View Full Version : 2014 Game Day Round 10 - Gold Coast Suns V Western Bulldogs

24-05-2014, 04:18 PM
Margin: Dogs by 15 points (C'mon Dogs lets come out firing after the bye)
First Goal: Crameri
Best On Ground: Libba

24-05-2014, 04:25 PM
Dogs by 17
BOG: Libba
First goal: Crammers

24-05-2014, 06:25 PM
Suns by plenty
First goal and bog Minson

24-05-2014, 06:28 PM
Dogs by 25

First goal: Crameri

BOG Griffen

24-05-2014, 06:38 PM
Suns by 19.
First goal Crameri
BOG for us Griff

24-05-2014, 07:15 PM
Suns by 23 pts
First goal Dahlhaus
BOG griff

24-05-2014, 08:00 PM
Dogs by a lucky 5 points
1st Goal Griff
BOG Minson

24-05-2014, 09:40 PM
Suns by 23
First Goal Roberts
BOG Liberatore

24-05-2014, 10:06 PM
Dogs by 4
BOG Griffen
First goal Stevens

24-05-2014, 10:43 PM
Dogs by 28
First goal - Dahl
BOG - Libba

25-05-2014, 10:47 AM
Dogs by 9
First goal: Crameri

25-05-2014, 10:52 AM
Suns by 35 points
Crameri first goal
Griffen BOG for us

25-05-2014, 11:43 AM
Dogs by 17
First goal Dahlhaus
Best on ground Griff

25-05-2014, 12:10 PM
I'm still not used to the idea that the manufactured, pampered, positive discrimination beneficiaries Gold Coast Suns have arrived. I have looked at the ladder, yes I can see it but I am staring in disbelief.

Western by 18 points
BOG: Higgins
First Goal: Crameri

25-05-2014, 12:27 PM
Dogs by 3
First goal: Cooney
BOG: Dahlhaus

25-05-2014, 03:22 PM
Dogs by 3
First goal: Cooney
BOG: Dahlhaus

Great to see you posting Pickle.

25-05-2014, 03:32 PM
Gia in the sub vest again today

25-05-2014, 03:34 PM
Gia in the sub vest again today

If this doesn't work again, expect another well thought out post explaining why this doesn't work! :)

25-05-2014, 03:38 PM
Suns by 5 goals.
First goal: Dahlhaus

25-05-2014, 03:47 PM
Dogs by 12
Bonts first goal
Griff BOG

25-05-2014, 04:04 PM
Jack macrae 82% kicking efficiency for the season so far.
Ranked no.1 in the comp...top shelf.

25-05-2014, 04:20 PM
Murphy has gone forward

25-05-2014, 04:22 PM
How often do we give up the first goal of a game in the opening minute of a game? Far too often.

25-05-2014, 04:23 PM
They are a quick starting side. It sets the tone. We will be looking to settle for damage control rather than attacking ourselves.

Watching on the tv is the worst... Almost as bad as our start. 2 goals to zero. Have we touched the footy?

Down by two inside two minutes. :eek:

25-05-2014, 04:24 PM
Pathetic start to the game. Wake up Dogs.

25-05-2014, 04:25 PM
I hope this gets better.

25-05-2014, 04:27 PM
Today's footy prayer:

Pray Kobe, whose disposals are misguided,
More accurate be thine hands.
And Picken blanket Ablett, thy Will be done
In Metricon as it is at Etihad.
Give us this day our 6 goal Crameri,
And forgive Stringer his trespasses as he forgives those
Who do not him give good passes.
For Minson is our sole ruckman, our power & glory
Forever and ever or at least for a few more years.
Amen.

25-05-2014, 04:27 PM
Man I just love Clay Smith.

25-05-2014, 04:28 PM
Bad start. Hoping Crameri has a big influence up forward. Need to win in the middle.

25-05-2014, 04:30 PM
How good was Bonts handball !!

25-05-2014, 04:34 PM
Good goal Koby. Needed that.

25-05-2014, 04:37 PM
Good goal Tutty. Starting to get on top.

25-05-2014, 04:40 PM
Great ball use Picken to find Murphy.

Ices the goal, good work by Roberts too.

25-05-2014, 04:40 PM
Fletcher showed some nice composure in the lead up to murphys goal.

25-05-2014, 04:41 PM
We've dominated since after those first few minutes.

25-05-2014, 04:45 PM
We have been very good. Liking Murph up in the forward line.

