http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/news/2014-10-15/ryan-griffen-becomes-a-giant

15-10-2014, 05:11 PM
Brilliant news, delighted to hear it

Welcome Tom - super to have you on board

This was the only acceptable outcome

The right call was made. Great for our club going forward - a pivotal moment in our history hopefully. Will be something else having a big gorilla forward to kick the ball to for the next 5 years. Finally we get what we've always wanted. Stoked.

You Beauty!!!!!

We cough up Griffen, salary cap assistance and pick 6 for Boyd. Massive deal. Congratulations to Peter Gordon, Jason McCartney and all involved.

Biggest trade we have done.

15-10-2014, 05:12 PM
Sanity prevails!

15-10-2014, 05:12 PM
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssss!

15-10-2014, 05:13 PM

Never really thought it would happen, to be honest.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Wow pick 6 and paying some salary!

Do we get any steak knives at all?

I'm stoked to have Boyd. This is huge.

15-10-2014, 05:14 PM
We've paid overs but that was always going to be the case. Very happy.

15-10-2014, 05:15 PM
We cough up Griffen, salary cap assistance and pick 6 for Boyd. Massive deal. Congratulations to Peter Gordon, Jason McCartney and all involved.

Its the boldest trade we've ever made, but we will emerge from this better

The team deserves a pat but continue the good work fellas

Holy crap. This makes up for all the shit last week.

Wòooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bz9rN8BCYAAS413.jpg

15-10-2014, 05:16 PM
We got him!

We paid overs but we are the winner because we just got rid of a bloke who didn't want to play for us.

Thanks to me for making it happen.

Great stuff, so happy with this under the circumstances.

15-10-2014, 05:17 PM
Thanks to me for making it happen.
and me - those tweets were spot on.

Membership sales, here we come!

Good on you BT, Bulldog prophet.

15-10-2014, 05:18 PM

Don't mind the salary cap relief. Next year we can only pay Boyd his rookie salary I think so we'll have plenty to spare.

boof
big brave bold Boyd

Wow...

15-10-2014, 05:19 PM
What a full forward line: Stringer, Boyd, Dahlhaus. Unstoppable.

and me - those tweets were spot on.

You might find an interesting tweeter behind it BAD.

Just wow

Jam Donuts
Fantastic result, this is the moment this club has been looking for, I hope the admin make the most of the marketing opportunity, I am excited!!!!

15-10-2014, 05:20 PM
Good boy. He probably missed his family, friends and environment like crazy.

All that draft analysis for nothing eh? :D

15-10-2014, 05:20 PM
Someone please hose me off, I am suddenly so excited for next year

15-10-2014, 05:21 PM
Its the boldest trade we've ever made, but we will emerge from this better

The team deserves a pat but continue the good work fellas

Dan Lonergan has said we shouldn't have given up pick 6.

Great work by the club. Despite a lot of people questioning our footy department, we have stared down both Essendon and GWS in the last two seasons and got the deals for the players we wanted.

The KPF we've been hoping for....$1m a year....19 years old....gave up our captain and first draft pick........no pressure on the young bloke.

yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! new avatar for me

Group hug everybody!

Is Bonts or Botd my favourite. Or Jack. Or Hrovat.

A) All

Dan Lonergan has said we shouldn't have given up pick 6.

Great work by the club. Despite a lot of people questioning our footy department, we have stared down both Essendon and GWS in the last two seasons and got the deals for the players we wanted.

Curl up and die you miserable little prick.

15-10-2014, 05:22 PM
Well, lets see what GWS has to tip in to get Petracca. Im betting roughly...#4 and #6.

Turned what was a crap position into solid gold. well done to all involved in making this happen, we are going to have the best midfielder and best forward on the game in a few years, bonti and Boyd, yehaa

All in all very happy. However, one Boyd doesn't maketh a team and I'm a bit disappointed we could not engineer an outcome that still gave us a 1st round pick. We still need top end talent all over our list.

15-10-2014, 05:23 PM

Happy with the deal GVG? Rapt we got him but have we given them too much?

15-10-2014, 05:24 PM
Bit slow on the uptake Doggies. Griff is all over their website and we've got yesterday's news. C'mon sell the product we gave up so much for!!!

15-10-2014, 05:25 PM
What number does he get?

Result! Yep, paid overs, but agree with it entirely - certainly made lemonade this week.

Bit slow on the uptake Doggies. Griff is all over their website and we've got yesterday's news. C'mon sell the product we gave up so much for!!!

To be fair, they were anticipating the trade 6 months ago.

15-10-2014, 05:26 PM
What number does he get?

31 or 7

15-10-2014, 05:26 PM
What number does he get?

16, new and improved

15-10-2014, 05:27 PM
To be fair, they were anticipating the trade 6 months ago.

Doesn't take much to do a bit of photo shop and upload an image. We've had 4 days. They should have contacted Rocket Science :D

Happy with the deal GVG? Rapt we got him but have we given them too much?
You pay for quality. Not sure we could have gotten much more back for him but maybe there is another trade to be completed.

WTF, just heard the fantastic news. Thanks those flogs who said we were a 1000:1 chance ...

15-10-2014, 05:28 PM
I think we have overpaid, but happy to land Boyd.

I think we should have received a pick back from GWS (even if a third rounder).

Maybe paying some of Griff's salary was a requirement so we meet our minimum spend.

15-10-2014, 05:29 PM
Excellent news. Welcome to the dogs Tom. I hope that we will crack 35.000 members next years. Now we need to look forward and see what we can get in the draft to strengthen our back line.

15-10-2014, 05:29 PM
Great result. Pumped.

We may have payed a bit overs...but he was the numer uno draft pick only last year!

15-10-2014, 05:30 PM

Crameri as well.

15-10-2014, 05:30 PM
Congratulations to Peter and the team. We were challenged, and our recruiters have done an amazing job in response.
We now have a young, gigantic Bulldog who wants to be here. That for me is very important.
A player of that type wants to be at your club, you know you are on a good thing.

It's such a shame that Brendan will be watching from afar, wondering what could have been, if only he had been around for a bit longer.

The first time Boyd takes a grab and kicks a big one, if I'm at the ground, I'm going to shout 'McCartney!'.

15-10-2014, 05:31 PM
Wow ... just wow. Massive deal.

Every cloud has a silver lining. Let's hope this one is golden.

Maybe Jones will change his mind now because he could play second fiddle :)

WTF, just heard the fantastic news. Thanks those flogs who said we were a 1000:1 chance ...

Yeah, go to hell Robbo .... Didn't he say there is no chance ...

15-10-2014, 05:32 PM
Well played Peter Gordon, well played.
Check...........mate!

Club is going to have to give Tom a lot of support. He is going to have enormous pressure on him.....more than any other 19 year old.

You guys are mean. This isn't true. Somebody pinch me. Somebody tell me I'm not dreaming. Somebody tell me we didn't just offload the AFL's worst captain and pick 6 for a number one draft pick and gorilla full forward.

