View Full Version : Welcome to the WBFC - Lukas Webb

23-11-2014, 10:54 PM
Discussion on out latest pup, and a warm welcome to our tribe!

27-11-2014, 08:45 PM
Very happy with this pick.

27-11-2014, 08:46 PM
What type of player?

27-11-2014, 08:46 PM
great pick

27-11-2014, 08:47 PM
What type of player?

Left-footed medium forward is strong overhead and excellent kick. Averaged 15 touches, three marks and two goals at 72 per cent efficiency in five games in NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. Reads the game well and had an outstanding final match for Vic Country, kicking four goals from 16 disposals and taking six marks at Etihad Stadium. Averaged 17 disposals in seven matches at TAC Cup level. Finished sixth in the agility run (8.28 sec) at NAB AFL Draft Combine

27-11-2014, 08:48 PM
Improved his beep test from 13 - 3 to 14 - 8 during the season. Works hard.

27-11-2014, 08:53 PM
Draft prospect: Lukas Webb
http://www.afl.com.au/video/2014-09-16/draft-prospect-lukas-webb

27-11-2014, 08:54 PM
Improved his beep test from 13 - 3 to 14 - 8 during the season. Works hard.

That's very impressive. I know how hard that test can get for just an extra .1, 1.5 is massive.

27-11-2014, 08:55 PM
That's very impressive. I know how hard that test can get for just an extra .1, 1.5 is massive.

Paul Couch's son Tom worked with a few of the youngsters to get them AFL ready

27-11-2014, 09:03 PM
Webb looks a good prospect for us, and should add some skill around the ball with his kicking ability.

27-11-2014, 09:13 PM
He was one of my favourites, glad we picked him up. Love his left foot.

27-11-2014, 09:24 PM
Im happy with the selection, and look forward to watching him develop

27-11-2014, 09:27 PM
Impressive kicking skills. With number 15 on the back looks like a young Luke Hodge.

27-11-2014, 09:33 PM
Rapt with this selection. I reckon he's got all the tools to play just about anywhere.

27-11-2014, 09:39 PM
Good pick. Looks a great distributor of the ball

27-11-2014, 09:46 PM
Very happy to get Lukas to the club. Really like his left foot, seems pretty calm with the ball on his hand.

And you can't have too many left footers in your team.

27-11-2014, 10:29 PM
Impressive kicking skills. With number 15 on the back looks like a young Luke Hodge.

Thought the same - looks a great pick

27-11-2014, 11:48 PM
Webby. You got drafted.

28-11-2014, 09:04 AM
Really happy with this one

28-11-2014, 10:02 AM
Dalrmyple says he will start off playing off the half back line - maybe he is what Howard wasn't.

28-11-2014, 11:33 AM
Winner.

28-11-2014, 06:40 PM
Dalrmyple says he will start off playing off the half back line - maybe he is what Howard wasn't.

Don't mention the war.

28-11-2014, 07:55 PM
Don't mention the war.

Hard not to it was in all the papers.

28-11-2014, 07:59 PM
Don't mention the war.

Que?

28-11-2014, 08:15 PM
Que?

The Germans from Faulty Towers. Howard to us is like losing the war to them..........

28-11-2014, 09:53 PM
Very happy to get Lukas to the club. Really like his left foot, seems pretty calm with the ball on his hand.

And you can't have too many left footers in your team.

Agreed. Looks a lovely kick.

Now nobody mention "leg cannon".

Oops. Too late.

28-11-2014, 11:22 PM
Agreed. Looks a lovely kick.

Now nobody mention "leg cannon".

Oops. Too late.

"Alleged leg cannon," if you don't mind.

29-11-2014, 12:15 AM
Looks like a Hodge clone if ever there was one

29-11-2014, 02:28 AM
The Germans from Faulty Towers. Howard to us is like losing the war to them..........

*doing my best Manuel impression*
Que?

;)

29-11-2014, 02:26 PM
*doing my best Manuel impression*
Que?

;)

http://youtu.be/s6EaoPMANQM

29-11-2014, 07:44 PM
http://youtu.be/s6EaoPMANQM

Thanks for posting that BAD. Still hilarious after seeing it dozens of times.

30-11-2014, 12:22 AM
Fawlty towers was one of the all time great comedies.
I think they only made 12 episodes.

30-11-2014, 01:57 AM
Fawlty towers was one of the all time great comedies.
I think they only made 12 episodes.

Correct.

