View Full Version : 2014 Game Day Round 21 - North Melbourne V Western Bulldogs

16-08-2014, 05:09 PM
Dogs by 9 points (let's give them a shock)
First Goal: Hunter
Best On Ground: Libba

16-08-2014, 06:22 PM
Norf by 23 pts
( if we bring last weeks game it will be more)
BOG Libba
1st goal Dahlhaus

16-08-2014, 06:59 PM
Dogs by 51
BOG Griffen
First goal Stringer

16-08-2014, 08:01 PM
Norf by 35
First goal Crammers
BOG for us Bonti

16-08-2014, 08:14 PM
Dogs by 25
First Goal - Griffen
Bog- Griffen

16-08-2014, 10:49 PM
Dogs by 22
BOG- Bonti
First goal- Stringer

16-08-2014, 11:13 PM
I am actually feeling pretty good about this game. We normally go well against North and if we can control the midfield we should be able to limit Petries influence.

DOGS by 19

BOG - Griffen

First Goal - Cooney

17-08-2014, 01:01 AM
Got an email today saying this game is a members replacement game for the Cairns match. Not sure why it would come through the day before the match and not at the beginning of the week. Some people may have bought tickets already?

17-08-2014, 01:09 AM
Got an email today saying this game is a members replacement game for the Cairns match. Not sure why it would come through the day before the match and not at the beginning of the week. Some people may have bought tickets already?

I don't like hearing this, we don't have enough members that we can afford to annoy any.

17-08-2014, 01:13 AM
Dogs by 2
First goal - Griffen
Last goal after the siren - Griffen
BOG - Griffen

17-08-2014, 01:15 AM
I don't like hearing this, we don't have enough members that we can afford to annoy any.

I just checked and it was on the website,but i missed that. However, it should have been communicated directly to members earlier.

17-08-2014, 02:36 AM
I just checked and it was on the website,but i missed that. However, it should have been communicated directly to members earlier.

I received an email on August 6 from the club notifying me it was a replacement game and how I go about entering the ground. Also received the reminder today

17-08-2014, 08:41 AM

I got advised about this much earlier in the week.

17-08-2014, 11:07 AM
I received an email on August 6 from the club notifying me it was a replacement game and how I go about entering the ground. Also received the reminder today

I got advised about this much earlier in the week.

Ok, could be the fault at my end, must have missed it.

17-08-2014, 11:32 AM
Dogs by 31
First goal: Stringer
BOG: Griffen

17-08-2014, 11:42 AM
Dogs by 23
First goal Campbell
BOG Griffen

17-08-2014, 12:12 PM
Dogs by 28 points,

First goal: Bontempelli

BOG: Bontempelli

17-08-2014, 12:24 PM
Roof open today.

17-08-2014, 12:28 PM
Roof open today.

Madness.

17-08-2014, 12:30 PM
Madness.

I thought the forecast was for rain?

17-08-2014, 12:41 PM
Hope for the following:

Campbell starting up forward beside Stringer.
Gia is the sub.
Austin & Roughead at least break even with Thomas & Petrie
Picken wears Harvey like a glove
Someone is put onto Dal Santo as a hard tag and reduces his output by at least 33%.

If we can do this, I think we will win.

17-08-2014, 12:49 PM
Macrae out and Grant in.

17-08-2014, 12:52 PM
Macrae out and Grant in.
Gia sub

17-08-2014, 01:23 PM
Dogs by 5 points
BOG: Boyd
1st goal: Dahlhaus

17-08-2014, 01:37 PM
Dogs by 17 points
BOG:Griff
1st Goal: Campbell

17-08-2014, 01:48 PM
Is Macrae injured or is this a well earned rest?

Not unhappy that Grant is getting a go.

17-08-2014, 01:57 PM
Macrae out and Grant in.

Cooney needs to stand up

17-08-2014, 02:11 PM
Looks like a fairly well balanced team. Hope we can really put their defence under pressure.

17-08-2014, 02:14 PM
Is Macrae injured or is this a well earned rest?

Not unhappy that Grant is getting a go.

General soreness

17-08-2014, 02:16 PM
Not a great start.

Need to control the ball for a moment and prevent them from having this much space.

17-08-2014, 02:21 PM
Absolute rubbish , this is the worst I've eve seen,what's with the crap kicking into the forward line? Higgins and crameri ??

