View Full Version : Lin Jong Signed on a Senior Contract till 2016

11-09-2014, 07:37 PM
Lin Jong has been officially upgraded as per the website, signing a contract for the next two seasons:

Third year rookie Lin Jong has earned a promotion to the senior list after agreeing to a deal that will keep him at the Club until the end of 2016.

The 21-year-old has enjoyed his best season to date, featuring in six AFL games and placing equal ninth in the VFL’s JJ Liston Trophy.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2014-09-11/rookie-jong-elevated

11-09-2014, 07:47 PM
Lin Jong has had a very good second half in the VFL side. Well done.

11-09-2014, 07:49 PM
Good stuff.

11-09-2014, 07:49 PM
Congratulations Lin, has worked hard to get a senior gig.

11-09-2014, 07:50 PM
Yep, good on him.

I thought he showed a bit this year as well and deserved an upgrade.

11-09-2014, 08:09 PM
If he continues to improve at the rate he's heading he should be a good player. I'm pleased to see his hard work rewarded.

11-09-2014, 08:10 PM
I'm ok with this.

11-09-2014, 08:12 PM
Good on him. Good story and I think he can be ok for us.

11-09-2014, 08:15 PM
Nice work Jongy, you are the most suicidal throw yourself at everything guy i've seen at our club in ages.

Only if every player at our club had the same attitude as you do.

11-09-2014, 08:41 PM
Sorry to be glass half empty, but Lin needs to improve his disposal.
Efforts great, and deserves a chance to prove himself.

11-09-2014, 08:42 PM
Does this mean the rest of the rookie list won't be staying on? I'd have thought they'd be released at the same time

11-09-2014, 08:45 PM
Sorry to be glass half empty, but Lin needs to improve his disposal.
Efforts great, and deserves a chance to prove himself.

The new Daniel Cross.

11-09-2014, 08:48 PM
Does this mean the rest of the rookie list won't be staying on? I'd have thought they'd be released at the same time

You would think so, although the highlights video was posted a while before the announcement so maybe they accidentally leaked Jong's promotion early and there is more to come.

11-09-2014, 09:08 PM
Probably the only rookie I could confidently make an argument for to stay on the list and feel certain we'd get a good return out of the decision. Disposal aside, he plays the game the way we would love to see become a gold standard for our Club. Physical, relentless attempts to apply pressure or win the footy. He'll improve and if he was the last bloke on the list we'd still be doing well.

11-09-2014, 09:44 PM

Not necessarily, the Austin & Redpath decisions may be based on who we get from trading & drafting

11-09-2014, 09:45 PM
good on ya Lin. well deserved and shown enough. fearless.

11-09-2014, 09:48 PM
This is Smith insurance.

11-09-2014, 09:52 PM
Happy for Lin. I admire a player who gets the most out of himself. There's a fair bit to work with too, good size, very quick, courageous, and can find a bit of the footy. If he can improve his disposal and game awareness he could have a very good career.

11-09-2014, 10:02 PM
Happy for Lin. I admire a player who gets the most out of himself. There's a fair bit to work with too, good size, very quick, courageous, and can find a bit of the footy. If he can improve his disposal and game awareness he could have a very good career.

Happy with the call. He's courageous as they come, moves well but does need to work on your points made Stache. Will look forward to following his progress.

11-09-2014, 11:01 PM
Not to sure if I'm happy with this, thought he has had a fair run and time to give someone else a crack.
He really needs to work in so many areas and improve, well he is a Doggie now and I hope you proves me wrong.

11-09-2014, 11:04 PM
This makes me happy.

11-09-2014, 11:06 PM
Just an observation, I want to read a re-signing thread that says how talented and skilled the player is. Not just how hard they are.

All the best LJ.

11-09-2014, 11:07 PM
Just an observation, I want to read a re-signing thread that says how talented and skilled the player is. Not just how hard they are.

All the best LJ.

