Minson BOG and 1st goal.

09-05-2014, 01:08 PM
Melbourne by 24 pts
Dickson first goal
Libba BOG

09-05-2014, 01:44 PM
Such line ball lists is it worth going for Melbourne?
Close enough is near enough for me to back the Dogs, every time we are within coo-ee of a win.
Dogs by a kick
BOG LIBBBBAA
FG Jones

Some young bloke Daniel Cross to watch for Melbourne. :D

09-05-2014, 02:37 PM
Dogs by 25 pts( gotta good feeling about this)
1st Goal Dickson
BOG Higgins

09-05-2014, 03:09 PM
We're a better team than they are.

Dogs by 43.
First Goal Crameri.
BOG Boyd getting the better of Jones.

09-05-2014, 04:29 PM
Dogs by 34
First Goal Jones
BOG Griffen

09-05-2014, 05:07 PM
Dogs by 29
First Goal Crameri
BOG Crameri

Does anybody know roughly what time the Pink Lady is formed on the G?

09-05-2014, 05:26 PM
Dogs by 50
BOG Minson
first goal Hunter

09-05-2014, 08:24 PM
Such line ball lists is it worth going for Melbourne?
Close enough is near enough for me to back the Dogs, every time we are within coo-ee of a win.
Dogs by a kick
BOG LIBBBBAA
FG Jones

Some young bloke Daniel Cross to watch for Melbourne. :D

That's what I said about Carlton and Adelaide especially Carlton after coming off the back of a lost to the Dees. Also, after beating Adelaide over there it may not be as line ball as you think.

09-05-2014, 08:40 PM
That's what I said about Carlton and Adelaide especially Carlton after coming off the back of a lost to the Dees. Also, after beating Adelaide over there it may not be as line ball as you think.

I am hoping that last week's big win for the Dees will go to their heads and they are going to run onto the ground against us thinking that they just have to make it through the banner to get the 4 points.

Dogs by: 48
First goal: Coooooooooooooooney
BOG: Macrae

10-05-2014, 06:55 AM
[QUOTE= Does anybody know roughly what time the Pink Lady is formed on the G?[/QUOTE]

This is what we were told:

At 5.15 pm people will start moving on to the ground to form the shape of BCNA’s Pink Lady silhouette.
Everyone must be off the Field by 6.50 pm so the grounds can be prepared for the match.

10-05-2014, 07:41 AM
!*!* this gme; no upshot in it for us. As a bottom 6 team you shouldn't be expected to win anything!

Dogs by 30
Boyd BOG
Snags Crameri first goal

10-05-2014, 02:03 PM
Dogs by 15
BOG- Libba
First goal- Dahlhaus

10-05-2014, 03:23 PM
Dogs by 19
BOG Boyd
First goal to the Jones boy

Although I am worried about this one. Last year's game at the G against the dees didn't go the way most pundits were expecting. Bit of a low (and eventually turning) point for the year.

10-05-2014, 03:28 PM
I am hoping that last week's big win for the Dees will go to their heads and they are going to run onto the ground against us thinking that they just have to make it through the banner to get the 4 points.

Yeah I'm hoping that too. We need to come out firing from the start and maintain the effort for the whole. We seems to play at times really well and look excellent but when we drop our heads we are just really bad.

10-05-2014, 03:35 PM
Dogs by 38
BOG Libba
First goal Dickson

Gia will be sub.

10-05-2014, 03:39 PM
Dogs by 38
BOG Libba
First goal Dickson

Gia will be sub.

What do you see Gia's role as when he comes on if he is sub? Which players from Melbourne would you say we need to stop and shut out to really put our authority on this game.

10-05-2014, 04:14 PM
What do you see Gia's role as when he comes on if he is sub? Which players from Melbourne would you say we need to stop and shut out to really put our authority on this game.

Gia is really there to put a finish on the game. When players are tiring he can make a difference. His job is not to stop anyone, but to create some scoring opportunities.

10-05-2014, 04:20 PM
Gia is really there to put afinish on the game. When players are tiring he can make a difference. His job is not to stop anyone, but to create some scoring opportunities.

If we are struggling for goals again tonight do you reckon throwing Murph up there in the final quarter could make some difference.

10-05-2014, 04:51 PM
If we are struggling for goals again tonight do you reckon throwing Murph up there in the final quarter could make some difference.

When Gia is thrown in we should not need Murph to go forward as well.

10-05-2014, 04:59 PM
When was the last time we won a game by 10 goals or more? Tonight will be the first time in a long time that we will win by this big a margin. Tonight we will put it all together and play for 4 qtrs.

Dogs by 64
First goal: Dickson
BOG: Griffen

10-05-2014, 06:31 PM
When Gia is thrown in we should not need Murph to go forward as well.

Yep Gia will rip em to shreds, or not...

10-05-2014, 07:52 PM
Dogs by 27 points
First goal: Crameri
BOG: Crameri

10-05-2014, 08:25 PM
Dogs by 38
First goal Jones
BOG Cooney

10-05-2014, 08:29 PM
Dogs by 24 points
BOG Griff......his back
1st Goal Cooney

10-05-2014, 08:32 PM
Dogs by 24 points
BOG Griff......his back
1st Goal Cooney

Please not his back!

10-05-2014, 08:55 PM
Tough work from Crameri, great goal.

10-05-2014, 08:58 PM
Soft goal to the Demons, really poor effort from Stringer.

10-05-2014, 09:04 PM
Disgusting free kick to Viney.

10-05-2014, 09:04 PM
Jack Viney is the leagues new love child.

Won't ever get done holding the ball, will always get free kicks.

10-05-2014, 09:06 PM
Libbbaaaa!!

10-05-2014, 09:11 PM
Bit of a scrapy game. What does Williams add to the team?

10-05-2014, 09:12 PM
Libbbaaaa!!

What a champ.

Dahl with ten disposals, but I can't see he has done much with them

Have you guys been impressed with Jones? His done ok.

10-05-2014, 09:13 PM
Minson needs to lift in the ruck

10-05-2014, 09:14 PM
we have One free kick so far

10-05-2014, 09:19 PM
Jones has been good GVGjr.

Great finish after a solid lead from Crameri.