15-10-2014, 05:34 PM
read this

Jake Stringer ‏@JStringer9 (https://twitter.com/JStringer9)
Welcome to the kennel Tom Boyd! Very very exciting can't wait to get into 2015! #BeMoreBulldog (https://twitter.com/hashtag/BeMoreBulldog?src=hash)

15-10-2014, 05:34 PM
Club is going to have to give Tom a lot of support. He is going to have enormous pressure on him.....more than any other 19 year old.

Off the ground you're right. On the ground i think the level-headed young men he wants to play with will devour your Scott Thompsons of the world.

15-10-2014, 05:35 PM
I just hope WOOF is not crashing because of excessive forum traffics :)

Apparently it was Jay Clarke on SEN. Whoever he is ...

BOYD, BOYD, BOYD.

And he looks like Adonis to boot !! Imagine how many will turn up for Family Day?

Well done JMac and Dogs.

We've paid a lot however I think it will be worth it - membership sales, publicity, hopefully improved morale within club knowing we can land a big fish etc.

15-10-2014, 05:36 PM
Oh WOW !

we needed this to happen. Maybe we paid a bit much, I don't care. Boyd was the no 1 draft pick by a fair margin just 12 months ago. There's something so exciting about having landed this one.

Now to get the right coach...

15-10-2014, 05:38 PM
Oh WOW !

we needed this to happen. Maybe we paid a bit much, I don't care. Boyd was the no 1 draft pick by a fair margin just 12 months ago. There's something so exciting about having landed this one.

Now to get the right coach...

This should help us get the right coach.

15-10-2014, 05:39 PM
BOYD, BOYD, BOYD.

And he looks like Adonis to boot !! Imagine how many will turn up for Family Day?

Well done JMac and Dogs.

We've paid a lot however I think it will be worth it - membership sales, publicity, hopefully improved morale within club knowing we can land a big fish etc.
Yeah the Ms Bulldogs are even luckier than us Mr Bulldogs.
Soooo gooooood, I'm going out of my brain. Well achieved club. I love youse all.

15-10-2014, 05:40 PM
Boyd has signed a 7 year deal!

15-10-2014, 05:41 PM
I just hope WOOF is not crashing because of excessive forum traffics :)

I'm ready to up the plan again :) Actually I might log on and check this :)

7 year contract. Wow!!

7 year deal announced by Pickers on trade radio...this is virtually unprecedented

Poor Zaine, all hype for Boyd now.

15-10-2014, 05:42 PM
7 year deal for Boyd, wow the pessimist in me is hoping this doesn't end tragically

https://twitter.com/jacksonmacrae/status/522258286301548544
Jack McRae welcomes him to the kennel :)

Well played Peter Gordon, well played.
Check...........mate!

Yes Peter had plenty of doubters but he played his poker hand so well. Congrats to all involved. It is great to have Tommy in the red, white & blue.

It's a good result for Mission and their faith in us. We hit a downward spiral ever since the Spaniard joined us... until now. They'll be selling tachoes until they're coming out of people's orifices.

15-10-2014, 05:43 PM
Poor Zaine, all hype for Boyd now.

Have you told Zaine he has been dumped? :)

15-10-2014, 05:44 PM
What nickname can we give him we already have a Boydy

15-10-2014, 05:45 PM
Have you told Zaine he has been dumped? :)

Not dumped for me, equal a top the pedestal of the best under 23 talent since Brisbane Lions.

All in all very happy. However, one Boyd doesn't maketh a team and I'm a bit disappointed we could not engineer an outcome that still gave us a 1st round pick. We still need top end talent all over our list.

We'll have a top 5 pick next year imo

Tom the Tank

15-10-2014, 05:46 PM
The KPF we've been hoping for....$1m a year....19 years old....gave up our captain and first draft pick........no pressure on the young bloke.
Tom embraced the no 1 pick expectations all throughout his draft year. I think he'll be ok ;)

15-10-2014, 05:47 PM
Great news, outstanding bold move from the club!

15-10-2014, 05:47 PM

Brad?

15-10-2014, 05:49 PM
#beMORElikeBOYD

15-10-2014, 05:49 PM
http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2014-10-15/tom-boyd-2014-highlights

15-10-2014, 05:50 PM
Haha, his own forum category :D

15-10-2014, 05:52 PM
Haha, his own forum category :D

First class all the way. :)

Well done to JMac, PG, and Simon Garlick for getting such a big deal done.

Also, I think we should call out Liam Pickering for how well he handled the situation to ensure we had the best possible chance to get the deal done. He could not have played it any better.

Welcome to the Bulldogs Tom. I hope you have the career we all think you will.

Yes! We got him! Welcome Tom Boyd!

15-10-2014, 05:53 PM
It's a good result for Mission and their faith in us. We hit a downward spiral ever since the Spaniard joined us... until now. They'll be selling tachoes until they're coming out of people's orifices.

Mexican actually !! Ole, ole, ole, ariba, ariba.

Tried their chilli & lime corn chips - absolutely yummy. Hard to purchase a often sold out.

15-10-2014, 05:53 PM
Can i now mention that a former STAR Bulldog told me, early this year, that there is a lot of worry about Griffo's back being shot? Rumours of a slipped disc?

Or would that be petty?

15-10-2014, 05:54 PM
Can i now mention that a former STAR Bulldog told me, early this year, that there is a lot of worry about Griffo's back being shot? Rumours of a slipped disc?

Or would that be petty?

wasn't the Hawk was it.

15-10-2014, 05:56 PM
Are Tom and Matthew Boyd twins? (Apologies to Schwarzenegger and DeVito)

15-10-2014, 05:57 PM
Great result ... Well done to all concerned at the Bulldogs !!

As to his number? Please give him number 7 ... 7 year deal? Kismet really :cool:

We now desperately need another first round pick or very early round two.

15-10-2014, 05:57 PM
new avatar..(I think)

15-10-2014, 05:58 PM
Are Tom and Matthew Boyd twins? (Apologies to Schwarzenegger and DeVito)

Father - Son

It's overs but it had to be done. The salary part doesn't concern me. It'll help keep the cap at it's height for 2015.

oh dear

Or would that be petty?
No, that would be informative.

Petty would be saying "haha GWS you plastic bunch of soulless AFL suckholes" and giggling like a little kid.

Oh...

15-10-2014, 06:03 PM
And now to pour a glass of wine. Or 5 ...

15-10-2014, 06:06 PM
"Celebrate good times come on" :) :) :)

15-10-2014, 06:09 PM
That is excellent news, we payed too much but its worth it. Very exciting!

15-10-2014, 06:12 PM
Gee can I say it, a week is a long time in football.
You little @!$#ing ripper, paid overs but as far as a future sits it could be the best deal we have ever made.
I'm one happy supporter.