25-05-2014, 04:46 PM
How the hell was that holding the ball v Dickson?? Cheap!

This is what angers me about our umpiring. They never call holding the ball and now todwy they're so quick to call it. I'm fine with it would love some consistency though.

Was that really a free against Stevens? Harsh.

Err Stevens.

25-05-2014, 04:49 PM
Couple of goals in junk time may hurt us.

25-05-2014, 04:51 PM
Great now all we will hear about is Abblets injury.

25-05-2014, 04:52 PM
Was that really a free against Stevens? Harsh.

Then not against O'Mera?

25-05-2014, 04:54 PM
Apart from the first two minutes and a couple of fortuitous umpire decisions or non decisions that led to Suns goals we looked very good. Picken doing a fantastic job on Ablett. Not often Ablett only has 2 possessions in a quarter of football.

Don't want to jinx the kid, but Fletcher Roberts came back from Dixon kicking 2 goals on him in the first 2 mins to play the quarter out quite well. Good sign that the bloke has some character. Many would've gone to water after a start like that.

Leigh Matthews......can he possibly give us any credit? No questioning of umpiring decisions against us but they rabbit on about unfair
advantage for half an hour.

How the hell was that holding the ball v Dickson?? Cheap!

so cheap, plus followed up by O'Meara just dropping the ball and Swallow goaling.

When is the AFL going to stop incorrect disposal in this game of ours

25-05-2014, 04:55 PM
Recovered pretty well after a slow first few minutes. I thought we were the better team of the quarter even though the score board doesn't show it.
A couple decisions go their way and a couple of none decisions our way are frustrating. It's Melbourne all over again.

25-05-2014, 04:55 PM
To be fair Dickson kicked one goal against Roberts. The other was a dodgy free against Libba.

25-05-2014, 04:56 PM
Leigh Matthews......can he possibly give us any credit? No questioning of umpiring decisions against us but they rabbit on about unfair
advantage for half an hour.
Channel 7 so pathetic. Matthews hasn't given us any credit EVER

25-05-2014, 04:57 PM
Commentators are killing us as well.

25-05-2014, 05:01 PM
another cheap free

25-05-2014, 05:02 PM
Whop your head and get a free. This is pathetic... And the ch7 commentators say nothing as usual...

How many soft frees in front of goal are they going to get

Certainly getting a good run in front of goal, the GC.

Ch7 a bit slow on the replay..........wonder why.......

Whinger Ablett

25-05-2014, 05:04 PM
So you just throw your head back and its automatically a free kick, whether or not there was contact? Matera is a great actor.

25-05-2014, 05:05 PM
How good is it to have Murphy in the forward line

25-05-2014, 05:05 PM
Great kick from Griff and mark Murph.

25-05-2014, 05:06 PM
How good is it to have Murphy in the forward line

His a champion can play defence and up forward.

Whinger Ablett

Only Boomer Harvey is ahead of him as the biggest bitch in the game.

Good finish from Tutt.

We're accounting for ourselves reasonably well.

25-05-2014, 05:07 PM
Tutt's composure has improved markedly.

Go Tutty!

7 point play! Nice work tutty

25-05-2014, 05:08 PM
Griffen and Boyd have been very, very good so far.

25-05-2014, 05:11 PM
Coooooooooeeeee

25-05-2014, 05:12 PM
Awesome courage from Griff earned us that goal.

25-05-2014, 05:13 PM
F&%k off Matthews

25-05-2014, 05:14 PM
GC are scared when we come at them

25-05-2014, 05:15 PM
Did you hear that??!!! Matthews just paid us a compliment!!!

That makes it Suns 55, Dogs 1..

25-05-2014, 05:15 PM
Griff has been brilliant, would make the greatest touch rugby player in history with those twinkle toes

25-05-2014, 05:17 PM
Why didn't Tutt take 3 bounces???

No confidence!

25-05-2014, 05:17 PM
Should have kept going Tutt. Bummer.

25-05-2014, 05:21 PM
Luv picken

25-05-2014, 05:22 PM
What can Cooney do. AFL has no idea about football anymore

25-05-2014, 05:22 PM
Cooney reported for high contact to Sook Ablett. The rule makers are ruining this game.

25-05-2014, 05:24 PM
Cooney report an absolute joke

25-05-2014, 05:25 PM
Officially umpires have lost control with over reaction

25-05-2014, 05:25 PM
OMG the umps are now cheating

25-05-2014, 05:26 PM
Umpire's goal.