BT needs to understand that the Bulldogs are winning the game. The pumping up of Melbourne is over the top. Yes, Paul Roos is making them play shit scrappy footy, who cares?

Dahl with ten disposals, but I can't see he has done much with them

Have to agree although was a neat enough goal assist just now.

Crameri with two goals from nothing.

Crammers is a complate professional

10-05-2014, 09:20 PM
Jones has been good GVGjr.

Eastdog does have a similar avatar at first glance.

10-05-2014, 09:23 PM
Terrible kick from Cooney to the most nervous player we have in Tutt, results in a Cross goal.

10-05-2014, 09:24 PM
Eastdog does have a similar avatar at first glance.

Hahaha, indeed.

Sorry ED, Jones was good in the first.

10-05-2014, 09:24 PM
I actually hurts a bit watching Cross play against us.

10-05-2014, 09:25 PM
Terrible kick from Cooney to the most nervous player we have in Tutt, results in a Cross goal.

Lazy defensive running I thought. Every player on the ground should have been sprinting back once they saw the Cooney kick.

10-05-2014, 09:30 PM
Stringer has the turning circle of a semi-trailer in the wet.

10-05-2014, 09:30 PM
What on Earth was Picken doing then. Cost us a goal.

10-05-2014, 09:32 PM
A target like Dawes would be handy right now.

10-05-2014, 09:32 PM
Tutt's playing OK.

10-05-2014, 09:36 PM
Would be nice to have any forward line structure.

10-05-2014, 09:36 PM
Great goal Williams. Beautiful nous.

10-05-2014, 09:38 PM
Great goal Williams. Beautiful nous.

We needed it too.

What a stupid, stupid rule. Libba deserved that ball.

10-05-2014, 09:39 PM
A target like Dawes would be handy right now.

Don't be silly. He's no good. Lot's of people on woof said so ;-).

What I really like about Dawes is that he seems to have really bought in at Melbourne. He plays with a lot of passion.

10-05-2014, 09:39 PM
Stringer too loose with his disposal. Costly.

Someone needs to smack Kennedy Harris. In his face.

10-05-2014, 09:40 PM
Dickson gone already, sub made. Ouch in more ways than one.

10-05-2014, 09:41 PM
Williams.

10-05-2014, 09:41 PM
Now Tommygun waving his hand, done a hammy apparently. Fark.:mad:

10-05-2014, 09:42 PM
Send farewell to Williams. Sorry, his body can't cope with afl.

10-05-2014, 09:46 PM
Lost a tall and medium forward to be replaced with a 32 year old forward pocket. Next half will be interesting.

10-05-2014, 09:47 PM
I'm seeing Ryan Griffen getting mauled at each and every contest. I don't understand how he doesn't get more free kicks. Suppose he doesn't have any media types banging his drum.

Paul Roos can eat a fat one.

10-05-2014, 09:50 PM
Crossy is killing us. 15 disposals, 1 goal and has kept Jack Macrae to 5.

10-05-2014, 09:50 PM
I'm seeing Ryan Griffen getting mauled at each and every contest. I don't understand how he doesn't get more free kicks. Suppose he doesn't have any media types banging his drum.

Paul Roos can eat a fat one.

Jeemak, football is easy now, just throw the ball away when you are tackled

10-05-2014, 09:53 PM
* Macrae not getting his usual posessions
* Jones didn't touch the ball that quarter
* Dahl only 4 times
* Higgins and Boyd need to do more
* We also need our captain to get a move on as well.

10-05-2014, 09:53 PM
Going to be very difficult for us from here being one rotation down.
I really can't recall a player as injury prone as Tom Williams.
A very ugly game to watch, but Melbourne look slightly more likely to score from their forays forward on the back of having some tall timber who can mark. If Melbourne can even slightly get on top in the middle and move the ball quickly inside 50, Dawes and Frawley may just get enough one on one opportunities to kick a winning score.

10-05-2014, 09:55 PM
Going to be very difficult for us from here being one rotation down.
I really can't recall a player as injury prone as Tom Williams.
A very ugly game to watch, but Melbourne look like they are slightly more likely to score from their forays forward on the back of having some tall timber who can mark. If Melbourne can even slightly get on top in the middle and move the ball quickly inside 50, Dawes and Frawley may just get enough one on one opportunities to kick a winning score.

Dawes way too big for Morris. Did Roberts get switched on to him that quarter?

This sucks; we've bitched it at about 5 separate contests and we're letting them move it at will. Getting smashed out of the centre too by a team with Jay Kennedy-Harris as their starting centreman. Our effort without the ball has been trash.

At the game and bored witless. Pack maul after pack maul, and unlike the likes of Geelong and Hawthorn neither us nor Melbourne can run and gun when in space. We're working hard, probably slightly harder than Melbourne, but our ball movement is slow, stilted and imprecise.

10-05-2014, 09:57 PM
Dawes way too big for Morris. Did Roberts get switched on to him that quarter?

I know for at least one contest Roberts was on him, whether he was just covering for Moz who may've been elsewhere I'm not sure

10-05-2014, 09:58 PM
At the game and bored witless. Pack maul after pack maul, and unlike the likes of Geelong and Hawthorn neither us nor Melbourne can run and gun when in space. We're working hard, probably slightly harder than Melbourne, but our ball movement is slow, stilted and imprecise.

Yes, I'm watching the game with an alarming amount ofdispassion, because it is just a rolling morass of players and not a lot to get excited about.

10-05-2014, 10:02 PM
I know for at least one contest Roberts was on him, whether he was just covering for Moz who may've been elsewhere I'm not sure

Thought he did well at said contest and was unlucky to be penalised.

10-05-2014, 10:05 PM
The game will open up now we're down a rotation.

I think we're a chance to score more so than Melbourne as we have a little more quality down at the moment that can lift and we're still up, if we don't let Melbourne dominate the midfield of course.

Higgins, Boyd, Cooney and Dahl need to lift. Macrae is up against one of the best stoppers in Cross, who as Scorlibo has rightly said is killing us. The former needs to follow him around and stop him from getting the ball. Big ask considering the difference in respective tanks.

Sedat - I'm glad I'm in Hobart right now rather than watching at the ground. It's shit enough from where I sit, and I have the conciliatory aspect of drinking nice wine and warmth.

10-05-2014, 10:08 PM
So Viney jumps into Griffens back and gets a free?