15-10-2014, 06:15 PM
I imagine securing Tom Boyd would feel a little like buying a new Ferrari. You might initially feel a little buyers remorse thinking that perhaps you lashed out and paid too much and were a little bit too extravagant. But once you drive that bad boy, wow wee, worth every cent!;)

15-10-2014, 06:18 PM
I knew changing my avatar would work.

I'd just like to thank bornadog and bulldogtragic for making this happen.

This is it boys and girls. This is our turning point.

15-10-2014, 06:19 PM
For seven years.:D:D

15-10-2014, 06:19 PM
In the spirit of the Tom Boyd Indulgence
http://www.theage.com.au/interactive/2013/fiveseasons/Boyd.html

15-10-2014, 06:20 PM
I can't stop smiling.

15-10-2014, 06:21 PM
Wowee. Massive. Absolutely massive.

We've offloaded a disgruntled player and a first round pick fire a once in a generation forward.

If the saying is true that KPFs take a while to develop then this kid will be extraordinary.

Well done to Jmac for getting the job done before the deadline and for Pickering's support

15-10-2014, 06:23 PM
Bold move, but one we had to make.

Sold us some hope which is important.

15-10-2014, 06:24 PM
I can't stop smiling.

AS Principal of a primary school, my reaction to shout profanities along the lines of "You F@#%ing Beauty at the top of my lungs whilst in my office, was probably not the most professional way to react to the news.

But you know what ... I don't care :D

15-10-2014, 06:24 PM
Thinking about this i don't think we did pay overs for him.

The market for young extremely talented (even if unproven) KP forwards is extemely thin. We were in a unique position to leverage a high class (older) player who wanted to leave the club. There's no guarentee it's goign to work out with Boyd but we've put ourselves in a position for a potentially huge pay-off.

Well done to the club.

15-10-2014, 06:26 PM

Yep. He said it several times on Monday on SEN. He was very dismissive.

15-10-2014, 06:30 PM
I imagine securing Tom Boyd would feel a little like buying a new Ferrari. You might initially feel a little buyers remorse thinking that perhaps you lashed out and paid too much and were a little bit too extravagant. But once you drive that bad boy, wow wee, worth every cent!;)
Two months ago I bought a Lexus - exactly the same feeling

15-10-2014, 06:30 PM
Sorry, but it had to be done

It might seem crazy what I'm about to say
Sunshine she's here, you can take a break
I'm a hot air balloon that could go to space
With the air, like I don't care baby by the way

Because I'm happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I'm happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I'm happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I'm happy
Clap along if you feel like that's what you wanna do

15-10-2014, 06:32 PM
Very happy puppy tonight.

And the icing on the cake -- he's hot! Whew, a Gia replacement… just in time...

15-10-2014, 06:33 PM
Very happy puppy tonight.

And the icing on the cake -- he's hot! Whew, a Gia replacement… just in time...

Breaking News: Tom Boyd to play Superman in the Dogs forward line in 2015!

15-10-2014, 06:33 PM
It's actually quite funny. I lay down with my son for a Nanna nap while listening to Barrett and Wallace on my head phones talk about this trade and the ramifications if it didn't happen. During that time we both dozed off. I woke up and checked my phone and saw 8 text messages. I knew it had to be something big.

15-10-2014, 06:36 PM
Boyd and Stringer together for their entire careers. Holy F%#@%!!

It just occurred to me. How often do you get the timing like THAT right?

15-10-2014, 06:40 PM
Everything we could want in a player; tall, strong, *dreamy*

Great work by the club. This is as strong a comeback from the week that was that any of us could have imagined.

CatFishPig
15-10-2014, 06:42 PM
That is excellent news, we payed too much but its worth it. Very exciting!

I agree we paid overs, but having a big guy to centre our forward line around is what we have been screaming out for..

15-10-2014, 06:45 PM
My excitement is building. Bring on 2015.

Don't even mind that we don't have a coach.

15-10-2014, 06:46 PM
A huge investment by the club. For those members undecided about joining up next year you just need to.

15-10-2014, 07:08 PM
My excitement is building. Bring on 2015.

Don't even mind that we don't have a coach.

I actually completely forgot we didn't have a coach until I read that...

15-10-2014, 07:10 PM
Sorry, but it had to be done

It might seem crazy what I'm about to say
Sunshine she's here, you can take a break
I'm a hot air balloon that could go to space
With the air, like I don't care baby by the way

Because I'm happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I'm happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I'm happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I'm happy
Clap along if you feel like that's what you wanna do

Wow Gary, this deal has brought out a whole new side of you I never realise existed :):):)

15-10-2014, 07:14 PM
Everything we could want in a player; tall, strong, *dreamy*

Great work by the club. This is as strong a comeback from the week that was that any of us could have imagined.
Ha ha ha.

This is easily the funniest thing I've read so far.

Also, holy shit. We got Tom Boyd.

Also, I am surprisingly emotional over this. Anyone else?

15-10-2014, 07:23 PM
Ha ha ha.

This is easily the funniest thing I've read so far.

Also, holy shit. We got Tom Boyd.

Also, I am surprisingly emotional over this. Anyone else?

I still can't stop smiling. I just went to the supermarket near Whitten Oval to get dinner and people are high fiving one another there.

15-10-2014, 07:30 PM
I listened to 13 days of AFL trade radio crap......
I have been so unproductive at work its not funny, I've done a solid two hours of work all week...
I've changed key meetings at work outside of trade radio time just in case some news pops up...
I got in trouble from the misses over the past few days for constantly checking twitter, WOOF, instagram, Facebook, the other BF place, even in the early hours of the morning.
I go to one meeting I couldnt postpone AND BANG, we land the trade of a life time......

ITS ALL WORTH IT, HAPPY BOYD DAY DOGGIES

15-10-2014, 07:32 PM
I listened to 13 days of AFL trade radio crap......
I have been so unproductive at work its not funny, I've done a solid two hours of work all week...
I've changed key meetings at work outside of trade radio time just in case some news pops up...
I got in trouble from the misses over the past few days for constantly checking twitter, WOOF, instagram, Facebook, the other BF place, even in the early hours of the morning.
I go to one meeting I couldnt postpone AND BANG, we land the trade of a life time......

ITS ALL WORTH IT, HAPPY BOYD DAY DOGGIES

Pretty much exactly in the same boat mate. I've woken up at 2am most nights since we lost Griff and have checked WOOF to see if a late night deal has been done ;)

15-10-2014, 07:33 PM
I still can't stop smiling. I just went to the supermarket near Whitten Oval to get dinner and people are high fiving one another there.

Are you serious? That is awesome.

15-10-2014, 07:34 PM
Awesome Doggies!

Massive lift for everyone involved and it will also help the club to get the best coach available now.

