View Full Version : In Case of Emergency: Vent Here!

07-06-2014, 09:48 PM
So it goes like this...

Gia is good enough, but we don't want him on now. We want him on later...

Hawthorn are not paying 100% of the salary cap and we are this year...

Get the gist...

Let's not hope this thread gets used....

07-06-2014, 09:55 PM
Please tell me we are not paying 100% of the salary cap.

07-06-2014, 09:57 PM
Please tell me we are not paying 100% of the salary cap.

That was my understanding from an interview I heard from Peter Gordon last year about Stu's salary or some such topic.

07-06-2014, 10:01 PM
That was my understanding from an interview I heard from Peter Gordon last year about Stu's salary or some such topic.

I told you not to tell me that.

07-06-2014, 10:38 PM
We are the danger..... nuff said

07-06-2014, 10:40 PM

To ourselves.

07-06-2014, 10:42 PM
Each week we play a man back and butcher it. Our opponent plays one back and repels everything. We take an out of form player of and expect Gia to kick 10 goals in 40 minutes.

Is this serious? What is the coaches box doing for 3 hours?

07-06-2014, 11:08 PM
If that's Higgins done again, then just put me out of misery. Please be ok Higgo.

07-06-2014, 11:10 PM
If that's Higgins done again, then just put me out of misery. Please be ok Higgo.
Might help us keep him next season.

07-06-2014, 11:15 PM
Good young men, honourable loss.

07-06-2014, 11:23 PM
Thank god for the Wallabies.....

07-06-2014, 11:25 PM

Do we know what's wrong with him yet? Was it minsons fault?

07-06-2014, 11:36 PM
I never want to hear the words 'crack in' again

08-06-2014, 12:12 AM

I'm sick of hearing good people!
How about drafting decent kicks and players who are not one paced!!

08-06-2014, 12:14 AM

I'm sick of hearing good people!
How about drafting decent kicks and players who are not one paced!!

Do you reckon BT was being slightly sarcastic Remi?

08-06-2014, 12:16 AM
How can an official stand over Spindleshank's getting mugged and refuse to react with a free kick? Its not my most pressing concern for the team but that broke my belief in the game as a whole. Its a farce.

08-06-2014, 12:18 AM

I'm angry, disillusioned, p***ed off, and yes we are irrelevant .
If I wasn't such a Neanderthal when it comes to technology I'd put up a picture of a blowtorch.

08-06-2014, 12:18 AM
Each week we play a man back and butcher it.
We didn't - Brisbane started with a 5 man forward line. After a while we shifted another player forward to stop their spare player - Picken spent a fair portion of the night as a defensive forward on their otherwise spare player.

Our 7 player forwardline performed about as well as our 6 player forwardline most weeks (shite).

08-06-2014, 12:19 AM

There's nothing slight about it !! :)

I know good kids making teaching easy, but one could bastardise that thinking to say "it's easy coaching only good kids", and to paraphrase Jack F. Kennedy, we don't do things because they are easy, we do them because they hard

08-06-2014, 12:20 AM
We're nothing short of a disgrace. 18 months into this crap called 'cracking in' and we're like a chip thrown to a bunch of seagulls at the stoppage, then make idiotic, uncalculated, childish decisions once we get it. Playing the Bulldogs is like playing against an Auskick side. The 'Pack your bags McCartney' thread has never been so relevant. Worst loss in his tenure. I don't look forward to his mundane, impassionate press conference.

08-06-2014, 12:22 AM
How about we have some new stats
Handball to feet. WB ranked 1
Hot potato handball WB ranked 1
Kicks inbetween 2 players WB ranked 1
Poor decision makers WB ranked 1

08-06-2014, 12:22 AM
I never want to see Tom Williams play forward again never ever looks like taking a mark.

08-06-2014, 12:24 AM
How can an official stand over Spindleshank's getting mugged and refuse to react with a free kick? Its not my most pressing concern for the team but that broke my belief in the game as a whole. Its a farce.