10-05-2014, 10:08 PM
* Jones didn't touch the ball that quarter

Is Jones playing?

Commentators are a bunch of tools.

Hunter is lazy.

10-05-2014, 10:09 PM
Williams is on the field. Must not have been a hammy?

Golden Boy.

Can't believe they didn't recall that throw in. Disgusting.

Williams back on the field?

10-05-2014, 10:10 PM
Williams is on the field. Must not have been a hammy?

Or it is a hammy and he's a lionheart?

10-05-2014, 10:12 PM
Williams the rubber man!

10-05-2014, 10:14 PM
Well done Tom!

10-05-2014, 10:14 PM
I'll take the goal, but what a garbage rule.

10-05-2014, 10:15 PM
Williams is OK by me.

10-05-2014, 10:15 PM
Williams back on the field?

Fair effort.

10-05-2014, 10:18 PM
Its there for the taking, we need to win some contested ball and get it out with a bit more system to draw more runners into it

10-05-2014, 10:23 PM
I'm calling BS on the way this game is officiated.

The Jones hold, the Jones KO, the Morris touch.

This is absolute horse shit. Absolute horse shit.

^*%(&Y@$(*Y(*#Y$(*Y#@( WWHHHHATTT???? FFS play the score review in real time!!!!

This umpiring is a joke. I could see from here that Morris touched that.

10-05-2014, 10:24 PM
Jones going for 3 weeks I reckon.

10-05-2014, 10:25 PM
Triple M saying its Williams' calf, not hammy.

10-05-2014, 10:25 PM
Jones going for 3 weeks I reckon.

He was bracing.

10-05-2014, 10:26 PM
One of the most poorly umpired games from all avenues tonight. Field umpiring, boundary throw ins, and goal umpiring.

10-05-2014, 10:26 PM
Crameri has just outed himself as a dick.

10-05-2014, 10:27 PM
Anyone seen Hunter tonight?

10-05-2014, 10:27 PM
Crap Crameri, absolute crap. You stupid stupid footballer.

10-05-2014, 10:28 PM
I hate that you can throw the ball away in a tackle and it's play on, but if you try to kick or handball and miss the ball, that is a free kick????

10-05-2014, 10:28 PM
Melbourne can't miss.

10-05-2014, 10:29 PM
I'm calling BS on the way this game is officiated.

The Jones hold, the Jones KO, the Morris touch.

This is absolute horse shit. Absolute horse shit.

This umpiring is a joke. I could see from here that Morris touched that.

Honestly, I think the Morris touch was as much of a touch as the one on Williams' goal (I think they were both touched). I'm more concerned with the push on the back on Morris that allowed it to happen. That's bread and butter stuff for an umpire.

10-05-2014, 10:30 PM
He was bracing.

Well played.

10-05-2014, 10:31 PM
Griffen going at 9% kicking efficiency. :eek: a howler in every sense of the word.

10-05-2014, 10:33 PM
Griffen going at 9% kicking efficiency. :eek: a howler in every sense of the word.

Kicking efficiency as a stat in a game like this would have to mean nothing or close to it. Have seen Griffen kick a few balls 40 metres along the ground = 40 metre gain for us but not an effective kick.

10-05-2014, 10:35 PM
They're first to the ball and appear to have structure - a plan for moving the ball. We are the complete opposite. Ghis is so disappointing and it seems we have gone so far backwards. Even if we win somehow, bizarrely, we have been outplayed or outcoached.

10-05-2014, 10:36 PM
Adam Cooney needs to get his bloody hands dirty.

10-05-2014, 10:37 PM
May be a dumb question or thread worthy but who decides whether a guy should be under the 20 minute concussion watch releasing the sub as a bench player? Club doc? Could this be rorted? Not saying it was tonight.

10-05-2014, 10:37 PM
Just switched on , what did Cramiri do ?

10-05-2014, 10:38 PM
They're first to the ball and appear to have structure - a plan for moving the ball. We are the complete opposite. Ghis is so disappointing and it seems we have gone so far backwards. Even if we win somehow, bizarrely, we have been outplayed or outcoached.

???????

10-05-2014, 10:40 PM

Took Lynden Dunn in a headlock when the ball was in a contest on our fifty.

Every ruck contest I have seen they just run into Will and don't worry about the ball.

Crammers is a complate professional

I retract my compliment. You're an idiot!

10-05-2014, 10:41 PM
Kicking efficiency as a stat in a game like this would have to mean nothing or close to it. Have seen Griffen kick a few balls 40 metres along the ground = 40 metre gain for us but not an effective kick.

I'd rather see a target hit than just meters gained.

10-05-2014, 10:42 PM
May be a dumb question or thread worthy but who decides whether a guy should be under the 20 minute concussion watch releasing the sub as a bench player? Club doc? Could this be rorted? Not saying it was tonight.

According to Triple M, it's the docs call.

10-05-2014, 10:42 PM

Pushed a Melbourne player in the back as the Melbourne player kicked the ball out on the full in our forward line then unnecessarily grabbed an opponent around the neck in defence two minutes later.

10-05-2014, 10:43 PM
Is that really Kim Deal singing Gigantic in that ad?

10-05-2014, 10:44 PM
This goes down as one of the worst spectacles I have watched for a long time.

10-05-2014, 10:45 PM
This goes down as one of the worst spectacles I have watched for a long time.

Norf 6 weeks ago?? Gillian is there tonight, I don't think us screaming about time slots means much right now.

10-05-2014, 10:46 PM
Jone in strife????

10-05-2014, 10:46 PM
Why have we only got 7 free kicks in three quarters of footy. CHEATING UMPIRES. We have tackled them 79 times, surely there are some frees there

10-05-2014, 10:47 PM
Go Dogs

10-05-2014, 10:47 PM
Dare to win dogs! Go down the middle... Please or this blog will go into meltdown

Do we ever win these type of matches?

10-05-2014, 10:48 PM
Tommyyy!!!

10-05-2014, 10:49 PM
Fantastic effort Tommy Williams. 2 goals since his calf injury

Can we just move Cooney into the bloody middle this is crapping me up the wall!!

Do what everyone did to us and take Cross to the Goalsquare?

Absolutely touched on the line can't believe it wasn't picked up.