17-08-2014, 02:25 PM
Zero defensive pressure or accountability, this could get ugly unless we wake up.

17-08-2014, 02:26 PM
Off to a poor start. We need to get a number of players into the game. Cooney getting run down and costing us a goal hurt us

17-08-2014, 02:26 PM
How can our skills be elite one week, and worse than AusKick kids others. I don't understand.

17-08-2014, 02:29 PM
A lot of players need a rocket at quarter time, just going through the motions so far.

17-08-2014, 02:41 PM
Close to our worst qtr of footy this year. Terrible.

17-08-2014, 02:43 PM
Won't miss Boydy's 15m scrub kicks to no one when he hangs them up.

Some terrible kicking from our so called leaders in Higgins and Minson.

17-08-2014, 02:45 PM
Close to our worst qtr of footy this year. Terrible.

It was our worst. Absolutely terrible. Our errors led to at least 4 of their goals. We made North look like a final contender.

17-08-2014, 02:46 PM
Yep, not great.

Some terrible execution, and poor decision making.

17-08-2014, 02:46 PM
Terrible qtr and our so called leaders the main culprits. Each of Higgins, Murphy, Boyd, Cooney, Minson and Picken cost us dearly either through atrocious skill errors under no pressure, or through ill discipline or lack of awareness. Jarrad Grant's efforts were sub par as well. I would've thought he more than most would've been keen to bring effort today.
Hope we turn in a better effort in the 2nd Qtr, it would be very sad if they turn up 4 Qtrs of this tripe in Griff's 200th.

17-08-2014, 02:52 PM
32 points now early in the 2nd. Getting ugly.

17-08-2014, 02:52 PM
100 pt drubbing coming up

17-08-2014, 02:58 PM
We'd be up by ten goals if we had Patton.:o

17-08-2014, 02:59 PM
Bon T!!! Goal!!!

17-08-2014, 03:00 PM
Bonts needs to be the next captain. Our best and he's still raw. Love him.

17-08-2014, 03:02 PM
Cooney to Boyd. 45m out slight angle - Boyd gets it. GOAL!!!

Razor pays a mark that travels about 8 metres. We need more of that.

Cmon Doggies. Getting back into it.

17-08-2014, 03:04 PM
Much better effort, pressure, skills and decision making this quarter.

17-08-2014, 03:11 PM
Much better effort, just need to get another goal for reward.

17-08-2014, 03:11 PM
KOBE!!! GOAL!!!! only 8 points down. Right back in there. Cooney, Bontempelli, Morris all prominent this quarter.

17-08-2014, 03:16 PM
Gee the standard and interpretation of umpiring is ruining football.

17-08-2014, 03:16 PM
We struggle to kick goals 20m out directly in front and they're kicking them from 50m on the boundary.

17-08-2014, 03:18 PM
Bon T GOAL!!! back to 8 points down.

17-08-2014, 03:19 PM
Bonts

Too early to say Hall of Fame

Umpires hate our club

17-08-2014, 03:19 PM
Petrie SHAME SHAME SHAME.

17-08-2014, 03:20 PM
Gee that was stupid from Roughie. Cant gave away goals like that.

17-08-2014, 03:20 PM
We struggle to kick goals 20m out directly in front and they're kicking them from 50m on the boundary.

Yep, not good enough. Bonti scraps a good one, but again we are working a lot harder for ours.

17-08-2014, 03:22 PM
So Roughy gives a free to Petrie off the ball, yet Thomas retaliating and knocking Roughy to the ground doesn't warrant a reversal? Madness.

17-08-2014, 03:23 PM
I hate Petrie.

Such a crab.

17-08-2014, 03:24 PM
Gee that was stupid from Roughie. Cant gave away goals like that.

3AW said that Petrie dived - a shameful, unsportsmanlike act.

17-08-2014, 03:25 PM
So Roughy gives a free to Petrie off the ball, yet Thomas retaliating and knocking Roughy to the ground doesn't warrant a reversal? Madness.

Absolute joke of a free kick. Once again umpires trying to make it about them

17-08-2014, 03:27 PM
3AW said that Petrie dived - a shameful, unsportsmanlike act.

He certainly dived but what do you expect? That club breathes diving in its culture.