25-05-2014, 05:27 PM
After one good kick in the first quarter, Picken's foot use has been diabolical.

We have missed too many easy ones

Too many easy misses.

The skill level is the difference between the two teams. We've missed 3 or 4 we should have nailed this quarter.

25-05-2014, 05:28 PM
Terrible miss by Picken

Get Goodes off, doesn't belong at this level

Goode's is having a poor game.

We need to make more of our half opportunities. Picken, Tutt, murphy, smith have missed all getable goals.

Missing easy goals is costing us big time

25-05-2014, 05:29 PM
Can we get Jude Bolton into the main box, only one without Gold Coast's cock in their mouth!

25-05-2014, 05:30 PM
Crameri gets pushed in the back, handballs the ball away but it's a free against him? How does that work then?

25-05-2014, 05:31 PM
Only one with any idea on how to play the game. The rest are just media commentator sucks

Ablett a bigger sook than I thought he was.

If we take our chances we will win this. We need someone to stand up and be the difference.

25-05-2014, 05:32 PM
Loved Bruce's reaction to Prestia shank straight to Bennell. Definitely meant it...

Only Boomer Harvey is ahead of him as the biggest bitch in the game.

Nah. He's long past Harvey. GAJ just expects free kicks and Brownlows without having to work for them.

They've got some good players, but they've obviously been reading their own press. What's pissing me off the most is that they're constantly putting in little bumps and hits at stoppages (which is fine) and we're just copping it.

Why do out senior guys never really fly the flag? They're bigger and stronger than they used to be, but they're still mostly a team full of kids.

I think we can still intimidate these guys - I think there's a lot of bravado that is just a front.

I think we'll win this game if we impose ourselves a bit more.

25-05-2014, 05:33 PM
We are the better team so far but not finishing as well and suffering from abysmal umpiring which has gifted the suns at least 4 goals.

25-05-2014, 05:33 PM
Think the Crameri decision was fair enough, took them on got a hand to him while the ball still mid-bounce, fair play. Consistency please!!!

25-05-2014, 05:34 PM
Nah. He's long past Harvey. GAJ just expects free kicks and Brownlows without having to work for them.

It's close but I reckon Harvey is a nose in front :)

25-05-2014, 05:34 PM
Loved Bruce's reaction to Prestia shank straight to Bennell. Definitely meant it...

Biggest wank. Has no idea how the game is played. Bolton knew better

25-05-2014, 05:35 PM
I think we can still intimidate these guys - I think there's a lot of bravado that is just a front

You can see guys like Bennell, when the hard ball is to be won, they hold back.

25-05-2014, 05:35 PM
As much as I think we are the better team we need to get 4 goals up and break them. Being mostly kids they are mentally fragile.

Cooneys report will surely get thrown out, free kick sure, report, no.

I wish we had have kicked those breakaway goals.

25-05-2014, 05:36 PM
Our disposal efficiency is 67%. We need to improve this and get our forwards some clean ball.

25-05-2014, 05:37 PM
I don't mean to over-react but can someone take Umpire Fisher out the back and beat the crap out of him? That free to Matera was perhaps the worst decision of the season. We are right in this....just need to take our chances and get a half reasonable run from the umpires. Perhaps then we'll get some recognition from the pricks in the commentary box.

Yep I'm a bit fired up.

25-05-2014, 05:38 PM
Those kicks at goal late were awful. We struggle to score at the best of times and have to convert those easy ones.

25-05-2014, 05:39 PM

I think this will end up being the difference, We need to convert and put pressure on them, This year they have really not beaten anyone of note and we are right in it.

2nd point: Cant see why Goodes and Stevens are ahead of Hunter & Hrovat

You can see guys like Bennell, when the hard ball is to be won, they hold back.

Yeah exactly. It's a front and I think we can intimidate them, but we have to consciously do it.

I don't mean to over-react but can someone take Umpire Fisher out the back and beat the crap out of him? That free to Matera was perhaps the worst decision of the season. We are right in this....just need to take our chances and get a half reasonable run from the umpires. Perhaps then we'll get some recognition from the pricks in the commentary box.

Yep I'm a bit fired up.

I am so frustrated watching this game. Not taking our chances, the umpires and listening to the wankers in the commentary box.

They've got some good players, but they've obviously been reading their own press. What's pissing me off the most is that they're constantly putting in little bumps and hits at stoppages (which is fine) and we're just copping it.

