BOG Griffen

20-06-2014, 11:44 PM
Port by 21 pts
BOG Boyd
1st Goal Jonesy

21-06-2014, 09:38 AM
Dogs by 2pts, tipped the upset last week ( even got 6point in at 5's from a mate ) so being somewhat sports superstitious I will pick them again.
BOG - Libba
FG - Crameri

21-06-2014, 10:28 AM
Good to see a lot of optimism here. It belies the challenge we face, but I'm too one eyed
to pick other teams 99% of the time
Dogs by a goal
BOG Libba
First goal Jones.

21-06-2014, 10:51 AM
Dogs by 19
First goal Jones
BOG Wood

21-06-2014, 11:31 AM
Dogs by 1 point in a nail biter.
First goal Cameri
BOG Griffen

21-06-2014, 12:36 PM
We are Port's bogey team.

Dogs by 14
First Goal: Crameri
BOG: Higgins

21-06-2014, 01:03 PM
Dogs by 7 pts
First goal Jones
BOG Griffen.

21-06-2014, 01:29 PM
No late changes. Gia sub again.

21-06-2014, 01:31 PM
Port by 5 goals.
BOG Libba
First goal: Crameri

21-06-2014, 02:07 PM
No late changes. Gia sub again.

Strange call given how influential he was last week.. Perhaps waiting for the sting to go out of the game so he isn't exposed for pace.

Hope we can be ultra competitive and don't give away multiple goals in succession..No lapses!

21-06-2014, 02:26 PM
Dogs under 39 $8.50

With their ins I'm staying away this week.

Port under 39.5 $$2.40 that's a decent bet...

21-06-2014, 02:33 PM
Dogs by 12 points
BOG: Griffen
First goal: Crameri

21-06-2014, 02:50 PM
Western by a point

BOG: Bon Jovi

First Goal: Bon Jovi

21-06-2014, 02:51 PM
Coasted to Coasted within the first few minutes. Great!

21-06-2014, 02:52 PM
Libba - GOAL!

21-06-2014, 02:57 PM
Bon Jovi to Jones. Class Act!

21-06-2014, 02:57 PM
Bonti's foot skills look decent to me!

21-06-2014, 03:06 PM
Kobe - GOAL!

21-06-2014, 03:07 PM
About time Stevo.......got to be these chances away.

21-06-2014, 03:07 PM
Stevens has kicked the exact same goal 4 times in a row!

Carbon copies..!

21-06-2014, 03:08 PM
And some didnt want Boyd in the team:o

Great start. We have really come out to play. We have created a lot of chances. Have not struggled so far to get it up forward.

10 disposals already. Been very good.

21-06-2014, 03:09 PM
Ratty - GOAL!

21-06-2014, 03:11 PM
Hrovat's goal conjured up Chocco Royal, there!

21-06-2014, 03:12 PM
Keep it going Dogs!

21-06-2014, 03:14 PM
Damn - beaten by the siren

21-06-2014, 03:15 PM
Missed shots hurt. But 8 shots and a mark just after the siren shows much improved forward movement against a good team too.

21-06-2014, 03:15 PM
Well played boys

21-06-2014, 03:16 PM
Should be a couple more goals up with some easy misses, but pretty good quarter overall against the top of the ladder.

21-06-2014, 03:17 PM
Great first quarter by the boys. We were pretty dominant. Couple of late goals don't reflect how good we were.

The Rat was brilliant that quarter.

21-06-2014, 03:18 PM
We need a couple of our taller forwards to step and kick goals.

21-06-2014, 03:21 PM
Should be a couple more goals up with some easy misses, but pretty good quarter overall against the top of the ladder.

We had it locked in for a bit there, our setup from their kickouts meant we attacked for several minutes

21-06-2014, 03:21 PM
10 disposals already. Been very good.

Yeah and at 50% efficiency...

Libba's had 8 at 100%, Griffen 8 at 89%.

The knock on Boyd is not his ability to get it. It's the turnovers, out on the fulls and behinds...

21-06-2014, 03:28 PM
Yeah and at 50% efficiency...

Libba's had 8 at 100%, Griffen 8 at 89%.

The knock on Boyd is not his ability to get it. It's the turnovers, out on the fulls and behinds...

In one passage of play he handballed it at the feet of a team mate 1m away got it back and handballed it out of reach to a team mate 2m away.

He can get it, the question is do you want him to.

21-06-2014, 03:29 PM
Struggling up forward a bit now.