Too lazy to link but check out the Bonti re-signing thread.

11-09-2014, 11:12 PM

Macca did say they were looking at two possible upgrades.

11-09-2014, 11:18 PM
Too lazy to link but check out the Bonti re-signing thread.

True. But the last few threads I've read are on Smith and Jong's attack on the contest. Just the last few I've read. I'd like more like Sir Bonts-a-lot.

12-09-2014, 01:54 AM

That was something that stood out to me in the QF at Whitten Oval. Saw him up close a few times and he's quite a big lad now.

12-09-2014, 02:08 AM
That was something that stood out to me in the QF at Whitten Oval. Saw him up close a few times and he's quite a big lad now.

Yep it's a real asset. 190cm and 90kg with probably another 7-8kg still to put on gives him a good chance to really bully at AFL level.

12-09-2014, 07:54 AM

Knows where the goals are too and heaven knows we need players like that. Good call on Jongy. I don't want too much more beef on him for fear of impacting on his dexterity and pace - another 2-3 kg of muscle will see him at 6'3 and over 90 kg which is the new template for the big bodied mid. At this size his pace will be and asset but it is a pity his skills let him down - hopefully he can improve this area. Coupled with his aggression he will hurt people.

12-09-2014, 08:12 AM
Good news.

What role do others see him being successful in, big bodied tagger? Ball winning inside mid?

doggies ftw
12-09-2014, 09:40 AM
Don't think he's a bad kick just probably lacks the decision making required at this stage but considering last year was a write off due to a broken leg his rate of improvement has been huge.

12-09-2014, 09:43 AM
Good news.

What role do others see him being successful in, big bodied tagger? Ball winning inside mid?

I think he will have his stints in the middle and probably play on the HBF as well. Seems to play a run with player.

12-09-2014, 09:46 AM
Good on Ling. Look forward to his continual improvement.

12-09-2014, 11:27 AM
Congratulations Lin! Can't fault his effort and application. Let's hope his skill set comes on over the next 2 years.

12-09-2014, 11:32 AM
Is he 190? listed as 188 on our website?

Jong has size and speed, but because his footy smarts are coming off a low base, can he use it offensively? Does he know where to run to get the ball in space? Can he take a mark? Kicking will improve through sheer repetition, but smarts takes longer.

12-09-2014, 07:56 PM
Don't think he's a bad kick just probably lacks the decision making required at this stage but considering last year was a write off due to a broken leg his rate of improvement has been huge.

I don't see his accuracy by foot as being any worse than JJ's.

More than happy that he's been upgraded.

12-09-2014, 08:25 PM
I like The Jong upgrade because it gives those on the Footscray list a solid indication that there's a path onto the AFL list if they work hard at it. He's a good goer, too. He's relatively new to the game, so his skill set will improve. Some people have bad skills because they simply don't have the motor skills or coordination. In Jong's case, it might simply be because he hasn't had the 10,000 hours they say is needed to master an activity.

He's not a kid who'll die wondering. He'll be a fan favourite in years to come.

12-09-2014, 09:47 PM
This is ok, as long as there are about 10 other list changes (incl rookies)

12-09-2014, 10:00 PM
Not sure they could make 10 list changes in one hit

12-09-2014, 10:37 PM
Not sure they could make 10 list changes in one hit

rookies,3, and 7 senior. 2 have retired, so 5 more senior list changes.

13-09-2014, 12:38 AM
rookies,3, and 7 senior. 2 have retired, so 5 more senior list changes.

Goodes, Howard, Fuller, Pearce, Tutt and Higgins leaves there is another one.

13-09-2014, 01:32 AM

Maybe Boyd might join the list.

13-09-2014, 08:10 AM
Maybe Boyd might join the list.

Immediately after signing a one year contract? Unlikely.

13-09-2014, 02:58 PM

Love your work, nothing controversial about that list - you could even keep King Tutt and get your 5 senior delists/RFA departures.

13-09-2014, 04:29 PM
Is he 190? listed as 188 on our website?

Jong has size and speed, but because his footy smarts are coming off a low base, can he use it offensively? Does he know where to run to get the ball in space? Can he take a mark? Kicking will improve through sheer repetition, but smarts takes longer.

He can definitely take a mark.

13-09-2014, 07:02 PM
After today I'm not sure 2 years is long enough. A 10 year Buddy style deal would sit fine with me. He was amazing.

13-09-2014, 07:22 PM
If other players showed the improvement Jong has shown in his short time playing AFL we'd be playing finals. He's a competitive beast, a powerful athlete with pace and work rate. He just needs to develop his poise under pressure and get some penetration with his kicks.

13-09-2014, 08:41 PM
He was very good today

13-09-2014, 09:04 PM
He was very good today

Just about our best.

13-09-2014, 09:16 PM
Go Jongy!! He was really good today, incl. disposal. Here's hoping that translates to AFL. I like the comparisons with Crossy, although hoping he kicks more goals.

13-09-2014, 10:10 PM
Took a couple of decent marks in packs today as well

14-09-2014, 06:21 PM
After today I'm not sure 2 years is long enough. A 10 year Buddy style deal would sit fine with me. He was amazing.

Yeah. We've got to temper this enthusiasm with the acceptance that VFL is a significant step down. That being said, Lin looked a cut above anyone else on the field. He was fast, strong and brave and used it well.

14-09-2014, 07:48 PM
Yeah. We've got to temper this enthusiasm with the acceptance that VFL is a significant step down. That being said, Lin looked a cut above anyone else on the field. He was fast, strong and brave and used it well.

Get where your coming from, but my counter arguments would be:

He's only 21 and still effectively learning the game. Still has plenty of upside to work with.
It doesn't matter what level you are at, ability to step up in finals is massive. He's done that.

14-09-2014, 08:27 PM
He was outstanding yesterday, the best I've seen him play!

14-09-2014, 08:50 PM
He was outstanding yesterday, the best I've seen him play!

Spot on.

Where l was standing yesterday everyone was mighty impressed with him.

14-09-2014, 09:04 PM

I understand it's the next level but it's a level he struggled at just twelve months age. Yesterday he owned it.

If he can improve his kicking there's no reason why he can't reproduce the form he showed yesterday in the AFL team. Hopefully in twelve months time we will be talking about how working so hard on his disposal over the preseason payed off big time.

14-09-2014, 09:06 PM
Get where your coming from, but my counter arguments would be:

He's only 21 and still effectively learning the game. Still has plenty of upside to work with.
It doesn't matter what level you are at, ability to step up in finals is massive. He's done that.

Why are you presenting a counter argument when we're both on the same page?

14-09-2014, 09:21 PM
We are in furious agreement.

14-09-2014, 09:25 PM
Good on LJ. Watched the game on telly yesterday and he was great. Jones also I thought was very good. If only he can find some more consistency at AFL level but his nonetheless a good VFL player.

14-09-2014, 09:45 PM
Anyone got an update on Jongs height and weight?

14-09-2014, 09:55 PM

After WOOF pumping up his tyres over the past 24 hours (rightfully so) I'd say 195cm and 95kg.

14-09-2014, 09:57 PM
After WOOF pumping up his tyres over the past 24 hours (rightfully so) I'd say 195cm and 95kg.

Is that an ideal weight for a midfield type of player do you think BT?

14-09-2014, 10:02 PM
Is that an ideal weight for a midfield type of player do you think BT?

Absolutely ED. I watched a fair bit of Danny Delre in Superrules over the years and he's a Bulldog legend.

14-09-2014, 10:03 PM

Jong is 85kg and 190cm tall. Good size for a midfielder.

14-09-2014, 10:06 PM
Absolutely ED. I watched a fair bit of Danny Delre in Superrules over the years and he's a Bulldog legend.