17-08-2014, 03:31 PM
He certainly dived but what do you expect? That club breathes diving in its culture.

North Melbourne are arse divers.

17-08-2014, 03:48 PM
And we've reverted to 1st qtr shite early in the 3rd.

17-08-2014, 03:52 PM
And we've reverted to 1st qtr shite early in the 3rd.

We have, need Minson to kick this one.

17-08-2014, 03:52 PM
We are a sports personification of the term 'bi-polar'.

Minson playing forward. Can we end any thought of him playing there now?

17-08-2014, 03:57 PM
Our defence are just witches hats. There wouldn't be a team in the AFL that concedes goals as easily as we do.

17-08-2014, 03:57 PM
Seriously. What is going on?!!

17-08-2014, 04:01 PM
Hunter you clown.

17-08-2014, 04:01 PM
Great now Hunter thinks he's Stevie Johnson. That is a drop punt every day of the week.
This team is so frustrating to support.

17-08-2014, 04:02 PM
The kicking off our forwards is almost as bad as their marking, which is almost as bad as our defending

17-08-2014, 04:03 PM
Is North Ben Brown the guy we could have had instead of Fuller?

17-08-2014, 04:03 PM
turning the ball over and when we do get it up forward and a shot on goal we miss. I'm usually a Big Will supporter but havent seen much go right today.

17-08-2014, 04:05 PM

Don't ask that question. Because the answer is yes.

17-08-2014, 04:08 PM

Oh no - don't tell me another Howard/Carlisle recruitment!

17-08-2014, 04:12 PM

a bit like Majak last year we seem to be playing Brown into form. He's been a bit of a plodder the rest of this year.

17-08-2014, 04:18 PM
Ben Brown is just another example, in a long proud history we have in making average tall forwards look great.

17-08-2014, 04:18 PM
a bit like Majak last year we seem to be playing Brown into form. He's been a bit of a plodder the rest of this year.

He's been good for a first year player. Handy player to have as he can play forward and help in the ruck. We're making him look great today. Austin is not an AFL player no matter how many times someone tells me he is, I did try to believe for a while though.

17-08-2014, 04:21 PM
24 points down, start of final quarter. Not out of it quite yet.

17-08-2014, 04:21 PM
Don't ask that question. Because the answer is yes.

And quite a few here wanted him!

17-08-2014, 04:26 PM
1st goal north - that's probably the ball game.

17-08-2014, 04:27 PM
Cooney!!! Goal!!! back to 24 points 6 minutes in.

17-08-2014, 04:33 PM
Both North games this year will be erased from my memory ASAP.

17-08-2014, 04:34 PM
So kicking the ball, while being held in a tackle is holding the ball now? Griff can't take a trick with the umpire.

17-08-2014, 04:34 PM
Minson subbed.....!!?!!...

17-08-2014, 04:40 PM
How many times have our own guys interfered with their teammate in a marking contest. We just dont seem to have any semblance of awareness.

17-08-2014, 04:47 PM
Obv we are going to lose now but (with the proviso that I'm watching it on TV) I havent seen much passion or belief that we could win. I guess its the end of the season and we have not much to play for or at least I would say that except for the fact ITS GRIFFS 200th!

17-08-2014, 04:51 PM
Big gap between our better football and and our below average efforts. We need to improve our skill level in a big way.

17-08-2014, 04:52 PM
4 goals from *!*!*!*!ington in the last quarter - who was on him?

17-08-2014, 04:54 PM
Thank god that's over. So many holes to fill it's hard to know where to start.

17-08-2014, 04:55 PM
Minson subbed.....!!?!!...

He was woeful today.

17-08-2014, 04:56 PM
He was woeful today.

Yep, Goldstein owned him.

17-08-2014, 04:57 PM
Not going to sugar coat it, embarrassing today. Gutless performance from a team who looks like they're planning their end of season trip already. It's a real struggle for me to get to games now days and I'm going to find it hard to find the effort to get down for the last 2 weeks.

17-08-2014, 04:59 PM
He was woeful today.

One of his better games for the year too. I've never seen a ruckman who's better below his knees than over his head... And he's woeful below his knees.

It's going to be hard to get him in the votes this week.

DISHLICKERS
17-08-2014, 05:00 PM
Can somebody tell me when it the last time we kicked the first goal of a game?