21-06-2014, 03:30 PM
We need a steadying goal. Port starting to dominate.

21-06-2014, 03:31 PM
In one passage of play he handballed it at the feet of a team mate 1m away got it back and handballed it out of reach to a team mate 2m away.

Correct. It was hard to watch. He also hacked a helicopter out on the full and iced a behind in his 10 possies.
He's all guts and endeavour. All heart, but he just doesn't bring other players into the game. On the contrary, he kills us.

21-06-2014, 03:33 PM
Minson - GOAL! Beautiful kick.

21-06-2014, 03:33 PM
I can't believe their ruckman is still moaning about that free to Will!

Incredulous..

21-06-2014, 03:35 PM
Easton Wood outstanding there.

21-06-2014, 03:36 PM
Ditto Roughie.

21-06-2014, 03:36 PM
Great defensive play by both Wood and Roughie.

21-06-2014, 03:38 PM
Bonti's handballs are awesome.

21-06-2014, 03:41 PM
Need a forward to stand up and win a contest. Getting nothing out of Crameri, Jones, or Grant.

21-06-2014, 03:42 PM
We are about to be blown away.

21-06-2014, 03:42 PM
Huge time for us now with Roughy and Griff both sore and Port getting a run on. Really need to make sure they don't blow it out before HT.

21-06-2014, 03:44 PM
Holding the ball much on Polec?

21-06-2014, 03:50 PM
Easton Wood is made for finals football.

21-06-2014, 03:53 PM
Whilst Port dominated that quarter we are in this match on the scoreboard. It is a tough assignment but overall pleased with how we are going about it.

21-06-2014, 03:53 PM
Different game to last week, conditions are testing us a bit. Need a good start in the 3rd quarter

21-06-2014, 03:54 PM
Well done Tutty

SEN saying Griffen looks cooked for the day. Sub at half time.

Very evident, we are still one tall down in the forward line. Why we don't have Campbell or Cordy in the side is beyond me.

Lets hope that was our down Quarter. We have a lot of potential upside the second half with a lot of players down on output.
Libba in perticular was very quiet that quarter, i think if they can get griff back on we are a show.

Good gut running by Tutt there, the port players got ahead of themselves.

21-06-2014, 03:55 PM
We did well to hang in there that quarter and not get blown away. We could barely get our hands on it. Libba almost unsighted that quarter, we need a lift from him.

21-06-2014, 03:55 PM
Lets hope that was our down Quarter. We have a lot of potential upside the second half with a lot of players down on output.
Libba in perticular was very quiet that quarter, i think if they can get griff back on we are a show.

Good gut running by Tutt there, the port players got ahead of themselves.

Cornes wearing Libba like a glove.

21-06-2014, 03:58 PM
We did well to hang in there that quarter and not get blown away. We could barely get our hands on it. Libba almost unsighted that quarter, we need a lift from him.

True, inside 50s they are 26 to ours 19, our forwards didn't get an opportunity at all.

21-06-2014, 03:58 PM
Very evident, we are still one tall down in the forward line. Why we don't have Campbell or Cordy in the side is beyond me.

I would have had Stringer ahead of those two this week. I don't believe we can go into a game with two ruckman because neither Campbell or Cordy are good enough to spend 70% of their time on the ground as a forward.

21-06-2014, 03:59 PM
Look it was a poor quality but one thing I liked is when the chips were done we didn't simply just cave in. Showed a bit of fight with only 1 guy on the bench and Port coming at us strong.

21-06-2014, 04:06 PM
Horrible quarter of football. It seemed liked the ball ping ponged back inside their forward 50. Still we're only 2 goals down so still a shot. Griff looks shot so that'll make it even harder.

21-06-2014, 04:12 PM
Look it was a poor quality but one thing I liked is when the chips were done we didn't simply just cave in. Showed a bit of fight with only 1 guy on the bench and Port coming at us strong.

Agree. It was an ugly quarter but the guys really 'hung in there' (sorry about the McCartneyism). It shows the signs of a side that is willing to work hard. Let's hope that we don't capitulate in the third.

21-06-2014, 04:15 PM
Not sure how we allow two Port players free in the goal square in that situation.

21-06-2014, 04:16 PM
Not sure how we allow two Port players free in the goal square in that situation.

Thought exactly that.

21-06-2014, 04:18 PM
6 day break, Griff injured and the fittest team you'll ever see...without 'accepting mediocrity' there will be a lot 'won' in not getting belted from here.

