Dogs 27 points
BOG- Libba
First Goal- Crameri

06-06-2014, 04:00 PM
Dogs by 31 pts
BOG Griffen ( will bounce back )
1st Goal Crameri
Might give this joint a very wide berth if we get rolled.
May be hello draft pick 1 to 3

06-06-2014, 04:35 PM
Dogs by 64
Minson BOG & 1st Goal

06-06-2014, 07:07 PM
Dogs by 11
BOG Higgins
First Goal Dahlhaus

06-06-2014, 07:53 PM
Dogs by 15
First goal: Grant
BOG: Minson

06-06-2014, 07:58 PM
Dogs by 21
First goal: Crameri
BOG: Griffen

06-06-2014, 10:41 PM
Dogs by 40
BOG Griff to make up for last week
First Goal - Mr Williams

06-06-2014, 11:56 PM
Dogs by 13

BOG: Libba

First Goal: Grant or Gia depending who is sub.

06-06-2014, 11:57 PM
Dogs by 14
First goal: Dahlhaus

07-06-2014, 12:21 AM
Dogs by 13

First Goal: Grant or Gia depending who is sub.
For a moment I read this as meaning we would have to wait for the sub to kick our first goal :)

dogs by 10
First goal: Dalhaus
Best: Libber

07-06-2014, 10:48 AM
For a moment I read this as meaning we would have to wait for the sub to kick our first goal :)

don't temp fate :D

07-06-2014, 11:20 AM
don't temp fate :D

That's why it didn't seem that odd to me!

07-06-2014, 01:59 PM
Dogs by 31
BOG:Crameri

07-06-2014, 02:13 PM
Who do you think will be our sub tonight?

07-06-2014, 02:33 PM
Who do you think will be our sub tonight?

BT said he wants it to be Gia. In his opinion it has worked so far, so good this season... ;) (Sorry BT, couldn't resist)

ED, I reckon Grant will be.

07-06-2014, 02:53 PM
Dogs by 31
Have they shut the roof yet, it's raining? Hopefully the prospect of a win will avoid an all time low crowd given the time slot and all things.

07-06-2014, 02:57 PM
Dogs by 31
Have they shut the roof yet, it's raining? Hopefully the prospect of a win will avoid an all time low crowd given the time slot and all things.

I hope we get at least over 20,000 tonight. I think the Saturday night timeslot is much better compared to a late Sunday afternoon timeslot. At least we aren't playing in that Sunday night timeslot.

07-06-2014, 03:13 PM
I hope we get at least over 20,000 tonight. I think the Saturday night timeslot is much better compared to a late Sunday afternoon timeslot. At least we aren't playing in that Sunday night timeslot.

It will be touch and go on the crowd ED.

A few train lines are not running and being replaced with buses.

Hopefully a few ex-fitzroy supporters come along to see the game.

07-06-2014, 03:17 PM
It will be touch and go on the crowd ED.

A few train lines are not running and being replaced with buses.

Hopefully a few ex-fitzroy supporters come along to see the game.

Yes they have a few in Melbourne, but will our supporters go? I will be there as usual. Lucky to get 15k

07-06-2014, 03:23 PM
Yes they have a few in Melbourne, but will our supporters go? I will be there as usual. Lucky to get 15k

I also will be going, my normal crew I go with are not going due to various other commitments. So I must admit I did consider pulling the pin also due to my train line not running and the terrible weather.

But hey Im going to get a cheap and wonderful curry on the way to the game, and I've already paid for my entry and seat, so pretty cheap night considering.

07-06-2014, 03:23 PM

Should be going as well. Yeah I don't think will get as low a crowd as last week. Maybe some of our fans think this game is a big chance for us to get another win and will decide to go. Azabob makes a good point about the trains as well. That must be frustrating because a lot I reckon that go to Etihad don't drive in as the parking isn't flash around there.

07-06-2014, 03:40 PM
what train lines are effected?

07-06-2014, 04:55 PM
Dogs by 27 points
BOG: Griff to come back strong
First goal:Crameri

07-06-2014, 05:34 PM
what train lines are effected?

Not sure mate but I heard a fan last week who sits behind me at games who lives down in Torquay way I think and they said there were interruptions on the train line and that they had to get buses up.

07-06-2014, 06:31 PM
Ok Dogs will will this one easily

Dogs bu 32 points
1st Goal Grant
BOG Griff welcome back baby!

07-06-2014, 06:35 PM
Dogs by 17
First goal Crammers
BOG Griff

07-06-2014, 06:35 PM
This will be a contest, they are very athletic.
Dogs by 11
BOG Liberatore
First goal Crameri

07-06-2014, 06:49 PM
Actually after thinking about it.

