13 PM
Currently around Geelong for me, but possible going back down the south coast of Vic.
Which is good, but now I can't just jump on the train to the footy! NOOO!

24-10-2007, 12:10 AM
70 responses so far which is great. It would be good to get a few more though.

katemeehan
24-10-2007, 07:24 PM
Eastern suburbs for me too
Did you go to the East meets West day?
I missed out on that one! Was right around the corner from me too!

25-10-2007, 06:03 PM
vic metro for me.

W W Biscuit
25-10-2007, 10:33 PM
Born in the Queen Vic, raised in the shadows of the VFL Park grandstand and now living in Blackburn.

26-10-2007, 12:11 AM
Might I ask what sort of work you do? Did you enjoy living there?

I was working as a finance director at the time. These days I work as a consultant in my own business but part of a network.

Singapore was ok, but after awhile you get sick of it as the Island is small and not much to do on weekends. Outdoor activity is resticted due to the humidity

hargs37
26-10-2007, 10:24 AM
Born and bread outer east. Living in Kilsyth sth(not to be confused with just plain old Kilsyth). Parents grew up in the west moved to wantirna sth when it was all orchards and dirt roads. Involved in local footy in the best local league in the counrty!

26-10-2007, 02:40 PM
Grew up in Yarraville, around the corner from the great E.J. Whitten. Used to walk to the then named Western Oval.

Now live in Mt.Waverley. Unfortunately it is too far to walk to Telstra Dome!

Love the East West Day. Not too crowded and 5 minutes away.

28-10-2007, 09:14 PM
Good mate, good. Just counting down the days to desalination! Life off-shore well?

Doing ok here ta. You in favour of the Plant then? As long as they don't do the nuclear station over there - bit worried about the wind blowing the wrong way.....

29-10-2007, 11:44 PM
Doing ok here ta. You in favour of the Plant then? As long as they don't do the nuclear station over there - bit worried about the wind blowing the wrong way.....

No, I'm a bit worried about the aesthetics of it plus cost/pollution/freaky looking joint factor. Perhaps Corinella may be a better location!

I'm not getting much positive feedback about my plan for the Dogs to abandon NT experiment and play 4 games out of Rec. Reserve One in Wonthaggi. Perhaps we could move Williamstown FC to Cowes Oval? The numbers don't lie; 2nd highest locale of Dogs supporters is in country Victoria. Seems like common sense to me.

29-10-2007, 11:45 PM
Grew up in Yarraville, around the corner from the great E.J. Whitten. Used to walk to the then named Western Oval.

Now live in Mt.Waverley. Unfortunately it is too far to walk to Telstra Dome!

Love the East West Day. Not too crowded and 5 minutes away.

Does the great Mr. Schultz still live in Mount Waverley?

29-10-2007, 11:54 PM

His shop in Syndal no longer operates.

31-10-2007, 04:39 PM
Perth

31-10-2007, 10:20 PM
No, I'm a bit worried about the aesthetics of it plus cost/pollution/freaky looking joint factor. Perhaps Corinella may be a better location!

I'm not getting much positive feedback about my plan for the Dogs to abandon NT experiment and play 4 games out of Rec. Reserve One in Wonthaggi. Perhaps we could move Williamstown FC to Cowes Oval? The numbers don't lie; 2nd highest locale of Dogs supporters is in country Victoria. Seems like common sense to me.

Really? You including PI Footy club supporters?
Willy home games here would be great! Or the Dogs playing at Wonny hehe.
We should have a supporters group down here. Might see what the Gippsland one is like.

05-11-2007, 03:55 PM
Vic Metro for me. Wheelers Hill to be precise, so pretty close to the various Glen Waverley and Mt Waverley persons here. Went to the East meets West day the last 3(?) years, the Jells Park one was within walking distance.

05-11-2007, 04:36 PM

Not sure. He originally came from Boort. A truly great player for the Club. Probably one of the most consistent players that we have ever had.

05-11-2007, 04:40 PM
His shop in Syndal no longer operates.

I remember he had a shop in Syndal but can't remember what type. Got a feeling it might had been a bottle shop but correct me if I'm wrong.

05-11-2007, 04:50 PM
I remember he had a shop in Syndal but can't remember what type. Got a feeling it might had been a bottle shop but correct me if I'm wrong.

Originally it was a small supermarket and good sized Liquor outlet but then he wound back the supermarket completely.

05-11-2007, 05:02 PM
Originally it was a small supermarket and good sized Liquor outlet but then he wound back the supermarket completely.