21-06-2014, 04:18 PM
Why don't the umpires just award Port 6 points.

21-06-2014, 04:24 PM
Bonts you ****ing beauty!!!

21-06-2014, 04:27 PM
We are cooked.

21-06-2014, 04:28 PM
I don't think we've won a centre clearance since the first quarter. Getting absolutely murdered.

21-06-2014, 04:29 PM
I don't think we've won a centre clearance since the first quarter. Getting absolutely murdered.

Can't remember the last time we were first to the ball.

21-06-2014, 04:30 PM
I hope this doesn't get worse. Losing Griffen to get Gia is a net loss for our midfield.

21-06-2014, 04:31 PM
Getting real ugly now.

21-06-2014, 04:32 PM
Poor roughy has done his shoulder again :(

21-06-2014, 04:33 PM
God I reckon Roughy has done the shoulder again. He's showed more pain today than last time he did it.

21-06-2014, 04:33 PM
I don't think I've seen a player with less composure than Tutt.

21-06-2014, 04:34 PM
Why can't we have a sub who can play midfield like virtually very other club?

21-06-2014, 04:38 PM
Minson is getting a bath, we're down a midfielder and getting destroyed at the stoppages. Every stoppage is effectively a Port free kick.

They keep throwing the ball. Countless throws not called.

Weak effort from Dale. The commentators hailed the kick, but really it should have been every defender's bread and butter, high and aimless. Morris should have got there and killed it.

Need to lift. Going to be very tough now.

21-06-2014, 04:40 PM
They keep throwing the ball. Countless throws not called.

That's not something new, it's been going on all season. FWIW I think we've had a good run with the umps.

Libba is getting his pants pulled down and copping a smack on the bot from Cornes today.

21-06-2014, 04:41 PM
Well, that only took 5 minutes. I'd this the best system...

21-06-2014, 04:43 PM
Long day at the office. I can live with a 40 point loss but not the 90 point loss we are looking at.

21-06-2014, 04:44 PM
Loss of Griffen really showing the effect of the tag.

21-06-2014, 04:45 PM
Well, that only took 5 minutes. I'd this the best system...

I don't understand why they don't play the footage in real time, not in slow motion. If you need to spot the difference between two pictures, you don't slowly look from one to the other, you very quickly do so. Reducing the frame rate makes absolutely no sense and is 90% of what's wrong with the score review system.

21-06-2014, 04:51 PM
GRant, Griffen out of the game, Libba ineffective, Minson losing the rucks, Jones not in it no wonder we are losing by such a margin.

21-06-2014, 04:53 PM
GRant, Griffen out of the game, Libba ineffective, Minson losing the rucks, Jones not in it no wonder we are losing by such a margin.

Pretty well sums it up.

21-06-2014, 04:56 PM
I suppose Libba is going to have to get used to this kind of attention. Good problem to have but not much fun to watch.

21-06-2014, 04:56 PM
Is there anything more certain than Jones following up a good game with a stinker?

21-06-2014, 04:57 PM
This could get embarrassing

21-06-2014, 04:59 PM
This could get embarrassing

Sadly it is. :(

Decimated squad today :(

At least honey church gets a gig next week.

21-06-2014, 05:01 PM
Gia! What was he thinking?

21-06-2014, 05:07 PM
Just tunes in, what happened to Griff and Grant?

21-06-2014, 05:09 PM
Lolz, that sums our day up.

21-06-2014, 05:09 PM
Gia been good this term.

21-06-2014, 05:10 PM
Grant busted nose in the third. Griffen a back issue I think, subbed out at half time.

21-06-2014, 05:13 PM
I had to leave the pub and come home. Figured if our forward line was going to refuse to put in the required effort, then I wasn't going to put in the effort.

Tutt's hands, hesitation and kicking has been terrible. I just don't understand how he doesn't get better with this handling under no pressure. It's all in his head and it's going to stop him from being a good player.

Very disappointing day today, undone a lot of the good work from last week.

21-06-2014, 05:15 PM
Schultz looks like Lockett combined with Carey today.

21-06-2014, 05:16 PM
If Roughy misses next week I have no idea why he is playing on Shultz. If he is there to save legs, why not play him up forward or on any other forward?

1 step forward last week, 2 steps back this week.

I had to leave the pub and come home. Figured if our forward line was going to refuse to put in the required effort, then I wasn't going to put in the effort.

Tutt's hands, hesitation and kicking has been terrible. I just don't understand how he doesn't get better with this handling under no pressure. It's all in his head and it's going to stop him from being a good player.