Why do out senior guys never really fly the flag? They're bigger and stronger than they used to be, but they're still mostly a team full of kids.

I think we can still intimidate these guys - I think there's a lot of bravado that is just a front.

I think we'll win this game if we impose ourselves a bit more.

^^This^^
I have noticed this as well.

As much as I think we are the better team we need to get 4 goals up and break them. Being mostly kids they are mentally fragile.

Watching the report back, Ablett almost had his head touching the ball when picking the ball up. Who does that?

25-05-2014, 05:40 PM

Yep I'm a bit fired up.

I don't think it's an overreaction.

Doing really well so far, if we can get a couple of early ones in the second half and get some momentum we can win this.

Agree. We are definitely the better team. If we can get 2 or 3 goals up by the last change we will win.

25-05-2014, 05:41 PM
2nd point: Cant see why Goodes and Stevens are ahead of Hunter & Hrovat

Couldn't agree more. Stevens 4 disposals. Goodes, not sure where he is playing and what the role is. 3 disposals.

25-05-2014, 05:42 PM
Loved that little cameo on Wood's family. I think we are the ones who are rushing things, these guys don't have huge tackling pressure like I expected, think we can take them on a bit more, run through them Griff is killing them doing this. Need to not get carried away with the "oh shit, we're a chance here" factor and just try play it on our terms. Some of our disposal has been horrible, picked has done a number on Ablett, if he kicks efficiently, Ablett would be feeling massive pressure, don't think he's a great loser.

25-05-2014, 05:44 PM
Best half we have played this year.

25-05-2014, 05:45 PM
Matthews thinks Cooney will get off! It was a soft report, so hopefully common sense prevails and he does.

Really looking forward to the second half.

25-05-2014, 05:45 PM
Picken has done a number on Ablett, if he kicks efficiently, Ablett would be feeling massive pressure, don't think he's a great loser.
Yes and I think the Suns will come out and do every thing they can to get Ablett into the game. I don't think we can hold him down all game but feel that Crameri and Gia hold the key for us getting up.

25-05-2014, 05:46 PM
Libba 7 tackles, 9 Con Poss and 13 disposals and Dahl with 20 disposals, 8 contested, - needs to make them pay.

25-05-2014, 05:46 PM
Couldn't agree more. Stevens 4 disposals. Goodes, not sure where he is playing and what the role is. 3 disposals.
I understand what Stevens can bring to the side......can't say the same about Goodes. Been a liability today but is he playing a tag on Prestia?

25-05-2014, 05:47 PM
Matthews thinks Cooney will get off! It was a soft report, so hopefully common sense prevails and he does.

We'll see. Any other player got hit I'd feel a little more confident but it was the AFL's poster boy who's clearly had rough treatment today. Better make an example of Cooney.

Watching the report back, Ablett almost had his head touching the ball when picking the ball up. Who does that?

if you look he had a gaze up at Cooney on the way down, was definitely trying to draw the free not get the ball, really should have been play on or a Cooney free for diving at the playing standing up in the contest.

I understand what Stevens can bring to the side......can't say the same about Goodes. Been a liability today but is he playing a tag on Prestia?
Not sure but I think even Wallis would be a better pick as he gets a fair piece of it the other way. Goodes looks slow and overweight.

25-05-2014, 05:48 PM
if you look he had a gaze up at Cooney on the way down, was definitely trying to draw the free not get the ball, really should have been play on or a Cooney free for diving at the playing standing up in the contest.
Nope it was a free kick.....but didn't deserve a report.

Prestia 17 disposals, it ain't worken

Goodes has been woeful. If it was a wet slog I could see the reason for bringing him in but it's a dry warm day. There are better choices.

25-05-2014, 05:49 PM
Come on dogs.....don't fall away.

25-05-2014, 05:49 PM

He was obviously waiting for contact to get a free.

25-05-2014, 05:51 PM
Harbrow's just about BOG... It kills me..

25-05-2014, 05:53 PM
Boyd back to his ineffectual best

25-05-2014, 05:54 PM
Well, that's the end of that.

Terrible start to the half.

Complete butcher of the footy from Boyd, followed up by a very poor effort of trying to pretend to dispose of the ball (you don't have to actually try rather, just pretend to try really well) from Picken and they're out.

Free to Ablett?? Wtf

25-05-2014, 05:55 PM
Boyd back to his ineffectual best

Yep, that kick killed us. Soul destroying.