True, but I expect Garlick, Gordon or whoever to make a public song and dance over that. If Grant was Sellwood, Viney or Ablett they get a free, 50 metres and a NFL punter to come on and kick it for them. Worst non decision in my lifetime, it's equal in non decision angry ness to a certain prelim a while back... Dead set crap.

08-06-2014, 12:26 AM
I never want to see Tom Williams play forward again never ever looks like taking a mark.

I think Ben Graham is honestly teaching him to punt the footy. The last two weeks every field kick goes higher than longer, with serious hang time to players who can't mark overhead with two of three opponents on them. Chalk this up to another thing confusing me right now.

08-06-2014, 12:27 AM
Harsh. We could be #2 on key indicator 3.

08-06-2014, 12:36 AM
True, but I expect Garlick, Gordon or whoever to make a public song and dance over that. If Grant was Sellwood, Viney or Ablett they get a free, 50 metres and a NFL punter to come on and kick it for them. Worst non decision in my lifetime, it's equal in non decision angry ness to a certain prelim a while back... Dead set crap.

Absolutely. I am seething, it is reprehensible that an official would literally stand over that and flat out refuse to apply the laws of the game as the situation warranted. I gave myself an aneurism going bananas over it.

08-06-2014, 12:41 AM
Absolutely. I am seething, it is reprehensible that an official would literally stand over that and flat out refuse to apply the laws of the game as the situation warranted. I gave myself an aneurism going bananas over it.

Imagine if it was Nick Riewoldt being held down by two defenders with the ball being kicked in to him? That's exactly what happened, Grant is our lead CHF at the moment. I honestly do not know how an umpire cannot pay a free kick. I want us to scream like a Scott brother.

08-06-2014, 12:50 AM

Of finishing last .

08-06-2014, 12:56 AM
Imagine if it was Nick Riewoldt being held down by two defenders with the ball being kicked in to him? That's exactly what happened, Grant is our lead CHF at the moment. I honestly do not know how an umpire cannot pay a free kick. I want us to scream like a Scott brother.

We won't though and it is my major concern about the current Club culture. We are too conservative nd just refuse to pick a fight. Not enough emotion in house, certainly not enough publicly. I need to know my Club is up for a fight.

08-06-2014, 01:25 AM
McCartney after last week: "we're so close, it's not even funny" --> in reference to playing good football/getting good results.

Say no more.

08-06-2014, 01:35 AM

Thanks Remi, needed a giggle. :D

08-06-2014, 08:51 AM
We're nothing short of a disgrace. 18 months into this crap called 'cracking in'

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but we are actually 30 months into this plan

08-06-2014, 09:26 AM
The last time we kicked a goal on the run from outside 50 was in 2009.

We have no speed, no penetrating kicks (murphy aside) we have no forward structure and no physical presence, we have the perfect team of middlemen inbetweeners, they are neither fast or super strong, nor gun runners nor burst player, our whole team is basically the same.

Last year we had the chance to swap Minson for Patton. Woofers didn't want it, thought it was lunacy, we need an act of lunacy because we are irrelevant.

08-06-2014, 10:56 AM
I think Ben Graham is honestly teaching him to punt the footy. The last two weeks every field kick goes higher than longer, with serious hang time to players who can't mark overhead with two of three opponents on them. Chalk this up to another thing confusing me right now.

BT, that graham comment is gold.

08-06-2014, 11:13 AM

Those 4 stats sum us up perfectly! In the first quarter Cooney had the ball in the back 50 and just needed to hit the next target and we were off. We all know what happened next, he mist the 30m target by a few metres, Brissy were able to close down the space ahead and neutralise the threat going forward.

And it just goes on and on.....

My big issue is that we knew this 2 years ago and we continue to draft kids like Smith and Honeycurch to name a few who just compound the issue.

08-06-2014, 01:24 PM
The last time we kicked a goal on the run from outside 50 was in 2009.

We have no speed, no penetrating kicks (murphy aside) we have no forward structure and no physical presence, we have the perfect team of middlemen inbetweeners, they are neither fast or super strong, nor gun runners nor burst player, our whole team is basically the same.