30-11-2014, 04:56 PM
Liked the opportunity to hear SD call up "Webby" on draft night and welcome him to the club. Seemed to be a bit of familiarity there in the conversation - maybe he has been on our recruiters radar for some time. It must make it special when they actually land their preferred targets on the night.
Welcome to the mighty Bulldogs Webby....

30-11-2014, 11:40 PM
Liked the opportunity to hear SD call up "Webby" on draft night and welcome him to the club. Seemed to be a bit of familiarity there in the conversation - maybe he has been on our recruiters radar for some time. It must make it special when they actually land their preferred targets on the night.
Welcome to the mighty Bulldogs Webby....

Nice touch that

16-04-2015, 06:05 PM
Debut this week?

16-04-2015, 06:06 PM
Debut this week?

Will be a baptism by fire but what the heck if Wood is out with one of his hammies.

16-04-2015, 07:43 PM
Debut this week?

Have I mentioned that he is the WOOF sponsored player this year? ;)

16-04-2015, 07:58 PM

Talk about investing on the ground floor!

16-04-2015, 08:34 PM

Well picked mate. :D

16-04-2015, 09:14 PM
Debut this week?

Stevo said he'd probably play.

16-04-2015, 10:09 PM
Stevo said he'd probably play.

He is named in thd starting 18 meaning he will play,.

16-04-2015, 10:16 PM
Can WOOFERs remember Webby's his last qtr in the practice match against Melbourne - clearly the most impressive of the recruits outside of Caleb. From memory he is the pick we got for Higgins....

16-04-2015, 10:35 PM
Can WOOFERs remember Webby's his last qtr in the practice match against Melbourne - clearly the most impressive of the recruits outside of Caleb. From memory he is the pick we got for Higgins....

You bet. He looked as good as any of the top 10 draft picks.

16-04-2015, 10:40 PM
Robert Shaw reckons he was the best player he saw in the APS last season.

17-04-2015, 08:38 AM
Great opportunity for him.

Looks a composed player with a good leg on him. Would be great if he can cement himself in our side over the course of the year.

17-04-2015, 10:25 AM
You bet. He looked as good as any of the top 10 draft picks.
Someone mentioned that De Goey (the kid Collingwood took at pick 5) tagged Webb in APS footy.

A few weeks ago I thought he'd be the best of the current crop based on his size, footskills and composure so it's no real surprise he debuts first. A chance to develop in the next couple of years as a genuine HB playmaker who can sometimes rotate through the centre.

17-04-2015, 10:32 AM
He is named in thd starting 18 meaning he will play,.

Yeah only saw the Ins/Outs when I typed that. Thought he was extended bench. Rapt to see him get a game.

17-04-2015, 10:57 AM
YAY!! Rapt to see "my boy" get a game..hope he goes well

17-04-2015, 11:02 AM
What is APS footy?

17-04-2015, 11:12 AM
What is APS footy?

Associated Public Schools football. It's the private school football competition

17-04-2015, 11:16 AM
Best of luck to Webby. Here is hoping for a good showing

17-04-2015, 11:40 AM
What is APS footy?

Associated Public Schools football. It's the private school football competition

Robert Shaw who I think teaches & coaches at Brighton Grammar (or at least one of the big private schools) tweeted last night that he thought Webb was the best player he saw in the APS last year.. or something to that tune.

17-04-2015, 02:17 PM
Get your hands on Webbs highlights from the under 18 carnival. I thought he looked like a rolls Royce.

17-04-2015, 02:44 PM
All the best Lucas - no better way to start your AFL career than with a crushing win over the reigning premiers!

17-04-2015, 02:48 PM
I have only seen Lucas play against Melbourne in the practice match we had. He was very impressive that day. All the best Webby for a long career with the Bullies.

17-04-2015, 05:05 PM
I have only seen Lucas play against Melbourne in the practice match we had. He was very impressive that day. All the best Webby for a long career with the Bullies.

Yep, he was very impressive on that day. Looked round 1 ready.

17-04-2015, 05:53 PM
Yep, he was very impressive on that day. Looked round 1 ready.
He has certainly picked up the pace of AFL football very quickly.
A natural footballer with excellent footskills? Yes please.

Surprised he's debuting so early in what is a development year for him but he really is the 2014 draftee that excites me most. A genuine HB playmaker who can kick goals. From 2017 we may actually have some semblance of cover for Murph.