Minson BOG. Brisbane are going into the game with a Ruckman......

07-06-2014, 06:59 PM
Not sure mate but I heard a fan last week who sits behind me at games who lives down in Torquay way I think and they said there were interruptions on the train line and that they had to get buses up.
Don't think there are disruptions:

From Met Site:

Close (http://www.metrotrains.com.au/extra-services/#)SERVICE DETAIL

Western Bulldogs v Brisbane
Saturday 7 June, first bounce7:40pm
Etihad

EXTRA SERVICES

We’re running extra trains to get fans to and from the Dogs v Lions match at Etihad Stadium, Saturday 7 June.
Before the game there are extra services to Southern Cross from:
South Morang departing at 6:29pm, stopping all stations
Sunbury departing at 6:25pm, stopping all stations
After the game there are extra services from Southern Cross to:
South Morang departing platform 9
Upper Ferntree Gully departing platform 10
Sunbury departing platform 11
*Sunbury customers please note: The 10:54pm Watergardens service from Flinders Street has also been extended to run to Sunbury.

For more information on services to and from this event contact Public Transport Victoria (PTV) on 1800 800 007.

07-06-2014, 07:00 PM
Dogs by 104
BOG Wood
First goal Higgins

07-06-2014, 07:09 PM
Go Western.

And Gia is too intelligent to be called a Sub!

07-06-2014, 07:14 PM
Go Western.

And Gia is too intelligent to be called a Sub!

Gia confirmed as substitute again.

07-06-2014, 07:29 PM
Gia confirmed as substitute again.

Is that a good call you reckon or should have we opted for someone else this week.

07-06-2014, 07:30 PM
Dogs by 23
BOG Hrovat (29 touches; 2 goals)
First Goal Bontempelli (kicks 5)

07-06-2014, 07:38 PM
Is that a good call you reckon or should have we opted for someone else this week.
Nah gives the younger guys more game time

07-06-2014, 08:16 PM
Can you all start wishing for Jarrad Grant to kick the first goal of each quarter? I have in the raffle and it's $50 per quarter :)

07-06-2014, 08:20 PM
Can you all start wishing for Jarrad Grant to kick the first goal of each quarter? I have in the raffle and it's $50 per quarter :)
Good luck with that, that will be some win for you if he can pull it off. I dare say if it happens it will also mean the Dogs will win too

07-06-2014, 08:42 PM
So we get a Sat night timeslot and they have the GWS v Methaddicts on free to air TV. Always feel like someone is always wanting to bend us over a table.

07-06-2014, 08:43 PM
Strong body work by williams for first goal!

07-06-2014, 08:44 PM
Margin: Dogs by 26 points
First Goal: Hrovat
Best On Ground: Griffen

Got the first goal kicker. Hrovat! Go Dogs!

07-06-2014, 08:45 PM
Well....... Mr Williams certainly deserves a bit of luck!!

07-06-2014, 08:55 PM
Bont's hands very clean and Roughie very good v Brown. Enjoying watching our younger blokes.

07-06-2014, 08:57 PM
Add Hrovat... And Higgins is burning tonight..

07-06-2014, 09:00 PM
Will doing a great job early.

07-06-2014, 09:03 PM
Roughed been good in the backline. Such an important player.

07-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Wish Tom Williams would work his way in front.

07-06-2014, 09:06 PM
Just giving away some easy possessions and goals. Did anyone see Hrovat and Griffen coming off for a spell? The wonders of youth

07-06-2014, 09:08 PM
Spoiling 20 mins of good footy with two terrible turnovers.

07-06-2014, 09:09 PM
Just giving away some easy possessions and goals. Did anyone see Hrovat and Griffen coming off for a spell? The wonders of youth

Yeah I had a good laugh at that. By the time Griff reached the bench Hrovat could've been ready to go back on!

07-06-2014, 09:14 PM
Tutt's beginning to show some very good signs.. Beginning to conjure up a young Eagleton at times...

07-06-2014, 09:14 PM
Not sure what to make of that quarter. We looked good in patches yet we let Brisbane back in through stupid turnovers plus some poor defensive midfield play.

07-06-2014, 09:15 PM
Yeah I had a good laugh at that. By the time Griff reached the bench Hrovat could've been ready to go back on!

He gave Griff a 30 mtr start and beat him by 20. Dahlhaus really sprints off as well

07-06-2014, 09:17 PM
Tutt's beginning to show some very good signs.. Beginning to conjure up a young Eagleton at times...