17-08-2014, 05:08 PM
Roughead looks shot for the year. He isnot right

17-08-2014, 05:10 PM
He was woeful today.

Minson and Campbell were both very poor. Both Roughy and Austin struggled badly in defence as did Morris today. Darley was disappointing which may pave the way for Young to be recalled. Macrae was a big loss today as we missed his kick winning ability.

17-08-2014, 05:29 PM
One of his better games for the year too.

That's way off the mark. Yes, he's had an up and down season, but today was clearly one of his worst games.

How many weeks do we think Wells will miss for his cheap shot?

17-08-2014, 05:46 PM
Macca's Millionaires were out in force today.

Pissing opportunities against the wall as if they come around so easily and all the time, no respect for the football and how it's supposed to be used, not chasing and or being defensively minded at stoppages, this game had it all.

Griffen, Minson and Hunter's misses were terrible. I didn't see the act of Hunter's pathetic attempt, but a fellow spectator told me he tried one around the corner which is what I suspected when I saw the ball limply head across the face of goal.

17-08-2014, 05:47 PM
That's way off the mark. Yes, he's had an up and down season, but today was clearly one of his worst games.

Two weeks for Wells.

17-08-2014, 05:49 PM
Macca's Millionaires were out in force today.

Pissing opportunities against the wall as if they come around so easily and all the time, no respect for the football and how it's supposed to be used, not chasing and or being defensively minded at stoppages, this game had it all.

Griffen, Minson and Hunter's misses were terrible. I didn't see the act of Hunter's pathetic attempt, but a fellow spectator told me he tried one around the corner which is what I suspected when I saw the ball limply head across the face of goal.

I thought Hunter played well today, except for the ridiculous shot at goal as well as the short pass when running towards goal in the third quarter. Why he didn't have shot is beyond me.

17-08-2014, 05:50 PM

I thought it was a clash of heads? Maybe I am wrong.

17-08-2014, 05:51 PM
I thought Hunter played well today, except for the ridiculous shot at goal as well as the short pass when running towards goal in the third quarter. Why he didn't have shot is beyond me.

It seems that a great deal of our players are timid when it comes to slotting goals. A player like Hunter should want to notch as many as he can, and not piss fart around with funky kicks instead of getting the job done.

17-08-2014, 05:53 PM
It seems that a great deal of our players are timid when it comes to slotting goals. A player like Hunter should want to notch as many as he can, and not piss fart around with funky kicks instead of getting the job done.

He hasn't had a great year, although I think he will be ok. Could he be an option to play off a half back flank?

17-08-2014, 05:53 PM
I thought it was a clash of heads? Maybe I am wrong.

Wells got Higgins on the jaw with the point of his shoulder

17-08-2014, 05:54 PM
Other than Griffen, the midfield was killed today. I thought Libba was ineffective, Boyd was his usual but didn't pickup many disposals and we really missed Macrae's 30 disposals. Bonti was very good when he played midfield but died in the last with only 2 disposals - I can forgive an 18 year old showing the way.

17-08-2014, 06:01 PM
He hasn't had a great year, although I think he will be ok. Could he be an option to play off a half back flank?

I like him where he is as I think he can be a creative contributor. He just needs to treasure every opportunity that comes his way, and finish off the teams work when its his turn to do so.

17-08-2014, 06:07 PM
Dreading next week against Franklin, Tippett, Goodes, Reid etc

17-08-2014, 06:07 PM

too true Flamethrower. Too true. Morris to Buddy? poor Dale.

17-08-2014, 06:13 PM
Thank god that's over. So many holes to fill it's hard to know where to start.

Not really. Defenders and midfielders with skills should be the priority.

17-08-2014, 06:14 PM
One of his better games for the year too. I've never seen a ruckman who's better below his knees than over his head... And he's woeful below his knees.

It's going to be hard to get him in the votes this week.

Hudson was heaps better when the ball hot the ground than him taking marks

17-08-2014, 06:15 PM
Wells got Higgins on the jaw with the point of his shoulder

Your right, just watched a replay of it. Why wasn't that a free kick?

17-08-2014, 06:25 PM
Your right, just watched a replay of it. Why wasn't that a free kick?

Umpiring has gone to shite. The AFL rules committee needs to be lined up against a wall and shot.