Last year we had the chance to swap Minson for Patton. Woofers didn't want it, thought it was lunacy, we need an act of lunacy because we are irrelevant.

Did we really have a chance or was it just talk on Woof ?

Woofers didn't want it, thought it was lunacy, we need an act of lunacy because we are irrelevant.

Unfortunately we on Woof don't get to select who we draft, although I'm positive if we did we would have a better list and be winning more games.

08-06-2014, 02:50 PM
We are no longer irrelevant....irrelevant would be an improvement on the rabble our football club has become.

Every time I hear Macca talk these days it reminds me of Muhammad Saeed al-Sahhaf, the Iraqi Information Minister.

http://www.quickmeme.com/iraqi-information-minister/page/2/

08-06-2014, 03:07 PM
I'm not big on the subtleties of the game but even I know that was beyond rubbish. How does an entire team learn bad habits like hand balling to a team mate in danger of being tackled in the next millisecond. Constantly. We didn't used to do that. Did we hire an expensive Specialist Terrible Handball Assistant Coach who taught everyone? It looks like it is a whole department now.

08-06-2014, 03:10 PM
Its looking pretty Grim for us. IMO.
We play Collingwood, Port, Melbourne, Cats, Suns, Dons, Hawks, StKilda, North, Swans & Giants.

My bet is maybe we could hope to beat the Dees, Saints & GWS. At this point only the Saints is looking a lock with a glimmer of hope against the other two.

All these sides apart from GWS are below us on percentage only so rock bottom here we come.

08-06-2014, 03:36 PM

To this straight-to-the-point list add the following number 1 rankings:

Handballs to opposition.
Kicks to opposition.
Number of players on the wrong side of the clearance.
Switching the play to a disadvantaged position.
Retreating plays to disadvantage.
Avoidance of the centre corridor.
Over committing.
Dropping of the head on a turnover or the other team taking a mark.
Failure to provide leads.

Yes, we get a fair amount of possession stats. But it is what we are doing with our possessions that is the problem.

08-06-2014, 07:12 PM
BT, that graham comment is gold.

Gold for Williams, he can clearly punt on the last few weeks. In he gets another injury I'd seriously tell him to try it as a punter in the states. If his body is the issue, and he can a add a few yards without sacrificing time/height, then it seems like a marriage made in heaven.

08-06-2014, 07:31 PM
Some Humour.

Last night at the game during the second quarter assault, Craigsahibee, said we need to start a fight and stop their momentum. I know, get Howard to punch someone and make him useful, but the again he would probably miss the target.:D

08-06-2014, 07:43 PM
Some Humour.

Last night at the game during the second quarter assault, Craigsahibee, said we need to start a fight and stop their momentum. I know, get Howard to punch someone and make him useful, but the again he would probably miss the target.:D

He went for a practise punch (directed at the ball) in the defensive goal square. Even though he was holding it with his other hand, he still missed the target.

08-06-2014, 07:54 PM
He went for a practise punch (directed at the ball) in the defensive goal square. Even though he was holding it with his other hand, he still missed the target.

That one was a shocker

08-06-2014, 08:23 PM
Some Humour.

Its a legitimate tactic that we just don't utilise enough. If you can't stop the rot by getting the footy, or getting a score on the board. Hit somebody. Inflict some pain. Show everyone that you're up for a fight and will find a way into the contest, by any means.

08-06-2014, 08:31 PM
That one was a shocker

2009 Draft pick 15...

08-06-2014, 09:09 PM

Handballs to opposition.
Kicks to opposition.
Over committing.

Yes, we get a fair amount of possession stats. But it is what we are doing with our possessions that is the problem.

And don't forget the 'Handball from a free kick to a teammate standing 5 metres away from you with his back turned when you are 30 metres out from goal' stat.

08-06-2014, 09:23 PM

Handballs to opposition.
Kicks to opposition.
Over committing.

Unfortunately Scary to true.