He's not as tough or as polished with his kicking skills as the Eagle but he improving a lot. Love to see him get to another level

07-06-2014, 09:32 PM
Can Adam Cooney get any worse?

07-06-2014, 09:35 PM
Not sure how or why Howard is in this side. Must be a good bloke.

07-06-2014, 09:36 PM
Needed that.

07-06-2014, 09:36 PM
Can Adam Cooney get any worse?

Disposal by foot is appalling.

07-06-2014, 09:39 PM
Bont's hands are ridiculously clean, but his kicking is a concern

07-06-2014, 09:40 PM
My god I want to be doing something else. It's self inflicted torcher right now, I could be do anything else and be immediately happier I reckon. But I will sit it out like the rest of you there.

07-06-2014, 09:41 PM
Terrible around the stoppages at the moment. I feel for our defenders. Midfield not accountable at all.

07-06-2014, 09:42 PM
The commentator on fox said he has had 15 posys and working hard. What has he done with it it though? Been garbage.

07-06-2014, 09:43 PM
Disposal by foot is appalling.
The commentator on fox said he has had 15 posys and working hard. What has he done with it it though? Been garbage.

07-06-2014, 09:43 PM
For the first time in ages we are live on TV in Asia (I'm in Hong Kong) and they serve this crap up.

Honestly what a joke, Matthew Campbell commentating and we cannot win a stoppage, both terrible!

07-06-2014, 09:45 PM
This is terrible.

Getting out run and out coached by the bottom team... Horrid.

07-06-2014, 09:46 PM
This is embarrassing. We just do not work nearly hard enough.

07-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Nightmare.

07-06-2014, 09:47 PM
We're being made to look like the bottom side... By the bottom side. Anyone wondering about our low member numbers need look no further than this display.

07-06-2014, 09:52 PM
One half to redeem ourselves. Otherwise....I'm going to the Pack You Bags McCartney thread...

07-06-2014, 09:53 PM
This is a disgrace. We are making the Lions look like world beaters. What the hell is going on.

07-06-2014, 09:54 PM
The players have made a number of skill errors that quarter. Minson,Bonts, Cooney, Dahlhaus and Wood cost us

07-06-2014, 09:54 PM
Hopefully this was just 1 bad quarter and we really pick it up this 2nd half. Bad luck to Bonts in the end there.

07-06-2014, 09:58 PM
I've always back Macca but I'm fed up now. At the game and it's the same old story. No outside game. Lions with a extra man back. We bomb it in and they goal on the counter. Same.old.story. We are pathetic

07-06-2014, 09:58 PM
We're looking outclassed by the bottom team. Alarm bells are ringing.

07-06-2014, 10:00 PM

Imagine the media if we hadn't resigned Macca last year, the Caroline Wilson's would be calling for him to be sacked if this continues the way it looks like it's going.

07-06-2014, 10:02 PM
That was a tough quarter to watch.

Glad I didn't make the 5 hour round trip this week.

07-06-2014, 10:03 PM

Way too athletic for us much like late last year

07-06-2014, 10:04 PM
Imagine the media if we hadn't resigned Macca last year, the Caroline Wilson's would be calling for him to be sacked if this continues the way it looks like it's going.

Re-signing or not the heat will come if we can't turn this one around.... Robbo on AFL 360 will turn the gas cooker on.

07-06-2014, 10:06 PM
I've always back Macca but I'm fed up now. At the game and it's the same old story. No outside game. Lions with a extra man back. We bomb it in and they goal on the counter. Same.old.story. We are pathetic

Not the first time that teams drop players back and use it to rebound out like a trampoline. You would think with our problems up forward the coaches would man the player up as we are better one on one than letting a loss man back cut us to shreds.

07-06-2014, 10:07 PM
Way too athletic for us much like late last year

We are just so slow compared to them. We can't even win the clearances and once that happens we are doomed as their pace just kills us.

07-06-2014, 10:07 PM
Is Griffen getting much of it? We haven't had too many good games from him.

07-06-2014, 10:08 PM
Re-signing or not the heat will come if we can't turn this one around.... Robbo on AFL 360 will turn the gas cooker on.

We are snookered. We can't take a million of Peter only to pay most of that to a coach we boot. I think those complaining we don't get much press might hope for that time to come back. I agree, it could get ugly and there's nothing we can do because they players we are picking are not doing what they get payed for.

07-06-2014, 10:08 PM

As it should we really lokk like we have gone backwards.

The good news is that we should be able to turn it around with a better second half from Higgo, Dhouse & Grant

07-06-2014, 10:09 PM

11 touches, but most of them in close.. Not giving us the run & carry we need from him.