Danny Delre would he be a player of that type be great for our team today. Never saw him play myself.

14-09-2014, 10:08 PM
Danny Delre would he be a player of that type be great for our team today. Never saw him play myself.

Good player Eastie, I think you're right though.

14-09-2014, 10:11 PM
Danny would be at the pointy end where you get to take shots for goal. He was built to kick goals.

14-09-2014, 10:12 PM
Good player Eastie, I think you're right though.

Yeah certainly know who he is but didn't see him play probably because I was born in 89 :)

14-09-2014, 10:18 PM
Danny Del Re kicked 7 goals in the first half of a final. We were 6 goals in front back in the day when it was inconceivable that you would surrender a 6 goal lead but we'd pretty much frittered it away by half time. We lost of course.

14-09-2014, 10:24 PM
Danny Del Re kicked 7 goals in the first half of a final. We were 6 goals in front back in the day when it was inconceivable that you would surrender a 6 goal lead but we'd pretty much frittered it away by half time. We lost of course.

Could clunk them in Superfools after retirement too. Good bloke too.

14-09-2014, 10:29 PM
Why are you presenting a counter argument when we're both on the same page?

Must have misread your post.

What I was getting at is that at any level, all the ability in the world doesn't matter if you can't stand up when it counts. Look at Ballantyne and Pearce in last year's GF. If at 21 Lin was able to turn it on the way he did, irrespective of the level, that can only be a good thing for player and club.

15-09-2014, 09:33 AM
I'm hoping Jong can keep it up this week at Etihad. If he plays like he did on the weekend (he was my pick for BOG) I'd say we've got more silverware coming.

15-09-2014, 10:10 AM
Has had a huge last 6 weeks, Jongy. 5 VFL and 1 AFL game in there.

Last VFL 5 games

28 poss./ 2 goals/ 8 tackles
27 poss/ 5 tackles
25 poss/ 2 goals/ 5 tackles
14 poss/ 1 goal / 5 tackles
26 poss/ 2 goals / 5 tackles.

Averaging 24/ 1.4 goals/ 5.6 tackles.

15-09-2014, 10:22 AM
The most exciting part of his game was the marking for me. If he can become a threat in the air then it opens a Pandora's box of opportunities.

15-09-2014, 09:46 PM
Jong took some ripper marks on Saturday and seemed to read the flight of the ball really well. eg the last goal he kicked when Tory and his opponent both misjudged and Lin said thanks for that.....GOAL!

22-09-2014, 01:15 PM
Jong is 85kg and 190cm tall. Good size for a midfielder.

188 according to dogs website - big enough, particularly with his athleticism.

Remember , force = mass x acceleration.

22-09-2014, 02:40 PM
188 according to dogs website - big enough, particularly with his athleticism.

Remember , force = mass x acceleration.
In Jong's case:
force = mass x acceleration x unbending intent to the power of 2.

22-09-2014, 10:52 PM
I reckon he will get even stronger over the next preseason too.

22-09-2014, 11:00 PM
In Jong's case:
force = mass x acceleration x unbending intent to the power of 2.

I think you mean

Energy = mass x cracking in squared

23-09-2014, 12:20 PM
Loved how he got hit hard and late after a mark (got a 50m pen) got up as if he got hit by a pillow. Hope he gets more AFL game time next year as he is becoming one of my favourties.

23-09-2014, 12:45 PM
Loved how he got hit hard and late after a mark (got a 50m pen) got up as if he got hit by a pillow. Hope he gets more AFL game time next year as he is becoming one of my favourties.

Almost looked as though he had a smile on his face.

23-09-2014, 03:00 PM
Almost looked as though he had a smile on his face.

Yeah, he did. A nice bemused sort of smile as if he had noticed something but he wasn't to worried about it. And he'd just got the 50 so there was that to smile about too.