BOG Libba

28-06-2014, 06:00 PM
Dees by 11 points.
1st Goal to Honeychurch.
BOG to Libba.

28-06-2014, 06:05 PM
The ski season has started and its all down hill for the Dees from here.

Dogs by 29 points.
First Goal: The Chalet
BOG: Gluhwein by the open fire

28-06-2014, 09:02 PM
Dogs by 6
First Goal Le Bonbon
BOG Dahlhuaus

28-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Dogs by 9
Minson first goal and BOG

28-06-2014, 10:31 PM
Dees by 13 - i think our outs will hit us hard.
First goal Libba
BOG Libba.

28-06-2014, 10:37 PM
Hoping we get a reasonable crowd in tomorrow. I reckon somewhere between 21K and 22K.

29-06-2014, 04:09 AM
Who Captains the side with Griffen, Cooney, Gia Out?

29-06-2014, 04:45 AM

I reckon Minson will.

Dees by 17
First goal Honeychurch
BOG Libba

29-06-2014, 09:01 AM

I Recon Minson will.

This will surly do him the world of good as he will love the additional responsibility and will put his best foot forward

BOG Minson for mine.

29-06-2014, 09:11 AM

Higgins.

29-06-2014, 11:04 AM
I would have thought Murphy to captain the side.

Outs make it difficult.

Bulldogs by 7 (more hoping than expecting)
First Goal Jones
BOG Libba

29-06-2014, 11:14 AM
Bulldogs by 27
First goal Crameri
BOG Libba

29-06-2014, 01:27 PM
Dogs by 17 points
1st goal Hunter
BOG Libba

29-06-2014, 01:36 PM
Radio just announced Hrovat as sub.

29-06-2014, 01:48 PM
Radio just announced Hrovat as sub.

Very surprised Hrovat is a sub.

A lot of changes, it looks like a bulldogs side of 2016 and beyond.

29-06-2014, 01:52 PM
Fletcher in as well, Tutt out.

29-06-2014, 02:09 PM
Random comment: Something that struck me a few weeks ago that's just jumped back into my mind, is how much Darley resembles Nick Dal Santo.. Not as a player - just in appearance. Doppelgänger.

29-06-2014, 02:12 PM
Random comment: Something that struck me a few weeks ago that's just jumped back into my mind, is how much Darley resembles Nick Dal Santo.. Not as a player - just in appearance. Doppelgänger.
Surely there must be a link, I thought that immediately too.

29-06-2014, 02:24 PM
Darley. Looked at a short handball didn't take it, again, didn't take it and then kicked and hit a target by foot. We haven't seen much of this so far this year. Great little stuff.

29-06-2014, 02:33 PM
Darley looks good, strong.

Honeychurch, good start.

29-06-2014, 02:34 PM
This is a game Stringer should monster.

29-06-2014, 02:34 PM
Darley. Looked at a short handball didn't take it, again, didn't take it and then kicked and hit a target by foot. We haven't seen much of this so far this year. Great little stuff.

Yeah I noticed that. Was thinking "oh dear, indecisive" then he nailed the kick. Good sign.

Roberts and Austin also taken good grabs in defence. Stringer clinical with his opportunity. Jones is cold again this week.

29-06-2014, 02:37 PM
Bonti's kick to Crameri there was all class.

29-06-2014, 02:40 PM
Can Darley get a rising star nom if he keeps this up?

Our tackling has been bloody out standing too.

29-06-2014, 02:56 PM
Wallis is playing is best game at the club. Been fantastic at getting a clear handball away and also showing a little more composure with the football. And tagging jones...

29-06-2014, 02:58 PM
Hopefully we can keep this up and get a big win. Libba has been quiet too so they fact we are playing well without him having much of an impact is a good sign. One bad sign is Jones. 0 possesions.

29-06-2014, 03:00 PM
Honeychurch: tick
Roberts: tick
Darley: tick
Stringer: tick

The Footscray VFL side is the best thing to happen at WO for years.