25-05-2014, 05:57 PM
You mean Boyd whose been one of our best today? Yeah I saw him miss that kick.

No comment on Minson missing two 4 foot handballs though?

25-05-2014, 05:59 PM
Well that 15mins has been our worst of the year, game over.

25-05-2014, 06:00 PM
Embarrassing ten or so minutes. Just haven't been composed with the footy or strong enough over it.

Capitulating

Massive hole we're in now. I'll call it already.

Only 10 mins in and game over....wtf happened.

25-05-2014, 06:01 PM
This is crap football now

25-05-2014, 06:02 PM
I'm not entirely sure Cooney's not just going through the motions with us.

Timid is the nicest description.

Dinky little rubbish hand passes. Why hand ball to someone less than a metre away? Dumb dumb dumb

25-05-2014, 06:03 PM
Wow. Our bad is just about the worst in the league. Gold Coast haven't done anything special and have kicked 4 to zip

25-05-2014, 06:04 PM
Looks like this week we have chosen to play 2 quarters. Wonder what the spin of the wheel will be next week

25-05-2014, 06:04 PM
Geez he's a trier, Boydy, but he's just a pathetic kick.

25-05-2014, 06:05 PM
I'm not entirely sure Cooney's not just going through the motions with us.

I'm with you. Constantly escaped scrutiny, runs in one direction and seems disinterested at all other times.

25-05-2014, 06:05 PM
Dinky little rubbish hand passes. Why hand ball to someone less than a metre away? Dumb dumb dumb

Who also has his back to you.

25-05-2014, 06:06 PM
Pathetic 3rd qtr.

I'm with you. Constantly escaped scrutiny, runs in one direction and seems disinterested at all other times.

Wonder if he didn't get much interest last year so he wasn't worth going FA?

You mean Boyd whose been one of our best today? Yeah I saw him miss that kick.

No comment on Minson missing two 4 foot handballs though?

You don't want to get me started on Minson.

25-05-2014, 06:08 PM
Their kick ins have been far too easy. No pressure at all

25-05-2014, 06:09 PM
Who also has his back to you.

As a whole we always do it. There is no point to it unless you're trying to up your stats. The spacing has got to get better so the quick bandpass has some effect.

Is this our best team?

We just don't play 4 quarter football

Way way way to many passengers. You can't win a footy match with half a team.

25-05-2014, 06:10 PM
We have stopped dead just like the last half of 2012. Could lose this by 100

25-05-2014, 06:10 PM
Have we won a clearance this qtr

25-05-2014, 06:11 PM
Slaughter

We had the bye last week?? Wouldn't know it.

We are a very very soft football club today. No fight, no pride in our performance in this half.

My patience is wavering when you look at how Port has turned it around so quick.

25-05-2014, 06:12 PM
This is a joke!

25-05-2014, 06:12 PM
Is this our best team?

Are you talking about Minson, Boyd, Stevens, Cooney or Goodes?

25-05-2014, 06:13 PM
To be honest I thought our lack of finishing in the second set the scene for Gold Coast to run over us this quarter. In effect we took the wind out of our own sails. We needed everything to go our way today to have a sniff given the difference in high quality talent between the two sides.
Now we are just falling apart and look dispirited, that is possibly the more worrying sign.

F**king embarrassing. I don't want to hear another measured press conference from Macca. Just a dissatisfied facial expression will be a start.

Now it's a percentage booster for GC , all in 15 minutes. At least put extra man down there to stop the flow.

Smith gets a timely interception in the back 50, and.... soccers the ball??? Just bloody stupid. The ball stays in, the Suns get another goal. Dumb, dumb football.

This is atrocious FFS. Worst qtr of footy ever.

Are you talking about Minson, Boyd, Stevens, Cooney or Goodes?

Open ended.

25-05-2014, 06:14 PM
My patience is wavering when you look at how Port has turned it around so quick.

Port had five years in the wilderness and playing crap footy. We have only had three.

25-05-2014, 06:14 PM
This effort just cannot be tolerated. I have no patience for this. I don't see how we can be a contender in the future with such woeful efforts

25-05-2014, 06:15 PM
Not really true. Port have had 5 seasons of rebuilding to become an overnight success. Ever since they got smashed in the 07 Gf they've been rebuilding.