Very disappointing day today, undone a lot of the good work from last week.

Whilst our forward line today was below par the game was played 78% of the time in ports forward half, tony Lockett, dunstall, Jonathan brown and Jesus (in no particular order) would not have saved us today.

21-06-2014, 05:18 PM
The way I see it, Port are better than Collingwood. We stuck with them in the first half, but then once Griffen was subbed, Cornes went to Libba and shut him out, Roughy did his shoulder and has battled manfully under a lot of pressure, and Grant going off impacted on subs and whatever forward structure there was.

A lot went right for us to win last week, and a lot went wrong about halfway through the second quarter to make it very hard for us to remain competitive this week.

21-06-2014, 05:19 PM
Roughead having his pants pulled down.

21-06-2014, 05:20 PM
Whilst our forward line today was below par the game was played 78% of the time in ports forward half, tony Lockett, dunstall, Jonathan brown and Jesus (in no particular order) would not have saved us today.

Especially if they weren't working hard.

Look, I understand there was less and less opportunity as the game went by, though I thought work rate was an issue throughout the game.

Jay Schulz, Travis Cloke....

14 goals between them put on us in the past two weeks....

A key position forward would be handy..!

The way I see it, Port are better than Collingwood. We stuck with them in the first half, but then once Griffen was subbed, Cornes went to Libba and shut him out, Roughy did his shoulder and has battled manfully under a lot of pressure, and Grant going off impacted on subs and whatever forward structure there was.

A lot went right for us to win last week, and a lot went wrong about halfway through the second quarter to make it very hard for us to remain competitive this week.

That's a fairly reasonable assessment.

21-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Jay Schulz, Travis Cloke....

14 goals between them put on us in the past two weeks....

A key position forward would be handy..!

Another key back would be too.

21-06-2014, 05:23 PM
1 step forward last week, 2 steps back this week.

Last week we showed what our best can be, this week we're on par with our season form. We're not a good side and should go in underdog against anyone in the competition. The gap between last week and our season form is miles apart.

21-06-2014, 05:31 PM
The Notasmuchfunaslastweekening.

21-06-2014, 05:31 PM
Especially if they weren't working hard.

Look, I understand there was less and less opportunity as the game went by, though I thought work rate was an issue throughout the game.

Work rate in the 1st half was very good. 2nd half we dropped off.

21-06-2014, 05:32 PM

I didn't this so from a forward perspective. I won't keep banging on about it from now.

21-06-2014, 05:34 PM
I didn't this so from a forward perspective. I won't keep banging on about it from now.

While we didn't convert our chances in the 1st quarter we were right on top after that they came into the game.

21-06-2014, 05:36 PM

2nd quarter was rubbish. We'll hear how injuries played their part, and they did but we lost Griff late in the 2nd and we were dominated. The result would have been similar had we not lost him.

21-06-2014, 05:40 PM
The Notasmuchfunaslastweekening.

Ooh! I might use that if you don't mind.

21-06-2014, 05:49 PM
Injuries aside, we were rubbish on so many levels.

After the first 15 minutes or so, we refused to move the ball quickly. Back to the snorefest of chipping backwards and sideways, along with hospital handballs to stationary targets and a whole heap of skill errors. Port Adelaide lifted their intensity and we went to absolute water.

Jones/Crameri propensity to try to take a mark with one hand gave me a headache. Beyond the poor service etc. I thought they were abysmal. Crameri looks either injured or mentally fatigued and shouldn't be playing.

I was furious at the coaching staff that we left Roughead on Schulz when his shoulder was clearly stuffed. All we did was humiliate the poor guy - either take him off or play him deep forward and force Jones (or Crameri) to do something defensively. Nothing was gained by making Roughead stay on Shulz in that last quarter. Nothing but humiliation, and I thought that was crap.

Also think our idea to push our forwards up to the contest is stupid, particularly moreso against a side like Port Adelaide who can transition from defense to attack within a blink of an eye. Whenever we did get the ball forward we were routinely out-numbered and this happens most weeks. I cannot understand the logic; our forward half is poor as it is, let alone competing out-numbered, and we were completely unaccountable anyway today (before injuries occurred).

Obviously the injuries hurt, but I don't think it should be used as a total excuse for the tripe we served up.