29-06-2014, 03:09 PM
Jones does a Selwood drop and it costs us a goal...

That really shuts me. The afl have to address that.

29-06-2014, 03:21 PM
WE have a good lead but must keep the scoreboard ticking over. Need Jones and Crameri to lift

29-06-2014, 03:21 PM
Dahlhaus is doing well for a midget HF

29-06-2014, 03:23 PM
WE have a good lead but must keep the scoreboard ticking over. Need Jones and Crameri to lift

Jones hasn't touched the ball.

29-06-2014, 03:33 PM
Jones hasn't touched the ball.

Sub him.

29-06-2014, 03:36 PM
Sub him.

He's still making contests, which is vital to bring the mosquito fleet into the game.

Honeychurch, Hunter & Dahlhaus is too much, Honey has been good but not involved or needed enough
Fletcher Roberts doing well, showing more athleticism and marking today
Wallis playing one of his best games
Libba has to break the tag, can't rely on it going to Griffen his whole career

29-06-2014, 03:37 PM
He's still making contests, which is vital to bring the mosquito fleet into the game.

OK. Don't sub him.

29-06-2014, 03:42 PM
Boyd's been a prolific ball winner yet again, but he's once again at 55% effectiveness... That's about on average for Boydy. Only Bernie Vince is running at lower than that and he's had a special mention from the commentators...

Boydy's just being Boydy. He just cost us a goal by hitting their bloke laces out. It's crushing.

29-06-2014, 03:43 PM
Another goal to the Dees. Don't tell me...

29-06-2014, 03:46 PM
Nooooooooooooooooooooo........

29-06-2014, 03:49 PM
Hooray! Boyd to the rescue.

29-06-2014, 03:52 PM
Professor Higgins - GOAL!!!

29-06-2014, 03:59 PM
Stringerrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - goal

29-06-2014, 04:02 PM
Libba's had a 'mare today.

29-06-2014, 04:08 PM
I feel sick. Dees hit the front late 3rd term.

29-06-2014, 04:09 PM
We really are a terrible footy club

29-06-2014, 04:10 PM
Become pea hearts when we get a lead.

29-06-2014, 04:11 PM
Same old same old. Good for a while then just drop our bundle. Very concerning.

29-06-2014, 04:11 PM
Has the sub been applied?

Same old story. No forward line (Stringer excepted).

Listening on the radio - Howe, Frawley, Dunn, etc picking off mark after mark in our forward line. Jones & Crameri doing f'all

29-06-2014, 04:12 PM
When will they learn Not turning up for a quarter doesn't work. Allow 3 goals in a half then 7 in a quarter.

Why wait so long to bring on the sub? Hunter or Honey its simple...

Leaves Jones out there and if he doesn't provide anything drop him next week.

We will be ok. Hrovat chomping at the bit.

29-06-2014, 04:13 PM
We have had our bad quarter and only a point down. We'll win by a couple of kicks.

29-06-2014, 04:15 PM
Libba's had a 'mare today.

That's putting it lightly.

29-06-2014, 04:17 PM
What is it with our 3rd quarters this year?!

29-06-2014, 04:21 PM
Macrae CLASSSSS!

29-06-2014, 04:24 PM
This as been the most biased umpiring I've seen. Melbourne have been handed the game on a plate.

29-06-2014, 04:27 PM
Jones subbed. I called it. Next week they can sub him to the magoos on Thursday evening.

29-06-2014, 04:28 PM
HUNTER - GOAL. we are 7 points up!

29-06-2014, 04:29 PM
Nice work Bonts

29-06-2014, 04:30 PM
Jones subbed. I called it. Next week they can sub him to the magoos on Thursday evening.

one disposal in three quarters - here comes Jack.

29-06-2014, 04:32 PM
This as been the most biased umpiring I've seen. Melbourne have been handed the game on a plate.

Looking forward to Roos complaining about them after the game..

Another goal to Melbourne from a free kick

we have no marking power. Minson can't take a mark, never has been able to. Jones crap today. Crameri not taking any.

29-06-2014, 04:33 PM
That's five goals that the umpires have handed to Melbourne by the umpires.

29-06-2014, 04:40 PM
Bontempelli GOAL!!! - scores are level 23 minute mark

Bontiiiiii

Bontiiiiiii

29-06-2014, 04:41 PM
Future Captain Bontempelli goal

That's huge!!

29-06-2014, 04:44 PM
Norwich rising starrrrrr!!!!!!!!

Bontiiiiiii

Again-YES

BON JOVI - another goal GOAL OF THE YEAR!!! We are 6 points in front!

29-06-2014, 04:46 PM
Bont omg

29-06-2014, 04:47 PM
Need one more score

29-06-2014, 04:49 PM
Captain Bontempelli

Bont again

Yeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

29-06-2014, 04:50 PM
Goal of the year

29-06-2014, 04:50 PM
Questions still need to be asked, throwing away a 37 point lead.

Great to win.

29-06-2014, 04:53 PM
Sales of #4 numbers for our jumpers will go up 1,000,000 percent! :)

29-06-2014, 04:56 PM
Bonts absolutely stole that game. Last 2 goals and crucial mark when Melbourne looked more dangerous. Only 17 touches but 3 votes for an outstanding clutch finish

29-06-2014, 05:07 PM

Great to win.

Just enjoy mate, plenty of Senior players out, was always going to be close.

29-06-2014, 05:07 PM
Sales of #4 numbers for our jumpers will go up 1,000,000 percent! :)

29-06-2014, 05:10 PM
It's no wonder I have Hypertension, it comes from being a life long Bulldog supporter.

29-06-2014, 05:20 PM
The serotonin rush when the siren goes is worth it though.

29-06-2014, 05:53 PM

Great to win.

I think Melbourne would be kicking themselves for letting us get out by so much, and ultimately spent a lot of chips getting back in the game.

Inexperienced sides that don't concentrate and put in sufficient effort for quarters at a time find themselves getting into trouble - even against Melbourne.

Melbourne's running patterns seemed to improve as the game went on as well.

I thought it was a fantastic win considering the cattle we had out. Some great efforts by our younger brigade today.

29-06-2014, 06:24 PM
Bonti was huge at the end, he's just growing into a very good young player by the week.

Not our best performance but with the quality of player missing I'll take that result every day.

29-06-2014, 06:50 PM
Bonti was amazing deep in the last quarter. A deft touch on half forward, a good goal, a goal of the year and a nice mark/kick. He was the difference late in the game.

I really liked the effort of Roberts. Only got it 8 times, but took 2 or 3 really good marks and used the ball well. He's looking more comfortable out there, I think he can develop into a good player. Hoping he has a big pre-season in and out of the gym because we need him.

Wood was superb - extremely courageous, amazing closing speed and simply does not lose one on one contests. He's become a favourite of mine; so powerful, reliable and quick.

Special mentions to Dahlhaus, Austin, Darley, Hrovat (gave us a bit).

I thought both Higgins and Jones were disappointing.

29-06-2014, 06:50 PM
BMac gave mention of T.Campbell in the presser could this be a indicator he maybe a chance this week.

29-06-2014, 06:52 PM
BMac gave mention of T.Campbell in the presser could this be a indicator he maybe a chance this week.

He was great yesterday, should be in the selection calculations.

29-06-2014, 06:53 PM
Bonti was amazing deep in the last quarter. A deft touch on half forward, a good goal, a goal of the year and a nice mark/kick. He was the difference late in the game.

I really liked the effort of Roberts. Only got it 8 times, but took 2 or 3 really good marks and used the ball well. He's looking more comfortable out there, I think he can develop into a good player. Hoping he has a big pre-season in and out of the gym because we need him.