25-05-2014, 06:16 PM
To be fair we are a long way off port at present

25-05-2014, 06:16 PM
So why the hell did Smith not get a free? In fact O'meara praised for it.

25-05-2014, 06:17 PM
And no free to Stevens?

25-05-2014, 06:19 PM
Port had five years in the wilderness and playing crap footy. We have only had three.
fourth year now

25-05-2014, 06:20 PM
So why the hell did Smith not get a free? In fact O'meara praised for it.

Because he didn't get him high. What pisses me off is their praise for O'Meara when the only difference between the Cooney incident was the fact Smith turned his body whereas Ablett just ducked his head.

25-05-2014, 06:21 PM
fourth year now

We're paying for the short term thinking that prevailed under Eade's reign unfortunately.

25-05-2014, 06:22 PM
"We are the threat"...

25-05-2014, 06:22 PM
fourth year now

True, I wasn't including Eades final year.

25-05-2014, 06:23 PM
fourth year now

2010 we were expected to play finals.

We're paying for the short term thinking that prevailed under Eade's reign unfortunately.

We were a kick away from a granny, give 5 years of crap for a date at the big dance any day.

I hope McCartney gives the team an absolute spray after that dismal performance. We were right in this game and have just capitulated.

Gee that quarter was as bad as it gets.

25-05-2014, 06:24 PM
We were a kick away from a granny, give 5 years of crap for a date at the big dance any day.

It's been done to death.

25-05-2014, 06:25 PM
fourth year now
Finished well out of the 8 from 2008 to 2012.

25-05-2014, 06:26 PM
I'm not as angry as I thought. More sad and disappointed...

That's why Collingwood have 200% more members than us. Paying for the privilege of calling yourself a member of our club is sooo much harder with footy like this.

25-05-2014, 06:26 PM
Not much of an excuse when you see Cats, Hawks, Pies, Swans etc still up there.

Our list management is up there with St Kilda for crapness.

25-05-2014, 06:27 PM
Is that the harder to play against, the stay in games longer, crap that Macca is talking about. I don't know what's going on but we have gone backwards again. Is it coaching or cattle? Who ever it is something has to give. Worst quarter of football for some time. Unacceptable! No pressure at all

True, list management was very poor back then. It's a long season and plenty of time and games to go this year, I'd still like to see how MC get more games into those that need them.

That quarter had it all......no strength over the ball, panic hand balls, playing from behind, no running from behind, insipid spoils. Congrats dogs......you made an average team look elite.

How long does McCartney get to lean on that excuse?

fourth year now
Sorry, misread your post, thought you meant 4 years for Port. Sorry.

25-05-2014, 06:28 PM
To be fair we are a long way off port at present

Absolutely. Port are three year ahead of us. They were cellar dwellers when we were making prelims and were wooden spooners in 2011 when we were still on the way down. We're still two to three years away.

25-05-2014, 06:28 PM
Mighty crap performance that term.
The parallels with Port Adelaide just don't measure .
We've had GWS and GC getting the nice picks at the pointy end.our rebuild and there's don't parallel, simple
I'd like us to use F/A for once and not just fringe players from other clubs.

25-05-2014, 06:29 PM
Just on the Cooney handball, whilst it was poor I'd love to know why Macrae though his job was done after he disposed of the footy.

As soon as he did that, all he did was take his eyes off the ball and not even look to stay in the contest and provide a shephard or anything.

That's indicative of where we're at presently. Not prepared to concentrate for long enough, and work hard enough for long enough.

25-05-2014, 06:29 PM

A little while yet. Eade and Clayton left our list in disarray.

25-05-2014, 06:30 PM
A tad unfair. Fair to say our ability to rebuild has been affected by the heavily compromised drafts in that time.

25-05-2014, 06:30 PM
I just want to cry

25-05-2014, 06:31 PM
GC rolled over and exposed their underbelly to us but we are going to lose by 100 points.

25-05-2014, 06:31 PM
Jeez Dixon really got some separation quite easily from Moz then.

25-05-2014, 06:32 PM
Watching this makes me want top 3 pick this draft.

25-05-2014, 06:33 PM

I need to see improvement in the second half. We've been competitive this year for much longer than we have in previous years but efforts like we're seeing today are not good enough for any team.

You can deny it all you like AP6, but our list was left in a disgraceful state after Eade left and we're paying for it now.

25-05-2014, 06:33 PM
We'll get to hear from the usual suspects on here soon.
They're anonymous when we win .
No excuses though, this is a massive disappointment and frustration.

