23-08-2014, 11:42 PM
Can't get to the game tomorrow unfortunately

Swans by 62 points
First Goal: Dahlhaus
BOG: Griffen

24-08-2014, 01:52 AM
Can we add an extra prediction this week?

Swans by 35
First goal Stringer
BOG Dahl
Buddy 6 goals :D

24-08-2014, 03:19 AM
Swans by plenty
First goal - Crameri
BOG - Stringer, he'll be up and about now that bubs is born.

24-08-2014, 08:43 AM
Swans by 23pts
1st - Dahl
BOG - Macrae

24-08-2014, 08:46 AM
Swans by 23pts
1st - Dahl
BOG - Macrae

Buddy 2 goals in the first, then I would like him to get a slight hammy injury and put on the red vest.

24-08-2014, 09:08 AM
Dogs by 57pts
1st Goal Bonts
BOG - Morris

Buddy zip as Morris plays the game of his career

:)

24-08-2014, 10:39 AM
Swans by 45
BOG Liberatore
First Goal Cordy
Buddy 10 goals

24-08-2014, 11:43 AM
Them by a lot
BOG- Libba
First goal- Dahlhaus
Buddy- 7 goals

24-08-2014, 11:47 AM
There is always the chance Franklin could kick 2 goals 9 behinds like he did a few years back.

24-08-2014, 11:49 AM
Swans by 33
BOG: Morris
First goal: Cordy

24-08-2014, 12:50 PM
Swans by miles (and miles and miles)
BOG for us Dahlhaus
First goal Crammers

24-08-2014, 01:50 PM
Margin: Draw
First Goal: Bonts
Best On Ground: Griffen

24-08-2014, 03:15 PM
Sam Reid out Gia sub

24-08-2014, 03:20 PM
Sam Reid out Gia sub

They might have just been scared of us talking to him while he was in town :)
Towers in for them. I have no idea who he is, but he'll probably kick 5.

24-08-2014, 03:46 PM
Simon Beasley just gave a terrific speech in the Victory room. A Bulldog through and through.

24-08-2014, 04:36 PM
100+ margin here we come...

24-08-2014, 04:38 PM
Horrid start, just making basic errors.. Our defence is poorly skilled, under-sized and an area of great concern.

24-08-2014, 04:44 PM
I've never seen anything like this before in my life.

Austin should be shot on site.

If McCartney doesn't rip him a new one at qtr time I'll spew up.

24-08-2014, 04:45 PM
Sydney's pressure is immense.

Jack Macrae is a gun.

24-08-2014, 04:45 PM
Whats happened to our skipper? He wouldn't be in the top 100 players in the comp right now.

24-08-2014, 04:48 PM
Between Punt Rd and this, shouldn't have gotten out of bed today!

24-08-2014, 04:49 PM
Libba and Macrae at least putting decent effort in

24-08-2014, 04:51 PM
I dunno why we just take the risk and take em on.
Better off die trying!

24-08-2014, 04:55 PM
Reserves won after the siren , fletcher Roberts nailed it from 60 out apparently.. Think this game is an utter disgrace in the first quarter like we were last week.

24-08-2014, 04:56 PM
I dunno why we just take the risk and take em on.
Better off die trying!

The problem is we are taking them on, that's as good as we get.

Our back line is totally inept, there is not a line breaker to be seen anywhere, every team in the comp is willing to leave Austin free as he is such a liability by foot, then when we go forward we are outnumbered.

The only thing I'm liking is that the Bont is following goodes around, that's great teaching and a great way for him to learn about ground positioning.

Between Punt Rd and this, shouldn't have gotten out of bed today!

Don't speak to soon. Roberts with a goal from outside 50m after the siren to win the game by 2 points.

Wow, that was beyond awful. Almost no upside at all.

24-08-2014, 04:57 PM
Just too many bad users of the footy.