Good umpiring is when you don't notice them on the ground. Bad umpiring is when do. If the umpires were doing a good job we won't need a show like what's your decision.

17-08-2014, 06:32 PM

That was a major problem today, the number of times where A) the running player could have run further and kicked the goal or B) the forwards perpetually failed to provide a proper passing option.

17-08-2014, 08:02 PM
Norf are just about the most unlikable bunch of twats playing the game these days.

Question - Do the players go to the club already like that, or does the club turn them into the wankers they seem to have become?

17-08-2014, 08:29 PM
Norf are just about the most unlikable bunch of twats playing the game these days.

Question - Do the players go to the club already like that, or does the club turn them into the wankers they seem to have become?

Club turn them to wankers. Dal Santo was a good fit because he was a diving squib wanker before he got there.

17-08-2014, 08:30 PM
From the sounds of it not a replay I'm going to enjoy after being stuck at work. Wouldn't mind giving the Cordy/Campbell a shot next week, just reward for being the best ruck duo at VFL level this year.

17-08-2014, 08:32 PM

A club like Norf will cultivate it while they are there. Just a horrid organisation.

17-08-2014, 08:38 PM

They will rest 1 of them. Libba doesn't have 2 bad ones in a row, macrae will be back. They have lost kennedy, bird, mcglynn and shaw.
They had a very easy game and might get complacent coming up against us.....might not be as bad as you think....then again...

17-08-2014, 08:39 PM
We always play like crap when the roof is open......just keep it closed!!

17-08-2014, 08:46 PM
Thanks for the reports. Missed the game due to work (Melb/GWS) and believe me, nothing could be as bad as that game.

Disappointing to hear we performed poorly. We really are desperate for some midfield silk and defenders - all who can use the ball effectively.

Did the loss of Hrovat and Macrae noticeably hurt our spread from the contest/skills? (Given that these are two who drift between in/out pretty well)

17-08-2014, 08:49 PM

Did the loss of Hrovat and Macrae noticeably hurt our spread from the contest/skills? (Given that these are two who drift between in/out pretty well)

I think injuries are starting to have an impact - Macrae, hrovat, wood, wallis all would have played today.

18-08-2014, 08:16 AM
Our worst performance of the year. Better bring our C game to play Sydney or it will be closer to a 100 loss next week.

18-08-2014, 09:21 AM
Went to the game full of hope, but that really was a shit performance, bar 15 minutes in the 2nd quarter... Just horrendous! Our ball movement was shocking, what is it with handballing to stationary targets who are under pressure? No poise, no skill - heaven help when Murf gives it away.

18-08-2014, 10:13 AM
Umpiring has gone to shite. The AFL rules committee needs to be lined up against a wall and shot.

Good umpiring is when you don't notice them on the ground. Bad umpiring is when do. If the umpires were doing a good job we won't need a show like what's your decision.

The constant mucking with the rules and resulting poor and sometimes bewildering umpiring is probably the major reason why I barely watch any footy anymore (aside from dogs games). This line they keep trotting out that the game has never been better is just crap.

18-08-2014, 11:22 AM
Well, that was an unedifying spectacle. Really not looking forward to seeing us get carved up next week if that's the best we've got to offer.
On the bright side: Bonti!

18-08-2014, 05:19 PM
From Patrick Keane's twitter.

Patrick Keane @AFL_PKeane

Brent Harvey has been referred directly to tribunal for misconduct against Liam Picken. He not able to accept an early plea in this matter.

18-08-2014, 05:21 PM
On the bright side: Bonti!

Worth going to watch him.

18-08-2014, 05:45 PM
From Patrick Keane's twitter.

From the AFL website

The MRP cited Harvey with misconduct after a non-broadcast camera captured the veteran slamming Western Bulldogs tagger Liam Picken into the turf.

Harvey then struck Picken with a forearm to the throat.

The incident was viewed to be serious enough to warrant an adjudication from the Tribunal.

18-08-2014, 06:04 PM
From the AFL website

Yet we never saw Picken bleating to the umpires. Respect.

18-08-2014, 06:12 PM
Norf fans will lose it. :D

Hope he gets 4 weeks and misses finals.

18-08-2014, 06:31 PM
Hope he does miss finals, I cannot stand that prick.