25-05-2014, 06:34 PM
It's been done to death.

And so is blaming the poor decisions at the time.

25-05-2014, 06:34 PM
A little while yet. Eade and Clayton left our list in disarray.

Clayton? Wow, that's kind to McCartney, Clayton's been gone for five years. Our lack of development in the last 3-4 is the concern.

25-05-2014, 06:35 PM
On the upside I have found the player I love to hate the most - Harley Bennell.

25-05-2014, 06:35 PM
That's all u can stomach. That bloke fumbled twice, had a cuppa and still no Dogs player tackled him. Unforgivable.

25-05-2014, 06:36 PM
I need to see improvement in the second half. We've been competitive this year for much longer than we have in previous years but efforts like we're seeing today are not good enough for any team.

You can deny it all you like AP6, but our list was left in a disgraceful state after Eade left and we're paying for it now.

It's not about denying it, it's about saying "Well, the past is then past, let's move on". Many aren't capable of that, but blame the decisions of the past for way too long. We can still blame Eade and Clayton, at what point do we blame the current regime for the predicament we're in. Dud draft picks don't account for the current ineptitude.

GC have lairised their way through the second half and they have still embarrassed us completely.

This has to be on the players. No way can a complete drop off like this be the coaches fault. The players are not up to it and our seniors are pathetic. If we had Hayes/Reiwoldt\Montagna we would win more games

Clayton? Wow, that's kind to McCartney, Clayton's been gone for five years. Our lack of development in the last 3-4 is the concern.

And if he made good decisions 5 years ago it wouldn't be such a mess. Clayton and Eade destroyed us.

25-05-2014, 06:37 PM

That was 4 years ago.

25-05-2014, 06:37 PM

The list was in total decay, and when we fell in 2011 our first pick was 17.
Then you've got all the 17 year olds ( cream of the crop) and uncontracted players Ward Harbrow losses have killed us.
Bitterly disappointed, but to put all our problems at the feet of McCartney ( like a few here do ) is not right.

25-05-2014, 06:38 PM
I've changed channel, gone from midwinter murder to midsomer murders

25-05-2014, 06:38 PM
It's not about denying it, it's about saying "Well, the past is then past, let's move on". Many aren't capable of that, but blame the decisions of the past for way too long.

Then there are those who look on the past with rose coloured glasses and continuously blame our current staff.

25-05-2014, 06:39 PM
2010 we were expected to play finals.

2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

Don't forget in Eade's last year 12 players debuted.

25-05-2014, 06:39 PM
Been a fair bit of criticism about having Gia in. Him playing as sub is far from our biggest concern at the moment.

25-05-2014, 06:40 PM
And if he made good decisions 5 years ago it wouldn't be such a mess. Clayton and Eade destroyed us.

That's horribly disrespectful to the guy who lead us to three PF's.

What do you mean wow. Look at our side, we have no core from the time Eade and Clayton were together.

We have plenty of kids from the last 3 seasons, its the next older group thats hurting us.

2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

Don't forget in Eade's last year 12 players debuted.

Whoops, didn't count the current year. Duh. :)

25-05-2014, 06:41 PM
If this is our best team, we are much worse than I thought. Much.

25-05-2014, 06:42 PM
Then there are those who look on the past with rose coloured glasses and continuously blame our current staff.

That makes no sense at all. The past staff aren't responsible for our currently poor skills. They aren't responsible for the woeful capitulation of the current day. They aren't responsible for the fact we only play for a half, or for the fact our leaders don't stand up when necessary.

25-05-2014, 06:42 PM
That's horribly disrespectful to the guy who lead us to three PF's.

And out list management from that time. is hurting us now

25-05-2014, 06:43 PM
If this is our best team, we are much worse than I thought. Much.

You have such a sharp football mind, why didn't u post this at half time?

What do you mean wow. Look at our side, we have no core from the time Eade and Clayton were together.

We have plenty of kids from the last 3 seasons, its the next older group thats hurting us.

I mean we have to stop living in, and blaming the past.

It's not about denying it, it's about saying "Well, the past is then past, let's move on". Many aren't capable of that, but blame the decisions of the past for way too long. We can still blame Eade and Clayton, at what point do we blame the current regime for the predicament we're in. Dud draft picks don't account for the current ineptitude.

Yes they do. That's entirely the point. The dearth of reasonable talent in the mid range and mid games played range we've suffered from is precisely the reason we've been shithouse in recent seasons.