BT is an absolute tool,

Maybe we should've been playing Williams injured all these years. We are stupid for not seeing it earlier.

10-05-2014, 10:50 PM
The replacement Tom Williams can kick a goal. Kick it to him.

Is that really Kim Deal singing Gigantic in that ad?

It kinda looks like her, but she also looks a bit young.

Taylor so anti Bulldogs

10-05-2014, 10:51 PM
I'm really losing interest in football, it's now had too many rules made, the actual game is just rolling mauls and the umpires can just pick out anything at any time and its right because the rules are so grey.
Teams no longer look to score more goals than the opposition but to stop scoring.
The game is going nowhere but down.

10-05-2014, 10:52 PM
Great start to the quarter.

Gutsy work by Williams. Great finish by Libba.

Why do I care what 23% of viewers think about everything they're meant to have an opinion on... Crap coverage.

Thank for $%#@ for Libba, BOG.

Some game by Libba. Easily best on ground right now and his best game of the year.

10-05-2014, 10:57 PM
Hunter and Strinter don't look after the basics. It's very frustrating.

10-05-2014, 10:57 PM
Pretty boring game.

10-05-2014, 10:58 PM
Taylor now has a crack at Hunter and instead of sticking up for him Darcy just goes along with him.

10-05-2014, 10:58 PM
Cracking game. Loving it.

10-05-2014, 10:59 PM
Agree

10-05-2014, 11:00 PM
Cooney great poise, senior player should give us the advantage.

10-05-2014, 11:01 PM

Ball was a little less than even in our forward line after he put in a good contest and he decided the headlock a guy. Melbourne easily transitioned and got a goal, stupid.

10-05-2014, 11:02 PM
dumb kick from Hunter, so dumb.

10-05-2014, 11:02 PM
Soft free, Football Gods.

10-05-2014, 11:03 PM
When did putting your hands up mean you got a free kick?

10-05-2014, 11:04 PM
Sombody please remind me who Darcy played for ?

10-05-2014, 11:04 PM
Why is Shannon Grant employed by the club? We have NO forward line! Nothing...

10-05-2014, 11:05 PM
Hunter has been awful

10-05-2014, 11:08 PM
23-10 free kicks

I'll say it again, why is Gia playing??

For two seasons now we have let teams clear the ball from a kick out so easily, surely this is something that would come in the match review.

Hunter has been awful

Conversely, Easton Wood has been very good.

10-05-2014, 11:10 PM
Crameri over the boundry or off the ground to a Dee's player

10-05-2014, 11:11 PM
Crameri needed to get the ball out then. That's all he needed to do.

Now he gets a soft free. He better convert.

And he does. Thank Christ for that.

So this is the AFL's latest version of compensation handouts to Melbourne - paid umpires.

Edit: and commentators.

Lucky goal

10-05-2014, 11:12 PM

Strange game. Tense and exciting, but bloody sloppy with some bewildering umpiring.

10-05-2014, 11:12 PM
Why did Tommy look back instead of just attacking the ball ?

10-05-2014, 11:15 PM
How can you win a game if you don't have a player in your forward fifty ?

10-05-2014, 11:16 PM
Crameri makes a great contest then displays what an asset his ability to go again is.

10-05-2014, 11:16 PM
Crameri earning his buckets of cash tonight. C'mon boys.

10-05-2014, 11:18 PM
even the commentary on the AFL Match Day website is biased towards Melbourne.

10-05-2014, 11:19 PM
Minson gets pinged for something he's had to him all game, and something he's done for years.

10-05-2014, 11:20 PM
Tutty!

10-05-2014, 11:21 PM
Can't believe we lost last week. Can't believe we won this week.

This is a mighty win.

Gutsy win. Very very gutsy win.

Williams, I take my hat off to you. Had an impact after being done. Great effort.

10-05-2014, 11:22 PM
Lost inside 50s 55-42 .....

10-05-2014, 11:22 PM
Stick that up your arse Melbourne. You get everything from the AFL and the umpires and you still can't beat a half strength Bulldogs side.

Ha. Ha. *!*!*!*!ing ha!

10-05-2014, 11:23 PM
Here is something would we be a better side if the Coaches sat in the opposing boxes tonight ?

10-05-2014, 11:23 PM
Williams was tremendous. Absolutely sensational. Thought his career was over and then made a Lazarus like comeback and was crucial in that 2nd half.

10-05-2014, 11:26 PM

Tankers

10-05-2014, 11:28 PM
Tankers:

10-05-2014, 11:29 PM
Yah, we beat Melbourne... Horrid game!

10-05-2014, 11:31 PM
Stick that up your arse Melbourne. You get everything from the AFL and the umpires and you still can't beat a half strength Bulldogs side.

Ha. Ha. *!*!*!*!ing ha!

No shit hey. Paul Roos and his AFL funded rubbish footy.

10-05-2014, 11:31 PM

Ugly win is still a win.

10-05-2014, 11:32 PM
Biggest tankers:

10-05-2014, 11:32 PM

Celebrate it Mantis. They're in as good if not better spot list wise than we are for different reasons. It was a great win tonight.

10-05-2014, 11:36 PM

It would have been more horrid if we'd lost mate.

10-05-2014, 11:37 PM

Would you be happier with an attractive game that we lost?

I thought we were playing for four points, not style points..

We got the four points. Celebrate the win.

Celebrate it Mantis. They're in as good if not better spot list wise than we are for different reasons. It was a great win tonight.

Great win? Seriously?

They're a rabble.. We aren't much better.

Really ?? It was a wi but great ?

10-05-2014, 11:38 PM
Fantastic effort Tommy Williams. 2 goals since his calf injury

A lot of people question his toughness but they shouldn't. By gutting it out he made a huge difference for us.

10-05-2014, 11:42 PM
Great win? Seriously?

They're a rabble.. We aren't much better.

Really ?? It was a wi but great ?

Yup.

Man down, shit conditions. Working hard all day and getting in front only to be rooted by the umpires. Win a close game after being down at 3/4 time against a side that is full of talent (as much as ours is anyway), not just by a point but by three goals.

That's a great win. Enjoy it, it showed character and fight.

10-05-2014, 11:43 PM
A lot of people question his toughness but they shouldn't. By gutting it out he made a huge difference for us.

