View Full Version : Game Banners - Comedy Gold

07-07-2014, 07:46 AM
Melbourne Comedian (and passionate Dogs fan) Danny McGinlay has had a go at writing a couple of our Banners recently

https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3909/14587001961_5a93bcca53_z.jpg

https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3865/14589614342_7c527a9d9a_o.jpg

07-07-2014, 07:51 AM
Nice

07-07-2014, 10:24 AM
Fantastic

07-07-2014, 10:26 AM
These are brilliant, he needs to be signed on a long term contract like Bontempelli.

07-07-2014, 11:12 AM
Chatting to the author last night, he's (seriously) open for suggestions to work on for the Essendon game. And obviously we can't mention drugs/ASADA etc

07-07-2014, 02:30 PM
Chatting to the author last night, he's (seriously) open for suggestions to work on for the Essendon game. And obviously we can't mention drugs/ASADA etc

This weeks banner was very, very amusing if they want feedback.

07-07-2014, 02:33 PM
Is Don, is dog food.

07-07-2014, 02:58 PM
Bulldogs - tougher than a bowls club

07-07-2014, 03:11 PM
Is Don, is dog food.

Both great suggestions.

Only problem with Mofra's is might be a bit high brow for the average Essendon supporter.

07-07-2014, 03:13 PM
Everybody Hates Essendon

07-07-2014, 03:19 PM
Stew Crameri- proving even Bombers can make right decisions

07-07-2014, 03:23 PM
We Hird your coach is on an extended holiday? Next time he should book with our proud sponsor Geelong Travel!

07-07-2014, 07:04 PM
We Hird your coach is on an extended holiday? Next time he should book with our proud sponsor Geelong Travel!

Nice, but more subtle:

Planning a French study holiday? Visit Geelong Travel.

07-07-2014, 07:41 PM
v Essendon

When the boys from Barkly St begin to hustle, the ones from Puckle start to buckle.

07-07-2014, 08:01 PM
In Hird We Bust

07-07-2014, 08:48 PM
Western Bulldogs: We get high by actually jumping up for the ball.

08-07-2014, 10:36 AM

Brilliant!!

08-07-2014, 10:40 AM

Can we please do this one?

08-07-2014, 04:54 PM
Dogs Show Cause For Bomber Fans To Be Disappointed

08-07-2014, 04:58 PM

I reckon you might stump a few with that one.

08-07-2014, 06:41 PM

Both great suggestions.

Only problem with Mofra's is might be a bit high brow for the average Essendon supporter.

And for me too. I want to be in on the joke. Can someone explain?

Stew Crameri- proving even Bombers can make right decisions

Golden.

In Hird We Bust

Goldener.

Western Bulldogs: We get high by actually jumping up for the ball.

Wut?

08-07-2014, 06:42 PM

Goldener to (not a typo).

09-07-2014, 12:23 AM
And for me too. I want to be in on the joke.

They had to move to Tullamarine because they tried to evict the bowls club, but the bowls club was there first and they won the fight, meaning Essendon had to move from windy hill as their training base.

09-07-2014, 06:17 AM
I think we have a winner.

13-07-2014, 06:33 PM
What about,

See the Bombers fly up..up

But the doge will be on a high!

13-07-2014, 06:36 PM
Just another thought,

Is Don is good,

But Dogs are better!

13-07-2014, 09:27 PM
Just another thought,

Is Don is good,

But Dogs are better!

Not bad, not bad...

13-07-2014, 09:53 PM
Just another thought,

Is Don is good,

But Dogs are better!

Perhaps

But Hot Dogs are better

15-07-2014, 12:21 PM
Perhaps

But Hot Dogs are better

Love it!

15-07-2014, 01:01 PM
You can beat the Dons, but you can't beta 4.

16-07-2014, 08:54 AM
Bombers be prepared for

Another
Super
Advanced
Dogs
Avalanche

16-07-2014, 11:52 PM
Beautiful !!!!
on that note
Dogs
Rule
Ugly
Garnet
Sashes

Bombers be prepared for

Another
Super
Advanced
Dogs
Avalanche

17-07-2014, 10:58 AM
Hird is a prize dick,
You all took a prick
and now your asses we will kick.