That was 4 years ago.

Problem is the two AFl plastic who gives a shit teams got the cream of the crop.

25-05-2014, 06:44 PM
Whoops, didn't count the current year. Duh. :)

Honestly we are better than this performance. But, we can't go into a game with no tall forward.

25-05-2014, 06:45 PM
I mean we have to stop living in, and blaming the past.

But its a big part of the problem, that's just the reality of situation we are in.

25-05-2014, 06:45 PM
Yes they do. That's entirely the point. The dearth of reasonable talent in the mid range and mid games played range we've suffered from is precisely the reason we've been shithouse in recent seasons.

So player development/coaching has no bearing? Very well, agree to disagree.

25-05-2014, 06:48 PM
That makes no sense at all. The past staff aren't responsible for our currently poor skills. They aren't responsible for the woeful capitulation of the current day. They aren't responsible for the fact we only play for a half, or for the fact our leaders don't stand up when necessary.

Those are entirely different issues and are the responsibility of current staff. However we'd have more leaders around had our last list managers hadn't been so short sited.

25-05-2014, 06:49 PM
Honestly we are better than this performance. But, we can't go into a game with no tall forward.

Thought about that midway through the 3rd. Wouldn't have helped, wouldn't have hurt either.

So player development/coaching has no bearing? Very well, agree to disagree.

Yes it does. I'm quite satisfied with how our young players are developing bar a few. Overall, I think that area is the least of our issues.

I like Bonts but he looks very inside at the moment, looks more of what we have in surplus. Good boy Wood, brave lad to stand under that

25-05-2014, 06:50 PM
You have such a sharp football mind, why didn't u post this at half time?

Fair enough, not sure what I've done to deserve this, but it's your right to be rude. But to your argument, it's so inane. Send your angst elsewhere.

25-05-2014, 06:52 PM
But its a big part of the problem, that's just the reality of situation we are in.

Can't agree chef. We still have from that era the following playing today:

M Boyd , L Dahlhaus, T Liberatore, R Griffen, S Higgins, A Cooney , R Murphy, L Picken, Minson
E Wood , D Morris, J Roughead D Giansiracusa.

Pretty good Core. Tell me who is no good

25-05-2014, 07:07 PM
I don't get it. How can we play such a strong first half and then capitulate so pathetically? If we blame the coach for the second half then I assume we also give him the credit for the first half.

25-05-2014, 07:11 PM

M Boyd , L Dahlhaus, T Liberatore, R Griffen, S Higgins, A Cooney , R Murphy, L Picken, Minson

I wouldn't have Dahl, Roughie and Libba in that senior core that we are missing. They are the start and leaders of the future though.

Wood and Picken are decent players but nothing special and Higgins is average and overated.

Griffen, Cooney, Minson, Morris, Boyd, Murphy and Gia are that senior core, sadly about half are just about finished and struggle to influence a game.

Ward and Harbrow hurt, but they were yet another list management stuff up.

Still going to be more pain for another season or two.

25-05-2014, 07:13 PM
We have the worst forward line (including forward structure) that I have probably ever seen.

25-05-2014, 07:15 PM
It's dog eat dog in here

25-05-2014, 07:16 PM

Apart from Roughead and Minson, all the other blokes over 190cm

25-05-2014, 07:51 PM

Development over the last 3 years isn't the issue, plenty of youngsters are being played and you can see the improvement with them. It just isn't coming quick enough.

As we all know we hung on to the likes of Mulligan and Hooper and a few others for too long while topping up with good senior players but with a very limited shelf life.
It's created a gulf on the playing list that we haven't conquered yet. Looking at the Footscray side yesterday we still have some issues and gaps.

It's just a case of going to the draft table and positioning ourselves for good draft picks and players.

25-05-2014, 07:53 PM
Development over the last 3 years isn't the issue, plenty of youngsters are being played and you can see the improvement with them. It just isn't coming quick enough.

As we all know we hung on to the likes of Mulligan and Hooper and a few others for too long while topping up with good senior players but with a very limited shelf life.
It's created a gulf on the playing list that we haven't conquered yet. Looking at the Footscray side yesterday we still have some issues and gaps.

It's just a case of going to the draft table and positioning ourselves for good draft picks and players.

You keep bringing up Mulligan and Hooper and fair enough they turned out pretty bad. I can add possible future effect of Goodes, Fuller, Darley also speculative.