17-04-2015, 07:16 PM
Yes, this is very exciting indeed. He hasn't even played an actual proper VFL game yet. The coaches must certainly rate him.
Best of luck Lucas.

17-04-2015, 08:31 PM
Clearly rated not to even play a VFL game

17-04-2015, 11:19 PM
I wonder if he will play on Pupolo.

18-04-2015, 12:06 AM
I wonder if he will play on Pupolo.

Any reason why?

18-04-2015, 12:20 AM
He struck me as a player in the intraclub, Werribee praccy etc. will make a player. Hopefully from the get go, but more likely after getting a taste and coming back.

Big fan. Go get 'em, kid... Go Webby..! :)

19-04-2015, 07:43 PM
Well done to Webb in his first game; didn't look out of place and defended well to break even with his man.

19-04-2015, 08:02 PM
Nice return for a first gamer with next to no interchange rotations. I can see him kicking out from behinds when he gets confident and experienced. Lovely kick.

19-04-2015, 11:09 PM
Also happy with his debut. Made one bad blue- which is nothing to be ashamed of in today's match (let alone debuting against the premiers)...looked quite assured and some good attributes there.

19-04-2015, 11:18 PM
A very solid debut. Competed really well on all fronts and other than one howler was assured in his skills. Loved his capacity to resist just going the first, immediate option and putting the ball elsewhere after having a look. Not often you see that from a 19 year old on debut, under the pump down back against the reigning premiers.

20-04-2015, 02:00 AM
Yes he was good on his debut. Another of our new recruits who looks exciting.

20-04-2015, 07:11 PM
Great debut, really liked his spoil (was it in the last?) and his poise with ball in hand was pleasing.

20-04-2015, 07:23 PM
Very good with ball in hand, and a nice debut

20-04-2015, 10:19 PM
Good debut in a baptism of fire,showed poise and confidence beyond his years.
Looks to be Murph's heir apparent.

20-04-2015, 10:31 PM
Needs a hair cut, I was having Jordy McMahon flashbacks. If he runs near 50 for a shot I'll have heart failure even though he might still kick them. Needs to be brought up next time Ray McLean is doing the 360 reviews.

20-04-2015, 10:58 PM
Bevo hands over his number 19 to Webb

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2015-04-19/bevo-presents-webbs-guernsey

21-04-2015, 12:19 AM
Really interested to see how he plays v inferior opposition when we have a bit of control over the game - he looks ready to play a bit of footy.

21-04-2015, 01:45 PM
Quite impressive for a first gamer in that situation.

Should get quite a few games this year on that effort.

21-04-2015, 02:42 PM
Great debut, really liked his spoil (was it in the last?) and his poise with ball in hand was pleasing.

That was an excellent piece of defensive work. He also had some poise with the ball in hand.

21-04-2015, 02:43 PM
The more time passes, the better the feeling I have about our choices in last year's draft. The way up the ladder will be through having more skilled players on the park who can pick up lots of possessions. It would appear we have 2 now (Webb & Daniel) who will be top AFL players for us. McLean looks like he is not that far behind and Hamilton and Dale appear to be building nicely in the VFL for 2016 and beyond. We are all waiting on Zaine to recommence and Roarke Smith looks a definite prospect from the rookie list over the next couple of years - although his strengths may be more in the defensive range.

21-04-2015, 05:21 PM

I like this. Web forum sponsors Webb. It just fits.

26-04-2015, 11:37 PM
I like him. A lot.

26-04-2015, 11:40 PM
Shows plenty of poise and is a great reader of the play.

That little chiseler to Stringer on the lead was nice.

How good is he overhead?

26-04-2015, 11:42 PM
I like his intercepts as well as his marking. As the comrade just mentioned, he's a very good reader of the play.

26-04-2015, 11:43 PM
I like his intercepts as well as his marking. As the comrade just mentioned, he's a very good reader of the play.

Yeah that stood out to me. He also rarely wastes a kick too. Has slotted straight into a defensive role and looks like he'll be hard to dislodge. Spots in this team are getting harder to come by.

26-04-2015, 11:45 PM
"The Interceptor."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interceptor_aircraft

26-04-2015, 11:46 PM
Yeah that stood out to me. He also rarely wastes a kick too. Has slotted straight into a defensive role and looks like he'll be hard to dislodge. Spots in this team are getting harder to come by.

I did not have him pegged as a defender but it looks to be a good fit for him and the men's department.
Dalrymple's draft day vision was spot on when he suggested he would be trialed as a defender.

27-04-2015, 12:54 AM
Dalrymple's draft day vision was spot on when he suggested he would be trialed as a defender.

Indeed, which challenges the view that we picked 5 of the same type of player. Webb was always going to be a Murphy/Gilbee, Dale & McLean a Higgins/Johnson, Daniel a pure mid

27-04-2015, 01:05 AM
He's awesome. Reminds me a lot of Ibbotson at Freo except he's an all-time kick.

27-04-2015, 02:31 AM
Wonderful skills . Robert Shaw said he was the best player in the APS system last year.
Says something when you're straight into the seniors on No VFL games

27-04-2015, 02:44 AM
Indeed, which challenges the view that we picked 5 of the same type of player. Webb was always going to be a Murphy/Gilbee, Dale & McLean a Higgins/Johnson, Daniel a pure mid

I knew you would be raising that.

27-04-2015, 02:55 AM
Huge fan.

Liked him pre draft and I couldn't be happier with him.

27-04-2015, 03:24 AM
I knew you would be raising that.

Height discussion aside, it's good that we have identified different roles for them :)

27-04-2015, 08:50 AM
He's been awesome so far and whilst he'll need rests throughout the year, he's otherwise going to continue demanding a spot based on current form.

27-04-2015, 10:12 AM
Height discussion aside, it's good that we have identified different roles for them :)

Is it also noticeable that he was the exception of our draftees in that he was the only one not on the small side. 186cm and 80kg when drafted.

27-04-2015, 10:40 AM
Looks like another great kid,he has been impressive and shows great poise with no loss to his skills when under pressure.

27-04-2015, 11:06 AM
We finally have a kid who can play a rebounding HB role. He's doing it now as an 18 year old - he's going to play 200 games for us.

27-04-2015, 11:11 AM
VERY impressed with this kid..and did I mention MY pick in the draft??!!

27-04-2015, 11:12 AM
His reading of the play for a young player is outstanding.

One thing I have noticed (and doing some nitpicking here) is that he's quite slow to move the ball after taking those intercept marks. I'm sure it's something that will improve as his vision at AFL level improves.

27-04-2015, 12:00 PM
His reading of the play for a young player is outstanding.

One thing I have noticed (and doing some nitpicking here) is that he's quite slow to move the ball after taking those intercept marks. I'm sure it's something that will improve as his vision at AFL level improves.

That's probably the common thread with all youngsters coming into the big time, it's just that little bit of doubt and fear about not wanting to turn it over. As confidence grows and he gets more credits in the bank the instincts will take over

27-04-2015, 12:20 PM
That's probably the common thread with all youngsters coming into the big time, it's just that little bit of doubt and fear about not wanting to turn it over. As confidence grows and he gets more credits in the bank the instincts will take over

Absolutely.

As much as he would have the support of his team-mates & coaches to play naturally and take the game on there would be a little voice in the back of his head saying 'Don't stuff up.. Saftey first'

Impressive start to his career.. Look forward to watching him develop.

27-04-2015, 12:24 PM
yeah, I was bemoaning we didnt pick up the gippsland kid Docherty and Carlton did - good size, great kick and great mark.

But Webb looks like a carbon copy.

27-04-2015, 02:41 PM
Is it also noticeable that he was the exception of our draftees in that he was the only one not on the small side. 186cm and 80kg when drafted.

His marking was very good

27-04-2015, 05:30 PM
What about his lowering of the eyes and passing into the forward line, it's one thing we have lacked for years, kids got it no doubt.

26-04-2016, 04:43 PM
Bevo says Webb is being developed as a midfielder. So far he has done well in the VFL.

26-04-2016, 04:49 PM
Bevo says Webb is being developed as a midfielder. So far he has done well in the VFL.

He's welcome to develop as a mid by playing HBF at AFL level, surely? I'd like to see him in the firsts soon.

26-04-2016, 07:12 PM

I like the Jordan Lewis comparison, think he could be a very good inside-outside midfielder in time

26-04-2016, 08:20 PM
The quote from Bevo I read indicated Webb still has a bit of work to do before he's in the frame for selection.

24-10-2019, 04:21 PM
Webb has been a little unlucky with some injuries but never really made it at AFL level. Starred in the VFL, but just couldn't find the same form at AFL level.

All the best to Webb in his football career.

24-10-2019, 04:33 PM
I am surprised Webb never made it with us. In his 1st season he just looked a readymade recruit.

24-10-2019, 04:39 PM
Goodbye Lukas, we hardly knew you...

24-10-2019, 05:48 PM
Yeah shame - the neck injury obviously really impaired his ability this season just gone - must have hardly been able to lift any weights as a result

He didnt quite find a role in the senior side where he could shine - they started him back in the VFL then developed his inside midfield craft - but he spent more time at half forward in the seniors and had moments but didnt sparkle

I thought his kicking would be more of a weapon

24-10-2019, 05:52 PM
I am surprised Webb never made it with us. In his 1st season he just looked a readymade recruit.

He had a couple of clubs interested in him 2 years but I think his lack of leg speed as the issue for him
His injury will make it harder for him now

24-10-2019, 06:10 PM
I cant help but think trying to turn Webb into an inside mid didn't help his cause. He was always a half back flanker with a nice pair of hands. Anyway, good luck in his life post footy.

24-10-2019, 06:14 PM
I cant help but think trying to turn Webb into an inside mid didn't help his cause. He was always a half back flanker with a nice pair of hands. Anyway, good luck in his life post footy.

Agree on both calls. Good hands, could mark and grab the loose ball but not naturally an inside demon. Great bloke and family apparently, hope he beats another chance.

24-10-2019, 06:29 PM

Hard not to wonder just a little if he was left as a HBF (like that first year) and not our 20th inside mid whether he would be still on the list.

24-10-2019, 06:30 PM

Agree on both calls. Good hands, could mark and grab the loose ball but not naturally an inside demon. Great bloke and family apparently, hope he beats another chance.

Didn’t scroll down before posting. Ditto.

24-10-2019, 07:04 PM

Agree. He shone at VFL level as an inside mid - from memory around the 2015/16 mark. Never translated into AFL. He looked so good in his first few games as a back flanker then disappeared.

I bumped into Brendan McCartney in 2015 and he said he was a back flanker so I’m so surprised we took the midfield route.

24-10-2019, 09:37 PM
Thanks Lukas. I wish him all the best for whatever he does next.

24-10-2019, 09:53 PM
Bit of a shame.

He started off so well - looked a sure thing to play 150 games.

Can't help but wonder where he would be at if we just developed him as a HBF.

24-10-2019, 10:01 PM
Can't help but wonder where he would be at if we just developed him as a HBF.

Doesn't really have the speed/evasiveness/poise nor athleticism or type of player who is strong pound for pound in a marking contest.

24-10-2019, 10:18 PM
Doesn't really have the speed/evasiveness/poise nor athleticism or type of player who is strong pound for pound in a marking contest.

And yet I recall his first few games in that role he looked quite cabable.
I agree that post the 1st season he looked all at sea, but my initial thoughts were that we'd found a good player.

24-10-2019, 11:46 PM
Hard not to wonder just a little if he was left as a HBF (like that first year) and not our 20th inside mid whether he would be still on the list.

Why, so he can be one of 20 HBF's instead?

25-10-2019, 09:43 AM
Whether he was HBF, or a mid, Webb was just not up to AFL level.

25-10-2019, 10:13 AM
Whether he was HBF, or a mid, Webb was just not up to AFL level.

I'm not sure how you can say that is the case with conviction because his first year as a HBF was quite impressive. He never adjusted to life as a forward or mid though
His lack of pace I think caught him out a bit

25-10-2019, 10:48 AM
I'm not sure how you can say that is the case with conviction because his first year as a HBF was quite impressive. He never adjusted to life as a forward or mid though

Would agree with this assessment.

I suspect his lack of pace was the main reason we tried to make a player who could win the ball at the source.

Players lacking any pace become defensive liabilities in the modern game. They need to be exceptional in other areas to compensate.

25-10-2019, 11:32 AM

Because unlike others I don't rate his work at HBF. He was an average player in that role who did a couple of nice things in two games.

25-10-2019, 12:40 PM

He's not on the list so BAD's assessment is currently spot on but I'm with you and think if he gets another chance that given a role to play Webb could still be a decent AFL footballer.

I'm not saying that they are 100 % exactly alike but for mine Webb always had a touch of the Lindsay Gilbee's about him. Gilbee was on the list without a lot to show for his first couple of years too. He didn't really have a defined role, didn't really seem to be developing as a midfielder and was ready to head to Richmond (I think) until Rocket arrived and asked him to give it one more year and the rest is history.