17-07-2014, 11:09 AM
Poetry in motion KT31. Beautiful

17-07-2014, 11:12 AM
The mindless Hird will follow
But their feelings will be hollow
When the Dogs tear them a new one
And then ASADA wipes them gone

17-07-2014, 11:26 AM
Footscray - Safe Injecting Done Right

17-07-2014, 01:44 PM
Red and black
The church of Hird
Inject all you want
But you can't polish a turd!

17-07-2014, 02:15 PM
For those with twitter @dannymcginlay has mentioned this site and a few #rejectedbanners And can someone at the game Sunday please get a photo of the banner?

17-07-2014, 02:57 PM
Hird is a prize dick,
You all took a prick
and now your asses we will kick.
And Hird's ass Robbo will continue to lick

NoseBleed
17-07-2014, 08:09 PM
How about "We're seeing incredible growth by injecting youth..."

18-07-2014, 09:53 AM
How about something simple?

Essendon Shits Me

19-07-2014, 06:51 AM
How about something simple?

Essendon Shits Me

or - You deserve everything coming your way.

NoseBleed
22-07-2014, 02:47 AM
So what happened on Sunday?

23-07-2014, 11:02 AM
So what happened on Sunday?

Same ... For those of us that couldn't get to the game or watch it on tv ... Any pics or insight???

23-07-2014, 11:08 AM
There wasn't any comedy gold on the banner. It was a multicultural round theme. Can't remember exactly what it said but it certainly wasn't comedy.

23-07-2014, 04:43 PM
There wasn't any comedy gold on the banner. It was a multicultural round theme. Can't remember exactly what it said but it certainly wasn't comedy.

Cheers

23-07-2014, 07:05 PM

Said something about life, love and food on one side. The other side was in Vietnamese. Needed some Comedy gold.

23-07-2014, 11:47 PM
Said something about life, love and food on one side. The other side was in Vietnamese. Needed some Comedy gold.

It translated to "Soldiers Of the West," roughly. My Vietnamese is limited mostly to swear words and types of pho, rice and cabbage though.

24-07-2014, 09:25 AM
I reckon what would be neat is if we managed to get a reputation for having the most awesome banners around, get some notoriety about it, get people excited to "See what they come up with this week" The Cats and Port game banners were fantastic if we can keep that level going it would go a long way to keeping up the cheer squad profile.

28-07-2014, 10:38 AM
for those who arent luddites, listen to this weeks episode (and every weeks!) of AFL Junk Time Podcast with Adam Rozenbachs and Michael Chamberlin

Banner Guy Danny discusses the Bulldogs and the Banners at length, and also discloses this weeks banner vs Hawthorn

28-07-2014, 11:26 AM
"We've never lost a tall forward to Sydney"

C'mon Danny, do it!

28-07-2014, 01:30 PM
"We will always be Premiers before Hawthorn"

03-08-2014, 05:44 PM
Todays

"The only good Hawk was called Dougie"

06-08-2014, 01:25 PM
This week:

"Our midgets win brownlows"

Has to be done.

06-08-2014, 07:32 PM
Lenny Hayes & St.Kilda
The Odd Couple

06-08-2014, 07:44 PM
McInerney and Riewoldt......never forget.

07-08-2014, 04:19 PM
Nick Riewoldt: plays small and tall

07-08-2014, 04:36 PM
Attention Saints; Chris Grant wants his Brownlow back!

07-08-2014, 05:00 PM
Tribute to Lenny?
We preferred Squiggy.

(Apologies to those who aren't old enough to recall this popular culture reference)

07-08-2014, 05:46 PM
St Kilda- Even their Brownlow medalists come 2nd!

07-08-2014, 05:58 PM
We #gatherthepack for the right reasons..

08-08-2014, 12:03 PM
We don't need to pretend we're anyone else in the bedroom.

22-08-2014, 01:07 PM
Any suggestions for this week?

I'd like to see: COLA rots the game.

22-08-2014, 02:50 PM
Who needs the harbour when you have the Maribyrnong River?