07-06-2014, 10:10 PM
To those wanting an attractive open game style.....this is what it looks like. I prefer the boring lockdown approach.

Any chance the captain might lead from the front?

07-06-2014, 10:11 PM
So many players giving us very little.

Stevens, Wood, Dahlhaus, Howard, Grant, Crameri, Tutt, Hrovat, Higgins, etc.. You can't carry half your team and expect anything other than a poor performance.

07-06-2014, 10:12 PM
To those wanting an attractive open game style.....this is what it looks like. I prefer the boring lockdown approach.

Dont worry I recon your going to get your wish in the second term. We cant let this one get away, coaches, Player all have too much to lose.

07-06-2014, 10:13 PM

Going at 33% according to Triple M. Not nearly good enough.

07-06-2014, 10:15 PM

This is not attractive football.

07-06-2014, 10:16 PM
Not a good start but lucky browns shot was called a behind

07-06-2014, 10:17 PM
Where is Gia?

07-06-2014, 10:18 PM
Gia on: That should be the last time we see Howard - not just for tonight, not just for the season, but forever.

Where is Howard?

Where is Gia?

He is taking off the vest and yelling to get on the ground.

07-06-2014, 10:20 PM
Where is Howard?

Do you mean since the siren to start the game?

07-06-2014, 10:22 PM
C'mon Dogs this is the bottom side and you are fair better than them.

07-06-2014, 10:22 PM

Dogs are lucky it has taken this long, hope he turns the torch up full bore it is truly needed.
Win or loss someone needs to be held accountable for the tripe we dish up.

07-06-2014, 10:23 PM
Aaaarrrrrgggggghhhhh, FFS.

07-06-2014, 10:24 PM
We are genuinely, bona fide, 100% crap.

07-06-2014, 10:25 PM
I didn't realise at the start of the year when the comments were "we are the threat" it was to ourselves.

07-06-2014, 10:26 PM
Good start to the 3rd and a goal to Crameri, lets get on a roll now doggies!

07-06-2014, 10:28 PM
Macguire looks like a cross between Silvagni and Scarlett. Why didn't we look for a player of his quality???

07-06-2014, 10:30 PM
Gia is still our smartest forward.

07-06-2014, 10:31 PM
C'mon Dogs. Nice finish Gia.

07-06-2014, 10:31 PM

And a Gaol to prove it!, Lets hope that he can pass his smarts on to the others in the next 6 to 8 weeks or were stuffed.

07-06-2014, 10:32 PM

Why has he been on the pine though?

07-06-2014, 10:32 PM

I said he should not be called a Sub.

07-06-2014, 10:33 PM
Gee Jack Macrae is a terrible kick under pressure. He is so slow hand to foot... He really needs to sort it out to become a really good AFL player.

We can debate the coaching til the cows come home, but the plain facts are we have the worst list in the comp in terms of talent. On skills, pace, footy smarts, key position players; any way you want to slice and dice it we are well short of the mark.

Yuck!

07-06-2014, 10:34 PM
And a Gaol to prove it!, Lets hope that he can pass his smarts on to the others in the next 6 to 8 weeks or were stuffed.

I still feel its very important Gia is still involved in some form with us.

07-06-2014, 10:35 PM
We can debate the coaching til the cows come home, but the plain facts are we have the worst list in the comp in terms of talent. On skills, pace, footy smarts, key position players; any way you want to slice and dice it we are well short of the mark.

Then what off field team do we have that's paying 100% of the cap then?

07-06-2014, 10:36 PM
I still feel its very important Gia is still involved in some form with us.

Not sure he will stay....Cant say that we are showing much to hang around for, If we unload players at the end of the year (Like we should) we will be a decade away from any kind of success.

07-06-2014, 10:37 PM
How is that not holding the ffffnnnnn man. Dead set shit.

Gee Jack Macrae is a terrible kick under pressure. He is so slow hand to foot... He really needs to sort it out to become a really good AFL player.

This is what worries me about him. He has a lot of good attributes, and people often compare him to Pendlebury. However Pendlebury is an elite kick who can change games off his boot, I am not sure if Macrae can or will

Libba surely interfered with.

07-06-2014, 10:38 PM
Tutt has hands like concrete.. Just no poise what so ever.

07-06-2014, 10:40 PM
Dumb stuff like wood not paying attention to detail, forced to play on, steps out and Bris score off the stoppage!
So embarrassing!

07-06-2014, 10:42 PM
Ok the game is over at 3/4 time what should we do.