If Tommy doesn't come out on the field, I think it's fair to say we lose tonight. A very brave effort and he made an important and decisive contribution tonight.

Very pleased also with Macrae's efforts in the last quarter. Crossy did a great job nullifying him for the majority of the game, but he just kept trying and was able to also make some critical plays late in the game when we needed someone to step up and take the game on.

10-05-2014, 11:44 PM
Ugly win is still a win.

There has been a trend for a while now that when we lose a close one not many give us credit, when we win a close one it's written off because the opposition wasn't the best. From my perspective it was another close game that had me sitting on the edge of my seat.

10-05-2014, 11:46 PM
Yup.

Man down, shit conditions. Working hard all day and getting in front only to be rooted by the umpires. Win a close game after being down at 3/4 time against a side that is full of talent (as much as ours is anyway), not just by a point but by three goals.

That's a great win. Enjoy it, it showed character and fight.

Umpires were appalling. We had 7 frees to 3/4 time and 6 more in the last to their 24. We applied 108 tackles, they got pinged with the ball time and time again, and we get zero foir that. Jones gets protected and Griffen gets nothing.

Griffen 15 tackles tonight, wow and Libba 14.

10-05-2014, 11:47 PM

Never questioned his toughness but for the time he has been on our list and the faith we have shown he should be making a difference .

There has been a trend for a while now that when we lose a close one not many give us credit, when we win a close one it's written off because the opposition wasn't the best. From my perspective it was another close game that had me sitting on the edge of my seat.

Ah but wouldn't any close Bulldogs game do that?

If Tommy doesn't come out on the field, I think it's fair to say we lose tonight. A very brave effort and he made an important and decisive contribution tonight.

Very pleased also with Macrae's efforts in the last quarter. Crossy did a great job nullifying him for the majority of the game, but he just kept trying and was able to also make some critical plays late in the game when we needed someone to step up and take the game on.

Macca praised him after the game and he will likely miss a few weeks, but he toughed it out.

10-05-2014, 11:49 PM

Agree. It ended up being a very good game, opening up a bit more in the second half. I know there was a lot of rolling mauls that detracts from the visual contest, but despite this, we still managed to finish the game with 15 goals. We also had 4 guys with over 10 tackles each. Griff- 15 tackles, Libba 14, Macrae 11 and Boyd 10, plus Tutt and Picken with 8.

10-05-2014, 11:50 PM
I was worried when we put two extra back with nearly 3 mins to go. I thought we still needed to be on the offensive for another minute

10-05-2014, 11:51 PM
Umpires were appalling. We had 7 frees to 3/4 time and 6 more in the last to their 24. We applied 108 tackles, they got pinged with the ball time and time again, and we get zero foir that. Jones gets protected and Griffen gets nothing.

The umpiring was criminal tonight, Melbourne's mids were a protected species tonight, whilst similar infringements on our guys went completely unnoticed.

10-05-2014, 11:51 PM
even the commentary on the AFL Match Day website is biased towards Melbourne.

Why not? The AFL are Melbourne's biggest supporters.

10-05-2014, 11:52 PM

Agree it was an ugly spectacle live that maybe we shouldn't have won. I think we were very lucky and were generally outplayed.

10-05-2014, 11:52 PM

As much as I hate it during a close game when the siren goes and we are in from,it it is so sweet, an ugly victory is still better than any loss.

10-05-2014, 11:53 PM

Completely agree. I noticed during the week that the media persecuted both Essendon and the Bulldogs for a poor performance. One side wins and one loses, we can qualify wins as much as we like but it's four points in the bank and I couldn't be happier.

To those saying it was a crap game of football... we all delight in different aspects of the game and for mine, I love this contested brand, where there's no space for players and the cream rises to the top.

10-05-2014, 11:54 PM

That is part of his game that is often overlooked. Fantastic work by the Skip tonight.

10-05-2014, 11:55 PM
Pretty brave win that was thoroughly enjoyable for me.

10-05-2014, 11:56 PM
Completely agree. I noticed during the week that the media persecuted both Essendon and the Bulldogs for a poor performance. One side wins and one loses, we can qualify wins as much as we like but it's four points in the bank and I couldn't be happier.

To those saying it was a crap game of football... we all delight in different aspects of the game and for mine, I love this contested brand, where there's no space for players and the cream rises to the top.

Love the win, but lets face it the first three quarters was really crap. The last was exciting because it was goal for goal.

10-05-2014, 11:58 PM
Agree it was an ugly spectacle live that maybe we shouldn't have won. I think we were very lucky and were generally outplayed.

I disagree. They were on top in rotations and tried to beat us at our own game but couldn't. We were just as likely to score going forward if not more likely. I think we accounted for ourselves very well.

11-05-2014, 12:05 AM
I disagree. They were on top in rotations and tried to beat us at our own game but couldn't. We were just as likely to score going forward if not more likely. I think we accounted for ourselves very well.

We disagree then. They had much better shape moving the ball forward and looked more likely with strong focal points up forward. Our experienced players got us across the line through the middle of the ground but out forward line is a disgrace and lacks any sort of functionality. Our goals were haphazard and fortunate and the game could have gone either way. All that aside I am happy with 4 points.

11-05-2014, 12:05 AM

I don't understand the last bit. If the aim of all the play in the game is to win the game, then how can you win and be outplayed? And how can a three goal win be lucky? I think you need to reflect on the relevance of your chosen KPIs.

Macca is getting the same crtiicism that Roos and Lyon received early on in their coaching careers. I am quite happy with that.

11-05-2014, 12:06 AM
We won the bloody game. Who cares what it looks like. For Gods sake we won!!!!!!!

11-05-2014, 12:07 AM
Given its only our third of the season I'd go with great.

11-05-2014, 12:13 AM
I don't understand the last bit. If the aim of all the play in the game is to win the game, then how can you win and be outplayed? And how can a three goal win be lucky? I think you need to reflect on the relevance of your chosen KPIs.

Macca is getting the same crtiicism that Roos and Lyon received early on in their coaching careers. I am quite happy with that.

Gutsy win but I thought they seemed to move the ball better for large portions of the game. It seemed that way at the game. Cconsidering we had no forward line or structure going forward I thought some of our goals were lucky. They missed some very straight forward shots.

11-05-2014, 12:14 AM
Never questioned his toughness but for the time he has been on our list and the faith we have shown he should be making a difference .

I think its fair to say in regards Tommy that tonight we got a reminder of how effective Tom Williams can be. The real shame is that he has only been able to demonstrate this in a handful of games.

He reminds me of Mark "the Fridge" Roberts whose early career was ruined by injury, but he came back to be an integral part of the NM side that dominated the late 90's.

11-05-2014, 12:16 AM

Well said.

We really, really gutsed it out tonight. We had a couple of long patches of play when we were getting well beaten but no one dropped his head. We kicked 4.0 in the third quarter. That meant we were still in it going into the last quarter.

11-05-2014, 12:16 AM

I listened on SEN and they were raving about how exciting the contest had been.

11-05-2014, 12:18 AM
We disagree then. They had much better shape moving the ball forward and looked more likely with strong focal points up forward. Our experienced players got us across the line through the middle of the ground but out forward line is a disgrace and lacks any sort of functionality. Our goals were haphazard and fortunate and the game could have gone either way. All that aside I am happy with 4 points.

Yet we scored a fair bit more from significantly less entries into our forward fifty.

I agree that we let them get it into more open space than we might have liked, but without their tall forward structure we were always going to have to score in the manner we did. And we did it.

Melbourne would have been better off playing a more open style tonight but due to their long term objective they didn't and it cost them on the day.

We are not a team that scores from clean entry due to our personnel. Until we get Grant back, and maybe get more clean ball in the centre of the game we won't be. But, we are learning to score ugly, but score nonetheless. That's a very good thing for us to learn.

11-05-2014, 12:22 AM

I'm looking forward to seeing Grant come back into the side. He did some nice things for Footscray today.

11-05-2014, 12:23 AM
I'm looking forward to seeing Grant come back into the side. He did some nice things for Footscray today.

possibly at the expense of Jones.

11-05-2014, 12:29 AM
possibly at the expense of Jones.

Grant could have a few weeks to practice and still replace Jones after that. He's cooked for two at least.

11-05-2014, 12:30 AM

He struggled a bit early in the game with the pace of it but got a lot stronger as it wore on. Might lack a gallop but must be close to consideration.

11-05-2014, 12:33 AM
As a spectacle, the first half was horrid. And it really wasn't either team's fault. The intensity of effort was there from all 36 players, but rolling maul follows another rolling maul because the umpires are being instructed not to pay holding the ball under any circumstances.

The second half was a much better spectacle and I thought we defended very resolutely under fierce pressure most of the night. We also transitioned from defence to attack much quicker as the match wore on and we were actually very efficient with our conversion inside 50. Crameri was a massive influence late in the game.

11-05-2014, 12:35 AM
Good post Jeemak I guess I need to be realistic about our capabilities at the moment. For a team hell bent on defensive work rate Melbourne did move the ball more effectively than we did and it was frustrating to watch them at times.

11-05-2014, 12:43 AM
Thought we really suffered tonight from none of our players being willing to take the game on and move the ball quickly. I think that's why some think we were a little fortunate to win as Melbourne certainly managed to get the ball into broken play by running hard forward.

11-05-2014, 12:47 AM
It kinda looks like her, but she also looks a bit young.

It looks remarkably like her but that girl is playing a six string guitar.

11-05-2014, 01:07 AM
He struggled a bit early in the game with the pace of it but got a lot stronger as it wore on. Might lack a gallop but must be close to consideration.

I think I heard Bmac say that he was close to being named the sub tonight.

11-05-2014, 01:09 AM
Actually surprised how sharp Grant looked. One more match for FOOTSCRAY whilst we have a bye and he'll be ripe to go.

11-05-2014, 01:16 AM
As a spectacle, the first half was horrid. And it really wasn't either team's fault. The intensity of effort was there from all 36 players, but rolling maul follows another rolling maul because the umpires are being instructed not to pay holding the ball under any circumstances.

The second half was a much better spectacle and I thought we defended very resolutely under fierce pressure most of the night. We also transitioned from defence to attack much quicker as the match wore on and we were actually very efficient with our conversion inside 50. Crameri was a massive influence late in the game.

24 scoring shots from only 42 inside 50s. I think I heard them say that from our first 14 inside 50s in the second half we had 12 scoring shots.

11-05-2014, 01:46 AM
Melbourne had 55 inside 50s and Scored 23 times

We had 42 and scored 24 times. Better than 50%.

11-05-2014, 01:49 AM
24 scoring shots from only 42 inside 50s. I think I heard them say that from our first 14 inside 50s in the second half we had 12 scoring shots.

Not bad for a dysfunctional forward line.

The media tomorrow will be typically pro-Roos. The narrative will be about Melbourne wasting their good chances, having young players playing well and or better than they did before Roos came, and Liam Jones smashing someone's head in.

There won't be a lot about our conversion rate. There won't be a lot about us being a rotation down.

Go the Bulldogs! I'm loving this.

11-05-2014, 08:30 AM
Seems we've got a hard crowd to please.

11-05-2014, 09:08 AM
I believe footscray have a bye as well, VFL v SANFL

11-05-2014, 09:13 AM
Reading the papers today, not reported like this at all.

11-05-2014, 09:29 AM
Good win.

Haven't heard it much on here but certainly elsewhere I've continually heard how our opponents have off weeks against us as a reason why we are competitive. I believe quite strongly that it's no coincidence that teams play poorly against us.

Last night was frustrating in that we didn't take the gamer on much and we really ground out our goals, but it was very pleasing to be the side that took their chances to win the game instead of missing goals to be punished up the other end like we have all too often this season.

11-05-2014, 09:31 AM
It looks remarkably like her but that girl is playing a six string guitar.

Not a Breeders fan then? She played guitar and wrote most of their songs. I haven't seen the ad you're talking about but Kim Deal can definitely play a 6 string.

Could that be more off topic?

11-05-2014, 09:33 AM
Actually surprised how sharp Grant looked. One more match for FOOTSCRAY whilst we have a bye and he'll be ripe to go.