21-06-2014, 06:26 PM
0 goals from tall forwards today. Thought they were played too far up the ground leaving Stevens as our main target. Grant was OK before being injured but Jones & Crameri were very disappointing

21-06-2014, 06:29 PM
0 goals from tall forwards today. Thought they were played too far up the ground leaving Stevens as our main target. Grant was OK before being injured but Jones & Crameri were very disappointing

Very disappointing wasn't it. Need a better spread of goal kickers.

21-06-2014, 06:43 PM
I saw the first quarter and a half and we seemed to have Port well on hand. It must have turned ugly from then.

21-06-2014, 08:08 PM
I saw the first quarter and a half and we seemed to have Port well on hand. It must have turned ugly from then.

Started with Griffen going off. Couldn't buy a clearance after that as his tagger went to Libba and destroyed him. They did as they liked from there on.

21-06-2014, 09:03 PM
Didnt miss much then.

The word must have gotten to the boys that Twodogs had left the building and they panicked and were overrun.

21-06-2014, 09:10 PM
But it just shows that you can't lose any last ball movement out of your midfield rotation or those bastards start to pop up everywhere by themselves.

21-06-2014, 09:17 PM

Watching the replay at 8:15pm. Know the result and don't see the point in playing Boyd. We need to inject speed.

21-06-2014, 09:57 PM
From an individual perspective, I fear Murphy's end is coming a lot sooner than we anticipated. His defending has been pretty ordinary for a while now, and he is neither finding much of the ball nor using it as well as he used to.

I think next year will definitely be his last.

21-06-2014, 10:00 PM
From an individual perspective, I fear Murphy's end is coming a lot sooner than we anticipated. His defending has been pretty ordinary for a while now, and he is neither finding much of the ball nor using it as well as he used to.

I actually said earlier this year, I wouldn't be surprised if he retired at years end.

21-06-2014, 10:05 PM
I actually said earlier this year, I wouldn't be surprised if he retired at years end.

It wouldn't surprise me either.

Might be reading too much into it, but after a number of our losses this year Murphy has spoken about how hard it's been and how it becomes mentally draining on AFL360. It just sounded like he was tired of the daily grind as an AFL footballer of a lowly ranked club.

A big assumption to make, I know, but I think he's close to pulling the pin (this year or next).

21-06-2014, 10:10 PM
It wouldn't surprise me either.

Might be reading too much into it, but after a number of our losses this year Murphy has spoken about how hard it's been and how it becomes mentally draining on AFL360. It just sounded like he was tired of the daily grind as an AFL footballer of a lowly ranked club.

A big assumption to make, I know, but I think he's close to pulling the pin (this year or next).

He is also older than I thought - 32. So it's only natural he will struggle to run and create.

21-06-2014, 10:12 PM

He's out of form, but he started the year well. Is still a big concern for opposition coaches.

21-06-2014, 10:17 PM
Wood is playing well but he needs to hit a target coming out if the backline

22-06-2014, 08:57 AM
Ooh! I might use that if you don't mind.

I would be honoured.

22-06-2014, 03:23 PM
Missed the game with local footy commitments and only bothered with the first quarter replay. I loved Hrovat's quarter, kid is a lot tougher on the inside than he's shown previously

23-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Very disappointing wasn't it. Need a better spread of goal kickers.

I agree with this comment. I have seen enough of Footscray in the VFL in the past two weeks to justify recalling Stringer Campbell Hunter and elevate Honeychurch. They would replace Gia Grant Tutt and Stevens. Jones and Crameri were disappointing at the weekend but you would expect them to be retained.

23-06-2014, 11:11 PM
I agree with this comment. I have seen enough of Footscray in the VFL in the past two weeks to justify recalling Stringer Campbell Hunter and elevate Honeychurch. They would replace Gia Grant Tutt and Stevens. Jones and Crameri were disappointing at the weekend but you would expect them to be retained.

Honeychurch is on the main list, he doesn't need to be elevated

23-06-2014, 11:20 PM

Elevated to play his first senior game.

24-06-2014, 09:45 AM

Sorry...what do you mean? He's not a rookie.

24-06-2014, 09:57 AM
I'm thinking BAD means to be elevated from the Two's to the Seniors.

24-06-2014, 10:47 AM

Read post 137 down and it will explain what BAD means.

24-06-2014, 01:34 PM
I was aware. The elevation reference was from the Footscray VFL team for his first game.

24-06-2014, 01:42 PM
I'm glad we cleared that up... :eek:

24-06-2014, 03:48 PM
I'm glad we cleared that up... :eek:

Ditto.

And I knew what he meant to start with. :cool: