View Full Version : Welcome to the WBFC - Toby McLean

23-11-2014, 10:53 PM
Discussion on out latest pup, and a warm welcome to our tribe!

27-11-2014, 08:47 PM
fantastic pick

27-11-2014, 08:48 PM
PLAYER BIO
Former club: Oakleigh Chargers
Height: 179cm
Weight: 72kg
Position: Forward

Small forward/midfielder with exceptional leap and marking ability for his size. Crafty around goal, agile and prolific ball-winner, averaging 22 disposals from 20 games and kicked 32 goals in an outstanding first year in the TAC Cup. Finished equal-third in the kicking test (27/30) at the NAB AFL Draft Combine.

27-11-2014, 08:50 PM
Welcome to the dogs :) http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-11-17/from-nobody-to-drafted Excellent elevation ...

-Draft prospect: Toby McLean
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2014-09-15/draft-prospect-toby-mclean

27-11-2014, 08:52 PM
Awesome my favourite from the draft! This kid is all class..

27-11-2014, 08:58 PM
Welcome to the Dogs Toby.

27-11-2014, 09:01 PM
Happy with this selection.

Where do we see him fitting in, with quite a few similar sized blokes who can play similar roles?

27-11-2014, 09:03 PM
Looks like it frees Dal to move into the midfield.

27-11-2014, 09:05 PM
Love this selection, can see him playing in the midfield in the future. Was a great improver throughout the year.

27-11-2014, 09:06 PM
Welcome to the dogs :) http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-11-17/from-nobody-to-drafted Excellent elevation ...

-Draft prospect: Toby McLean
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2014-09-15/draft-prospect-toby-mclean

Real class there, looks a decent little half forward. I wonder whether he can transition to midfield?

27-11-2014, 09:30 PM
Certainly a clever footballer

Very good one on one - super aerialist for his height, very clever around goals, good vision, kick etc

How did he test athletically?

27-11-2014, 09:32 PM
Really looking forward to some high flying grabs and excitement from young Toby. Toe -Beeeeeee !!!! (We will have to create a special cheer squad chant for him).

27-11-2014, 10:06 PM
Certainly a clever footballer

Very good one on one - super aerialist for his height, very clever around goals, good vision, kick etc

How did he test athletically?

Good Beep, poor sprints and agility. We need to look past that I guess.

His story of getting too us is a great one.

27-11-2014, 10:37 PM
Looks a bit like Jamie Elliot from Collingwood. Nice highlights.

27-11-2014, 11:02 PM
His story of getting too us is a great one.

A story of great persistence - After being overlooked as a bottom age U18 by Stingrays he kicked 50 odd goals and won a senior B&F as a bottom age U18 player right? Thats pretty amazing at 70kgs

27-11-2014, 11:04 PM
A story of great persistence - After being overlooked as a bottom age U18 by Stingrays he kicked 50 odd goals and won a senior B&F as a bottom age U18 player right? Thats pretty amazing at 70kgs

Asked the Chargers for a chance, one of the stories of the draft to be honest

27-11-2014, 11:38 PM
Looks a bit like Jamie Elliot from Collingwood. Nice highlights.

I was thinking Higgins but probably for the same reasons, that great leap and overhead marking

27-11-2014, 11:50 PM
Welcome Toby. Looks like you can play.

28-11-2014, 09:13 AM
Really excited by this kid. Everything I've heard and read has been positive and sounds like he could really add some excitement to our forwardline/midfield.

28-11-2014, 09:59 AM
Happy with his highlights pack and knows where the goals are. Very raw, but looks like he can play.

28-11-2014, 11:34 AM
Welcome to the club Toby Elliot!

28-11-2014, 02:54 PM

It is a great story. He obviously is a very very resliant kid and has experienced extreme lows off the field and also on it.

I also love the club is drafting big game players who can perform on the big stage.

28-11-2014, 05:31 PM

A bit like how Dahl pleaded his case with us and we all know how well that turned out. Says a lot about a kid at that age to not take a set back like that lying down.

28-11-2014, 06:10 PM
Darcy Moore tips Toby McLean to win the rising star next year!

28-11-2014, 06:19 PM
Welcome Toby, you look like a star.

28-11-2014, 06:38 PM
Welcome Toby, you look like a star.

Yes another Magic McLean.

28-11-2014, 06:54 PM
Been compared a bit to Robbie Gray as well.

28-11-2014, 08:02 PM
Super impressed with his highlights compilation, he looks like an outstanding get for pick 26.

28-11-2014, 09:29 PM
Good highlights package.

Kids got hops, good hands. Decent kick.

Plenty of courage.

29-11-2014, 01:42 PM
Been compared a bit to Robbie Gray as well.

If this is true then we have a winner. Welcome aboard Toby. Was hoping we might land you after watching some of your highlights prior to draft night.

29-11-2014, 02:03 PM
I'm pretty sure it's this kid who I loved in the GF. Did he get BOG in that?

29-11-2014, 02:12 PM
I'm pretty sure it's this kid who I loved in the GF. Did he get BOG in that?

Yes he was. Also runner up in the B&F medal for TAC.

30-11-2014, 10:45 AM
Great highlights reel, welcome to the Doggies, Toby.

30-11-2014, 01:26 PM
Wears black boots...I like that.

30-11-2014, 01:32 PM
Wears black boots...I like that.

He's a scruffy looking type, socks down, black boots, reminds me a bit of Darryl Griffin in terms of his running gait

30-11-2014, 03:42 PM
I do like the look of him but just a caution on highlights packages. Three chest marks on the lead inside 50 are worth the same as 3 screamers inside 50. Highlights are enjoyable but they obviously don't tell the full story. Looking forward to seeing him in action at training and in the vfl.

Really enjoying the emphasis on clever players. Quick of mind is often better than leg speed. Obviously Mclean tested average in a few areas but some guys can just play. Hoping he is one of those guys. I think someone said he did poorly in agility testing but he was able to make space for himself quite easily on the highlights package. Seems to be quite strong, fended off really well.

30-11-2014, 10:44 PM
Not sure if this has been posted somewhere else but Toby uploaded a photo on his instagram account today of his name on the #16 locker

30-11-2014, 10:58 PM
Not sure if this has been posted somewhere else but Toby uploaded a photo on his instagram account today of his name on the #16 locker

It will be great to see a guy who actually wants to play for us wearing that number.

30-11-2014, 11:38 PM
It will be great to see a guy who actually wants to play for us wearing that number.

Ummm Whack!

01-12-2014, 03:46 PM
It's great that number will be used again after sitting vacant for a number of years

01-12-2014, 04:37 PM
It's great that number will be used again after sitting vacant for a number of years

They retired it when Crofty finished. I certainly can't recall it being used since then.

It'll be good seeing Croft's old number 16 again after all these years.

01-12-2014, 08:03 PM
Ummm Whack!

What I do? What I do?