Footscray have the bye next week

11-05-2014, 10:03 AM
I couldn't believe the boos from the crowd every time Jones went near the ball (which was not many). Boy do they have a short memory. Didn't Viney break someone's jaw a week ago doing the same thing and the football world went crazy? It was a great bump from Jones, he was unlucky that he collected Terlich high (Terlich was even more unlucky). He tried to get down as low as possible. However he will get weeks for it.
I was at the game last night and I thought it was a horrible game to watch but I couldn't take my eyes off it. It was like pulling teeth at times. The umpiring was as bad as I think I have ever seen it. Surely Nat Jones was caught holding the ball and not disposing of it correctly as least once. The bloke runs 10 metres with the ball getting tackled, drops it, it causes everyone to jump on the pack, no free kick, ball up every time, go and get *&#@ed (excuse the French). I it didn't help having Melbourne supporters in front of me who don't know the rules and whinged all night that they were getting hard done by.
Is it coaching or is it just the players, but we are scared to take the game on and move the ball on quickly. And when we do try to move the ball forward quickly we don't look where it's going, we just slam it on the boot and it is 9 times out of 10 straight to the opposition. Last week we seemed to link up with handball quite well but forgot that we had to kick it eventually. This week we hardly had a good chain of handball and we played a stop start kick long down the line turn over style. Our forwards have no idea how the ball is going to be coming in so they don't know where to lead and our midfielders have no idea where our forwards will be leading. We have the most dysfunctional forward line/delivery in the league. I can't remember a lace out piece of play?
Effort though, wow. That was definitely the most pleasing and very pleasing part of our game last night and has been all year for that matter. Our effort was outstanding. We didn't give up ever. It was a real grind. Our players tackled like their lives depended on it. It was an ugly game and we won ugly, that's right, bloody oath we won!

11-05-2014, 11:44 AM
Only saw the first and last quarters, but it was an odd feeling at the bar of Matt Jones' old football club when he had two shots on goal in the last quarter and missed them both, with myself and one woman on the other side of the room getting death stares as we cheered the Bulldogs to victory.

His junior club are the Bulldogs, yes they wear red, white & blue.

11-05-2014, 01:04 PM
Melbourne had 55 inside 50s and Scored 23 times

We had 42 and scored 24 times. Better than 50%.

While I think we did a fantastic job at forward pressure and locking it in once we did get it in there, I still felt we broke down across the centre/half-forward quite regularly and could have had more inside-50s if we were more efficient through the centre. The lack of forward structure for large parts of the game remains a significant concern for me, as we weren't very effective attempting the 'sling-shot' style.

11-05-2014, 03:00 PM
I'm pumped for Tommy Williams. As Bmac suggested, our own camp has been really hard on him. A memorable game for the big fella and great to see him play a role; We couldn't have won it without him tonight.

12-05-2014, 11:59 AM
I'm pumped for Tommy Williams. As Bmac suggested, our own camp has been really hard on him. A memorable game for the big fella and great to see him play a role; We couldn't have won it without him tonight.

Did he really do that much?

6 disposals, 1 mark, 2 goals from free kicks.

Apart from the goals, Jones's stats are better, and Williams had the lowest number on the ground apart from Dickson who was subbed.

12-05-2014, 12:06 PM
I couldn't believe the boos from the crowd every time Jones went near the ball (which was not many). Boy do they have a short memory. Didn't Viney break someone's jaw a week ago doing the same thing and the football world went crazy? It was a great bump from Jones, he was unlucky that he collected Terlich high (Terlich was even more unlucky). He tried to get down as low as possible. However he will get weeks for it.
I was at the game last night and I thought it was a horrible game to watch but I couldn't take my eyes off it. It was like pulling teeth at times. The umpiring was as bad as I think I have ever seen it. Surely Nat Jones was caught holding the ball and not disposing of it correctly as least once. The bloke runs 10 metres with the ball getting tackled, drops it, it causes everyone to jump on the pack, no free kick, ball up every time, go and get *&#@ed (excuse the French). I it didn't help having Melbourne supporters in front of me who don't know the rules and whinged all night that they were getting hard done by.
Is it coaching or is it just the players, but we are scared to take the game on and move the ball on quickly. And when we do try to move the ball forward quickly we don't look where it's going, we just slam it on the boot and it is 9 times out of 10 straight to the opposition. Last week we seemed to link up with handball quite well but forgot that we had to kick it eventually. This week we hardly had a good chain of handball and we played a stop start kick long down the line turn over style. Our forwards have no idea how the ball is going to be coming in so they don't know where to lead and our midfielders have no idea where our forwards will be leading. We have the most dysfunctional forward line/delivery in the league. I can't remember a lace out piece of play?
Effort though, wow. That was definitely the most pleasing and very pleasing part of our game last night and has been all year for that matter. Our effort was outstanding. We didn't give up ever. It was a real grind. Our players tackled like their lives depended on it. It was an ugly game and we won ugly, that's right, bloody oath we won!

Players were told not to lead at the ball carrier this week. Worried about Demon players dropping off and running out of defence. That's why we kicked long down the line to contests.

12-05-2014, 12:14 PM

The media tomorrow will be typically pro-Roos. The narrative will be about Melbourne wasting their good chances, having young players playing well and or better than they did before Roos came, and Liam Jones smashing someone's head in.

There won't be a lot about our conversion rate. There won't be a lot about us being a rotation down.

Go the Bulldogs! I'm loving this.

We wouldn't have done this against anyone else bar errr Melbourne.

Not really I'm pleased with the win but I think we can play better, don't you? I'm just not looking through rose-coloured glasses because we beat Melbourne.

12-05-2014, 12:26 PM

Apart from the goals, Jones's stats are better, and Williams had the lowest number on the ground apart from Dickson who was subbed.

Don't recall that at all? He snapped one with the left foot, one with the right foot and had a set shot that was close to being touched?

12-05-2014, 12:29 PM
Don't recall that at all? He snapped one with the left foot, one with the right foot and had a set shot that was close to being touched?

The set shot was from a free, but you're right the other two were classy goals in the run of play, especially his first with the beautiful fake handball then wheeling onto the right and slotting it.

12-05-2014, 12:32 PM

He played a half with an injury that will likely see him miss 2-3 matches. Just staying on the field and letting us keep our midfield rotations in order was brave, let alone kicking 2 goals with the injury.

12-05-2014, 12:33 PM

The set shot was from a free, but you're right the other two were classy goals in the run of play, especially his first with the beautiful fake handball then wheeling onto the right and slotting it.