15-10-2014, 07:38 PM
YOU LITTLE BEAUTY.....!!!!
I can finally un-cross my fingers that have been crossed ever since Tom said "Bulldogs"
I think the boss will be happy that I can finally earn a living and do some work instead of wasting my days away listening to Trade Radio...:D
The change of emotions in the last week or so is unbeleivable.

15-10-2014, 07:39 PM
Wow unbelievable. Was hoping like hell it would happen but never thought it actually would. What a coup. What an unbelievable coup. Pinch me if I am dreaming.

So last years draft we netted picks 1 and 4. WOW.

15-10-2014, 07:51 PM
Wow unbelievable. Was hoping like hell it would happen but never thought it actually would. What a coup. What an unbelievable coup. Pinch me if I am dreaming.

So last years draft we netted picks 1 and 4. WOW.

Great way to put ... I love your thinking; but on the flip side our first live pick is mid twenties now.

15-10-2014, 07:57 PM
This is great news.
As we all know big forwards don't grow on trees and are very hard to come by. Some may think we payed overs but l am sure we will look back on this moment in time as a coup by the Dogs that set the team up for a serious premiership tilt in the next few years.

15-10-2014, 07:59 PM
St Kilda might end up with picks 4, 6 & 7 here.
I'd swap pick 1 for that.

On the same note, we basically gave up picks 4 & 6 & perhaps another decent player or pick 7 for Boyd....
He'd want to be performing by 2016!

Of course, I wish him all the best and hope the club doesn't turn him into a Jack Watts by expecting too much too soon. I'm pleased, but can't help thinking the ultimate nirvana would've been to leave the offer on the table, take the picks for Griffen and then grab him next year. I couldn't see anyone else matching our offer or our young list... Risky as some think it was.

15-10-2014, 08:02 PM
Factor in what it will do for memberships. Anyone at the club will tell you, these big men are by far the most popular among kids. Barry Hall was a huge draw-card for us.

15-10-2014, 08:04 PM
The kid has more mental toughness in his little finger than Jack Watts and add melbournes terrible development compared to us it isn't possible to get a Jack Watts.

15-10-2014, 08:06 PM
If the value for pick one this year is something like pick 4 and pick 6 and we accept that Griffin is probably worth an early 1st round pick with something thrown in, then Boyd (pick one) for Griff and 6 is about par. Paying Griffins salary and missing out on a pick in the teens or 20s tips it in GWS' favour but then if Boyd is supposedly a standout 1 pick, once in a generation player it begins to even out again.

I initially though it was a fair ways over but I'm feeling pretty good about it now. Especially considering some of that money given to GWS will be partly recouped by the memberships/merchandise that Boyd and renewed hope bring back

15-10-2014, 08:06 PM
Out of curiosity, any one been over to the Giants board on BF, is it ok to go and throw a few stones ;)

15-10-2014, 08:10 PM
Factor in what it will do for memberships. Anyone at the club will tell you, these big men are by far the most popular among kids. Barry Hall was a huge draw-card for us.

There are three key things that make this an absolutely exceptional trade.

1. You have highlighted his marketing ability. The fact that he will draw members to the club. Increase our bottom line. Make our club a profitable entity moving forward;

2. The ability to attract other players to our club. Suddenly we are a club that players will want to go to - maybe too late for this year but certainly next year and thereafter. With Boyd, Stringer, Macrae, Bonts, Dahl, Hunter, Honeychurch etc etc we are suddenly a place of the future

3. Tom Boyd the footballer. We haven't had a young KPF since Chris Grant. This is a once in a generation footballer. This kid has it all and with half a dozen options up forward we are going to be hard to defend. This may not be next year but by 2016 heading into 2017 we will be the best attacking team in the league.

15-10-2014, 08:11 PM
St Kilda might end up with picks 4, 6 & 7 here.
I'd swap pick 1 for that.

On the same note, we basically gave up picks 4 & 6 & perhaps another decent player or pick 7 for Boyd....
He'd want to be performing by 2016!

Of course, I wish him all the best and hope the club doesn't turn him into a Jack Watts by expecting too much too soon. I'm pleased, but can't help thinking the ultimate nirvana would've been to leave the offer on the table, take the picks for Griffen and then grab him next year. I couldn't see anyone else matching our offer or our young list... Risky as some think it was.

Absolutely risky, but we've thrown a Hail Mary from one end to the other, and the star player just has to hang on to it!

Supposedly we were gonna trade pick 7 and "someone" in a desperate attempt to get an early pick, to secure a key forward. So basically now we traded 7 and Griffen for a better option than what we could have got. Makes sense to me.

If we did nothing our humble club would continue to bounce along nowhere. Memberships and sponsorships would be down. There was an article in the Financial Review a month ago talking about the Buddy Factor. Their Corporate Sponsorship is at an all time high, their average attendance per home match is up 10,000, and they are the highest rating team on Fox Footy. In terms of $$$ they are well ahead.

15-10-2014, 08:12 PM
We have only really traded one similar player of his age in the history of our club. Some kid from Daylesford, what was his name again? :)

I would love to see Bazza come back to the club as a forward coach and help Tom reach his potential.

W W Biscuit
15-10-2014, 08:16 PM

Know what you mean. I'm on the other side of the world and my partner cracked it because I was waking up several times a night to check the AFL website and message boards. I said, "This is trade period. You just don't understand how big that is." :D

15-10-2014, 08:18 PM
We have only really traded one similar player of his age in the history of our club. Some kid from Daylesford, what was his name again? :)

I would love to see Bazza come back to the club as a forward coach and help Tom reach his potential.

Chris Grant a True Bulldog.
How many games did he play again?

http://s21.postimg.org/szltusr2f/DSCF3432.jpg (http://postimage.org/) picture sharing (http://postimage.org/)

15-10-2014, 08:24 PM
Amid the high-fiving, I can only wonder what Brendan feels right now, listening to the news on radio or watching it on TV.
He did his job and developed our kids so that blue chip players, like Tom Boyd, want to be here.
Part of Tom moving to us is the hard work and passion he gave to the club.

I honestly think we could have turned it around with Brendan. He and the club made a decision, a true decision, but that's not to say he couldn't have made it work. If he were to have stayed, that may have also been a way forward, and we could have ended up with Tom anyway.

Still, he played his part in helping Tom get to us in the way its happened. He lifted the professionalism of the organization.

Mate, I am truly sorry the way it unfolded for you as a person. Wish you all the best.

15-10-2014, 08:26 PM
Upgrade Redpath, then play T. Boyd, Redpath and Campbell forward.
Monster Forward Line....!!!!

15-10-2014, 08:27 PM
I can only wonder what Brendan feels right now, listening to the news on radio or watching it on TV.
He did his job and developed our kids so that blue chip players, like Tom Boyd, want to be here.

Mate, I am truly sorry the way it unfolded. Wish you all the best.

Same here, with a young list I could see him having a great development year for those youngsters in 2015.

15-10-2014, 08:40 PM
Follow

Mark RobinsonVerified account
‏@Robbo_heraldsun
Dogs lost captain, coach, no.6, integrity, respect and generally lost their way .. And they bring in Boyd on a mill a year... #goodluck

https://twitter.com/Robbo_heraldsun/status/522260361987100672

Anyone with twitter want to abuse this flog?

15-10-2014, 08:43 PM
Follow

‏@Robbo_heraldsun
Dogs lost captain, coach, no.6, integrity, respect and generally lost their way .. And they bring in Boyd on a mill a year... #goodluck

Already done it.

15-10-2014, 08:43 PM
Amid the high-fiving, I can only wonder what Brendan feels right now, listening to the news on radio or watching it on TV.

I honestly think we could have turned it around with Brendan. He and the club made a decision, a true decision, but that's not to say he couldn't have made it work. If he were to have stayed, that may have also been a way forward, and we could have ended up with Tom anyway.

Still, he played his part in helping Tom get to us in the way its happened. He lifted the professionalism of the organization.

Mate, I am truly sorry the way it unfolded for you as a person. Wish you all the best.

Agree wholeheartedly. If I ever see the bloke I'm gonna buy him all the beer he can stomach.

But this trade done, Griff gone, we now need to look forward.

15-10-2014, 08:46 PM
Follow

‏@Robbo_heraldsun

To be honest, who cares. Can't wait to see his face in 2015 when the 'Baby Bulldogs' claim a flag, and cause everyone to forget the Baby Bombers....or whatever they were!

Pedro Sanchez
15-10-2014, 08:47 PM
Already done it.

This was a clever response...

RT @Robbo_heraldsun <edited for accuracy>: Dons lost President, CEO, integrity and respect. And they keep Hird on a mill a year... #goodluck

15-10-2014, 08:50 PM
Follow

‏@Robbo_heraldsun

I'd tweet my response but that would break WOOF decency guidelines.

15-10-2014, 08:50 PM
If we are going to respond to "Mr baldy/fat guts/love the sound of my own voice/can't put a coherent logical argument together/general around village idiot/[insert other disparaging remark or insult here]" let's direct complaints towards the herald sun and SEN who employ him.

He is the worst, most biased journo in the AFL.

Phew - glad to get that off my chest.

15-10-2014, 09:23 PM
Mark Robinson is plying his trade, as journo for the lowest common denominator. He is about sensationalism because many need stimulation and immediate impact rather than truth. Truth bores his audience, so he shit stirs, and he knows the Bulldogs are a small minority so an easy target. What he doesn't reckon is that Bulldogs are the heart and soul of football because they are true believers.

15-10-2014, 09:32 PM
Follow

‏@Robbo_heraldsun

did that as soon as he tweeted it

15-10-2014, 09:42 PM
I only got home a short while ago. Can someone summarise this thread for me? :cool:

15-10-2014, 09:45 PM
I only got home a short while ago. Can someone summarise this thread for me? :cool:

Go to post one and two:D the rest is just happy woofers.

15-10-2014, 09:46 PM

We got Tom Boyd. Happiness ensues.

This guy.

15-10-2014, 09:46 PM
We trade some old guy for some tall guy.

People are excited about it.

15-10-2014, 09:52 PM
We trade some old guy for some tall guy.

People are excited about it.

We got Tom Boyd. Happiness ensues.

thanks folks. I've only got a limited time to read all this :)

15-10-2014, 10:11 PM
Follow

‏@Robbo_heraldsun

Not worth it on Robinson's account as it would simply get lost in the tsunami of justified vitriol that comes his way each time he endeavours to make a point.

15-10-2014, 10:45 PM
Follow

‏@Robbo_heraldsun

Already have ;)

15-10-2014, 10:48 PM
Fantastic News

I see many think we paid overs but I actually think we won the trade

15-10-2014, 10:52 PM
Not sure if anyone else has posted this or heard it on SEN, but the boys on the run home were chatting to Andrew McKay from Carlton about the Jacksh deal. Mark Allen then asked Andy about the Boyd deal and whether the blues had him on their radar to which Andy confirmed that they did. Andy said that there was quite a bit of talk about Boyd at their list management meetings but that was for next year. He said that Boyd is a Carlton supporter to which Marco replied 'yeah i've seen him at some blues games wearing a Carlton scarf, fair dinkum.' Andy replied with 'we have hosted him a few times this year.' Gee it makes it even sweeter knowing this story. Can't wait to rub it in the noses of the Carlton mates that i have.

If we didn't pick him up this trade period i don't think we would be much chance to get him next year. Hats off to the recruiting team to getting this deal done and showing the football world that we are relevant and we do mean to kick some arse!

Also my wife and i are expecting our first child next year and i've declared to her that boy or girl the baby will be named Tom. She said no way but i was adamant it was happening. Anyway got a few months to get it over the line yet.

15-10-2014, 10:54 PM
In Tom's Twitter profile, he describes himself as a "Player with the Western Bulldogs"... Nice to see he wasted no time updating!

15-10-2014, 10:55 PM
I knew changing my avatar would work.

I'd just like to thank bornadog and bulldogtragic for making this happen.

This is it boys and girls. This is our turning point.

I thought about changing mine, since I have had the new logo it had all been down hill until today.

15-10-2014, 10:55 PM
Anfo, that is amazing. Pickering on the same station also mentioned most of, if not all Victorian clubs had dpoken to him about Boyd and his plans next year.

15-10-2014, 11:04 PM
thanks folks. I've only got a limited time to read all this :)

Before the Misses tells you off for being on Woof again ?;)

15-10-2014, 11:56 PM
When you wake up in the morning, before you brush your teeth don't forget to look in the mirror, smile, and say "We've got Tom Boyd".

15-10-2014, 11:57 PM
Not sure if anyone else has posted this or heard it on SEN, but the boys on the run home were chatting to Andrew McKay from Carlton about the Jacksh deal. Mark Allen then asked Andy about the Boyd deal and whether the blues had him on their radar to which Andy confirmed that they did. Andy said that there was quite a bit of talk about Boyd at their list management meetings but that was for next year. He said that Boyd is a Carlton supporter to which Marco replied 'yeah i've seen him at some blues games wearing a Carlton scarf, fair dinkum.' Andy replied with 'we have hosted him a few times this year.' Gee it makes it even sweeter knowing this story. Can't wait to rub it in the noses of the Carlton mates that i have.

If we didn't pick him up this trade period i don't think we would be much chance to get him next year. Hats off to the recruiting team to getting this deal done and showing the football world that we are relevant and we do mean to kick some arse!

Also my wife and i are expecting our first child next year and i've declared to her that boy or girl the baby will be named Tom. She said no way but i was adamant it was happening. Anyway got a few months to get it over the line yet.

Pickering was asked on Trade Radio if any other clubs had approached Tom, and he said yes but none put an offer on the table except us.