Roll the dice and see what happens, Opps sorry we have no plan "B'

07-06-2014, 10:44 PM
This is what worries me about him. He has a lot of good attributes, and people often compare him to Pendlebury. However Pendlebury is an elite kick who can change games off his boot, I am not sure if Macrae can or will

he has more disposals (28) then anyone and is still only 20 years old. Wait till he develops he will be sensational

07-06-2014, 10:45 PM
We really are rubbish

Libba surely interfered with.

I feel "interfered with" watching this crud!

A 5 goal to nil last quarter to win it. The chances are slim but it is not over yet!

07-06-2014, 10:46 PM
Ok the game is over at 3/4 time what should we do.

Roll the dice and see what happens, Opps sorry we have no plan "B'

Do we have a plan A?

We just aren't very good.

07-06-2014, 10:47 PM
A 5 goal to nil last quarter to win it. The chances are slim but it is not over yet!

You mean we can kick 1/2 our score in one quarter. Not in your life. Cant believe that we have dropped away so far so quickly after Rocket.

07-06-2014, 10:47 PM
Good bye Higgins, no contract for you in 2015.

07-06-2014, 10:49 PM
Why would Tutt take the ball back when he had runners

07-06-2014, 10:51 PM
Crameri is such a dumb footballer.

07-06-2014, 10:52 PM
If you're going to give a free away, that's a good effort from Tutt. Crazy decision to jump, not even close.

07-06-2014, 10:52 PM
Crameri is such a dumb footballer.

I raise you one Tutt.

07-06-2014, 10:54 PM
Brave Higgins, good boy

07-06-2014, 10:56 PM
17 points - here we come!

07-06-2014, 10:56 PM
Picken leading the b and f this year. I thought he was cooked, happy he's back doing what he does best.

07-06-2014, 10:58 PM
Williams you arseclown.

07-06-2014, 11:00 PM
They just have too many quick players who have an influence.

Shit. That's the ball game.

Picken leading the b and f this year. I thought he was cooked, happy he's back doing what he does best.

Some prize, best of the worst.

07-06-2014, 11:01 PM
Thank God for Murph.

07-06-2014, 11:12 PM
Once again when the game is on the line ZERO class.

07-06-2014, 11:14 PM
That was shit.

Massive list turnover required at the end of the season.

07-06-2014, 11:14 PM
Thank God for Murph.

I feel sorry for him... and Morris.

07-06-2014, 11:15 PM
I'm not one to say "sack the coach" but there is no way we are playing for him.

07-06-2014, 11:15 PM
We are so much better with a a smart forward such as Gia.

07-06-2014, 11:16 PM
Wow that was a frigging ordinary effort. How can we let a team like Brisbane take the game on like that against us. There was zero accountability in that 2nd qtr. Where were our leaders.

07-06-2014, 11:17 PM
I'm not one to say "sack the coach" but there is no way we are playing for him.

I'm imagining his manager got him $250,000. For argument sake, that over 500,000 reasons to think about because we had to re-sign him.

07-06-2014, 11:21 PM
No surpise. Played rubbish last week and rewarded rubbish on the selection table. Why did I even bother making the long trip.

07-06-2014, 11:22 PM
At least we know one thing, Howard will not play seniors for our club again.

07-06-2014, 11:23 PM
No surpise. Played rubbish last week and rewarded rubbish on the selection table. Why did I even bother making the long trip.

At least the Calder should be ok, unless they're still doing some night works.

07-06-2014, 11:23 PM
We are so frustrating

07-06-2014, 11:35 PM
We are so frustrating

You are not wrong there BAD. That's exactly what I'm thinking.

07-06-2014, 11:39 PM
Even though Tutt fumbles a lot I think we need to play him for the rest of the year. He's about the fastest player we got and his stats were slightly better than Higgins.
If there is no improvement by years end we can make a decision then.

08-06-2014, 12:00 AM
One thing I did notice, when the whips were cracking late in the last Bonts, Libba and Wallis were the starting mids. Still teaching on a sinking ship?

08-06-2014, 12:04 AM
One thing I did notice, when the whips were cracking late in the last Bonts, Libba and Wallis were the starting mids. Still teaching on a sinking ship?

No problems with Wallis and Libba starting. Who would you replace them with?

I was at the game so hard to quantify this comment but Griffen appeared to spend more time starting at CHF and CHB than in the middle. Looks to have hurt his back again.

08-06-2014, 12:05 AM
Who recruited Howard?
I will not go to another game that he is selected in.
He is a disgrace and does not deserve to wear the jumper no matter how much of a great bloke he is.
Seriously had enough of this shite.

08-06-2014, 12:09 AM
No problems with Wallis and Libba starting. Who would you replace them with?

I was at the game so hard to quantify this comment but Griffen appeared to spend more time starting at CHF and CHB than in the middle. Looks to have hurt his back again.

Not saying id replace them with anyone, just found it interesting that when we need a centre clearance late in the last we went quite young and not with the griff, cooney etc.

08-06-2014, 12:16 AM
What did people think of Macrae's game?

08-06-2014, 12:17 AM

Exactly right. Sadly I wouldn't be surprised to see almost the same team again next week, the playing football part of football doesn't seem to be high on our list of priorities.

08-06-2014, 12:20 AM
If not his back, I would say adductor - he can only move one way and doesn't load up on his left. He's certainly playing under duress.
Any tagger who studies his game this year will nullify him (ie Crowley last week).

08-06-2014, 12:26 AM
Missed the game but how did Minson go? Brisbane's ruck stocks have been decimated.

08-06-2014, 12:30 AM
Missed the game but how did Minson go? Brisbane's ruck stocks have been decimated.

Stefanson beat him around the ground, and got 32 hit outs. That said, I thought Minno's 1st half was pretty good. And he missed a clutch goal late, but so did several others.

08-06-2014, 12:33 AM
he has more disposals (28) then anyone and is still only 20 years old. Wait till he develops he will be sensational

I think he will keep improving. He has shown so much in his short time at the club.

08-06-2014, 12:44 AM

He had 8 kicks for the match and all 8 were clangers, that's just the start. Triple M gave him the 3 votes for worst on ground.

08-06-2014, 12:44 AM
Who recruited Howard?
I will not go to another game that he is selected in.
He is a disgrace and does not deserve to wear the jumper no matter how much of a great bloke he is.
Seriously had enough of this shite.

How dare you Craig. Howard is great bloke, therefore he should wear the jumper. Champion bloke, real pie. Cracks in etc etc etc etc mumble mumble.

08-06-2014, 12:52 AM
What did people think of Macrae's game?

Picked up 35 disposals, 10 contested and yes he made a coupe of errors. This kid can seriously play football, just needs some strength in the body.

08-06-2014, 12:54 AM

9 disposals in the first quarter and then only 3 more. He looked tired, needs a rest or someone to do more of the ruck work.

08-06-2014, 12:56 AM
They just have too many quick players who have an influence.

They have a huge advantage over us with their leg speed and athleticism. They beat us on the spread time and time again

08-06-2014, 12:56 AM
Is it just me or is walking out of the ground a bit like walking out of church when you were a kid? It's the best time of the week because it's the longest possible time before you have to watch us play again!

08-06-2014, 12:58 AM
He had 8 kicks for the match and all 8 were clangers, that's just the start. Triple M gave him the 3 votes for worst on ground.
Wow, he really has stunk it up this season.

Pretty amazing that we are 3-8 and haven't yet played any of Sydney, Port, Hawthorn, Geelong or Collingwood, not to mention having very few injuries compared to other teams. Just a horrible season thus far.

08-06-2014, 01:02 AM
Is it just me or is walking out of the ground a bit like walking out of church when you were a kid? It's the best time of the week because it's the longest possible time before you have to watch us play again!

Next week is ok. Everyone expects us to flogged, so if and when it happens, there's not the disappointment. If the last few weeks is anything to go by, it could be 15-20 goals from a second tier team like them. God help us when we get Sydney etc.

08-06-2014, 01:03 AM
I thought he was awful to be honest.
I'd give Campbell a run or even Cordy

08-06-2014, 01:04 AM
At least we know one thing, Howard will not play seniors for our club again.
Did Howard play tonight did he?

Losing to Brisbane given where they area at in Melbourne is just plain embarrassing. There were 18,000 there tonight our next home game will see one less.

08-06-2014, 01:07 AM
Exactly right. Sadly I wouldn't be surprised to see almost the same team again next week, the playing football part of football doesn't seem to be high on our list of priorities.

Fortunately next week I'll be staying home. I think I'll have a few weeks off to be honest. I'm in need of a refresh, restore, revive, rebuild what ever it's called.

08-06-2014, 01:09 AM
Fortunately next week I'll be staying home. I think I'll have a few weeks off to be honest. I'm in need of a refresh, restore, revive, rebuild what ever it's called.

I am not paying money to watch Collingwood demolish us and the following week is a Port home game then I am off overseas for 6 weeks, thank god for that.

08-06-2014, 01:11 AM

I'll be staying home for the rest of the season to be honest - we are shite.

08-06-2014, 01:22 AM
Not going to state the obvious, so I'll focus on a particular incident.

Anyone see the moment when Grant started pushing/shoving with a Brisbane player whilst it was about 50-60m out from our goal? Grant and the Brisbane player went to ground wrestling, then two Lions players came in and supported their team mate. It was basically 3-on-1, with one of the Lions players on top of Grant, jumper punching him repeatedly. NOT ONE single, solitary Bulldogs player went in and helped. Not one. Plenty of players were around - hell, the play was IN our forward half. Not one player went and helped Grant.

It's close to the most pathetic and insipid incident I've seen from us. I don't care if we're 100 points up or 250 points down and winless for a decade, a situation like this should simply never happen.

It was the only time I got up out of my seat and yelled tonight.

I'm appalled by what I saw, or rather, what I didn't see.

Gutless.

08-06-2014, 01:25 AM
I am not paying money to watch Collingwood demolish us and the following week is a Port home game then I am off overseas for 6 weeks, thank god for that.

Take us with you. :)

08-06-2014, 01:28 AM

Anyone see the moment when Grant started pushing/shoving with a Brisbane player whilst it was about 50-60m out from our goal? Grant and the Brisbane player went to ground wrestling, then two Lions players came in and supported their team mate. It was basically 3-on-1, with one of the Lions players on top of Grant, jumper punching him repeatedly. NOT ONE single, solitary Bulldogs player went in and helped. Not one. Plenty of players were around - hell, the play was IN our forward half. Not one player went and helped Grant.

It's close to the most pathetic and insipid incident I've seen from us. I don't care if we're 100 points up or 250 points down and winless for a decade, a situation like this should simply never happen.

Gutless.

Brisbane's No. 27 was all over Grant like Rolf Harris at a crèche. Poor showing from our guys and the umpire who was 5 feet away and did nothing. Just doesn't seem to be any spirit at all at the club.

08-06-2014, 01:30 AM

Gutless.

We aren't often too far apart on things but we are this time.
To be honest I would have been appalled if our players had have jumped in early. We had the ball and we were patiently waiting for an option to open up. Grant should have been leading rather than playing for the free kick. He had a chance or two to push away from that close checking but preferred to remonstrate with his opponent hoping the umpires would hand him the ball.
I thought it was a stupid act on his behalf bordering on selfish.

08-06-2014, 01:35 AM

Same here . I'm off on the 26th Thank God for small mercies
In Paris and I think it's on about 5am ( French time) needless to say I won't be getting up

08-06-2014, 01:38 AM
We aren't often too far apart on things but we are this time.
To be honest I would have been appalled if our players had have jumped in early. We had the ball and we were patiently waiting for an option to open up. Grant should have been leading rather than playing for the free kick. He had a chance or two to push away from that close checking but preferred to remonstrate with his opponent hoping the umpires would hand him the ball.
I thought it was a stupid act on his behalf bordering on selfish.

It wasn't particularly smart on his behalf, but I'd much rather be the club that gives away a free kick for standing up for your team mate than be the club that let it all unfold in front of you and be solely concerned with yourself.

Why didn't any player(s) calm Grant down/diffuse the situation? Lack of unity/team work - despite our differing views. Either way you look at it, nobody gave a stuff.

Given they had 3-on-1, you also would have thought we'd be able to find a loose Bulldogs player (or two) - but predictably we didn't.

08-06-2014, 01:46 AM
It wasn't particularly smart on his behalf, but I'd much rather be the club that gives away a free kick for standing up for your team mate than be the club that let it all unfold in front of you and be solely concerned with yourself.

Why didn't any player(s) calm Grant down/diffuse the situation? Lack of unity/team work - despite our differing views. Either way you look at it, nobody gave a stuff.

Given they had 3-on-1, you also would have thought we'd be able to find a loose Bulldogs player (or two) - but predictably we didn't.

He was lazy tonight and has to play with a lot more energy. He has proven last year what he is capable of but it was a half hearted effort tonight. I disagree that we should fly the flag just to stand for something especially when the ball will land somewhere near our goals.

08-06-2014, 01:51 AM

Good post. This was probably the worst selling point for perspective players who may be looking at joining our club next year.

08-06-2014, 02:13 AM
I'm really gutted and disappointed. It seems as though nothing has changed and the "hope" given towards the end of last year has well and truly evaporated. We are playing an antiquated game plan, with one paced personnel.

08-06-2014, 09:26 AM
I'm really gutted and disappointed. It seems as though nothing has changed and the "hope" given towards the end of last year has well and truly evaporated. We are playing an antiquated game plan, with one paced personnel.

This was frighteningly obvious last night.. we just got torched on the outside. I can only think of one player (JJ) outside the team who could any pace to our team which is scary in itself.. the fact that we have done very little to address this at recent drafts is mystifying.

08-06-2014, 09:50 AM

Gutless.

YES!
But what got me even more wild was Brisbane STILL had more numbers than us when the ball was cleared out of the opposite pocket, WHILE they had extra guys beating on Grant!

08-06-2014, 10:40 AM

Luckily for me I didn't go to church, but I get what you are saying.

08-06-2014, 10:42 AM
They have a huge advantage over us with their leg speed and athleticism. They beat us on the spread time and time again

Which you did point out in the pre-match and it came true. Time and time again they would run the ball out of defence in waves, then do a paging paddock style forward entry.

08-06-2014, 11:07 AM
Once more it was one quarter of football that let us down. Brisbane only kicked 3 in the second half, but that 7 goal second quarter was the nail in our coffin. Macca has to address this issue and address it quickly as supporters are sick and tired of it.

08-06-2014, 11:55 AM
Remember that player from a few years ago who was fast, tough would run the lines for 20 metres and kick it 50 metres to a forward target lace out? Well that player is now our captain. How can he damage the opposition when he has 10 kicks in 2 weeks and has now simply become yet another inside ball winning mid who instinctively handballs laterally to stationery targets?

08-06-2014, 12:06 PM
Remember that player from a few years ago who was fast, tough would run the lines for 20 metres and kick it 50 metres to a forward target lace out? Well that player is now our captain. How can he damage the opposition when he has 10 kicks in 2 weeks and has now simply become yet another inside ball winning mid who instinctively handballs laterally to stationery targets?

Over the past 4 weeks Griff has had more tackles than kicks (39-37)... I know we want our captain to lead by example, but surely this 'donkey work' can be left to others and body willing Griff can get back to doing what he does best.

08-06-2014, 12:09 PM
Excellent points Mantis and Sedat. 'Cracking In' mentality and application basically doesn't differentiate players skill sets.

08-06-2014, 12:33 PM
I've never seen Griff as a captain. That's certainly not a shot at him, he's our best player but that doesn't mean he has to be captain.

08-06-2014, 03:36 PM

Dunno about a few years ago - he was doing it just last year.
His form/injury has arguably been the biggest impact on our overall form. Last season we had one of the best handful of players in the comp- this year he wouldn't be top 50. Need the real Griff back. Wouldn't mind seeing him play a genuine winger role.

08-06-2014, 03:56 PM
Dunno about a few years ago - he was doing it just last year.
His form/injury has arguably been the biggest impact on our overall form. Last season we had one of the best handful of players in the comp- this year he wouldn't be top 50. Need the real Griff back. Wouldn't mind seeing him play a genuine winger role.

Exactly, it's only this season with Griffen being down on form.

08-06-2014, 06:16 PM
GVGjr/Ozza, not questioning his outstanding form in the last 2 years but would be interested to see his metres gained stat in 2012 and 2013 compared to previous seasons. He was a clearance and contested ball animal the last 2 years - I would love to see a better balance of inside and outside from him so that he can really hurt the opposition and become less predictable to opposition taggers.
With Libba, Wallis and Boyd doing the 'donkey work', wouldn't it be fantastic to see Coons and Griff causing opposition headaches with their run and dare once again. They are still more than young and capable enough.

08-06-2014, 11:44 PM

Coming off virtually no pre season. I'm prepared to cut him some slack but we should be compensating for his lack of fitness and conditioning by making the right decisions at the selection table.

Need to inject pacey, skilled footballers. Anyone know any?

09-06-2014, 12:11 AM
GVGjr/Ozza, not questioning his outstanding form in the last 2 years but would be interested to see his metres gained stat in 2012 and 2013 compared to previous seasons. He was a clearance and contested ball animal the last 2 years - I would love to see a better balance of inside and outside from him so that he can really hurt the opposition and become less predictable to opposition taggers.
With Libba, Wallis and Boyd doing the 'donkey work', wouldn't it be fantastic to see Coons and Griff causing opposition headaches with their run and dare once again. They are still more than young and capable enough.

In fact they should be at their peak,around their age as those type of player.

09-06-2014, 02:46 PM
Excellent points Mantis and Sedat. 'Cracking In' mentality and application basically doesn't differentiate players skill sets.

I think we are getting closer to the heart of the problem here. Our players have been coached to within an inch of their lives and are so concerned with playing to structures and plans they have forgotten how to move the ball quickly, take risks and back themselves and their team mates.

09-06-2014, 02:51 PM
Coming off virtually no pre season. I'm prepared to cut him some slack but we should be compensating for his lack of fitness and conditioning by making the right decisions at the selection table.

Need to inject pacey, skilled footballers. Anyone know any?

And that is what put poor Griff behind the eight ball.