01-12-2014, 08:04 PM
They retired it when Crofty finished. I certainly can't recall it being used since then.

It'll be good seeing Croft's old number 16 again after all these years.

Love old Jex head . LOYAL hard worker ( did well on Carey a few times, with the help of Craig Ellis)

01-12-2014, 08:06 PM
What I do? What I do?

No way to talk about Crofty. I miss those thigh pads

01-12-2014, 08:13 PM

Fair enough. He was a good player, Croft.

01-12-2014, 08:17 PM

Tell me something. The lockers. Don't they have a listing of the players who have worn the guernsey of the locker #? I haven't seen the #16 locker...recently. Has there been a revision?

01-12-2014, 09:16 PM
Tell me something. The lockers. Don't they have a listing of the players who have worn the guernsey of the locker #? I haven't seen the #16 locker...recently. Has there been a revision?

I think you have to play a certain amount of games . Maybe we can carve Griffin's name off the locker .

01-12-2014, 10:08 PM
I think you have to play a certain amount of games . Maybe we can carve Griffin's name off the locker .

In a way, he honestly deserves that.

01-12-2014, 10:41 PM
Guys, let's keep this thread on track.

01-12-2014, 10:47 PM
Guys, let's keep this thread on track.

Ok. :)

01-12-2014, 11:05 PM
Ok. :)

Good Robot. You can now go out and play ��

03-12-2014, 11:50 AM

I'm pretty sure it is 100 games, and you get on the locker permanently.

Might be different for different clubs, but a mate played for North Melbourne, and I remember when he got to 100 games he was saying that he 'always wanted to get his name on the locker (permanently)'.

03-12-2014, 08:46 PM
2015: Ex Geelong reserves defender Hamlet has the ball. He looks downfield sizing up the options on the kick. He sees a lead from a skinny kid reputed to take skyscrapers and asks himself, "Toby or not Toby. That is the question."

03-12-2014, 09:10 PM
Apparently when Jose was running for us and the boys wanted a drink they would call "Romero, Romero, where for out thou Romero!"

03-12-2014, 09:26 PM
I hope we don't have need to say Alas, poor Rourke.

I'll show myself out....

04-12-2014, 02:10 AM
I hope we don't have need to say Alas, poor Rourke.

I'll show myself out....

Boom Tish....Try the veal.

04-12-2014, 05:59 AM
Good article on Toby by Sam Landsberger. Confirms Toby to wear 16. Also mentions Lachie Hunter to wear #7.

http://m.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/draft-bolter-toby-mclean-set-to-take-ryan-griffens-number-at-western-bulldogs/story-fni5fazt-1227143856367

04-12-2014, 03:06 PM
Great to see Crofty's number been worn.

04-12-2014, 06:58 PM
Great to see Crofty's number been worn.

Croft and Kretiuk warm my heart! What warriors.

04-12-2014, 09:09 PM
Kritter once played most of a quarter not being able to see properly on Gary Ablett.

04-12-2014, 09:11 PM
In a final.

04-12-2014, 09:39 PM
Kritter once played most of a quarter not being able to see properly on Gary Ablett.

It was that terrible final where Billy Brownless kicked the goal after the siren, when we largely outplayed them only to have it snatched

04-12-2014, 10:07 PM
It was that terrible final where Billy Brownless kicked the goal after the siren, when we largely outplayed them only to have it snatched

Richard Osbourne was playing with us then!

04-12-2014, 10:41 PM

After I mentioned it I had the awful recollection it was 'that' final.

Took the handball from Chris Grant and slotted the goal to put us in front with less than 30 seconds to play.

05-12-2014, 09:50 AM

After I mentioned it I had the awful recollection it was 'that' final.

Took the handball from Chris Grant and slotted the goal to put us in front with less than 30 seconds to play.

Yet another first week of finals where we came out not realising we were playing finals and registered a pathetic start.

Anyway, back on track.

I really like this guy's story. To not even be a sure thing to get a list spot in the u/18's to being drafted in the top 30 is a magnificent turn around.

I wonder why he wasn't seen as being worthy of top level u/18's footy in the first place.........

05-12-2014, 03:14 PM
I wonder why he wasn't seen as being worthy of top level u/18's footy in the first place.........

It screams "late bloomer" ala Bonti & Macrae. The type that after their first year people wonder how they didn't go higher

05-12-2014, 03:58 PM
It screams "late bloomer" ala Bonti & Macrae. The type that after their first year people wonder how they didn't go higher

Another rising star :D

05-12-2014, 04:11 PM
Another rising star :D

Not with the Bulldogs. Our players don't win rising stars awards.

05-12-2014, 04:29 PM
Not with the Bulldogs. Our players don't win rising stars awards.

A WOOF rising Star;)

05-12-2014, 04:44 PM
Took some of the $101 odds, also Daniels @ $81. Both have sufficient hardships in their back story to qualify for the award.

05-12-2014, 07:02 PM
Took some of the $101 odds, also Daniels @ $81. Both have sufficient hardships in their back story to qualify for the award.

Think you have wasted the money.
No chance for Caleb after it was awarded to a midget in 2014.

Surely Tom Boyd is the go as he is still eligible.

05-12-2014, 07:34 PM
He's only $13. More a novelty then anything.

28-03-2015, 01:34 PM
Monster Goal

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-03-27/mcleans-monster-goal

28-03-2015, 07:26 PM
Monster Goal

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-03-27/mcleans-monster-goal

there is no way he was going for goal but the kick was a beauty anyway to the right spot as we had players who had got behind the defenders.

04-06-2015, 07:29 PM
In great form, good luck on debut against Port and a hostile crowd in Adelaide.

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Photo%20Galleries/2015%20-%20Galleries/NAB%202%20-%20WB%20v%20MELB/361878-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

04-06-2015, 07:37 PM
In great form, good luck on debut against Port and a hostile crowd in Adelaide.

http://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL%20Tenant/WesternBulldogs/Photo%20Galleries/2015%20-%20Galleries/NAB%202%20-%20WB%20v%20MELB/361878-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Blooding another young bulldog. I love how Bevo isn't afraid to put youth in the team.

Well deserved Toby, good luck on the weekend.

04-06-2015, 08:25 PM
Good luck Toby. Go Dogs!

04-06-2015, 08:26 PM
Blooding another young bulldog. I love how Bevo isn't afraid to put youth in the team.

Well deserved Toby, good luck on the weekend.

Going with the youth I believe ratsmac is the best way in the longer term.

04-06-2015, 08:51 PM
Excited about this kid. Always love a little a guy who does some of his best work in the air, very tough to match-up on.

04-06-2015, 09:01 PM
Naw, was looking forward to seeing him on Sunday :D

Good luck to the kid. Hope he gets a chance to take a fly at a few.

04-06-2015, 09:15 PM
Good Luck Magic.

That's tge fourth debutant this year so far? 3 from the draft Webb, Dale and McLean and Hamling via trade.

04-06-2015, 09:17 PM
Good Luck Toby.