22-08-2014, 03:36 PM
Buddy and Kurt,
The Swans twin towers
They get paid so much money,
They have golden showers.

22-08-2014, 10:21 PM
Buddy "James Dean" Franklin, with a Buddy-stylised image attached; 488

22-08-2014, 11:31 PM
Sydney no longer has the benefit of C.O.L.A
With not as much cash
They'll have to get Fevola.

22-08-2014, 11:55 PM
They may have got Buddy and Tippett too
They wouldn't be competitive you can bet dude
Without the COLA, see oh el ah COLA

24-08-2014, 12:09 PM
The Twin Towers Comes Crashing Down

24-08-2014, 05:09 PM
Today's banner was pretty good, but the better option should have been:

"The only difference between the swans and the dogs is $2 million a year #ThanksAFL"

25-08-2014, 08:53 PM
This is the funniest thing out of the whole banner project-
A Sydney knob whose head it went over. I don't know what's the sadder part, someone took the time to wrote this, or an actual news website published it :D

http://mobile.news.com.au/sport/afl/western-bulldogs-banner-may-just-be-the-lamest-banner-in-the-history-of-lame-banners-fact/story-fndv7pj3-1227036077937

25-08-2014, 10:48 PM
I got one for GWS

"SHOW ME THE MONEY"

25-08-2014, 11:13 PM
Krup You - for traditionalists.

You're like a 2-Pac hologram. Nothing but an expensive imitation of the real West Side - for modernists.

26-08-2014, 07:56 AM
Tweeted the journo that his downfall was a lack of appreciation for the fine arts, that he was a Philistine etc. Later realised that he thought I was agreeing with his comments and that I viewed the SHB as fine art. Humourless git.

26-08-2014, 08:59 AM
A Sydney knob whose head it went over. I don't know what's the sadder part, someone took the time to wrote this, or an actual news website published it :D

http://mobile.news.com.au/sport/afl/western-bulldogs-banner-may-just-be-the-lamest-banner-in-the-history-of-lame-banners-fact/story-fndv7pj3-1227036077937

He totally got trolled over it, amazingly funny and he sooooooo missed the point of the banner and of course the previous ones leading up to it. But it's some great publicity and has started the craze of "what's on the dogs banner"

I'd like to suggest this weeks is a picture of the Sydney harbour bridge with a news corp troll living under it. :(

26-08-2014, 01:23 PM

I consider myself an intelligent person ... but I've got to say that this banner went over my head too. Can someone explain it (other than the literal)?

26-08-2014, 01:31 PM
The way I read it was that to try to argue that the Westgate is in any way superior to the Sydney Harbour Bridge is just -- funny. Clearly the SHB is more beautiful, iconic etc etc, to even try to compare the two is a piece of cheeky humour.

It's almost like trying to claim that the Bulldogs have a superior team to Sydney's (at the moment)...

26-08-2014, 02:05 PM
Thought that banner would get a comment from the centre of the universe, which is Sydney.
A city besotted by fireworks, and a bridge and Harbour.
In desperate need of some culture as well.

26-08-2014, 02:28 PM
The comedian who wrote it was just on SEN...apparently the journo didn't realise it was meant to be funny and is writing an apology

26-08-2014, 02:54 PM
I consider myself an intelligent person ... but I've got to say that this banner went over my head too. Can someone explain it (other than the literal)?

If it was meant to be a joke well it went way above most peoples head.

I would say its one of the worse banners we have ever had.

26-08-2014, 02:58 PM
At least it's got people talking...:rolleyes:

26-08-2014, 03:12 PM
If it was meant to be a joke well it went way above most peoples head.

I would say its one of the worse banners we have ever had.
Serious??? Did people honestly think this wasn't a joke, apart from the Sydney-based lemming who wouldn't know irony if it smashed him in the head? I thought such people completely lacking the irony gene only lived in the States.

I thought it was quite obvious that the banner was taking the mickey - I hope that the comedian in question continues the theme of such banners so that it becomes our special 'thing' that the media swarm to and gives us positive exposure.

Maybe next time we play the Swans, our banner can mount the case for the Melbourne Star Wheel as a better tourist attraction than the Sydney Opera House.