C-Dog you are being very harsh on Williams. His set shot was from around 50m out and was a great kick. After half time he was basically on one leg, but played through pain, when in theory he shouldn't have been out on the ground. He allowed us to keep our forward structures in place and allow Crameri and Jones to have one on one contests rather than two on one.

And surely a 3 goal game regardless of the number of touches is a great effort?

12-05-2014, 12:40 PM
C-Dog you are being very harsh on Williams. His set shot was from around 50m out and was a great kick. After half time he was basically on one leg, but played through pain, when in theory he shouldn't have been out on the ground. He allowed us to keep our forward structures in place and allow Crameri and Jones to have one on one contests rather than two on one.

And surely a 3 goal game regardless of the number of touches is a great effort?

Plus the nice handball to Libba who snapped truely.

12-05-2014, 01:00 PM
Not really I'm pleased with the win but I think we can play better, don't you? I'm just not looking through rose-coloured glasses because we beat Melbourne.

I dont think Melbourne are the easy beats that they were over the last few years. They played very well last week over in Adelaide didn't they?

And nobodies saying we were perfect.

12-05-2014, 01:17 PM

I dont think Melbourne are the easy beats that they were over the last few years. They played very well last week over in Adelaide didn't they?

And nobodies saying we were perfect.

Did you watch the Melbourne game against Adelaide? Adelaide were absolutely horrible - not sure what it is with the Adelaide Oval but they have been terrible there. Melbourne were beaten by probably the only team worse than them (debatable), St. Kilda by 3 goals, by GWS by 5 goals, lost to the Suns at the MCG, were smashed by West Coast by nearly 100 points and caught a very out of form Carlton off guard. Wait until Melbourne play a top 8 team, or worse still for them a top 4 team and then we'll know the full extent of just how poor Melbourne really is.

12-05-2014, 01:46 PM
Did you watch the Melbourne game against Adelaide? Adelaide were absolutely horrible - not sure what it is with the Adelaide Oval but they have been terrible there. Melbourne were beaten by probably the only team worse than them (debatable), St. Kilda by 3 goals, by GWS by 5 goals, lost to the Suns at the MCG, were smashed by West Coast by nearly 100 points and caught a very out of form Carlton off guard. Wait until Melbourne play a top 8 team, or worse still for them a top 4 team and then we'll know the full extent of just how poor Melbourne really is.

I think Melbourne have stepped it up the last few weeks but its really been their defensive side that has improved. Their attack is still deplorable so it was disappointing to let them get as many inside 50's as they did. That was my greatest concern.

12-05-2014, 01:51 PM

Yeah, I did watch it. I thought Melbourne were fantastic and controlled the game and played it on their terms. It made me worried about our game, but we were able to grind out a win when previously we would have folded.

Roos has got Melbourne on the right track finally.

12-05-2014, 01:56 PM
Yeah, I did watch it. I thought Melbourne were fantastic and controlled the game and played it on their terms. It made me worried about our game, but we were able to grind out a win when previously we would have folded.

Roos has got Melbourne on the right track finally.

Fair enough. I'll reserve judgement until I see them play someone in the top 8.

12-05-2014, 02:16 PM
They had to improve simply by virtue of the fact they have better players now than they did last year. Viney in his second year, Tyson who is a real talent (and a Luke Hodge lookalike the way he moves), Christian Salem who has excellent kicking skills.......and of course Daniel Cross.

12-05-2014, 03:52 PM

I reckon the 50 metre goal was a good effort given a player with a hamstring injury usually can't kick it as long as they normally do.

12-05-2014, 04:07 PM
I reckon the 50 metre goal was a good effort given a player with a hamstring injury usually can't kick it as long as they normally do.

you mean a calf.

12-05-2014, 06:12 PM
Wallace said on SEN this morning that "Melbourne has a more balanced list" than us.

I nearly threw up.

We have a number of areas we need to improve upon, but that is such a ridiculous statement.

12-05-2014, 06:33 PM
Heard snippets of what he said.
They should have better younger players than us considering they've been on the bottom for 7 years.
Also got the best out of that compensation disgrace, but I think we've Definetly got the better senior players.
I caught the bit about our old players, and I agree they're going to be difficult to replace.
Terlich, Matt Jones, Dunn. Not sure they're going to take them to the next level.

12-05-2014, 06:57 PM
Wallace said on SEN this morning that "Melbourne has a more balanced list" than us.

I nearly threw up.

We have a number of areas we need to improve upon, but that is such a ridiculous statement.

Is it really so ridiculous if we are talking balance? No doubt in my mind we have them covered in terms of young smalls but they do have Dawes and Frawley who are tested and relatively young, Tom McDonald looks like he will be a solid tall back and Hogan is a massive talent, if Clark had stuck around it looks even more impressive. You can realistically point to those guys and see the Dees spine in five years time.

In comparison to our list I would bank on Roughead being a good tall back in five years time but who else is there? Jones may make it, Talia is in a similar boat while the rest are a mix of incredibly untested, retiring or ideally ruckmen. I would much rather our crop of smalls and mids but in terms of a spine it's an area we are still yet to develop and it does skew the balance of our list.

13-05-2014, 10:17 AM
Got around to watching the replay of the game last night. Was waiting to see the 'soft' Crameri free that had a lot of Melbourne supporters up in arms. Whilst it was soft i thought it was still there. However, what hasnt been mentioned was when Jones was absolutely manhandled in our 50 following the centre clearance after Crameri's last goal. If that had been Dawes or Frawley it would have been paid or at least BT would have complained

13-05-2014, 12:12 PM
What about when Morris was dragged to the ground by Dawes, and Tyson ended up getting a goal from it in the third quarter....was extremely blatant and a disgraceful non-decision. I'm told they (of course) didn't even look at it again or discuss it on tv. I was ropable! And the very soft Jamar free followed that.

At that point, I turned to my Melbourne supporting mate, who knew they were getting a good run, and said "You know we'll get an even-upper at some point. I just hope its with 5 minutes to go in the match".

14-05-2014, 04:59 AM
We wouldn't have done this against anyone else bar errr Melbourne.

I think we can play better, but in the wet against a side that is very well matched on us and probably at least as progressed development wise as us it shows a good effort.