That's tge fourth debutant this year so far? 3 from the draft and Hamling via trade.

Tom Boyd maybe :)
Shane Biggs
Redpath (technically)

NoName
04-06-2015, 10:12 PM
Looking forward to seeing Toby play on Saturday night. Hope he has a good one!

04-06-2015, 10:32 PM
Good Luck Magic.

That's tge fourth debutant this year so far? 3 from the draft Webb, Dale and McLean and Hamling via trade.

Daniel a certainty to get a run at some stage as well.

04-06-2015, 10:36 PM
Tom Boyd maybe :)
Shane Biggs
Redpath (technically)

I meant who hadn't already played AFL footy. Biggs played at the Swans didn't he? I forgot him anyway.

04-06-2015, 10:37 PM
Daniel a certainty to get a run at some stage as well.

Yep. If it weren't for injury he'd probably have debuted already you'd reckon.

04-06-2015, 11:39 PM
Yep. If it weren't for injury he'd probably have debuted already you'd reckon.
What is the weather situation like in Adelaide this weekend? Caleb might be a late inclusion if String or Cramers don't get up.

05-06-2015, 12:27 AM
What is the weather situation like in Adelaide this weekend? Caleb might be a late inclusion if String or Cramers don't get up.

Love to see that.

Adelaide forecast

http://www.bom.gov.au/sa/forecasts/adelaide.shtml?ref=hdr

05-06-2015, 01:57 AM
Partly cloudy. Caleb will get his chance soon now he's returned, and I'm looking forward to it.

Well done Toby, welcome to the Bulldogs team. May you be the constant subject of discussions of the merits between genuine forwards versus utilities versus midfielders for years to come, or at least until you prove yourself only worthy of one or the other!

:)

05-06-2015, 04:21 AM
Good Luck Magic.

And they want to lift the draft age?

(Argument may have merit, but the evidence of our first year players the last 3 years making an impact would challenge this)

05-06-2015, 11:01 AM
Good luck Toby... Nice effort to have 3 debut before the half way mark of the year from the previous draft, and all without having a top 25 selection.

Following on from our tradition of a former number wearer presenting the jumper does our former skipper make a quick trip to his former home state to do the honour?... Would love to be in that room... Perhaps it's a job for 'Gex head'

hotdog
05-06-2015, 12:00 PM
Get Terry "Tan" Wallace down there. Present the jumper to Toby then give the boys a rousing pep talk culminating in "Ill spew up if you lose to Port"...

05-06-2015, 04:01 PM
Surely the plough will be invited in to do the jumper preso!

05-06-2015, 05:11 PM
Surely the plough will be invited in to do the jumper preso!

What about Crofty

05-06-2015, 05:14 PM
What about Crofty

I reckon Plough should get the job too, but Crofty would be a fine choice.

05-06-2015, 09:07 PM
What about Crofty

I saw Crofty with one of his kids at the GWS game. Bay 32, level 3.

05-06-2015, 09:35 PM

yeah, I saw him at the WO when we played Richmond. Crofty = da man.

05-06-2015, 09:47 PM
Crofty was nearly my fav player. I would give anything to see one of his slow motion baulks or fend offs again.

05-06-2015, 10:01 PM

I was in Bay 31 level 3 last Saturday.

05-06-2015, 10:01 PM
Love old jex head

06-06-2015, 02:40 AM
I wish Crofty had better hamstrings. When he started out I remember a preseason game at Waverley where he was dashing around at CHF, with spring in his leap and step. It seemed his career was a constant battle of talent fighting it out against his deteriorating physical capabilities. It was a real shame, but he served us with honour and it would be great if there were more like him.

I'd be more than happy for him to present.

06-06-2015, 11:25 AM
So it appears they didn't get Griffen to stay back after the weekend....

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-06-05/croft-presents-mcleans-guernsey

06-06-2015, 03:49 PM
I was in Bay 31 level 3 last Saturday.

We must have been pretty close, I was sitting in Bay 31 with a dyed-in-the-wool Footscray lass, Kylie who I met at the match. Loves her team. Knows her footy.

06-06-2015, 07:44 PM
What about Crofty

Great to see my old mate Crofty handing Toby his jumper

06-06-2015, 08:12 PM
So it appears they didn't get Griffen to stay back after the weekend....

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-06-05/croft-presents-mcleans-guernsey

http://bit.ly/1EZydjT

My link wasn't satisfactory? ;)

06-06-2015, 11:48 PM
My link wasn't satisfactory? ;)

Sorry.

07-06-2015, 12:12 AM
How did Toby go tonight?

07-06-2015, 12:17 AM
How did Toby go tonight?

Came on for Boyd in the 3rd. Looked clean with the ball but didn't have a big impact. Pretty reasonable considering he came on as the sub into a pretty physical game.

07-06-2015, 12:22 AM
Came on for Boyd in the 3rd. Looked clean with the ball but didn't have a big impact. Pretty reasonable considering he came on as the sub into a pretty physical game.

Saw a passage of play where he got through 2 - 3 Port players in the 3rd. Looked suprisingly strong in that particular contest.

I think he was forced to handpass afterwards.

07-06-2015, 12:29 AM
I really, really like the look of Magic.

Just did a few things tonight which suggest he wasn't overawed. Used his body well in contests, and made good decisions when he did get his hands on the ball.

Tough game to come on as the sub and should definitely get another run after the bye.

22-06-2015, 04:23 PM
This kid looks the goods. I thought he had a big third quarter on Saturday and was involved in quiet a few plays that got us going in the second half of that quarter. He started to feel the pace of the game and adjusted to it. He is clean with hands and not a bad kick either.

22-06-2015, 04:44 PM
His composure in traffic is very special. Really impressed.

22-06-2015, 05:21 PM
Could do with an extra yard of pace but a lot to like about him. Seems to have great game sense and is very balanced. Doesn't look out of place.

Reckon Webb has been the pick of the draft picks so far....staggered how comfortable he has looked on the field right from his first match. Great poise.

22-06-2015, 05:31 PM
All of the draftees will have a heap of scope for improvement, but we may find that McLean has the greatest amount of improvement left in him. It may not be entirely accurate, but at least what I had heard in the pre-season was that he was finding the adjustment to the demands of AFL training the most difficult of all the new guys.

Toby has really progressed a long way in the last 6-8 weeks, and if he keeps heading in this direction, might show us some pretty exciting stuff in the second half of the season.

22-06-2015, 06:34 PM
Looked comfortable out there. Has a lot of poise and uses the ball well. Looks a likely type.

Hunter has his work cut out for him forcing his way into the side.

22-06-2015, 07:27 PM
Could do with an extra yard of pace but a lot to like about him. Seems to have great game sense and is very balanced. Doesn't look out of place.

Reckon Webb has been the pick of the draft picks so far....staggered how comfortable he has looked on the field right from his first match. Great poise.

Agree with that, everything about him screams league footballer. Will be interesting to see whether the plan is to develop him as a Corey Enright style half back or whether he eventually moves into the midfield which I have no doubt he is capable of

22-06-2015, 07:31 PM
Looks very assured with his kicking, those two spot up kicks to Dale and Wallis I think it was were terrific. Worthy of a Dennis Commetti catch phrase.

Sure he has some aspects that aren't top notch, his speed etc but he's having a crack, running hard and having an impact. Good to see. I will still worry about him against a more physical side that really puts the heat on our younger guys, so we need to be mindful that he is still a baby in footballing terms.

22-06-2015, 08:21 PM
All of the draftees will have a heap of scope for improvement, but we may find that McLean has the greatest amount of improvement left in him. It may not be entirely accurate, but at least what I had heard in the pre-season was that he was finding the adjustment to the demands of AFL training the most difficult of all the new guys.

There was a video of Hamilton saying he has found it tough as well

22-06-2015, 08:27 PM
Looked comfortable out there. Has a lot of poise and uses the ball well. Looks a likely type.

Hunter has his work cut out for him forcing his way into the side.

Hunter looks as good as trade bait right now. Magic's pass to Dale was one of the best kicks I've seen this year, I can't believe he dissected about 3 or 4 defenders to hit Dale up. There's a bit to like about both those kids.

22-06-2015, 08:33 PM
I'm happy to take front row seats on the Toby 'Magic' McLean bandwagon.

I dare say by the end of the year it'll be fairly crowded.

22-06-2015, 08:56 PM
I am on the Tobe McLean bandwagon too. Very impressive first full game. To me, it appears he has so much talent that in a season or two he will be talked about generally as being in the Liberatore, Bontempelli class of player in our team. Big call but he ticked all the boxes: ball handling, vision, disposal skills by hand and by foot, g&d, reading of the play..oh, and marking - very sure pair of hands - creates a clear point of difference with most players of his size.

22-06-2015, 09:38 PM
I've got a name for the bandwagon. The Magic Roundabout.

22-06-2015, 09:42 PM

Could consume a few shrooms and go on The Magical Mystery Tour. I'm happy to be the Walrus.

22-06-2015, 09:45 PM

http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/1363515932_Magic-School-Bus.jpg

22-06-2015, 09:49 PM
I hope Apple Records sued for copyright infringement. That's The Beatles IP.

22-06-2015, 09:58 PM
Hunter looks as good as trade bait right now. Magic's pass to Dale was one of the best kicks I've seen this year, I can't believe he dissected about 3 or 4 defenders to hit Dale up. There's a bit to like about both those kids.

And they were waiting for it too, daring him to try.

22-06-2015, 10:01 PM
And they were waiting for it too, daring him to try.

If he and Webb continue to develop as players and kicking skills, we've years of great accurate kicking into tall forwards to watch. Hawthorn have shown more than anything that foot skills can underpin various gameplans. Giddy up.

22-06-2015, 11:49 PM
He looks a lot cleaner than Hrovat and Hunter and are all fighting for a similar role. Only a small sample size, but is another of Dayls pics that improved significnatly in his under 18 year and so far looks to be able to transfer that to AFL level.

22-06-2015, 11:58 PM
I'm happy to take front row seats on the Toby 'Magic' McLean bandwagon.

I dare say by the end of the year it'll be fairly crowded.

Agreed. I thought he was sensational on Saturday night. I was impressed.

23-06-2015, 12:09 AM
Agreed. I thought he was sensational on Saturday night. I was impressed.

I'm on the Magic School Bus!

23-06-2015, 12:33 AM
Great game from the youngster.

Haven't we unearthed some talent in McLean, Webb and Dale plus all the positive reports about Daniel and Z Cordy.We potentially have 5 players that will slot into the team once some of the older heads retire. Rare to find a draft where you find 5 players that have shown something so early (sure Cordy hasn't played a senior game and Daniel has only played a couple of preseason games but the reports from the VFL seem to suggest they will make the grade).

27-06-2015, 11:55 PM
Loved this kids game tonight. It was like watching his highlights reel from his 18s year. Really clean partiiculary in a tight contest, good vision actually good decision making all round and neat by foot. He lacks a yard of pace but it doesn't matter when your a natural footballer.

28-06-2015, 12:08 AM
3 score assists from 4 I50s. Cant teach that

28-06-2015, 12:35 AM
Really lifted in the third quarter and had a very good 2nd half. May earn himself a rising star with that performance.

28-06-2015, 12:39 AM
Loved this kids game tonight. It was like watching his highlights reel from his 18s year. Really clean partiiculary in a tight contest, good vision actually good decision making all round and neat by foot. He lacks a yard of pace but it doesn't matter when your a natural footballer.

Good post Kruder, Yes I'm on the magic bus too. I actually think he looks reasonably quick - or perhaps that's his footy smarts showing. Looking forward to a big speckie mark soon too.

28-06-2015, 12:47 AM

He seemed pretty quick to me. Sometimes when he got the ball it looked like he would be crunched but he was very nimble

28-06-2015, 12:51 AM
I think he played most of the game tonight with a broken nose too. He was on the bench getting some attention to it in the second quarter.

Welcome to the AFL

28-06-2015, 12:51 AM
I think he played most of the game tonight with a broken nose too. He was on the bench getting some attention to it in the second quarter.

Welcome to the AFL
That was Dale

28-06-2015, 12:52 AM
Really pleased with his game tonight and what he's done so far. Nitpicking some of his kicks had to much air tonight

28-06-2015, 12:57 AM
It was a great sign that his skills and clean decision making stood up in such an ugly contested maul where many fumbled. I really liked Toby's game. Well done kid!

28-06-2015, 01:02 AM
and to think, we could have had Blaine Boekhurst...

28-06-2015, 01:04 AM
Geez, I love this kid.

Saw Simon Dalrymple on the way out and almost kissed him.

28-06-2015, 01:18 AM
That was Dale

Cheers. I knew that was wrong even as I was writing it.

28-06-2015, 01:00 PM
So glad the MC stuck fat, that goal he kicked was something else...

28-06-2015, 01:13 PM
It is interesting that Dale got promoted earlier than McLean because McLean seems much more attuned to the pace and vigour of the game in the seniors. I'm not knocking Dale's ability, I can see he will be a very useful player in a season or two. I am just saying that McLean looks ready now.

28-06-2015, 01:15 PM
and to think, we could have had Blaine Boekhurst...

Do you think we would have taken him if he was available?

28-06-2015, 01:19 PM
Do you think we would have taken him if he was available?

Carlton could have had Toby McLean, was my too cryptic point, kruder. McLean was clearly a bargain, even at the still relatively high value pick 26.

28-06-2015, 01:52 PM
It is interesting that Dale got promoted earlier than McLean because McLean seems much more attuned to the pace and vigour of the game in the seniors. I'm not knocking Dale's ability, I can see he will be a very useful player in a season or two. I am just saying that McLean looks ready now.

I am often on interview panels for hiring new teachers at my school. I wish we had the option of sticking candidates in our classrooms to see how they go as part of the process. AFL footy is a bit like that sometimes. You can just tell a kid is made for it, despite their VFL form to a fair degree. McLean is one of them. He just seems to fit. Less running around like a headless chook per disposal is one attribute.

29-06-2015, 09:56 AM
Very impressed with McLean. Clean with the footy and you can see him thinking his way through situations.

Certainly isn't shy; observed him on multiple times directing others on the field, including yelling at Minson to move to a spot where he could be an option.

29-06-2015, 10:05 AM
This kid has got some great attributes. Can kick, knows where the goals are, clean hands, good leap, good wheels. Really an ideal half forward/forward pocket for us. I don't think I want to hear about him 'building a tank to go into the midfield'! - as I think he can be a real handful as a forward.

Appears to have been a great pickup....as is Webb drafted straight after him.

29-06-2015, 10:39 AM
Reminds me of an early version of Robbie Gray. Clean, good skills, strong above his head and can kick a goal.

29-06-2015, 12:32 PM
Any chance of a Rising Star nomination this week? The obvious nominee yet to be nominated (Duggan) didn't play this week, and I can't think of any other players putting their hand up.

29-06-2015, 12:45 PM
Matthew Crouch had a pretty good game for the Crows. He was nominated last year but still qualifies for this year. So I'm fairly sure he is still eligible?

De Goey plays for Collingwood and had a decent game, so he is surely in contention.

29-06-2015, 01:22 PM
Any chance of a Rising Star nomination this week? The obvious nominee yet to be nominated (Duggan) didn't play this week, and I can't think of any other players putting their hand up.

The stats

AFL Rising Star Stats for Round 13 2015
2015 Rising Star Nominees (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/rising_star_nominations?year=2015)

Name (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=12&year=2015&round=13)
Nom.
Team (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=17&year=2015&round=13)
Opponent (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=18&year=2015&round=13)
Result (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=16&year=2015&round=13)
K (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=0&year=2015&round=13)
H (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=1&year=2015&round=13)
D (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=2&year=2015&round=13)
M (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=3&year=2015&round=13)
G (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=4&year=2015&round=13)
B (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=5&year=2015&round=13)
T (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=6&year=2015&round=13)
HO (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=7&year=2015&round=13)
FF (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=8&year=2015&round=13)
FA (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=9&year=2015&round=13)
AF (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=13&year=2015&round=13)
SC (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?sby=14&year=2015&round=13)

M Crouch (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-adelaide-crows--matt-crouch)

Crows (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-adelaide-crows)
Lions (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-brisbane-lions)
Win 82-69 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6069)

N Graham (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-carlton-blues--nicholas-graham)

Blues (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-carlton-blues)
Suns (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-gold-coast-suns)
Win 103-69 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6071)

M Gleeson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-essendon-bombers--martin-gleeson)

Bombers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
Hawks (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks)
Loss 76-114 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6068)

P Cripps (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-carlton-blues--patrick-cripps)
R4 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?year=2015&round=4&sby=2)
Win 103-69 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6071)

T McLean (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--toby-mclean)

Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
Saints (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints)
Win 62-56 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6070)

T Broomhead (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-collingwood-magpies--timothy-broomhead)
R11 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?year=2015&round=11&sby=2)
Magpies (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-collingwood-magpies)
Dockers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-fremantle-dockers)
Loss 73-80 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6066)

T Membrey (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-st-kilda-saints--tim-membrey)

Saints (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-st-kilda-saints)
Bulldogs (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-western-bulldogs)
Loss 56-62 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6070)

B Hartung (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-hawthorn-hawks--billy-hartung)
R7 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?year=2015&round=7&sby=2)
Hawks (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-hawthorn-hawks)
Bombers (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-essendon-bombers)
Win 114-76 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6068)

A Saad (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-gold-coast-suns--adam-saad)
R5 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_rising_stars_round_performances?year=2015&round=5&sby=2)
Loss 69-103 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6071)

C Cameron (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-adelaide-crows--charlie-cameron)

Crows (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-adelaide-crows)
Lions (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/th-brisbane-lions)
Win 82-69 (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_match_statistics?mid=6069)

29-06-2015, 08:27 PM
McLean's goal against Saint Kentucky Fried Chicken was pretty good, cleared the goal line from outside the 50.

29-06-2015, 08:41 PM
I don't think I want to hear about him 'building a tank to go into the midfield'! - as I think he can be a real handful as a forward.

If you can go up the ground you become more of a handful for your opponent. McLean's delivery inside 50 is terrific

29-06-2015, 09:29 PM
Sat with Toby at a Bulldog function at the Pound earlier this year. Really great kid to talk to. Since then he has been a favourite 'son'. Glad to see his performances on the field match his no nonsense personality.

30-06-2015, 04:51 PM
Really impressive performance. Watched him live and he's a smart footballer; knows where to run and works hard. I can see him developing into a Jamie Elliott type of player - very clean hands above his head and great composure with ball in hand who typically makes the right decision.

Webb is my favourite of the draft class as I wanted him pre-draft, but Toby is going to be a very damaging player forward of center.

30-06-2015, 05:01 PM
Our forward entries still need work and Magic is Just the player you want as the high half forward taking the ball 60-70m out and hitting up a lead.

Great vision and skills.

30-06-2015, 09:38 PM
Great vision and skills.

He even spotted Webb when he didn't have the ball and pointed him out to Stringer

30-06-2015, 09:43 PM

Like what you've done with your avatar Happy Days

01-07-2015, 12:53 AM
He even spotted Webb when he didn't have the ball and pointed him out to Stringer

As well as the Bont.

01-07-2015, 01:29 AM
Very impressive .
Good hands, and can take a screamer.
Very Robbie Gray Jamie Elliott type. Big emphasis on skilled clean good users of the football.

01-07-2015, 10:57 PM
Bev wants all of our forwards and mids to be able to join in the great rotation. to keep up the 'energy' around the ball. Sounds like a plan.

05-07-2015, 11:52 AM
What a great game from McLean. The act from Buckley that caused his injury should be reportable and stamped out of the game. Completely vindictive and unnecessary. Gonna cause Toby a lot of pain and rehab for the next month or so. A complete $#@% of a thing to do.

05-07-2015, 12:30 PM
What a great game from McLean. The act from Buckley that caused his injury should be reportable and stamped out of the game. Completely vindictive and unnecessary. Gonna cause Toby a lot of pain and rehab for the next month or so. A complete $#@% of a thing to do.

I thought so, that wasn't a legitimate attempt to spoil from my view - haven't seen the replay yet. Looked like he just clattered into him and effectively tackled him rather than spoiling with a fist. Not sure why Carlton ended up with the ball?

05-07-2015, 12:51 PM
He was great last night, it's disappointing he's injured, because he has improved game after game and you could sense he was really starting to believe he belonged at the level. Hopefully there is some good news and he gets through his rehab OK, as well as maintain his confidence to continue to attack the contest.

05-07-2015, 12:55 PM
I'm as upset as anyone that McLean looks like being out for an extended period, but Buckley's action reportable? Turn it up.

05-07-2015, 01:05 PM
I'm as upset as anyone that McLean looks like being out for an extended period, but Buckley's action reportable? Turn it up.

It isn't reportable. But it's unnecessary and vindictive. Causing long term pain and rehabilitation to another player.

05-07-2015, 01:20 PM
It isn't reportable. But it's unnecessary and vindictive. Causing long term pain and rehabilitation to another player.
I would fully expect a Dogs player to make the opposition earn it, just as McLean was made to earn that mark. Was unfortunate that he landed on his shoulder but IMO Buckley did absolutely nothing wrong at all.

05-07-2015, 01:36 PM
I would fully expect a Dogs player to make the opposition earn it, just as McLean was made to earn that mark. Was unfortunate that he landed on his shoulder but IMO Buckley did absolutely nothing wrong at all.

I'm keen to see a replay, agree with your sentiment but at the time I had a strong reaction to it as it appeared to be a shit effort on Buckley's behalf. Could have been just RW&B lenses in my glasses though. I still haven't figured out how Carlton ended up with the ball? Did it go out on the full?

05-07-2015, 01:41 PM

Not reportable, but it should have been fifty imo.

05-07-2015, 03:20 PM

To me near ground level, it looked like he purposely 'dropped a frontal forearm' into McLean using his body weight. Much like a WWE move, but for real.

05-07-2015, 04:34 PM

Not just for the next month. Once a shoulder pops it can pop out again anytime. A real shame for the kid. He will either be in great pain or in lala land from the pain relief right now.

05-07-2015, 04:37 PM
I'm keen to see a replay, agree with your sentiment but at the time I had a strong reaction to it as it appeared to be a shit effort on Buckley's behalf. Could have been just RW&B lenses in my glasses though. I still haven't figured out how Carlton ended up with the ball? Did it go out on the full?

I couldn't work out how they got the ball either?

05-07-2015, 04:38 PM
Thought the same.
Pretty average, but I guess in the current tribunal climate Toby will get a fine for diving

05-07-2015, 04:53 PM

I couldn't work out how they got the ball either?

Whoever took the kick for McLean, kicked it on the full.

05-07-2015, 05:16 PM
Love watching Toby playing and hoping the injury is not as serious as Bevo thinks it is

05-07-2015, 05:37 PM

It was JJ.

05-07-2015, 05:41 PM

Thank you. It had me baffled, I must have missed the kick when yelling obscenities furiously at the umpires.

07-04-2016, 12:13 PM
So Toby has now played 6 games for us....the way he plays - it certainly seems like more.

If you forget his first game - where he was a sub and only came on for the last quarter or so from memory -

In the 5 full games he has played - he is averaging 20.2 possessions, and 6.2 marks per game - as well as 0.8 goals per game.

Its an extraordinarily successful start to his career, and in the absence of Dicko and Crameri - he's been a very important player for us already this season.

07-04-2016, 02:02 PM
So Toby has now played 6 games for us....the way he plays - it certainly seems like more.

If you forget his first game - where he was a sub and only came on for the last quarter or so from memory -

In the 5 full games he has played - he is averaging 20.2 possessions, and 6.2 marks per game - as well as 0.8 goals per game.

Its an extraordinarily successful start to his career, and in the absence of Dicko and Crameri - he's been a very important player for us already this season.

Good call.

I've been raving about him to a few friends on exactly that: averaging 20 disposals is a fantastic effort from a young kid who isn't getting a heap of press just yet.

Does most things well, liking him jumping for marks because it's a strength of his.

07-04-2016, 02:48 PM
Looks a very intense and driven young man.

Needs to stop looping his kicks quite so much.

A natural footballer clearly and so competitive against multiple opponents at once which is amazing for his lack of experience. Anyone know how he is as an endurance athlete?

07-04-2016, 03:01 PM
Good call.

I've been raving about him to a few friends on exactly that: averaging 20 disposals is a fantastic effort from a young kid who isn't getting a heap of press just yet.

Does most things well, liking him jumping for marks because it's a strength of his.

How was the mark over Bruce last week - he can get up high.

07-04-2016, 04:59 PM
Looks a very intense and driven young man.

Needs to stop looping his kicks quite so much.

A natural footballer clearly and so competitive against multiple opponents at once which is amazing for his lack of experience. Anyone know how he is as an endurance athlete?

Yep, really like the fact that he'll attack the ball in the air against multiple defenders just to make it a contest. With Crameri unavailable and Dickson injured, he is vital to our forward line structure.

15-04-2016, 12:10 PM
Toby McLean 2016 rankings against other qualifying rising stars:

Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Goals
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total AFL Fantasy Score
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Uncontested Possessions
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Effective Disposals
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Contested Marks
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Bounces
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Kicks Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Disposals Per Game
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Marks Per Game
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Goals Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Supercoach Score Per Game
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in AFL Fantasy Score Per Game
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Contested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Uncontested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Effective Disposals Per Game
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Contested Marks Per Game

15-04-2016, 12:18 PM
Love him, and love his ability to suck opponents into ripping his head off.

He's flying under the radar a little but his performances in the absence of Dickson and Crameri have been crucial.

15-04-2016, 01:59 PM
Toby McLean 2016 rankings against other qualifying rI sing stars:

Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Goals
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total AFL Fantasy Score
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Uncontested Possessions
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Total Effective Disposals
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Contested Marks
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Kicks Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Disposals Per Game
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Marks Per Game
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Goals Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Supercoach Score Per Game
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Contested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Uncontested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Effective Disposals Per Game
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Contested Marks Per Game

Stats prove he should have been a top 10 draft pick. But that is to our benefit.

15-04-2016, 02:07 PM
Stats prove he should have been a top 10 draft pick. But that is to our benefit.

Not sure that's correct given many of the top picks from his draft year are ineligible for the RS award and as such wouldn't be included in this ranking group.

15-04-2016, 02:33 PM
Love him, and love his ability to suck opponents into ripping his head off.

He's flying under the radar a little but his performances in the absence of Dickson and Crameri have been crucial.

Interesting.

Other players in the league get called horrendous cheats for doing just this.

15-04-2016, 03:06 PM
Interesting.

Other players in the league get called horrendous cheats for doing just this.

I don't care about other players. In any case, no one in the league is as good at drawing the contact and making it look so bad that the umpire has no choice but call it. His peripheral vision to time it perfectly is truly an art form and displays a huge footy IQ.

Others might not like it, so be it. But I'll be cheering when he gets a free in front of goal that helps us win a final.

15-04-2016, 03:22 PM
I don't care about other players. In any case, no one in the league is as good at drawing the contact and making it look so bad that the umpire has no choice but call it. His peripheral vision to time it perfectly is truly an art form and displays a huge footy IQ.

Others might not like it, so be it. But I'll be cheering when he gets a free in front of goal that helps us win a final.

Yep I agree. He does nothing wrong within the rules of the AFL. He avoids the tackle by lowering the body. Selwood has done this for years and I have heard no one in the media call him a cheat.

15-04-2016, 03:45 PM

What about if he hangs on to it in an attempt to draw a free kick, doesn't, and gets done holding the ball?

Opposition players will adjust. I don't like it but I'm OK with it as long as it's effective.

15-04-2016, 04:24 PM
Yep I agree. He does nothing wrong within the rules of the AFL. He avoids the tackle by lowering the body. Selwood has done this for years and I have heard no one in the media call him a cheat.

It's not media I'm referring to.

15-04-2016, 04:44 PM
It's not media I'm referring to.

That's ok, who cares what supporters say.

15-04-2016, 05:04 PM
What about if he hangs on to it in an attempt to draw a free kick, doesn't, and gets done holding the ball?

Opposition players will adjust. I don't like it but I'm OK with it as long as it's effective.

You can only draw the high contact if the tackle is around the chest or higher, if opposition players tackle him around the waist and lock his arm in, there will be no danger of them infringing.

Until they do, I hope Magic keeps sucking them in.

15-04-2016, 05:19 PM
I have not seen him do any obvious dropping to the knees Al Jolson style or doing the Chuck Berry duck walk. That is what Selwood, etc does.

What I have seen is that he gets in very quickly to be first to contested ball situations. He also has very quick reflexes and moves to avoid tackles with last second moves that a lot of other players can't execute.

15-04-2016, 05:42 PM

Alrighty then.

15-04-2016, 06:27 PM

His own or opposing?

15-04-2016, 06:34 PM
His own or opposing?
Doesn't worry me, but each to their own

16-04-2016, 11:32 AM
A cheat? Its not like he's on performance enchancing drugs! That's cheating. Toby's smart and plays within the rules. No problem with his action when tackled.

16-04-2016, 12:18 PM
McLean is a diver and it's awesome because he plays for us, if he played for someone else I'd hate him. You don't have to be objective all the time guys.

18-04-2016, 01:31 PM
McLean is a diver and it's awesome because he plays for us, if he played for someone else I'd hate him. You don't have to be objective all the time guys.

Yep...its good to have one on our team. Most teams have a player who is good at drawing the high contact, Toby has that in his game.

Hawthorn have Puopolo. West Coast have plenty (most notably Shuey), Geelong have Selwood's patented shoulder shrug, Sydney's smaller mids like Jack and Hanneberry are good at it.

At the moment, it's getting us a goal per game. I ain't complaining.

18-04-2016, 02:53 PM
I just worry it will cost us in a final.

18-04-2016, 03:37 PM

What if it wins us one?

18-04-2016, 03:39 PM
What if it wins us one?

A more likely scenario.

18-04-2016, 04:04 PM
Please let Selwood tackle Mclean and give away a free.

18-04-2016, 05:02 PM

How so?

18-04-2016, 06:55 PM

Do you give away a free for dropping the knees though?

18-04-2016, 06:59 PM
Another masterful display from the maestro. And based on the last goal we kicked, looks like he's been giving some lessons to Lachine Hunter :D

18-04-2016, 07:00 PM
Do you give away a free for dropping the knees though?

No, but play on gets called and the ball goes the other way.

18-04-2016, 08:08 PM

But he has possession of the ball, anything can happen.

18-04-2016, 08:21 PM

Or he gets tackled correctly and is penalised for holding the ball.

18-04-2016, 10:28 PM
The whole ducking thing is caused by the umpries and its very annoying. The point of it is to protect players heads, so rewarding a player for purposely putting his own head in danger is just stupid.

In my mind if you have time to duck, then you have time to get rid of the ball - its prior opportunity. So by all means duck if you think you can avoid a tackle that way, but if you cant and you get wrapped up, then your gone.

Two weeks of that sort of umpiring and you would never see another case of ducking into a tackle ever again.

As for Toby, he is going to get more mileage out of keeping his arms high and free so he can get rid of the ball when tackled, in the long run.

18-04-2016, 10:49 PM
He doesn't duck though. He does nothing with his upper torso at all. It's all with his lower body.

He just gets low down in a crouch almost with his arms free, either to draw the contact or if it's legal, get rid of the ball.

18-04-2016, 11:36 PM
He doesn't duck though. He does nothing with his upper torso at all. It's all with his lower body.

He just gets low down in a crouch almost with his arms free, either to draw the contact or if it's legal, get rid of the ball.

Exactly and you can't make a rule to stop someone dropping knees or lowering their body

19-04-2016, 12:52 AM
As long as it's within the rules and it helps us win games, I have no problem with it. Go Toby.

19-04-2016, 06:48 AM
If the tackling skill was correct it would be at his hips and if Toby lowers his body the tackle would be chest high. Players just need to execute the tackle better.

19-04-2016, 11:06 AM

He tends to stay low for a bit after he gets the ground ball, its the way he plays.

Overall, very happy with his service to the team, he's an AFL quality player already but has a massive upside still. In saying that, I'd be happy to see him rested (at Footscray) for a couple of weeks and Dickson coming in.

19-04-2016, 03:53 PM
Exactly and you can't make a rule to stop someone dropping knees or lowering their body

But you can stop rewarding them with a free when they do. Then it would become a pointless move.

19-04-2016, 05:51 PM
But you can stop rewarding them with a free when they do. Then it would become a pointless move.

Why it is a legit free for around the neck.

19-04-2016, 06:14 PM

The way Toby is able to draw contact that makes it look like his head was ripped off, I doubt the umpires will ever stop giving them.

Cripps offended on the weekend and complained that the knees were dropped and the commentators mocked him for it, saying 'how could you complain about that'. I feel the umpires are of the same opinion.

19-04-2016, 08:55 PM
The way Toby is able to draw contact that makes it look like his head was ripped off, I doubt the umpires will ever stop giving them.

Cripps offended on the weekend and complained that the knees were dropped and the commentators mocked him for it, saying 'how could you complain about that'. I feel the umpires are of the same opinion.

Watching the game on TV, it looked to me like Carton had been instructed to go in really hard on their opponents. No wonder they lost the free kick count. Something else for their brains trust to think about.

19-04-2016, 10:47 PM
Toby is a clever little ducker!

26-04-2016, 10:08 AM
How good has this kid been.

Looking at his highlights here, (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2016-04-24/mcleans-creative-best)he kicked two goals and created at least another 5.

26-04-2016, 10:27 AM
He is Magic.

Just about my favourite player to watch now, which is amazing given the other stars we have.

26-04-2016, 10:29 AM
How good has this kid been.

Looking at his highlights here, (http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2016-04-24/mcleans-creative-best)he kicked two goals and created at least another 5.

He's really something special.

26-04-2016, 10:33 AM
He looks such a frail, wispy creature, with his big dark eyes, he's like an anime character running around out there.

26-04-2016, 10:57 AM
To be honest the haircut irritates me but then again I'm bald can't really say much.
Oh and I could never play footy like him.
Gun kid

26-04-2016, 11:11 AM
He's not particularly quick or strong and doesn't have a penetrating kick....yet there's something about him that makes him a bit special....beyond an ability to draw high tackles.

26-04-2016, 11:43 AM
McLean is picking up 18.6 possesions and 1.4 goals per game this season. Has 13 frees for, 0 against.

But aside from his impressive stats (for a 9 gamer!) - one you can't measure is the value he provides by his attack on the footy in the air even when outnumbered, out-sized etc. To have a 70kg, 6 foot 20 year old - be able to half the contest down the line when required, is huge.

26-04-2016, 12:44 PM
McLean is picking up 18.6 possesions and 1.4 goals per game this season. Has 13 frees for, 0 against.

But aside from his impressive stats (for a 9 gamer!) - one you can't measure is the value he provides by his attack on the footy in the air even when outnumbered, out-sized etc. To have a 70kg, 6 foot 20 year old - be able to half the contest down the line when required, is huge.

Yep, never gets beaten in the air regardless of who or how many are on him.

He's good now, can't wait to see what he produces after a few more preseasons.

26-04-2016, 01:21 PM
Yep, never gets beaten in the air regardless of who or how many are on him.

He's good now, can't wait to see what he produces after a few more preseasons.

Schache took two contested marks against him deep forward on Saturday night.

26-04-2016, 02:16 PM
Should have been the rising star.

Has proven much more than Papley to date, including 25 possessions/2 goals v 20 possessions/1 goal.

Regardless of that, he's become an important player. I hope he is fresh for Norf/Crows.

29-04-2016, 09:30 AM
Good article featuring Toby here (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-04-29/dogs-relishing-pressurepacked-friday-night-foray-mclean?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=RSS+feed%3A+AFL+Latest+News)

29-04-2016, 09:46 AM
Toby threatens to be a gun player. Love his confidence, shows in everything he does, especially his goal kicking. Don't want to put the mozz on him but he doesn't look like missing.
Hopefully his 'perfect moment' for a speccy comes tonight.

29-04-2016, 10:01 AM
Good article featuring Toby here (http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-04-29/dogs-relishing-pressurepacked-friday-night-foray-mclean?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=RSS+feed%3A+AFL+Latest+News)

Great story. I'm also happy they took the opportunity to mention that there's been no Friday night game since 2012.

29-04-2016, 10:12 AM
Draws the frees a bit like Gia did too.

29-04-2016, 02:58 PM
Looks like another magic recruiting call.

29-04-2016, 03:27 PM
Been great. Very smart footballer

29-04-2016, 04:37 PM
Enjoying watching his play - seems a natural footballer first and foremost (albeit a very skinny one)

30-04-2016, 11:42 AM
After last night, Pure Magic:

Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Inside 50s
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Total Goal Assists
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Kicks
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Total Handballs
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Disposals
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Marks
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Goals
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Supercoach Score
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total AFL Fantasy Score
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 3rd among rising stars in Total Uncontested Possessions
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Total Effective Disposals
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Total Contested Marks
Ranked 8th among rising stars in Total Marks Inside 50
Ranked 6th among rising stars in Total Clearances
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Total Time On Ground %
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Kicks Per Game
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Handballs Per Game
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Disposals Per Game
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Marks Per Game
Ranked 4th among rising stars in Goals Per Game
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Supercoach Score Per Game
Ranked 5th among rising stars in Contested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 10th among rising stars in Uncontested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 7th among rising stars in Effective Disposals Per Game
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Contested Marks Per Game
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Clearances Per Game

30-04-2016, 12:20 PM
I thought he was one of a few that could hold his head high after last nights game. Was impressed again with his clean hands in and around the contest. Kicked a goal out of nothing and almost had another one out of nothing.

The pressure doesn't seem to bother him at all.

12-05-2016, 03:53 PM
Media is on to Toby

Toby McLean joins Joel Selwood, Luke Shuey among top high tackle free kick winners (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/footy-form/toby-mclean-joins-joel-selwood-luke-shuey-among-top-high-tackle-free-kick-winners/news-story/2b223400a4f314eab6220c73272513eb?from=herald%20sun_rss&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter)WESTERN Bulldogs youngster Toby McLean looks set to claim the AFL’s most unwanted tag.

After playing all seven games this season - for a career tally of just 11 - the 20-year-old is the AFL leader when it comes to receiving high tackle free kicks.

McLean has received 14 free kicks from high contact this season, one more than another player quickly earning a reputation, Lion Allen Christensen.

The Bulldogs youngster has earnt at least one high tackle free kick in every game this season.

Geelong captain Joel Selwood has long been accused of ducking or shrugging to earn high tackle free kicks and the strategy is becoming more prevalent.

Selwood is head and shoulders ahead of anyone when it comes to high tackle free kicks from 2012 to 2016 with a staggering 157, 60 more than former teammate Christensen.

The Cats star isn’t far behind McLean with 10 high tackle free kicks so far this season while Anthony Miles, Luke Shuey and Sam Mitchell are prominent on both lists.

“Shrugging” or dropping the knees has become a bugbear of fans in recent years as players drop or lean into tackles in order to win the free kick.

While McLean came into the league best known for a high-flying mark in the TAC Cup he has quickly learnt how to maximise free kicks.

The Bulldogs forward earns 10.3 per cent of his possessions from free kicks.

Unsurprisingly, ruckman dominate this statistic with Todd Goldstein (15 per cent) leading the way and Nic Naitanui, Brodie Grundy and Stef Martin not far behind.

Christensen is the top non-ruckman, earning 12 per cent of his disposals from free kicks.

12-05-2016, 03:59 PM
Well, we've all cursed Selwood's 'cheating' for years. A price we have to pay on our journey to becoming the Detriot pistons ( most hated) of the AFL? If it wins us a final I don't think I'll complain.

12-05-2016, 04:02 PM
Well, we've all cursed Selwood's 'cheating' for years. A price we have to pay on our journey to becoming the Detriot pistons ( most hated) of the AFL? If it wins us a final I don't think I'll complain.

I wouldn't use the word cheating.

12-05-2016, 04:03 PM
Damn, the secret is out. Not that it ever hurt Selwood

12-05-2016, 04:04 PM
I can't believe it took them this long to be honest.

12-05-2016, 04:06 PM
Especially when it's been discussed freely on here and we all know the media are monitoring us... :) Ssh!

12-05-2016, 04:27 PM
Just thought I'd point out this excellent line in the above quoted article:

Selwood is head and shoulders ahead of anyone when it comes to high tackle free kicks from 2012 to 2016 with a staggering 157, 60 more than former teammate Christensen.