Thanks for that GVGjr, looks like I was half right.:D

05-11-2007, 06:10 PM
Western Suburbs (of Chicago)

1952-1961 Chicago
1961-1970 suburban Chicago
1970-1975 (University years) San Antonio, Texas; Galesville, Wisconsin; Carlinville, Illinois
1975-1978 Maribyrnong, Vic.
1979-1988;1992-2000 Box Hill, Vic.
1989 Como W.A., South Perth, W.A.
1990-1991 Briar Hill(Greensborough), Vic.
2000-present back in suburban Chicago:(

05-11-2007, 09:49 PM
Western Suburbs (of Chicago)

1952-1961 Chicago
1961-1970 suburban Chicago
1970-1975 (University years) San Antonio, Texas; Galesville, Wisconsin; Carlinville, Illinois
1975-1978 Maribyrnong, Vic.
1979-1988;1992-2000 Box Hill, Vic.
1989 Como W.A., South Perth, W.A.
1990-1991 Briar Hill(Greensborough), Vic.
2000-present back in suburban Chicago:(

You got kicked out of more universities than I did!

06-11-2007, 12:08 AM
Not sure. He originally came from Boort. A truly great player for the Club. Probably one of the most consistent players that we have ever had.

My wife went to school at Warraknabeal with a Schultz who came from Watchem. We always wondered whether he was a relative of the great man, and now that you say he was from Boort, he probably was related.

06-11-2007, 05:53 AM
You got kicked out of more universities than I did!

LOL No, I couldn't afford to continue my studies in Texas so transferred to my home state of Illinois where I had a scholarship. The time in Wisconsin was just a few months in between where I was pursuing a different direction in my life. Thank God that didn't eventuate!

southerncross
06-11-2007, 08:23 PM
We have had a run of new members so don't forget to cast your vote.

Mingo
07-11-2007, 07:36 AM
I'm living overseas. Canada to be exact. But I'm from Melbourne.

southerncross
07-11-2007, 07:50 AM
I'm living overseas. Canada to be exact. But I'm from Melbourne.

Welcome aboard

04-02-2012, 01:09 PM
Vic Metro. Current suburb: Vermont South which is in the Eastern Suburbs of Melbourne. Lived in Glen Waverley, Wantirna, North Adelaide and Preston before that.

04-02-2012, 01:56 PM
Haven't seen this thread before, missed the poll (by about five years it seems!)

Lived most of my life (30 yrs) in SE suburbs, Noble Park. Bought a house in Hampton Park (nowhere near Hampton!) five years ago and here I am. Never lived in the west, but always been a bulldog as Dad lived near there and played footy for a couple of teams near there. He used to buy his lunch with the great EJ.

04-02-2012, 02:47 PM
I too must have missed this when it went up all those years ago. Born in Kyneton, Victoria, spent my early years in Maryborough . Then moved to Noble Park for 5 years u til my folks packed up and moved us to the middle of Nowhere in outback Qld, to a tiny town called Isisford, about 120kms south east of Longreach. Because of the isolated location ,I had to go to boarding school up in Yeppoon, until we moved to a less remote country town called Wondai.
I have lived the last 14 year's in Brisbane.

04-02-2012, 05:24 PM
Thought id chip in.

Born in Carlton, moved to Adelaide for years 2-4, came back and grew up in Melton, a suburb out west before it becomes "Country Town". Moved up to Yarraville about 4 years ago, and moved down the road to Seddon 4 months ago.

Very comfy on the western side of Melbourne :)

04-02-2012, 05:30 PM
Originally from Mudgee NSW. Have lived in Essendon, East Keilor, Gladstone Park and currently in Attwood.

04-02-2012, 07:00 PM

Yep me to :)

04-02-2012, 07:36 PM
Can we do a new poll?

04-02-2012, 08:28 PM
Can we do a new poll?

Why not start a new thread. I can do it if you can't

04-02-2012, 08:33 PM

That would be good for an update.

04-02-2012, 08:40 PM

Done:)

04-02-2012, 09:06 PM
missed poll by 5 years too. Good poll.

I have lived in Footscray for the last 10 years. That's when I started barracking for the 'Dogs. My kids are WB supporters. "We're Western Bulldogs," as my oldest daugther (6) says. Can't wait to take the older two to a game, maybe this year (if Mum says yes).

04-02-2012, 11:22 PM
Originally from Mudgee NSW. Have lived in Essendon, East Keilor, Gladstone Park and currently in Attwood.

I've lived in Essendon and Gladstone Park too. Dad is from the west though.

06-02-2012, 02:29 PM
Born in Footscray and District Hospital
Lived in Barkly St - Mum still lives there
Now in beautiful downtown Avondale Heights