View Full Version : Farewell Game - Daniel Giansiracusa v GWs Round 23 2014

25-08-2014, 02:12 PM
https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQSun9WNlLmis8RG0KZ2wznc_MhxgbaUHIj6VsE7By CIrklCYvF

#13 Western Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)

Height: 182cm Weight: 81kg Position: Forward

Last Drafted: Round 2, Pick #32 1999 National Draft (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_drafts?year=1999&t=N&s=P)

Total Goals to round 22 - 329, average disposals 18 per game a great contributor to our club.

Career Highlights

http://www.footywire.com/afl/img/dot.gif

25 disps (22 kicks 3 hballs), 6 marks, 4 tackles and 4 goals in Rd 15 64-pt win over Melbourne (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5256) at Etihad Stadium (1 Jul 2011)

30 disps (25 kicks 5 hballs), 9 marks, 6 tackles and a goal in Rd 19 8-pt win over Adelaide (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5112) at AAMI Stadium (8 Aug 2010)

32 disps (22 kicks 10 hballs), 8 marks and 9 tackles in Rd 7 4-pt win over Melbourne (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=4977) at the MCG (7 May 2010)

29 disps (24 kicks 5 hballs), 9 marks, 10 tackles and a goal in Rd 6 3-pt loss to St Kilda (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=5113) at Etihad Stadium (30 Apr 2010)

35 disps (21 kicks 14 hballs), 4 marks and a goal in Rd 5 49-pt win over Adelaide (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=4993) at Etihad Stadium (23 Apr 2010)

33 disps (23 kicks 10 hballs) and 9 marks in Second Semi Final 51-pt win over Brisbane (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=4956) at the MCG (11 Sep 2009)

25 disps (19 kicks 6 hballs), 10 marks, 4 tackles and 4 goals in Rd 22 22-pt win over Essendon (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2557) at Etihad Stadium (1 Sep 2006)

36 disps (18 kicks 18 hballs), 5 marks and a goal in Rd 7 76-pt win over Port Adelaide (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2442) at AAMI Stadium (14 May 2006)

32 disps (18 kicks 14 hballs), 13 marks and a goal in Rd 3 4-pt loss to Richmond (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=2048) at Etihad Stadium (10 Apr 2005)

Thank you Gia and all the best for the future in your coaching role.

25-08-2014, 02:18 PM
Excellent career. Well dine

25-08-2014, 02:22 PM
Who could forget this:

http://youtu.be/Qrxp1vA_lHk

25-08-2014, 02:24 PM
Some highlights from 2008

http://youtu.be/4e8eI5untaw

25-08-2014, 02:27 PM
My personal favourite:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPirtGnxAxA

Thanks Gia. All the best with your coaching. Hope you kick a bag to finish off.

25-08-2014, 04:20 PM
Congratulations Gia.

Who is going to start the thread for "Christian Howard's Farewell Game"?

25-08-2014, 04:28 PM
A true Bulldog. Great that he will be still at our Club next year too in a coaching role. Well done Gia.

25-08-2014, 04:59 PM
Congratulations Gia.

Dalrymple :D

25-08-2014, 05:49 PM
Congratulations Gia.

On the VFL and State League Board??

25-08-2014, 06:19 PM
My favourite Gia memory is actually from a game that we lost, the Johnno after-the-siren miss against Norf back in 2008. With barely seconds to go and with all players absolutely exhausted, Gia had the ball about 60 metres out. Under those circumstances, most players would have blazed away towards the goal square but Gia saw Johnno out of the corner of his eye and spotted him up with a perfectly weighted pass - it was a piece of quality decision making and disposal under an intense pressure situation that higher profile players get lauded for their genius. Such a shame that Johnno sprayed what was a very easy shot for goal to win the match.

25-08-2014, 06:26 PM
My favourite Gia memory is actually from a game that we lost, the Johnno after-the-siren miss against Norf back in 2008. With barely seconds to go and with all players absolutely exhausted, Gia had the ball about 60 metres out. Under those circumstances, most players would have blazed away towards the goal square but Gia saw Johnno out of the corner of his eye and spotted him up with a perfectly weighted pass - it was a piece of quality decision making and disposal under an intense pressure situation that higher profile players get lauded for their genius. Such a shame that Johnno sprayed what was a very easy shot for goal to win the match.

Same with a tinge of what could have been... Pre-Lim against Saints, MCG, dying minutes and Gia had the running shot from 40-odd metres. I was positioned right behind him where he took the shot and I thought it was going through, god it looked good of the boot and that dormant part of my bulldog subconscious that might not always dare to dream came out for less than a second and for that nano second it felt good. Anyone else and it wouldn't have been the same and although it didn't pan out the best, if anyone needed to have the ball it was Gia.

25-08-2014, 06:31 PM
Same with a tinge of what could have been... Pre-Lim against Saints, MCG, dying minutes and Gia had the running shot from 40-odd metres. I was positioned right behind him where he took the shot and I thought it was going through, god it looked good of the boot and that dormant part of my bulldog subconscious that might not always dare to dream came out for less than a second and for that nano second it felt good. Anyone else and it wouldn't have been the same and although it didn't pan out the best, if anyone needed to have the ball it was Gia.
That was a very tough shot - left footer from about 45 metres out under fierce pressure and on a 40 degree angle running further away from goal. I was also right behind the kick and it only missed by a foot - he struck it well but it just didn't swing back enough.

The miss from that game that haunts me is Gilbee - one of the best kicks in the league and he completely shanked it. It looked so bad I swore for all money that it must have been smothered off the boot. He kicks that goal and we win, simple.

25-08-2014, 06:48 PM
That was a very tough shot - left footer from about 45 metres out under fierce pressure and on a 40 degree angle running further away from goal. I was also right behind the kick and it only missed by a foot - he struck it well but it just didn't swing back enough.

The miss from that game that haunts me is Gilbee - one of the best kicks in the league and he completely shanked it. It looked so bad I swore for all money that it must have been smothered off the boot. He kicks that goal and we win, simple.

Argh. As bad as 1997 was, and it is still traumatising, I can't recall so many moments in 97 (other than Libba's goal and the Huddo/Grant non-Sheppard) that were like the Saints pre-lim. So many moments in that game which could have literally changed the game. Gia's was so hard as you say, but it looked so good on the angle. I was saying at 3qtr time we were no chance to everyone trying to do the play it down reverse psychology thing, i hadn't jumped up at all, but when it left Gia's boot I was up and riding it, arms up, heart in my mouth... It's oddly a memory that's due to him as say Eagleton or Ray wouldn't have had my thinking 'this is it', it was because of trust in Gia. If I remember correctly (it was one of the pre-lims) they did that stupid rocket man thing in front of us before the game and the sound of the rockets nearly perforated my ear drum.

26-08-2014, 12:04 AM
Argh. As bad as 1997 was, and it is still traumatising, I can't recall so many moments in 97 (other than Libba's goal and the Huddo/Grant non-Sheppard) that were like the Saints pre-lim. So many moments in that game which could have literally changed the game. Gia's was so hard as you say, but it looked so good on the angle. I was saying at 3qtr time we were no chance to everyone trying to do the play it down reverse psychology thing, i hadn't jumped up at all, but when it left Gia's boot I was up and riding it, arms up, heart in my mouth... It's oddly a memory that's due to him as say Eagleton or Ray wouldn't have had my thinking 'this is it', it was because of trust in Gia. If I remember correctly (it was one of the pre-lims) they did that stupid rocket man thing in front of us before the game and the sound of the rockets nearly perforated my ear drum.

Gia also kicked a great goal in the 3rd quarter to put us back in front.

26-08-2014, 12:17 AM
Who could forget this:

Going by the impact...Koschitzke.

26-08-2014, 12:21 AM
Gia is only 32. We have sent him grey before his time.

27-08-2014, 01:23 PM
Gia calls time

August 27, 2014 11:12 AM

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/Media/Images/345238-tlsnewslandscape.jpg
Daniel Giansiracusa of the Bulldogs in action during the 2014 AFL Round 22 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Sydney Swans at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on August 24, 2014. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)

link h (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2014-08-27/gia-calls-time)ere

A true son of the west, Giansiracusa was drafted from Williamstown in 1999 with the Club’s second pick (32 overall), and has established himself as one of the smartest and most reliable small forwards during that time.
After scoring a goal with his first kick in the AFL, Giansiracusa went on to score 328 more, and finishes his career tenth on the all-time games list at the Club.

Giansiracusa represented Australia in the 2005 International Rules series, was a rising star nominee in 2001 and finished third in the Club best and fairest award in 2010.
A highly respected figure at the Western Bulldogs, Giansiracusa will continue on as a coach at the Club from 2015 and beyond.

When Daniel Giansiracusa runs out for his final game on Sunday he will consolidate his spot as a Club great, with only nine players pulling on the Bulldogs colours more times in their career.

His value forward of centre will also go down in the record books, ranked seventh in the Club’s all-time goal kicking list across his 15 year career.

Giansiracusa has led the Bulldogs annual goals tally twice, and placed runner up in 2010 and 2011 behind Barry Hall.

In fact the forward has been among the Club’s top five goal kickers on seven occasions, including in just his second season of senior football - producing 25 goals from 22 games in 2002.

Taken at pick 32 in the 1999 AFL Draft, Giansiracusa is the third of his draft class to announce their retirement in 2014 - alongside Darren Glass (West Coast) and Johnathan Brown (Brisbane).

Only seven players remain from that year, including the Bulldogs own Robert Murphy.

Giansiracusa made his debut in round 11, 2001 against Adelaide, slotting a major with his first kick – finishing the game with two goals and giving Bulldogs fans a look into the future.

Four rounds later he was given a Rising Star nomination for a 15 disposal, nine mark, one goal performance and was awarded the Bulldogs Best First Year Player that year.

After making his debut, the forward did not miss another game until round 18 of 2003 and his durability continued into his career – playing at least 15 games in every season since.

Individually Giansiracusa has notched a number of elite performances across his time at the kennel, with his career bests including 36 disposals, 13 marks, five goals, ten tackles and four assists.

Giansiracusa currently ranks in the top 15 league-wide for both average and total goal assists across his career, contributing eight this season from 14 games.

Despite either starting with the green vest or being substituted off in 12 of his 14 games this season, the 32-year-old has still averaged over 2 score involvements per game.

28-08-2014, 06:04 PM
some more video highlights h (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2014-08-28/gias-career-highlights)ere

28-08-2014, 09:50 PM
I'm unlikely to get to the game due to ice hockey grand final which is weighing heavily on my mind. I really want to acknowledge the terrific Clubman Gia has been. Deserves a huge send off and a fair dinkum riot on the ground if those GWS flogs get in the way.

29-08-2014, 11:04 AM
It's great that it's Gia's farewell in a way because these dead in the water last round games that we've copped for the last 3 years have been brutal to be at otherwise.

29-08-2014, 12:32 PM
There was that melee last year and Will got his shirt torn off. That was kind of fun. :)

29-08-2014, 12:41 PM
There was that melee last year and Will got his shirt torn off. That was kind of fun. :)

I'm quietly hoping for a repeat... tear Gia's shirt maybe? ;)

29-08-2014, 09:57 PM

Oooh - yes please. Great he is in coaching team next year, gotta love the silver fox. Go Gia, hope you kick a bagful!!

30-08-2014, 12:41 AM
I'm unlikely to get to the game due to ice hockey grand final which is weighing heavily on my mind. I really want to acknowledge the terrific Clubman Gia has been. Deserves a huge send off and a fair dinkum riot on the ground if those GWS flogs get in the way.

Playing or watching ?
Either way slam someone into the wall and mention it was for Gia.:)

30-08-2014, 12:46 AM
Congratulations Daniel on a great career for our club. I wish him all the best with his new coaching role. Should be there on Sunday.

31-08-2014, 10:46 AM
Thanks Gia, you are everything that represents the bulldogs, thank you for all the highlights over the years, you are a ripper bloke.

What i will miss the most however is at the brownlow when they always manage to dick up reading out your name :)

All the best in the future.

31-08-2014, 10:50 AM
All the best to the future for Gia, a true champion of our club and deserves us to take him out with a big win.

31-08-2014, 10:55 AM
The wife nearly started crying this morning talking about Gia's last game.
She has warned the family she will be a mess today.

31-08-2014, 11:48 AM

Oooh - yes please. Great he is in coaching team next year, gotta love the silver fox. Go Gia, hope you kick a bagful!!

Is it the Rob Lowe looks or the George Clooney hair. :)

31-08-2014, 12:47 PM
Great article on Gia and his parents: h (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/bulldogs-veteran-daniel-giansiracusa-takes-the-final-step-of-a-familys-football-journey-20140829-109f8z.html)ere

31-08-2014, 01:38 PM
Is it the Rob Lowe looks or the George Clooney hair. :)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BwUrnCxIEAEawcm.jpg

31-08-2014, 02:04 PM
Great to watch the highlights and remember what a champ he's been for this club. Footy smart, hard working and a leader for our team. Really appreciate what he's meant to the club and glad he'll be around as a coach going forward. Thanks Gia. Good luck.