Wood was superb - extremely courageous, amazing closing speed and simply does not lose one on one contests. He's become a favourite of mine; so powerful, reliable and quick.

Special mentions to Dahlhaus, Austin, Darley, Hrovat (gave us a bit).

I thought both Higgins and Jones were disappointing.

Higgins disposal was a bit lack lustre early in the game but was better after half time we need him to find targets. Darley looks like he can kick a ball which our side needs.

29-06-2014, 06:56 PM

He also made mention of Cordy.

29-06-2014, 07:13 PM
Higgins disposal was a bit lack lustre early in the game but was better after half time we need him to find targets. Darley looks like he can kick a ball which our side needs.

I was disappointed with Higgins disposal as well, there was one inside 50 when he ignored the lead and went long with a mongrel after hanging on to the ball for two long and kicked it straight to the Melbourne tall defender. He was off early, as you've noted and for mine he performs better when he keeps it simple and doesn't go for too much.

He did a couple of nice things defensively though.

29-06-2014, 07:19 PM
Paul Roos is turning into a sook.

Last time we beat Melbourne it was because the umpires gave us a dodgy free kick, this time we have beaten them because of two dodgy free kicks.

It might have been nice of him to mention the lovely run they received themselves.............on each occasion.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-06-29/i-dont-know-the-rules

29-06-2014, 07:26 PM
Thoughts on Darley's game? I thought he showed quite a bit.

Like his smooth, flat kicking a lot.

29-06-2014, 07:30 PM

Last time we beat Melbourne it was because the umpires gave us a dodgy free kick, this time we have beaten them because of two dodgy free kicks.

It might have been nice of him to mention the lovely run they received themselves.............on each occasion.

I have never ever liked the guy, from his days as a player till now. He loves himself and its all about him and nobody else.

How many free kicks did Melbourne get in front of goal - Twodogs mentioned at least 5

29-06-2014, 07:30 PM

He was okay, not sure that he's a must pick player but he is around the mark. I'm having a think of the ins and outs for next week and Darley is close to be on the outs despite a reasonable game.

29-06-2014, 07:33 PM
I have never ever liked the guy, from his days as a player till now. He loves himself and its all about him and nobody else.

How many free kicks did Melbourne get in front of goal - Twodogs mentioned at least 5

The one that really pissed me off - aside from the Murphy in the back - was Jones throw in the last on the wing, right in front of the umpire. I could see it from 75m away.

Murphy should have been pinged for dropping the ball on the flank at the end. The deliberate behind free kick was there, the Melbourne player had absolutely no need to run towards the goals in the first place as he had an out to his left.

I agree with you on Roos, he's right into his own bath water.

29-06-2014, 07:44 PM
It was a great day at the footy today. Very impressed by our efforts from our youngsters. Bontempelli is going to be great. Stringer when he leads in that forward line is very good. Murph is so reliable and did some great defensive work today. We had to work hard for our goals but the main thing is we were able to get them by taking some risks and going for it which you need to do as we don't have a great forward line.

29-06-2014, 07:48 PM
Boyd 32 Disposals of which 20 were contested. Huge game and looks like held the midfield together with Griffen out and Libba well held.

29-06-2014, 07:52 PM
Boyd 32 Disposals of which 20 were contested. Huge game and looks like held the midfield together with Griffen out and Libba well held.

Only 50% disposal efficiency is disappointing.

29-06-2014, 07:54 PM

What did you make of Higgins game. His ball use frustrated me today particularly for a player of his experience.

29-06-2014, 07:54 PM

The only thing that separates him from being truly elite instead of a very good player.

29-06-2014, 07:58 PM
Loved the piece of play where Macrae took the ball under pressure, got through the traffic and just as he was about to blaze away deep into the forward line he looked up and hit Stringer with a deft little pass.

Absolute class and some nice work between our 2012 draftees.

29-06-2014, 08:03 PM
Just got home from the game. Terrific win considering we had 4 of our best players out from last week. Were headed but fought back. Very proud of the boys.

29-06-2014, 08:04 PM
Just got home from the game. Terrific win considering we had 4 of our best players out from last week. Were headed but fought back. Very proud of the boys.

Well worth the trip B4life. When it looked like we might give in we didn't and that impressed me the most.

29-06-2014, 08:06 PM
What did you make of Higgins game. His ball use frustrated me today particularly for a player of his experience.
On occasions you are right but perhaps you should concentrate on his efforts to get us out of sticky situations on numerous occasions today. His last quarter effort against one if their ruckman one out was inspirational.

29-06-2014, 08:06 PM
Well worth the trip B4life. When it looked like we might give in we didn't and that impressed me the most.

Yes Eastdog. A lot to look forward to. Liked Darley's game too.

29-06-2014, 08:07 PM
Yes but do you think we could have won without him?

29-06-2014, 08:09 PM
He was okay, not sure that he's a must pick player but he is around the mark. I'm having a think of the ins and outs for next week and Darley is close to be on the outs despite a reasonable game.

Reckon he's unlikely to be dropped after one game. Not the coach's style....particularly when he was quite serviceable. Who would come in anyway?

29-06-2014, 08:12 PM

I haven't been overly excited by his work in the games I've seen, but his kicking has consistently looked good and reliable. That was evident again at AFL level which is a plus. He needs to improve a lot, but he has at least one tool to work with. I'd like to see him get at least 3-4 games in a row.

29-06-2014, 08:12 PM

Boydy was terrific. We would not have won without him. Blanketed Vince who had 40 possessions the week before and got plenty of contested footy too.

29-06-2014, 08:14 PM

Couple of instances he certainly second guessed a hard ball. Happy overall though, we need some polish by foot desperately.

29-06-2014, 08:23 PM
Boydy was terrific. We would not have won without him. Blanketed Vince who had 40 possessions the week before and got plenty of contested footy too.

Agree B4l. Boyd was terrific considering Libba was well held and we went into the game without both Griff and Cooney. Full marks also to Wallis who in the past month has cemented his place in the team as the tagger.

29-06-2014, 08:32 PM

Perhaps not, but I never said we shouldn't have him.

29-06-2014, 08:47 PM

Good first half, quiet after that. Another one in the Macrae, Bontempelli, Murphy mould that is careful with the ball and has the speed, evasiveness and vision to find space and hit a target

29-06-2014, 08:54 PM
Perhaps not, but I never said we shouldn't have him.

Just curious why you went with the disposal efficiency but no mention of his contested possessions. We know it's always going to be a mixed bag with Boyd yet some seem to love pointing out his deficiencies at every opportunity yet don't acknowledge his strengths.

From my point of view he played a great game leading from the front, which would have been even better if he had cleaned up his disposal.

29-06-2014, 09:04 PM
Just curious why you went with the disposal efficiency but no mention of his contested possessions.
Simply an observation. IMO the high possession count is tempered by the fact he gives a lot of them straight back (two lead to opposition goals today).

29-06-2014, 09:16 PM
Loved the piece of play where Macrae took the ball under pressure, got through the traffic and just as he was about to blaze away deep into the forward line he looked up and hit Stringer with a deft little pass.

Absolute class and some nice work between our 2012 draftees.

Agreed, it was a highlight.

It really looked as though he was going to kick long but had the composure to take a look, change his decision and execute the skill.

29-06-2014, 09:41 PM

I haven't seen the game as I am in Europe, heard the last quarter on radio.

29-06-2014, 10:30 PM
Murphy hasn't lost anything has he? Still composed and uses the ball so well.

29-06-2014, 10:54 PM
I haven't seen the game as I am in Europe, heard the last quarter on radio.

Hope your having a good trip BAD.

29-06-2014, 11:28 PM
Simply an observation. IMO the high possession count is tempered by the fact he gives a lot of them straight back (two lead to opposition goals today).

So by that logic, if Boyd and Ray Chamberlain hadn't gotten out of bed today we'd have stormed home by 7 goals?

Boyd offered far more than whomever would've replaced him today, disposal efficiency be damned.

29-06-2014, 11:57 PM
So by that logic, if Boyd and Ray Chamberlain hadn't gotten out of bed today we'd have stormed home by 7 goals?

Boyd offered far more than whomever would've replaced him today, disposal efficiency be damned.

Out of the veterans I certainly think Murph and Morris should keep on going. Gia will retire at seasons end I think. Boyd do you think it's important he stays on along with Murph and Morris.

30-06-2014, 12:10 AM

Who said he shouldn't have played?

30-06-2014, 01:06 AM

Anyone raise an eyebrow at his words about his players?

"I'm paid to teach these guys what AFL footy is. They had no idea. So that's my challenge, to be able to do that and teach them as quickly as we possibly can."

I know what I'd be saying if I was one of them!

30-06-2014, 01:34 AM
Interesting as far as age goes we were younger than Melbourne and games played were about even. Both teams had 12 players with less than 50, we only had 4 with more than 150 and Melbourne had 2.

30-06-2014, 07:15 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgukduYJZ44

30-06-2014, 08:21 AM
Reading the Hun (I think that's where I went awry), I see this:

PAUL Roos has lashed the complacent attitude of his players, his own lack of progress and the AFL’s confusing rule book after another dirty day at Etihad Stadium.

The Demons lost their 18th straight clash at the Docklands venue in giving up a 37-point lead, snatching it back, then eventually losing by six points.

The article was completely biased in the Demons' favour, effectively claiming the umpires won the game for us, and written by two blokes who, if they did attend, sat in the bar during the game and only went to the presser.

30-06-2014, 09:11 AM
Reading the Hun (I think that's where I went awry), I see this:

The article was completely biased in the Demons' favour, effectively claiming the umpires won the game for us, and written by two blokes who, if they did attend, sat in the bar during the game and only went to the presser.

Not sure what you're on about. Which part of the statements you have quoted is factually incorrect? I read the same article which was simply a series of quotes from Roos and then quotes from Macca. Not sure you can be biased simply by quoting what the coaches have said. The two other main articles sang the praises of Bonts and Boyd.

30-06-2014, 11:09 AM
On occasions you are right but perhaps you should concentrate on his efforts to get us out of sticky situations on numerous occasions today. His last quarter effort against one if their ruckman one out was inspirational.

It's a real strength of his, isn't it. His calmness in tight is an asset to our back six.

Are you referring to the one where he was going back with the flight, managed to spoil legally and then gather, move away and clear with a switching handball? If so, I thought it was crucial (and for a moment thought it was Morris completing the play at first) at the time of the game.

He is overwhelmingly a positive influence on our team, and I think he's still got some improvement in the role left in him.

30-06-2014, 11:28 AM
It's a real strength of his, isn't it. His calmness in tight is an asset to our back six.

Are you referring to the one where he was going back with the flight, managed to spoil legally and then gather, move away and clear with a switching handball? If so, I thought it was crucial (and for a moment thought it was Morris completing the play at first) at the time of the game.

He is overwhelmingly a positive influence on our team, and I think he's still got some improvement in the role left in him.

Yep that's the one. His calmness under pressure has been a big positive this year. Seems to have also recaptured his knack of being able to avoid the grasp of opponents even when he isn't blessed with pace.

30-06-2014, 01:23 PM
Not sure what you're on about. Which part of the statements you have quoted is factually incorrect? I read the same article which was simply a series of quotes from Roos and then quotes from Macca. Not sure you can be biased simply by quoting what the coaches have said. The two other main articles sang the praises of Bonts and Boyd.

I also enjoy the fact that people constantly feel it's 'cool' or they're not 'mainstream' by denigrating the Herald Sun. Yeah, it is what it is people, so accept the fact and build a bridge.