Austin's direct pass to a Swans opponent was a highlight. His 50m penalty, another great moment. And then giving a free kick away in the goal square just to top it off.

24-08-2014, 04:58 PM
Our foot skills are inadequate and kill us.

Sydney has been all over us and has really taken their opportunities, and we gave them plenty of them with our complete lack of discipline, sense and skill.

Very frustrating.

24-08-2014, 04:59 PM
No resistance. Hopefully a better second.

Good start by Jong out the clearance.

24-08-2014, 05:03 PM
Rubbish free kick to Tippet. Barely any contact.

24-08-2014, 05:05 PM
Rubbish free kick to Tippet. Barely any contact.

You can thank our captain for that. Hospital handball to Jong he has completely lost the plot. Sad to see.

24-08-2014, 05:07 PM
Darn Crameri always wants stand up a fight his way thru a tackle.
How mark some basics...marks and goals!

24-08-2014, 05:10 PM
Players are just blatantly throwing the ball now.

24-08-2014, 05:19 PM
Austin is terrible.

24-08-2014, 05:20 PM
I don't care how ok Austin has been this year. His last two weeks tells me he is really a VFL player in disguise.

24-08-2014, 05:21 PM
This looks like an AFL predetermined finals training run for Sydney. They'd win on their own (obviously with massive AFL subsidies) but they're taking no chances.

24-08-2014, 05:22 PM
We need to get Bonts into the middle to give Libba a hand. I know they are probably managing his game time but he is much more effective around the ball.

24-08-2014, 05:23 PM
Campbell hasn't been back on since the start of the quarter, any word?

24-08-2014, 05:24 PM

Well he's subbed off. Eye injury I think

Subbed off, Gia on.

Nice goal from Bonts.

Subbed for Gia .. I'm over the AFL and it's umpiring to look after Sydney!

24-08-2014, 05:25 PM

Poked in the eye, been subbed out. His vision is so blurry he thought Austin was a good footballer.

24-08-2014, 05:28 PM
Every time I watch Sydney I'm reminded of the movie Wall Street where money talks and bullshit walks

24-08-2014, 05:29 PM
Poked in the eye, been subbed out. His vision is so blurry he thought Austin was a good footballer.

Update: they are using the concussion test rule temporary sub.

24-08-2014, 05:29 PM
Yep Sydney have Tippet and Franklin lets go in with just Roughead and Morris and not play Roberts.
Very smart McCartney

24-08-2014, 05:31 PM
Free kicks to Tippett are a joke

24-08-2014, 05:31 PM
Every time I watch Sydney I'm reminded of the movie Wall Street where money talks and bullshit walks

Awesome team though. They play footy the right way no denying the players that.

24-08-2014, 05:32 PM
Boyd has completely lost the ability to influence a contest. His experience is required next year as the kids develop but his output across the second half of the season has been negligible.

24-08-2014, 05:34 PM
Yep Sydney have Tippet and Franklin lets go in with just Roughead and Morris and not play Roberts.
Very smart McCartney

Pretty sure they also picked Austin as a tall defender.
While I'm more than happy to get games into Roberts, if anyone thinks it changes anything in this game, well it doesn't. Buddy or Tippett kick his arse too. Especially at the rate we're turning it over.
Libba our best by a mile.

24-08-2014, 05:34 PM
Awesome team though. They play footy the right way no denying the players that.

Yep but without Buddy and Tippett it would be 3-4 goals closer. Anyway...

24-08-2014, 05:35 PM
Sydney don't even have to handball now.

I thought we fought well that quarter, Sydney benefitted from some really soft umpiring while we were a but stiff to miss out on one or two.

Just on Austin, he is seemingly doing well to keep Goodes influence down but as he touches it things turn ugly.