26-08-2014, 03:15 PM
Serious??? Did people honestly think this wasn't a joke? Apart from the Sydney-based lemming who wouldn't know irony if it smashed him in the head. I thought such humourless people only lived in the States.

I thought it was quite obvious that the banner was taking the mickey - I hope that the comedian in question continues the theme of such banners so that it becomes our special 'thing' that the media swarm to and gives us positive exposure.

Whether a joke or not, in my opinion it was not a good banner.

26-08-2014, 03:20 PM
Serious??? Did people honestly think this wasn't a joke, apart from the Sydney-based lemming who wouldn't know irony if it smashed him in the head? I thought such people completely lacking the irony gene only lived in the States.

Maybe next time we play the Swans, our banner can mount the case for the Melbourne Star Wheel as a better tourist attraction than the Sydney Opera House.

Totally. I'm left scatching my head at how seriously some people take themselves. Maybe we could start a global conflict this week with;

Melbourne- Home of the beautiful Eureka Tower

Egypt- Home of a bunch of rocks stacked like a triangle

26-08-2014, 03:26 PM
Totally. I'm left scatching my head at how seriously some people take themselves.

I don't think anyone is taking anything seriously, not that i know of. You either like it or you don't. Pretty simple.

26-08-2014, 03:28 PM
I don't think anyone is taking anything seriously, not that i know of. You either like it or you don't. Pretty simple.

Missed the article above written on the news.com website?

The very definition of someone so caught up in themselves they can't see the obvious right in front of them.

26-08-2014, 03:30 PM
Missed the article above written on the news.com website?

The very definition of someone so caught up in themselves they can't see the obvious right in front of them.

ok fair enough.

26-08-2014, 04:42 PM
Was it the funniest message on the banner of all time? Clearly not but I don't mind them trying something a little different.

My only criticism is that it really should have been on the back of the banner for the amusement of supporters. When the player ran out and were confronted with our banner, they must have wondered what the hell our cheer squad were smoking. I'm not suggesting our players would normally be inspired by our banner but the message needs to be relevant to the players.

26-08-2014, 06:16 PM
I don't think the banner has any effect on how the players play. The other side was just as 'inspirational,' being just a thank you to whoever were the guests of the club this week.

As far as this one goes, it was my favourite yet.

26-08-2014, 06:47 PM
But wait!

There's more!

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ok-everybody-we-admit-we-were-wrong-and-didnt-get-the-bulldogs-banner-joke-happy-now/story-fndv7pj3-1227037682380

OK everybody, we admit we were wrong and didn’t get the Bulldogs banner joke. Happy now?
S
THE story so far.
Yesterday, we had a red hot crack at a Western Bulldogs banner. We called it the “lamest banner ever” and declared it both unfunny and wrong.
The abridged version of this story is: we were wrong.
The abridged version of this story is: we were wrong. Source: NewsComAu
Well, it now appears that we were in fact wrong.
Actually, we weren’t entirely wrong. As we showed with some quick bridge research (and who doesn’t love googling bridge facts on a Monday afternoon?), the Westgate Bridge is clearly inferior in terms of both dimensions and aesthetics to its northern counterpart, the Sydney Harbour Bridge.
But there is one important thing we did get wrong: the tone of the banner.
See, we thought it was a lame dig at the Sydney Swans concocted by the humourless (albeit admirably hardworking) Western Bulldogs cheer squad. In fact, the banner was the work of Melbourne comedian Danny McGinlay.
Danny was stunned when we told him that the Sydney Harbour Bridge was the widest and heav
Danny was stunned when we told him that the Sydney Harbour Bridge was the widest and heaviest steel span bridge in the world whereas the Westgate is a boring old steel box girder cable-stayed bridge. Source: Supplied
McGinlay conceived of the bridge comparison banner not as a serious cross-border sledge, but as a rather amusing piece of throwaway banter of the sort he’s been writing for several weeks now.
This all started back in June when McGinlay, a Bulldogs fan, was at a game when he saw a Bulldogs banner which really was on the lame side. He tweeted as much too.

“I thought it was the cheer squad writing it and I went on social media and bagged them,” McGinlay tells his new best friends at news.com.au.
“We got into a bit of back and forth and then I found out it wasn’t them so I contacted the club and told them I want to formally offer my services to write the banner.”
McGinlay had previously worked behind the scenes on the defunct AFL comedy show Before the Game, so he knew his way around a footy joke.
“That piqued the club’s interest,” he says.
It basically came down to a situation where the club said “show us what you got”, and what Danny had was this very excellent banner at the Port Adelaide game on June 21 this year.

A Bulldogs staffer told McGinlay, “Oh, wow, that’s funny, you’ve got the job.”
For the uninitiated, the banner was funny because the Dogs had never played at Port’s new home ground, the Adelaide Oval, so of course they were undefeated there.
He’ll have to make a new sign next year, though. The Dogs lost by a humbling 72 points.
Two weeks later, he pulled out an excellent sledge against the Cats. Reeeeow! Take that!

The Dogs sadly lost that one too, although not by too much.
A few weeks later, McGinlay was at it again with a banner cleverly referencing Bulldogs club legend Doug “The Hawk” Hawkins.

Alas, the Bulldogs lost that game by 63 points. You clearly need a sense of humour to follow this club.
Not every Danny McGinlay banner has gotten past the kennel keepers at Bulldogs HQ. For the St Kilda match, he proposed a banner that read: “Patron Saint of Wooden Spoons”. Insulting the opposition was clearly a bridge too far, if you’ll excuse the pun.
But mostly, the banners have been brilliant and McGinlay hopes to keep writing them next year.
“I do this for free,” he says. “I just want to contribute to my beloved club.”
We think that’s a pretty top attitude. So today, instead of bagging an anonymous banner maker, we salute both the dedication and wit of Danny McGinlay. There. We said it. Who said we journalists are *stubborn people?
On by the way, it’s Danny’s birthday today so happy 32nd, champ. Our gift to you is this story and a ridiculous plug for loads of your stuff, including:
* A funny thing you can buy and listen to called “Danny McGinlay — The Complete First Season”. Get it here at his website.
* The play Danny is starring in at Melbourne Fringe called “Death of a Salesman: The Sitcom”.
And of course, Danny is on Twitter @dannymcginlay.
*Actually we are quite stubborn, so as a side note, we’d like to point out that McGinlay’s surname starts with the letters MCG, which also happens to be the acronym for a football ground where the Western Bulldogs NEVER play on the last Saturday in September. On the positive side, being a fan of the Bulldogs must provide a rich vein of comic material for Danny.

26-08-2014, 07:10 PM
I got the joke...just didn't think it was particularly funny. In saying that I do like the line down which he is heading, the Hawkins one was brilliant.

26-08-2014, 07:40 PM
Patron saints of wooden spoons
I love it! Getting edgey with those banners.

26-08-2014, 10:21 PM
Patron saints of wooden spoons
I love it! Getting edgey with those banners.

A shame it got knocked back, what's wrong with having little digs at other teams, the sport has become so sterile, I'd love to see us say stuff it and just let loose on a few things and be damned what people think, let them hate us if they want, stuff the AFL, have digs at them too over how unfair the "competition" is, get people talking, some will resent it most will respect us, create a whole us against them thing, this is who we are, we're going to fight for survival and for what's right, i'd prefer to die on our feet than live on our knees cowtowing to the afl.

Yes i'm fully aware this is never going to happen and that i'm probably living in some bygone era.

27-08-2014, 08:27 PM
Whether a joke or not, in my opinion it was not a good banner.

Sorry BAD but I liked it. Nice bit of post modern humour. Elusive but with a strong hint of social comment.

27-08-2014, 08:29 PM
I like the banners that guy has been writing -hope he does more.

28-08-2014, 11:35 AM
Excellent result, ironically thanks to that Sydney based bell-end. There is now a sense of anticipation and expectation that the media will be focusing on with regard to our banners, some media exposure that otherwise would not have existed.

28-08-2014, 02:32 PM
bit of a back handed apology though wasn't it?? Quite a few digs about our being unsuccessful

28-08-2014, 02:46 PM
Truth hurts.

28-08-2014, 02:54 PM
bit of a back handed apology though wasn't it?? Quite a few digs about our being unsuccessful

Looking at the first article, the author is clearly too insecure to ever fully back down or apologies. Even a slight back track would have been damaging to his psyche.

28-08-2014, 03:35 PM
Can't believe I wasted 5 minutes reading that drivel.
No doubt written by some Flakey glory hunting Sydney type.

28-08-2014, 04:34 PM
Looking at the first article, the author is clearly too insecure to ever fully back down or apologies. Even a slight back track would have been damaging to his psyche.

Reckon the author might be pretty low in the pecking order....not even a byline to the article.

28-08-2014, 05:03 PM
Should have been a picture of Jack Redpath 'birding' the Swans supporters. Imagine the outcry, 'oh the humanity', 'somebody think of the children'.

28-08-2014, 05:32 PM
Changing the subject, what will this weeks banner read, given its Gia's last game.

28-08-2014, 05:35 PM
For the ladies....
Gia - 50 shades of grey

28-08-2014, 05:47 PM
GWS are a bunch of bogans from a shithole in the middle of nowhere. When they're not winning wooden spoons they're getting arrested.

Too subtle? Or should I mention Gia in there somewhere?

28-08-2014, 05:58 PM
GWS are a bunch of bogans from a shithole in the middle of nowhere. When they're not winning wooden spoons they're getting arrested.

Too subtle? Or should I mention Gia in there somewhere?
You are on fire today. :D

29-08-2014, 12:14 PM
You are on fire today. :D

I'm working on my annual professional development plan and there's nothing I'd rather be doing less. Apparently my first draft needed some work.

They asked what role do I see myself in in 12 months- I wrote Global CEO of the bank, or taking over from Ron Jeremy.

And where they asked if I had any questions for the executive team I wrote- Only two.

1) How much money are you going to give me

and

2) Give it to me.

29-08-2014, 12:20 PM
GWS - breeding ground for Super 15 champions

29-08-2014, 12:26 PM
I'm working on my annual professional development plan and there's nothing I'd rather be doing less. Apparently my first draft needed some work.

They asked what role do I see myself in in 12 months- I wrote Global CEO of the bank, or taking over from Ron Jeremy.

And where they asked if I had any questions for the executive team I wrote- Only two.

1) How much money are you going to give me

and

2) Give it to me.

12 month goal fits nicely. You could f*** people over and make heaps of money.

29-08-2014, 12:39 PM
Greater Western Sydney - there ain't no pretty bridge to fight us about out there...

29-08-2014, 01:04 PM
GWS: Jaffas suck!

29-08-2014, 01:40 PM
LOVE the 50 shades of grey suggestion:)

29-08-2014, 02:11 PM
There is nothing "Greater" about Western Sydney

Or for subtlety: a picture of a white elephant with a G on it.

29-08-2014, 02:27 PM
There is nothing "Greater" about Western Sydney.

Both of these amused me greatly.

29-08-2014, 02:56 PM

What about ...

GWS - breeding ground for Western Bulldogs future champions

29-08-2014, 03:04 PM
131 Years in the West v 4

29-08-2014, 03:11 PM
$900k x 5yrs x 2 ACL's

There's a Patton emerging

29-08-2014, 03:54 PM
You'll need more than Callan to Ward us off

29-08-2014, 09:09 PM
GWS: Money Can't Buy You Love.

Gia: For Love Not For Money.

30-08-2014, 01:00 AM
Gia more value than ten Wards.

30-08-2014, 10:25 AM
GWS: $%^& you.

08-10-2014, 10:12 PM
The actor on the right (riding RoboDog) in the new #BeMoreBulldog ad is the Comedy Banner writer

14-06-2020, 05:48 PM
What Danny would have for today

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Eac5CqxU0AASI8Q?format=jpg&name=small

14-06-2020, 05:50 PM
Thumbs up for that banner bornadog.

14-06-2020, 05:57 PM
Thumbs up for that banner bornadog.

From Danny on twitter