08-06-2014, 09:24 PM
2009 Draft pick 15...

Watching Nat Fyfe. It hurts even more

08-06-2014, 09:28 PM
And don't forget the 'Handball from a free kick to a teammate standing 5 metres away from you with his back turned when you are 30 metres out from goal' stat.

Or playing advantage on for a 10% chance goal when you're team mate was 60%.

08-06-2014, 09:46 PM
Its a legitimate tactic that we just don't utilise enough. If you can't stop the rot by getting the footy, or getting a score on the board. Hit somebody. Inflict some pain. Show everyone that you're up for a fight and will find a way into the contest, by any means.

I agree, it stirs the crowd and the players, really engages everyone and makes them more acutely aware of what they're trying to do - beat the opposition at all costs. I'm all for a little competitive viciousness. Unfortunately Libba is the only player who seems to regularly show his heart in this respect - and Granty maybe.

DISHLICKERS
08-06-2014, 09:52 PM
I agree, it stirs the crowd and the players, really engages everyone and makes them more acutely aware of what they're trying to do - beat the opposition at all costs. I'm all for a little competitive viciousness. Unfortunately Libba is the only player who seems to regularly show his heart in this respect - and Granty maybe.

Dont be silly that would admit we have an actual plan in place for that scenario.

Macca admitted in his presser that a quarter like the 2nd has happened 6 plus times this year, you would think you would have a plan in place. Throw numbers back, start a mallee, hit the boundry line etc

08-06-2014, 10:43 PM
Awesome Richmond lose. Maybe media might give us another week before applying the blowtorch?

09-06-2014, 08:40 AM
Awesome Richmond lose. Maybe media might give us another week before applying the blowtorch?

Why do we want to avoid the media blowtorch?

09-06-2014, 12:02 PM
Why do we want to avoid the media blowtorch?

Because we are not going to do anything either way.

09-06-2014, 12:19 PM
Or playing advantage on for a 10% chance goal when you're team mate was 60%.

C'mon that was funny as when Crameri did it against Freo.

09-06-2014, 12:31 PM
C'mon that was funny as when Crameri did it against Freo.

Was it third time for the game and started yelling at the TV, and then it went through... I think I just shrugged my shoulders. :)

09-06-2014, 01:13 PM
Was it third time for the game and started yelling at the TV, and then it went through... I think I just shrugged my shoulders. :)

The best bit was how he forced Hrovat into a giant hi-five.

09-06-2014, 01:32 PM
The best bit was how he forced Hrovat into a giant hi-five.

I forgot about that! :)

We've come along way in a generation or so, imagine if a player wore fancy and boots and did that even 25 or so years ago, I think he got dropped for a month after a spray from the coach.

09-06-2014, 01:52 PM
I forgot about that! :)

We've come along way in a generation or so, imagine if a player wore fancy and boots and did that even 25 or so years ago, I think he got dropped for a month after a spray from the coach.

I'm loathe to bring up the Shermanator, thankfully this isn't from his time with us but should have given us enough warning to go anywhere near the guy. Anyway;

Brisbane were playing Sydney and Justin was streaming into 50, no one ahead of him but teammate Ben Fixter, who was all alone in the goal square. Instead of passing the ball, Sherman decided to take the shot from 50. He kicked the goal, but when he went up to Fixter for some celebratory love, Fixter just ran straight past him, didn't even look at him.

That passage of play is the gold standard for glory boy dickheadedness. I'm hopeful Stringer can get there one day.

09-06-2014, 02:04 PM
So frustrated after the game ... I went on the internet and tried to look up mediocre and found our team is associated with the term. I then tried to look up nirvana and found plenty of our players frequently in that space ... They probably practise everyday Buddhism and try not to do any harms to anyone, especially to the opposition ...

09-06-2014, 02:22 PM

Is that the stat where the ball actually hits the "recipient" in the back?

09-06-2014, 07:43 PM
Is that the stat where the ball actually hits the "recipient" in the back?

More on the shoulder to be fair. The receiver was standing and pointing at someone else at the time.