24-08-2014, 05:36 PM
Reasonably happy with Cordy's work. Will be tough for him if Campbell doesn't come back

24-08-2014, 05:37 PM
Pretty sure they also picked Austin as a tall defender.
While I'm more than happy to get games into Roberts, if anyone thinks it changes anything in this game, well it doesn't. Buddy or Tippett kick his arse too. Especially at the rate we're turning it over.
Libba our best by a mile.

I'd rather put games into a young guy that MAY become a good AFL defender, than a mature guy that we know will only ever be sub par.

Nothing to do with winning or losing this game.

24-08-2014, 05:38 PM
Soft umpiring favouring Sydney + $1.7M p.a. Worth of tall forwards who can catch the ball and slot a lazy 7 between them in a half. That's been the difference for me. Sydney get AFL admin's rub of the green - both on and off the field.

24-08-2014, 05:40 PM
Reasonably happy with Cordy's work. Will be tough for him if Campbell doesn't come back

Yeah, Cordy's a million miles ahead of where he was in his last AFL game. Much, much more aggressive, strong and competitive. Another pre season and he'll be a good player.

24-08-2014, 05:40 PM
I'd rather put games into a young guy that MAY become a good AFL defender, than a mature guy that we know will only ever be sub par.

This. Enough with the lessons and making an example of - let's see what Talia can do. His brother is turning into a gun and he languishes in the VFL. I'd be fine with that if we had a genuine KPP taking his place but we just don't. I thought Roberts showed signs as well but there seems to be zero confidence from the MC.

24-08-2014, 05:42 PM

Yeh I agree, makes a few errors but at least gets off the ground and competes

24-08-2014, 05:42 PM
It would be good if Campbell could ruck for 10 or 15 minutes in the 3rd quarter

We don't really have someone else to give Cordy a breather

24-08-2014, 05:48 PM

I agree, but to talk about not choosing Roberts in the context of effecting the match ups with their talls isn't right in my opinion.

24-08-2014, 05:49 PM
Cordy has been noticeably more aggressive, I'm happy to say.

As long as he is safe with the footy and contributes in the air a bit more I think he can put a career together.

24-08-2014, 05:57 PM
Watching the way this match is predetermined both on and off the field makes me think I'd be better off investing my money and emotional energy in something more legitimate... Like WWE!

Jong relatively unsighted and buddy's best mate is running amok

The AFL has dug a hole here , and it's so obvious how terribly one sided this competition is .. I'm over AFL.

24-08-2014, 06:02 PM
The AFL has dug a hole here , and it's so obvious how terribly one sided this competition is .. I'm over AFL.

Couldn't agree with you more. Next weeks VFL game is the go.

Hrovat's execution by foot has been a highlight.

nice goal Hrovat...liked his game!

Cordy showing glimpses but he really is getting touched up at the stoppages

24-08-2014, 06:07 PM
Stringer misses from about 12 metres out. Pathetic.

24-08-2014, 06:09 PM
Stringer needs to take care of the basics sometimes.

24-08-2014, 06:12 PM
Bontempelli marks and it's play on, Franklin gets something resembling a hitout and is paid a mark 10m out. I think I'm over the AFL.

24-08-2014, 06:13 PM
Stringer needs to take care of the basics sometimes.

His kicking for goal is amongst the worst I've ever seen.

24-08-2014, 06:15 PM
We have gone nowhere in 3 years a 50 point drubbing last week and now looks like 100 this time, absolute rubbish match committee, game plan and coaching, when is someone going to be held responsible for this disgusting effort.
You can spin doctor this anyway you want but it's in black and white we have gone nowhere.

24-08-2014, 06:16 PM
Hrovat's execution by foot has been a highlight.

Been clean all day. Another who looks more comfortable around the ball.

24-08-2014, 06:17 PM
The AFL have lost the plot as far as umpiring and fair play fair competition

24-08-2014, 06:21 PM
Dahl has had a very disappointing day. It's like he's drug affected when he's kicked it.

24-08-2014, 06:24 PM
We need to work on our throwing skills. It has been a massive advantage to Sydney today.