16-10-2014, 12:00 AM
Talk about floating on air!! Bonty streams out of the middle and with laces out finds the man mountain Boooooooooooyd smack bang on the chest 20 metres directley in front!! OHHH WOT!! Can't wait for 2015-Welcome T-Boy to the Mighty Doggies!!

16-10-2014, 12:02 AM
Pickering was asked on Trade Radio if any other clubs had approached Tom, and he said yes but none put an offer on the table except us.

Did everyone else simply think it couldn't be done until 2016?

16-10-2014, 12:11 AM

That is what they must have thought, so no offers.

16-10-2014, 12:14 AM

I thought if it didn't get done this trade period that another club would trump us next year with twelve months to better out offer. We had to get it done now or miss out-or spend a year endlessly stressing about it which would have been as bad.

Here's what I did. When our daughter was born. My wife and I picked her first name, then I suggested we each picked a name that meant something special to each of us. Her given names are Lucy Joy (because my wife said she is such a joy to behold, and she is right) Liberatore (because Libba sr was so awesome)

16-10-2014, 12:19 AM

There was no way in hell he wasn't going to come to us once he saw our new logo. No other team could compete with a logo like that.

16-10-2014, 12:24 AM
When you guys checking the internet in the middle of the night are going through the divorce proceedings remember to explain to the court how important this was to the club.

16-10-2014, 12:25 AM

I heard interview too - took the AFL world by surprise, hats off to JMac & recruiting team.

How about Tomika? Here's a website that might interest you....http://www.babynamespedia.com/start/f/tom

16-10-2014, 01:24 AM
Yep. He said it several times on Monday on SEN. He was very dismissive.

Wasn't it " no chance of that happening "
Drown in a bottle of bourbon you sloth .
He's sounded really peed off lately, but a tough gig being Hirds mouthpiece .

16-10-2014, 01:35 AM
When you guys checking the internet in the middle of the night are going through the divorce proceedings remember to explain to the court how important this was to the club.

Meh. Boyd >>>>>>>>> any semblance of a love life

16-10-2014, 01:37 AM

Sounds a little like a question posed to Brian of Nasereth... "A lot"

16-10-2014, 02:01 AM
Interesting tidbit from the Twittersphere: Boyd was born on August 22, 1995. The date of EJ's state funeral.

It's a sign!

16-10-2014, 09:33 AM
Great way to put ... I love your thinking; but on the flip side our first live pick is mid twenties now.
on another flip side you could say we got pick 4 last year and pick 1 this year?......perhaps.......maybe???

16-10-2014, 09:40 AM
on another flip side you could say we got pick 4 last year and pick 1 this year?......perhaps.......maybe???

or the top two kids in the 2013 draft.

16-10-2014, 09:46 AM
Im so pleased for our club and our loyal supporters. Even when this news broke (Boyd might come to the dogs) the rest of the footy world (journo's in particular) dismissed it as no chance and also used it as another chance to sink their teeth into us by calling us a rabble after our captain and coach left us. Unfortunately most out there have it ingrained in them to think of us as a lowly minnow club just making up the numbers.....well the dog bit back and we are now fair dinkum. Its time for the rest of the competition to realise we are dead set serious. Enjoy this moment everyone. Its been a hell of a ride and we bloody deserve it. Lets stick it right up em!

16-10-2014, 09:53 AM
Im so pleased for our club and our loyal supporters. Even when this news broke (Boyd might come to the dogs) the rest of the footy world (journo's in particular) dismissed it as no chance and also used it as another chance to sink their teeth into us by calling us a rabble after our captain and coach left us. Unfortunately most out there have it ingrained in them to think of us as a lowly minnow club just making up the numbers.....well the dog bit back and we are now fair dinkum. Its time for the rest of the competition to realise we are dead set serious. Enjoy this moment everyone. Its been a hell of a ride and we bloody deserve it. Lets stick it right up em!

Journo's are still sticking the boots in regardless. Dammed if you do, dammed if you don't.

16-10-2014, 10:19 AM
Wow it actually happened.

I think we slightly overpaid, would have liked a second rounder back but tbh I don't really care. We set and acquired our target and made an incredibly bold and brave move and won't die wondering.

People have always said we are a spineless club that needs to throw the kitchen sink at a key forward. Well we certainly have now.

16-10-2014, 10:21 AM
Journo's are still sticking the boots in regardless. Dammed if you do, dammed if you don't.

They will write whatever they think sells papers, a good showing in the preseason and positive start to the year should turn them around.
All except for the prized goose Robbo, who will just continue to be a imbecile, it will be interesting see what he writes about when we are on top and his Messendon sit on the bottom.

16-10-2014, 10:23 AM
Wow it actually happened.

I think we slightly overpaid, would have liked a second rounder back but tbh I don't really care. We set and acquired our target and made an incredibly bold and brave move and won't die wondering.

People have always said we are a spineless club that needs to throw the kitchen sink at a key forward. Well we certainly have now.
Sink, we threw the whole kitchen and house at him.:)

16-10-2014, 10:42 AM
Carlton were all over them like a cheap suit and fully expected to get him next year. They are privately filthy with themselves that they didn't explore pursuing him this year.

16-10-2014, 10:49 AM
The more I think about it the more I like it.

Boyd offers a lot more than just being a key forward. After last week many of our supporters were questioning their commitment to the club and whether there was hope. Memberships would probably have dropped off considerably from already low numbers and the mood around the place was very down.

Boyd has meant almost every supporter, regardless of how down they were last week, is more excited than they have been since Hall dominated the Nab cup grand final. Bizarrely after losing our coach, and more so Griffen, who would have been in every single Bulldogs top 3 favourites at the club, was a loyal and awesome star of the club and the captain, we may very well see an increase in memberships.

There is not a single Bulldogs supporter I have encountered who is even close to questioning whether or not they are happy with this deal.

Despite "overpaying" in trade terms, this deal not only gives us the one thing we have dreamed of but also saves the club from sinking into Melbourne territory in supporter discontent next season.

16-10-2014, 10:58 AM
The more I think about it the more I like it.

Boyd offers a lot more than just being a key forward. After last week many of our supporters were questioning their commitment to the club and whether there was hope. Memberships would probably have dropped off considerably from already low numbers and the mood around the place was very down.

Boyd has meant almost every supporter, regardless of how down they were last week, is more excited than they have been since Hall dominated the Nab cup grand final. Bizarrely after losing our coach, and more so Griffen, who would have been in every single Bulldogs top 3 favourites at the club, was a loyal and awesome star of the club and the captain, we may very well see an increase in memberships.

There is not a single Bulldogs supporter I have encountered who is even close to questioning whether or not they are happy with this deal.

Despite "overpaying" in trade terms, this deal not only gives us the one thing we have dreamed of but also saves the club from sinking into Melbourne territory in supporter discontent next season.

Completely agree Soupa.

I also think the thing people discount as well is that you do need to overpay for a KPF (and Boyd is no ordinary one).

From a price perspective we gave up Griff, Pick 6 + some cash we have to spend anyway. But in my mind, we have secured a once in a generation type player who we will get great service from.

Importantly, I am also of the opinion that if he ever wanted out from the dogs, we will be able to demand significant compensation as well.

16-10-2014, 11:16 AM
We shouldn't really be surprised that we paid overs both in trade terms and contract terms.

It's what happens when you are trying to prise a 19 year old, No#1 draft pick, KPF away from a club he is contracted to.....and convince him to come to a club with one premiership, no coach and no captain.

16-10-2014, 11:38 AM
What an amazing ride we've been on, in the space of a single week. From chaos, pain and despair, back to excitement and hope. Welcome to our club, Tom.

And, most importantly, I now know what it takes to get me off Candy Crush. :)

16-10-2014, 11:47 AM
We shouldn't really be surprised that we paid overs both in trade terms and contract terms.
I think the 'overs' (both the trade and the deal) have been significantly overstated by the media. Had Boyd stayed at GWS for another 12 months, he would have received a contract every bit as large, possibly larger with the competitive forces at play. Just wait and see what monstrous contract Jeremy Cameron will be on in 2016 (wherever he plays).

As for pick 6 and a 28yo gun player who has walked out on our club, ask yourself what draft pick Boyd would command in this draft. He would be pick 1 in a heartbeat - his TAC numbers dwarf McCartin and Wright's. He would push everyone back a spot if he was on the open market as a draft pick.

16-10-2014, 11:50 AM
Wrapped to get Boyd. Hope the recruiters were right when they declared him a 'once in a generation key forward'.

Will be good to not hear 'The Dogs new a big key forward' for the next 7 years!

Now I just hope he can stay fit and healthy so he can have his best crack at becoming a serious player as soon as possible. I also hope the early expectations on him are in line with him being a 19/20 year old key forward.

The prospect of having Boyd, Bonti, Macrae, Libba & Stringer in the same team - in 3-4 years time - is one to salivate over.

Will he continue on with wearing #13? If so, its available - as is 7, 11 & 12.

16-10-2014, 12:08 PM
Wrapped to get Boyd. Hope the recruiters were right when they declared him a 'once in a generation key forward'.

Will be good to not hear 'The Dogs new a big key forward' for the next 7 years!

Now I just hope he can stay fit and healthy so he can have his best crack at becoming a serious player as soon as possible. I also hope the early expectations on him are in line with him being a 19/20 year old key forward.

The prospect of having Boyd, Bonti, Macrae, Libba & Stringer in the same team - in 3-4 years time - is one to salivate over.

Will he continue on with wearing #13? If so, its available - as is 7, 11 & 12.

11...? Do you know something about Macrae that we don't...?

16-10-2014, 12:12 PM
11...? Do you know something about Macrae that we don't...?

Sorry - shouldn't have thrown in 11.....I think it was a freudian slip - as I've been thinking Macrae may end up with 7 OR stay with 11....so one or the other would be up for grabs.

Another poster was suggesting Stringer may be taking 7.....so 9 would be potentially up for grabs also.

16-10-2014, 12:18 PM
Sorry - shouldn't have thrown in 11.....I think it was a freudian slip - as I've been thinking Macrae may end up with 7 OR stay with 11....so one or the other would be up for grabs.

Another poster was suggesting Stringer may be taking 7.....so 9 would be potentially up for grabs also.

Auction off the numbers to the players and make some money back for TB's contract...:D

16-10-2014, 12:21 PM
As far as the money we are paying Tom. I can remember when Alistair Lynch left Fitzroy to go to he Bears he signed a similar length contract as Tom did on big money for the time. The media were saying "they can't pay him that much'" "they're crazy or desperate or both". During the life of the contract because it was so long Lynch went from being the best paid player at the club to being one of the lowest without his salary changing. The Lions ended up renegotiating and upping the amount they pad him n the last couple of years because it was so low compared to the other senior players.

16-10-2014, 12:31 PM
The debate in the media over the Boyd deal is reaching silly proportions. The financial commitment and the impacts to future signings seems to be the main bone of contention.

I wonder how many people also remember the Alastair Lynch deal when he signed what people regarded an extraordinary 10 year contract with Brisbane at the age of 25? In the end Brisbane were paying unders.

We all understand the risks but we couldn't just keep going through the same recruitment process that hasn't been a successful one for us.

16-10-2014, 01:55 PM
The whole Boyd " marketing " side seems to be forgotten here as well.
Very big plus for the club

16-10-2014, 01:55 PM
The debate in the media over the Boyd deal is reaching silly proportions. The financial commitment and the impacts to future signings seems to be the main bone of contention.

I wonder how many people also remember the Alastair Lynch deal when he signed what people regarded an extraordinary 10 year contract with Brisbane at the age of 25? In the end Brisbane were paying unders.

We all understand the risks but we couldn't just keep going through the same recruitment process that hasn't been a successful one for us.

Jealous. Much.

16-10-2014, 01:58 PM
We are paying overs financially no doubt, but as long as we manage the money well over the 7 years I can't see many issues. I have faith in our blokes to get it right.

But as for paying overs with the deal itself, I'm not sure we are.

Take the Saints for example, asking GWS for 2 of 4, 6 & 7 plus a quality player in return for pick 1.

We got last years CLEAR number 1 pick. Key position player who showed very promising signs in his first year of AFL footy. Yes we gave up our best player and captain, but let's be honest a fully fit Griffen may have meant we finish 13th instead of 16th next year.

I couldn't give 5 sh!ts what outsiders say or believe. This deal had to be done and I'm so proud of the club to take this risk on.

16-10-2014, 02:06 PM
Not only that , but our captain walked.
We didn't 'give him up' he was already gone.
We're just inCREDIbly lucky he chose GWS.
It's a miracle really. I mean who would CHOOSE GWS????

16-10-2014, 02:26 PM
I'm out at the moment, sporting bet have a hilarious picture on twitter. Can anyone share on here, amused me greatly.

16-10-2014, 02:30 PM
Not only that , but our captain walked.
We didn't 'give him up' he was already gone.
We're just inCREDIbly lucky he chose GWS.
It's a miracle really. I mean who would CHOOSE GWS????

From memory Griff will be the fourth player from us and if you add in Leon they seem to have taken the 'Western' part in 'GWS' too literally.

16-10-2014, 11:12 PM
or the top two kids in the 2013 draft.

And 2012

17-10-2014, 12:40 AM
And 2012539

I found this amusing on Boyd and GWS.

bull79
17-10-2014, 06:42 AM
Absolutely thrilled about this! Whats Damien Barrats deal already running down our offer to Boyd! Sounds like jealousy? What team does he support? If I had to guess he seems like an Essendon man? Twat.

17-10-2014, 08:57 AM
Absolutely thrilled about this! Whats Damien Barrats deal already running down our offer to Boyd! Sounds like jealousy? What team does he support? If I had to guess he seems like an Essendon man? Twat.
Norf

18-10-2014, 04:06 PM
Tom has just tweeted:

Ecstatic to be joining the @westernbulldogs who I can already see have an amazing fan base, can't wait to get stuck into it. #BeMoreBulldog

18-10-2014, 04:19 PM
Tom has just tweeted:

He seems to "get it" by the way this whole deal has been handled.

I'm guessing he's a pretty sharp kid.

18-10-2014, 06:40 PM

Fairly strong willed, and knows what he wants as well.

I was quite surprised how well he spoke in the series Emma Quayle did during his final year of under 18's, more humble tone, rather than an arrogont tone, which could be expected from someone who was going to be the number one draft pick.

18-10-2014, 07:41 PM
Fairly strong willed, and knows what he wants as well.

I was quite surprised how well he spoke in the series Emma Quayle did during his final year of under 18's, more humble tone, rather than an arrogont tone, which could be expected from someone who was going to be the number one draft pick.

Really like the way Bonts talks too, we really have two rare gems on our hands.

18-10-2014, 07:43 PM
Really like the way Bonts talks too, we really have two rare gems on our hands.

Fair to say all of our high end recruits of late speak really well, albeit in different ways.

18-10-2014, 11:45 PM

Dare I say, a good person.

19-10-2014, 03:07 PM
Dare I say, a good person.

Does he crack in?

Too soon ;)?

19-10-2014, 03:53 PM
Does he crack in?

Too soon ;)?

Nah, Macca would've wanted us to move on with humour. Plus weren't there are 2,000 'I'm cracking in too' badges on order from WOOFers? :)

19-10-2014, 05:16 PM
I'm stoked to have got Tom Boyd to our club but does anyone worry that when the likes if Bonts, Libba, Macrae become really good in a few years time that they would want a pay rise and that would be difficult as we are paying Tom Boyd $1million a season. I just hope will be ok to handle that if that arises. What do you guys think?

19-10-2014, 06:03 PM
That's a situation that would have been first cab of the rank when the trade took place.
Not sure, but would Big Tom's contract be front ended?

19-10-2014, 06:06 PM
It can't be he is only in his second year so on base payment

19-10-2014, 06:15 PM
It can't be he is only in his second year so on base payment

After next year .
We've also had a lot of money go out of the club as well.
Would hazard to guess probably 1 million in contracts

19-10-2014, 06:23 PM
After next year .
We've also had a lot of money go out of the club as well.
Would hazard to guess probably 1 million in contracts

True that Remi we would of got quite a bit back with the players that left.

19-10-2014, 06:58 PM
We paid out players like Griffen to reach the salary cap. So next year any players that are coming out of contract, whoever they are we can pay more, also don't have to worry about boyds wage as we know what it is the next 7 years.
Players like Honeychurch we will have to offer a contract

19-10-2014, 06:58 PM
I'm stoked to have got Tom Boyd to our club but does anyone worry that when the likes if Bonts, Libba, Macrae become really good in a few years time that they would want a pay rise and that would be difficult as we are paying Tom Boyd $1million a season. I just hope will be ok to handle that if that arises. What do you guys think?

Did the big money paid to Franklin and Tippet impact the Swans this year? I doubt it.

I think it will come down to assembling a good playing list. Players will typically take a bit less to stay at a good football club. If money is the primary focus of any player then they will always find a reason to leave.

We should do okay.

20-10-2014, 07:59 PM
Tom Will be fronting the media tomorrow cant wait to hear him speak.

20-10-2014, 08:11 PM
By the end of this contract Tom Boyd could be the most underpaid messiah in world sports.

20-10-2014, 08:59 PM
If one considers the market price from Carey finishing, to Brown finishing and then to Buddy. $700,000+ > $800,000+ > $900,000+. Boyd in purely market terms in 4 years would command $1,000,000+. If the cost of getting a player many under age watchers considered at that junior level was paying a little more now, but a little less later, I'm not sure what the fuss is. The salary cap increase each year in any event. I think Frued called it Boyd envy.

20-10-2014, 10:35 PM
Who did this Freud feller barrack for?

20-10-2014, 10:43 PM
Who did this Freud feller barrack for?

His mother so the theory goes?? So in footy terms, Essendon. Stupid Mother F***ers.

20-10-2014, 11:38 PM
My wife showed me these Boyd photo's on facebook.

http://s27.postimg.org/nm8wouolv/boyd1.jpg (http://postimage.org/) image upload without registration (http://postimage.org/)

http://s27.postimg.org/xjt49eaz7/boyd2.jpg (http://postimage.org/) gif image hosting (http://postimage.org/)

20-10-2014, 11:44 PM
I'm getting excited. The boy must be happy to finally slip on a real jumper. He looks awesome.

20-10-2014, 11:44 PM
#mancrush

21-10-2014, 12:03 AM
Now that looks smashing darling!

21-10-2014, 07:20 AM
Royal Blue is definitely his colour....:)

21-10-2014, 09:20 AM
Royal Blue is definitely his colour....:)

Far better than the navy it could have been.:D

(I know I really didn't need the smiley, but for now I think it should be mandatory for any post re Boyd to have a smiley.:D;))

21-10-2014, 09:40 AM
Far better than the navy it could have been.:D

(I know I really didn't need the smiley, but for now I think it should be mandatory for any post re Boyd to have a smiley.:D;))

:D:D:D:D:D:D....Agreed

21-10-2014, 11:38 AM
He looks like he's slimmed down already from his last game. Good idea, he didn't look comfortable this season.

I think Andy Barnett can do some really good work with Tom in getting his strength to mobility ratio right.

21-10-2014, 12:00 PM
He looks like he's slimmed down already from his last game. Good idea, he didn't look comfortable this season.

I think Andy Barnett can do some really good work with Tom in getting his strength to mobility ratio right.

Watched Forrest Gump again on the weekend. This sentence gave me images of TB running with the ball while Lewis Jetta chased him with TB's leg braces falling off, couldnt catch him. :)

21-10-2014, 01:09 PM
Huge shoulders, he's no where near as big as he could be with that frame

21-10-2014, 01:19 PM

Yep - GWS' strength and conditioning program is woeful.

I believe I read somewhere that he played at 110kg this year - far too much weight. I would expect he'll slim down significantly and as you said Grey, concentrate on the strength to mobility ratio.

21-10-2014, 01:22 PM
Nooooooooooo! Fatten him up! More beefy for strength contests.

21-10-2014, 01:40 PM

http://woof-images.s3.amazonaws.com/fatten-him-up.jpg

21-10-2014, 04:35 PM

Franklin is 100kg, Tippett 104, Hawkins 101, Jarryd Roughead 100, Petrie 102. 110kg is more than enough

21-10-2014, 05:08 PM
I like that we sent Hrovat with TB to the Williamstown North Primary School today.
Was this just a ploy to make him look extra tall by standing him alongside our smallest player?