24-08-2014, 06:27 PM
Yes, it's disappointing. But they are the top side.

24-08-2014, 06:30 PM
Dahl has had a very disappointing day. It's like he's drug affected when he's kicked it.
Agree very poor skills, still keeps trying..

24-08-2014, 06:41 PM
His kicking for goal is amongst the worst I've ever seen.

20 goals 11 this year

24-08-2014, 06:46 PM
Agree very poor skills, still keeps trying..

It's not just Dahl it's the entire team. We cannot create separation and our spread is non- existent so we are put under constant pressure when we have it and constant perceived pressure when we are trying to get it.

24-08-2014, 06:46 PM
Kobe Steven cant kick!
Skys every ball!

24-08-2014, 06:56 PM
20 goals 11 this year

And 15 out on the full and another 15 that didn't make the distance from within 40m. He's lucky he's kicked so many on the run from the goal square or he'd be on single figures for the season.

24-08-2014, 07:08 PM
We are shite, no two ways about it! Cram is a disgrace and not worth his $. Austin can't be blamed, he doesn't pick himself, but he is an embarrassment! Dahl tries but is overrated!

24-08-2014, 07:13 PM
We lost by what I expected today.

24-08-2014, 07:21 PM
And 15 out on the full and another 15 that didn't make the distance from within 40m. He's lucky he's kicked so many on the run from the goal square or he'd be on single figures for the season.

Where'd you get 15 from? I agree he still looks for the one out the back too much but his kicking has been good. Hopefully as he develops his strength, speed & endurance he will get more on the lead and from contested marks

24-08-2014, 07:23 PM
We are shite, no two ways about it! Cram is a disgrace and not worth his $. Austin can't be blamed, he doesn't pick himself, but he is an embarrassment! Dahl tries but is overrated!
Crameri doesn't handle quality opposition.
Austin should not have been picked this week.
I disagree with you on Dahlhaus who was quiet today but over the whole season probably our best forward.

24-08-2014, 07:33 PM
We lost by what I expected today.

We lack two key forwards and two key back men. Hopelessly outclassed in the ruck today with only Liberatore effective as a midfielder. Hrovat was our only forward and the lack of class all over the field was very obvious.

24-08-2014, 07:37 PM
We lack two key forwards and two key back men. Hopelessly outclassed in the ruck today with only Liberatore effective as a midfielder. Hrovat was our only forward and the lack of class all over the field was very obvious.

So going by that we are in for a long dry spell.

24-08-2014, 08:02 PM

Stringer looked dangerous today, I thought he was ok, Should have kicked a couple more though.

24-08-2014, 08:14 PM
Stringer looked dangerous today, I thought he was ok, Should have kicked a couple more though.

Yes I'm puzzled why he'd be singled out. Not our worst by any means.

24-08-2014, 08:19 PM
Yes I'm puzzled why he'd be singled out. Not our worst by any means.

I gave him a vote, he had a hand in most of our goals.

24-08-2014, 08:38 PM
Here is a positive spin on the game.

Yes, we went down by 63 points - but against the top side who have the home final to play for and weren't resting players.

We won the second quarter by 1 point.

We were 37 points down after the first quarter. Sydney only increased its lead by another 26 points, basically 4 goals, over the next 3 quarters.

We did not give up. I think they were pretty happy to have got the buffer in the first quarter because from there on they had to earn their pay.

24-08-2014, 08:49 PM
Crameri doesn't handle quality opposition.
Austin should not have been picked this week.
I disagree with you on Dahlhaus who was quiet today but over the whole season probably our best forward.

I love the kid, but he continues to display below part disposal. My gripe is not with his output but with his reputation, he is not at the level everyone seems to think he is at!

24-08-2014, 08:50 PM
Here is a positive spin on the game.

Yes, we went down by 63 points - but against the top side who have the home final to play for and weren't resting players.

We won the second quarter by 1 point.

We were 37 points down after the first quarter. Sydney only increased its lead by another 26 points, basically 4 goals, over the next 3 quarters.

We did not give up. I think they were pretty happy to have got the buffer in the first quarter because from there on they had to earn their pay.

Well put F'scary.

24-08-2014, 09:00 PM
Well put F'scary.

thank you KT31 - I was much more upset with a few other losses we have had this year.

24-08-2014, 09:04 PM
Cordy was a big positive for me. First time I've seen him and thought potential 150 game ruckman. Worked hard around the ground to provide the linking option, moved as well as I've seen him move, followed up his ruckwork aggressively on the deck and used the footy quite nicely (there was one long ball that hit a leading Gia on the chest which was as good as anything our mids served up all day). He was beaten steadily by Pyke in the actual ruck contest but his movement and linking around the ground provides a nice point of difference to what Minson/Campbell bring to the table.

24-08-2014, 09:18 PM
Impressed with Hovrat today. Umpiring really ruined the match and I hate score reviews!
At least we weren't the biggest losers this weekend.

25-08-2014, 07:37 PM
I was staying with the outlaws this weekend. Thought the town must have been under the dome because I could hardly get any phone coverage at all. Didn't watch the game and I'll just pretend we had the bye and look forward to the double header Sunday!

25-08-2014, 11:46 PM
There is something that is bothering me about the game, so I thought I would bring it up here...

Did anyone notice how arrogant the Sydney players were? They had absolutely no humility.

It was sort of like they were rubbing their money in our faces.

25-08-2014, 11:47 PM
There is something that is bothering me about the game, so I thought I would bring it up here...

Did anyone notice how arrogant the Sydney players were? They had absolutely no humility.

It was sort of like they were rubbing their money in our faces.

It did feel that way.

26-08-2014, 01:34 PM
I think that might be why this game, more than most, seems to have elicited a particular bitterness from WOOF posters.

26-08-2014, 02:12 PM
I think that might be why this game, more than most, seems to have elicited a particular bitterness from WOOF posters.

That, and the fact we haven't had a decent tall forward in their prime in 20 years, yet the team we played recruited 2 in the 2 years DIRECTLY AFTER winning a premiership for more money than we could every possibly pay. This in a competition where we're constantly having it rammed down our throats that the league does everything possible to make it a level playing field and we should be grateful.

It's like someone smiling and acting friendly towards you, while in the background his mate is stealing your TV.

The way it was clear from the opening bounce the umpires were determined that both Tippett and Franklin were going to get some confidence building goals in the lead up to the finals made me realise just how orchestrated every part of this supposed competition is. I'd known it for years, but my belief was galvanised in a putrid 60 minutes of exploitation.

I've been an AFL member for years and there is no chance in hell I'm renewing it next year. I'm just providing resources to the league for them to use to help our opposition.

The AFL wants us to just sit quietly in the background putting in our money and accepting our lot in life, all the while they orchestrate the competition to the benefit of their new plastic franchises to maximize the number of band wagoners they can pick up in a market that doesn't give a shit about the sport. They can get *!*!*!*!ed!

26-08-2014, 02:29 PM
Swans were very arrogant and the trigger for the bitterness IMHO was the way the umpires were looking for any excuse to pay frees to their players.

It was like we were gonna lose from the start and would subsequently try any tactic to drag the Swans down. From that point the umps seemed to assume a protector type role for the Swans players. It was a distinct feeling of entitlement emanating from the Swans players accordingly.

26-08-2014, 02:52 PM
Swans were very arrogant and the trigger for the bitterness IMHO was the way the umpires were looking for any excuse to pay frees to their players.

It was like we were gonna lose from the start and would subsequently try any tactic to drag the Swans down. From that point the umps seemed to assume a protector type role for the Swans players. It was a distinct feeling of entitlement emanating from the Swans players accordingly.

We were never ever going to win the game but those free kicks to Tippet for arm chopping were a joke, especially when the same thing up the other end was ignored.

26-08-2014, 03:07 PM
That, and the fact we haven't had a decent tall forward in their prime in 20 years, yet the team we played recruited 2 in the 2 years DIRECTLY AFTER winning a premiership for more money than we could every possibly pay. This in a competition where we're constantly having it rammed down our throats that the league does everything possible to make it a level playing field and we should be grateful.

It's like someone smiling and acting friendly towards you, while in the background his mate is stealing your TV.

The way it was clear from the opening bounce the umpires were determined that both Tippett and Franklin were going to get some confidence building goals in the lead up to the finals made me realise just how orchestrated every part of this supposed competition is. I'd known it for years, but my belief was galvanised in a putrid 60 minutes of exploitation.

I've been an AFL member for years and there is no chance in hell I'm renewing it next year. I'm just providing resources to the league for them to use to help our opposition.

The AFL wants us to just sit quietly in the background putting in our money and accepting our lot in life, all the while they orchestrate the competition to the benefit of their new plastic franchises to maximize the number of band wagoners they can pick up in a market that doesn't give a shit about the sport. They can get *!*!*!*!ed!
I've also been a long-term AFL member (almost 20 years) and am extremely unlikely to renew next year. I will most likely revert to a Dogs only membership so that the club doesn't lose any revenue.

The competition has become such a contrivance - there is a narrative that must be followed at the expense of fairness and equity. Not only that, but all the major issues impacting the fairness and integrity of the competition are actually being orchestrated and stage-managed by the AFL to within an inch of its life. As but one example, we currently have a team running around that in all likelihood undertook a systematic doping regime for 12 months and whose players are most likely still enjoying artificial benefits of said doping program. And the AFL tried desperately (still trying) to smother the story and downgrade the issue so that their precious TV rights revenues aren't being compromised - never mind that the entire competition is being compromised as a result of this issue continuing to fester unresolved.

To use a slightly vulgar phrase, the AFL does nothing more than piss down our back and tell us it is raining.

26-08-2014, 06:44 PM
I hope you AFL members get a letter or email asked why you are not renewing. Just so you can give some feed back.

Not that it would do any good.

26-08-2014, 07:01 PM
Sedat & Greystache - I really understand your frustration and it is good to know you'll directly support the Dogs even if you give up AFL membership.

All Woofers - It is really important for all Dogs Supporters to keep supporting the club - especially in such tough times. t would be even worse for us if our beloved club folded or was moved elsewhere. Should we liaise with our club on how we can best be heard by the AFL, and/or start a petition to the AFL with a combo cover letter - may not do much but they might listen if we obtain a lot of signatures?

29-08-2014, 01:17 AM

I've seen a lot whinging by Dogs fans since the loss to the Swans on this forum and another.

While there's a lot of merit to the Swans/COLA argument, nobody has the balls to flag the role that our previous hopeless recruiting played.

IIRC we could had Jack Riewoldt, Carlisle and/or Reid and I suppose even Franklin. We consistently pissed away first round picks on guys like Everitt, Grant, Cordy and Howard.

26-01-2015, 04:12 PM
With the rain delay in the ODI I changed over to fox footy. A liitle sadistic I know...

At the time, these commentators included were lauding Macca and things he did. Yet no commentators seem to be offering public opinion that Bevo should be doing the same things, or making the same decisions. Typical bandwagon BS.

Moreover, Austin playing on/around Buddy is not enjoyable. Hard to still think Talia playing at Footscray is a great thing. Cooney especially hasnt got passed jogging pace. Seriously garbage stuff, Cooney at one point gave a handball, then stood still and asked for it back. Obviously playing for the stat sheet. Higgins looked ok but has seemed a little disinterested.

I think we managed to wallpaper over the cracks really well for as long as we did.

P.S. Biggs look good.